Mandarin Orchard Singapore

SY Chen> Ya. I'm contemplating if we should order our own/extra wedding favours, coz I saw the luggage tag on other website. But duno if we should be spending the extra money or not. Hmmm...

Wennie> Did you print your invitation cards with T-Dragon?

yes i use T-Dragon printing services, my card is cream colour and the words is gold colour, and my card design is left right open so i print direct to the card more expensive but more nice..(i tink lah hehe)

Thanks Wennie. I'm scheduled to go collect the cards actually, but yet to find time to do it. Hehehe...so the card that you selected, do you have to top up for it?

what u mean top up?? i only paid for the printing cost..the price diff depend of what kind of printing u choose ...
dun worry, this shop look old but staff there quite experience..if not wrong, not only meritus engage with them other 5* hotel also use their service.

Wennie> Oh, what I meant is that the card that you selected, is it the standard design? Coz I saw on their website with some interesting card designs. So wondering if we have to top up or it's part in the collection that we can select freely?

pekochan81..they got a lot of design u can choose more than 50 i tink, but the design so so only loh(my personal tinking)...so far no comment for the card from my guest..hehe

actually T-Dragon got alot alot of card design, but they will based on which hotel or restaurant customer engage then let customer choose from different catalog...

Cheers!!!

Hi pekochan81...

Ya..but i still feel confuse and nervous...seem like alot of thing need to do but dono wat i can do now...especially guest list...

Wennie, I guess it's pre-marriage jitters lah. Your guest list is confirmed already right? Coz am sure your invitations should be out by now. So it's more on the seating arrangements?

i went to T-dragon to choose my cards le. Spent $170

$150 for the hot-stamp printing
$10 for the icon
$10 for 2 different color of card - cream and red of the same design

the designs decently okie. I didn't ask for more customised 1, coz i dun want to spend too much on invitation cards.

Hi all, just checking, anyone had waiver for wine corkage or free 2nd night stay for mandarin ballroom for 2009 weddings? I'm surprised that for mandarin court they'll give 2nd night when the min number of pax is much lesser than that for mandarin ballroom. The last time I tried asking, my co-ordinator told me that I need min 60 tables before I can get 2nd night.

I've attended a wedding at mandarin court. 2nd tier is really tight for space. can't remember how many tables my friend had but the waiter couldn't reach some of us who were seated inside. it was a 9-course dinner though, not buffet.

SY Chen> I went T-dragon to choose my wedding cards over the weekend too! Wow! It's SUPER crowded! Their card designs are quite limited actually, but luckily we managed to find something we like & not having to spend too much on it. Btw, did they mention the lead time required upon your confirmation on your FA and qty?

Potatoe35> I believe it's the break-even point that they need to meet in order to give you more perks. It might also be the extra perks that they normally provide during their wedding shows.

peko - i think is 10 days after confirmation.

i need to go for the express service. It's going to be 7th month soon right? My mum say cannot distribute during 7th month. So i think i want to get some first and give it to my friends.

wennie, need some help in the invitation card.

I find the following phrase so weird

Mr & Mrs and Mr & Mrs
wrequest the pleasure of the company of (i am changing this to 'warmly invite)

at A wedding dinner to be held
blah blah blah

Is it weird putting 'A wedding dinner'??? If i change it to 'their wedding dinner', in this context, is it refer to parents' wedding dinner or children's wedding dinner?

SY Chen> Yup. 7th mth is starting on 20 Aug (eng calender). I don't think we'll be on time, so most likely we do e-invite first then distribute right after the 7th mth.

oh..i think have to confirm everything by today and see whether T-dragon can help.

I only left 1.5 half after the 7th month to distribute. very rush

i now at MM club house enjoy the hi-tea...haha!!!...my wedding just over, my guest all comment my wedding very successful and wat i suprised is they all say the food very nice....and their service is excellent especially the banquet captain...i gave them full mark

so dun worry for all of you who gging to or already book with MM....cheers!!!

during the dinner, i show morning session photo to all the guest which did by my photographer, they all gave high comment to my photographer..really worth for money...i will show my photo to your after i finish all my thing..cheers!

Peko, not yet. I think is 1 month before the wedding my coordinator will call me.

Is it really true that 7th month cannot plan anything for wedding? not even go buy wedding stuff, do montage, food tasting etc?

Wennie> Congrates on your new status! Hehehe...Do share with us your photos when it's ready.

SY Chen> It depends on how pan-tang your family & in-laws are. For buying of GDL items & distributing of invitation cards is not advisable. But I'll still be doing most of the wedding stuffs in 7th mth otherwise I won't have time!

my mum only say no distribution of cards. Maybe i will leave the cards and GDL to after 7th month

the rest of the things will proceed as usual.

peko, have u set yr food tasting date? I went back to read the checklist my coordinator give me - is 2 months before which is this month wor.

SY Chen> Yup, cards cannot distribute. That's why I gota do e-invite first during this period of time, coz I definately won't have enough time.

As mine is a buffet, I won't have food tasting leh. Instead, they giving me the food vouchers for the cafe which will be like 'catering' our food I think. So it's not exactly a food tasting per se. In that case, I think you should check with your coordinator wor

Hi Sy Chen

below is the phrase i choose, hope can help!!!cheers!

on this joyous occassion, our parents

Mr & Mr
Mrs Mrs

together with us
K & J

warmly invite

cocktail commences at 7.00pm
dinner will be served at 7.30pm

RSVP:

Wennie > hey congrats! glad to know everything went well and your guests had complimented everything. that sure put our worries aside!

hi hi...

Thanks for all of your wisher....

i will collect my photo coming sat, hehe!! will upload to my wedsite..and do check this forum often coz i will post my wed at here...

cheers!!!

Wennie> yeah! I'm sure we're all very eager to look at your fotos!

SY Chen> Guess you must be very excited ya! How's your wedding preps? We're left with 40+ days to our Big Day!! hehehehe

my preparation very minimum only

i got the wedding cards already and the wedding photoshoot.

Need to do the montage, guest list, AD schedule like who to be my sis, etc etc..

i duno how i calculate but i thought i still have 1.5 month after 7th month but in actual i only left like less than 1 month loh..

die liao

SY chen, no no no... dun say die..everything will gging smooth de...when u see ur family and ur friends attend ur wedding u will feel is worth..hehe cheers!

and food testing very important, coz whatever comment we gave during the food testing, they really do the changer when at AD dinner,no matter on quantity or quality all can fullfill my guest hehe!...dun forget get the ballroom floor plan from them then u can do the table arrangement..

SY Chen> Don't worry. I think you more or less have got it settled just that yet to organized it properly only. Your wedding is 1 week after mine, so I should be the one to panic wor! Haha, you got confused with the chinese calender issit? Like what Wennie mention, everything will fall in place nicely one.

although we plan our wedding few month before but in the end still got something cock-up and become messy ....hehe!! but when we talk abt our wedding with our friends and family, all people still felt happy and enjoy...

cheers to all!!

Wennie> Ya, I know what you mean, coz I'm in the events line. So it's like, no matter how well it's planned, there're bound to have hipcups. Oh btw, how was the service rendered by the banquet servers? Are they alert & attentive to your guest needs?

Ya...they really did their job very well, especially the captain, coz i ask my friends be my emcee but both of them also first time so they feel nervous but after brief with the captain banquet, my friend told me they feel more ease...and the captain can manage the food serving timing well also...

some of my guest top up ang pao to us after our wedding, coz they very surprised with meritus ambiance and service...

Wow! Good to hear that! Coz I'm really concerned about services. One of frens held her wedding held in one of the 6 star hotels, but the service is really BAD! The waiters/waitress very slow and not alert at all. Somemore was careless & spilled wine on the guest! *faints*

i got the table plan from the coordinator shortly after we sign the contract. At least need to know how to plan the sitting arrangment

but i worry the 2nd tier, whether it will be too squeezy a not.

keke, okie lah, i just hope faster get over with the dinner. Ater that, can relax relax liao.

Know whether we can get cheaper rate for hotel stay for guest? this 1 have to 'bargain' with coordinator huh

SY Chen> I just met up with my coordinator yest to finalise our AD stuffs. Went to Mandarin Court to have a look again as they have an event going on last eve. The 2nd tier looks fine with the 10 pax arrangements. Maybe you can go there to have a look again? And their wedding favours are indeed disappointing. Thus, we'll be getting our own, & they'll just deduct the estimated value of the wedding favours per pax. At least they're quite flexible

Hi..
SY chen & pekochan81

The coaster come with the packaging provide by MM and if not wrong u can choose the colour, for the little gift i bought from malaysia is candy, in chinese called "XI TANG"..mean "tian tian mi mi"

I am thinking of having only 1 march in . Will it be too plain?

Coz during the day i am wearing the Wedding gown and i don't really like it as compared to my EG.

tentatively, this is what i plan to do

First March in
Will show montage of us growing up, getting to know each other. Than dinner served

Mid of the dinner, will dim the light and another montage of us, do the cake cutting, toasting, and thank you speech.

at least can mingle more with the guest since don't know have to change another set of gown