Mandarin Orchard Singapore

hi jellie!!

Me only having 22-25 tables, so wat they told me is they're able to arrange such that it wont block the guests' view, but i believe, it will still kinda block some people's view lah!

Ya, was actually wondering how come mandarin package is relatively cheaper than most hotel!! hahahah... And also due to my no of tables, couldnt meet most hotel's min for weekends...

Oh yup, i think beetles work is not bad, if not then how abt O studio or Robin? ya, Divine is good but pretty ex huh..

Maybe u can slowly psycho ur FH into booking actual day..hehe.. coz i think it's quite hard to coordinate leh, and i guess it's better to leave it to the professionals..

Hi Jan,

I did ask Henry abt it. He said it's cos they have many ballrooms to fill up hehe

Oh 22-25 shud be ok wat

Divine gowns v nice! Hehe
They work with Robin too, I tink. Will see their wk during the bridal show next mth.

Dun tink will psycho him. Cos he's been v gd, letting me have my way in everything, incl choosing an exp bridal shop hahaha (But i also paying half hor)
But will look at his coll's portfolio first. If dun like, then won't take him. But he also has a cousin who studied photog in Aust so ... Btw, his coll also studied photog b4, so shudnt be that bad la :p

Hi Jellie,
I'm using Mandarin Court- but my min. was 35 tables so sounds like they eased up on you, good for you. Still ok for me, cos I do have around that no. of tables.

Henry is great to work with- and in terms of pricing and perks, MM is a good deal esp. with the good reputation they earn from the older relatives. Do negotiate to get what you want/ need

Hi Chinadoll!

My link is ready loh! will send u the link

Hi Ng LC
will send u the link too

The rest of the girls have seen it when i posted the thread ya?? so dun have 2 resend hor *hehehe*

hi jellie, oh, if ur FH's coll studied photography, so shld be ok lah... hehe.. ya lah, dun try too hard to push ur FH! hehe..

Take ur time to do more research for ur photoshoot pics, anyway, u still have lots of time.

Yup seiko, hehehe, u dun have to send to me, seen ur pics already! thanks!

Hi MTMTMT,

Hmm ya lor, maybe cos I kept psycho-ing Henry :p Anyway think their package v comprehensive liao, so can't really think of extra perks to ask for. So far, i asked for a day room and separate F&B vouchers instead of an $150 Top of e M voucher only.

Wat else did u all ask for?

Hi Jan,

Think I dun have much to do now
Just waiting for my ROM on Oct 12 ... Dun wanna psycho him liao, cos I'm aledi v domineering, must leave some 'face' n 'decision-making power' to him

hi jellie and MT,

Actually i didnt ask for much perks too leh, same for me, couldnt think of anything! hahahaha.. coz package too good already!

Hey, seiko, which fish did u choose eventually for ur dinner? Is it the steamed one or the deep fried one? WOndering which one is better...

Hi Jan
we took the steamed fish... nice nice gd gd!

cos there were already many stir fried dishes, so we wanted steamed fish 4 a change
or else the dinner wld be too heavy on the palatte

Hi Jellie,

Guess Henry asks u down this Sat cos there is a wedding at Mandarin Court & that's mine! I have about 41 tables, so u could pop by & take a look.

hi seiko!

Yea, guess u're rite, steamed fish wont be to jelat.. otherwise, all mostly fried..

Hey jojok!! Congrats in advance!

Hmm.. anyone else here using belvedere? seiko, seems like only u and me huh! hahaha..

Hi Jan, yalor, most gals here have got more tables .... Mandarin Court has bigger capacity.... haiya, i told myself when we booked, muz keep 2 30 tables... who knows can balloon to 4 more ? *hee*

Jojok..so ur weddin is tis sat?? wat time they will finish the setup?? if early then mayb i can drop and see too
congrats...how ur preparation liao?

Seiko >> seen ur pixs..it so nice...nick did a gd job..but he quite exp leh...afraid that i will top up quite a bit if i take up his basic package...

i prefer benverele..but i afraid when my guest list increase..it will b too cramped

Hi Chinadoll

normally by 5pm everything shd had been set up

Nick has a few pkgs 2 suit 1's needs.... for eg i prefer artwork, so my 4R pix wld be lesser, sth like that *hee* Belvedere 34 tables still ok... if its too empty, not too nice looking too :P

Hi Jellie... well, what would your in-laws and family and jiemei need? Is anyone going to stay the night too? Is the champagne enough? Do you need cocktail snacks- if provided, is it enough? More tablepieces, or flower stands or sashes? Any real cake? Enough invit %? Let me go on, I can think of a million things I "would like" ;P haha!

The F&B is a great idea for your helpers' use instead of Top of the M.

Congrats jojok, pity my schedule abit tight this weekend (buy my longfeng bangle, accompany MIL to BS, collect WG from BS for informal PS by friend... and whatever else I can squeeze in argh).

Or I would love to see you too!
I'm using Mandarin Court too, but not that many tables- how's your layout, any blocked tables?

Gals thanks for your wishes...

I'm back from my AD wedding and staying at Mandarin for 2 nites, we really enjoy the whole affair, although i was very tired on the AD. I even dozed off when my makeup artistic was doing my nite makeup....haha.....

i managed to get an extra helper room for my helpers, foc.

Will try to put up a link of my AD once i have the photos, my photographer has not given me yet. Think he is busy with his overseas shoot.

Hi mandy

great to see u back! The 2 nites stay is simply great hor??

Okieeee, cant wait 2 c yr pix *hee*

haiya, now i miss my own wedding hhahahaha

morn ladies

MT > how many tables do u hv?? tink for 30 plus tables..they are able to arrange without blockin rite???

Mandy >> cant wait to see ur pixs too..heehee

U gals r makin me excited abt my weddin..though it more than a yr to go...heehee realised that ppl are bookin their banquet more than a yr before nowadays...

Seiko >> can describe how ur stage decor was like??thanks

Hi MTMTMT,

Wah, Henry will faint when I spring all these on him
Can ask for more flower stands meh? Any comments, gals whose wedding are aledi over?

Thanks for your well-wishes & blessings. Me still at work, will be on leave from tomorrow. FH kan cheong now, he took leave from today onwards to do up all the last minute preparation. Not excited yet, perhaps by Sat.

Have not packed my honeymoon luggage.. angbao for my "brothers" & "sisters".. slide shows etc...

Not sure what time the setup will be done but the last time when I went down to view Seiko's wedding, her set up was done up by 5.30pm.

HI Jan
yalor... miss everything bt the wedding already ahahahah.... maybe its time 2 check in again for another nites stay *HEE* anyway, this wkend is our 3rd yr 'meeting' anniversary, n we're suppose 2 utilise the 150 Top of the M voucher b4 Sept 30th.... so c whether hubby on call for work anot, then can enjoy myself at Mandarin again :P

Hi Chinadoll
i asked Dolly for 3 pillars with white cloth drapes... she tied some leaves n flowers on top of the pillars... looks elegant,... well at least better than the original topiary that she offered for Belvedere's stage *heee* u seen my pix b4 already? if not i send u the link ?

Hi Jojok
so gd can go HM rite away.... i still got 2 wait like 2 mths leh.

Best Wishes on yr forthcoming wedding pal!

Hi Jellie, most I sprung on him already he should be prepared- the most he explain politely he can't lor, can't hurt to ask. I like the fact that he will make effort to find out on case-by-case basis with his director instead of saying immediately "cannot". But ask for things you want/ need, no point asking for things you don't need- redirect to your needs lah!

He declined alot of my requests too lah- I just ask, ask, ask... until full-stop no more, then sign the contract.

I'm looking at abt 20-25 tables & considering MM. Sneeked into the entrance of Belvedere one nite but couldn't really see that whole room.

Would like to seek advise from MM brides: How badly do the pillars obstruct guests' view? With the stage in the middle of the room, seems like guests can't see much of the march in. Is that the only layout or can the stage be at the end of the room instead? How about the standard of food & which dishes were good?

I wasn't keen on MM initially as I thot it is rather cheena. Altho Belvedere looks modern, the pillars are a major eyesore. However, the recent postings here are rather happy & positive, plus the package is pretty good value 4 $$. btw, i'm also considering Marina Mandarin, which is having a pretty good promo going on. again, prob is with the ballroom (LO) which has a low ceiling. So, really hope u gals can enlighten me to help me make my decision.

Hi MTMTMT,

I jus sent Henry an email asking abt some stuff hehe. Waiting for his ans. Is it true that he wont agree to any more 'extras' after I pay the deposit?

Jus wondering, did anybody try to ask for discounts off the banquet price? (for those who cfm recently)

Hi Mookie

Belvedere has 4 pillars n frankly speaking some tables were blocked when we showed the montage.

I din take into consideration the pillars when we signed the contract... juz went with my gut feeling... i loved the place.. centrally located... lovely staff/coordinator.... ambience wise i think its rather classy.

I never regretted my choice... im sorry tt some guests were blocked by the pillars.... but cant be helped cos Belvedere was once a restaurant converted into a ballrm.

I guess u juz got 2 'click' with the place.
MM was the 2nd ballrm we visited. We confirmed MM the next day after viewing it.

Well, perhaps u shd view a few more ballrms n do a comparison?

Hi Mookie22,

Actually, i was a bit concerned abt the pillars also. but my reasonings were that
1) the package that Mandarin offered is really value for money.
2) Only a few of them will be blocked and couldn't see the slides, but i can always show them again.
3) We will only be on stage for at most two times.
4) The most important attraction is the groom and the bride (the bride more, because everyone is interested in what you wear), and so we make sure that we mingle with most of guests.
5) The food also make up for the most part of the dinner. The food was better than what we had during the food tasting.
6) so far, nobody has complained abt the pillars except for my mum because she couldn't see the slides and there are quite a few shots that are hers.... haha....

So, actually i felt that there is no need to worry abt the pillars.

However, if you are still concerned, then there are only two tables that are hopeless, that is, it's completely blocked (from slides and stage). There are located straight on the left side once you enter the ballroom. We kept those two as reserved.

Hope these help. Actually if the ballroom door is opened wide, just walked in and stand from the corners and see. My hubby and I went in at least twice, once when there are already guests at the reception.....haha... we asked the people first before we went in, so we roughly know which are the tables that are in good position so those people that you like, u put there loh.....haha....

Hi Jojok,

All the best to your wedding. Congrats!!!!!
Rest well and enjoy the nite...... Remember to keep your smile on ...... wouldn't make u so nervous and walk slowly during your march in. Our pace was too fast during the march in, even though we reminded each other to walk slowly......haha.....

hi mookie!

Hey, i'm taking belvedere room and my tables are abt the same number as yours!

I did see a set up of abt 22 tables, it very spacious, they manage to arrange in a way it wont really block, but of coz maybe a few of them will still be block...

I chose there coz find the package very attractive, reception area very lovely, manager was very nice and price wise also very good! hehe... Moreover, Mandarin is a well known 5 star hotel!

Well, i did visit marina mandarin, at first sight, didnt like the decor, find it too chinese, and manager wasnt very flexible..

Ya, must agree the pillars are a problem, yea, like wat seiko said, go look around first!

Hey, the stage is at the end of the room, not in the middle leh..

I viewed hyatt, very nice decor, but price wise quite steep and lots of other things to pay if we want food tasting etc etc.. so add up to be very ex!

Or how abt Oriental hotel?

Looks like those of u who took Belvedere are pretty happy with it

Hi Jan, i dropped in two Sundays ago & the layout was sideways with stage in the middle i.e. the rm entrance was @ the left back and the couple would probably have to march-in to the back middle before most people can begin to see them march the rest of the way across the short width of the room. Hm, if the stage is at the opposite end from the entrance, then the march in should be much longer. That's good!

comparing marina & Belvedere, Belv is bigger, has higher ceiling, nicer foyer (tho it's shared) & better location (Orchard). Marina M has cosy deco, non-obstrusive pillars & supposedly good food & v gd deal (one nite for coordinators, free flow beer, one free carton of wine, $5oo dinning voucher which i can try to exchange for other stuff like add'l nite for bridal suite, etc). But Marina looks older than Orchard & LO room looks more like restaurant & has v low ceiling.

Guess if i can manage to negotiate similar perks on top of MM's already comprehensive package, then it would definitely be a better choice than marina despite the pillars.

I've no impression of Oriental. Does it have a nice ballroom & is the food good?

actually Oriental n Mandarin were on my list... both the same price somemore.... but i visited mandarin's belvedere 1st, thinking i cld compare the 2 ballrm.... after viewing belvedere, i was sold *heheheh* i din look elsewhere loh :P

muz admit i was quite selfish... i din consider if guests wld be blocked... i juz like the ballrm *hahahah*

hi mookie!

Think it's possible to get somemore perks, talk to ur mandarin's coord, they'll usually quite flexible!! hahaha.. But if u're looking at free carton of wine, then i dun think they can give u that. For Bridal suite, it's a standard 2 nites and free flow beer too and also dining voucher..

Yup, the march in will be like L kind, well, still depends on wat ur priority then..

For Oriental, it has exclusive recep area, ballroom ok, food is not bad, maybe u wanna take a look too..

hi Mandy, oh good to hear u've used belvedere too! hehe.. Tot only me and seiko here!

hey seiko, same for me, i viewed mandarin first and tot, it's not bad actually, coz was expecting it to be very old but it's not! hehe!

If you have enough tables say 30-ish, Mandarin Court won't be blocked by pillars. Above 35 37 tables, you will have some blockage but not fatal lah.

Agree it's the price and perks and EXCEPTIONAL service from coordinator.

I didn't ask for carton of wine lah... ahaha, didn't think of that! Kidding!

Just to share my coordinator's exceptional service:
* despite my many weird requests- he was polite and checked with his director if he could agree, if could not, he apologised
* emailed me reminder to print- and he's very early probably know most people dilly-dally cos I ended up rushing to printer 1 mth after his reminder, now can just make it
2 weeks timeframe to write, 1 mth before actual date to send.
* for my PS I wanted use of the bridal suite but cos it was peak occupancy period, he booked it for a short while, long enough for us to take pics. He stayed the duration of pics to help suggest locations for photography in the suite, helped move the armchair (cos not enough natural light). Then suggested other areas eg. coffee lounge (great location- beautiful full-height glass windows effect) and swimming pool for photography.
* helped me find how long leadtime to book my kahluibang.
* NOW, helping me schedule my appt with Dolly on same evening as food-tasting (and other decisions as to favours, table cloth colour). To collect the kahluibang for my GDL at same time. Saves me ALOT of hassle :D

Leave to him to settle really feel reassured that's why I don't kancheong about when to collect cards (actually just go direct to the printer can liao), when for foodtasting. Just leave to him he will schedule reminders.

Hubby thinking of utilising the Top of the M voucher this sat,,,,, hay maybe might get to meet JOJOK leh!! *hehee*

hihi!!

Hi MT, really good that u can have such a nice coord, hmm... really not sure abt mine though.. never heard anyone mention abt her yet..

Wah, seiko, it seems like u really die hard MM fan leh! hehehe.. seems like almost every 2 weeks u'll go there huh!!

Hi Jan
yalorr.. me their supporter mah *HEHEEH*

cos the voucher is valid within 1 mth of wedding... so its abt time this wkend loh

Oh, Gals, So happy with Nick, cos he juz sent me my updated artwork... he fine tuned some artwork changed some colours... very happy

Hi Jellie, discounts are better than small perks- whether anyone got any discounts and if yes, at what amount, really depends... try your luck lor

hihi ladies

seiko..u realli in love with mm liao ;p u seem so happi with them..haha a regular visitor liao..

mt ... so when ur weddin? i not sure whether i can make it for tis sat..so i thot mayb i can drop by urs ...u r usin the mandarin court rite?

heehee..for me ..mayb i will b usin the voucher within the stay :P haha..

mookie22 ...for oriental..the ballroom is a bit fan shaped..so u hv shorter march in..it a rectualar but curved..dun tink there are any pillars blockin it....that abt all that i can rem abt the ballroom..

jus attended a fren's wedding dinner @ conrad. Very nice place, deco & good service except for minor gripes such as food being so so.

FH attend dinner too & FINALLY understood why I would really like to do it at a nice place (to fulfill my girlish dreams & maintain some "face"). If our peers can do it, why can't we? Of course, that doesn't mean spending beyond our means.

met MM's sales guy who was quite pro. altho I like his sincerity & willingness to acccomodate my needs, as well as the comprehensive package, i still have my reservations about belvedere or mandarin court for that matter. it's probably not fair to say this but without all the deco, the place sure looks cheena. still find that i can't accept the pillars either. plus it's less exciting to march in when guests @ the back can already see u, isn't it?
sigh ... FH thinks i'm mad to place emphasis on such things ;P

Hi Chinadoll and mookie,
hmm I find if choose MM, can go with a modern/ contemporary chinois theme lor, instead going entirely against the grain.

Mine will be some time more, in Nov 17
Seriously, Mandarin Court pillars won't block for certain no. of tables- ask your coordinator to show you floor plan layout ;)

So fustrated with hubby... now he tell he dunno where he stuff the top of the M voucher.... later going back 2 his place 2 find... Prob checking into Mandarin again tonight *hee* or maybe we shd utilise his free voucher of 1 nite stay at merchant court....

Mookie, details r of cos impt... no regrets after u sign on the dotted line... so gotta do yr hw carefully

Well, if the pillars bothers u then there r many pillarless ballrms out there 2 cater 2 yr needs rite?

hihi ladies

though mandarin court a bit more cheena n hv pillars..but with the lights dimmed..it realli not obvious..when i first viewed the place..it was with setup and it was dim..so i din notice it..till zainal show me with the bright lights..

but at the end of the day..it is ur feel with the place..whether can u pix urself marchin in at there

As for the march in..once the doors are open at whatever hotel..everyone will hv seen u 2..and if u decide to mingle durin the cocktail reception..heehee tink most guests will hv seen u too :P

But if the pillars realli bother u..then look for another place..it a once a lifetime tin..choose sumtin u hv feel for
hope this helps

MT..excited now?? just been helpin my flen..their weddin tmr..they are tired fm the errands liao..

Seiko..hope u enjoyed ur romantic din tonite

hi gals!!

hi mookie, yup, if u really dun feel comfortable with the pillars, then take ur time to look at other hotels but i think u shld take a look when there's wedding set up again since u looked at it without the decor

As for the march in, i think for me, i'll start mingling with guests at the reception already, and i think for most hotels, the march in starts from the back rite?

But of coz if compared to conrad, i will like conrad too! haha.. Maybe u can work out ur budget again
And also, if u're booking a saturday, think they're pretty strict with number of tables.

U can try others like Grand copthorne, raffles the plaza, hyatt, hilton, goodwood park
These are some which can meet ur no of tables.

hey seiko, hope u had a wonderful time at MM again!! hehehe