Mandarin Orchard Singapore

judyl ... I dun think I have seen that ..
cos we have some specific requirements for our agents .. kekeke ..

wow .. like that we are redoing the same areas except that I will hack one walkway for walk in ..
and laminate the bed rooms .. like that he charge u how much?? is it convenient for you to fax the quotation to me?? You can pm me at [email protected]

i also very poor .. wow lau .. cos if going to do rewiring and repiping .. can say bye bye to my 'luxury lifestyle' liao ..

Hi Trekkie,

I went down to look at the wedding in Mandarin Court tonight. Although it's not the GB but at least it gives me some idea of the decor.

Yes you are right. My FH and i are attracted by the price and the location. We are in a dilemma cos we could not decide between this or another hotel. One looks romantic and GB supposedly looks grand (based on my imagination).

I was rather surprised to see that this thread is so active. All your enthusiasim over Mandarin made me consider this hotel as my wedding venue more. Haha... think Mandarin needs to pay you some commission or give some additional perks for putting in so much good words for them.

Hi ninkumput,

The reason why Manadarin's thread is so hype up cos we believe it Manadarin's services and they have one of the best offers in comparision to other 5* hotels.

Good idea for commission though...I believe some of the hotel's sales people do read this forum too...Any offer???

Hmm .. Seems like everyone in this forum are all brides to be? No grooms to be here ah? ;P

Anyway, my gal and I also booked MC for next year liao. Just chanced upon this thread so thot come in to say hi to everyone and perhaps share some info. :-)

Judyl,
Can share your electrical shop contacts with me? My email is [email protected]. Will need the info very soon once our house is ready around Oct.

anyone attended banquet held in Mandarin Court? how was it? the decor .. ambience etc.
me signed up w/ mandarin recently and hv yet to see the decor of MC.
care to share?

Hi razor,
I dun hv any electrician contact yet. Will check wif my designer. Once i hv any contacts, i will share wif u.

Hi nanshee,
Ya lor, muz scrimp & save liao. Muz tink twice b4 buying any luxury stuff. Will PM u wif my details so dat I can share the quotes wif u. No worries, will kip u in the loop too on any electrician contacts.

Hi Starbright,

I have went to view a wedding held in MC last weekend. It was a 28 table banquet. I must say it looks quite nice. The partitions were all removed and the whole area is dedicated to the dinner alone. The cocktail reception is near the entrance. Basically, it's cosy and with style.

However, i noticed there is a pair of bunny ladies standing at MC's entrance. Wonder if Mandarin provided for them. I personally prefer to do away with them.

Hey Toons,

Nice to know you.

i don't see your name on the Mandarin BTB list compiled. So when is your big day coming? Have you booked with mandarin too?

hi ninkumput
thanks... hmmm...28 tables at Mandarin court ballroom? i thought the min. requirement was 35tables? are you referring to belvere ballroom instead?

wat?! bunny ladies???? what they doing there? *faint*

Hi Judyl,
Thanks for reply. I meant those shops selling electrical appliances that you mentioned, not electrician for electrical works coz those normally are packaged together with the IDs. ;P

By the way, which ID did you appoint?

Starbright,
I think the minimum requirement for MC is 32 tables, but they will allow up to 90% "allowance" (i.e 29 tables) for weekday. (It's stated in my contract, at least.)

Agree that MC is very spacious and if you have below 32 tables, I think, all the tables will have unblocked views of the stage. We may decide to close up 2 of the large partitions to make the dining area in MC more cosy.

thanks, razor
yeap, i do agree that MC is indeed spacious and that's what i like best about it. but have you seen the wedding decor yet?

when's ur AD btw?

Hi starbright
Both me and FH are in the opinion that MC decor is too whitish....old pple may not like it. we are initially taking MC but after seeing the decor we change to belverdere instead....it all up to personal preferences so it best that you make a trip down to see their decor before deciding on the ballroom.

Ask your co-ordinator when is the next wedding event in these 2 ballroom.

Starbright,
I do agree with jitpong on the decor for MC. We were also worried of the white concept initially but later when we approach other hotels, they are also using the similar concept so it seems that this is the in-trend at the moment.
Francis (our coordinator) did tell us to approach Dolly (the person who will be doing up the deco) to tell her of our concerns. However, that may also depend on whether she has the extra material to change (FOC) or otherwise it maybe chargeable for the extra requirements.
The min requirement for MC is indeed 35 tables but like mentioned by razor there is a 90% allowance but they are stricter when it comes to weekends.

well guys, u can make use of the intelligence lights to change the colour ..
with that, it will not be too whitish .. cos i just attended a gf wedding at MC .. i din notice the whitish colour .. maybe it's the lightings

thanks for valuable info. actually i'm more into the 'white' concept.
nahshee, yeap, i heard about the intelligence lightings...wonder how's the effect ..? was it grand over at MC? how's the service that day? do you like to food ?

hi toons! we both had the same coordinator

francis is such a nice guy to talk to
and so assuring. [which is why FH & myself decide to hold it in mandarin]

hey toons, when's ur AD? have you met up Dolly?
Jitpong, what abt yourself? are we given a choice of decor to choose from?
are they having flowers or candles concept?

Hi razor,
paiseh, i din read ur msg carefully.
in the midst of compiling the list. will e-mail it to u when it's ready. I appointed Uni*** (their quote is one of the lowest dat I've got, and their "stuff" the most). U interested? I can give u my designer's contact.

hi ninkumput & starbright,
I tink the bunny gals r from the wedding couple, not from MM. Cuz when I went to c the weddings at MC & Belvedere, I din c them.

Hi nanshee,
Do share wif us ur opinions on the lightings, the service and the food when u attended ur gf's wedding at MC. I'm dying to noe...

Starbright,
We saw the decor at MC for a few times liao. A bit kia su la but we bery excited. ;P The next time you are at Orchard near MM, try your luck - drop by MC to take a look (and hope that there is a wedding dinner tat nite). Best time is around 5 to 6 plus coz tat's the time they do the finishing touches to the ballroom. Once, we sat on the sofa outside MC until the guests of the wedding couple starts arriving - Just so that we have a feel and visual of the whole event. :-)

As for the decor, it's true that it's pretty whitish, but the many spotlights above makes the room colourful when they are on.

Our AD is coming up in May next year! By the way, I was told that MM may be re-vamping their theme / decoration soon. Hope it's true and it'll be good. :-)

judyl,
Thanks! Can send me your ID contacts. No harm hearing from more IDs to squeeze them and find the best deal. ;P

I attended my cousin's wedding at MM (MC) last year. Service is good and the food is tasty - My parents are very particular about food and they gave the thumbs up for approval. ;P (Hope they dun change the chef tho)! That is why MM was high on our list when we were finding a venue for our AD next year. My cousin also highly recommended it. In the end, MM offers one of the best value around.

Actually, we like Beldevere too, but the 4 large pillars in the middle of the room were a concern for us - We do not know who to put behind the pillars! :-)

Hi MM brides,

anyone to add on the MM's BTB list?

cmy - 12 Jun 04 - Belvedere - Henry - Julia Wedding News - Stefine - Whampoa

Bineo - 13 July 04 - Grand Ballroom- Angie- Flamingo- The Edge- Pasir Ris

Carole - 18 Oct 04 Mandarin Ballroom - Handsome Malcom - French Bridal - AMK/CCK

BlurSotong - 2 Dec 04 Mandarin Court - Much Talked abt "Francis" - Camellia - Hougang/ Pine Close

Okipoki - 28 Dec 04 - Belvedere - Doreen - TWD - Dover

Greedycat - 25 Jan 05 - Mandarin Court - Henry - French - Tampines

Bbear - 29 Jan 05 - Belvedere - Malcom - Yvonne Creative - Everafter - Bukit Batok

jitpong - 19 Feb 05 - Belvedere - Henry - Everbliss - SengKang

Trekkie - 24 Apr 05 - Grand Ballroom - Henry - City Bridal - Pasir Ris

Zonkkie - 25 June 05 - Belvedere - Francis - The Bridal Wardrobe - Benny Ang

judyl - 09 Sep 05 - Mandarin Court - Francis - hvnt decided yet - Pasir Ris

Sweet - 1 Oct 05 - Mandarin Court - Henry - Milan - Bt Gombak

nanshee - 06 Nov 05 - grand ballroom - Francis - Yvonne Creative - Pasir Ris

<font color="ff0000">blursotong:</font> wah.. after me will be ur wedding manz.... excited or not? I have done my cards, once its ready we share share ok? Tdragon ppl very professional, they are very willing to guide u along. get ready ur PIL n your parent's Chinese Name... u will need that.

Girls, try to get ur pics done at least 4mths before.. so u have more time to play with and do other outstanding issues. I did my PS in May, and collect the Album in Aug, so i have more than enuff time to settle my Guest list, table arrangments n RSVP.

Hi starbright

here are some of MM bride and BTB details. You may wish to add in your too....those who are new to this thread, you are welcome to add in your details over here.

Carole - 18 Oct 04 Grand Ballroom - Handsome Malcom - French Bridal - AMK/CCK

BlurSotong - 2 Dec 04 Mandarin Court - Much Talked abt "Francis" - Camellia - Hougang/ Pine Close

Bbear - 29 Jan 05 - Belvedere - Malcom - Yvonne Creative - Everafter - Bukit Batok

jitpong - 19 Feb 05 - Belvedere - Henry - Everbliss - Iwerkz Photography - SengKang

Hi Vivian,

i am holding my wedding in Mandarin Ballrooom with 50 tables. but likely to increase to another 5 more tables... i welcome u to view my wedding on 18 oct... i bet my Handsome Malcolm will be glad to serve u. Right Malcolm? whahahah... the AD floral arrangments in MB depends on u. if u dun like the arrangments, u can ask ur coordinator for their floral contacts. but then, u might to top up some money to get it nicely done up. In overall, i rate Mandarin as Value For Money. Good Location and Convenient... and Everyone knows where is Mandarin...

MrLeong: if Malcolm sees this.. he sure will laugh... whahahhahhaha... btw, have u fax the amendments to Tdragon? and why u talk to my friend in ICQ and never tell me?? kekkeke.. u gng to sleep on the floor tonite.. whahahhaha

MrLeong, good then.. pls feel free to shift ur pillow out tonite to sleep with ur two Dogs... dun start crawling into the room in the wee hours of the nite.... whahahhahahahaha

Hi Mr and Mrs Leong,

I couldn't stop laughing seeing the two of you communicating in this manner.......

Wish the two of you a blissful marriage. And remember to share your joyful event with us....

Hi Mayling,

Thanks for the offer. Will try to be there to witness your dinner that day.

You and your hubby beri cute. You will have a very blissful marriage

Anyway, my FH has already called up the coordinator to arrange for our second meet up with MM. Will update you all on the status after that.

We had some problems with my ILs initially cos they insisted that the food not up to standard. Sigh... very difficult to handle.

hi jitpong
thanks! sure, love to add on to the listing

Starbright - 24 Jan 05 - Mandarin Court - Francis - Golden Horse Awards - West Coast

hi razor
thanks for the feedback! hew..! luckily the food turns out to be ok. My parents are also pretty picky about food [esp. dad]
i've only attended wedding once over at MM and that's 5 years back! can't really make much comparison.
sure, will hope down to view the decor this month

hi judyl
thanks for the clarifications. yup, prob the bunny gals are meant for some events ..
can't imagine MM provides bunny gals for weddings... ;P
*bet my male buddies would love the idea thou* ;P

hai
lightings were alright .. my fren's set to blue colour (if I rem correctly) .. of cos Francis once told us that we can play with the intelligence light to set to the theme we want .. bearing in mind we know how to play with around with it .
I rem that I had a D&amp;D last year at Grand Ballroom, it was very nice cos the event coordinator played with intelligent light and gave a very nice feel of the ballroom ..

service was good cos the waitor cooperate with us to get those eggs, wine, liquor for sabotaging ..
of cos there's some hiccups too cos our table was at the corner of the stage and we were always serve last .. and when others finish their last dish .. we just started scooping for ours .. but overall .. service is there ..

food was so so from the comments of my table .. the cold dish not very grand .. but still okie lah ..
cos the average standard is still there
given that there's so many tables to serve at one go ..

Personally i find that MC will be nicer with more deco cos the flower stands looks abit 'botak'on their own lor .. of cos out of our own pocket to beautify the room ..

overall, i felt that it was quite nice except for some hiccups which can't be avoided also in all wedding dinners ..

judyl .. recieved ur mail ..

wow, suddenly MM thread so happening...hehe..=)

i have seen the blue and purple intelligent lighting..personally prefer the purple one coz it is sooo romantic...hehe..think u can actually select different colors for certain lights or something like tat, so to have the visual effect...

hi razor
great if they are going to revamp their deco..coz currently, find it abit plain leh...did think of topping up money to deco the place...

nanshee, glad u rec'd my mail. kip me posted.

ALL, agree dat the decor is very plain. May oso top-up $$ to deco up the place, but of coz hv to c if my budget allows. ;p
At the end of the day, the decor wasn't such a major consideration as compared to the PRICE, food and service, rite?

Hi MM brides,

anyone to add on the MM's BTB list?

Carole - 18 Oct 04 Mandarin Ballroom - Handsome Malcom - French Bridal - AMK/CCK

Starbright - 24 Jan 05 - Mandarin Court - Francis - Golden Horse Awards - West Coast

Mandy: kekekek... we always like that.. see each other everyday, and yet lots of things to talk abt and never tired of communicating be it sms or emails or calls or even in this forum. just wanna lift up the atmosphere... kkekekek

ninkumput: let's be real frank... all the food almost similar. u can do the food tasting today n have ur wedding dinner tomolo... the food wont be of the same expectation as they cook in big amount during the banquet while the food tasting u will be the only table. I have personally tried MM's food during my gf's banquet, the food was alright and the service is up to std. Thanks very much to her co-ordinator Malcolm. He was very helpful during the Reception and attended lots of the little details himself. If your co-ordinator is gng to be ppl like Malcolm or doreen or henry... u shant be worried, they will always be there to help n service u.

hai gals .. need some help .. I can't get David Loh for my solemnization but someone recommend Mr Chan Kai Yau .. anyone seen him at any solemnization and any advice ..?? Many thanks in advance

HI Gals,

I'll be having my wedding at Mandarin Court in Oct 2004. Just a few qns:

1) When did u gals get to see e diff lighting effects? I think Henry told me tt the technician will show me e lights on before the actual dinner.

2) Any comments which dishes are nice/not nice?

3) How do u gals decide on the no of tbls to cfm with the coord before the wedding? Some people tell me tt I shud cfm fewer tbls than my invited guests as many ple will not turn up at the last min. Then wat happens if not enuff tbls on tt day?!

oh, and that's really soon!
congrats! bet both of u must be busy with the guests list huh?
btw, how many months ahead do you need to confirm on the design of cards and duration for collection?

Hi Jellie,

I had my wedding banquet last yr at MC too. Juz to share with you my experience.

1) I went down to see the lighting effect appx 2 wks b4 my AD. At the same time, like having a "rehearsal" :P Playing my march in songs (Catching the timing) &amp; testing the photo montage tat I gg to play b4 the banquet.

2) Dishes not bad. I got gd feedback fm my guests.

3) Fm the list of invited guests, I minus 2 tables. But reserve another 2 tables juz in case all turn up. If u r onli having 30-40 tables in MC, nothing to worry since MC can accomodate up to 60 tables or so.

Hope I m of some help.

starbright: we already getting our cards done... worst... cos 7th mth ard the corner, so better get it done earlier so i can send it out to our overseas guest before the 7th. Estimate abt 2mths before, so u have more time to do re-prints when u run out of cards n RSVP as well. Yes indeed we are getting busy on our guest list... esp. the number of cards to print. killing manz...

judyl,

Managed to change to MC instead. Heng !! An update to the list:

Okipoki - 28 Dec 04 - Mandarin Court - Doreen - TWD - Dover