Maldives

Ms Xiao here...heehee...
Thanks for the Male hotel recommendation

LPH
Must start packing to make yourself excited mah...heehee..

Starstar
Agree lor. My colleagues or customer in India always call me Xiao instead of my full name..heheee

Wu
Hows your reservation coming up?

enjoy the long weekend guys n gals..

I'll be going malacca tomolo morning during the break...
join u guys back on sunday nite..

Starstar
As I told Wu, practice makes perfect...

Enjoy ur malacca trip.....

LPH
Its about time to start packing liao...Actually urs should be quite easy..since club med do full board...no need to bring tons of food over, unlike me..

Ms Xiao
Think you should worry about booking the Male hotel after you had confirmed your Maldives resort lar...dun be sooo kan cheong..

Yo Starris,

4 days is kind of short though, and if u're planning for a trip there in June, most likely most resort would be fully book, physically or virtually(Block booked by agent).
Thus your best chance is to booked your tour thru agent.
just check on the Hilton's website as well, July period, most rooms are gone... left with only water villas. 3 days back I check, most are still there!

Yo Fanfan,

It's really a mess booking thru Mal-dives.com........... as there are a total of 3 parties involved. Mal-dives.com, Crown and Mirhi resort.

Mirihi already informed me on my rooms reservation confirmation, with themselves and also with crown tours. I called Mal-dives.com up and they claim that they've jus called crown and crown said that they never received any info from Mirihi........I'm getting fed-up after hearing this.
B4 I can confirm this with mirihi, Mal-dives.com wrote back to me confirming my reservation with Mirihi thru Crown......
Thus, I suspect, mal-dives.com never do a good job in tracking and follow-up with my reservation status.

What a mess isn't it!!!! Well, that'll be my last time booking thru them.

In future, I'll book straight with the resort, even if it's more expensive!

Anyhow, finally I'm able to settle this dispute, and just submitted my credit card billing form to Mal-dives.com. 3 days instead of what they claim on their website >>> 24hrs!! :P
Once payment is complete, my trip would be 100% confirm!!

So hv Antony got back to you on your questions????

Cheers!!!

Wow Wu
Mal-dives.com so messy ah..i was still thinkin of booking my Male hotel with them...maybe I should just sticked to Hotel Relax Inn

Yo Zhuzhu,

You're very very early...

Ya, I'm the guinea pig loh.... So I think you should just book direct with Hotel Relax inn instead. Save you lots of trouble. Talking to them like talking to recording machine or robots who hv a set of protolcols.....not flexible at all. :P

Or perhaps we Singaporean wants everything done fast fast??? that's why we find them slow.... Hmmmmmmm...... let me find out more and understand more this time round, during my upcoming trip, about Maldivian culture.

Yo Wu
Ya..dun wan to waste a beautiful day...so wake up early lor..

Ok, U find out more about the maldivian culture and then come back can write a short story..

Hi Everyone, thanks for helping. Hmm...my budget is abt $1k per person cos I'm saving for my Europe trip in Oct. Looks like Maldives out for me

Nvm hope you all have a wonderful trips and do share your trips when you come back. I shall look forward to it probably next year bah

Hey starris
1K per pax is abit hard for Maldives...If you referred to those travel agency website, their 5D3N will cost at least 2k++ per pax liao

Nevermind, maybe next time you will have a chance to visit Maldives

i had a rather nice day relaxing although work was on my mind quite a lot during the whole time, so kinda bummed. will be make a few calls for work again early tom morn....

zhuzhu
Dun scare me lah..confirm Maldives resort still must worry abt Male hotel..
kao_dizzy.gif

Wu
Your reservations really sounded like in a mess. Initially I wanted to call Crown Tours on Thurs but was too pre-occupied cleaning my room (took my abt 7 hrs)...Antony havent got back to me..maybe he gave up...cos I kept asking him many many questions

Hey fanfan
No lar...impt thing is to get Maldives resort confirmed 1st..anyway Male got so many hotel, I oso haven't booked mine..not sure if I wan to book when I reached Male or do it in advance...still hanging around..

hi zhuzhu,
any luck so far with the other Male hotels?

hey Wu,
wah, now i think bout travelling over to Male late at nite only to have to wake up early in the morn to go for sea plane transfer like quite shiong. mite end up with only few hours sleep isnt it? but i suppose its more ideal than sleeping at e airport!!=P

Yo Haru,

Yes.... for me it's abit siong.....Blur blur the first day. However, next day work up early ard 7 plus...... sunshine and in Maldivian! Straight away, I very excited liao. Forgotten about the fatique.

Oh yes.... at first we try to seat ard in the airport but after awhile really buay ta-han ah!! ....... must rest. anyway, took us 10mins to reach Male by Dhoni and only another 10mins to reach the Male motel. So I guess it's worth it! :P

Yo Eong,

you planning a trip to hilton as well? Kekek ..... Okie, I'll email you the rest menu.

Hey Haru
No reply from the rest...Maybe I will book Hotel Relax Inn lor..since its the only one beside city palace hotel who replied

Hey Eong
I had sent u the price list of Hilton restaurant & the spa

hi zhuzhu,
i see, how much is it again for a nites stay at Hotel Relax Inn?

Hey Wu,
ya, i think me being a person that cannot tahan not sleeping at nite would def have to sleepover at a hotel lah. how early did you and your wife had to wake up to make ur way to board e seaplane?

hey everyone,
i was all packed to go for a swim this aftn coz i saw the weather was good, but when i arrived at e pool....thunder, lightning and the next thing...downpour. i was soooo upset and i told hubby to pray that we will have 5 days straight of pure sunshine when we go to maldives!!!i thing spore is great coz of its all yr "summer" but the unpredictable weather can be quite a bummer...

wow... more ppl interested to go maldives eh!! hee.

Zhu zhu, I also wanna know the hotel relax inn how much leh. Hmmm

Hey Haru & Mish

Below is the rate from Hotel Relax Inn
standard room double occupancy with breakfast: USD 75.00 + 10% service charge Deluxe room double occupancy with breakfast: USD 80.00 + 10% s/c Executive room double occupancy with breakfast: USD 90.00 + 10% service chrage If it is single occupance, it will be USD 13.00 less from these rates.

And from City Palace Hotel
Double US$75.00 on BB basis. From the airport you have to take ferry to Male with the cost of US$01.00 per person one way and than from jetty to the hotel just 3 minutes work.

hi zhuzhu,
i think hotel relax inn and city palance hotel seems pretty reasonable. i wil prob go for either one too...

Hey Haru
Now I am waiting for Hotel Relax inn to tell me how near is their hotel from the jetty...At least Hotel Relax Inn got a website but I think City Palace dun have

Yo Haru, Zhuzhu,

just got back from Marina square, went to the shop, planet traveller, found the Maldives tourist guide by lonely planet. They hv the Male map and hotel location. Look no further, the nearest hotel from the jetty are Nasa palace, Mookai, Kam and relax inn, all 4 of them just side by side to the left of the jetty. forgotten to see if there's any scale on the map but they are the nearest liao. :P

Zhuzhu, I think the price very reasonable indeed... better than the one I went in terms of class. I think Kam hotel got swimming pool somemore!

Haru,
our seaplane flight around 9.30am, so we woke up around 7am. just hv a 6 hours sleep but....really it's enough for a piggy like me

wu, The webby kam hotel looks rather neat and nice. Hmm dunno really nice not. But pretty ex wor. The hotel travel homepage state that it cost about 115usd be4 the ferry transfer. Add liao about 137usd... hmmm.dunno worth it not..

Mish,

I think can get better price lah. Let me check.

Forget about their so call ferry transfer lah, will cost only USD1 per pax per way. :P

Ya....the pics looks nice but don't expect Singapore standard for that price. Rooms standard probably like 2stars hotel or max 3 stars in Singapore.

Well 4 that price,in Singapore can stay in 4 or even 5 stars liao.

hi Wu,
thanks for ur research, i think a hotel near the jetty would make a big diff. btw, how long is the seaplane transfer to hilton?

Hi Zhuzhu,

Thanks for your price list well. and now that I knew about the location of the hotel, I can go book too.

Don't know why leh..... I prefer Kam Hotel more than Relax inn.... hmmm... really not much info/pics to decide. :P

Yo Haru,

Depends on their seaplane customer list loh. If all on board going to Hilton, then it shld be ard 20mins or so. If some are going to other resort which is also on the same direction as Hilton, they need to land and take off again, so probably another 10mins. Wu-Hua leh... like free roller coaster.:P.... just like mine during the last trip. quite fun loh, the 2X taking off and landing part.

Hello hello all

whoa all up and ready to go liao
so envious leh...
me still hanging on to my 2007 Maldives dream, hope it will come true man. got to keep my reserves for now la cos really thinking of changing job and stuff so must hv some pocket $ to back up plus there are still bills to pay man! yikes!!! was just calculating what i need min to survive everymth and itz quite alot! and im just talking abt the bare necessities like insurance and transport cost !! hmmm....

on the other hand really need a mini break - any cheap but good regional (pref indonesian) resorts to recommend?? Haru and WU guess u two are the experts
no point spending too much cos might as well go Maldives right? hahaha.
ive been to batam view - itz qt good cos the new rooms are very nice but the beach sux big time! so many sharp sharp pebbles and seaweed on the very tiny beach. this makes me dream of the beach at Maldives again arrrghhhhhhhh

cheers!!!

Yo bvbride,

Actually I would rather go Malaysia's resort leh..... I think Redang, Lang tengah or Pulau perhentian are the closer bet(mini Maldives). Really good sand and water quality!

Can try Laguna Redang, just don't go for the buffet lah. Nice rooms and pretty good resort also. I got my 2004 iternary, all planned. You wanna hv a look? My 2004 trip basically ard 7-8nights, go there by coach, resort hop(Laguna, redang reef), then to KL by air-asia, stay 1 nite KL, shop ard KL for half a day then fly back to JB thru Airasia. Back to Singapore by airport coach. How about that??

Bintan is okay too. at least the sea is cleaner and the journey is not as far as Redang.

finally, ive started the countdown to my maldives trip. slowly, throwing things into my luggage.

yo Wu
must rely on your expertise again arr...
so of the three above is redang the best?
find it rather inaccessible la...heard the ferry transfer was pretty choppy and scary la

pls recommend a more accessible one or shall i just tahan tahan and take the coach all the way up? hmmm..or maybe i get my "private" malaysian chauffer to drive me to Kelantan (is that the nearest state to redang)?
think go for like 3N very gao liao
want to chill at home also
prob go in June, hope the weather is ok then??hmmm...

Yo bvbride,

Been to Redang for 3 times liao...kekekee... Yes, it's rather choppy, as they uses medium size ferry. Not as choopy as speedboat lah. But I find it better than those big ferry i.e bintan and tioman's ferry as you'll feel more nauseas.

Drive to Kuala Terengganu, ard 500km from KL. :P
Kekeke.... for me sleepy pig, coach is okie loh as I'll sleep all the way up there. :P

Alternatively, there's flight to Redang at the seletar airport, air bejaya. There's package offer by berjaya group, flight + resort stay(4D3N from RM988 per pax).

3rdly also can try JB-KL-trg(return) Airasia flight, but must stay in KL 1 nite(to and fro), no direct transfer. But hey....can go KL shop shop mah!!!

Alternatively now Star cruise also goes there, thus, double happiness, 1)cruise plus resort stay!Check in out from Star cruise website! (Off course this option more ex lah! )

Anyway, only 2 resort in Berjaya worth considering lah... laguna or berjaya. Others can forget about it, as in term of price, those 2 big ones more value.
ANyway, these 2 big resort offer better coach(1hr ride) from Trg central to Merang jetty for ferry transfer, and their charter ferry bigger. Other smaller resort will normally use small speedboat.
Worth considering. The sand in Redang there also very nice, good snorkelling location as well, much better than bintan,batam,tioman etc for sure and no sandfly!!! (most important!) :P

1)http://www.berjayaresorts.com/redang-beach/info.html
2)http://www.lagunaredang.com.my/tourlagunaresort.htm
3)http://www.berjaya-air.com/flightschedule.htm

Get your quote from here, for Berjaya resort+flight
3a)http://www.dynamicpackages.biz/package/eazy/set_menu_fit.cfm?pacID=PK060000590&comID=cm05000011

hi bvbride,
i have this secret getaway at Pulau Rawa, i love it coz its totally isolated. but be prepared to do NOTHING other than bumming and there is only the "hotel" that you can makan it. i normally stay at the more kampung style place where its non-aircon hut rite on the sand. i love it! its very rustic, food aint that cheap but its cheap to get there. just hop on a coach and take a ferry frm the jetty..let me know if u'd like more details.

Yo Haru,

Hahaha..... I don't think bvbride would like those kampong style non-A/C hut lah. Remember initially me and starstar refer her as Tai-tai....kekekek.... :P Kidding lah.
:P
Actually I would like to try also. I still remember almost 15years ago I did stay in those kampong style hut in Palau Aur... everything is so ancient,no resort nearby whatsoever. i.e bath from mountain water lah...oh so cold!!... BBQ the fishes we caught lah. etc.Back to the very basic! very fun. Bvbride! worth trying...really very very different!

Anyway, can share with me the location+details?
My email:- [email protected]

Yo Folks!

My trip to Mirihi confirm liao. Finally! after a "roller coaster" reservation nightmare. :P

They've already debit the amount to my credit card, and I got the so called service voucher liao(proof)! Yippy!!!!

Zhuzhu, please kindly update your table....kekekekekke. I wanna know how many more days left. Too lazy to calculate on my own! :P

Wu... so finally for u... all is confirmed! hehehe

I also think the Kam hotel looks nice. WU, you going to stay there? tell me whether it is okie or not when u go there okie? I know not very good la. Just find that it seems better than the others. Not sure though. hehe

Yo Mish,

If Zhuzhu gonna stay in RElax inn, I stay in Kam loh....kekekek.... so we all can cover diff hotel.

Okie, will likely book the hotel in Male this week. No problem, I take and video the rooms at all angle for your reference!

hi Wu,
wow,they actually charge to ur card already ya? so chop chop!hahah...i think hilton won't be charging until after i check out until we check out,if i'm not wrong...since mine is not full board and wil prob have extra expenses while we are there.

Yo Haru,

Yours definitely different. Cos u go direct to resort, like what I did last year. If I go direct with Mirihi, samething, last day then pay.
It's becos I go thru agent mah....same thing when u go for chan bros travel as well.

Got pros and cons lah, if USD drop further I bo-hua loh, else if USD goes up, good for me lah.

hi Wu,
i see.. oh, i dun have e details of the rawa place at e moment. i'll go home and check and keep you posted again soon ya?

Yo haru,

No prob......wa..now outside raining cats and dogs ah. So sleepy. Hopefully when July comes hor, Maldives clear skies man! Touch wood! :P

yes yes... pls do.. post it on webby for us to see. hehe

I know this is out of the topic. but.... how much does a chihuahua/cocker spaniel local bred cost? hmmm wonder what's the market rate like. heee..

hello Haru

kekee....Wu is partially right la
i am not tai tai but need basic airconditioned comfort - my hubby too la
my skin is the hyper sensitive type so trying not to develop any rashes during vacation or else super moody

pls email your hideout details to me at [email protected]

bvbride,

I agree with Wu that Redang very nice...
If you're worried about the long journey, just take the cruise/plane. But I'm not very sure how is it like cos so far, I went only once, via the "traditional" way..

Actually, just sleep all the way on the coach lor..but remember to bring some biscuits for your return trip..cos they stop @ those roadside stalls for lunch..

Haru,
Share with me your rawa place leh
me oso interested

Wu,
Congrats!!! I still havent call the CrownTours..guess I've to buck up liao..heheee

Yo Mish,

I would suggest you adpot instead. By buying local breed, we're encouraging improper breeding method(I would say most) and this always led to un-wanted/abandon animals.
I don't think there's any professional breeder here in Singapore, unlike those overseas one, professional breeder. They got a passion in breeding their dogs, and really follow a set of protocols... and they even rate their doggies, i.e Xray hip score lah etc...

ACtually I saw alot of cocker spaniel being put-up in the web, really beautiful ones...got pure black, brown etc...

Worth considering adopting then buying a pup here loh. My 2 cents only lah.

yo bvbride,

can try redang lah. the 4d3n will cost u ard S$1000 max for 2, including flight. Although I never go to Berjaya B4, but they shld be not too bad lah. Anyway, hv u seen their resort's beach(all by themselves), very nice.

Flying there should be quite spectacular loh, flying thru those Malaysia island. I might try it early next year.... Really like a mini Maldives trip loh!

I think their 6D5N ones more value. Worth taking a look. However I think the price is bed/breakfast only.

Laguna off course newer resort, so think about it. Better be fast hor, June is near and it's peak period.... so better book early. Have fun!

Yo Fanfan,

So, our friend Antony haven reply u ah? Never mind lah, just call Crown straight, anyway, their rates is one of the lowest around for Mirihi.Although they may be a bit "Dao", but no choice loh, to save abit of money, hv to book from those agent. Sianx.....

Bvbride,

That time i stayed at Laguna. Personally, I chose there cos it's together with other resorts. So it's more "happening" and more choices in term of food and activities. The Momo teahouse is there as well. they'd converted it to karaoke.

But Berjaya has an exclusive beach. So if u prefer some quiet moments, that will be a better choice

Wu,
Yah lor. That Antony no reply me

Will call the Crown Tours soon.