Mandarin Orchard Singapore

hi nanshee

ya i agree francis is nice to work with in person. guess sometimes, i was rather taken aback by his phone manners. but guess i can deal with it. hehehe..

Hi Koh Cindee,

My coordinator is also Francis.

I can confirm that you can always choose an 8-course meal at a discounted rate cos I have chosen 8-course too. I have already signed up with Mandarin for my wedding next year. Not too sure whether can remove Shrak Fins cos that is suppose to be the top food in all wedding dinner. However, you can try to pressure Francis to give you special rates.

My recommendations is that if you have heavy drinkers for your wedding dinner, try to get Mandarin or any hotels that provide free-flow beer. I think that Merchant Court doesn't give free-flow cos I negotiated with them once and they are quite inflexible. Per barrel prices can sometimes increase your per table price so it might be even more expensive later.

Have you seen their wedding suite. You will also be impressed with their suite and moreover, they also offer a 2 nights stay.

hi toons

meeting francis this coming fri to see the suite. heard so many gd things abt e rm...hehee...thanks...will try and see what more perks we can get.

glad that there are happy brides with francis...keep it up francis

okipoki

If i din remember wrongly, my co-ordinator say that 35 tables at belvedere wil be quite cramp that why initially when we say we having 35 tables he recommeded mandarin court. After that we change the no of table then change the ballroom.

35 tables i thk will be quite near to the doorway of belvedere..for me do not feel nice to let my relative and friends sit near the door.

nanshee - yap the suite really very nice...go take a look..very cosy...

okipoki

have to agree with jitpong. If yours is 35 tables, suggesting shifting to mandarin court as it is much bigger. For me, I also have 35 tables and immediately Francis told me to shift to Mandarin Court as Belvedere will be very cramp. I have seen 32 tables set up in Belvedere and it was already a bit crampy...

hi ice-cream
have u met up with any coordinators from MM yet? henry throw in those normal stuff like additional carpark, invitations cards, free usage of projector loh..=)

hi oki
probably, you might wan to change to mandarin court, since u probably having 35 tables? think belvedere will be too crampy for u...

hi cindee
wish u the best of luck in your negiotation with francis on ur perks! and hopefully, u will be a MM bride too...hehe

and lastly congrats to Bineo whose AD is on 13th Jul! U have a great time on your special day...(",)

hi Mrsleong

Thanks for sharing your PS photos...two of your very natural in your photos and not camera shy at all....seem very relax and not a sign of any tiredness....very nicely taken photos

Bineo - congratulation on your forthcoming wedding...

cmy - 12 Jun 04 - Belvedere - Henry - Julia Wedding News - Stefine - Whampoa

Bineo - 13 July 04 - Grand Ballroom- Angie- Flamingo- The Edge- Pasir Ris

Carole - 18 Oct 04 Grand Ballroom - Handsome Malcom - French Bridal - AMK/CCK

BlurSotong - 2 Dec 04 Mandarin Court - Much Talked abt "Francis" - Camellia - Hougang/ Pine Close

Okipoki - 28 Dec 04 - Belvedere - Doreen - TWD - Dover

Greedycat - 25 Jan 05 - Mandarin Court - Henry - French - Tampines

Bbear - 29 Jan 05 - Belvedere - Malcom - Yvonne Creative - Everafter - Bukit Batok

jitpong - 19 Feb 05 - Belvedere - Henry - Everbliss - SengKang

Zonkkie - 25 June 05 - Belvedere - Francis - The Bridal Wardrobe - Benny Ang

judyl - 09 Sep 05 - Mandarin Court - Francis - hvnt decided yet - Pasir Ris

Sweet - 1 Oct 05 - Mandarin Court - Henry - Milan - Bt Gombak

nanshee - 06 Nov 05 - grand ballroom - Francis - Yvonne Creative - Pasir Ris

jitpong: Thanks... nah.. actually very very tired lor... but we enjoy laughing n making fun of each other during the PS. so tiredness did not show on our faces.

Bineo: tomolo is ur big day.. Congratulations!

[Whistle.... ]
Mdm Leong.... U so SWEE!!!! He..He...
You guys so cute one...ha...ha... But nicely taken though.

Aside to BINEO, CONGRATULATIONS.... just relax hor.... and look pretty, like Mdm Leong...

ay! I haven't added my particulars to the list yet hor. here's the updated list.

BlurSotong - 2 Dec 04 Mandarin Court - Much Talked abt "Francis" - Camellia - Hougang/ Pine Close

Bbear - 29 Jan 05 - Belvedere - Malcom - Yvonne Creative - Everafter - Bukit Batok

Trekkie - 24 Apr 05 - Grand Ballroom - Henry - City Bridal - Pasir Ris

Hi Hi....
Wow Mrs Leong you also make urself ah.. Fun rt!
He..He.. Don't Think I need them. I will be making them myself too....

Since I have been making WC & RP for my friends wedding, its injustice to myself not to make for my own wedding
Oh...I just finished a few and a RP for my friend's wedding last Sat.
Mrs Leong, I will be making some Bridesmaid Tee's for my Jie-Meis as well. U keen?

Mdm Yeo: simi Tee u making?? got sample.. kekek i see ... wait i like i ask u teach me lor. Fun?? whahhahaha fingers pain.. but worth it.. gng to make more for the following cars soon... kekekeke....

jitpong/toons/sweets,

thanks for the advice but then how come my co-ordinator said it can even house upto 35 max. I dropped by MM on Sat & there is a wedding. But I didnt get to see the setup as it was ard 3pm only. Realised Belvedere is indeed very small.. am pretty worried abt it. U are right that I wouldnt want my friend/relatives seating near to the door especially is a transparent glass door. I think I have to vet thru' my guess list again & check with my co-ordinator again. Skali Mandarin Ct taken on my day.. then siao liao !!

okipoki - maybe you can check with your co-ordinator again...that what mine tell me...

for favors, my mum advise me to take the chocolate or cake...she got a pair of chopsticks as favors when she attended someone wedding at Pan Pac, very nice chopsticks..but too nice to be used and no place to display them too...now dunno where she throw them

jitpong ... same here .. my parents advise us to have chocolate or cakes cos they scared some guests will be starving before the dinner start ..
and guess what .. someone sold the wedding favours bears from one hotel in an open market .. cos alot of guest never take .. they just left on the tables after dinner ..

gers,

my co-ordinator told me that too.. chocolate is more practical. I think youngster like us would prefer some cuties stuffs. Ohh didnt know ppl sellling favours.. funny !! Btw, couldnt get hold of my co-ordinator today.. guess have to call her again tomorrow to ask on the table capacity.

gers

maybe i will ask my friend what they will prefer for favors first but i thk for all the relative that are of older generation chocolate is still my first choice for them.

Can someone advise how many months before your AD, will your co-ordinator start contacting you....

Bineo: CONGRATULATIONS!

Hi cindee,
Like nanshee, I oso din take the 5% disc promo becos cannot negotiate. My co-ordinator oso Francis - very straightforward guy. Agreed that ur impression of him will improve aft u hv met up. Did u bargain for more things? The bridal suite reali grand (2 sections - 1 side the bedroom with TV and shower, the other side is the living room with TV and common toilet)

Hi okipoki,
Take a look at both belvedere n mandarin court with the wedding set-up (preferably with dat no. of tables) at 6pm, and then u will be able to compare. My co-ord oso suggested dat, and when I saw the set-up, I cnfm taking the mandarin court. Hopefully, it's avail on ur AD.

Hi Nanshee,
Ya, aft my last msg, I realised that Coral Pri Sch is near Blk 500+. Initially, HB n I view the flats there too. But, he said that it was too far from the mkt (so inconvenient for me). HB & I stay at Pasir Ris too (Blk 400+), so got "stay near parents" grant of $40k. My lovenest is at Blk 188 (nxt to Loyang Sec). Had met up with reno contractors, and going to cnfm soon. Will start work after 7th lunar mth. U nid any contacts?

Hi Trekkie,
Hv u bot ur rings? I got my platinum rings from Lee Hwa last Dec (got 25% discount). Hand-made, reali very comfortable. Ur lovenest oso at Pasir Ris - near where?

Hi jitpong,
If i'm not wrong, i tink it's abt 2-3 mths b4 AD. Then, u go for food-tasting, printing of invites. Tink u cnfm the no. of tables and table layout 1-2 weeks b4 AD. U may want to check with ur co-ordinator.

Hvn't seen the bears yet. But, it's either dat or chocolates. Hm, i tink we can mix. But then pple may start "fighting" for the favours. Haha!

sorry ladies for the late replies... cos my FH;s pc went crazy... kekekke...

Donna: kekek thanks... i have did my cards already... simple lor costing me abt 242 in total for 380 cards.

jitpong: abt 2-3 mths...they will have to contact u for a photo graph to be scan for the display outside the ballroom and the confirmation for ur food tasting which at least one mth before ur wedding. Malcolm already contacted me on the above just 3 mths before for the photos and the food tasting as well. all the final arrangements will be 2 weeks before the AD. Dun hurry them as they have lots of weddings during sept, oct n nov... guve them time to call u on the details.

Hi Shirley...
welcome to the MM's club... who is ur Coordinator and ur AD?
just add on.. kekeke...

Trekkie - 24 Apr 05 - Grand Ballroom - Henry - City Bridal - Pasir Ris

hi judyl
bought platinum rings fr Lee Hwa also! Affiniti series. Not ready yet but I agree with you it's very comfortable.

My place is at Whitewater. I not sure where Coral Pri is so dunno if near you. So fun!

BTW, are your FH all equally irritating? Mine always don't believe what I say & only when other ppl tell him the EXACT SAME THING then he believe. I told him just buy from Lee Hwa ok oredy then must go and check out rings from the whole world. so annoying! making me nag & grow old...

judyl,

Hv checked with her & she mentioned max is 35 but if I am pretty uncomfortable if is it too crampy, she can check out for me if mandarin ct is available or not. Btw, I felt that with the no of tables I am looking at, will mandarin ct looks too empty ??

hi trekkie,
Whitewater is near Blk 700+ series, so not very near my hse. But, it's still within Pasir Ris.

My HB oso check out rings from Soo Kee n Aspial, b4 we finally decided on LH.

hi okipoki,
nope, i'm looking at 35-38 tables. my co-ordinator told me we can partition off a section so dat the place won't look so empty. the advantage of mandarin court is that ur reception can be held inside, instead of outside the entrance. well, hope ur cor-ord will give u good news.

hai Judyl
oic .. I have looked at those units at Blk 188 ... kekeke .. till now we din know where's the market .. anyway .. we are starting reno at end of year ..

are u looking at ID firm or contractors?? is it okie for you to share the quotations?? I really so lost with it ..

cos we dunno if we want to change the tiles of the bedrooms .. still deciding .. are u rewiring the whole house??

Mrleong: u too free... go ask malcolm to entertain u instead.... no need to work isit? if no need to work.. u better come home early

Judyl,

My co-ordinator said there is a tentative booking on my AD.. well she will get to me by this week which I guess is today.. Keep my finger X loh !!

I think by partition part of the room will looks nicer isnt it ?

i am new in this thread. I am actually considering the Grand Ballroom for my wedding venue for 50 tables. Anybody tried the ballrom before? How's the ambience, deco and food like? Will it look very empty in the ballroom since it can actually accommodate 100 tables?

Called the co-ordinator up and he said there will be no wedding held in the ballroom until sep so i am unable to see the real setup.

Thanks for your inputs.

hi Vivian,
I'm taking the Grand Ballroom. Personally, I don't think it will look too empty but I thought the min no. of tables for GB is 55?

My adv is to wait till u see the setup if you're not in a rush. In terms of ambience, only ok, a bit on the Chinese side.

Who's your co-ord? Maybe you can ask to see photos?

Hi Trekkie,

Thanks for your reply. My coordinator is Gilbert. The only photo i manage to see is the one on their webpage.

May i ask how many tables did you have? Was the basic floral decoration sufficient to bring out the ambience? Do you have any picture of your ballroom?

Thanks alot

Hi jitpong,
Hvnt start my search for BS leh, cuz juz cnfm my reno contractor. When I start my BS hunt, I'll ask u for advice, k? Thks!

Nw bz shopping for wall & floor tiles, toilet accessories, fridge, washing machine, air-con etc. Juz came back from Tampines & Bedok. Checked out a few shops selling electrical appliances there, wch r quite cheap. Will be compiling the list. Do let me noe if any of u r interested. Can call them & ask for the price by giving them the model numbers.

Hi okipoki,
Ya ya, muz keep fingers XX! Praying for u dat u'll get it! Partition will not make the place look so empty.

Hi nanshee,
The mkt is behind the 24-hr kopitiam. Oh, hmm, I wonder if u view the unit dat I bot? 6th floor? MBR facing the park? I juz cnfm wif an ID firm aft comparing 6-7 quotes. If u wanna take a look, I can fax to u, or I can intro my designer to u. He's a very nice guy!

I'm redoing the whole kitchen (hack exstg cabinets, new cabinets, floor & wall tiles, built-in wardrobe, redo common and MBR toilets, etc.

My FIL advised us to rewire the hse becos itz >10 yrs. My designer oso said datz the HDB's recommendation too. But, it costs approx. $2500 to rewire 5-rm flat, nw very poor liao

Hi Vivian,
I'm estimating 60 tables or more for mine. The basic floral decor is nothing to shout about. I have similar worries about ambience but based on the price we're paying per table, there's some leftover budget for extra decor if i'm so inclined but we're going to see first.

But actually I think should be ok, the GB's size & grandeur helps to mitigate the loss of ambience from insufficient floral decor.

Am I correct to say you're attracted to Mandarin becos of the price? Cos the price is in tandem to the decor you get. I mean, the price of somewhere else like Marriott is more ex but the atmosphere is really there. I've been there many times & never been disappointed.

No, I'm afraid I don't have any pictures. Hmm, good idea, should take some pics next time.