Maldives

Yo Haru,

Kekekek...... they also hv a water tub at the entrance and another at the terrace for u to wash feet, still....don't understand why, still hv to pat the feet b4 getting on bed. Kekekek....

Yo Zhuzhu,

S$40k is already heavily discounted liao loh .....kekekek..... Remember the soneva gili most ex villa? USD10k per nite. so 7nite is a whopping S$100k? hahahaha......

Haru
I dun think candies have their own website..i think the previous link mentioned by Wu have Candies oso..

Wu
Aiyah dun scared potential Maldives goers mar.. Eh I just saw on Today, they have a 8D trip to maldives & sri lankan with Vincent Ng leh..so weird

Hello hello

whaaaahh...all gog thru the final details of your trip liao - so exciting!!
Zhuzhu - w vincent ng??? i like le! got big big picture of his very ripped body in Sunday times last week - hahaha - my ah lau showed it to me first! kekekek....

Wu _ went to see the Mirihi pix again - think very very good choice!!! how much is your trip again arr? sorri think too many post here liao i bluurrrr. still thinking of doing a 5N thing c how la 5N Mirihi how much? low peak season of cos. btw the spa looks good too - price wise not too good cos kinda ex. imagine almost SGD 100 for 50mins of msg ..hmmmm...

u guys hv a great day ahead!!!

Yo bvbride,

Kekekeke...... ya loh, the more you look, more nice it is hor. :P
Low season for this year, the price is around USD302 nett BB if you book direct from mirihi. Crown is ard USD268 nett BB. Seaplane is ard USD500 for 2 return. So add add together, price wld be ard S$4800 nett, not including makan and other play-play stuff, for 5N.
Spa price okie lah.....if you see hilton one hor, your eyes pop out loh.....kekek....anyway, aiya, the price is ex loh. Anyway, when couple goes there, wife always go for spa....guys leh...save money go sun-tan :P

So, you wanna go this year???

hey Wu
thx for the calculations again will keep the figure at the back of my mind
SGD4800+SGD1800 (for two SQ Tix) total SGD6600 for a couple excl makan and other activities
hmm...btw this is water villa price right??

actually can go Hilton beach villa hor... why do i always "U turn" back to Hilton le?? hahha...
and now u mention that their spa is spectacular lor aiyohhhhh tempting us again ....

still waiting for job situation to settle down first before jumping into it so this year most likely out la

btw the Rawa pix u fwded to us looks cool - imagine if they spruce up the place and add in a world class resort like soneva or hilton - itz another mini Maldives le!!! whao! the water seemed blue and clear!!! that gal is super daring la

Yo bvbride,

No....kekke...already add-in the SQ flight for you liao, S$4800 nett for 2 except makan, and other expenses. however the SQ flt is based on 2 to go lah. If 4 to go minus another S$200, even cheaper.

Hahhaha.....hilton now is a benchmark mah, for value travel lah! :P
Never try their spa..... this time round will ask my wife to try.

So, U gonna jump to another bank?

Still I think Redang ,Perhentian, lang tengah's beaches and water are nicer........ can lah, can try berjaya redang. With the direct flight wouldn't be tired at all. Hmmmm........ if suddenly got spare cash hor, I might just go for a 4D3N this June....hahahha....spare cash = toto or 4D. :P

Redang the best!!!
Actually can go Phuket oso..cheap cheap

CrownTours finally replied me on the avaliability of Koomando (trying my luck)..no more too. Just realised CrownTours charge 5% on the total value of booking + US$10 per pax for airport meeting and handling fee. Based on that, going thru Crown Tours will at most save only abt US$100...

Wu, computation correct not huh?

Yo Fanfan,

Do they actually do that? What's the 5% thingy?
Ya, same same here, the Mal-dives.com also charges the USD10 per pax for the meet meet thingy, actually quite stupid, meet what?

I think the 5% is the deposit lah, then the rest of the 95% payable upon 90 days b4 arrival is it?
Ask them to quote you a nett amount lah, no hidden cost please!, Tell them. :P

Wu,

No leh. This is what I extracted from the email they send to me:

Komandoo
01/11/06 ~ 22/12/06

Beach Villa (Dbl) on Fullboard basis = US$ 280.00 per room per night.

Supplements

Full Board to All Inclusive Plans = US$ 30.00 per adult

Transfers: (Airport/Komandoo/Airport)

Seaplane: US$ 255.00 per adult round trip (day time)

* Airport - Meet & Greet - Handling Charge = US$ 10.00 per person

PAYMENT
- Payments by Credit card will be charged 5% as an administrative charge (We accept AMEX,VISA and MC only)
- Payments by Bank will be charged $ 40.00 as an administrative charge

Payment - 100% upon confirmation of the booking

Yo Fanfan,

What is that??? Charging 5% for credit card payment??? Crazy ah? The most I heard is 3% in Singapore ah! They never quote those admin charges in the web also mah!

Wah....USD280 might as well choose Hilton. Off course different period lah.
Then might as well pay using bank to bank transfer....

Anyway, 5% hor is like "Killing ppl, setting fire" leh. :P

Yo Fanfan,

found this special on Komandoo's website. I think it's new, and I never saw this b4. I think there's still vacancy during the June-July period, beach villa and comes with 20% discount.

Aiya, but ur dinner is Oct right? ...hmhmhmmh.....honeymoon first lah! :P

Not making it to the World Cup? Watch it from Kandu Bar surrounded by the beautiful Indian Ocean! Book a Beach Villa on Komandoo Island Resort from 01.06.06 until 17.07.06 and receive a 20% discount on our posted room rates. Discount applies to all bookings made after 1.04.06 and is not valid with any other offers.

Wu,
Cannot leh. I'm going HM in Nov. Before that will be bz with wedding stuff and hse renovation. Bz bz..sigh..

i oso think 5% is a kill leh. Imagine US$2000 is equivalent to a US$100 charge. so the "savings" u have from them is not really savings.

Anyway, Hilton too ex. For Nov, the beach villa is more than US$500..please kill me..hahahaa..and we quite gian to stay water villa for that experience and special HM mah

Yo Fanfan,

correct! since they're also not that efficient and price wise the 5% is another killer, might as well book from Mal-dives.com lah. ACtually think back, if we know what we're doing and make sure there's vacancy in a particular resort, booking thru Mal-dives.com is a better bet lah!

Hmmmmmm......like that ah....then I think either Clubmed or Mirihi would be off better value than hilton loh. Kekekek.....unless you don't mind to folk out more money to hv such experience.

Yo Fanfan,

Yes Mish is correctly. Beach villa is USD360++.... think it's still affordable. Deluxe then 550.

Mish and Wu,
Me blur...heeheee...must be subconsciously want to stay @ delux..haha.. but stay USD360+++ stay at Beach villa...Mirihi cheaper price USD402+ (direct hotel rate) is water villa..cheaper mah..that's how i think lah..maybe i just like the cheap thrill of having the sea right at my "doorstep"

Anw, my bf getting his Maldives colleague to check whether they can get for us cheaper rates at Mirihi..

fanfan,

I also tempted to stay in the deluxe... BUT SO EX!!!!! Mirihi looks nice as well. But smaller la... So after much recommendation by our senior hilton advisor - mr Wu, I decided to pick 150m2 of land. hehe.

I also like to have the cheap thrill of having sea right at my doorstep. maybe next time i would. I am still considering whether to take one night of the hilton's cheap thrill or not. hee. stay one additional night in the water villa. hmmm

hey ya,
i've only booked the beach villa so far, but i think hubby and i wil def b tempted to upgrade when we are there. esp if they offer a good deal.if not i am pretty happy to just stay at the beach villa. wil be spending lotsa time on the beach anyway!kekeke....

Haru,

yeah. Thats what we are considering too. The water villa is too tempting... *drools* So Have not decided whether to take one more night or just take our chances when we are there. Or if not... just stay in the beach villa. Hee. Options...

hey mish,
i will have to stick to 5 nites at hilton as my flight does not allow changes..

i think this one of e quietest days on the thread..

yeah..quiet day..wat happened?

Anw, MAS has promotion. S$88 fly to Langkawi.
Bvbride, you can consider going there cos the airfare cheap cheap

hey everyone,
am at the gym waiting for my class to start....tot of coming in to just check whats happened so far...only to find that its sooo quiet!have a good weekend everyone!

Update @ 22 Apr 2006

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Date of leaving</TD><TD>Date of return</TD><TD>No of nites</TD><TD>Countdown( Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral (Water Villa)</TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa / Sunset Water Villa)</TD><TD>July 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>28-Apr</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>
364072.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>13-May</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>21 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>25-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>27 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>70 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon(Water Bungalow) / Hilton (Water Villa)</TD><TD>09-Jul</TD><TD>14-Jul</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>78 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>79 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu </TD><TD>Mirihi (Water Villa)</TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>08-Jul</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>68 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-Oct</TD><TD>27-Oct</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>180 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanfan</TD><TD>Hilton/White Sand/Mhiri</TD><TD>01-Nov</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>193 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hey zhuzhu,
wah..S$200 only get back $124, really sound like very little. btw, u booked ur hotel yet?

LPH,
u must be soooooo excited! its less than a week to go for ur trip of a lifetime!

Hey fanfan thx for the lookout
hmmm...nt decided on anything yet so need to think clearly before making my move. if i can earn more in new job will prob go back to Maldives (Mirihi water villa or Hilton BV) all depends on reports by Haru and Wu!

Why so quite here le?? hmmm everyone bz planning their trips or chilling out

Haru working hard on your six ack again huuhh...how envious...i only eat work eat work..haizzzz...lazy old me hahhaaha

u peeps have a great week ahead ok
cheers!!!

Hey
btw it kinda le-che to go check outselves into a transit hotel for one night...that was why i asked if it was ok for pple to "ton" one night at the airport itself afterall itz gog to be like 8hrs before the seaplane flight... Wu said itz nt too safe cos alot of funni pple hanging around
not sure if they hv some kind of airport lounge for pple to rest for a few hours...hmmm...just a thought

Hey Bvbride
I think i rather go find a proper bed to sleep..or else next day sure stone stone when reach Hilton...need my beauty sleep leh...

LPH... so exciting!!!!! You will be the first to go to club med followed by moonlight!!!! So first review done by u... take more photos and show us okie??

http://www.gsa.com.sg/SP/stay4npay3nmdv1.php

Hi I tot the above is a pretty attractive package. The price seems very low for a trip to Maldives. Can we make it with a budget of $3k for 3N (just for pkg)? The above package looks like we could. We plan to go only in Jan 07. hence cant make it in time for this promo. But I will defintely bookmark this travel agency. Are there any other hidden costs? it seems that they have included the transfers by speedboat as well...

how abt the food and entertainment there? Does the food cost a lot and what kind of food they serve?

Yo Jacquise,

We've did a calculation b4. They're still ex.
Anyway, you might just barely able to make it with S$3K. Remember, the SQ flight alone alrready amount to S$1.5K. Then furthermore, January is the most ex timing, their quote fare is for the low season only!
Their hidden cost are the airline surcharges, which might amount to S$250 per pax.

Not sure abt Bandos though, but what we understand is it's one of the cheapest resort around.

hey LPH,
i am feeling soo excited and elated for you!! i think ur mind must be on the holiday now!!!kekkekkeke.... i dun think i'll be able to concentrate much on work closer to my holiday....

hi bvbride,
u are rite, my concern is also more of safety of hanging around at the airport..think still gota sleep overnite at male no matter what.

LPH
Where are u? BZ packing? i'm so excited for u..heeheee....

Moonlight and Zhuzhu,
You gals have less than 1 month to go..blink blink eye, u will b at Maldives liao

For me, I'm still at the miserable 3-digit countdown..sigh

Hi wu,
If u read the website carefully, it does include the air tics already. That's why I thought it's pretty cheap!

So how much should I budget for Maldives for 5D3N?

jac
think if u wanna go wif $3k budget very very tight leh... like wu said..airline surcharges etc is NOT included lah.... n also if u book, u'll need to fork out $300 per pax extra as deposit... n it's non refundable... the price u see is actually meant for travel for 4 pax.... if u travel in 2 only... u'll need to fork out another $100 extra per pax... u add up everything exclude deposit...$(1188x2)+(100x2)= $2576

This is exclude all prevailing airport taxes, airline surcharges and personal expenses. If u add the airline surcharges which is $250 per pax..it's already $3076.

$3076 is the minimal u need..cos for personal expenses..everything's there in USD... thus if u wanna go there wif a $3k budget...very hard to work ard wif... think $4k is more comfy...

fanfan
hey cheer up gal...me worse right...dun even have any digit to count...keke...
very fast one lah...

bvbride
u changed job? so how's your new post? keke..u planning to go away to regional places soon?

Hi Starstar!

Thanks! So 3k is possible for the package... hmmm.. any agencies to recommend or best to book ala-carte? is the food there ex? If we go in Dec, do we risk the monsoon season?

i just emailed the agency, me a bit kiasu, they said the flights won't be released till Oct. So actually a bit early for me to plan..

Oh ya, btw can explain to me what is half-board? hehe. thanks.

jac
er..think u got me wrong...$3k is hard to work ard wif... food is quite ex... depend on which resorts u going... if u go during dec or jan..it's the expensive season... super duper peak period. So if u still use $3k as your budget...I've to tell ya it's not feasible lah. Your $3k budget I calculated only the package n surcharges, etc..IT IS EXCLUDING your expenses there... $3076 is exclude expenses.

half board is besides breakfast, the resort will provide another meal for ya... maybe it's breakfast n lunch included or lunch n dinner...etc... it's NOT all meals provided.

It'll be good to increase your budget if u plan to travel in dec n jan... cos the rates at resorts can go up twice the rate in jul...

Yo Starstar, Jacquise,

Think back hor, S$3K maybe just nice can, but cannot stay in Bandos lah. Maybe hv to stay in those 3 star resort. But hey, if u're the first time travelling to Maldives, and don't mind the accom, still, the water and beaches are 1st class, it's worth considering this kind of budget resort though.

Starstar is right, if you're looking at 4star and above resort, prepare to folk out around S$4k!

Yes the food in Maldives is ex, just imagine Singapore 5star hotel price(same digit!) but it's in USD!

Dec is a good time to go there, less rain fall though, but will be the most ex period, furthermore, most resort would request to to stay a min of a week or more.

Half board meaning breakfast and dinner, and for some resort I think it can be Breakfast and lunch.

Why don't u consider going there in March ~ July period, it'll be cheaper then. Your wedding dinner is it??

Yo starstar, Jacquise,

Done some researching on the web and this is what I conclude below on the budget resort. Simple rooms, not villa(most are superior rooms). However, the beaches and sea are 1st class lah, typical Maldives standard!

Most of the price are Jan 06, and for these resort, the price flucatuation is minimum, i.e next year will be the same.
The others, I calculated based on a 1.2X factor on the Oct 06 prices. Shld be around there lah. Below are the 5 fabulous budget resort I can find for you. It's full board, meaning all 3 meals, excluding bottle fresh water. Off course excluding all other expenses such as excursion and other activities. And the price is inclusive of taxes some more. Really worth considering!!!

Just add another S$1648 for SQ flight(2 to go) or S$1448(4 to go), and your basic trip would cost less than S$3K!

Full board,3N accom,speedboat transfer for 2.
1)Lohifushi Island Resort 5D3N(full board)~S$1181
2)Thulhagiri Island Resort 5D3N(FB) ~ Not stated but probably around S$1200 based on Oct06 pricing.
3)Giravaru Island 5D3N(FB) ~ Not stated but probably around S$1200 based on Jan 06 pricing.
4)Embudhu Village 5D3N(FB) ~ Not stated but probably around S$900 based on Jan 06 pricing.
5)Biyadhoo Island 5D3N(FB) ~ Not stated but probably around S$1100 based on Jan 06 pricing.

You can go to the following website to do some research on these resort, however, do bear in mind, most of this resort would likely be full during Dec/Jan, so must book fast. It's also difficult to go book direct from these resort, as most of them shld be already blocked booked by big Maldivian tour agencies liao.

Yo Jacquies,

opsss..... forget to include the website. See below! Kekeke....

www.Mal-dives.com

Yo starstar,

Why? itchy ah....kekekeek wanna to go is it?? Imagine hor if we don't mind, next year choose such 3* resort hor,May ~July timing, a S$5K budget we can stay for probably 10 days or more ah!

Yo Wu
haha..ya lah... didn't know got 3 star resort leh... :p wah...that's half of the $$ spend if we go Hilton or some 5 star/4 star resorts...

Yo Jacquies,starstar,

Can see a couple of the resort(that I mention above) on google earth, the satellite images, really, they got really really nice beach as well, no diff from other 5 star resort. Forget about accom man! In fact, for that price, it's cheaper than most 5 stars resort in Malaysia's island(off course don't include the SQ flight price lah).

I can definitely see Embudhu island! very very nice white beaches! It further extend around 200~300m into the sea, and when low tide, probably can walk out that distance!!