Mandarin Orchard Singapore

anyone has doreen lim as their coordinator? how come i only see zainal and henry's names in the threads.. should i request for their service instead of this doreen's.. she always seem to be taking leave and not at her desk...

advise pls!!

Hihi...

Seiko >>> i din get to see the cards when i went down to discuss with zainal...well if it is realli that obiang..then mayb i will customise..tink that for tdragon..it may be a bit common as quite a lot of couples go to them..

For their wedding fabours..tink they got give chopsticks aso...mayb u all can check it out with ur co-ordinators..

I still deciding whether to go mandarin anot..any hotel suggestions???

HI Lena

Tdragon is Mandarin's 'offically appointed' printer.... if you're not getting those 2 cards by Mandarin, then u can source for other printers.
as 4 the chopsticks, will check if zainal if mandarin offers them

If you're considering the range of 800+per table, then there's always Oriental ( 798 nett ), Hilton, Goodwood ( may b more ex ), Hyatt, Pan Pac ( 700+ i thinK? ) paiseh, my knowledge of pricing may be outdated cos i booked last nov...

Hi Seiko, thanks so much

Hi Lena,
Hmm I just booked mine last mth... IMO, well... depends on WHO your guests are- if mostly relatives your parents' generation, then they place HIGHER prestige on Mandarin compared to every other hotel except Ritz. Even if Mandarin is cheaper than some other hotels. I think they have a "hang-up" and awed by the Mandarin name.
I didn't check out the ones Seiko mentioned cos mine is the relatives-reason.

If mostly your peers, then my only advice is best bang for your buck in an ambience you want. Personally, I think Grand Park Royal ballroom really nice
heehee, or Otani. But prices don't quite match the location and sometimes people still ask huh, where?

The florist not easy to bargain.
Anyway I'm tightening my budget and slashing some items, so no extra stabds or sashes. Will DIY flower arrangements to add (even that budget may be slashed eeeek).

HI MT

u mean bargain for extra perks fr florist?
u spoke to Dolly over the phone or saw her directly? Cos i know Mandarin does allocate a certain budget 2 her, wonder if she's very ngiao?

Hi Seiko, I only spoke to her over phone, her prices for extra stands are actually quite cheap compared to other florists (who will charge you transportation whereas in her case she won't since she's already delivering the stands that are included in her package TO MANDARIN).

But, cannot bargain prices with her lor. From her standpoint, I guess maybe she's doing special cheaper rates TO MANDARIN, and if she also cut her prices for extra items to the brides, then where is her profit-reaping opportunity? So I'm doing without the extra items I wanted, can't afford and can't bargain.

HI MT

i wanted 2 check wif u the prices for the extra stands ... if its convenient, cld u email me at [email protected] ? Better 2 do it offline lest there's 'complications' *hehehh*

these extra stands 2 lined along the aisle rite?
Cos for Belvedere, when i viewed the ballrm, there were 2 stands ( holding candlelights n some flowers i think? ) placed juz at the small entrance of the ballrm. cant remember if those along the aisle were the same. Oh, do u know how many in total does she supply for a 'standard' wedding? Tks in advance
paiseh, so lor shore..

Dolly called juz the other day... she thinks there's no need for us to meet up so soon as my wedding in late Aug... so she proposed 1st wk of July.

HiHi..

Seiko >>> i tink the chopsticks are there..cos zainal show it to me when i went down to discuss with him...
I thot they hv more variey on the cards available leh...not 2 designs oni..hmmm mayb i was mistaken...

MT & Seiko >>> went down hitlon before...dun like it..find it a bit old fashioned..oriental dun look as gd as mandarin...goodwood i hv no idea..as for pan pacific.. i quite like it till i see the actual flowers arrangement ...feel it a bit cheapo for the price per table..

So far, 1st choice seem to b mandarin..quite like the grand ballroom..heehee but i dun wan a big banquet...prefer it to b smaller and cosier...

Btw, how the food at mandarin???

So when are ur big day????

Hi Lena
tks 4 the info.... Yay, at least ive got 3 choices 2 choose fr now
If u wanted Mandarin's logo printed on the card, then there r onli 2 'official' cards. If not, u can always choose fr the assortmt of cards offered by Tdragon ( their own logo printed on back of card ). Their cards r wayyyyyy better than Mandarins miserable 2. aiiyo, so disappointed wif their choice of cards. Merchant Court's own cards r soooo nice ( my frd juz had her wedding there ).
Mandarin shd do some reflection on this .... *sigh*

heard the food's gd... but oso c luck sometimes,
in general the standards there, but sometimes, so-so lor. My big daz Aug 31st
when's yrs?

Actually, Mandarin is the 2nd hotel i saw, n i fell in love wif the set up of Belvedere ( i visited 1 evening b4 a wedding was held )... no doubt some pple r bothered by the pillars, but i think the cosy rm + cheery looking ballrm fits my
bill to a T

Hi Seiko,
The package that's "FOC" ie. included in your contract with Mandarin, has,
* a specific limited no. of fresh flower stands, a specific limited no. of silk flower stands.
That day I went to see a wedding and counted, but then maybe the lady had paid extra stands, not accurate, best to ask when you see Dolly- I suspect it really depends on which DESIGN you choose, she has quite different types (another day, another bride had quite different styling). You can place them along the aisle, on the stage, at the entrance, at the reception, anywhere you like actually. They as experts, do "suggest" where you can place them.
* sashes for chairs at 2 VIP tables

If you want extra stands or extra sashes,
* flower stand quoted $50 each (this should be the basic design- I'm sure if choose something more fancy, or more exotic flowers will be more expensive).
* sashes quoted $2.50 each.
* if you want exotic more expensive blooms for your FOC stands, then also top-up. This I don't know how much, depends on your choice.
Not worthwhile choosing alternative florist who will charge for transport.

At that time I was toying with the idea of paying extra for,
* More flower stands at entrance, behind reception counter, closer distance between each stand at the aisle, at the stage and below stage.
* alternate chair sashes for ALL my guests... just close your eyes and imagine how it'll look!
* adding a small flower bouquet at the VIP chair sashes to differentiate.
But all these are extra money lah... err, scolded by galfriends who say no one else will notice, everyone eat and go only

HI MT
wow, im impressed.... you're really an industrious n meticulous bride to be
me bo chup bride, juz c the surface, think think ok ... then sign on dotted line liao *Hehehh* Juz as in the case of my WG n EG... me too bo chup to mtm, took everything otr, less hassle mah *HEHEH* onli mtm my CS.

and YES! i can imagine how nice the extra stands, extra sashes wld look... gorgeous wedding man!
but then that wld be an extra burden on pocket too... Ive seen pix of Liza Minelli's recent wedding pix where she adorned almost the whole church wif white flowers..... the effect was STUNNING! that singer Marc Anthony had the steps of the church decorated wif flowers too! Wat a sight!

Flowers do make a whole lot of difce...

Seiko
tink for sheraton towers they aso hv nice weddin invites..but then the ballrm is L shaped...

My weddin..my FIL still choosin date..but it shd b next yr...me plannin early as i dun like to b rushin ard towards the time..and aso my hubby may b on overseas detachment..

Tink for us..if we choose manadarin..it will b the manadarin court ..just nice for us...

So how ur weddin plans coming along? Need any help..just let me noe..as i sort of freelancin as a weddin planner

HI Lena

been 2 sheraton 4 a wedding once... lovely ballrm, n the chandeliers look sooo grand

er, i din notice that the ballrm is L shape though... but per table seats 12 rite? food portions were generous.

ive completed the maj part of the preparations... now left those nitty gritty details 2 sort out *heheh* tks 4 yr help anyway

Yup..the ballroom is L shaped..mayb the weddin u went to ..they oni used the long side of the L ballroom...

still choosin my hotel...seriously up to now..i still hv not find one which really wows me off...

For manadarin..it one of the best so far...

Hello

Lena, I've booked my banquet for July next year.. I'll be using Belvedere, same as seiko!
Yup, saw the ballroom and tot it's not so bad afterall, as i've always got reviews that Mandarin's ballroom is old..

Lena, is the chopsticks new as their wedding favour? Was told that they're getting chopsticks but when i signed up, they still havent really confirm abt that... So, is the chopsticks nice? hehe

Seiko, really only 2 cards to choose from!?! i was told that there's 100+ cards to choose from!!! Hmm.. guess the designs are the typical cheena type is it?

Yup, i also saw Oriental, their recep area is good, large and private but decor is so-so only, didn't like the red table cloth for the 2 VIP tables, find it cheena... Luckily Mandarin is more westernised styled decor.. hehe..

Lena, think u can choose Sheraton, Pan Pac (but only 8 course food), Hotel Intercon, Marriot is not bad too.. Btw, wat's ur budget actually?

Hi Lena

go wif yr gut feeling
cos most imptly is u feel
comfortable wif yr choice
cos there r many better hotels out there ( of cos sometimes price oso ' very the nice '
) No point choosing a place which pple think is gd... cos its yr wedding mah... Okieee, know wat i did when i had 2 make a choice? i simply closed my eyes n tried imaging my own wedding ( in a ballrm )... n i cld picture the Belvedere wif its pillars n all, n of cos me walking down the aisle

Hi jan
Mandarin renovated the tower 2-3 yrs ago rite? errr, the south tower not done up yet ( i think ??? ) Now me abit worried bt the parking, cos at times when i parked there, the carpk quite old, n small leh. On my wedding day, there r 3 weddings ( including mine ) so i wonder if i shd warn my guests bt coming early ( WAH perfect excuse 2 make them come punctually hor ?
) or worse come 2 worse, tell them back up plan wld b 2 park at Taka.

at T dragon, if u wanted a card wif Mandarin's logo on it, then there's onli 2 designs. But Tdragon has many many 2 offer.... but ive seen some of the nicer 1's being used 4 weddings... so bo bian, decided 2 personalise

Oh, if u choose Tdragon's cards,then their logo wld be on it ...

Hello ladies!

Hi seiko, yeah, they renovated the ballroom sometime back.. Yes, think parking will be a problem, just afraid all of them will get jammed up in the car park.. perhaps just ask them to park at taka if they're running late, or think good idea to ask them to come in early...

Oh, so there're many cards to choose from eh.. Will see how is it, hopefully next year mandarin will change their cards..

seiko, how's ur prep for the ballroom decor, are u topping up extra to do up the place, like having alternate seat sashes?

Morning Jan

Oh, i did bargain 4 more parking coupons, but Zainal my coordinator said its not possible as he has 2 allocate the coupons to 2 other couples who's having wedding on the same day. so i suppose the allocatioj is 30%, 30% and 40 % ( for their biggest ballrm ) That covered their 3 ballrms.

Im meeting Dolly of Green acres 1st wk of July.
Will compare pix of 'extra' deco ... n if it turns out really nice ( im sure the effect wld b gd ), then i'll consider topping up. I'll ask Dolly wat she suggests 2 be considered not OTT... oso dun wan the effect 2 b too overbearing

Hello Seiko!

I was wondering what happened the other thread, think there's too many Mandarin hotel threads in here, so Chin Leng delete those away!!

Oh yeah, if there's 3 weddings, dun think they can allocate too many parking lots for all the guests.. And somemore u can tell ur guests that usually there's jam in orchard road during weekends, so it's best that they come early and secure a parking lots at mandarin!! haha..

Was wondering the top ups will be very ex or not? Maybe u can share with us after u've visited Dolly

HI jan

i was scratching my head n wondering where my postings went too *heheh* Lost in CyberSpace :P

i think i'll subtly remind the guests bt the jam lest they start out late n arrive super late *fainted*

No Prob
will share wif u gals once ive spoken to Dolly .
I think MT did mention the price of top-ups somewhere in the thread.... she did a comprehensive writeup on the extras...

Errr, now abit worried bt quality of food. Cos i know Pine Court does the dishes. But if theres 3 weddings going on at the same time, will they be able 2 handle ?

Hi ladies, I went to T Dragon (have you all seen their site can view their selection too... basically those $1 per card those you CAN select, I *think*).
Was very seduced by personalised printing (you can see at their shop- news bulletin, postcard, very cool)... but very expensive- my mum was dead set against and reminded me constantly that her relatives were going to definitely trash the invits.

Toying with the idea of DIY printing (cos the hot stamping looks common, the cheaper insert printing not... that nice). DIY printing can have background VERY light image of ourselves, like a photo! And so on!

Problem is Chinese Text.

Hi there!

Wondering if the others can find their way to this thread or not!!

Oh, MT did mention abt the top ups, ok, i'll refer back later..

Yah, quite worried that they'll be super late coz of jam plus cant find parking lots!

Food wise, think very hard to say leh.. sometimes it'll be good and sometimes not, very subjective.. Heard both good and bad comments abt their food... Have u tot of the food u want to choose?

Hi MT

did visit their sites b4 i went down, but viewing fr internet buay pah keh leh. when i saw the real samples ( customised 1's ) i was in awe! If u wanted 2 print the ' brown coloured background '
cards wif the couples face on it, then i think it starts fr 2+? mine's colour, so price starts at 3+.

My mum was oso telling me wats the use of printing cards that ex, when in the end pple r juz gonna throw it away? Attended my frds wedding a mth back, n after the wedding, i saw invites in the lift ( crushed n all ). it was a sorry sight. So i picked it up n throw it away at home ( cos im already keeping mine ). If the newly weds were 2 c that, they'll prob b quite disturbed.

if you're DIY-ing, y not emulate the chinese texts found in wedding cards?

Hi Jan

i oso dunno which 1 2 choose, Menu A or B?
was wondering if we can play ard wif the selection, like swop dishes hor?
Hmmm, muz check wif Zainal this wk...

Hello MT!

Oh, i havent seen the T dragon's stie, could you give me the website add pls? Thanks!!
Yeah, guess we only can choose the cheapest, but it's true in a way that probably our guests are not so concerned the way the card looks, i think it's us, the host, that's fussy rite!!

But DIY will be nice tho.. however, dun think we wanna spend too much...

Let me try to find the Mandarin Logo cards:

This is a very old series, now they offer only with T Dragon logo but I explained I was shown this card with Mandarin logo- she said they will accommodate for my case (but truth is, who cares about the logo? Point is, IF you like this card, it's also available with the normal TD logo at no extra charge).
http://www.tdragoncards.com/contemporary_1063.htm

This I *think* (can't see clear) is the off-white card they are offering (the words "Our Wedding" hotstamped gold on cover so it's not as plain as you see here). The red version is same design except dark red colour card, with chinese "xi" word hotstamped on cover.
http://www.tdragoncards.com/contemporary_1073.htm

I can't find the design I'm eyeing (with TD logo), so that means it's either very old not on the website or very new ahaha. Very plain, cartoon-style drawing of a bride and groom on cover, no embossing or anything

Wah Seiko, I'm sure your cards will be very nice!

I liked the personalised cards
esp the neww bulletin (then again, my banquet mostly for no-English relatives heehee, cannot for my case lah). Sure confuse them!

But there was one I really thought not worth it- they designed themselves (add money!), extra hot-stamping of words here and there (add money!), in matte gold instead of shiny gold (add money!), tie extra ribbon (add money!)... in the end I think it was quite expensive but didn't look it because of all the "hidden" add money that MOST people wouldn't know.

Problem with Chinese Text is I'm handicapped in that language and software hehe. I did ask TD to give me a sample insert to show my HB- but really don't know how to read!

Jan, $1 a card I think is pretty decent- you can choose the more "expensively processed" cards... look out for embossing details or colour printing on the original card design itself, then more worth it. But... personal taste vary lah, those were mainly sweeeeet- I didn't like (I can't stand sweeeeet pastel pinks! Saccharine overdose!). So thinking of choosing a plain no embossed, no colour, cartoon... abit more contemporary and kiddish :P But don't match my theme leh... haha! Worry abit later! Or pop down and browse catalogue again!

Seiko, the food choices I'm not firmed up but this is what I'm THINKING subject to their approval lah (mine weekday menu- so SAD
no abalone slices). I must say Mandarin is one of few hotels which actually "justify" the more expensive weekend rates by having better ingredients than weekday rate. So envious of weekend menu- got extra duck dish with sea cucumber, FRESH scallop, abalone slices, mashed taro dessert... sigh! If only I had the weekend menu, add whole suckling pig upgrade, then upgrade to ballroom, plus decor upgrade... ok ok I'm drifting away liao.

* Pre-dinner cocktail- I will buy chocolates, choc wafer and put in nice bowls at cocktail table and reception. My own cost of course.

* Dinner Menu:
1. Whole Roast Suckling Pig
($100 top-up even after removing the chicken dish)
2. Deluxe Cold Dish (fuyong egg, mini spring rolls, jellyfish salad, prawn salad, mini octopus)
<- spring roll sounds abit cheap I feel :/ but will do lah- filling I hope!
3. Braised Shark's Fin with Crabmeat &amp; Golden Mushroom
(good that both menus offer braised- which is a perceived higher price than shark fin SOUP that some other places offer)
4. Sauteed Prawns with Vegetables &amp; Spicy Sauce in Golden Nest
(I heard the OTHER- Sauteed Prawns with Vegetables in XO-Chilli Sauce is good... but I think Golden Nest more filling, less spicy?)
5. Deep-fried Soon Hock
(Soon Hock more expensive than Garoupa)
6. Braised Fresh Abalone mushrooms with Vegetables and dried scallops
(Must be careful- this is the 2nd Braised dish for the evening, I read somewhere someone complained that it feels like all the dishes cooked same style no variety... when food tasting be sure to check and feedback accordingly)
7. Stewed Ee Fu Noodles with Chives
(I read somewhere this was good- anyone tried the OTHER baked rice in lotus leaf to compare? Cos stewed noodles taste abit like braised style!)
8. Happiness till Eternity
(This is cheap dish some sort of sugary water but supposedly very meaningful- my mum insisted this instead of the OTHER Cream of Red Bean with Lotus Seed... actually I thought the cream sounds more expensive, more filling too.)

* I'm hoping for non-edible favours from hotel (I haven't seen anything either).
* Will buy at own cost 2 pieces chocolate with a DIY Thank You placecard (the TY card cos my mum saw those at T Dragon and insisted must give TY cards). Just in case guests not full- am terrified cos I haven't a clue how small or big the suckling pig is, and I've removed my chicken dish leh!

seiko, yup, they're quite flaxible in letting us swop the dishes i guess..

MT, thanks for ur details on the dishes!

I was also thinking of taking the deep fried soon hock rather than steamed fish, coz sometimes steamed fish may have the fishy taste and not sure how fresh it is..

Whole suckling pig's good, seldom get to eat it during wedding dinners!

Oh yes, i saw the website u've sent.. thanks.. Ya, i havent seen the favours yet, hopefully, they really have the chopsticks already, otherwise Chocs and cakes are kinda boring..

Hey MT
i might have seen that card u were eyeing fr Tdragon leh... its suppose 2 be on the 1st few pages of the file rite? i think Tdragon files their newest offerings on top. I was actually eyeing this 2 flap opening card wif a nice purple or orangey ribbon securing it. cost 50 cents but the catch is u've got 2 tie the ribbons yrself... so leh cheir... Tdragon's Connie told me that if i were 2 choose that design, i wld b the 2nd couple 2 use it. But hubby din quite like it leh. But its a v sweet card
Hope my cards turn out well or else gotta bang my head on the wall
Truth is, im having my PS tomorrow, so its impossible 2 use my PS pix as cover pix for card. So due 2 time constraint, we chose our ROM pix taken by Nick Goh, whom i engaged for my ROM n actual day.
If you're interested i can send u the link 2 my ROM pix
email : [email protected]

Actually, when i checked wif my then coordinator Joe if i cld cut 1 dish ( the duck cos most pple dun like it ), he said mandarin cld onli deduct 40 bucks ( i think ). Mum then said it wasnt worth it. besides my wedding is on a wkend, most
pple wld cater 9 dishes for wkends n 8 dishes for wkdays. So haiya, mum din wan 2 give those kpo relatives sth 2 blab, so we went ahead wif 9 dishes. Actually, wats the difce btn braised n soup? ( pardon my limited knowledge of cooking terms ) Oh, braised has thicker/ brown looking soup issit? will i look cheapo if i ask 4 fried rice? Cos noodles quite common. Mum wld prob wan noodles cos its suppose 2 signify longevity ( in the marriage ) Yr dessert is white fungus wif red dates? cos that came 2 mind when u said 'sugary water ) i think i can either choose the redbean cream or taro yam paste. The suckling pig is ex man! I guess its symbolic in its own sense thats y the older folks insist on it.

I remember my frd telling me that if u print at Tdragon, upon collection of yr cards, they'll throw in some TY cards. But she took their heart stickers instead ( v normal looking gold coloured stickers )

hey tks 4 yr tip on the food. Will keep a lookout 4 these when i have my food tasting next mth

Gals, i was thinking, wld deep fried soon hock b gd at masking the smell lest the fish isnt fresh? But then, there's the risk that they over fry it. Aiyo, so many things 2 stress us out

Seiko,

Pardon me, what's TY cards? haha..

Yeah, think deep fried fish wld be safer rite, coz if it's steamed, there's a very high chance that it wont be that fresh, come across it many times during banquet...

Yah, actually tot the duck wont be so popular, but are there any other dishes to choose from if we dun want the duck dish?

Yup, i think i'll choose noodles too, and i like taro yam paste, dun like red bean! But of coz not up to me to choose!!

Jan, its thankyou cards

im not sure bt the substitution dish, will ask Zainal bt it when i meet up wif him either this or next wk

seems like deep fried fish is a safer bet

Oh i see, but do we need those thank you cards? Is it to be put together with the favour?

Btw, i went to really see the T dragon cards again, is Mandarin's 2 official cards the traditional bright red, old fashioned type?? If it really is, then faint!! I saw the special type, very nice!! But no budget to do those..

hihi ladies

Had a hard time findin back tis thread...thot it was deleted...

Well for the chopsticks...it just a miniature pair of chopsticks..can oni used for decor...not sure whether they will hv new favors for next yr..

yup..i aso heard that they hv more 100 designs..i guess it more on the TD havin 100++ designs not Manadarin...

Jan >>> i aso wan to go with my feel..but so far no feel yet..wonder is it bcos i m fussy?
Budget about 700-800+ per table..

Hi Seiko, yup the card was filed nearer the top- HB hasn't seen anything yet, I'm not in hurry to choose, but need to "research" before deciding if really DIY print inserts.

You are right about the difference between braised and soup- supposed to have "more" shark fin in braised version. Or at least LOOK like it does haha! Fried fish safer choice, and anyway Soon Hock more expensive- no complaints hehe! I still have no idea what the Happiness Til Eternity dessert is- if only they can serve just the VIP table that, and the rest of the guests have CREAM of Red Bean cos I'm sure guests care more about taste than significance.

Good luck on your PS! BTW I'm also choosing Nick Goh for my actual day- emailed you!

It seems Duck kinda difficult to substitute- you've already got Suckling pig combi, Chicken, Fish... run out of common food species already heehee! Sure you don't want to take the $40 rebate... buy a real wedding cake to serve (looks nice lehhh)? $4 per slice each guest for cake can still find if you are looking at The Pattiser heh. Guests won't complain cos the cake is 9th dish what :P

Hi Lena,

We all got lost just now, wondering wat happened!!

Oh so the chopsticks tat u saw is for decor purposes only ah.. Hmm.. but was told they're actually in the midst of planning for new favours.. so hopefully they'll confirm soon abt this!

700-800 budget, guess try to go see more hotels wil be better, i'm sure there'll be one that u like!! U can also try looking at merchant court, raffles the plaza, sheraton??

Yeah, seiko, Good Luck for ur PS tom!!

U must be very excited already huh!

Oh yeah, MT u're right, looks like no substitions already, how abt prawn dish, but i doubt so, coz prawns are more ex!!

Jan, I don't find Mandarin's red cards obiang, just... very plain/ boring (but then I find most T Dragon's cards boring haha. But acceptable as long as no $$$ top-up!). Not bright red lah.

Lena, you have an attractive budget- and good timeframe, you should "exercise" your bargaining power if there's anything about price or perks that's holding you back from signing. IMHO you can't go wrong with Mandarin's name (esp. if more than half your guests are relatives if you get what I mean). My mum even thinks Mandarin's the most prestigious hotel in Singapore despite the price being cheaper than some other hotels. Mindset lah.

Oops Seiko I meant $4 per slice possible if NOT looking at The Pattiser *paiseh*

Hi MT,

oh, wat a relief, not the bright red types!! hahaha..

Yup agree with MT, think for the elderly crowd, Mandarin is like a super high class hotel, if u choose those more westernised named hotels, they may not heard abt it (if they're the chinese speaking type).. So, may have bigger ang pows!!

THANKS Gals 4 yr well wishes... juz hope i dun get 'free showers' *HEHEH*

HI Jan
i wun b using their thankyou cards, so will prob get their stickers. Fr what i understand, The freebies will onli b given after printing is done. Upon collection, you'll be pleasantly surprised that there's actually perks given. Mandarin has 2 cards, 1 ivory i deep almost marooned red i think? oh, very thin paper used too...

Hi Lena
if i were 2 choose, i'll surely choose the chopsticks... more unique... but IL's side got many uncles aunties... they will prob b thinking, EI where's the cake huh ? *HEHEH* Lena, you've got a gd budget, so shd have many choices leh...

HI MT
aiya, already signed the contract, dun think i'll be able 2 get the rebate now... gonna check wif Zainal wat substitute dish they're offering. If none, then i'll have 2 stick wif the duck. Anyway, i heard brides wun have the time 2 eat, so the guests got 2 'suffer' *hahah*

Oh gals, how come Mandarin is now known as Meritus Mandarin ? They've been bought over by some consortium issit? juz like in the case or Marriot hotel?

Agree wif MT on the mindset of the older folks.
When my IL's heard i was considering Orchard Parade, they were secretly displeased, but din voice out. So they were pleasantly surprised when we announce we chose MM. Old folks huh....
Oh, the best thing is the convenience of having the MRT.... most pple who aint driving will appreciate the central location

hello!

seiko, do have an early night today, so will look fresh for tomorrow!

Oh, freebies after collecting the cards, that sounds good! hehe..

hi all, looks like this thread is very hot today! jus wondering if any of u been to act1 for wedding dinner?

or hear/seen the act1 ballrm at mandarin? kind of like the little act1 rm, kind of like a garden, but the ceiling is a bit old leh!

seiko, hv a wonderful time tomolo during ur ps!

HI gals

cant seem 2 zzzzz leh.... perhaps im too nervous

Hi Jan
i hope my frd's info is rite bt the freebies upon collection. Connie called juz now saying that the draft ( colour version ) of my card is ready... i requested that she touch up the pix cos i discovered hubby had a fierce looking n super red zit on his forehead. Amazing that she managed 2 'erased' it

Hi Tulip
tks... u considering Act1? i haven been there 4 weddings... u might wan 2 scroll up on the back dated thread here as i do remember seeing some comments on the rm itself

hehe.. understand how u feel seiko, let us know how is it after ur PS!!

Hi Tulip, sorry, not too sure abt Act1, never seen the ballroom, I think the ceiling will be covered up by the lightings and anyway, dun think the guests will actually look at the ceiling..

Seiko...hope u enjoy ur ps

haiz...damm sianz...my request to hold my weddin banquet at our sec sch was rejected...that was my ultimate first choice..cos i get to customise everytin..now it back to hotels for me...

mandarin fits my budget the best..as i feel that merchant court not flexible in their requirements..wait later harder to tok to them abt the last min tins..u noe wat i mean...

Yup the chopsticks are oni for decor..cant b used..guess it just that it is sumtin diff fm cakes and chocos...

Btw..any one of u gettin a real wedding cake???

Freebies?? i dun get wat u ladies are saying...