Mandarin Oriental Singapore

I will be gg to smooth out some details tis weekend, hopefully can sign my contract there n then..

so excited after hearing the good reviews here, hope things goes well..

Sorry pinkie... I didn't hold mine at the Atrium suite... btw is the suite at the very end of the function room? cos I had my food tasting in a function room...very big... so funny...they used the whole of function room just to have a table of food tasting...kekeke..

rebecca
I've sent u my AD pics..the Oriental Hotel pics are those behind... the first dinner banquet pics are in JB... check your mail.

Dear Jessann

Can you give me some ideas on what dishes to choose? I am going for my food tasting soon. And my actual day is on 5th Nov.

kiki,

I customised my menu a little bit, and actually most of the dishes are really good, but what I had was

* Oriental Combination Platter
Lobster, prawn salad, suckling pig, roast duck & salmon. If the ban on eel is lifted by then you should get the eel, it's really good.

*Shark's fin with crabmeat & dried scallops

*Crispy King Prawn in Honey Sauce (must get, everyone said this is one of the best dish)

*Stewed duck (very good too, and different from the usual fare)

*Braised sliced abalone & dried fish maw with chinese spinach

*Baked sliced cod fish (also one of the best dish, everyone loved it)

*Braised trio mushrooms with seasonal vege

*Deep fried bun with chilli crab sauce (this is from the weekday menu, but it's really good! I prefer this to the other dishes which I thought was pretty boring)

*Mango pudding (this was requested by me and not in the menu, but also very very good! All my guests love it! But some say it's too small. =) But I think portion is just nice cos by the end everyone is already sooooooooooo full!)

jess....I tried the crispy king prawn during food tasting & both parents din like the dish cos they find it'll be very messy esp when they dress mei mei to my wedding

thumbs up for stewed duck in red wine, I simply love tis dish myself

I'm not allowed to choose cod fish cos must have head & tail, but the garoupa is very good also

deep fried bun with chilli crab is another thumbs up dish, my guest juz simply love it

My menu is already obselete cos I'm under the old contract

I had confirmed with Oriental for my next year AD...

Will be taking the Atrium suite though! Very excited but still got one more year to go ;)

winnie,

actually my mum thought it was very messy too but we reasoned that it was a really unique dish and it was really really nice and i didn't want any too typical dish if possible, so she was vetoed! ahaha.

oh the cod fish was really superb! my frens ate up my share when they delivered my supper as well! =D

jess
I got almost the same menu as winne except I took the crispy king prawn (thumbs up!)and the lobster salad. Same as winnie..mine is the old contract...;p

Thanks Jessann and Winnie Pooh for sharing. It seems i have a better idea for the food to choose. Sharkfins clear soup nicer or others?
Any other dessert dishes nice? I also heard that the cod fish is very nice....

I've somewat decided on Oriental... has anyone tried their weekday menu? Weekend menu seems delicious... wonder how is the weekday then.. hmmm....

kiki
I had shark's fins with crabmeat n dried scallop... it's good...
for dessert, I took the white fungus n dried "long yan"... not too sweet...just nice!!! I got the cold one...cos it's available in hot too... ;p

Hi StarStar,

Its ok... thanks ya =) btw I've confirmed with Oriental on my AD in 2006 but I duno if I should request for a change in the co-ordinator. Do u think I shld try out 1st?

Ohh ya.. saw yr pix.. sword ceremony... so niceeee.... hmm... u r pretty too... =)))

Ah yoshi
hmmm...depnds on u actually. But if Liping really sux... n u really can't stand her... think it's best u ask for a change... maybe the other gal is better..u can 'click' wif her? but then again, it could be the same... it'll depnds on u... the feel...
thanks for the compliments...I'm sure u'll look good too on your wedding day.

Hi to all oriental brides to be...
rest assure u chose the right hotel cos so far no adverse reviews on Oriental. I've got to know from my friend who attended a few weddings and this is the point to note..

do take note of the emcee u are using...make sure u get someone who can speak proper english n if mandarin, someone who can speak rather well. Becos, she told me one of the wedding dinners attended, the emcee ruined the atmosphere. Sounded like ah beng trying to speak proper english n best still say inappropriate words during dinner...

Btw she has some comments abt Pan Pac n Sheraton?

Becos these two hotels engaged foreign workers to serve dishes. The one she got in Pan pac was from China and she was rather unsteady... clearly not well trained. And when asked for stuff like more red wine..takes ages to come. food wise still good.

Sheraton one lagi worse... the waiter not from China but Bangla!!! The waiter tried to put the food into the separate dishes and spilled the food everywhere!!! All over the place and some even dropped into the drinks of the guests at the table! Wah kow!!! Sheraton leh... engaged Bangla!!! really jiat lat man... food sucks too!(To think it's from Li Bai!! Wonder..)

Just let your coord know that such things are not tolerated(just in case..?)... but I can assure u oriental is not that jia lat... :p cos on my dinner itself, an incident happened and it was well managed n the reaction of the staffs are quick...I'm impressed. (scroll up the thread to see what incident happened...) ;p it's the red wine thingy...

yup....oriental got engage China waiter n waitress...though inexperienced..the banquet manager n his team are experienced...able to rectify problem if things go wrong..;p food wise is good... I think brides who had their wedding there can't deny this fact...

Just shock to hear that Sheraton engage Bangla... weird...n surprise to hear that the food there CMI(Cannot make it).. *puzzled*

hello starstar,
it's kind of you to ensure your fellow kakis here in Oriental of their service.

i dun think it's very unfair to judge that Sheraton's service cannot make it.
As of now, i dun think you will be able to find any service providers who has not encounter any complains

such posting you have would only make other brides worry unnecessarily.

purpleblur
anyway..it's something for all to take note...be it in Oriental or Sheraton... for me, when I meet up wif my coord that time(in fact everytime) I asked her not to mess up my wedding...esp during the food tasting, the cook came out to meet us and if there's anything not good, we commented about it..(but so far it's fine) and before we left, we told him straight in front of my coord n cook(who wil be in chargeon my AD)that on the dinner itself, the standard of food better be the same as we tasted now(cos I heard alot abt food different in standard when food tasting n dinner itself)..if not, we are not going to pay...:p guess it works...so it's just a reminder for all..be firm n not afraid of asking what u want.

btw, preparing a wedding IS a worrying thing... u worry abt this, worry abt that...who dun worry one? If I tell ya I dun worry it's fake lor..just thankful everything well went for me..

if u are offended by what I said... anyway, it's just something for all to take note... see how u take it..positively or negatively. I posted it up cos I just want all brides to be to take note... think alot of people tend to overlook on this....

oscar n Hana
sent..
check your email.

Hi Ah yoshi

My co-ordinator is liping too... I'm also not happy w her service.. thinking of asking for a change. I've also met Michele but she's really new at oriental and very "cold" and "stiff"..

Did u sign the contract already? I was reviewing the T&C and found some clauses rather one-sided...

*Hai* looks like I have to start pulling strings to get things done... tho I dun like to drop names...

hello ladies.

great to hear all good comments of Oriental. I am still deiciding which hotels to pick..

Star.. can you send me your ad photos too? I am really keen to see.. thanks

Hana
hey..it's your wedding n u are paying for it leh... wanna make every cent worth mah... I won't want it to go wrong.;p u gonna be firm too k? If u dun dare... can ask your parents or PILs to make the statement...:p my dad keep telling the cook "dun anyhow cook on that day har.." he more kan cheong than me. Sent u the pics..check your email.

Joy joy check your email too.

Hi de-luxe,

Same here lo.. dun really like LiPing Service. I've not deal with Michelle personally but having run thru the past forums.. seem like she is just like LiPing... Howww...

Hmmm I ve not signed the contract but they ve sent me a draft copy for review. keke.. i ve not run thru it totally... which area u r not comfy with? mayb u will like to email me [email protected]

Hi Iz
Welcome to the forum...

Initially I found her ok.. just things happened over time that made me not too happy with her..

I wouldn't want to make u biased against her. Why dun u meet up with her first and see if there's chemistry?

hey star

got the pics thanks! u are a pretty bride...hee hee. the place is nice and posh isnt it? hmm...looks promising. But mine is for solemnization cum high tea and looking at the harbour view suite that over looks esplanade...will tell them to cook properly!

Beautiful Star thanks again for the pics! Enjoy married life now...;-)