Maldives

Hey haru
sometimes when u see the long long bridge..u dun feel like walking there esp in the afternoon...taking the dhoni ride is easier..

ACtually the beach villa island not big lar..i think me n hubby stroll...takes about 15mins can cover the beach villa island liao..

Never saw the maldives ad leh..

hey,
i just received e email from hilton for the menus and excursion list. looks like they are changing their private bbq to something else...

The below two events will be implementing this new setup by the middle of June. and will be replasing the above private bbq events.

Shipwreck Private BBQ
Seating on mats with cushions, low table, no table cloth.
The menu will feature 4 course including a seafood platter for 2.
The price will be 160 US$ (BB) and 130 US$ (HB/FB)

Candle Light Private BBQ
Upgraded black table setup with chairs covers.
Guests will have a choice between 3 menus (5 course each) : Meat & Poultry / Fish & Seafood / Mixed
The price will be 210 US$ (BB) and 180 US$ (HB/FB)

sigh..its def more expensive than the one zhuzhu went. not sure if its still worth it then...

wah..the private BBQ sooo expensive ah..I think mine was USD120 per pax leh..

But the shipwreck one sounds interesting leh

hi zhuzhu,
ya lor, i was really disappointed when i read about the change (in price!). was the 4 course also like what you had? i just sent them an email to find out e diff of the current and the new one..i didnt see the sunrise cruise on their list, but they do have the sunrise fishing and sunrise snorkelling.sounds interesting too..

hey haru
Think the one I had was oso 4 course..did they send u the menu for the bbq? then can compare what the diff..

Hubby just mentioned that the seafood platter for 2 was HUGE..we were at sunset grill and saw a jap couple order it...it was really really really alot of food...big lobster, prawns, some shell foods oso..not sure if that was the same platter..

I remember the staff told me they had sunrise cruise everyday, even if you never saw it on their list..remember I did the sunrise snorkelling..
but must be prepared to wake up early lar..oh..for those sunrise activities, they will have morning call for u

hi zhuzhu,
wah, u still up too ya? i just checked, the menu is e same. the guy just replied to menu sama sama, only price and setting different. any recommendation on the other restaurants for lunch/dinner? i'm thinkin of whether to book sunrise or sunset fishing leh..sounds interesting. btw, did u also try the undersea restaurant? aft what Wu described about e food, i'm thinkin may just go for cocktail to experience the place.

hey Wu,
wah lao, i super in dilemma now. really wana get e Canon EOS 350D, but thinkin if i shld splurge on it just before e trip leh..confused!!
coz i think bout bringin the new cam for e trip like quite shiok, but on e other hand, dun wana spend so much just befor e trip...hmm...

hey haru
u oso haven slept ah...same menu but different setup?? where will the shipwreck BBq be held? is it oso at some corner of the beach?

I only went for Atoll market for buffet lunch and sunset grill for dinner..think sunset grill is not bad...dat day we went it was raining..so outdoor seatings were wet..i think it should be quite nice to sit outdoor..with the water surrounding u..did not try the undersea restaurant..hubby said wan to go there must go dinner..but too expensive lar..

Hi wU,
HeeHee! I always pop-by the thread. Enjoying all your conversations with others. Can PM me if you want immediate response. but I'm private limited.
I took photography as a hobby. Nikon D70 and Canon EOS 350D is equivalent. Think is which brand you prefer. cos once u starts with one set, the lens collection... EXPENSIVE if you wanna switch over. I prefer Nikon as there are secondary lens like sigma, tamron. they are much cheaper. Nikon in-house lens very expensive. Besides all this, many friends used Nikon too, so we share lens. No need to carry many lens when we go for same shooting. Hee! I'm the lazy type. At times, I will still regret owning a CANON 350D.

Hi Imagesxela,
Not sure if my hubby been to that resort before. I get back to you tomorrow.

Yo Adel,

hahahha..... so you also read this thread but kept quiet? kekeke.. talk something lah, anyway the topics is so wide!

Oh yes, me too think that owing Nikon is better.. i.e can use the 3rd party lens, beside the 2 you've mention, another good one is tokina. Oh... just found out from my wife that her friend now work as a Sigma Distributor, so can get a much better price. Let me know if u need any of the sigma.

Thanks for ur tips, at least now I'm more convince!

Yo haru,

kekeke....most of us think nikon is a better bet. however, canon was very aggressive in pricing recently. The loweset price for 350D is S$1350, that's the price of the kit!!! around S$200 cheaper than nikon D70s.
Anyhow, I still feel D70s is more solid build and easier to hold.

Hi Wu,

er...I thought canon also can use 3rd party lens?

sigma distributor? waaaaaah....hmmm.... can i also? hehehe...

Another thing, i heard u mentioned before Bandos resort. Your friend went issit. I heard the place has renovated and seems good. And best of all got TV and pools...kekekeke... any review?

hey blue ginger,
u photography enthusiast too? i'm seriously considering gettin e Canon..

Yo Wu,
u sure e 305D can get for $1350?? from where? me amateur so not getting a really big one..

hi zhuzhu,
i see.i was thinkin of tryin the undersea for just for the cocktail. will check w hubby if he's keen. so had all ur lunch at atoll mkt and dinner at sunset grill? e koko grill sounds good but i think it would be seriously overpriced eh?

Yo imagesxela,

Ur.... I think 3rd party lens with canon mount not so many to choose loh...since they themselves got so many lens liao, and it's not cheap.
Kekek...u let me know what lens u want loh, then I ask the frd quote u a price? Okie?

My army friend, who is a pilot, went to Bandos for a couple of times. He said go there for diving, very cheap, as for accom, and forget about it. Hmm....never heard got any reno on Bandos leh. Need to check out the web.

Yo Haru,

My friend got a quote from one of the shop in Sim Lim. 2nd floor one. You can get a quote from either Cathay photos(Penisular) or MS color(AMK)... Actually 350D and nikon D70s almost equivalent. As what Adel said, must consider carefully, cos if next time u wanna switch sys, very ex.... Anyway, I think Canon lens somewhat over price loh!, jus that on;y 350D is cheap only, but the kit lens not as good as the Nikon ones.

Wu
yo..I got the latest Shape mag..they got this article on the dives in banyan tree in Maldives... wah...can see sharks one leh(sharks like leopard sharks, hammerheads, nurse etc..)...seems rather nice...
they bring u to this atoll...can't rem the name..the diving sites there can see alot of creatures... the whole package includes six dives n equip n all.. accom n air tics n transfer also included.. only open to open water certified divers...

zhuzhu n wu
yo...no worries lah... if I go travel I'll let zhuzhu n u know lah...
anyway it's not like must post it everyday right? :p

Yoz Haru
Koko grill i think can only seat less than 10pax..so u must be there on time, cos everybody would start there meal at the same time...agreed its like seriously overpriced...i still think that if you can, go for the BBQ..

Yoz starstar
Not everyday must post one lar..like if sometimes too long see no tables, then we can post lor..

Side track abit...
ladies, where do you go for facial?

Update @ 4th Jun 2006

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Photo Album</TD><TD>Departure</TD><TD>Returned</TD><TD>Total nites</TD><TD>Countdown(Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Taj Exotica/Baros(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/album/208550556KcSIWJ </font><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/user/plannerholiday3</font></TD><TD>Oct 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral(WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087</font></TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla/Sunset WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645</font></TD><TD>30-June-05</TD><TD>8-July-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana(Beach Villa) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/my_photos</font></TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Clubmed(SupRm/WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://photos.yahoo.com/lengph</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Apr-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Clubmed(BVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.moonlight00.shutterfly.com/</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>13-May-06</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=2105956261</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>Taj Exotica(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.tajhotels.com</font></TD><TD>10-Jun-06</TD><TD>16-Jun-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>6 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nelc</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Jun-06</TD><TD>25-Jun-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Mirihi(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.mirihi.com</font></TD><TD>29-Jun-06</TD><TD>8-July-06</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>25 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-July-06</TD><TD>7-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>27 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon/Hilton(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.fullmoonmaldives.com/</font></TD><TD>9-July-06</TD><TD>14-July-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-July-06</TD><TD>16-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>36 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Oct-06</TD><TD>27-Oct-06</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>137 </TD></TR><TR><TD>FanFan</TD><TD>Mirihi</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Nov-06</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>162 </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Laguna or Club Rannalhi</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Maybe Very Soon! </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hello zhu zhu,

ya i'm getting quite excited too.
next sun, tis time, i shld be enjoying a stroll on the beach..hahah....=)
this time will take more pics..and can then share wif u guys. the last time i went, stayed at Kuredu, stupid camera broke down..argh...only managed to take some pics wif the waterproof disposable cam.

T&amp;P
Must start packing now to get the excitment going..heeheee...

me so long never check the thread and it's moving quite fast ah

Wu
You go Mirihi, can rackee the activities as well...heheee....see got what interesting activities and share some tips with me...heehee

Yeah! World Cup next week!!!!

zhuzhu
I go facial at a salon near my place.. it's nardia laboratory..
subsidary of Apex.

haru
yup.. no worries..
zhuzhu. Wu n me will post the table whenever we deemed it's time..

Yo Starstar,

Kekeke.... Most places in Maldives can easily see sharks! Even in Redang while snorkelling, we saw one giant one(not baby), swim towards us then suddenly jus back off into the abyss.. scary!!!:P Mirihi website claims we can see Whale sharks all year round, not sure true or not! So excited....keeping my finger cross.
Oh yes, those house reefs in Angsana and Banyan Tree looks really healthy....go chance can go there! Good place for snorkelling or jus do some free diving.

Yo T&amp;P,

Why camera starts to breakdown when oversea? hmmm..... I also scare, will probably bring one disposable as backup! This weekend I'll decide what camera to buy, either a Nikon D70s or some compact digital cam.!!

So hows ur prep?? Excited eh!

Yo Fanfan,
So excited.....my trip is getting nearer!! No problem, will recce everything inside out and let you know! Oh...BTW, Antony did mail me some excursion stuff.. you hv them? There's one which I wld like to try, the private BBQ on their sail boat(the same one as in Hilton)....but.. it USD300 (need to check whether it's per pax or for couple).. There's also stuff like overnight cruise on the sail boat..that's USD500 (not sure per pax or wat?).

Hahahha.....I'll be able to watch world cup matches in Maldives..by the beach.. interesting!
375545.gif

hey zhuzhu,
i've been going to tis small place caused Dikara Spa at Club St area.i bot a package frm them coz my bridal studio had a promo with them when i was doing wedding prep.i'll be hving my last sessio with them after my maldives trip. the location not so convenient so i wont get another package. actualy i think i'll just go for adhoc facial from now on. i'm also lookin around for a reasonably priced and good facial place..

hilton did not send me the price for koko grill so i suppose its so obscenely overpriced that they cant publish it!hahahahah....

T&amp;P,
u can def start to countdown!!!u must really excited..i only have a month to go and i'm already quite excited.

Hey Wu,
thanks for ur advice. i'm gona do a lil more research on the cameras too before making a purchase. hubby also quite keen to get a dSLR before we go for our trip. coz we are thinkin if digicam can't take very good shots, we'll be soooo upset coz its not we can go to maldives again anytime..

Yo Haru,

Ya, better do research quick. You need to get the DSLR faster so that you can practice. I've been so called practicing using a 350D in my office...kind of difficult to use though. Unlike a compact cam, you can easily choose a program to help to take nice photo.....I know what you mean lah, like me loh, still think of getting a video cam, but after thinking thrice, kind of wasting money but on the other hand as what u said, no anytime we can go maldives......Sianx.....

Hi Moonlight and LPH,

Can I check with u on how much do u spend for your total trip in ClubMed? Is it everything is inclusive in the package? Hows the food served? I saw your photos. Very nice..
BTW, are u transfer to ClubMed immediately upon arrival or do u stay one nite in Male first?

Hi Wu and zhuzhu,
Saw your photos in Maldives Hilton..My husband loves Maldives Hilton so much after looking at both your photos...
Hi zhuzhu,may I know how much do u spend in total for the trip?

I am still thinking of whether to choose Hilton or ClubMed. Of course I know the price difference will be quite significance. So it will depends on my hb year end bonus..haha

Yo Babyshannon,

Book quick! Anyway, next year Hilton Maldives price hike... This year will be a good year to go. Actually if u compare their(both clubmed n Hilton) water villas, then price wld be significant, but hilton beach villa is a catch!!! Even for the deluxe ones...I think Hilton themselves know it, thus the price hike esp on the beach villas!!

Sept/Oct is a good time as well, cos Hilton got 2 free nites when u purchase just 5 nites(think for deluxe beach and normal beach villas).

Wu,

Me don't have a copy of the excursions...can u please email me a copy? my email is [email protected]
Thanks a lot

I bet watching soccer by the beach is something nice...beer + soccer + beach and some chips..perfect combi ...hahahaa

Hi Wu,

I am actually looking at next year..now trying to gather as much info as possible and also planning the budget. I read your previous posting about the price hike for Hilton Maldives. Thus, dunno whether should i choose ClubMed instead or stick to Hilton. I prefer both the beach villa and the water villa (my husband want to try the water villa also)

Anyone know how much does the air tix to Maldives cost?

Yo fanfan,

Okie, I'll immediately mail u all those files I'd receieved from Antony.

Hopefully it's bigscreen TV..... scare go there, got only 14 inch TV. :P

Yo Babyshannon,

Hilton "low end" water villa is not that good value loh....and it's really ex as well.

Why not you try island hopping? Stay hilton beach villa a few days, then transfer to clubmed or Mirihi(jus speedboat ride away).

My initial intention for my upcoming trip is 4 nites Hilton deluxe beach, then transfer to Mirihi water villa 4 nites.....Probably u can consider that? Best of both worlds!

The airtix till next year Oct is 500++ per pax(4 to go) and 600++(2 to go). The ++ (fuel surcharge)is around $250 now.

Yes yes,

for the beach villa and deluxe got that promo!!

Baby shannon... I also like you. was choosing between the 2. In the end picked Hilton beach villa instead of club med water villa coz i think its more exlcusive and more on the luxorious side. Whereas club med to me is more of a fun and adventurous place. so depends on what you want.

Cannot ask zhu zhu la... she went during off peak so really cheap!!! plus now got price hike for food and all - sigh.

hello all!!

So much tech talk and im so lost
Haru: how come must use the DSLR special cam? normal digital works just fine ! i used my Canon IXUS 5 (not sure abt the exact name its the 5 megapixel one) or something there and alot of pple said tt my pix are very clear! hmmm...
even when im standing in water taking pix (abt shaky cos of the waves) it still turns out pretty ok - save the $$ if u can la !
forgive me - im a cheapo when it comes to techy stuff. maybe dunno how to appreciate lor...kekeke

Truffles and Pearls : care to share the cost and breakdown of your trip to Taj? just kaypoh -hope u dun mind !

talking abt facial... my last facial was almost a year ago - used to go more regularly but dun like the fact that they kept increasing their prices. on average my facial can cost like $150!!!! and my facialist is a neighbourhood one man. she said that my facial is the collagen type w spec ingredients hence more exp lor...but no complaints abt her service thought. she is very pro and always remembers my name

i love the facials from Bioskin - tried it once at spec promo price - felt very pampered. their new outlet at wheelock is very spacious and the msg tt comes w the facial is Great!!!

Hi Wu

er.. pai seh leh. if not very troublesome hor.. hehe..check for me ...Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM....For canon mount hor.

thanks ah. kekeke.

Waah..the fuel charges is so high now..S$250 wor...tsk tsk...can go bintan stay one day liao..

Mish...most likely I will choose Hilton beach villa. coz my husband loves Hilton alot after seeing Wu and zhuzhu photos..but think I need to budget around 8K for 2 person if I choose Hilton Maldives for 5 nites rites? I saw some of the menu that u posted here..Can I have a copy too?

my email [email protected]

thanks..

Yo imagesxela,

Okie, will check for u. I thot Tokina 12-24mm better? There's a review by a Angmo expert here:-
http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/digital-wide-zooms/comparison.htm

Anyway, I'm also considering the Sigma range as well. If can get better pricing from my wife's friend, why not hor!

Hv you use the lense B4? Any comment?

Yo Babyshannon,

I think zhuzhu or Mish or Haru should hv all the updated menu. Yo folks...we need help here!

However, if you're planning for next year trip, the price shld be different liao, especially the room rates. Beach villa price up by at least 35%. That's almost twice more than what I'd paid during 2005.
I think even more for deluxe one. Siaxn....... :P

Hi imagesxela,
Club Rannalhi look good from photo. So you are going for Maldives June Offer of S$828 5D3N?
Yalor! Petrol increase again, fuel surcharge definitely high.

Canon oso have 3rd party lens, but it was only starts past 2 yrs when Canon launched their EOS 350D. If I'm not wrong, only Sigma cater for Canon.

Hi Wu,
I have little knowledge mah! Nothing to say, but enjoy through the conversations among your guys and gals.
BTW, I tried out D100 before but dun like it as it is too big for my hand while D70 is just nice for me. For guy, can try D100(old model) or D200 better gripping than D70. otherwise, have to buy battery pack.

Hi Haru,
No lah! Just pick-up another expensive hobby besides diving. Cos interesting in Underwater photography. No worry, you can buy EOS 350D with kits at abt $1350. Try Alan photo at Sim Lim, ground floor. The sales are very friendly, unlike cathay. Find them impolite if you dun frequent cathay.

Hi wu,
ya. I left Tokina out. Dun have their recent catalogue. Any idea where to see their specification.

12-24mm lens F??? 4-5.6?

Yo Adel,

Kekekek..... D70 grip is ok for me. Better grip than 350D. D200? No money leh.... kekek...I'm thinking whether shld I rent a DSLR, try it out in Maldives then decide whether want to buy or not! IT shld cost around 200+ for my 9 nites there, better than I spent 2000+ for the kit plus extract lens.
ALan photo price good but I find their attitude quite bad leh......Ai Mai Ai Mai one. On the other hand I got good impression on Cathay photo but at the penisular one. MOst of those uncle( always teach extra things beside selling) much better than the Alan punk. PRobably I just suay lah....met the unpolite one, same for u maybe. AT Cathay, always look for those Uncle, their attitude better than those young ones.. :P

Wha...so you got any underwater housing or not? FOr ur DSLR? wha.... more ex than the camera itself leh!

oh nooo....this thread is super-duper active.....im so sori...but i cant even find my own query now....so no choice, hv to ask again....may i noe who went to clubmed kani?

btw, Wu, thanx for ur fotos...its wonderfully taken n there reali look like heaven n the sunset water villa r so big...tink it muz hv cost a bomb...;p

Yo Shanshan,

Kekke...to view ur earlier thread, must go all the way up and look at the Archive.

LPH and Moonlight went to Kani just last month.

No lah... my beach villa rates all time low, and I got special discount for the sunset water villa. Upgrade from beach villa(still must pay for the beach villa, USD150++) cos me another USD750++ per nite, so total USD900++. Orginal rates around USD2300++ per nite. Initial they want to charge me upgrade USD1000++ per nite but after negotiate, they agree USD750++.

At that time another Angmo Couple also viewing the sunset water villa...we immediately take the offer, else maybe can cut more!

Yo T&amp;P,

Time to buy new one liao!! Else...if ur compact cam got video mode, think shld be good enough?

Such a bad timing though...hmm....maybe I shld go and check my diving gear as well...jus in case! :P

HI Wu

I want Signma one. The 10-20mm one.
Tokina one is 12-24...2mm makes a lot of difference.

Signma i heard got right side image unacceptable at 10mm. If can get a good copy then ok. Must check and test lor.

Different from the signma 12-24 one hor.

i want wide wide wide....hehe.. good for lanscape mah. if got money to get it before maldives...waaaaaaahhh.

T&amp;P,

Har....siao siao one ah... maybe already so called "walking wounded".

Yo imagesxela,

Already ask my wifey to check for u the price. Outside price is around $850.

Wide wide ah...kekekek.. using stitch lah..sure wide wide one!!!

hey ... i wanna ask u all hor.

Not that i want to be a spoiler or what lah. But i think this yr hor, got 2 months hungry ghost. July to Sept.

You all dun mind to go Maldives during this period ah?

I am ok lah, but there is a concern in my group now..hahaha... what do u guys think?

Wu, 10mm effect is nicer then stitch...ehhehe.. different perspective.