Maldives

Thanks Wu

I will do more homework on those resorts...

hee.

complex over here. ok ok...try again.

Summary
Holiday tours - SGD6276 (after less 5% and inc tax and hotel at male is hulhule airport hotel which cost about 200usd)
Ala carte - 6245 ( base on 1.67 USD exchange rate and hotel at male is relax inn which about cost 87usd)
Ala carte - 5946 ( base on 1.67 USD exchange rate and hotel at male is relax inn which about cost 87usd)

All of the above includes tax and seaplane. The only thing i am not sure is whether the holiday tours need to add bed tax for the additional 2 nights. If need, it would be 8usd per pax per night. extra 2 nights will need to add 32usd.

Yo Mish,

You're an expert in Calculation liao! Good work

anyway hor, I think Credit card rates need to add another 0.02, that'll be 1.58 at least loh.

Really hope the rate will go down further, say 1.5? Good n Bad for me lah, my US Stock will fetch less but I can save more in Maldives.....Siaz..... :P

Yo imagesxela,

How many days are u planning to go har? I thot you say at least 4 to 5 Nites right?

*faint*

MISH

how come your summary got 2 INPUT for amt if I do Ala carte?

definetely got bed tax la.if have ala cart is better right?

Yo Cat,

Hahahahha....... don't faint dont faint.

In short if you book now, direct with Hilton, it shld be around SGD5946!

If you don't book now, you might pay less or even more depends on the USD flutuations! i.e. A 10 cents rise in USD would cos you SGD300 more!

Clear now.. kekek... steady!!

orhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ok ok....

so ala cart...you gers got direct contacts..email me at the precious post ok..

mish..you good at calculation but typing skills not very good..ummm

;p

*scram*

Thanks wu..

Yo Cat,

Kekekek....Not Mish's fault n not urs too. I understand what Mish wrote becos we've gone thru this calculation again and again. U just join in so sure blur one. We're once blur also.

Will let Mish go thru with u on booking direct! Kekeke..... Mish go ahead gal!

haaaa....but actually not that I am new..but I dun know much about numbers lar..

kek kek kek

Ok mish I await your email..

*wink*

This Maldives thread is currently with the 2nd highest POST count in the HM & Travel Thread!
Everyday almost 100 posting! Scary...... hopefully..... , touch wood ..... the previous thread HANG issue wouldn't happened again. :P

Really Amazing to see so much activities here!

wah, so much has happened in the past few hours! all tis calculation making my head spin too...

yo Wu,
think now i'm just counting down to our trip! hahaha...

hey everyone,
i'm just thinkin of planning something special for our 1st year wedding anniversary. altho the trip was supposed to be an advance anniversary celebration, i would stil like to plan smthing special for hubby. as he is goin to be busy with work on our actual wedding anniversary, its gona b a lil tricky..i'm thinkin of having a few close friends for dinner at some nice cozy restaurant..but dun wana blow a bomb too..a lil confused now..

Hey wu
The sunset cruise cost only USD35++ per pax...I remember cos it was supposed to be FOC (as part of the honeymoon perks)

Hey Cat
Welcome..Just a rough guide..I spend 1 nite in Male & 5 nites in Hilton..all my spending (excl air tix)..comes to abt SGD5k for 2 pax...
I just checked my credit card exchange rate..its 1.60 now..

LPH
No bikini shots in my album..no figure..so dun wan to malu myself..

hey cat,

must be waiting anxiously. Hehe. sorry, went off work early today! Eat snake. hehe. Oh ya.. maybe my explaination also not good la. Must get wu to explain. He is the premium consultant here!!

For direct booking, email them directly

Request for the 5n free 2n offer. I just sent you a huge mail. Consolidation of all the ppl who have requested for stuff. eg: water sports rates, room rates, etc. Hope this helps.

For all the room view - 360degree tour, can see

http://www.hiltonworldresorts.com/resorts/Maldives/resort.html

For floor plans see,

http://www.clubairtravel.co.uk/rangali/hilton_maldives_beach.asp

Yo Mish,

Kekek... u got all the info liao. There's nothing much I can help liao lah. kekeekk....

The virtual tour is really a good tools! Makes ppl Drool!

Good nite!

kao_dizzy.gif
i really can't keep up with the posts liao !! coz at work difficult to check all the time
plus still bz with wedding prep
omg 40 more days to go!!

zhuzhu nice album!! thanks for so many detailed info!

haaa...gers I must say this is a great thread....heh heh...my questions are answered..

ZHU ZHU

so better put aside 6K for trip inclusive flight tixs/.FOOD(2pax) correct for hilton?

I forgot 1 may get 1 x tix foc from SQ..HEH HEH.

cat,

zhu zhu went during off peak wor. so the rates of the villa cheaper. so oct cannot use the same basis leh.

WU,

Ya.. all the info are from this thread. Hehe.

huh? really ar.....their peak is sin wedding peak month meh?

than how? estimate 2 person put aside how much?

erm...include food and flight and lodging?

Mish and everybody..thanks for the email...

hmm their peak is actually dec to march if i am not wrong. Oct is like shoulder. and zhuzhu went is on their off-peak. The prices of villa is about usd200++.. whereas oct is about usd360++.

Maybe 7k+ for food, accommodation and flight would be a better estimate. I think la.

Yo Cat, Mish,

I think shld set aside at least USD200++ per day for food, excursion, spa, etc....for a comfy stay lah.

Hv to budget urself loh. If it's for 7 nites, you'll hv USD1400++ to spread across the 7 nites, so try not to overspent per day basis(USD200++)
Like for me, got 1 day I eat less, fill my stomach with the maggi mee I brought and the free tea break thingy, I accumulated another USD100 for the next day, thus the following I got bigger budget i.e USD300 to spent.... jus an example lah.

Best way is to plan with all the info u hv on hand(i.e the price list, what to do on 1st day till last, hv a rough guide). It looks not very practical at first cos some might argue...go there might do different things, but a rough guide is better than none. i.e. b4 I go, I had only planned 3 dives per person. I stick to it strictly to prevent overspending, and I never dive more than 3 times.

This is how I'd plan, and will still use it for my upcoming trips.

Kekkeke....hope my planning style do works on you folks.

P.S Anyway, this type of planning is for ppl like me, limited budget type. For those with no budget...Aiya...go on and enjoy and spent!

Yo T&P,

YEs..go ahead and email and request all menus

For me I've got mostly the excursion, activities, spa and dive menus + rates.
Zhuzhu went even further, she requested all the food menu/price list from all the restaurant(I think Hilton got at least 7 makan places).

If u think u've got enough coverage from the credit card insurance(and incl. terms like Repatriation etc..).

However normally for me I'll still buy another travel insurance. I "Kia Si" mah... :P

Or...and also donno the credit card insurance got include the travel cancellation part or not?

My mum's friend luckily got buy travel ins..then b4 his trip, he ganna stroke(mild one lah). Then at least the insurance company pay him back the travel cost that he've paid upfront.

Wu
haha..u not the only one Kia si...me also buy extra travel insurance whenever I'm out of singapore... esp after the 911 incident...haha...:p

Cat
yo.. like what mish mentioned...if u go during Oct...it's the peak period.. nov-jan is the super peak... feb - mar is peak.. zhuzhu went during the low season...
so guess u must factor in the increase in rates n of course food..etc.

haru
u planning to have a celbration wif friends for one year anni? like zhuzhu mentioned, u can plan the private bbq dinner wif hubby as part of the celebration.. if u wanna go makan wif friends, maybe a seafood dinner? :p

btw just curious... do u all celebrate just one wedding anni by considering your ROM date as the anni day or the AD date? or best..celebrate both for those ROM n AD on diff dates? :p

Wu,

Ya, i also do the budgeting. HEhe. factor in food and all.

Starstar,

i also think very ma fan. dunno which is which... so we decided to put all in one. HEHE. ROM with AD together.

starstar. I also looking at banyan tree. hey how much huh? Travel industry abit risky leh. market abit volatile. very hard leh...

Mish
the banyan tree IPO offering fr 0.87-1.07... offering price for IPO is the highest..only after the closing date... then the final price will be out..it's bet the range...
keke... everything also got risk one... :p but think banyan tree should be worth the risk...I feel personally.

wahhhh 0.87... very high leh. ehehe. i nv buy any shares so dunno. I tot Banyan is worth the risk so i tot of buying. But now... at this rate. i think i better give up. no money leh. need to use the money for wedding.

Mish
oh.. think it's better to keep your $$ for wedding first... next time after your wedding, then u can start to invest...
me haven decide on buying yet... still looking...

Yo Starstar, Mish,

I long time never buy Singapore stocks liao, and also IPO. Last time still can earn at least 100% in IPO, but now seems like not so good leh.

I think now better don't buy first(really up to u lah) Market is very unpreditable. Unless u got holding power and aiming for long terms, at least 1 ~ 2 years lah. Better don't touch stocks now, not even IPO.

Last nite DOW and NASDAQ "Lau Sai". Probably Singapore stock will also be affected short term wise. I foresee, Banyan Tree stocks would not rise much, might even drop below IPO price.

And also, not much "Resort" stocks out there to let us compare and anlaysis. Or rather we shld treat it as hotel chain lah. Compare with hotel stocks loh!

Disclaimer:- Above is my thinking and very crude anlaysis only har... :P

hey,does anyone know what's the brown building next to bugis called? am actually tryin to find out e name of the bar with the "flying bartenders" located there...

Wu
yup..read abt the US stocks....keke..
hee..for me, looking at long term investment...not asking for returns so quickly lah...still I'll see how first...:p anyway, stocks are low now...if we see long term, we may gain..maybe not much...well, it's the risk involved...

haru
u mean the tall brown building opp raffles hospital one is it?

Zhuzhu,
nice album...like the mailbox in the shape of the villa...very cute

had been down with gastric flu these few days...sigh..

Read up on the Banyan Tree prospectus...they're heavily reliant on the Laguna Group based mainly in Phuket..and last yr their overall occupancy rate was below 50% (due to the tsunami i guess)..
think i'm not buying the IPO for now too...adopting a wait and see attitude..oso need some liquidity for my wedding stuff..

Yo Starstar,

Kekekeke....in short, spread ur risk, diversify and don't put all eggs in one basket.

Yo Fanfan,

Get well soon! Err....some time don't even know how to tell it's gastric Flu.. How ah?

Kekeke.... I like your professional terms... Liquidity! Haizz.....I will be "liquided" in order to go for my this very ex upcoming trip :P Sianx...

Anyway, you mean Banyan Tree have shares in the Laguna group?i.e. Laguna Redang, Laguna Maldives.
Is it another branding of theirs? I've only heard abt their Bintan stake though....

ummmmm...heh heh..

think better not buy BT share yet cos there are a few companys coming up too...wait a while see how it goes before investing.

BT occupancy rate fell only in Phuket but the rest of the properties in seychelles BKK BIN maldives and china not affected..in fact alot of bookings...think occupancy very high..

Erm..dun ask me how I know lar..I got friends in BT...;p

Well..like what star said i no money buy so better save for AD and HM!

hi starstar,
i manage to find it liao, thanks. was helpin my boss to plan a surprise for his wife. haha.. we actually celebrate our AD dates, coz that was when we had our church ceremony.=>

hey Wu an starstar,
looks like we are all looking around for investment opportunities eh? i'm stil considering about unit trusts for long-term investments. thinkin about that and offshore, with offshore, it cots much more but the returns are much better..gona take some to consider. dun wana plunge all my saving every month for investment too, as we plan to start a family in a few years time so def need some ready cash for such occasions. =P

yo Wu,
ya, now hubby and i tryin to work out the activities we wana do but i dun hav price list of the activities, i think i'll ask hilton for it. but most likely wil do private bbq, sunrise cruise, and maybe the fishing. =P

Wu,
Different from normal flu cos usually when i've gastric flu, i'll vomit...so guess that's how tell the difference

The Laguna is the Laguna at Phuket one..diff from the one at Maldives and Malaysia..

CAT,
I read their propsectus, overall is oso less than 50% last yr...be carefull on the bookings though..it may be block book for now..so on the surface, looks like biz is good ...

Yo Haru,

Kekekek.....me not looking at investment now. Me looking towards the Maldives trip and spent the money that was suppose to be use for investment :P

ANyway, my left over money now either in USD in US(park there for future investement) or in CPF , just invested all in Funds..... left over money will go to Maldives ... Kekekek... Haiz... me consider a "Cash Poor" middle income group lah! :P

Aiya....kids can wait lah... think of them gives me headache! :P

Hmmm.....maybe u can include spa as one of the option for Maldives? Probably can try the Glass bottom boat trip also? Oh...and don't forget the undersea rest, just go there for cocktail to experience dining undersea...

Our trips is less than 30 days liao isn't it? Muahahahah

Got it! Thanks Fanfan....kekekek... at least now it clear my doubts.
On the flu thingy and Laguna!

Wu
Wow!! u are geared for your trip dude!!!

yup..I know abt putting all eggs in a basket..keke...
no worries mate..
still looking ard...:p

Cat
haha..u all ard also got friends...keke...
yup.. think for mish n u.. wedding n HM is the utmost impt things now...

fanfan
take care gal..weather not good these days...
drink lots of water n avoid oily food...

haru
oh ok...so nice..u n your boss share same AD!!

btw happi dumpling day!!!

hi fanfan,
i noe how u feel,i had it awhile ago too n it felt terrible...rest as much as u can ya? thats wat ur body needs now.

hey starstar,
no lah! my boss and i dun share e same AD!hahah...i was just helpin him to plan a surprise for his wife's b'day. i'm really close to her so helped to plan something nice..=P

talkin of duan wu jie, my mum's neighbour just gave us lotsa homemade bak zhang!!yum!!! i love homemades,tastes great coz its made with TLC and its always generous with fillings!hahahah...

Yo Wu,
wah, looks like one of ur life's goal is to visit maldives as much as possible eh?kekke..its good lah, think workin so much should really pamper ourselves. no point just saving it all and not enjoyin life rite?

i'm not too sure about e undersea restaurant leh,seems like food is nt too good. they do just cocktail? ya, maybe i'll go for the glass bottom boat as i already did that in mauritius, but of coz i suppose the marine life is much better in maldives!

hey zhuzhu,
any recommendation of which spa treatment to try?

Hey starstar
You can celebrate both ur ROM & AD leh...
no harm having another day to celebrate ...

Hey Haru
Did i email u the activites list & pricing? Sometimes the activites might be fully booked..if u can, better booked all those activites u wan on the day of arrival...

the cocktail at the undersea restaurant cost US$20 per pax (i think)...its from 11am to 12pm, daily...

I did the hot stone massage..not bad leh..i like the hot hot feeling..

Oh 1 more thing..the sunrise or sunset cruise is everyday..the rest is not..I remember when I went for the sunrise cruise..the guide was telling us that the previous sunset cruise (the one which we missed), had almost 20pax on board...quite crowded...mainly ang mohs...so if u dun wan too many ppl, better go for sunrise cruise...Remember dun wear skirt, cos you would have to take a speedboat and then climb to board a large boat..