Maldives

Yo starstar,

Kekeke..... you see, for example Embudhu island, July period, for S$4K, we can go there for 14 nights!!!! Yes 14 nights!!! All in, i.e. SQ flight return for 2, standard rooms for 2, full board for 2, speedboat return for 2. Really very very value resort!!!

14 nights!!!!!!
kao_welcome2.gif
where to find??? even bintan or malaysia also cannot fight ah! oh..... sentosa might cost even more ah! Kekekekke.......

hi ya everyone,
can see the thread back in action again! hahah...

hey jac,
at first i was like you, only had a small budget for trip,in e end almost gave up coz it was so hard to work something out with tiny budget (for a maldives trip,that is). but finally decided since its not everyday that we get to go maldives, fork out more and go for a more lush accom and have a fantastic holiday. like Wu and starstar mentioned, e flight alone is already 1.5k. hotel is not cheap and coz u are isolated on an island, u will have to eat/drink everything that is from hotel and that means hotel price + premiums for its isolated location..but hey, if u ask us i think we will definitely say that it won't be a wrong choice!kekekekke...

yo Wu,
i think i will be like ur wifey, go to hilton already the benchmark will be set! so other hotels prob wont wet my appetite as much...hahahha...i think it will be prep and saving up for starting a family liao, so i really look forward to this trip boy....

Yo Haru,

Hmmmmm......... if you say benchmarking hor, my latest one should be sunset water villa leh, cannot lah, benchmarking that hor, the equavilent would be Reethi Rah or soneva gili or Huvafen ah. Hmm......

Actually I wouldn't mind staying at the 3 star resort, the one I mention earlier, S$4K can stay for 14 nites! I would pick this option if at times I wanna to do some hard-core diving or really jus wanna to relax to the fullest! With the nice beach and water of Maldives, I would do that! would you??? Kekekke....

Yo Zhuzhu,

Can go for it lah, really depends loh! however, I hv no idea how does the full board meal, i.e lunch and dinner, looks like.
However judging from the quality of the breakfast, it would be a real feast for the full board thingy. however, for both me and my wifey, really cannot stand those type of buffet feast liao.....really too much for us loh. In additional to that, look at the price......I can go S'pore Shangrila buffet, cheaper and might be evn better, and still left with lots of change.
And with that price, I can spent it on other excursion stuff or even spa.

Anyway, really up to you. Since you've book only BB, can try full board for 1 day, and see how was it, if you like it then go for more days lah. Anyway, think the food would be the same for your 5 nites stay loh!
Remember..... eat to live and not the other way round...kekekke.....that's my "policy" lah.....

Yo all

Hi starstar - nt confirmed yet cos hvnt sign any contract yet but 80% joinin new place - still at old job. new place is qt comm based so must see how it goes lor hahaha first time embarking on low basic w comm job yikes!! but got relevant experience la so will see how ...praying hard~

haru - got to agree with u lor ttz why we spent enough for 5N in Hilton within 3N at Angsana ! haha..crazy lor hw to resist gog fishing whe u see the water so clear blue and beautiful??

was living out of bikini and linen crop pants/shorts all day - didnt dress up for dinner la cos too lazy (typical asian mindset haha)
u couples will LURRVVEE dining under the stars in candlelight
but dun eat fish la cos alot of bones and its really qt dark lor kekeke

cheers!!!

hi bvbride,
ya, i am just sooooo lookin forward just waking up early, puttin on bikini and head for early morn swim in the sea..ahh..i love it...

Wu
wah!!!!! saw the embudhu village rooms...
keke...it's seems good..
wah...14 nights there...really can nua all day...
the beach bungalow n water one looks darn good...
keke... fof me, I'm ok wif anything lah...after been to the jungles etc... think having a shelter n a nice comfy bed can make me a very happy lady liao... :p my benchmarking is the jungle..haha..like that all resorts passed my QC liao..:p

it's really that affordable after all...keke...now got more options liao...:p

bvbride
comm based job is good leh...basically pays u for the efforts u put in... u very hardworking means more $$...

Hi Wu,

just wondering is it possible to do a 5N - 6N stay in water villa for 6k (2 person) in total?
Mu husband and I hav only 6k budget.
We are actually looking at Hilton, Mirihi, or Kerudu.
How much does it cost for one nite in Mirihi water villa?

BTW, how much is the air tickets and sea plane cost to Maldives?

Hi Babyshannon,

Have to depends on the season as well. However I think Hilton water villa is out for that 6K budget, for all season. Of all the 3, Hilton water villa is the most ex, follow by Mirihi and then kerudu ones. It'll be for comfortable for you with 6K budget to choose Kerudu. However, the cons is, Kerudu got a total of 300rooms!!! It sounds really crowded though, but it's also a very very big island, from pics it looks like at least 1.5km in length! . 2ndly, it's up north whereby according to scientific facts, the air is more polluted, which means visibility drop? :P

Mirihi water villa would cost around USD272 per nite during the May~July season, and most ex during Dec~Jan > USD598 per nite.

Till 07, I think Oct, SQ price return per pax is S$824 nett (2 to go), and S$748 nett (4 to go). While seaplane to Hilton(return) is USD270 nett per pax, Mirihi(return) is USD 250 and Kerudu should be around USD270 ~ USD300 based on distance.

Of all you 3 choices, I reckon Mirihi water villa will be the best choice in terms of price, location and probably quietness.

Hilton would be another good choice if you can folk out more for their new spa water villa, or just stick with their deluxe beach villa or even the beach villa. Really the best value beach villas around!

For your 6k budget, it'll be best for you to go during July period. My takes are Hilton beach villa or Mirihi water villa, 5nites would be very comfortable enough!

However, July 06 period most resort would be fully book by now, your best bet I think is Hilton beach villa during SEpt-Oct timing. They got the stay 7 nites pay 5 nites promo, really worthwhile.

Hope it helps in ur decision!

Actually I intend to go during next Feb 07.
My friend recommend me Kerudu. but i still prefer Hilton.
Do u have other recommendation for my budget. It seems quite difficult to find a nice resort that fit my budget. Guess I will consider beach villa to save cost..

Hey babyshannon
Feb oso a peak period for Maldives..so the resort cost will still be quite high..Just as a guide to you, the rate for Hilton beach villa Feb 06 is US$360, excluding the 10% service charge..think next yr the price will increased oso..The price for the seaplane to Hilton cost USD270 per pax (its a return trip)..then got bed tax which is USD8 per pax per nite..I did a rough calculation for you, the above will cost you almost 5k, excluding the air tix..might be kinda of difficult...

What about club med? At least its full board..becos the above rate for Hilton is only bed & breakfast

update @ 25 Apr 2006

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Date of leaving</TD><TD>Date of return</TD><TD>No of nites</TD><TD>Countdown( Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral (Water Villa)</TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa / Sunset Water Villa)</TD><TD>July 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>28-Apr</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>
364883.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>13-May</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>25-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>67 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon(Water Bungalow) / Hilton (Water Villa)</TD><TD>09-Jul</TD><TD>14-Jul</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>75 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>76 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu </TD><TD>Mirihi (Water Villa)</TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>08-Jul</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>65 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-Oct</TD><TD>27-Oct</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>177 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanfan</TD><TD>Hilton/White Sand/Mhiri</TD><TD>01-Nov</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>190 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Wah..seeing the table, I am getting excited for LPH already....

Hey moonlight
U oso got another 2 more wks for your turn to come...

Oh ppl
Just a reminder, better change your USD now..rates pretty standard now..reminder S$199 will get you USD124

Babyshannon,

club med rates:

8 Days 7 Nights Air and Village Package (Prices are per person)
High season
Overwater lagoon suite : S$4385
Deluxe beach villa : S$3839

So i think 5n/6n.. should be within ur budget. Include air tix. Tax not inclusive. Tax about 240 per pax. email them la. The snorkeling and all is inclusive in club med plus food.

Have a look.

http://www.clubmed.com.au/kani/index.php

Yo Mish(cc Babyshannon and zhuzhu),

Where can I find the quotes for Clubmed for feb? hmm......funny leh, I cannot find in their web leh. Is it 06 feb pricing you've noted down earlier?

However hor, after calculation hor, even a 5N stay in the Clubmed beach villa would also exceed babyshannon's $6K leh(with the taxes add-in). Worst of all if ganna peak period(whereby Clubmed's period are very weird, all year round), there's also a complusory min nite stay, likely a week or more.

But must agree with you and zhuzhu, at certain timing, Clubmed is really tempting(especially when at the time while other resort are charging peak season rates, clubmed's charge low season rates instead!).

Babyshannon,

your timing is really difficult to budget. To most resort, it's their second highest rates, and that's till mid april.

Clubmed I think it's a bit tight for ur budget, but still achievable if you choose beach villa or better their superior rooms.
however, there's other choices, those huge 4* resort such as kuredu, paradise island, full-moon, Laguna beach, holiday island(easier to budget).

Komandoo is worth considering, just beside Kuredu but smaller in scale, just 65rooms. our forum member, Bvbrides like this the water villa very much, so do I. Kekekek...
It's full board, free sea sports too, with seaplane transfer. After some rough calculation, their 5N Jacuzzi water villa stay(SQ,1 nite male stay, accom, transfer, full-board,all taxes) would cost about S$6K nett(ard the same as Clubmed 5N beach villa),Jacuzzi beach villa would cost ard S$5.7K nett and beach villa would cost ard S$5K nett. Actually shld be 6 nites, plus the 1 nite Male stay!

Visit their website here:-
http://www.komandoo.com/

yo Zhuzhu and Moonlight!

you 2 also getting very near to the Maldives trip liao. And furthermore, so many holidays in May 06, for me hor sure Nua till the departure date! Where got interest to work?? Kekke.... Last year, 1 mth b4 and 1 mth after the trip, really no mood to work. :P How's ur prep besides changing the USD? My credit card oredi charges me the Mirihi trip bills liao....Xchg rate is around 1.633... now the bank Xchg rates maybe ard 1.61 liao...sianz.... :P

Anyway, zhuzhu, where did u find those cute little icons holding nos. har? got my 65 days cute icons or not? :P

Wah....LPH right after coming back from the trip must go voting liao!..hmmm..will there be one at ur place? then the following monday holiday still can rest....indeed, very good timing!

Anyway, anyone sure can or likely to vote this time round?

dont know if need to wear formal wear for dinner not...was thinking wat shoe to bring.
the last time i went maurutius, the ang mo all wear so nice, tat i feel so pai seh.

the monday after voting got holiday huh?

Yo LPH,

U R very early!!
I think Clubmed kani would be somewhat the same loh, Angmo would wear something really nice. Aiya, jus ignore them lah, wear wat ever you find comfortable.

Oh yes, most company already announces holiday on Monday, not sure whether it's official holiday or not.

.......2 more days ........

hey Wu
Just go search for "kao ani" sure can find one..err those numbers icon only got 0 to 9..anything more than dat dun have leh..

I went to airport yesterday to change another S$200..rate is still 1.609...the airport money changer better..she gave me all small notes..

LPH
The mon after voting day will depends if your co. wan to give u o not..mine credit another 1 day leave to our a/c

Wu,

Hee. the quote is mine. So not accurate la. Its for Oct 06. But in Oct itself got peak and off peak. Strangely, their peak is on 24-27 or something like that. So the above rates are base on the peak period. Hee. I emailed them to get the rates one. I think webby cannot find.

Must wear smething nice for the dinner at maldives? Hmm. Orhz. Icic...

Btw, they say that USD might drop to 1.57 in few mths time... what do you guys think? Hee.

I'd asked my fren, he say dun need to change USD now if I'm going to Maldives in Nov cos exchange rate will be lower if not, about the same as now..

So can just adopt a wait and see apporach and change only when it's nearer to your departure date

Fanfan,

Hmm, according to the papers... they expect to drop to 1.56/1.57 by christmas... Hmm depends whether singapore wanna intervene to lower spore dollars or not lo. hehe

Yo Zhuzhu,

Pardon me....err.... but wat is "Kao ani" ah? Wah...purposely go airport change ah, your transport alone more than the saving liao. :P
Anyway, now good time to go Maldives isn't it, Xchg much better than last year, 1.71
If according to 1.633 rate, I paid ard S$500 less. :P

Yo Mish,

Kekekek..... I see. However there's one period in their web, Apr 06, their 1 nite extension for water village per pax is only $260 per pax, and that's cheap. Even the beach villa is $390 plus something like that. Hmmmm.....maybe it's a mistake.

USD? hopefully next year my trip to Maldives, it'll drop to historical low of 1.4. And I can buy cheaper stuff from the US i.e. camera, telescope, pets stuff for my doggie! :P

Yo Fanfan,

IMF say US must devalue their USD mah..... then suspect Singapore MAS also trying to strengthen Sing dollars. However, if say changing just few hundred dollar, really not much diff, probably a few dollars?. Anyway, still money isn't it .
I'll probably change USD on my departure day in the airport.

So hows ur Maldives planning? Anthony got back to you yet?

Why do you guys change in airport??? Wouldnt normal money changer be better in exchange rate?Hmm.

1.4?? Wu... Cannot be la... thats decades ago!!! haha.

Club med looks tempting actually. If i really fall in love with maldives, I might just go for club med the next round. Hee.

hahaha. yes pls...maybe ur temptation so great that I might just change from hilton to club med? hehe.

I can ask u all about it when you are back...haha.. so exciting!!!!

Yo Wu
Kao as in "cute" in jap...ani = animation lor..
I think just do a yahoo search for "kao Ani" should give u some website on those cute cute icon..

I happened to be at the airport for some biz stuff...so at the same time, change the USD lor..

Mish
Sometimes airport money changers are more willing to break the big notes into small one..I always do that when I check in..at least have small notes easier when you need to tips or take public transport..

but i think club med sure cannot compare to hilton.
i choose club med because of the free activities n hassle free booking.

zhuzhu...hahah..i like dat icon u did for LPH..so cute!! i oso wan one nearer mi date! keke...

Wu...haha...u jia lat leh...1 mth b4 the trip no mood to work liaoz...but moi oso the same...muahaha...Now realli super super no mood to work liaoz...coz AD's in 2 weeks' time.. haa...

actuali quite sianz leh...realli find hving a dinner banquet quite a hassle....take the joy out of wedding preps haaaa .. >.<

LPH..muz rem to share ur club med pics wif mi too yea? hehe....Happie packing &amp; hv fun!

Hey Moonlight
No problem..I find somemore cute icons to use when ur date gets nearer..

Dun be so sian about the banquet..on the day of the banquet..throw everything to ur hubby (let ur hubby do the worrying)...ur job is to be pretty dat day..enjoy it..i sure u will missed it once its over..

Mish,
For me, I'm going in Nov. So can wait some more

Wu,
Antony havent reply. Anyway, I'm waiting for my bf's colleague to get back to him see got discount not. But they havent gotten back to him till now. If no discout, I think i'll most prob just book straight with Mirihi since Mal-dives.com no Nov rates oso

yo everyone,
i burnt my finger earlier when i was steaming some buns...super in agony and now still in pain...typing while dippin my finger in cold water.sigh...hubby says he gona ban me from e kitchen for a while, been a lil clumsy lately..

hey zhuzhu,
ya, i've noticed that the rates are quite good now. think i'l changer closer to the travel date though..

moonlight,
just enjoy and relax on ur AD!!! i loved the entire process of my wedding even the banquet and all.mine was a intimate affair with only about 200 friends and close family. so it was a really cozy and nice affair.just remember, u are the STAR of e day, so just leave everything to ur friends to help!

seeing the digits to my travel date from 70+ to 60+ is soooo nice!!! actually kinda glad i'm quite busy with work during tis period until then coz then i wont be thinkin bout it so much!

I just confirmed with Relax Inn on my 1 nite at Male...duno wat other info they need to confirm the reservations...

Oh and Hilton told me, if I wan to change to full or half board, we can do it on the day we arrived

Hey ppl
I just got some more dinning menu from Hilton..its from the Atoll &amp; Vilu...Let me know if you are keen to view it...

I think the hilton duty mgr must be thinkin "this singaporean so troublesome..keep asking for menu and price list"

update @ 26th Apr

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Date of leaving</TD><TD>Date of return</TD><TD>No of nites</TD><TD>Countdown( Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral (Water Villa)</TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa / Sunset Water Villa)</TD><TD>July 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>28-Apr</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>
365283.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>13-May</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>
365284.gif
365285.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>25-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>
365286.gif
365287.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu </TD><TD>Mirihi (Water Villa)</TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>08-Jul</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>64 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>66 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon(Water Bungalow) / Hilton (Water Villa)</TD><TD>09-Jul</TD><TD>14-Jul</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>74 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>75 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-Oct</TD><TD>27-Oct</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>176 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanfan</TD><TD>Hilton/White Sand/Mhiri</TD><TD>01-Nov</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>189 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hmm. Hey guys, strange question in a maldives thread but.... anyway... anyone has a espresso machine?? I dunno which to buy. Delonghi or Krups? Looking at the low low ends ones... Anyone??

Haru, did you call hilton? I just called them to give my credit card details. They say need credit card details wor.

Yo Zhuzhu,

I want the cute cartoon numbering on my countdown day also leh.....Kekeke...hiao hor! :P

Never mind lah, set a guideline lah, starting from 30days then put the cute little numbering.... more fun and eager that way?

So did u book thru their homepage or just email them and received confirmation? Becos when book thru their homepage, they need your credit card info.

Yo Mish,

Hahaha...... ur question where got strange..kekek... we already hv talks on dogs, pets, investment etc.... your's is still valid, cos ur beach villa would hv one there.

So you like Angmo Kopi lah... At first I don't like..but slowly starting to like becos my company got a few here.

Wu,

I want to try to make my own angmo kopi. Heh. Now i am drinking instant coffee everyday. sian leh. So wanna try something else lo. Hee. No coffee, I will work and fall asleep on the table. I like bth kopitiam kopi and angmo kopi. Hee. Different taste!

But dunno which one to buy leh...search web also dont really write much on it.

Hey Mish &amp; Haru
I send u both the list tonite..

Mish
Non motorised price list? hmmm maybe I go and ask...see whether they have o not..

Wu
I booked thru their homepage..but I can choose to let them know to pay by credit card or other means later..then they say will get back to me..but no news..so i send another email lor...then they came back say confirmed my reservation...

Eh beach villa got espresso machine ah? We dun need to bring out own coffee bean there?

Yo Mish,

Kekekek..... I no Angmo Kopi expert...hv to really search for your info else where. Hey, hv you try the other forumboard here?

Yo Zhuzhu,

OIC.... I shld book my accom soon also. So far, at lease relax inn got internet booking. I hated writing email so....Maybe I just book loh. Anyway their exec rooms (BB) only cost USD86 isn't it, maybe I'll go for it.

Yep, Hilton beach villa got the coffee machine, but never use b4. Kekeke.....I used my own 3in1 coffee(golden roast, my favourite
). I think shld hv beans inside lah, can expect occupants to bring their own beans isn't it? 5* resort leh.:P
I use the machine to boil hot water for my noodles.
But really slow loh. I reckon you shld go and get urself 1 portable kettle, a small one will do.
So u still bringing ur BBQ machine? kekkeke......
Kiding lah!

Yo Wu
Not bringin the hot plate lar..I cannot afford to pay for any damages...
I only booked the standard room, think for US$70+

Their exec rooms only USD86? hmmm maybe can consider dat hor..

hi mish,
i also only gave them my Hhonors and Krisflyer no. they did not ask for credit card no, althoug they did already email me reservation confirmation.

hey Wu and zhuzhu,
so u both gg for relax inn eh? i think i mite just for e same since its one of cheapest and ideal location rite?

yo Wu,
hv u tried Nescafe Intense or the instant Ipoh coffee? also very good. i'm more of a tea person, but occasionally drink coffee when i need a boost esp at work..kekekke..

i already plan to pack a box/bag for some snacks and bottled water. really? must bring small kettle ah?...wont they find it weird that we actually brot a kettle?=P

hey everyone,
just to share that my wedding is being featured on the recent issue of Female Brides. quite cool to see it on a mag. i think i'm gona get another issue to keep a momento together with my other wedding items...

hey gals..thnx 4 ur reassurance haha
but right now, i'm getting more excited abt the Maldive trip rather than mi own wedding! muahaha

haru...woah!! how did ur wedding got featured? u got frens who work in female brides? hees ^.^
Coolz!!
aiya...i nvr buy bridal magazines liaoz leh...can't bio....online got anot? kekeke

hi zhuzhu,
hahah, ok lah...to me, it was a nice wedding coz i'm marrying the man i love lah!kekek..

actually, the editor approached the designer at my bridal studio so he gave them my pix..=P

hey moonlight,
hahaha!!! well, the HM will be the icing on the cake! am sure you will be thinkin of ur great HM throughout ur wedding...hahahah...