Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Jess Low> Yup. If you're taking the chinese dinner banquet, it is quite tight on the 2nd tier, coz we saw the actual set-up. But becoz we'll be having a buffet setting instead, hence our tables are going to be re-configured. If you're thinking of gowns with long train, you can get someone to help you hold it. I believe that it should be fine.

w3n> The mandarin court is definately one of the more unique function rooms we've seen. It's like, you can see everybody & vice-versa. It's definately very very cosy. The only problem is the stairs & the table width between the tiers. Unless you're not having a lot of guest, it's actually a nice place to hold your wedding. My 10 cents worth

Thanks pekochan81. =) Enjoy your AD prep.

We have booked it early as ours is a hot date next year. When we went to see the actual set-up the 2nd time, I've a feeling that tier 2 is very cramp for my guests. I don't want anybody to fussle holding my gown, I want everybody to enjoy themselves. =)

I think we will max out 20 tables. I really love the setting of the cosy design. =D

just to check, the invitation cards

must i decide on the name list before i go and print? Is it standard or we can choose from several variety

just go to the T-dragon can print already rite?

Hi Sy Chen,

went to choose the invitation card yesterday, very dissapointed,they got more than 50 design i tink, but.... but.... all the design quite old fashion(personal tinking)no choice...have to choose one of them...since is free

u can based on ur current name list to choose the card first if cant confirm the list u can choose to print inside a inner paper then print the inner more than the card u choose, just for incase if short of the card u just need to purchase the card from them, but if u choose to print direct to the card, like me i choose direct print on the card so yesterday i confirm the card design and roughly quantity of the card coz i use their printing service (extra paid) and they email me the draft and after that i just confirm the card quantity after i check the draft...

oh..so the invitation card is not from the hotel but from T-dragon ah?

i have to arrange a appointment with them first?

SY chen, T dragon is a card supplier for the hotel, not only Meritus use them, other hotel or restaurant also but different hotel got different option, they will check which hotel u engage then they will let u choose the design i saw a couple from another hotel can choose the design from their own catalog...mean more design.U no need to make appointment juz go down will do, but they quite busy coz we go down after work a lot of couple same with us haha!!
some come for collection one, but so far their services very good..dun worry.

JL, i mean old fashion not they only have red card dun worry some card they got 3 color..example red,pink and beige...hmmm i mean the design not outstanding maybe bcoz i just choose my card for my M'sia dinner ,they are more more better than singapore one...But this is my personal tinking only,not all the card very old fashion, juz not my taste ...good luck

wennie, have u go for the food tasting and etc? i emailed my coordinator ad she told me usually is 1 or 2 month before the date she will contact mem to arrange. unless i want to do it earlier.

i have problem deciding for the dessert - the pudding or the sponge cake nicer?

Hi SY Chen,

they just call me for food testing today, i will arrange next week. So the sponge cake u mean is "Chilled Almond Beancurd with Pandan Coconut Cake" actually both of them not my favourite , but i tink will choose coconut cake ...after finish the food testing will give u comment on this...

ya i don't really fancy both. I saw pix of the pudding before on someone's website and it look so weird.

so is just food tasting only? how abt the selection of decoration and etc? will they do it on the same day too?

Hi SY chen,

They never mention abt the selection of decoration...lucky u ask me, will check with them abt this if can do at the same day..

oh ya i already collect my invitation card and start distribute to my guest..so far never heard any comment regard my card..but small accident happend coz the company print wrong hotel name on my card so have to reprint again ,they amend and send the card to us next day..so for those who prepare to choose the card must spare extra time just for incase this accident happen...gd luck!

hi wennie, do keep us update on the food tasting.

Probably will go to T-dragon to do select the invitation cards.

Hi SY chen and all

juz went for my food testing last two day...everything ok lor...but only the first dish abit under quantity and some combination we need to change.like we choose herbal chicken and ginseng duck bcoz this two dish too similar so we want take out ginseng chicken

* highly recommended "Sauteed Fresh Prawns with Honey Sauce in Quail’ Nest" and "herbal crisply duck" very nice...

for the dessert i definitely reject the "almond" pudding very odd combine with coconut cake and i really dun like the almond taste...the coconut cake is nice but not every people can accept the almond "special" taste...btw this 2 combination is very odd..

I'm new here.

I read your comments that Mandarin Court is really nice.

I love it too and went to see the Mandarin Court already personally. But I was disappointed that it looks rather plain and old. But it could be because I am seeing the empty ballroom itself and there is no setup.

Can someone help me and email me pictures of the actuall ballroom setup? I think it will help me very much to decide my banquet venue.

my email add: [email protected]

Thank you so much.

Hmm...this thread is quite..

May i ask meritus BTB, did u all ask for additional stay? I asked, but was rejected flat. Unless i downgrade to deluxe room, then can get 2 nites...i c that many other hotels are quite flexi in this.

Went to their wedding show last sat, the food wise isn't very nice...the main ballroom is nice though, but weekend need min 50 tables....

Mandarin court if max out 20 tables, the top tier side tables wont be able to see the stage...

Btw Wennie, i asked my coordinator, she said dessert can change to other common ones like mango sago, yam etc, other than the 2 weird ones in the menu.

Hi goh> We signed up during their bridal show earlier this year. And the promotion includes 2 nights stay in the bridal suite provided we have a min of 150 pax at Mandarin Court,as we be having buffet dinner. So it might be the no. of tables/pax you can commit. Coz normally hotels have a break-even point before they see what are the perks they can offer you.

Hi goh> If you have signed up the wedding package during june or july you will have only 1 night stay as you have discounted on the wedding package if your wedding dinner falls in weekday. For me I have signed at last year Dec so I have 2 nights stay but I don enjoy the latest discount price.

I signed for min 15 tables on their recent wedding show for weekend package. But will max out 20 tables. Sign during the wedding show will have 6 % discount for thier weekend package. Perhaps this is the reason why they dun give additional nite ba...but anyone asked for discounted additional room? My sis wants to book a room too, i have yet to ask meritus if can have discount or not..

A bit worry now, cos 20 tables a bit little! and the 2 side tables cant see the stage....dunno should i sell away or not...headache

Pekochan, how much is your buffet dinner? Buffet is exp wor...how's the seating gonna be?

Hi goh> I've PM you. Please check ya! If you wan to take a look at our buffet seating arrangements, do leave me your email and I'll fwd to you

Pekochan thks for the info!

Die...I will difinitely have more than 200 pax...

Pekochan, for buffet wat's the max no of person? Can email me the seating arrangement to [email protected] Thanks ah!

Dunno if parents will dsagree with buffet or not...argh...headache. Plus ppl hear is buffet, they'll tink is cheaper than banquet.

Hi goh, will email you the seating arrangements in a while. I don't exactly remember wats the max but it might be less than 200 pax, coz not forgetting that the space beside the bar counter will have to leave it for the buffet line.

Both my siblings had buffet banquet previously. It was okay, infact no losses coz only very close friends and colleagues are invited.

Another reason we go for buffet is that the whole banquet can end so much earlier. And people won't have the agony of sitting down and start looking at the menu and count down to "What's Next"...

But you have to talk to both side of parents if they agree, coz I know that there'll be some relatives who'll prefer to be served since they give AngPow liao! haha

hi goh, i didn't go for the wedding show. but wld u mind to share wat the peaks tat they have offered for a wkday package?
any diff in pricing for main ballroom or mandarin court?

Hi strawberryger, no price diff between main ballroom and court. The diff is no of tables. Main ballroom need min 50 tables for weekend, 40 for weekdays. Court is min 15, max 20 for anydays..perks quite standard lor. 30litre beer, 1 wine per confirmed table, i nite stay, 1 helper room, free corkage on liquor...u need the package i can email u. wat's ur email add?

during the wedding show, weekday packages are at 8% discount for wedding held b4 Aug 2010.

Pekochan, thks for all the info! I called my coordinator she said the real max can go up to 218 pax...phew...anyway think older generation wont like buffet food and style.

Asked for additional room, rates is at 210++...not very cheap leh. I go online check, their current rates at 250++.

hi goh, tks a million for ur info.

ya, me got their package already, juz tat didn't manage to go to their wedding show to check out wat the perks that they offered. hee...

Hi goh, no prob! But I think the max of 218, it's for chinese banquet rite? Coz if buffet, it will be very tight for the guest to move around. Anyway, we really love the mandarin court. It's so different from what we've seen so far! Hehehe...Ya, if you've to handle a fair bit of the older generation folks, ideally is still the chinese banquet setting. Btw, when's your AD?

Oh Strawberryger if u have wanted to book with meritus, u should have gone to the wedding show cos got discount. weekdays 8% weekend 6%. if take their sat $908++ table, without discount will be about $1062. If got 6% discount, it will be close to $1k. So per table u save about $62. x20 table can save $1240. Actually few days b4 the wedding show i have already confirmed wanting to book with them, but i waited till the show then sign.

Pekochan, ya ya is for chinese banquet. hmm...come to think of it buffet at mandarin court is nice, can transform the front stage area to a dance floor. hahaha...hai but the older gen wont like lor. I have ever tot of having a dance area for my wedding, cos i meet my HTB during clubbing. haha...

My AD is Jul 11 2010. I have wanted 29 May but someone took it already. Is this person who took 29 May in here??? haha... yours?? The rest BTB, care to share your when's your AD, BS, video/photo? I have yet to search for video/photo..

i juz finish choosing decoration for the mandarin court like cover for table and chair ,table and stand flower, door gift for guest (very limited choice--sad)...now juz need to finalize all the confirm guest list and countdown to my wedding date...will share my photo with all BTB here...keep in touch everyone...cheers!!

Goh (minnie) : why for buffet can fix 218 pax for chinese sit down dinner only 200pax max???

Oh no no wennie, 218 is for chinese banquet. Sorry if i wasn't clear :p

Oh the deco is limited ah? I din reali pay attention to the decor...but then wat i saw during the wedding show was like not bad leh. They got the red and black decor, with nice shiny sliver plates. They din show me the wedding favors...I like HIlton's wedding favors, many choices, they got round playing cards.

Care to share when's your AD? Video/Photo/BS?

hi goh (minnie)

ha!! sorry i still bit confuse, u mean ur coordinator say for mandarin court can fix 218 pax mean total how many table???

i mean limited is on wedding favours ...very common lor in the end i choose "couple coaster" but lucky my hubby love the coaster very much...hehe! and i agree with u i like hilton's wedding favors too their one much more better and more meaningful...

my AD will be at next month..sure can share with u give me ur email..cheers!

Hi Wennie! for 218 pax, no of table should be the max no, ie 20 table. Just that some tables esp those on top tier will have bigger table which can accomdate 12 pax instead of 10.

Ya hilton's favor is nice and useful! Meritus should improve on it lor.

Wa next mth ah. Congrats! sure busy now huh..acutally i mean to share who is your VG and PG. but ya la, also to share with us your photos
my email: [email protected]

Btw how many tables u having wennie?

actually i'm thinking can we dun wan food tasting, convert the tasting to a table on AD. Then can pay 1 table less...waterfront copthorne have this perk, and my coordinator say waterfront is their competitor. So they should provide similar perks hor..

Hi minnie...oic coz my coordinator told me 20 table max based on 10 person ..

mine is 19+1 we put one table for spare just for incase...

my photographer is from malaysia, recommend by my fren,i saw his sample job done, very nice and special by the time i mit him, he just back from Bali for wedding shooting .....and more important is he can travel all the way from my hometown malaysia to singapore dinner then i no need engage 2 photographer...but price reasonable also...
if u interest i can PM u his contact no and the package he gave me...

i got 2 night stay. i wanted to reduce to 1 night but my hubby say by the time the dinner end and we done with everything, already late in the night. Than next day got to check out liao, very rush

i planning to choose the xuang xi coaster. I think tht is the more practical type as compared to those bears lah, candles.

wennie, the decoration and etc, does it come in gold/champange color? I had a wild idea to do it like those typical red red/gold gold dinner..wahahahhaha...like those in hong kong movie, super cheena version

Hi goh, my AD is in another 2 months time, Oct 11. My BS is The Aisle Bridal. AD PG is Montage Studios & VG is Filmman Productions. Both threads can be found in this forum too.

Wennie> Besides coasters, what are the common items are you referring to? I was hoping that they have luggage tags! haha

oh Wennie, your PG from msia ah? I am interested in a VG who's from johor. Sikali is the same person...ya ya i interested, pm me or email me [email protected] Thks ah

Wa SY Chen, so gd got 2 nite! When did u book and who's ur coordinator huh? wat ur husband thought is exactly my thinking..

Pekochan thks for sharing! Congrats on your coming AD! hmm..seems like the more active ones are those who's AD are nearing...after your AD over, nobody tok to me liao..haha.

Oh luggage tag is what hilton has!

goh> Haha...no lah, I think I'll still come in sgBrides to kaypo unless I'm being 'upgraded' to Motherhood forum after the wedding! hehe...Oh, I saw the luggage tag at Crown Hotel wedding show last year. The place there is lovely, but location a bit off as it's in airport plus we can't commit the no. of tables.

Hi..

SYchen ..of cos they have red and gold colour cover beside this they got few colour u can choose like and if u want play something unique u can choose red and black ...for me i i choose cream colour for guest table and gold for VIP..and chair is champange colour..

Pekochan, u can visit http://idoido-weddingfavors.com/index.php the item are...Just Married Shooter Glass,Tuxedo Notepad,Wedding Gown Notepad,Cherry Blossom Coaster (1pc),Glass Happy Couple Coaster (1pc),Wedding Couple Teddy Bear (3.5 inches),Photo Frame w Mirror,keychain and chocalate with box....

Minnie, for the photographer bcoz my wedding coming soon, and i just collect my pre wedding album, quite busy recently... i will email u ASAP and will try upload his sample of job to u...

Cheers!!!

Thanks Wennie. Hmm....the wedding favours indeed looked quite disappointing leh....Coz I'll be dropping anything related to coasters as we'd given that during our ROM last year, so that left me with even lesser choices...

i book beginning of the year. my coorindator is June. Is the wedding show promotion (but i didn't go to the wedding show. I was asking about the rates than the coordinator mention to me about the package).

i like red/black but i think old people won't like lah. My house already in red/black till my In laws like abit upset liao.

i wish i have extra budget for my own favours. Probably i would DIY something and add to the hotel 1 bah - ribbon or sticker or whatever

ya...tha's why i bought "candy" chinese called "xi tang" from JB, actually is normal kind of candy but pack in red "xi" paper with gold ribbon,square and small size quite cute(i tink lah..hehe) extra to my guest coz normally people will put the candy at counter...