Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hi shinchan
r u going for the show next Sat? how to sign up for the show? we are thinking of going to see see look look..

Hi Seiko, thanks but actually that's the only matter not settled, cos Dolly didn't bring any pics for me to view... as she explained, she's revamping, so AFTER her new stuff for MM's bridal show is ready, I'd get to see it.

Hi Sandy,
I think the suckling pig raises too many expectations... so now, I get feedback that: the kidney is missing (???), the top part of the trotters are missing and hence I "should" ask the hotel for my meat (? am trying to figure a way without sounding silly... ) and the pig too small etc.

Foodtasting was Thurs night, today Saturday my Guo Da Li, my own aunt bought a suckling pig for everyone ($50 from somewhere)... meaning:
A) the Thurs pig was good and whetted appetite/ desire for MORE pig :/, OR,
B) the Thurs pig was bad and they felt the need to satisfy with another attempt?

Anyway, today's Sat pig from dunno-where came with ears, kidney, all the meat from the trotter too (and served as lively comparison to what Thurs MM pig was missing). Equally FAT if not fatter, bleah. I don't want to eat any more...

Headache ah! The last time which relative held at Orchid, they also had suckling pig each table... but all the relatives were muttering then suckling pigs weren't WHOLE.

Abt the kahluibang (bridal cookies)!
Came in MM boxes- packaging not as nice as expected, not very classy design, BUT, the MM name is printed there lah (maybe I expected NICER design packaging).

The "cookies" are actually MOONCAKES. Look and taste like mooncakes- got quite gd taste reviews from my mum's mahjong kakis (they might have been being polite though) when she served them today (I have NO IDEA why she scheduled a major mahjong gathering on my GDL ahaha!)

Special part is the PATTERN on these pseudo-mooncakes: there's a relief phoenix and dragon on it. Quite nice.

Someone said it's a longfeng cake, not a kahluibang. Another said these are the more traditional forms of the modern cakes given nowadays (cos some people say the normal cakes can eat anytime, these longfeng cakes are specially for weddings).

We bought only 4 boxes (each box has 2 longfeng cakes), abt $100+ I think (forgot price already! Order through coordinator for DISCOUNTS.)
2 boxes returned to Groom family (1 for each granma I think).
1 box for Bride's closest aunt family, 1 box we kept for own consumption and served to mum's mahjong party (very face-giving for her I suspect).

Have to say, though I was disappointed by the packaging, that bit of money for just 4 boxes gained quite a bit of face for my mum (only because she happened to have mahjong party today, can you imagine the cost if she really sent one box to each family ???!!!)

Hi Sandy,

Yes, I'll be goin. U can rsvp thru the numbers listed on the invite. Apparantly, the numbers are that of my coordinator's assistants. So if u din rec'd anything, I think u can give ur coordinator a call.

The show is at 6th flr ballroom from 2-5pm...

Heehee i am aso goin down to the bridal show..haha will we recognise each other???

Hmm...that gd that dolly had new designs..i din sign my contract yet...hopefulli i can sign it soon...it been a long delay

Hi Sandy & Chinadoll2802,
Ya,jus wondering to recognise each other when we r there...

Btw, who r ur coordinators?

Chinadoll2802, huh.. u haven't signed ur contract yet.? Will ur date be taken up?? When's ur AD?

Hi Basil,
I'm not sure how u can signed up. Maybe jus give the catering sales team a call. If I'm not wrong, if u r not a MM bride, u'll have to pay a fee.

Hi shinchan & Chinadoll2802
Maybe we can exchange HP # so that we can SMS when we are there on Sat...

Our co-ordinator is Malcolm.

Hi Basil
If you have the my-marriage.com membership card, the fee will be S$20 per couple, if not it is S$28 per couple.. maybe you can try as wat shinchan has advised you..

Shinchan and Sandy...hmmm how shd we recognise each other leh??

my co-ordinator is lynn...tink she tentatively book the date for me liao..cos i been 2 bz to go down and sign the contract...but i tink it will b MM liao..i shd b signin the contract on the same day lor...after the bridal show

Basil...u may wan to gv a try by callin the catering sales..

Hi Sandy & Chinadoll2802,

Or maybe we can drop each other an email, with photos or whatsoever... How abt it?

My addy is [email protected]

So all of us have different coordinators, mine is Henry...

How come only the 3 of us interested in goin ah?

hi ladies...

hope i'm not intruding... i viewed MM last week and met up wif malcolm... he seems to be quite alrite except that he gives the impression that he's very bz... how is his svcs so far?

Is there a wedding show coming up this Sat? Please share the details with me and how to go about registering it? I don't seem to find it in the magazines or papers....

Hi Feroy
We are having Malcolm as our co-ordinator and both my hubby & I find him to be vey helpful and he gives good suggestions with valid support.

Though he is very busy with his workload, he will still offer his best attentive ears to your needs and queries. Rest assured you are in good hands of Malcolm.

BTW, when will your wedding be? You've yet to sign up with MM??

Hey Gals,

Need your help. I am checking for a GF.. she is interesting in Mandarin but wants to know which are the better co-ordinators around? Cassie or Yan?? Any inputs??

Sandy & Shincan
i replied ur emails liao...and add u gals in

Hi Chemson..sori i dun talk to them..so i cant help u..mayb the others gals can help u

Sorry 4 the hiatus *hehehe* its been a super hectic wk ...

wow there's a bridal show?? ive never seen 1 held at mandarin while i was in preps 4 wedding

anyway, juz spent the nite AGAIN at mandarin over the deepavali hols... alway feels gd 2 revisit the place *HEHEHEHEH*

MTMTMT ahhhhhH!!! yr big days coming real soon!!! cant wait 4 u 2 share yr details

Good morning Ladies

Seiko, so u must have gotta your permanent MM privilege club card liao

so would U want to join us today at their bridal show?

Hi Sandy

yalor, hubby rec'd the perm card liao... basically quite similar 2 their temp card, but slightly more discounts n can request 4 late checkouts b4 3pm instead of the usual 12

me 'old bride' liao *hehehe* wld love 2 go too but watching Kill Bill later lor, so dun think i can make it

u gals have fun!

if we dont want food tasting, do u all think it is possible for us to change it to some thing else, eg 1 night stay for in-laws or additional deco for the place?

Hi Blurry

I guess u cld negotiate this point wif yr coordinator ... they're quite flexible, so no harm trying ya?

Finally I m a Mandarin Bride
juz signed my contract yesterday at the bridal show
Finally a load off the shoulders

Sandy and ShinChan
great to meet u there..haha it was realli nice chattin with shinchan...

Mayb for the mandarin brides here...can we list down our date..so that we can help each other out here...or we can also contact each other via icq or msn.. msn: [email protected] ...icq 30983232..

Seiko
u r realli a MM loyal customer...

MT
When ur big day?

Hi Jan,
Ha.. Sad to say, no new perks lah...
The coordinators are too busy to entertain us liao...

Actually nothing much at the show, maybe its better for brides who have yet to book their bridal package, cos the package offered by Thomson Bridal seem attractive, $500 disc. Its oso good for those who have yet to choose their gowns as well, cos can 'steal' some ideas from the fashion show...

Managed to meet up with Chinadoll2802 & HB, but unfortuately miss out Sandy..

Hi Chinadoll2802,
Nice meeting & chatting wif u on Sat as well..

Chinadoll2802, u wanna compile a list ah? Mine is 6 Mar 04.

Sandy,
Hey, have yet to seen u authorised me in icq...

Hi Chinadoll & Sandy,

Thanks for the replies. I was down at the bridal show on Sat and met up with Malcolm. Din discuss the package with him but am pretty impressed by his svcs and attitude.

We've not signed with MM or any hotels yet, but MM is currently high on our list, mainly bcos of Malcolm! My hubby was impressed by him...

Sad to say, no perks offered during the show... heard from Malcolm that this is not MM's actual wedding show... theirs will be in April 04... long way to go...

Should be firming up on the hotel within these 2 weeks... *hope so*... any advice from you ladies?

Hi Chinadoll and Shinchan
so sad to miss out chatting with both of you last Sat... but anyway we have fun exchanging SMS too.. hehehee...

maybe we can arrange another day to meet up at our house.. see when you girls are free la..

Chinadoll, welcome on board to the MM brides family.. hehehee..

Shinchan, sorry leh.. i will do it tonight when I get home.. pai say leh...

Hi Feroy
U r welcome.. Glad that both of you like the service of Malcolm.. btw, when is your wedding?

hihi ladies!

Hey chinadoll, congrats! Finally signed contract! hehe..

Shinchan, yeah, guess they'll have to entertain those that hasnt sign up with any hotels yet, rather than entertain those already signed up!

Yup, think their official bridal show shld be advertised in Her World Mag, but this time guess it's a small scale one...

Hi Feroy, glad u like ur coord's service, have u made tentative booking with them yet? Do so if u havent in case ur date & ballroom taken up...

Thanks for the welcome
Seem that i m the oni bride gettin married in mm end of the next yr...most of u seem to b in early part 03..or m i wrong??

Sandy
haiz too bad cant chat with u durin the bridal show ...So when ur date? haha where is ur place?

Shinchan
haha we r biz chattin and eatin :P my hubby like their brownies..guess u shd b gettin excited abt ur ps liao..

Jan
So when ur date too? heehee too bad u din come down else we all can get to noe each other..u got msn or icq?

Feroy
happi searchin for ur hotel..heehee i tentatively reserved my date for quite sometime..thankfulli no one else push lynn for it..

U tink durin mm actual weddin show...we can go get more perks? :P haha veri greedy rite..

Hi Chinadoll

ya lor.. so sad.. we're so near yet we didn't get the chance to chat up.. oso with Shinchan too..

our house is at Buffalo Road, you can take the NEL-MRT to Little India station. so when coming to our house?

Hihi...

Chinadoll, we quite like the e-fu noodles.. tasty! Will definitely have that for my menu. Hope will be same standard, or if not even better!!
Excitement for PS not yet, more excited to see the finish product of my gown. Looking forward to my first fitting lor...

Sandy, sure no prob... No fate to see each other in real world on sat, hope we have the fate to bump into each other in virtual world tonite.. kekeke...

Jan, ya I think u make a point there. But we oso cannot blame them lah, afterall it's their duty mah.. But they r still very friendly, bother to make some short conversation despite being very busy...

All, any opinions whether is trial makeup necessary? Thgt of telling my BS to swope it for additional hairstyling for AD evening... i.e. 2 rounds of hairstyling at nite. Any advice????

Btw, saw the wedding favours that day, we like the chopsticks very much, sooooo cute...
HB loves it so much that he dun even allow me to ask co-ord whether can have half candles, half chopsticks... heehee...

hihi ladies...

wow... this thread's very active...

sandy, my wedding will be late next year... same as chinadoll *so now you're not alone...!*

can we reserve the ballroom first? not too sure how to go around doing that... what if eventually we have a change of date (cos my date's not confirmed yet...) or worse, a change of venue? quite paiseh if I tentatively book then later cancel... like wasting their time...

guess i better book the church first... then coordinate between the 2... *headache*

If i m not wrong..jann and shinchan early 03?

Feroy
if u sign up..then our dates will b near to each other... what is ur date? Dun wori abt tentatively reserving..it ok..if there is another couple who wan ur date..then the hotel will gv u the first right of refusal mah...

Shinchan
yup yup..i like the e fu noodles..haha veri tasty...realli tempted to eat that durin my own banquet aso..well if u trust and noe ur make up artist skills then dun hv the trial lor..but if u r in doubt..then better to hv the trial...after all u wan to look pretty pretty mah...

Chinadoll, yup mine is early 04, like i have mentioned in my previous posting. If I'm not wrong, Sandy's in Dec 03...

Jan, when's urs ah?

Chinadoll & Sandy, I finally re-activated my msn liao... Too long never login, luckily they reserved it for me. Too bad, by the time I went in, both of u sleep liao..
Nvm lah, chat another day lor..

Any other brides interested to join us? Jan???Feroy??? Seiko??? etc????

hihi ladies!

hmm.. i dun hv msn leh, moreover seldom log in at nite these days...

Wow, glad to see so many MM brides here! hehe.. Btw, which ballrooms are u gals taking? Anyone else taking belvedere room?

my wedding's mid next yr, in jul...

Feroy, think u shld go ahead make tentative booking, a lot of ppl do that, so dun worry if u dun sign up with them eventually.
Maybe u shld settle on ur date first...

Hi ladies, am back

Mine is 17 Nov, Mandarin Court, abt 40 tables (it increased, yikes). Henry coordinator.

Now I have to make another appt to see the floral decor... had food-tasting and chosen the candles already (agree the chopsticks are cute though!)

Hmm don't happen to see here my relative holding this Dec 12th? *looks around*

hi ladies...

thanks for the advice... okie, will discuss with hubby tonight for a tentative booking...

chinadoll, I'll probably be holding mine either on 26 Sep or 13 Nov (Hari Raya Eve)... so far Mandarin Ballroom is still available on these 2 dates...
when will yours be?

pretty flexible on the date, as u can see... more than 1 month apart... as long as on Sat/Sun... nv check for whether it's auspicious anot.. cos hubby not chinese so his family not pantang... my parents also very chin chai... as long as not 7th month can liao...

would need some advice...
torn between holding the wedding over 2 days - Sat church, Sun dinner or doing everything one shot on Sat... I prefer 2 days.. cos at least i'll be fresh and not tired during dinner... but hubby rather finish everything in one day...

what do you ladies think...?

Hi Feroy
so you'll have about 1 year to prepare for your Big Day... my wedding is Dec this year...

we are holding our event over 2 days, Sat customary and Sun nite dinner.. we find it more relaxing and no need to rush thru the whole thing..

it is better to place a tentative date booking with MM for your preferred date, in case it is a superb HOT date..

Hi Shinchan
About the trial make up, i believe you have not done your PS yet, rite? It is better to play safe to go for the trial, or if you have not ROM yet, maybe you can use the trial for your ROM..

For me, I'm using the make up artist (not from my bridal shop) who did my ROM styling. I only used the make up artist from the bridal shop for our PS.

So tonight hopefully we can meet in the virtual world - MSN to yacky yacky all the way with the rest of girls who can join in the fun with us..

hi Feroy,

think hold it on 1 day will be good.. yes, it'll be tiring but i guess the feeling will be gone if hold over 2 days leh, my fren had church n dinner on same day, and we really had loads of fun tho it's very tiring...

Hey, is 13 nov a long weekend then since sunday is holiday is it? 1 tip is ppl will usually go on short trip if it's long weekend, so attendance may not be that good...

Which ballroom are u taking then?

Hey MT, it's gonna be ur turn soon! Hope everything is all in place for u now!

Hi Jann..
If you have icq, we can also chat there too.. so at times when U think of us you can look for us in icq too.. heheheee..

we're using the Mandarin Court..

so far, how is yr wedding preps?

Jan... you're correct... din see it from that angle... guess a lot of ppl would prob be going on short getaways... my hubby's also concerned about his muslim frens too... guess gotta give this date a miss...

looking at mandarin ballroom.. giving mandarin court a miss as I din really like the pillars... but problem would be we'd prob only have 40+ tables... so not sure if they're willing to give us the ballroom...

what about u ladies? which ballroom? how many tables? *kpo here*

Me same as Sandy & MT, using Mandarin Court.

Sandy, I'll be logging in late tonite. Have appt... If u dun 'kun' so early then maybe have chance lor..
My ROM over liao, so cannot make use of it lor... I'll see what I can do with it. Cos I have been advised by brides from my BS thread that trial MU is very casual, jus like what u can do for urself...

Feroy, I oso agree with Jan to jus finish everything in a day, then can gather the mood mah... Dun worry, I think u'll be too excited & happy to feel tired...
Wow, u must be having a very huge guest list to utilise the ballroom huh...

hi shinchan..

no la.. looking only at around 40 tables, max 45... hubby's side will take up 20+ tables... that's y not sure if they'll let us have the ballrm... see how well we can negotiate...

lucky for me, my parents only inviting immediate relatives and very few frens... *phew* cos they had big headache previously when my sis had her wedding a few years back... invite this person, then also must invite the other... the list nv ends... so for me..., my mom's even ok with us not having a dinner... but too bad hubby's family wants one... cos he's the only son... so no choice lor...