Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hi MT

wow, i see that you've added many items like kua n so on,..... u paying quite a bit 4 yr whole ala carte gowns rite>?

Lynn
oh my, that means it'll take sometime 4 me 2 go up , change, then come down rite?
too much time wasted loh.,.. my frd had her wedding at Shangrila, there's a dressing rm beside the ballrm leh!

HB approved a CS for me
But yah, very very rushed schedule hor? :P Need to check on closer changing room, man.

Went down Nick Goh today and paid deposit on the spot, still their basic $588 package. Saw their artwork but I guess I'd still DIY effects and layout (but send the files to him to print as my printer at end of day is not as good as his).

Veyr mild spoken guy, I think HB and I gave him a scare cos we are quite loud (we quarrel like lao fu lao qi). HB had to assure Nick we are NOT really quarrelling haha.

I have to say Nick's package is great value, in fact I wonder how he earns. I have friends who were ex-photogs (commercial &/ or wedding) so I do realise the difficulties they face.

HB not keen on the video work although I think I would like a complete sequence to play during cocktail,
ie. Childhood photos, ROM photos, ROM video clip, Photoshoots, Actual Day morning.

Have to work on HB :P He wants to DIY Powerpoint which is of course not as "smooth".

Lynn
hmm for the date selection..my fil supposed to b in charge...and he nvr tell me yet..haiz...tink u can select date without tong shu..i asked around before..tink fengshui master able to do it... For merchant court..i find that they r quite inflexible even over the phone..like the min table requirement..hard to bargain with them

MT ..u tink there enuff time??? quite rushed..me not sure whether the bride show face before the march in? ..cos i tink the element of surprise will b there when they first c u march in..u noe the wow tin..but then i aso dun wan to b in the room..doin notin..heehee veri ma fan hor?

Ladies..what u tink? to mingle durin cocktail or to come in durin the march in???

Hi Lena, yeah I agree about the suspense- I guess my case I'm too worried about all my DIY flowers etc I *must* be there to check, check, check. Wearing cocktail dress during cocktail hour, so march-in still fresh in WG
Trying to flutter at each table 2 times (in different gowns) and 3 times for friends' tables.

Share my schedule...

[ 17-11-03 MORNING ]
<FONT COLOR="red"><U>Wedding Gown.</U></FONT> Wear for 90mins. Makeup (natural) &amp; Hair (high up)
7:30-9am 90mins Makeup &amp; Hair at home by makeup artist (Makeup artist travels to Bride's home). Makeup artist home to rest, to return to hotel at 3pm.
8:45am Jiemeis &amp; Nick arrive at Bride's Mother's place.
8:50am Nick in action.
9-9:15am Groom arrrives at Bride's Mother's place. Jiemeis troll and forfeit Groom. Nick, Backup photographer &amp; Videographer in action.
9:15-9:45am Travel to Groom's Parent's place (Couple, Nick, PJ, Driver in bridal car). Bing &amp; KY stay at Bride's Mother's place to help/ rest.
9:45-10:30am Breakfast at PIL's. Nick &amp; Videographer in action.
10:30-11am 30mins travel home. (Couple, Nick, PJ, Driver in bridal car). Walk in door &amp; shots of all gowns hung up- Nick in action.

<FONT COLOR="red"><U>Kua</U></FONT>. Wear for 1hr 45mins.
11-11:15am Change into Kua. Walk out door- Nick in action.
11:15-11:45am 30mins travel to Mother's. (Couple, Nick, PJ, Driver in bridal car)
11:45-1pm Lunch at Mother's. Nick &amp; Backup photographer action.
1-1:30pm 30mins travel to Home (Couple, Nick, PJ, Driver in bridal car), checklist items to bring.
1:30-2pm 30mins travel to Hotel (Couple, Nick, PJ, Driver in bridal car. Bing, KY, Mother, fetch Groom's parents in Bing's car). Book-in Bridal suite, Groom's parents' room, Bride's mother's room, and a Helper day room (Helper room yet to be negotiated *cough-cough*).

[ 17-11-03 AFTERNOON ]
<FONT COLOR="red"><U>Cocktail Dress.</U></FONT> Wear for 2hrs 30mins.
2-3pm Couple rest &amp; freshen. Bride Change into Cocktail Dress. Jiemei rest &amp; freshen in Bride's Mother's room.
2-4pm Bride's Mother rest &amp; freshen in Bride's Mother's room.
2-6pm Groom's parents rest &amp; freshen Groom's parents' room.
2-4pm Nick &amp; videographer rest &amp; freshen in Day room. <== Nick needs to be away to do the presentation if we are engaging presentation video service.
3-4:45pm Couple check preparations.
3-4pm 20mins light Makeup for each of the 3 Jiemeis by Pro (Makeup artist travels to hotel suite).
4-4:45pm 45mins Makeup (light, natural) &amp; Hair (coiffed) for Mother by Pro.
4-5pm Helpers' rest &amp; dinner.
4:10pm Nick in action (Mother's Makeup-in-process). <== Nick needs to be away to do the presentation if engaging that service. Get backup Photog.
4:20-6pm Nick rest &amp; dinner. <== Nick needs to be away to do the presentation if engaging that service.
4:45-6:15pm 90mins Night Makeup (cat-eye) &amp; Hair (down) for Bride by Pro.
6:10pm Nick in action (Bride's Makeup-in-process, in Suite). <== Nick needs to be away to do the presentation if engaging that service. Get backup photog.
5-6pm OIC, Decor Set-up, Decor items &amp; flowers in action. Backup photographer &amp; Videographer in action.
6:15-6:45pm OIC/ Emcee, couple &amp; banquet manager in action: dry-run banquet. <== Dry-run without video if engaging Nick's presentation service.
6:15-7pm 45mins Makeup (light, natural) &amp; Hair (coiffed) for MIL by Pro.
6:20pm Nick in action (MIL's Makeup-in-process). <== Nick needs to be away to do the presentation if we are engaging that service. Get backup photog.
7-8pm Makeup artist's rest &amp; dinner.
7-8:40pm Reception &amp; Ushers in action. Nick in action.

[ 17-11-03 NIGHT ]
<U><FONT COLOR="red">Cocktail Dress.</FONT></U> Wear for 90mins.
7-8:20pm Cocktail snacks. Self-playing video if anyone wants to watch. One dance with hubby at cocktail area. Nick &amp; Videographer in action.

<U><FONT COLOR="red">Wedding Gown.</FONT></U> Wear for 40mins.
8:20-8:30pm Change into Wedding Gown. Makeup (blue-grey smoked eyes, glitter shoulders) &amp; Hair (half-up, silver glitter). Nick in action.
8:30-8:35pm Bride march-in, groom walks from stage, meet halfway and kiss. Cake-cutting. Announce dinner served. Usher (hold latecomers back til first dish served), Emcee, Nick &amp; Videographer in action.
8:35-9:10pm (1st time table photos) Posed table shots 35mins at all 36 tables as 1st, 2nd &amp; 3rd dish served. Shephard &amp; Nick in action.

<U><FONT COLOR="red">Kua.</FONT></U> Wear for 50mins.
9:10-9:20pm Change into Kua. Makeup (wipe and add pink matte eyes) &amp; Hair (high up, glitter).
9:20-9:50pm 30mins Tea Ceremony on stage. Shepard, Name-caller, Usher, Nick &amp; Videographer in action.
9:50-10:10pm (2nd time table photos) Mingle 20mins at 18 tables as 4th &amp; 5th dish served. Nick in action.

<U><FONT COLOR="red">Evening Gown.</FONT></U> Wear for 30mins.
10:10-10:20pm Change into Evening Gown. Makeup (add bronze to eyes, gold shoulders) &amp; Hair (high up, remmant glitter, gold hilite).
10:20-10:30pm Couple march-in. Champagne Pour. VIP toast on stage. Emcee, Shepard, Nick &amp; Videographer in action.
10:30-10:50pm (2nd time table photos) Mingle 20mins at remaining 18 tables as 6th &amp; 7th dish served. Nick in action.

<U><FONT COLOR="red">Cheongsam.</FONT></U> Wear for 1hr.
10:50-11pm Change into Cheongsam.
11-11:05pm Thank-you Speeches to each other, parents and guests. Emcee, Nick &amp; Videographer in action.
11:05-11:15pm (3rd time table photos) Mingle 10mins at friends' 8 tables only, as final 8th dish served. Nick in action.
11:15- 11:30pm Farewell Handshake. Nick &amp; Videographer in action.
11:30-12mn Wrap up and games. Nick &amp; Videographer in action.

Mt ..what diy flowers are u doing??? wah ur schedule seem so packed..can make it anot? maybe it may b good to give urself a bit allowance just in case there may be slight delays here and there..u nvr know...

How come u hv ur dance durin the cocktail leh?? me aso tinkin of a 1st dance...no fancy dance..just slow dance..but durin the banquet..where i m still in WG...he in his suit..me in my WG..more romantic...u tink leh?

aiyo..what happen to seiko and lynn liao?

Oh ya tink today is lynn rom rite...hope she hv a wonderful time

Hi Lena,
my DIY flowers are just Thomson Rd wholesale roses trimmed and stuck into vases. Or cut the rose heads and arrange in shallow glass plates.

Just so happen I was buying vases and plates for the home I chose all clear glass (Bodum brand- microwave and dishwasher safe for plates). I have enough recepticles for all 35 tables (exclude 36th VIP table).

Roses will be mix of the large blooms (quite ex) and the smaller cheap Malaysian blooms... and see what else I can buy the Sat before my Mon wedding.

MY WG and EG very big skirted, the WG has a train. The cocktail dress is more slinky and heavily beaded (reflective under light, will look good in pic when dancing). Will do HALFtime dance lah, the close salsa kind (HB and I took lessons... long time ago, need to refresh). Hope to dance at reception with the piano in the background and perhaps some guests would still be standing around. Good photo opportunity and chance to be close to HB ;P

No time to dance during banquet cos schedule so packed hahahah! Yeah, still considering if should have the CS- I always wanted one, and HB agreed... but very packed schedule hor? Abit like crazy chicken running around...

Hi MT

oic...dun the table hv a floral arrangement liao??? can we request them not to remove it???

Btw hv u selected ur songs liao???

For me..tink i will try not to make my event too packed with clothes changes..cos it may reduce the time i can interact with my flens..if there is any time...and aso we r plannin for games..so must hv a bit of allowance...

U doin any video presentation??? if hv..then ur timeline shd b veri packed liao..

MT
Lena is rite... doesnt MM have floral arrangements already?? i think coupled with candle lights rite? Oii, yr flowers will cost u quite abit too rite?

Me having 3 outfits for dinner... WG, EG then CS.

I went down 2 view Belvedere again on Sat... wah piang, seems like a few tables totally cannot get 2 see the screen leh.! nvm... can put those i dun relaly know or like there Hhahahah i very bad hor :P

Their standard arrangements are a glass container with candle and petals... not exactly what I had in mind. My flowers will cost $300, but since wholesale would be a decent quantity- I just like having more flowers to fill the place. I'd probably have my own flowers moved to reception counter when first dish is served, and later brought up to suite... more romantic ambience ;)

Mostly relatives, bah. Only 8 tables friends' so not too worried about insufficient interaction time. No games for us, til after banquet all wrapped up and bulk of guests handshaken off. Self-playing video on loop, during cocktail, so that frees up some time- people who come late aren't that interested in the montage stuff anyway.

At present me also having only 3 outfits for dinner too- WG, EG, Kua.

Just that before dinner there's cocktail and I'd kaypoh around in my cocktail dress- impact of the WG still not lost since they'd see that on march-in only. Still hoping to squeeze in CS cos I like CS lah...

Songs, eh, so early? Mine only in November... let me laze abit more :P

Ei? thot i posted a msg last nite?

Anyway, MT, there's this candle light wif floral arrangements rite? I checked wif a frd who attended a wedding at Belvedere last yr... she said the flowers were sufficient, dun look bare leh. topping up 300 quite a fair bit...

me oso 3 outfits for dinner WG EG n CS

i'll choose the songs sometime this mth... cos next mth is crazy mth, better ge some things done 1st.....

Hihi ladies

Seiko>>> wat songs do u hv in mind? for ur march in..and reception??? So will u b toppin up on the flowers???

MT >> Thot they hv diff designs for u to choose...cos when i went down..i c a few setting in the ballrooms...

Anyway do u hv to interact with some of ur close relatives too?? i like cs a lot too..so rite now i tryin to plan my wardrobe...me aso like kua

HI Lena

Me Jazz fan.... so def will have Frank Sinatra, Rod Steward's latest cd *HEE*

Oh, as 4 topping up of flowers, gotta see wat the florist can offer... maybe if the receptions area too 'bare' then i'll top up

Hi Seiko

hahaha me quite a jazz nerd...haha tink me music nerd too...when i heard a song tat i like..i normally wun noe wat song is that..so i tink i goin to hv a hard time for the songs liao...haha..

tat my intention too...if i can transform it into a starry nite with lots of flowers...but that goin to cost a lot ..haiz...budget constraints ...

Hi Cath, due 2 hubby's bz schedule, i haven met up wif Dolly the florist... will update u gals once ive touched base wif her.

Who's yr coordinator?

Hi Cath,

Thank you. I have received your mail. DO they accept about 20 tables? Wht kind of ballroom will they give you if there is only about 20 tables?

Hi Seiko,
My co-ordinator is Lynn.

Think you need to find out from them as i'm not sure abt that.

A big favor to ask of u all: i shd b finalizing my banquet soon..but i concerned on manadarin food...how is it?? good or bad?? can share with me ur comments on this..

I m worried abt the quality of the food as my parents in law are fussy on tis..

HiLena

i'll b having my food tasting on MOn.... will update u then

so far ive had frds who gave +ve comments on the food there.... but then again, individual preference leh...

For those who u hv attended the actual banquet or held ur wedding there...any feedback on the food???

Thanks Seiko

Hi Cath

my weddings next mth... nope Dolly the floristis onl leave till next wk.... no hurry since the deco details cld be settled in an hrs time *HEE*

sandgirl72,

when did zainal left... my co-ord is zainal, whos his replacement, no one contacted us... it is very disurbing to hear that he has left...

hi MT
is yrs oso under Zainal? i think Seiko is under Zainal and her wedding is sometimes this or next month, right??

hi dol..
zainal left few days ago.. they oso nv say exactly when.. the new guy taking over for my account is Francis Lee...

perhaps tomorrow U can give a call and check who is yr new co-ordinator..

ya lor.. very very disturbing especially this is the 2nd one within this year..

WAH LIEW!!!! this sure is BAD NEWS MAN!!!

Im going 4 food tasting tomorrow somemore *fainted*

When i signed up, it was JOE LEE, when he left, ZAINAL took over, NOW THIS?

IM GONNA CALL THE HEAD OF DEPT TOMORROW!

FURIOUS MAN!

Seiko don't worry

* Everything you asked for in B/W right?
* As for coordination any repetition of timing can just use this last chance to FINALISE (new guy not as confused over previous changes).
* As for Who's taking over, I recommend you INSIST for another SEASONED/ familar with MM coordinator (I personally like Henry lahhh), rather than a complete new staff to MM (even if he has eons of experience in other hotels) as he won't have time to familarise before your banquet this month. But I'm sure the hotel would have thought that.

Monday, just call the head...
1. Insist on a seasoned replacement.
2. Remind him to have replacement read your contract BEFOREHAND and be familar with it. I think they are taking the food tasting opportunity to intro you to your replacement ;) that's why no prior notice.
3. Any food tasting comments- have replacement note it and fax a copy to you.
4. After food tasting, have replacement brief you on how the banquet's gonna run! You got everything figured out like schedule etc yet? Can take opportunity to brief him, have him suggest/ make recommendations, note your points down to be faxed over to you.

Anyway, you have the wine list blahblah which I haven't received so should be alright if the coordinator is seasoned things would roll smoothly. Turnover for coordinators are known to be quite high so they should already have concrete framework to handle such cases. Only thing is whether can "click" with new coordinator but that wouldn't be a problem with nice clients likeyou and your HB

** Hi Sandgirl, my coordinator is Henry. My case the printed contract had minor missed out details so I insisted he amend it on the spot (he wrote then initialed on it), so perks wise I'm not "worried" if someone else should take over. Anyway I heard Henry been with MM... eons, worked his way up.

I like Henry's service though, so I suppose in future, should there be change of coordinator, I would be concerned about how receptive that person is to my requests. Still a few months to my wedding so anything could happen lah.

Hi MT

aiyoh, i sure wasnt nice when i 1st called n left a voice msg at their 68316083 no *hee*

then i decided 2 call front desk, n was told 1 banquet manager Lynn was on duty today.... they transferred me 2 her hp.... she was nice n said she wld check out my pkg wif them asap... meanwhile i called Pine Court 2 check if Zainal had informed them 4 my food tasting tomorrow... Phewwwwww, he was a responsible man

Lynn called me back a few mins later, n when i asked her if she had any idea who wld take over our a/c, n she said that wld be her! *hahaha*
so qiao.... she said she was close 2 Zainal, thats y zainal passed my a/c 2 her. She sounded very pro n nice.... saying she wld wan 2 meet up wif me asap after food tasting.... she was juz a surprised as i was upon hearing zainals resignation. Apparently, banquet managers had onli 24 hrs 2 clear their desk as MM is afraid they'll poach any clients....

Okieee, yay! free meal tomorrow! oh wait, we did pay 4 it hor? CHAYYYYY *hee* 1 colleague of mine had a wedding dinner at Act 1 last wk, she said the food was good! n the room was so lovely as it was deco'd in some garden theme rite?

Shd be meeting with Dolly the bz lady this wkend *heheh*

Hi Gals!

Hmm.. mine's under Zainal's too! But was expecting something like this to happen since my wedding only next year... and was thinking no point for me calling them now in case someone leaves again rite... aiya... hopefully the manager taking over mine will be good...

Seiko, dun worry too much ya.. if everything is written black and white in ur contract, guess it will be fine

Hi Jan

so far, Jojok, yrself, n I r under Zainal... but heard his a/cs had been distributed 2 the rest of the managers.... i got Lynn
I told zainal our preferences.... hope he did record down....

meaning, i got 2 reiterate 2 Lynn the details once again when i met up wif her....

Aiyo, fr Joe Lee to Zainal, n now Lynn...

Hihi..

So surprised when zainal left...previously i had neg sum perks with him..but din sign the contract cos i dun hv my date yet...

Hopefully lynn has gd response too..cos i got my account passed on to her...

Hi Seiko..do rem to update me after ur food tasting :P

Any ladies ..do update me on this too

Lynn is my co-ordinator too. So far, i'm quite pleased with her and feels at ease when talk to her. Quite a nice girl to talk to. Oh ya, she's also responsive to my requests.

wow.. most of U are having Lynn looking after yr a/c.. i wonder besides us, who else is having Francis Lee?

so far, i have not heard from Francis Lee as yet...

Just checked &amp; confirmed that Henry is taking over Zainal's account for mine. Spoke to him earlier as I was initially trying to arrange for a D&amp;D event at Mandarin, he sounds nice &amp; was prompt to my request.

Hi jojok, Henry's my coordinator all along. No probs with him so far, very accomodating and prompt. When's your wedding- mine in Nov '03.

Insider
is ur news accurate? Cos zainal pass over to lynn...

if lynn is leavin..who shd i look for ?? any prompt and nice co-ordinator fm mandarin??

Lynn was really prompt in her follow up ... i had food tasting on mOnday, n she called my hp the very next day.... but cos i was unavail, she immediately sent me an email for feedback....

V happy wif her services

Oh, the food was fantastic! loved the dishes... but the steamed garoupa's meat was a lil springy.... i told hubby its slightly overcooked, but hubby said this fish is supposed 2 be cooked till this state... dad oso said garoupa is more ex compared 2 my fave ( kim bak lor ).. er, issit sea bass huh? i find sea bass's flesh more tender leh... initially wanted 2 change to sea bass, but dad said i siao! change 2 cheaper fish for wat, loo gee leh.....

Soon Hock is mor ex than Garoupa (they are using the smaller variety).
BUT SH can only be fried, Garoupa steamed- so really see which taste you prefer

Must warn... when you have hundreds of guests, harder to QC the freshness and cooking of steamed fish compared to fried fish. Maybe highlight to Lynn (or better still, ask HER opinion as to which).

Wahhh MT

u come in so late ah ? *hee*

i wanted fried soon hock, but hubby said the other dishes r already so 'heavy' on the palatte... so better choose a steam dish 4 variety sake. Im not complaining, juz that i agree wif u that on actual day, wif all the no of tables + air conditioning in the rm, the steamed fish may not turn out well... Zainal did agree that having a steam dish wld go easier on guests stomach too.... oh im not a duck person originally, but after trying the duck wif sea cucumber, i changed my opinion bt it *hee* the portion is HUGE! so huh, guests wld be happily tucking away ( like siao ! ) *hee* n the meat was so tender!

Older folks wld love this dish ... also looks
' dai tai ' ( cantonese for dont look stingy on our part ).... overall, hubby kept saying v gd v gd! Oh, the sharks fin dish was fab! the whole bowl was almost filled wif fins n that fish ( sth )... called Heer Bio or sth ? really can see fins. But again, like wat u said QC on AD dif 2 gauge leh

Hi everyone..... Really really sorry for the sudden departure from Mandarin. I guess that's life, where people come n people go. Anyway I've done the necessary hand-over to the management for their appropriate actions. Sad to leave all my guests especially those wedding which are round the corner, however due to better prospect and promotion, I do have to move on. Should you guys encounter any problems and do need my assistance, please feel free to email me at [email protected]. I believe all the Sales Manager in Mandarin are professional lots where you guys can depend on. Hence please do accept my sincere apology and heartiest congratulation to all "my" wedding couples wishing you happiness and success in your new chapters of life.

ZAINAL

Hi ZAINAL!! surprised 2 c u here
Lynn has taken over my a/c, n muz say am v happy wif her follow up actions.... in fact, she's been anxious bt meeting up wif AK n myself since my WD is this coming 31st

Wishing u success in yr future endeavours

Hi Zainal

Surprised to see u online..thanks a lot for ur patience even though i hv not confirmed my package..

All the best to u

Seiko
seem u r veri hapi with ur food tasting...that gd...cos i a bit concerned abt their food..

So is the insider news accurate?

i m very sad and disappointed with the replacement sales person - FRANCIS LIM.

He is a total 'switched-off', 'bo chap' fellow. Ever since Zainal left, I have not heard anything from this FRANCIS LIM. So both my hubby and I tot we should give him a call and see wat is the next step we should prepare for our banquet.

So we called on last Sat and left voice message but he never return call. So I called him again this morning and finally I got to speak to him.

I got very 'pissed off' from the way he talks. His attitude is very BAD and unprofessional. He can tell me that he has been in this line since 1992 so don't worry.

He even asked me to call him back for appt when our wedding date is drawing near. Wat kind of a sales person is he? Is that the right attitude we should expect from the one that is going to ensure that our dinner will be a successful one?

I m going to call up his boss and ask for IMMEDIATE change. I cannot stand any minute talking to this man.

I really envy those of you who got Henry as the replacement sales person.

Hi all, I'm having my wedding in december. same thing - my previous coordinator was Joe, who left. Up to now, his replacement had not called me. Just wondering usually how many mths before the actual wedding should the food tasting be held. Starting to panic already 'cos have not done much.

ive gone thru 3 coordinators : Joe Lee, Zainal and now Lynn. Have met up wif Lynn over the wkend, n prior 2 that, we have emailed n spoken over the phone. She's the most prompt coordinator out of the 3 who calls me more often than i call her. I think she's more kan chiong than me *heheh*
Besides emails, she'll call me up 2 check out the details wif me lest i havent checked my mail.

I was so worried when Zainal left.... but can safely say that I can really click wif Lynn. Maybe its easier communicating my thots 2 her somehow. She quick 2 get my ideas n will speak her mind if she thinks a particular choice isnt that suitable.

For Eg, ive tried getting hold of Dolly n am feeling exasperated already ( cos she's always so bz ).... I told Lynn i'll try calling Dolly today, but Lynn beat me to it. She even tried 2 arrange a meeting 4 us
im really grateful for her efforts

Sandy, i thot the comments on Francis here quite gd?