Maldives

Wu
Wah 8 nites in Mirihi ah...really shiok leh..

Mirror
I only have 2 quotes from Male Hotel, Hotel Relax Inn & city palace....was thinkin of booking thru Mal-dives.com

Yo Fanfan,

Kekeke.....if U choose Hilton, definitely the food is nice! especially the salad bar(mixed and match urself) in the morning(my wife likes it very much!) especially with the smoked salmon, and also one of the "Seafood spagetti" at Vilu Restaurant.... Zhuzhu, Mira and Haru take note, must try oh!

Yo Mira,

never mind lah! if got spare cash, can go for their scuba discovery course(intro) only lah, just hv a feel of setting up, putting on and diving with all the equipment

Yo Fanfan,

You mean what....U probably wanna stay in Mirihi then spent another 1 or 2 days at Bandos ah?....
but hv U seen Bandos accom B4? Other than the beach(2 storey, build 2005) and water villa looks more decent, the others look like NTUC chalets leh.... Fullmoon might be a better choice?

However there's a very good point about Bandos. Heard from my pilot friend that diving there very cheap, around USD40 per dive, compare to Hilton which is around USD76 per dive!!!

LPH - yeah. will stop at colombo. And nope. nv taken it b4.

Hey guys,

I booked hilton already! Yippie. haven't buy air tix la...booked hilton 20-27 of oct!!! Zhu zhu can update for me the chart already!! (Unless I win the toto...2.5m.. then i go bora bora island! eheh)

Yo Mish,

Very wise choice indeed! That week got so many holidays! Hahaha.....2 public holidays somemore!

So I guess urs would be the 7 nights free 2 beach villas, or the deluxe one?

beach villa. I didnt get the deluxe one. no money... beach one will do. heh.

i leaving for male on 19/10. although haven book air tix la...

Wu
Thanks for the info. Most prob if stay @ Bandos will opt for the Beach Villa (looks cool). But provided their discounted rates to SQ is reasonable lah. If super high price, maybe use the money go Phuket and bum @ the beach again.
Your recommendation for food dun suit me leh except for the seafood pasta..cos I'm a non-veggie eater..hahaha..i'm a carnivoure...

Mish,
When you're in Maldives, it will be my wedding
chose that day cos of the public holidays..hahaha

hi Wu,
woah! 8 nites!!! thats ultimate relaxation!!! ya, u gota tell us where are the nice restaurants to eat ya, esp for dinner. i suppose bkfast is at the same restaurant everyday rite?

hey Mish,
dun scare me leh...but anyway, they did gv me a reservation number plus i've also confirmed my flights with them. they say no prob, so i guess it should b ok. wil get in touch w them again closer to the date to arrange seaplane.=p

Wu,
If you go to Mirihi not nice must tell us leh. Cos if i book direct with Mirihi will have 25 days prior to my arrival to change my reservation

Yo Mish,

Ya lah... beach villa good enough liao. In fact, the deluxe one might be too big for 2 person also. At night go toilet har abit scary leh.... Kekekekek.....
Can book the air tix liao lah. I also book liao w/o 100% confirmation from Mirihi. Wha, now can select the seating and meals online(like cinema) leh..... Me so Sua-Ku :P

Actually after viewing all the high-end Bora Bora's resort, i.e. Lagoon resort, pearl beach, clubmed, I still find those rooms of Maldive's villa much nicer than Bora Bora's one. Other than that, the scenery is definitely different lah, Bora Bora much bigger and hilly(something like Pulau Aur, Malaysia type of scenery).

CheerS!

Yo fanfan,

Looks like you've already seen Bando's pics. Ya lah at least the 2 storey beach villa.

Yeekksss..... Carnivorious ah you?.... no lah at least must eat a bit bit of veggie, or drink some fruit juice....

Yo Haru, Fanfan,

Most likely my trip is confirm liao lah. ALready book the SQ flight, 8 nites Mirihi. The agent still haven reply on my confirmation, but already ask Mirhi direct to Block book my water villa.... I tell you, the person I wrote to is much more specialise and professional than those in Hilton....hmmmmmm, much complain to the Hilton GM on this liao, must improve their service standard!

Yo Fanfan,

by the time you're ready to book mirihi...off course after my review when I'm back, write to Mirihi reservation email....that guy is the most helpful person so far!

Still waiting for the agent's reply..... kind of slow!!! coming to 24hrs liao(as they promise that!)

Wu,
Yup. I saw the Bandos pic. Thot the beach villa looks cute and unique. So hope to be able to try it out if the rates are reasonable.

I dun eat veggie one. For fruits, I'm rather picky one. Some I only eat the fruit itself, some i only drink the juice..haha..

Is the Mirihi guy you emailed call Antony? I got my reply from him. He's quite prompt. I just wrote to him again asking him whether possible to match the Crown Tour rates (trying my luck) cos I hope to book direct with the hotel cos of the cancellation policy.

Yo Haru,

I'm flying off on the 29th June and coming back on the 8th July...... So if u got bring a telescope or bino, can see me there! Kekekekek....... See how, maybe we decided to do some island hopping to Hilton? Or likewise for u, island jump over to mirihi??kekekek....

Yo Fanfan,

Ya...Antony.
Anyway, likely not lah. I actually did try to probe him to give me Mal-dive.com rates but he never offer. I guess it's the agent who gave more discount out from their comms.

Oh yes, agent's cancellation policy too strict infact, however if direct book from Mirihi, for my case, I'll lose USD30 per day.

hi Wu,
wat a pity, u gona fly there before me but come back a day after me! hahah..if nt we'll prob be on the same flight!

Hi Wu,
Thanks for all the advise (a while ago actually). I've finally made my bookings, 2 nites in FullMoon water bungalow followed by 3 nites in Hilton water villa. leaving on 9th july nite after wedding on 8th july. very excited... started counting down already...

Haru!

Kekekekeek...... Ya loh. Anyway, if we've know more about our own work schedule, probably we can arrange for a group tour! :P

Anyway, you couple, me couple are only probably just a few kilometres away, during 1st July ~ 7th July, watching the soccer match!!! hahahah...

Hv u ask Hilton whether they gonna setup a big screen for the world cup? ....sianz... Mirihi only got a 29 wide screen TV in the lounge for the matches only. I remember Hilton got big screen for movie though.

Aiya...better than nothing lah hor! :P

Hi greentea,

Remember u
but don't really remember I help u much lah! kekekek..... Really nice to heard that you've already make the booking!!! I see...island hopping eh!

WOW...leaving on the 9th ah....hey that's the world cup final isn't it!! I think U still got time to catch it in Full-moon!

Last but not least, congrats on your upcoming wedding, and have a wonderful wedding and honeymoon ok! and also....kekeke...earn some pocket money during from the wedding as well...Muahahahah!!!

Wow today got so many confirmed trip...

Update @ 11 Apr 2006

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Date of leaving</TD><TD>Date of return</TD><TD>No of nites</TD><TD>Countdown( Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral (Water Villa)</TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa / Sunset Water Villa)</TD><TD>July 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>28-Apr</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD><blink>17</blink> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>13-May</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>32 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>24-May</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>38 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD>12-Jul</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>87 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon(Water Bungalow) / Hilton (Water Villa)</TD><TD>09-Jul</TD><TD>14-Jul</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>89 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu </TD><TD>Mirihi (Water Villa)</TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>08-Jul</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>79 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-Oct</TD><TD>27-Oct</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>191 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanfan</TD><TD>Hilton/White Sand/Mhiri</TD><TD>01-Nov</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>204 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Yo Zhuzhu,

thanks you very much on the table update....Kekekek... so excited whenever I see the table.

Looks like you already left our MIA bro out, yep...where's this Stan ah? Looks like he's gone to Maldives for a month liao. Is he the one who ganna the recent 2.5mil toto? Muahahahahah!!!!
never "Jio" us! :P

I think Haru's date is wrong leh... I think it's 1st july to 7th July.

So Greentea would be able to meet Mira there in Hilton then!

Hmmmm....... just a question, would you guys choose Maldives if we've not "encourage" each other on this forum? ..... I guess some might hv choose to go other places isn't it? Just hope that everyone will have a sunshine holiday in the Maldives!!!

Wu
No leh..I remember Haru say she is departing 7 July leh...*paging for Haru*

Stan &amp; T&amp;P MIA so long liao..will add them in when they return to this thread..maybe they change plans..dun go maldives liao..

And to ans ur que, we will go Maldives..just that maybe will not consider Hilton...maybe like Full Moon or Meeru..

Aiyah actually I wan to do "blinking" when the dates get nearer..but cannot leh..like dat even more exciting..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Jus a few post up, Haru said she'll be flying of later than me and coming back earlier than me, so I guess her actual date is somewhere in between mine.

Hmmm......do you think you'll be going again next year? OK lah, after this trip then ask u. :P

Eh...... what's "blinking" har? Very chim.

I think Mal-dives.com is charging USD204 BB. Based on exch rates 1.65 = S$336 mah... Wha holiday tours too ex liao loh.

So You haven decide which Male hotel to stay yet? Well, actually hulhulhe airport hotel much more convenient loh, walk can reach liao. For Male hotel, hopefully that nite when u reach hor not so tired lah. For me last time, we really so tired after the SQ flt, reach there look for Hilton ppl(Crown tours), then go to jetty take the dhoni. Reach Male, call for taxi, check in to hotel, bath then rush to bed sleep liao.
So if that kind of person who can "Tawn" overnight one hor then no problem lah.... for me sleeping-king hor really abit tired.:P

Hi zhuzhu,
ya,i'm actually leaving for male 1st July and returning to SIN 7 July.=P well,i've sent hilton so many emails already regarding my reservation, so decided nt to bug them about the world cup thingy. are you gona email them to ask?

hey Wu,
do you think we should change our US$ soon? are the exchange rates pretty steady?

Yo Haru,

Don't worry lah... should have at least a TV for the world cup in HIlton lah! :P

Can change now lah, anyway your amount you're changing not so big right, so it'll not make much diff. I think USD gonna be rather stable now lah, cos yesterday MAS denied they're letting Sing dollars to appreciate against USD. So yesterday USD shoot up abit!

Wu,

Do you think I shld be KS and book Mirhi direct with the resort now?

For me,the difference between Crown Tours rates and the resort rates is about US$300+ for the whole stay. But more likely not booking Crown Tours cos I'd emailed them and had not gotten their reply till now.

Emailed Mal-dives.com but they say rates not out yet. Will have the rates by end of this month.

Do you think the resort will be "sold out" by then?
me quite confused...how how how..

Hey Fanfan,

Write direct to Mirihi to check the room booking status. Normally end of the year is really hot period...even the Male's hotel would be fully book as well.

Look for Antony, say that I actually recommend U( so that the next time I write to him hor, I can also ask info for u as well).

Really USD300 is alot leh....

What I did b4 is comfirm from Mirihi got rooms first then ask Mal-dives.com to quote me, and concurrent I wrote another mail to Mirihi to block book my rooms based on the Mal-dives.com reservation ID. At least I make sure both side wouldn't play me out.

Anyway, Mirihi already confirm block book for me but still yet to receive any info from Mal-dives.com. Antony from Mirihi will now help me to contact Mal-dives.com for the reservation stuff....really nice person and helpful too!

Hope it helps!

Oh..Cos I read Haru say she will be departing..so I assume she will be departing from SNG..okie i change the table tonite..

Wu
Agreed that USD shoot up abit today...but dun think alot of diff lar..anyway we change a couple of hundreds only..

hi Wu,
sorry to bug you, how much were you suggesting to change to US$? I suppose we only need it for tipping, hotel at Male, makan at Male rite? By the way, whats e tipping custom at maldives?

yo people
haha..see that all of u are gearing up to go to maldives..
the table by zhuzhu really pumps up your excitement leh..;p

Wu
mirihi needs to be reached by sea plane only right? wah..staying there for 9 nites... really can relax man...
think u staying there for the most number of nites..

haru n mish
guess u guys can even meet up at Hilton to party...

zhuzhu, yeah! We are 5mths apart!!! hahaha. must tell me how is the place okie? Take more take more pics. hehehe.

Wu, One day i must go bora bora see see... it looks beautiful!

Fanfan, When is ur wedding?? mine is at 14oct so just nice 19 fly.

starstar.... haru and me.... different date laa. Haru july leh

Mish,

My wedding on 21 Oct..on Deepavli..heehee...
But I'm flying to Maldives only in mid-Nov due to work committments..must be back to do quarter end closing...heheee...

So all of u gals and guy watch soccer huh? Made plans to World Cup?

Yo Haru,

Kekeke....don't worry, I like to be bugged!! Kekeke....
Actually, really depends on your needs lah. Maldives tourism board or even the resort do not recommend tipping, as you've already pay for the service charges. As most AngMo do tipping, somehow we also follow loh, really the american style. Every day put USD2 on the bed. There's actually big diff leh, my perception lah. The rooms are cleaner. :P

For me, I would suggest changing to around USD200 would be more than enough. However you can also roughly calculate yourself. Male hotel around USD75 ~ 100, then to fro Male is USD1 per pax per trip, taxi(if have to travel) ~ USD1 per pax per trip. The the left over money hor use for last day dinner or makan loh.

Hope my suggestion helps. Anyway change more USD also can lah, then when U buy sovenir hor don't hv to use credit card.

Yo Starstar,

yep...Mirihi is at the south Ari atoll, thus need the seaplane, shld be ard 20mins flt lah. Anyway, can see Hilton from Mirihi as well.

Ya lah.... stay more nites burn more holes in my pocket, and it ain't deep also loh. AIya... my thinking also very simple lah..... just enjoy a bit if I can lah, but not to the extend of borrow money or pay installment for my trip loh.

ANyway, this trip is specially for my wife also....she really wants to visit there again.
Kekeke.....this time round she also top up most of the money lah, last year is my treat mah! kekekekekke....

Yo folks and especially to Fanfan,

Forget about booking from Mal-dives.com on Mirihi resort. As they don't deal direct with Mirihi. They also go thru C**** tours. :P

Wha....they wrote a mail telling me the Mirihi is fully booked wo.. then ask me to choose other resort! I tell them to fly kite(oppsss abit blunt) ah..... Luckily I already tell Mirihi(Antony) to block book 2 rooms for me.

After writing an email to Antony, He told me crown tours already confirm my booking, and now waiting for Mal-dives.com to come back to me.
Anyway, their 24hrs reservation confirmation did not realise loh...

So, lesson learn... go straight to the biggest tour agent>>>> the Crown!!! or even go straight to the resort even though it might be more ex or cheaper, and always book early!!

Wow Wu! Lucky u remind me. But the thing is when I wrote to Crown, no reply leh
is it the typical service of the Maldives agent?

hi fanfan,
my hubby and i did check out the world cup packages. but it was incredibly expensive!!! so think we'll be watchin it from home, although i'm hoping we will win some contest that we took part in at e recent Germany Fair!hahaha....

Hey Wu,
ya, i also thinkin just in case we do a lil shopping for souveniors. i suppose its better to get the souveniors frm male city rather than the hotel rite? =P

are you girls with any gym rite now? coz its been ages since i've joined a gym, and i really think i outta move my butt a lil more. was doing power walkin for a while, but that really takes discipline, so was thinkin of joining a gym or fitness ctr. anyone tried go!fitness? its basically just classes, but no gym...i'm really into weights and kickboxing.i used to do those classes at least once a week when i was still studying. loved it!

Fanfan
Crown's reply quite slow one..must be their culture..

Wu
The Male hotel must be paid in cash meh? cannot use card?

Haru
U keen into Gym ah...I used to do boxercise at Cali. Fitness...but hor if you are TTC hor..better dun do any strenous exercise leh...that y i do yoga..

Mish
No problem..If I happen to see any good beach villa, I will tell u to request for that room no.

Here is another table to pump up your adrealine

Update @ 12 Apr 2006
<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Date of leaving</TD><TD>Date of return</TD><TD>No of nites</TD><TD>Countdown( Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral (Water Villa)</TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa / Sunset Water Villa)</TD><TD>July 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>28-Apr</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>16
361399.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>13-May</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>31 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>24-May</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>37 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon(Water Bungalow) / Hilton (Water Villa)</TD><TD>09-Jul</TD><TD>14-Jul</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>88 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>89 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu </TD><TD>Mirihi (Water Villa)</TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>08-Jul</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>78 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-Oct</TD><TD>27-Oct</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>190 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanfan</TD><TD>Hilton/White Sand/Mhiri</TD><TD>01-Nov</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>203 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi zhuzhu,
i used to be from Planet Fitness.=P i tried yoga before but i really like the high impact classes,dats why i always go for kickbox and bodypump ...well, we aren't "actively" tryin to conceive yet, so i plan to get in better shape all the way until we conceive. =D

omigosh LPH,
you must be soooooo excited!!!! start packing!

Haru,
Initially, we planned to save up to go to the German World Cup..but cos of wedding, all $ gone liao..so cannot go this time round...gotto wait another 4 yrs...i'm going to do leave planning for June soon...heeheee..
Any particular team u supporting? I'm a fan of Germany and my bf supports Italy

Zhuzhu,
Do you think I should just call CrownTours direct? Will it be better? I'm those who would like to get everything settled at one go.

You gals go gym regularly? I'm with California. But usually just go during lunch time to do some cardio. Used to go spinning classes.

Looking at the table, only my trip is not confirmed yet..sob sob

Yo Fanfan,

Always try to cc urself a copy of the email that you've sent to crown, just in case it never really sent out! Any also there's no excuse from them that they never receive anything from you.

Is ur BF surname Xiao? Becos Antony told me that there's a person name Mr xiao already contact them on their package.

I think you can call Crown tours direct lah.... however just for ur info, I find that those Maldivian agent don't really tends to be a good listener, as they tends to interrupt you when u talk. :P I oredi talk to the only 2 staff from Mal-dives.com. :P

Yo Haru,

I don't really know where is cheaper to buy the souvenir leh.... price almost the same loh. However I don't think you got time to shop in Male in the first night, only last time you might hv time though..... There's a couple big shops in the airport as well as after you've clear the custom into the airport, so don't worried no where to buy things loh.

Zhuzhu,

I think can pay by credit card for the Male hotel, but that time we got some USD, so might as well give in USD..... but really there might be some reason why I give USD loh....really can't remember leh! :P

Wu,
I'm that person lah. My full name is Xiao Fan. So guess he thot I'm Mr Xiao....hahahaha..
Maybe I will try to call Crwon Tours later..

Any Male hotel to recommend? What is the name of the Male hotel @ the airport?

Yo Fanfan.....or Mr Xiao...kekekekeke :P

The one that I've stay(in Male) was not even in any listing.... for others, can try Hotel relax inn. I think it's walking distance from the Male jetty(after taking the 10mins dhoni ride from the airport island). For others probably need to take a short taxi ride are the Kam hotel.

If I remember correctly, the place hotel is just in front of the Male jetty...... Looks familiar lah, from the pics.

The one&amp; only hotel on the airport island(hulhulhe island) is called the hulhulhe hotel.

See the link below for some pics:

http://www.mal-dives.com/mv/?dir=1&...p;header=Over-night Hotels&amp;destl=Maldives

i've not start packing yet...coz it still seems so far away. anyway, im a light traveller, just bring a sports bag will b enough for my stuff.
everyday in swim wear, n board shorts or just wrap a sarong.
cant wait for it.

Hey gals...can I check with you how much does it cost for a 4 days trip to Maldives? Me thinking of having a short honeymoon in Jun (after my wedding) before going on my actual honeymoon in Oct.

Will be going Europe so cun spend too much on the short honeymoon...any recommendations?

Wu
I am oso considering Hotel Relax Inn..but i asked them some que..as usual no reply from their side..

Starris
Welcome...The cost of your 4D maldives trip will depend on which resorts you go to...Maldives oso not that cheap leh...maybe u can give us a budget and we can work around there

starris
welcome to the sun lover club..

yup..like what zhuzhu had mentioned...maldives is not a cheap option leh... depnds on the resort u wanna go...even the minimum rate I thin is ard USD$150+.. the currency used there also all USD.. keke.. end of the day, u'll need to let us know your budget and see how we can work around...
and 4 days there I think it's not enough leh...cos usu..u touch down at night..then it's wasted one nite liao... it'll be good to stay at least 4 to 5 nites there..
from the table posted, u can get an idea liao..

zhuzhu
wah..u getting real pro at tables leh..
nice...
LPH is the next to go right?

fanfan
haha...they always like that one... that time I went also got the same blunder happen to me..
u booked your resort?