Mandarin Orchard Singapore

judyl

Hi Sweet,

1 Oct 2005 was one of our shortlisted dates too becos it's easy to rem and a good date! Haha, wat a coincidence! But, HB didn't like it, so we decided on 9 Sep (lunar 8th mth 6th).

I tink the napkins oso white, din reali ask. Let me noe aft u check with henry on this.

Ya ya, I was there yesterday. Went with another couple (HB's frens) who want to hold a banquet in Jun'05, so they came to take a look too. Heehee, to tink that we almost met each other. ^_^

francis will prepare a contract for us. when we r free, then we will drop by to sign and pay the deposit. HB saw the msgs that we wrote for each other, and he tinks that we should become gd frens becos AD so near, oso going to collect keys (so "gum")..haha

judyl

Hi Jingles,
My co-ordinator told me that if u r taking Blissful Romance (Wkday Pkg) or Enchanted Romance (Wkend Pkg), 2 nites stay at Bridal Suite r included. However, if u take the other pkg (i tink for Act 1 - function room becos it accommodates lesser no. of tables), then oni 1 nite at bridal suites. Y dun u call them and arrange to meet up to find out more?

bineo

Hi Jingles
My understanding so far is also 2 nights bridal suite stay.

Also, I just found out that UOB has this promotion call "Young Couples Pack". If you participate, there is a 5% discount on Mandarin standard wedding packages. I have checked with UOB and they says that even for those who have booked their weddings, they will still be eligible.

I am trying to confirm this with my wedding coordinator ( Angie). For those interested, you may also like to check with your coordinator. Do let me know if you all have further news on this.

Also, suntec is having a wine fair. Since Mandarin waive cockage for all wines, interested couples can check it out. Its just in carrefour. The prices are really reasonable and the choices are wide. If you are really keen on certain wine, they can even open a bottle for you to try.

cottoncandy

Hi judyl

Realli? So qiao ah, u shorlisted 1st Oct as well...hehe..this date was chosen by FH, i oso like it..so we took this date...luckily, u didnt take or else we cant have it at the same hotel liao...

ok, will update u after i have checked with henry...

wah...good..so is there a deadline by when u need to sign and pay deposit?

Sure! I oso think the same way as ur HB leh..I wanted to PM u my MSN and yahoo messenger (u have these installed in ur offic's pc?)..but u are not accepting PMs leh...

bineo

Hi Sweet
I am not sure of the exact date. It started last Friday and usually last 1-2 weeks.

You may like to call Carrefour to check. The number is 63336868.

dyeo

Hi ladies....
I have just checked with the Mandarin Coordinator, with regards to the UOB 5% disc on std packages posted by Bineo on 12 April, and the response was negative.The promotion is not applicable to those who had signed up already....
[sob...sob]
However, from his tone of voice, can hear that its not impossible, but just a matter of whether they want or not.
So if you guys, can convince your coordinator, please let me know.

See ya on 17th April

bineo

Blur Sotong, thanks for sharing the news. Guess its always like this. Once you sign up, nothing can be negotiated,
BTW, who is your coordinator? Mine is Angie Seng and I am still waiting for a reply from her.

For those who have not pay a deposit, you may like to make use of this promotion. Its quite a savings.

toons77

I have also asked my coordinator abt the 5% discount and the answer was a flat NO. But I will still pester him exactly what is entitled for the 5% discount. I have not signed the contract but I have the contract with me now, waiting to pay the inital deposit.

bineo

Hi Toons
If you have not pay the deposit and not signed the contract, what is the reason for not being eligible for the 5%? It is surprising as the UOB person in charge told me if you have not signed the contract or paid any deposit, you will be eligible ( of cos you need to take up the young couples pack).
Hmm.... I am curious. BTW, who is your coordinator?

toons77

Francis Lim. What I am afraid is that he has offered us some additional things that is not in the package so if this is only applicable for normal wedding package, there is a chance that they will withdraw all the other items. Ultimately, the additional items could even cost more than the 5% that we can recover.

This is a norm in how they advertise....there is always a T&C behind the whole project!!! Must always check back with them cos terms and conditions apply and must read for any fine-prints....Advertising can be deceiving at times!!

aureus

hi toons,

sorry, just wanna check, what kind of additional things did you add?

ususally, what else do people ask to include or add in a wedding package?

im not very sure what usually comes in a package, and what people will add in extra, would appreciate any information...

cottoncandy

Hi Toons...

I have also checked with my coordinator...the 5% discount actually reduce the price per table to below $800...i would presume that even if they take away the additional perks which was previously agreed, it would not amt to this cash savings...

dyeo

Seriously speaking...I don't know what are the perks they are giving? Mine seems normal as per list...Please share with me what are your perks.
@ [email protected]

Anyway, I have checked out from UOB & they say that its acceptable for existing couples whom had signed up.

carole

auntie donna,
mine is the same as what it was listed, except that i have a deluxe room for my helpers instead of a Day room.
i managed to ask for more wedding cards 75% instead of 60%
shhh shhh.. dun quote me har.. kekekeke

toons77

I just confirmed with my coordinator...Actually, I already expected his response....

If you check carefully in the first offer, things like what carole mention: one night deluxe room (should be day room) and additional cards are not in the initial offer but is committed by the coordinators when we discuss openly. These are the "additional" perks that arises upon discussion. Others will also include Free LCD projector, additional car park passes

If we want to use the 5%, the exisitng package that is without the additional perks will be used. I don't think they will even throw in all the "additionals ". You save on the cost, but if you want to insist the additional things, then it is really down to your negotiation power with the coordinator.

I even mention to him that this is also inclusive for those who have signed up but he says that this is not included as it is also subjected to management's approval.

My personal view is that I rather negotiate and try to get more things from him rather than when I get the 5% discount and everything he will say no bcos you have signed up for the normal package. So you lose all your negotiation power...

I am not too sure if this is mentioned from your coordinator but you can take a 8 course menu at a discounted rate for weekend rather than some hotels who offer you a 9 course but you pay so much more for that 1 additional dish...

We felt that it is not necessary to have a 9 course meal cos most of them are very full when they reach the 2nd last dish in a 9 course menu. So why waste food, go for something that can just nice fill their stomach and yet there is cost savings for the wedding couple. Anyway, for all wedding couple, we hope to recover back the dinner cost so savings are very crucial...

Try to do a check with your relatives and friends....I did a check with my relatives and friends and most of them do not bother whether it is 8 or 9 course, most important is that the food and portioning is good. They will only go through the list to see what is offered..

cottoncandy

Hi Toons

Probably, different ppl have different opinions bah..personally, i would prefer to use the 5% discount instead of forgoing that for those perks that did not amt to much eg. additional carpark passes..their carpark is quite small, even if manage to get more passes, ur guests might not be able to find a carpark lot in the first place.

Yup, i oso know about the reduction of dish..sharkfin will reduce by $50 and other dishes by $30. So in comparsion, the 5% discount still results in more savings as it is only ard $760+..furthermore, weekend banquets are normally 9 dishes instead of 8...some relatives might "complain"...haha...

jingles

Hi Sweet/ Bineo/ Judyl,

Thanks a lot for the advice :cool:. Actually, I was a bit disappointed with my coordinator. Thot when we discussed, he said it was 2 nights for the bridal suite and he told me no additional charges too if we didn't hit the expected number of tables. But when he sent us the contract, jia lat...... a lot of things not quite like what he told us before.

We only had 2 meetings with him. I thot it was pretty standard so din bother to meet up so many times. Furthermore, he's like super busy and can even forget our meeting on 2nd occassion. Dun noe whether he's blur or wat ? We are in a dilemma whether can change to another coordinator.

toons77

Jingles,

Complain to the management, ask them to change your coordinator cos it seems that he is not in the right frame of mind to handle your wedding. If he can screw up your current contract, what about your actual day, better consider.... Who is your coordinator???

bineo

Hi Jingles
Make sure everything they promise you is in black and white. Heard too many horror stories abt items not stated are ultimately denied.

I actually agree with Sweet that the 5% is more critical as its upfront cash whereas for the other perks its not. Even if the value of the perks is more than the value of the discount but actually think abt it, the perks are just the "Nice to have" and not "Must have". Of course, if like Toons, I cannot get the 5%, I must make sure to negotiate for more perks.

However, people like me who have confirmed the wedding and pay the deposit has basically 0 negotiation power. Everything I ask for now is almost straight flat no. Coordinator also not very spontaneous to help. Dun think I want to change a coordinator cos do not want to be blacklisted and who knows if the next one will be worse.

cottoncandy

HI jingles

Yup, make sure that all items that was promised to u was stated in the contract, or else have to waste alot of time and effort later to ask for it again...if u r uncomfortable with your coordinator during the intital stage, can u imagine what will happen during the preparation stage?

cottoncandy

Hi Bineo

Ur AD is in 3 mths' time! Guess u must be feeling pretty excited liao..=)..finished all ur preparations oredi?

Ya..do agree that might not be a wise idea to change coordinator now..since ur AD is just ard the corner..just try to communicate with ur coordinators to ensure that things are kept on the right track..but i m sure that u will have a beautiful wedding! =)

judyl

Hi Sweet,
Sorry for my late reply. Busy with work lately. There is a deadline for deposit but our co-ordinator said that we can arrange for another date if we are not free. I can't install MSN and yahoo messenger in my office becos my IT team banned it. If u dun mind, u can e-mail me at [email protected]

I just called UOB to find out more about the 5% discount. According to them, it is only applicable on STANDARD wedding pkg and price. The 5% discount would be given in the form of a voucher and valid till 30 Sep 2004.

Hi Jingles,
I agree with Sweet and Toons. Ask your co-ordinator to include all those things that he had promised you. Otherwise, go to the Mgt or director of catering/sales and asked to change the co-ordinator. All the best!

carole

jingles, i too agreed with Toons.. get ur co ordinator change. simple.. just call the director of the catering sales and tell him or her ur unhappiness and request for a change.

Gals!!!! Meet up @ 5.00pm 17th April (Mandarin Lobby)
see u there..... dun tell me that i must wear a rose hor... kekekek... call me when u all there... see u there +65 93669005

bineo

Thanks Sweet for the well wishes.

Its getting a little panicky cos I only have less than 3 mths left and still more preparations to be done. Its always like that so its good to prepare early.

Hi Judy
The standard packages should refer to the standard weekday ( 588+++/table) and standard weeekend ( cannot remember price) packages right? In any case, wish you luck in negotiating with yoru coordinator

cottoncandy

Hi Judy

No problem! Will email u at the email address then...=)

And i have just got the UOB's voucher yesterday...yup, it is applicable to standard wedding packages which is the $689+++ for weekend dinners..as long as pay deposit by Sep'04, u can use the voucher..

cottoncandy

Hi Bineo
It is normal to feel panicky at this stage..hehe..but bet u must be having so much fun! Which ballroom u having and how many tables?

bineo

Hi Sweet
thats fast, bet you get the 3 days 2 nights Nirwana stay too???
So you can enjoy the 5%?

I am taking the grand ballroom, I committed 35 tables, but think the no. will increase as the date get nearer ;p

Very busy now, also trying to plan for honeymoon.

cottoncandy

Hi Bineo
Yup! will def use the 5% discount..the nirwana stay is onli 2D 1N and onli applicable to weekdays onli..havent got that voucher coz got to pend my fh's application for the cash plus..but we oredi got the Meritus Mandarin's voucher liao...

hehe..normally table no will increase when the date draws nearer..when suddenly alot of ppl need to be invited...=)

Oh, wow! Where u going for honeymoon? me going for a mini honeymoon to Banyan Tree @ Bintan after my ROM...

judyl

Hi Sweet,

UOB told me that the bintan voucher is valid from Sun-Fri (except eve of PH and PH), so u can still go on Fri. In any case, do enjoy ur mini honeymoon!

Discussed with HB and he decided not to use the 5% voucher becos we may lose freebies (such as free night stay at Deluxe room for helpers, free LCD projector etc). Also, we were given a special price for the wedding dinner pkg. Anyway, yesterday we went down to MM to pay for the deposit, so at least this is finally settled now. So can concentrate on house and bridal pkg.

Bineo, thks too! =)

carole

I was at mandarin yesterday to take a peep at the floral decorations. I was very pleased with the attention that my Coordinator has given to both my FH and myself. though we both knew he was real busy, he made an effort to talk to us during ur visit... i bet he is reading this right now... keke Thanks alot Malcom. Await for a surprise that we have installed just for u Malcom.

cottoncandy

Hi judyl
we are planning to go either mon-tues or thurs to fri for the nirwana stay...hehe..thanks!
Great, that u have settled the banquet issue, at least a great load off the preparations!

so have u shortlisted any BS?=)

bineo

Hi Sweet
Heard so much abt the Banyan tree in Bintan, it has been highly recommended. Must have cost a bomb too since they dun come cheap. I am sure you have a romantic honeymoon there with all the sand, sun and sea.

Me going to US for my honeymoon. Got a cheap and good deal on airfare during Natas so decide to go somewhere both of us have never been too. Free and easy cos we want to explore more places but have not plan in details yet. Must watch out for my pocket too. Hee...

Hi Carole
What floral decorations did you see? I have yet to choose mine and have no idea how the decor look.

Hi Judyl
Looks like you got quite a great deal at Mandarin already, congrats that its settled. Just a word of cautions, I am given the free use of the LCD projector too but my coordinator warns that they do not guarantee for it to work so if you plan to have something screen, you may like to get a backup.

jitpong

Hi Carole

Mind sharing how is the decor when you went down on Sat? Is it in Mandarin Court or Belvedere? The last time i went to view the decor at Mandarin Court, it is quite plain.

trekkie

can i chk with you, what's the deposit amt that you have to pay? And how is the final settlement of payment done? On that day or what ah?

bbear

Hi Trekkie,

We paid 2K as deposit. According to our coordinator, the rest of payment settle after checking out of the room.

carole

Bineo, just the different style of floral arrangements. the Fresh flower wasnt very exciting, which both my FH and i having second thoughts. But the Artificial White sphere floral arrangment was nice and classy.

Sandy, same??? good.. he is indeed a nice nice nice coordinator. both FH and myself planning a surprise for his effort.

jitpong, i guess the deco part is up to individual coordinator and the theme that u are choosing. i myself find the artificial flowers are better (Mandarin Court), but the one at Belvedere using fresh flowers were scattered and not very nice. I guess to each its own choice and taste.

shigellasg, u mean on saturday u were there too?? which one?? lol.... i was the one with my BIG SIZE FH.... lol

Trekkie, deposit depends on the contract and the negotiation between urself and the coordinator. it varies. the balance settle on the day of check out.

jitpong

Hi trekkie
It is stated in my contract that i can choose to settle the bill immediately after dinner or on the day i check out of the bridal suite.

sandgirl72

Hi carole..
wow.. planning a surprise for Malcolm.. that's cool.. can PM me with a clue to this surprise? kekekee...

so is yours at the Mandarin Court too?? we had it there last Dec..

shigellasg

Carole,

yes I was there abt 6pm than the set up was not finished, so i left and came back at 6.45pm. I saw alot of couples around. But din see any big-size guy, haha! Maybe he's not that big lar. Carole, what's your email add?

cottoncandy

Hi Bineo

Thanks! yup, we heard alot about banyan tree too, so wanted to try out the one at bintan first..coz we planning to go maldives for our actual honeymoon..if realli tat good, then we will try out the banyan tree there as well! cant wait to try out the personal jacuzzi! hehe...

US! cool!! which state?? can try out LA for the disneyland...veri fun!! hehe..

wat u mean by back up for LCD projector? u mean u need to bring ur own projector?

carole

Sandy, yes ours at Mandarin Court... the surprise.. still in deep thoughts...

shigelasg, we left abt 6.30pm. i was in a pink bare back top and black shorts n slippers.. keke the most simply dress couple... kekekek. my email [email protected]

bineo

Thanks Carole for the info. I think I need to make a trip to the florist to see the layout.

Hi Sweet
I am intending to drive down from San Francisco to LA ( still planning, nothing concrete yet).

For the projector, yes, I am intending to bring get a projector on our own as back-up in case if theirs dun work. She told us that it happen before so no guarantee.

cottoncandy

Hi Bineo
Cool! so envy u and fh going for free & easy..me and fh veri blur with directions one, so if we go to these major states, we have no choice but to take package tours...hehe...

wah, projector still need to bring our own...must tok to my coordinator about this liao...

bineo

Hi Sweet
We not so cool la. Ha....
Decide on Free and Easy cos its more cost savings and we can cover more places. Trying to maximise our trip there.

Lets see what your coordinator says abt the projector.