Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hihi ladies

Feroy
ur tentative date same as me...heehee i olreadi booked 13 nov next yr...heehee din realise it was hari raya eve...aiya tink if u let ur flens noe beforehand..then it ok
heehee if u wan mandarin court..so cant liao..cos i olreadi book it
but the mandarin ballroom not bad..pillarless...

Shinchan
u a nite owl..by the time u log on..me and sandy olreadi goin to sleep liao..

MT ..wah..u must b super excited now...ur date nearin so fast leh...heehee if i got time..will drop by to take a look..

Hmm..so far i tink i the last one to hold the weddin..most of the gals either early or middle..me the one at yr end..like this me get more feedback fm u gals

Jann..ur room is nice...just that i tink it will b a cramped if i use that..so i opt out of it..

For those who hv msn or icq...let exchange so that we can aso chat

hi chinadoll...

what a coincidence...! ya.. I'm looking at mandarin ballroom... for all u know... we may do it on the same day...

why we chose 13 nov was mainly bcos it was one of the very few sats which was still available... that is if we're doing everything - church, dinner in one day...

so is your date confirmed?

hihi gals!

chinadoll, hmm, think only thing that i'm not so comfortable with are the pillars, otherwise will be good! hehe..

Feroy, did u look at other hotels already? I think for price wise, MM package is quite good and is considered the cheaper ones for 5 star hotels...

hihi babes

Jann
heehee the pillars quite ok...due to the fact that it is lighted up...but i find it romantic and cosy..quite nice..i will opt for this if my tables are lesser

Feroy
yup i confirmed the date and contract liao..heehee i din realise that it was eve of hari raya..and i tink before that it is deepavali..so it super long wkend..but now bo bianz liao..actualli like this aso not bad..ppl will enjoy more cos they wun b rushin hm etc..cos it holiday
sum more ours the same date..heehee i got another flen aso gettin married on 13th nov..she dun mind it too

Shinchan
ur loggin always so early :P heehee so u...me...mt...sandy all mandarin court..hmm tinkin of goin down to see MT arrangement

Chinadoll,
Aiya told u & sandy previously liao, that I'll be online 'early'.. heehee
My HB always say I'll be a lao niang, not xin niang cos always sleep so late...

Bo bian leh, tend to OT or have appt after work, so will have to login late. & then must maximise the night to do some personal stuff, else will feel that whole day do nothing but work!

But I oso agree that I tend to be nite owl. On wkend, even if we din go out, I will usually stayed up till 4++...

Hi Seiko,
Received ur reply liao. Thanks
Will definitely check with Dolly when it's my turn..

So when's ur HM? Done liao? Seen in ur previous posting that u goin to Europe rite? So romantic.. HB wanted it too, but think that it's too ex, so we r now looking at US instead... Of cos still subjected to how much we incur in the wedding...

Hi Shinchan

glad 2 be of some help gal

Heading to Europe for HM in Dec.. pheww have bought all my stuff
We visited the Natas fair n signed the 13D Europe Romance with Chanbros.. got 100 off per pax, so some savings there *hehe*
but cos we're flying by SQ, its like 300 more per pax as compared 2 flying by Airfrance ( departure in end Nov, we cant make it leh )

US is a fun place too! haven been there... sure looking 4ward 2 it next time

Hi Seiko,

My fren went with CB to Europe for her HM as well. She had an enjoyable trip. Hers is the 18D package. I'm sure u will definitely enjoy urself with CB as well..

Ya, me quite excited abt our trip too.. Hopefully, we managed to have enuf $$
Planning to visit western US. Itinery includes Disney Land, Grand Canyon, Universal Studios & LasVegas... So now gotta monitor our expenditure closely, so as not to overspend, then our trip can come true liao!!!

shinchan
wahhh im a movie person so the places u mentioned got me all excited leh *heheheh*

the tour pkg did add up 2 quite a hefty amt liao... so we've got 2 watch our expenditure overthere as well
but hor, def muz buy chocs hahahaah for frds n relatives.

I am considering holding my wedding at either Marina Mandarin or Meritus Mandarin Orchard next year. Please kindly feedback as to which hotel is better in terms of food, ambience, service, value-for-money, flexibility, and intangibles etc. Thx!

Hi Rachel Loo,

I am an ex-bride of Meritus Mandarin Singapore (Orchard), my wedding was in May 03. I have visited Marina Mandarin, as well as other hotels before making my final decision.

I find that Marina Mandarin ballroom is rather old. Mandarin Singapore in Orchard actually renovated their ballrooms recently. Mine was held at Mandarin Court. The food was nice, according to my guests, and I got free flow of beer too! My coordinator, Malcolm, was also very accomodating to my many requests.

Have you seen the ballrooms personally? If not, I suggest that you make appointments to view them to see for yourself

I may be signing with Mandarin Singapore soon. Coordinator Jamie. Care to enlighten me on any urgent comments or advice, anyone?

Would anyone know whether hotels give discounts on prices quoted?

rachael
u can try bargainin on the perks..but prices discounts ..mayb if they hv a promotion sign up..then mayb hv lor..guess u hv to check with jamie
so which ballroom u intend to use?

MT
how ur weddin? rem to share ur photos leh...

Hi Chinadoll, it went very well, we had lots of compliments on food, service, the organisation, the decor (note I added my own), the programme (we had a dance, a march-in with parents, another march-in with sparkers) and ended perfectly on time :D

Hi MTMTMT,
Wow seems like you had a very special & unique banquet @ Mandarin.
You mean they allow sparkers? Care to share more about how to beautiful a dull ballroom? ("?)

Hi MT
Congratulations.. hope not too late though.. so how was the suckling pig portion? any comment on that??

do share with us your photos when it is ready esp on the decor you've added in.. thanks a lot in advance..

going for honeymoon soon?

Hihi MT

Does the sparklers create a smell? i wanna to use it ..ask my co-ordinator before..it seems alright...except the concern on the smell...

As for decor, I did spend some time rearranging piano position, creating a album display table (with sashed chairs cos I only have 1 VIP table- used the other 10 sashes I was entitled to mah), asking for ice cravings with fresh flower baskets, more VIP centrepieces. On my own cost- another 280 roses of my own, another 80 roses worth petals of my own. :D

For cocktail, had chocolate dragees, special wine selection, pistachio thins and some pretty wafers with real dried flowers on them. Cocktail dance by wedding couple (we did it nicely framed in front of the baby piano!)

Self-looping slides of pics were screened all along. There was a polaroid guestbook (showing morning's events). 3 albums on my album display table. Everyone milled around and wouldn't be seated :D until annoucements (mum running around asking them "to sit so we could start" didn't work haha).

Grand march-in threw limelight on parents as they marched in with HB, before me. They were so delighted by this :D
Only when they were seated and HB waiting at the stage did they out dry ice at the start and I marched in alone (in WG) so it STILL created emphasis on me instead of detracting from me ;)

We cut a fully real 25-30kg fruitcake cut right from top tier all the way down the 5 tiers
everyone could tell it was real
And ate the cherries off the cake.

1st dish was served in grand progression without Kitaro thingy lah- but alot of anticipation cos of the pigs. When 2nd dish (cold dish of lobster etc) was served, we started on Groom's side table-pics before running up for clothing change.

Hi Blur sotong, I didn't ask permission for sparklers, just brought down 1 each for HB and I, and Banquet manager offered use of his lighter which I declined. We lighted with the tealights in the floral stands before marching down together (in EG).

Sparklers we chose the coloured type which tend to give off smoke, the non-coloured are smokeless if that's your concern. 2 sparklers in 1 huge hall won't set off smoke detector

Did champagne pouring, VIP toast, yamseng (we wanted a rowdy yamseng). Then Bride's side table-pics.

3rd march-in (in Kua) was just normal understated walk-in without announcement or special music. Thank-us on stage, then we did personalised toasts at friends' tables. Only downside is no ragging from friends so photog had not much photo opportunity.

Send-off started when desserts (the Happiness Til Eternity sweet soup and the fruitcake slices) were served, abt 10:20pm. Last guests out by 11pm.

Lots of compliments mainly cos it ended early on weekday, there was food and entertainment during cocktail (or else guests would be seated hungry with arms crossed wondering when on earth dinner's starting). The food was praised, especially the selection of dishes (mine is weekday selection, not as nice as weekend's BUT I upgraded with whole pig).

Sandy, the pigs were good all the relatives loved it, especially when they could take home the pig heads- we had 37 heads in individual packets, in the end left only 10 packets that no one wanted so threw away (kancheong, anything asked to my mum, she replied, "throw lor". NOW... she regrets ahahahah.)

Relatives still called us after the wedding to say the pig heads had pig trotters hidden under... wah. Hahaha!

Th pig heads were a big issue, from negotiation we mentioned many times (Mandarin has a no takeaway policy), they agreed. That afternoon could still hear some relatives cornering the banquet coordinator if they were going to let the relatives takeaway the heads after dinner... ...

MtMtMt, Thanks for sharing your happiest moments. You must have spend a lot $$$...
HB & I on tight budget, so can't do much.
Care to share some pics of the actual day? & the ballroom?

Hi Blur Sotong, how much I spent is relative... I showed my menu to an acquaintance who's holding hers at another hotel (not Ritz lah but not convenient to reveal), she said if she chose the same dishes as mine (weekday menu with whole roast pig upgrade), it would cost her above $1K excluding taxes per table. Alot of other hotels in the Orchard/ City area are charging way more than Mandarin for same/ or even so-called "poorer" (to the relatives lah) ingredients.

Today I checked with my peers and the reply was that the wedding was very good. They said abit fashion show though (oops, heehee, I'm unrepentant!) but highlighted the good choice of dishes too (didn't expect my age group to notice the type of dishes!).

Luckily I didn't top-up a second time for real abalone as intended initially (weekend menu has abalone slices, my weekday only has fresh abalone mushrooms)... anyway, quite a few clueless guests actually mistook the mushrooms for real abalone slices :P even though I printed the menu for them, haha.

I didn't bother taking any pics myself, and my friends not many brought digital cams, we were fooling around with a polaroid camera :P which won't be clear for scanning. Waiting for my AD photog to send me pics but this is peak wedding mth, I expect he won't be so quick.

Just did my detailed calculations- excluding hard liquor (luckily sponsored by mum- she in turn got it free from hamper gifts lah heehee... we don't drink all she does is experiment using expensive liquor in her food cooking!). Excluding some special favours for the VIP table (only 6 sets cos some couples). Including extra wholesaler roses for decor, printing costs for invits (we had photos), wine and pre-dinner snacks, we make a loss of about $600. As long around break-even plus-minus $1K good enough for us

Oops, forgot to compliment the staff

Highest, no holds barred, praise for Henry Banquet Sales Coordinator- we had alot of personalised preferences which he tried his best to accomodate instead of dismissing, very friendly and thoughtful, certainly helpful too! We threw him alot of last-minute issues (eg. last minute suddenly needed 3 additional rooms to rent and so on) which he handled very well. THE BEST!

Joseph Banquet Manager very professional and efficient demeanor, handled all the nitty-gritty well. Excellent service, very capable guy.

Lisa Captain also no complaints about her service. She was there from afternoon to handle all matters!

Overall, right from the minute we stepped through hotel doors, whether for meeting with Henry, our PS shoot (nicely facilitated by Henry), or actual day when we checked-in (pampered service started when the bridal car drew up). Service from all staff from doormen to reception, concierge, is excellent, really 5-star service. Very pampered feeling.

Only area that needs improvement is bridal suite sink abit slow to drain water (hehe, am so picky yet nothing to pick about the staff

Not being paid to plug their services lah, just genuinely think they are a great deal for their name, prestige, service and good perks... seriously, some people thought my menu is $1K+++/ per table standard at other hotels (ehhh... then how come not everyone give me that kind of angbao leh??? Ahahaha!)

Hi MTMTMT!!!

Welcome back!!! sorry 4 the hiatus.... crazy wks 4 the hols.... now im officially on hols!!!

Been reading yr wedding updates n congrats once again on having a memorable wedding

Wow, seems liks a well planned wedding, can tell you've invested lots of thots n energy into it.

When u off for HM?

I'm suppose 2 attend a talk by chan bros today at Grand park hotel ( dun even know where ) this afternoon for a briefing on my europe trip. euro had appreciated a lil.... shang nao jin...

okieeeee, will write more when im back. suppose 2 go line up at DING TAI FENG wif hubby now... my smart parents made us go Q 1st. *pout*

need some help with a couple of questions below...

1. cld someoone tell us when we shld meet the florist, we got no news frm the hotel yet?

2. wat do we discuss with the florist? is the basic deco enough, how much did u all top up...

3. do we hv to make appointment with florist in advance? are the florist open on sat and sun?

cheers,
b1urry2003
voted the blurrest sotong of the year 2003...

hi mtmtmt,

after reading your msg on your wedding, we wish we cld be one of your many guests to share the beautiful moments with the two of u...

Hi blurry,
1. 1 or 2 weeks before your AD. Any earlier she brushes u off. End of the day, despite many efforts from me- she still asked me to just go see the actual wedding set-ups and phone her, can liao.

2. Basic decor not enough for me, but some brides do find it satisfactory, go take a look and decide for yourself. I wanted to top-up but hated her attitude, spent my money elsewhere (getting own additional flowers elsewhere).

Not necessary to top-up either, if, you can negotiate with the hotel on VIP centrepieces and so on. Before signing contract is best time- I negotiated for 8 fresh floral stands from hotel florist instead of supposedly 6 stands only... cos I have 8 dining tables along each side of the march-in... rather long, any less stands would look sparse for mine. Should be fine if you don't have that many tables along march-in/ march-in not that long (cos too cluttered stands will block views too).

Note: Floral stands and chair sashes are by hotel florist.
By HOTEL: VIP fresh flower centrepieces, ice carving (if desired), red carpet (if desired), dry ice (if desired), tiny fake flower pots (they have tiny ones that look good on cocktail table), table clothing choices (warning: yellow cloth looks quite... subjective, in the end, basically you only have white lace on white cloth option- be sure to VIEW before u decide, I changed my mind about colours after viewing the cloth).

3. See #1. In the end I liased directly with hotel coordinator cos so difficult to get the hotel florist I was fuming mad (esp. a few days before my wedding I have other things to do!)

Just to clarify, end result is still very satisfactory- the white lace on cloth looks fine, the hotel centrepieces look good, if you have Mandarin Court you have the added beauty of the piano (don't leave it neglected at a corner), the hotel florist gave me cream fake, red fresh roses instead of requested ALL RED- luckily I added my own flowers in those colours too so matched.

Hi blurry, thanks so sweet of you to say that

Oh, your hotel coordinator may not have enough pics for u to view, in the end, still the best is to ask when they are having a wedding and pop by to view the cloths, the floral stands etc (think weekends best cos weekdays rush from work will be too late, the ushers will be staring at you I think).

Hi mtmtmt,

it worries me a bit on the atitude of the florist, hv u complain to the hotel on this matter?

thought of adding more deco but hv second thought on the hotel's florist now... by the way, which florist? now mandarin only has 1 florist, right?

do u mind sharing with us, how much extra do u pay for additional floral deco (from elsewhere)?

o dear, we hv not ask zainal to state the number of floral stands, so now we would probably end up with the standard 6... while zainal promise 8...
any chance of getting 8 stands, now that zainal has left...

for deco, is the co-ordinator able to advise?

can we still negotiate with the hotel on VIP centrepieces now?

how many colors are there for cloth? in the end, which color did u picked?

now, the florist is gonna be the headache for us...

thanks mtmtmt for sharing the info with us...

cheers,
b1urry2003
voted the blurrest sotong of the year 2003... hehehe...

Hi blurry,
I think the florist is secondary- no matter what she will deliver. She should lah. Her stands are quite nice-looking with crystals and tealight holders, just so darn hard to get her attention!

Seiko had a gd experience with her- managed to track her down heh, and she made up for the extra efforts tracking so maybe u'd be luckier.

I wanted to add alternate chair sashes from the hotel florist but decided not to spend money on dissatisfactory service from her.
Bought wholesale roses and trimmed all.. err, 280 roses myself eve of wedding, and sorted out 80 roses worth of petals- these cost me $150 total. Made some chair corsages too.

Don't be as crazy as me- get your jiemeis to do for you lah. Or even get wholesaler florist to process for you just abit more $ only.

I don't know, I suspect not too hard to get 8 stands- anyway who knows like I said, 6 is supposedly the normal but many probably get it ;) She just brings 2 extra stands and maybe distribute the roses more sparsely over 8 stands lor.

Coordinator can definitely advise.

Try your luck with centrepieces- but 1st, see whether u need the centrepieces, and where u want to place it?

I chose the most common option- white lace on white cloth for VIP setting. White for normal. The yellow was original choice... changed my mind after seeing it in one of the wedding set-ups (Henry did advise me beforehand against it but I had no idea it's that shade).

I just think you can save yourself the hassle of contacting her esp. when 1 or 2 weeks before wedding other aggravations to handle liao. Just go view and let your coordinator know your choices- anything go wrong, your coordinator's head on the block so make sure he/ she knows that?

hi mtmtmt,

we saw the floral stand, it veri nice, i hope we would be lucky with her...

where can we get the wholesale roses? hope u cld send us the contact at [email protected]...

WOW, u meant u done all 280 urself on the eve of AD... U are the greatest brides... admire u...

Hi blurry,

2 weeks before wedding, I ordered my hand bouquet (gave pic asked them to follow, result is quite close- not exact but still nice), guy corsages and wrist corsages (I like real not fake lor) from Thomson Rd Goodwood Florists (next to more famous Far East Flora... both are gd but Goodwood more family-style set-up, bargainable prices but quality subjective- mine the design was fine). So ordered my wholesale roses from Goodwood too- they delivered everything together Sunday noon for my Mon wedding
Better get Jieemei help if you buy roses raw... no joke trimming them.

Some contacts you can try:
Goodwood Florists 565 Thomson Rd S298184 T:62552266/ 62547722, Email: [email protected] Web:www.goodwood.com.sg
If don't like them can try Far East Flora too (next door to them) ;) :D

hi mtmtmt,

u used 80 roses for petals, is it enough? cos we r thinking of make the petal ourselves too... the $150 is for 80 roses or 280 roses?

what are the other 200 for? all are corsages? u know how to make corsages...

cheers,
b1urry2003

Hi blurry, 280 (or is it 260 roses, forgot) + 2 bags of petals (wholesaler estimated 80 roses worth petals- WARNING: this is like buying florist garbage need alot of time to pick out the rubbishy roseheads) = $150 incl. free delivery (cos I ordered hand bouquet etc which are more expensive, different costs from this).

80 roses worth of petals (2 bags) not enough
I put at reception, aisle tables, cocktail tables, cake table, champagne table... end up handful left for red carpet- ran out! But you MUST get jiemeis to help you sort the petals day before- it took me 3 hrs singlehandedly sorting the petals. With your friends' help, can order 3 bags petals better, or just order 1 bag don't put as many areas as I did lor

The 280 or 260 roses I put own arrangements on aisle tables (didn't chuck away hotel's little glass vase with tealight and petals- mine is in addition, more floral looking effect along the aisle lor). This abit more complicated to DIY if too tedious just skip
ask the wholesale florist what ready-made they can provide you lah

After they served dishes, I asked them to remove the extra arrangments on aisle tables, but leave the petals alone. After wedding, my jiemeis collected some of the roses and I put in bathroom (2 night's stay can enjoy the roses longer). Morning of check-out had luxurious petal bath by removing all the petals from the roses :P

thanks mtmtmt for the many advises... hv a great day tomolo... happy holiday...

cheers,
b1urry2003

Morning MT!

guess wat?? we spent a nite at Swissotel Stamford cos hubby had a voucher.... n Yeeeeks! In comparison, though they had bigger rms than Mandarin, the deco was too ( according 2 hubby, Sterile! HAhhaah ) Mandarin has newer n cosier rms..... the service at swissotel was nothing 2 shout abt... in fact those front desks personnel all face black black type.... nothing like the warm reception we rec;d at MM. So, the choice is clear.... hahahhahh.

Gal, u really put in so much effort into the details.... cant wait 2 c the beautiful bride in the pix
when's Nick delivering the pix??

Hi Seiko, dunno I haven't even contacted Nick since AD- he's busy, peak wedding season even on AD he had meetings with other couples whole afternoon and returned about 7pm (my cocktail start- my eyes were darting around for him). Busy mth, sure delay.

Yah I like MM's service
Even when I had no idea where Mandarin Court was (before signing on lah), the minute I looked "lost" at the lift lobby, someone will always step forward and politely ask me.
This way, I know my guests will never be lost ;) :D

MTMTMT
fully agree on the helpfulness of MM's staff. So i told Hubby, dun have 2 check out other hotels fr now on, stick to the tried n tested formulae *hahaha*

Seems like Nick's biz is picking up ya?

Hi Seiko, yah, gd business always good
As long as my pics come... hehe, my gf passing me some pics this Sunday- can't wait! :D

Hi Seiko,

Yeeks. ALOT of people are saying too many clothing changes for mine, oops.
(Pre-dinner) Cocktail Dress, (Entrance, Cake-cut) WG, (March-in, Champagne Toast) EG, (Thank-yous, Send-off) Kua... too much meh? :|

Maybe lucky I didn't get a cheongsam too... ...

MTMTMT

nowadays, the norm is 3 outfits for dinner... so having 1 extra for yr coctail dance isnt too much wat... aiyo, dun bother bt wat others r saying... most imptly, it wat u and yr hubby thinks ya?

Hi Seiko, hehe true. Mum just called to let me know yet another guest called with compliments, (so she's happy lor, which is good).

Housewarming scheduled sometime next week or 2, so focusing on that anyway... too much rubbish nowhere to store!

MTMTMT

yalor, muz focus on the +ve comments mah *heheeh*
wow, so gd u already had yr home ready when u got married.... i still have got to wait like 2 more yrs then the place TOP. such a long wait. hey i emailed Ping already..... she n I used to b very 'can keng' *hahaha* that was during the 1st 3 mths....

Hi Seiko, forgot to warn u... her email checking not very frequent :P Once I emailed her my album link- she emailed asking, "eh no pics attached to the email itself what." (she's going kill me for telling everyone that heeheehee :P)

She's a great cook by the way... look forward to visiting her dinners at her home. *drool*

I remember she used to be quite motherly *heheeh* ooops will she kill me 4 saying that?? *haahah*

but super friendly lah :P

Mandarin Brides...
Hey I just uploaded some pics of the dinner (taken by my gf not my engaged photog- his not ready yet).

Not sure if I'm allowed to put another forum link here... so those in the know, check FBO- general topics wedding wishes for mel... ;)