Maldives

The funny thing is, previously when I went to Shanghai..I oso did an internet check in..but i oso collect my boarding pass at the check in counter mar..somemore when u do internet check in..they will send u a confirmation email..n there is no indication on the email that u had to collect ur boarding pass at another counter..

Ask my hubby to wrote back..n ask them..why do they took so long to reply back..email was sent on 19 May and reply only on 31 May...tsk tsk..

to think Changi airport is worldclass...

Yo Mish,

For google earth, you cannot say zoom in very very near. At most at 1000ft. If u continue to Zoom in further hor, the image will start to blur!

At around 7700ft, u see Male as a whole island, if u can tell where is the road, boats parking and moving, stadium etc.... that's good enough liao lah....
.....kekekek... don't expect those Hollywood movies spy satellites quality hor! kekekekke

Singapore service standard?? No standard at all lah... Govt shld remove the service charges(10%)! That'll make sure all service improve their quality, and don't take for granted!

Yo imagesxela,

Sure, autoroam no problem in Maldives. Able to sms as well as call, with good recept!

Aiya...I know DSLR is good! but..really big investment loh! I got a rough idea how ex the hobby is....somewhat similar to my another hobby, astronomy(See stars lah! 5 figure type of hobby!).... :P

I must really think properly....as I think photography will be another 5 figure sum....oh yeh the buy buy buy syndrome! Sianx....

How's ur planning so far? ur friends still pushing u? Kekekek...

Hi Wu
Got quotes from Holiday Tours liao lor.

Due to budget contraints, we looking at club Rannalhi and Laguna.

Club Rannalhi is about $1380 for 4 nights lor. Everything in except lunch and dinner.

But i found out last night Club Rannalhi no swimming pool...HOW CAN???

Then Laguna no TV except for water villa. We are not staying at water villa...which means no TV..HOW CAN!!! If really no choice, we have to bring mahjong there liao.

Haiz..been searching for review for these 2 resorts, if u came across any, let me know hor.

Photography, unless u into all power lens lor, or else no need 5 figure lah. Body give u 2K, 3 lens (wide, stardard and zoom) 1.5K each. where got 5 figure?? And i am sure u wont buy all lens in one shot mah. U must know what u like to take before u buy lens mah. So no need 5 figure lah. Unless u tell me u buying Nikon D2X then i got nothing to say lor...kekekeke..

imagesxela,

Alot of resort no tv leh. its meant for couples to communicate. heh. Hilton also dont have for the beach villa and the deluxe one.

Wu,

I think i zoom in too much. Blurred image. I tot like the will smith show. errm enemy of the state like that. can zoom to even see the person. wahahhahaa.

T&P,

Yes, it loads to slow that i also DELETED IT!!! hehehe

I oso tried the google earth...made me laptop keep rebooting..so i bo bian, oso got to uninstall it....

Imagesxela,
Mirhi oso no pool and even water villa oso no TV leh..sad sad...bo bian lor..got to try and survive w/o telly for those 6D5N for me

Yo imagesxela,

Pretty good price liao.

Yo...you're surrounded by crystal clear pool! DOn't need swimming pool lah! Even fro Hilton, we jus soak soak a bit enough liao. Don't need TV lah...... look at the surrounding! That itself is a program liao lah! Kekeke..... For me n my wifey, we can seat there and look at the sea for hours! :P

My friend jus introduce me the Nikon D2X(body 6.8k), 12-24mm (1.6k), zoom...filters...flash...tripod.. I crazy liao.

Off course wouldn't but the D2X lah....keekekke....

I read some Ang mo(KenRockwell.com) recommendation
that a 12-24mm, then probably a 80~400mm with D70s a good setup liao. What u reckon?

CAre to share what type of setup u have?

Yo Mish,

Hahahahha...... I guess that u make the same mistake that I'd made earlier! :P yes yes...the enemy of the state thingy! :P

You folks network very slow is it? for me, quite fast leh. Maybe u folks should try your home network! (I think network plays a part!)

Yo Fanfan,

Oh yes, Mirihi no TV, but just like hilton, every week, they got a big screen movie event...

Mirihi watersports is free....can keep u busy for whole afternoon liao...kekekek or probably bring camera there and take photos..Kill some time?

I cannot believe it.. you all can survive without TV ah?? haha..actually can lah. That time me at Baros for 4 nights. No TV lor. At night really sleep early lor... and communication lor like Mish said..kekeke..

But when we go Taj Exotica, got TV, got DVD..waahh..thats is shiok man. Of course the TV is to cater for wet weather mah (we can't roam out mah)..CHOY CHOY~!!! (better dun rain when i am there man).

Ok lah..i know liao lah. maybe i go laguna. Look more beautiful leh. But Club Rannalhi review is good..haizz..headache again. Let my friends decide lah. If everything ok....we will be there in AUGUST..WOO HOOOooo!!!!

WU,
Please please... D2X really Power camera. But do you need that? But at least get a D70s or D200 lor for Nikon.
My set up.. wide angle (17-85mm), 50mm for details shots, 70-200 for telephoto, Kit lens (never use), flash, 4 X 1gb CF card, 20 AA batteries, bag. All these enough for me to take wedding liao (wedding i only bring 2 lens). All these cost be less than 5K. My lens all second hand (except kit lens lah).

First of all. ask yourselves. What u wanna take? Potraits? Landscape? Events? street photography? These will determine your setup.

hi people
haha..tok abt changi airport... if u guys check in your luggage..make sure u have the right number of tags for the number of luggage n it's all tagged... my hubby was on a trip to jakarta when he realised one of his check in luggage didn't arrive wif him... upon checking, his luggage's still in singapore... cos the luggage wasn't tagged..even though he checked in. only one luggage was tagged. the counter people also dun bother to check one..then just operate the belt n shift the luggage in liao... first time such things happen to him... the luggage only arrive the next morning sent to his hotel.. n he hasn't changed out of his clothes since arrival.. what a bundle..

zhuzhu n Wu
LPH asking for count down table...

Yo imagesxela,

No lah, not getting any D2X... The most will just go for D70s.
You wedding photographer ah?
kao_wedding.gif

Wha...ur 70-200 is the f2.8 one is it? Ex leh!.... Where did u get for 2nd hand? I'm thinking if I wanna to get lens, will rather get 2nd hand(I think most photographer wld store theirs in dry cabinet lah hor?)

I would prefer to take landscape and potraits(including my doggies pics i.e in dog run lah or swimming!)?

What would u recommend setup for my requirements?

Yo Starstar,

Don't know why ppl Esp AngMo voted Changi as 1st......I think Angmo all enjoy the good service while singaporean jus suffer in silent. And those ppl are getting fat bonus!!!

Kekekek....zhuzhu you still wanna to do??... Okie lah, tonite I go back home update, then when near my trip, Zhuzhu or any volunteer can help to update the table?? is that okie, LPH, everyone?

Wu,
I'll just bring along all the lomos i've and take photos with them...that itself will keep me entertained for many days liao...

since so many professional photographers here, I've a beginer Nikon SLR, FS-50 with some problem. The problem is i cant snap picture when it's in auto mode though it does the focus for me. when the focus is done, I've to change it back to manual mode, then i can release the shutter...any idea why is it so? also, as i seldom use that camera, thinking of selling it away...know of any shops i can sell it to?

Yo Fanfan,

Kekekek....only imagesxela can help u. I'm still learning!

If it's a problem, likely ppl wouldn't buy it from u lah...until you find out what porblem.

Anyway, can sell online, i.e. Clubsnap or other auction site?

Wu
haha.. what to do? LL..:p

wif regards to the table...hmmm..let me figure out the way to post then I'll take over when u not ard..
*arrow myself*..haha

Yo starstar,

How can a Mdm [Cpt(NS)Ho, right?] do such things....shld leave it to 2SG(NS) Wu. :P Kekekeke..... :P

I sent u the excel file lah....kekekke...then u just add in as per norm. Because I did lots of other changes like smaller fonts, color etc....
I'll sent u a whole list of Emoticons also!

Tonight okie?

duh!!! ...must say first, me is not professional photographer hor..hahahaha..long long long long way to go. kekeke

Hi Wu,

No, my 70-200 is F4. Actually that is my hobby lens, sports one. But ocassionaly will use it for outdoor wedding shoot. Not for indoor though. Even if i have the f2.8, i wont use..too heavy and bulky liao. Movement restricted leh. Wedding alot of people and movement, so i wont use it. Sekali i hit people with that lens ah...hahaha..

Landscape - the 12-24mm is good. I play with it last night (my friend use this with D2X) very good for travel and landscape photography.
Dog -hmm.... i think u need at least 50mm or 85mm.
Swimming - confirmed need telelens liao. or else how u take the action near near. (nikon got one er..dunno what VR 70-200 rite).

And yes, need a dry cabinet. $99 approx.

Ai ya. i think u buy the D70 will come with kit lens mah. Then just get another wide angle 12-24 can le. The rest slowly lor..

Fan Fan,
Wu is right, u must find out your problem first. Or else very hard to sell.
I do my buying and selling at clubsnap.

Er.. we a bit out of topic leh..this thread is about Maldives....kekekeke... laguna/club Rannalhi...any review..anyone? kekeke :P

Yo imagesxela,

It's my dog swimming...same har? Kekekke...

Yes Nikon got the VR 70-200...but $2.8K leh.
Sianx.... the Nikkor 12-24 lens is $1.6k also leh... I think I'll get the Tokina equivalent one lah!

Yes...I'm also thinking getting the setup you've recommend. D70s kit plus 12-24 enough liao!. Haiz...that's another 3K gone!

Okie okie back to Maldives topic! you go outside look for a forum member called Blue Ginger AKA Adel. She went to Laguna b4. WE've talk long long time ago, in the earlier Achives. IF I can remember, She finds it Oki.

CLub Rannalhi.....I never did any research on this resort... Okie, will try to gather some review for u as well!

CheerS!

Hi Wu

Ya, i read about it. Singaporean says Laguna no good. But Ang Mo say good leh..haiz....dunno issit we expect too much or not... hahahahah

Yo imagesxela,

I think again, probably there're some discrimination happening there!.... I believe the service might be similar to those what LPH and moonlight hv encounter during their trip to Clubmed? Hmmm.......Or simply the waiter/tress there don't speak/understand Singlish?

WU,

Aiya... to-date i keep thinking that the google earth cant work on my computer coz my computer lousy... now then i know... its not like enemy of the state kind of show.

Imagesxela,

lauguna is quite a common resort that ppl tend to push spore to take. Hmm. Maybe too many sporeans there to spoil our image? hmmm. so they dont like sporeans? Hmm. nv know.

The cameras you guys are talking are so expensive~!!!!

mish
haha..u see too many spy movies..
spy wannabe..

Wu n imagesxela
think ang moh n our standard diff n also maybe the pple there 'worship' ang moh? :p

star star... ya loo. cool ma.. can zoom zoom zoom... okie la.. i didnt expect so much....didnt think can look into the house. hehe. Apparently.. cant even see close to the house. hahahaha

im giving them the benefit of the doubt, that they dont speak singlish well....it happened in Club Med and my mauritius trip too.
when i was in club med, the GO was teaching me windsurf, n he ask if im from singapore. he say coz singaporeans got the singlish accent.

Yo Mish,

What u trying to see in the house?? kekekeke.... so close for what? I remember there's one Harrison ford movie where they zoom into the middle east area, and identify 1 women terrorist! Kkekekek...becos her shape different from the guys.

Yo LPH,

Kekekeke.....ya lah, you always so nice...give them benefit of doubt. But you kanna such kind of thingy hor, next time also think thrice b4 you even think of going back there..hmm ...imagine those GOs ganna Japanese or Chinese national(those not good in English lah). What would happened? Will they go extra miles in helping and satisfying them?

Wha.... u still thinking of the "Handsome" windsurfing coach ah?

im planning my honeymoon to maldives...any gd resorts to recommend? i prefer water villa (i.e. those on stilts)...

anybody been to the cludmed at maldives (kani)?? any comments?

shan shan,

Good place to be in... They can ans all your queries. 2 of them just got back from club med. Remarks were good. except the GOs and ppl there not very friendly. Wu will recommend mirihi for water villas. You can go and check it out.

WU.... need u to paste the table.. so she can see club med pix wor...

wu, giving them the benefit of the doubt makes myself have a happier holiday ma...dont think so much, juz relax n do your own things wihtout their disturbance.

but i'll definetely think thrice before going back. i'll definetely not go back to mauritius. even crossing the mauritius custom was a very horrifying experience for me.

hi mish,

reali..is there any fotos of the water villas at mirihi dat u can share?..went to their website but not much fotos of the rooms lehz...roughly how much would it cost?

Wu, u went to clubmed recently...would reali appreciate ur comments pls...can i see fotos oso...thanx..

my email address:

nono... wu didnt go club med.. he has the table that has all the links for those who went to clubmed and all. LPH and moonlight went to clubmed.

Wu is going to mirhi soon. hmmm i think this mth. cant rem.

No photos of mirihi. got taj coral, club med... these 2 have water villa photos.

Hi Wu,

If you are really interested in photography, D70s is a good catch. Otherwise, D50 is comprehensive enough for a good start with DSLR. Din use any wide angle, mostly I use VR70-120 f4.5-5.6 for travelling and a good micro lens for portrait. You can easily get a dry box from PC show this weekend and 2nd hand lens from http://www.clubsnap.com.sg/ or eqv.

Yo imagesxela,
You got mail.

Yo Mish,

Kekeke.....u shld start recommending Hilton to Shanshan mah! kekekek
Okie... will post the table tonight. Starstar or Zhuzhu can take over next time round. :P

Yo LPH,

Hmm....... you right lah...but just as some folks in the tripadvisor says i.e for Laguna, wanna be happy, don't go out of the rooms, esp go to the rest etc.. That guys also Buay Ta-Han the GOs.

What happened to Mauritius custom? CAre to share with us? Service wise or just crowded?

Hi Shan Shan,

I've not been to Clubmed, however our other 2 folks went there b4, LPH and moonlight!
I've been to Hilton Maldives last June, and for this year, I'll be going to Mirihi Maldives.

I'll share with u all the links to different resort in Maldives(that our forum members has been too) tonight, in a table format. Then u just click on the link to view all the different resort photos, okie?

Go to www.mirihi.com Go to the gallery to look at photos, and you can also use their virtual tour software. They also got a video intro of their resort online as well.

Anyway, when are u planning a trips to Maldives and for what purpose? We can then advise u on the pro/cons of different resort! Okie?

Yo Adel,

Wha...look for u for so long adi. Where hv u been? kekeke.... we got so many question for u!

OIC...so imagesxela contacted u liao is it? kekekek....thanks for helping!

Wha.....u also a photographer(Hobby?)....Okie...will check out the lens that you've mention! Thanks!

kekekek...Oh yes, I've been surfing the clubsnap for deals as well. Now I think I shld decide on whether Nikon or Canon, follow by the Model then get extra lens!

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Photo Album</TD><TD>Departure</TD><TD>Returned</TD><TD>Total nites</TD><TD>Countdown(Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Taj Exotica/Baros(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/album/208550556KcSIWJ </font><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/user/plannerholiday3</font></TD><TD>Oct 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral(WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087</font></TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla/Sunset WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645</font></TD><TD>30-June-05</TD><TD>8-July-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana(Beach Villa) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/my_photos</font></TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Clubmed(SupRm/WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://photos.yahoo.com/lengph</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Apr-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Clubmed(BVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.moonlight00.shutterfly.com/</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>13-May-06</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=2105956261</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>Taj Exotica(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.tajhotels.com</font></TD><TD>10-Jun-06</TD><TD>16-Jun-06</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>8 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nelc</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Jun-06</TD><TD>25-Jun-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>17 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Mirihi(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.mirihi.com</font></TD><TD>29-Jun-06</TD><TD>8-July-06</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>27 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-July-06</TD><TD>7-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>29 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon/Hilton(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.fullmoonmaldives.com/</font></TD><TD>9-July-06</TD><TD>14-July-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>37 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-July-06</TD><TD>16-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>38 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Oct-06</TD><TD>27-Oct-06</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>139 </TD></TR><TR><TD>FanFan</TD><TD>Mirihi</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Nov-06</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>164 </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Laguna or Club Rannalhi</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Maybe very Soon! </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Ginger,

Thanks for the mail. kekekeke.
Hmm...wonder how come no one go laguna or club rannahli...

Hey Wu,
dun like that leh...sekali i never go to any of those two resort and end up in Bintan then malu rite...kekekeke...

Yo imagesxela,

Hmm........if u go bintan hor then I put Laguna also lah, but Laguna Bintan loh! kekeke.... Where got Malu? better than nothing right? :P
anyway, you're still high up on top of the table isn't it? Muahahahhaa.....

Aiya, try to make it lah! kekeke.... we need a trip report from u. Actually hor, I wish you can go club Rannalhi leh.... sounds exotic mah!

oh club rannalhi...one of my colleagues went there like a few yrs back...he said very small island..walk 10 mins can cover the whole island liao..

Yo Zhuzhu,

I also sent u a copy of the updated table. Aiya....both of you help out each other lah. Starstar always travel one.... then someone hv to do loh, who else? off course u lah...Hahaha...u are the one started it anyway!

Haizz..... anyway, after Fanfan's trip, don't know who is going to Maldives again. Looks like the table gonna be quiet for a while. All can wash hands liao! :p

375108.gif
10mins walk one round? that's even smaller then Angsana or Banyan tree!

Yo Zhuzhu,

Ur friend got any pics or comments? At least can help out imagesxela in her planning?

Wah.. are you sure 10 mins? serious ah? then the size should be the same as Taj exotica liao lor. also about 10 mins leh.

hmmm... club rannalhi review seems better leh. But Laguna white sandy beach is very inviting.. i wash my hand liao. i let my friends decide.

Okie lar...starstar n me take turns lor...eh..i started the table becos of the demand leh...

I dun think my colleague got post his pics anywhere leh...but he did told me its a very small island..

Actually come to think of it...i rather glad i went to Hilton..at least got 2 island..more restaurants..not so boring...

Har....
375116.gif
.. Taj Exotica also so small ah?

yo imagesxela... I thot u leader of the pack? Go lah, club rannalhi.. Muahahaha...

I think you shld provide them with all the info u hv on hand and vote!!! Maldives idol!!! :P

Yo zhuzhu,

kekekek..... Oh yes, hopefully the demand wld continue.

Hilton island big until hor...I never finish walking round the Water villa island ah. Kekekek.... after moving into sunset villa, we lazy until always take their buggy or speedboat. :P

hmmm......... I really missed hilton island leh....

HI Wu,

ya ya... i pass all info to them liao.
Either Laguna or Club Rannlhi.. haizz..

Now wait and see go or no go lor.

The most i go Bintan Banyan Tree lor...Then i have to move thread liao... i will miss you all..boo hoo hoo

I only go to the water villa island for my massage session &amp; BBq dinner..never really walk dat island oso..kind of creeps me out when its so quiet...when we were walking towards the spa at the water villa island, came across an area think its their staff area lar..not bad leh got water fountain...

Imagesxela,
dun go bintan banyan tree lar..I had been there b4.. Maldives is sooooo much nicer...at least when I did my outdoor shower, I dun even had to be scared of insect...At banyan tree, I saw a BIG spider in the shower area...makes me scared of bathing...

Zhuzhu,

of course maldives is my top destination now. I am really hoping to go in August lor..
depend on friend liao lor. See which one they choose. Hopefully by end of June can book liao...kekekek..

hi LPH,
i had no probs at all in mauritius. the customs was good and we even chatted for a while. and we had great svc at e hotel too. what happened at mauritius during ur trip?

hey zhuzhu,
u mean the island so big?? wah, i stil tot one day can walk e whole island..hahaha.. gues i'll hv better idea once we are there about how big exactly the 2 islands are.=P i stil tot can easily access btwn 2 islands with e connecting bridge.

hey everyone,
heard from my sis that there is an ad on tv rite now promoting maldives..anyone seen it?