Maldives

hey LPH,
wah, club med actually give you guys luggage too? thats pretty cool! =>

hi fanfan,
sure! =D

hey zhuzhu and mish,
its the safest place lah, u are surounded by water!!!hahaha...

Yo Folks,

You can now use Google Earth to view Maldives, can see some of the nearby resort, such as Full-moon, Soneva gili, paradise island etc... Try it, very very nice view!!!

Other places have to wait....probably the satellite haven scan finish!

Download from this website!! >>>
http://earth.google.com/

Wu
Might as well ask Hilton they need a S'porean to cook local food o not..then I provide the service and they gave me the free stay...

Update @ 07 Apr 2006
<table border=1><tr><td><font color="0077aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Resort</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Date of leaving</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Date of return</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">No of nites</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Countdown( Days)</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Rating (1 to 5)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral (Water Villa)</TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa / Sunset Water Villa)</TD><TD>July 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana</TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>28-Apr</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>21 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>13-May</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>36 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>24-May</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>42 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>85 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>85 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu </TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>85 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton/Club Med</TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>177 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanfan</TD><TD>Hilton/White Sand/Mhiri</TD><TD>01-Nov</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>208 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stan</TD><TD>MIA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>MIA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hey Wu,
wat a coincidence! my hubby just called me from his office to help check something google earth. never used it til now, but really cool. think i wil go check out maldives like u said,kekek...

hahah zhuzhu,
so funny! then you can work there as an expat chef!!!maybe we can introduce zhi char style to them, am sure it'll be a hit!

hey Mira!
just saw that you leaving same date as me!! so how long you staying?? what a coincidence!!!

btw zhuzhu,
i'm also staying 5 nites, so departing 7 Jul.=>

wu - not sea sick leh... Its just that i nv fish b4/ I dunno how to fish. Later no fish... waste money.

haru - Better dont say too early on the sea part... later zhu zhu burn down the place... then u no hilton maldives to stay already. hehehehe

LPH - oooooo club med so nice ar???

fanfan- I added you liao!!

Yo Haru,

I can even see the block I'm staying using the google earth. however,I think the image is around 2 years ago(b4 Tsunami), cos I can't find the school beside my blk, and also Club Med Faru(destroyed) seems to be still there though!

Anyway..... I'm currently still thinking and thinking whether wanna to island hop...siaz..... there'll be a hole in my pocket soon.:P

Yo mish,

U also and "owl" ah, like me ah!!! So late still here....

Oh....U must be kidding, Maldives no fish??? kekekekeke....... Anyway, U're half right also lah, I never caught any fish but my wife and friends caught 3 fishes and 2 of the most common type of fish(snapper and grouper) became our dinner while we release 1 big one call the Batfish.

There's another taiwanese couple caught 4 Big Batfish and they never release any of them.....wanted all to be cook for their dinner, bloody greedy ppl.... still bragging about it somemore!

Can try lah! Those fisherman will help U.

Wah Wu I thought left me around last night. I was playing silly games. Hehehehe.

What is bat fish?? Hmmm can eat ar?? Why u release the batfish??

My hubby and I never fish b4 wor. So errm. I think quite hard la. Dont even know how to put baits and all. heheheh.

Yo Mish,

U R early again today!!
Enough sleep meh?Or U never sleep at all? kekekek..... I jus woke up only. :P

Bat Fish can eat....there... I got pics inside my album mah, as my wife is holding to one. That time really pity the fish loh, so big and beautiful.....then we also hope that those 2 taiwanese would also do the same and release some of the fishes but they never did....$#$%$#%.

Oh...the fishing there very simple, it's call line fishing, which we also did in Malaysia water. those fisherman would just out on the baits and all u have to do is just throw into the water, and if u feel a thug...just pull up. It's that simple!

ya..i was surprised to receive the luggage too. thou its only a small one, but better than nothing la.

21 days more...must learn sailing and wind surfing then come back

Yo Haru,

Eh...no leh....that's the point of going there relax and forget about everything else mah! Kekekeke..... Can write and ask them, likely they'll screen on the projector for all to see, at some opening space area?

Oh just nice for the Semi-finals!!! :P

Hello all...in the office now arrr..sianzzzz

Mish and all the other peeps doing fishing- No need to worry at all! like what Wu said u will be "served" by the fishermen that bring u out to sea cos they will hook the bait nicely for u. no need rod one but my husb who is very fishing siao one said if he goes the next round confirm chop will bring rod along cos itz much easier to reel the fish in

yep Wu - totally agree w u. if u are not gog to eat the fish better release them la cos itz very mean to the just kill for nothing. but then again there will definately be extra fishes one so guess the resort stuff wil just eat them themselves! no wonder they all look so lean and mean and healthy - not like us singaporean so fat fat hor...kekeke....

talking abt world cup - aiyoh Haru your trip clashed with the World cup leh!!! how? i seriouly think they WILL put up a giant projector screen la. Hilton is world class - and they hv tonnes of tourist visiting them - sure they will do something abt it for the guest.
WHOA! i can just imagine the atmosphere ! u r gog to hv so much fun !!!!

cheers!!!

omigod u all are so active! i'm lost liao

hi haru, i'm not leaving on 1 jul, it's 10 jul, 1N male 5N hilton
so come back on 16 jul

hi wu, do you know whether hilton allows beginner divers? im thinking to take up a course, my ex-colleague just took, 1 week only got the cert liao...

hi bvbride and Wu,
ya, gota say i am quite a soccer fanatic coz of hubby. i screamed til my throat was dry last weekend during the ManU match..=P

hi m1rror,
same as mua, 5 nites!kekeke..anyway, it is pretty common for these resorts to offer basic dive course, so not to worry..

Yo Mira,

Should be no problem lah. However, still depends on the dive site, as they colour code(difficulty) their dive site. They'll only allow U to dive at those beginner's site.

Yes, now malaysia good for learning diving(exam).... Tioman wld be a good choice though!

Get ur Open water diver cert here first!

Yo Haru,

Cannot go Hilton learn diving lah....very ex ah! Will cost S$1K plus.... Learn local only S$400.
Anyway diving in Maldives also very ex...

hi Wu,
i see..well, i am nt too keen on taking a diving course just for tis trip coz i realy dun noe how much i wil actually dive aft tat.so wil prob do some snorkelling...=P

Haru
today u woke up so early...

I had only received quotes from Hotel Relax Inn &amp; city palace...

City palace: Double US$75.00 on BB basis.

Hotel Relax Inn: standard room double occupancy with breakfast: USD 75.00 + 10% service charge Deluxe room double occupancy with breakfast: USD 80.00 + 10% s/c Executive room double occupancy with breakfast: USD 90.00 + 10% service chrage If it is single occupance, it will be USD 13.00 less from these rates.

Noticed that the Crown Tours rates I'd gotten are cheaper than the resort rates or Mal-dives rates.

The rates are got is from http://www.crowntoursmaldives.com/rates.html

Scared that this is the "pirated" Crown Tours that you guys are talking about.
The rates for Mihiri and Komandoo are cheaper here.

Can you guys help me to see whether the rates in the above URL is reliable?

Thanks a lot.

hi zhuzhu,
i think US75 is quite a reasonable rate. def better than US195 per nite. well, at least there is stil time to check out some other hotels..=>

hey fanfan,
sorta, coz hubby is ManU fan too.heheh...yes yes, i took a long nap tis aftn so that i can stay up tonite to watch the big match. i'm definitely rooting for ManU!! i also like Bolton..

Hey fanfan
Dun really like Crown Tours...I remember the last time I asked them to confirm if one of the resort's honeymoon suite is available..then the lady asked me to give my credit card detail to reserved..but I keep asking if the room is available..the email ding dong here n there.finally say its fully booked...
360526.gif

Haru
sad to say, my bf and i are anti-ManU fanz...heheee..my bf is a Liverpool fan..

Zhuzhu,
Crown Tours no good huh? Cos the Komandoo asking me to check with them on the avaliability leh. Is the URL I'd provided the correct Crown Tours?

Yo Fanfan, zhuzhu!

thanks for finding out Crown tour's rate for me! Kekekeke...... and yes they're just around USD26 cheaper than those quote from Mal-dives.com. I always thot they're ex(It is for Hilton and some other resort though).

Anyway, it's say for Zhuzhu's case though, and I also heard complain on them elsewhere but can try ur luck as well. Well, they're still one of the biggest tour agent for Maldives!

However, I got this impression that resort such as Komandoo will be filled with british.... really depends on u loh. I wld rahter preferred americans!!! Hahahahhaa......

And last but not least, I'm a liverpool fans since I started watching soccer!!!
like primary 1 or 2....Kekekekek.... :P

Well...lastest info...chelsea won their match...so kind of tough for MU to grap the title now! :P ....Still I prefer MU than CHELSEA... :P

Good luck on ur search!

hi fanfan,
oh dear, hubby and i are anti-liverpool and chelsea..hahah..and ManU did a fantastic job last nite!!!!i was sooooo excited during the match that i felt so sick in my tummy.=P well, at least we hv one thing in common,that is we are both suckers for maldives!!!!

Wu,

Have you booked thru Mal-dives.com before?

Komandoo really will be filled with British i guess..cos, they even indicated on the resort site that they're telcasting World Cup...dun think Americans will be interested in that..

How come u prefer Americans?
I hope not to see Americans cos office everyday see..so "sick" of them..hahaha

Haru,

Everybody support same team then not fun liao..heheee...it's the "rivalry" that make watching soccer fun...

And yup! everyone here are suckers for Maldives...kekekekee

Yo Fanfan,

No never book thru Mal-dives.com. However, wrote to Mirihi direct and ask how Mal-dives.com, they said they're pretty good agent of them.

I studied in UK, Wales for 2 years.....kekekek...saw too many many anti-Chinese kind of thingy. I also work in US during several trip...... they're slightly better. Kekekek.......Still all are still better than Singaporean. If Komandoo are fill with Singaporean, the buffet meals would be ruin!! :P Muahahahahhaha.......

Hey guys,

I think hilton is too bothered by me already. They didnt reply my mail regarding the rates of the kayaks. Sobz.

I thinking of sending another mail to confirm my booking. But now my mail is down! Hmmm.

Wu, you studied in UK? That sounds nice. Hehe.

Bvbride, Hmm. maybe i can consider trying to catch a batfish tooooo. heheheheh.

Wu,

You're right! As long as not the whole place filled with Singaporeans/China people (no offence), then it'll be okay. I remembered last time when I was in NTU, those overseas China students wiped out all the food meant for my friend's hostel BBQ night. They were waiting there way before the start time...typical Kiasu behaviour...heehee..

Anyway, I'm now in a super dilemma..after working out the costs, I think Hilton is definte out for me...so now, I'm considering the following resorts

1. Komandoo
2. Mirihi
3. White Sands (still pending their reply).

Here's the pros and cons for Komandoo and Mirihi resorts according to my personal preference:

Komandoo - pros
Water Villa is newly built.
Has TV, Jacuzzi in the room.
Prices lower and is full board

Komandoo-cons
Only 1 restaurant (risk of having to eat untasteful food for the whole stay)
Cancellation policy is 90 days before the arrival date or else 100% room charge applies

Mirihi-pros
More facilities and resturants than Komandoo
Cancellation policy is 25 days before the arrival date or else 100% room charge applies

Mirihi-cons
No Jacuzzi in water villa
No TV
Higher prices

We're mindful of the cancellation policy bcos we can only confirm the free SQ tix in Oct.
Very confused over these 2 resorts.
Can give some advice?

Hi Wu,
i fully agree with you about the buffet, but then again i suppose the locals who go to maldives should be pretty chilled out rite? if not they would be there in the first plc. =P i just went for a buffet with my in laws on sat, it was soo crazy and while the food was nice, i realy didnt like all the pple hurrying for the food like there is no tomorrow. and even heard a mum tell her kid "full, still eat!"..like why do you have to stuff ur kid?? =Z

hahah mish,
no lah, u should see how many corresonding emails i've had w hilton too. like i told Wu, the replies i got from them just became shorter and shorter..hahahah...

hey fanfan,
yup! its quite fun at the coffeeshops coz then you can really tell who are the teams' fans!! those smiling at half time, and those grumbling and getting all upset...quite funny to see it all..

Haru,

Ya, I think the eating habits of some ppl in buffet must change. I went on the stupid cruise long time ago where they serve free food and ppl snatch like they have been hungry for years!!!

As for hilton....their emails are getting so short that.... they decided not even to reply me... sobz

Haru,

Me long time no go coffeeshop watch liao..ever since i subscribed to SCV...but the stopid Starhub Cabel ah..once took over, only increase this charge, that charge....sianz of it man..

Yo Fanfan,

Er..... You've already list down the pros/cons for both resort liao.

To add, those block booked kind of thingy really worries me loh, for Komandoo. I just hv a bad feeling that wouldn't like this resort though. 1 rest is too little liao lah, heard you hv to share tables with stranger also, cos it's full board mar!

Then I think Mirihi would be a quiet place, and I like the rooms layout,as they showed all picture, virtual tour of the room in their web. While can't seems to find any pics on Komandoo's bathroom.

However, I think for Oct, Hilton got the stay free night promo isn't it. Price would be comparable to Mirihi liao(Beach villa vs water villa!)

Yo Mish,haru,

Kekekekkee....... I think U should stop writing them email lah.... if anything cocks-up, ask for free upgrade to sunset water villa isn't it better??? Muahahahahahah!!!!

Yo LPH,

Yes, U can use ur HP over there, providing U got Autoroam. In fact, the first sms U'll receive is from the Maldives Tourism board!

Eh.... counting down real fast eh!!!

Wu,

I really hope I can go in Oct..but my wedding is 21 Oct..and I've to come back to work for quarter end closing..sigh..so gotto go in Nov lor...

Your comments on Komandoo seems rather valid..I tried to search everywhere for the pics of their bathrooom but cant find

hi Wu,
ya lor,i've stopped emailing them after i gave them my hhonors card no.just gave up buggin them. wanted to ask them if the bars will be screening world cup, but in the end, decided not to bother them liao...=P

hey fanfan,
i think one restaurant really quite extreme coz then you hv to eat at the same place with the same pple all the time. but then again, it depends how long u'll be there. when i went to one of the m'sia islands, we also ate at the same place that every day, every meal. but it was fine coz the food is yummy and we can always just eat on the beach or at our hut. so it really depends on ur expectations.

hi wu, i think i dun have enough time/leave/money to take course now lar
my ex-colleague said spent about $400+ lor, went to tioman

hi zhuzhu, yes i'm going hilton. waiting for your update for male hotels hee

hi haru, im not planning to take basic course over there lar, so ex! if wanna take, take here first lor

fanfan
out of the hotels u named..keke.. I hands up for Mirihi...
dun know why..somehow I prefer Mirihi... looking thru their website..I like Mirihi better...

haru n mish
ya lah...think follow Wu's advice sure won't go wrong one... :p if the resort cock up... hey got free upgrade man!!! keke..;p it's worth the mess...

Haru,
I oso scared food not nice...cos me quite picky with food one leh..

starstar,
My bf oso saying that he like Mirihi better..i'm now thinking of increasing the budget by abit and maybe go to Bandos Island Resort as well for 1 or 2 days (as he was telling me SQ got discounted rates)

Yo Folks,

Just sent in my reservation on Mirihi water villa thru Mal-dives.com.

Kekeke..... waiting them to confirm my reservation, then I'll go straight to book SQ flight liao!

This time round, it'll be a 1 nite Male, 8 nights Mirihi trip. No time to book for hilton Island hopping liao...unless they come back say Mirihi fully book lah! :P

Wish me luck!!!

Wu,
Good luck to you.

Have a very ez question for u. If we reach Male airport at night, shld we stay at a hotel at Male city or somewhere near the airport?
Come next morning, do we make our own way to where the seaplane takes off?

Yo Fanfan,

Airport and it's capital city, Male is on 2 seperate island. There's 1 airport hotel but very ex ~ USD200++ per nite.
While other hotel/motel are on Male, a 10mins boat ride from the airport island.
NExt morning, take the same boat back to the airport island and they'll fetch u to the transfer lounge(by mini-buses).