Maldives

starstar..thnx 4 sharing ur pics ^.^ Nice!!!

Mish! I oso tink u shld go for the water villa! If not for water villas at maldives, i wld hv opt for mauritius which is so so much cheaper liaoz!! hees.....

Wu.. u're realli a true-blue Maldives fan leh, making yrly trips there! hehe...Can't get enuff of the air, sand & waters there uh...hehehe
Tink for miself, after this trip, can't go for holidays for at least the next 1 to 2 yrs liaoz...hahaha...gona beef up resources all over again 1st! =Þ

Haru
Have u received any confirmation from hilton yet? If yes, you can booked tonite liao..yup SQ promo ends today..u checked out fascinating travel offer? I did a rough calculation just now..seems like the rates they offer quite okie leh..

Update....

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Timing of visit </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa / Sunset Water Villa)</TD><TD>July 05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral (Water Villa)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana</TD><TD>Nov 05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>May 06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Club Med</TD><TD>May 06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>July 06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>July 06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu </TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>July 06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton/Club Med</TD><TD>Oct 06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanfan</TD><TD>Hilton/White Sand/Mhiri</TD><TD>Nov 06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stan</TD><TD>MIA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi zhuzhu,
yup, they hv confirmed avail. but i have just sent another email to ask for reservation number. did you ask for any specific villas?

ZHu zhu,

You got their attachment?? Pls pls plsssss. send to me. I requested. They have not replied me. Btw, why u shelve the plans? U decided that its too close to each other?

Moonlight,

Ya lo... thats why i thinking. Maybe should go to full moon. sigh.

Haru, Faster book!!!!!

Water villa or hilton's beach villa... Hw hw hw whwwww

wow!!! looks like the whole ging gang going maldives leh..
hey do take alot of pics to show k?

hmm..who's opting for mihiri? it's a good resort..
nice place..
think wu's going there right?

Haru
No lar..did not request for any specific villa..duno which villa is good also..

Mish
Not sure if I still have..i asked them last dec..might have delete the email already..cos that time plan to go in Mar..then later realised quite X..so shelve plans until now lor..

My colleague went to full moon for her honeymoon...her advice "dun sting on the accomdation"..cos if you dun like the place u r staying..going to be hard to pass the days..

hi zhuzhu,
have received a reservation no from hilton. must say their response quite quick. Think i will go home tonite and make the flight bookings already. then it will just be counting down to the holiday!!!

Haru
Ya their confirmation quite fast...keep us update once u had booked..u ask for the beach villa oso?? Now i so excited for u...

Mish
She never say whether full moon is fun o not..anyway i think she go there n nua also lar..

i've just booked my flights! after i booked my flight, realized Hilton got my dates of stay slightly wrong. anyway, its only a day diff, i think it should be ok. i've emailed them to inform them of the correct dates. yup, wil b booking 5 nites in beach villa...the feeling is quite surreal..that i've actually booked my air tix already..
kao_shy.gif

have also emailed hilton at the same time not to book the airport hotel for me.

haru
great!!!
hey..u gonna enjoy yourself lady..
anxious right? :p

yo people..enjoy the weekend!!!
yippee.. me going to watch ice age 2 tomolo!!! haha.. love the squirrel fellow..

Congrats to Haru!!!

3 more mths and You'll be there!!!

Yo Mish,

Really depends on u lah.
Kekeke.... now again I list down what's the pro n cons(u might hv ur own criteria)

Mirihi Water villa:-
Pros - 1)Water villa
2)Really value for the price for W.V
3)Seaplane! I like
4)Restaurant above water(quite nice)

Cons - 1)Small villa, only 53sqm
2)Very small island, really nothing 2 do
3)No swimming pool
4)No bathtub.

Hilton beach.v
Pros - 1)Still consider very cheap for high
quality setting
2)3 times larger than Mirihi's villa
3)2 Large islands with high class facility
4)Seaplane(I like!)
5)Infinity swimming pool.

Cons 1)Island too big, need to walk far to
visit places.
2)House-reef rather bad condition.
3)meals, excursion price at high side!

Or u want best of both worlds, can go to both places? Anyway, Hilton n Mirihi is like ard just 1 hr boat ride away! Can write to either resort to check whether they can do such transfer?

As for Fullmoon, I think ganna hit by Tsunami badly, now fully reno. However price up alot loh. Rooms rates quite ex liao. then it's only 7km from airport, so near....wha..... likely very noisy ah! :P Shld be rather crowded also.
However,cannot deny, all rooms are much nicer than b4 though. Beach ones still much smaller than Hilton's
Still for that price, think there's better candidates out there, i.e. Hilton!

So U think for urself loh!

Congrats Haru!!! You must be feeling excited doing the countdown...

Wu, so you decided on the resort that you're going to stay this time round?

Yo Fanfan,

haven yet leh.... Still doing research....
Sianx...... haven tell my boss yet also....
Scar-di cannot go! :P

So when's ur turn??

Haru
Now we can compare prices on which Male hotel is cheaper..I haven't book yet...or and I oso haven't change my USD yet

hi Wu,
thanks!was dreaming bout my flight last nite after booking the tix,hhahaa...so no more pedi, etc for the next 3mths,gota save up for the trip.kekeke...

hey zhuzhu,
yup!! i think i wil monitor the exchange rate for awhile.how much do we hv to change since everything we spend wil be at the hotel and charged to our credit cards rite?

oh Wu,
can i just ask, since the flight from Male back to SIN is only late nite and the check out is already in e aftn, is there anything realy to do/see in Male itself while waiting for the flight?

haru
let me do Wu a favour by ans to your question..keke.. the town is pretty small..can finish walking within a few hours...nothing much to see except maybe can go to the wet fish market where u see the catches of the day by the fishermen...
walk ard the mosque n palace...pretty small town..

Hi wu,
Thanks! Sorry ah... need you to do so many analysis for me.. hahaha.

I really tot of your idea of staying half here and half there... but dunno whether its too many nights or not.

Hilton - 7n plus Mirihi another 2 nights plus male another 1n...wow... too many i think... hmm. UNLESS... i get an upgrade for a few nights at hilton!! yippie!! thats the best scenario.....

Haru
U wake up so early..too excited to sleep??

I was plannin to change maybe S$150-$200..should be more than enuff lar..in case we need to give tips..or eat in Male on our checkout day..and also the transport from airport to Male..
I think the exchange rate now quite low..can consider to change now..

Oh and 1 more thing..If you have UOB credit card...use it oversea and they give u 2x Uni$..valid until 31st july..

Hi all!!!

Whoa Haru - so happy for u...since u are such a beach babe - can imagine u bringing like half a doz bikinis there
nice dark tan guaranteed ... oh.. so exciting le...

yep like what zhuzhu said, i brought only USD 100 cash (cos my stay is very short) nothing to buy really at the resort and didnt bother gog Male town cos not recommended by my SIL
most of the cash went to tipping only

4 potential pple gog to Maldives come Jul 2006!!!! Haru, Wu, zhuzhu and Moonlight!!
so soon!!
yey!!!

Yo Folks!

Wha... it's saturday and yet so many of you woke up so early! Me sleep until like pig..... and that's a no-no when u're in Maldives..wasting time! :P

Yo Haru, Zhuzhu,

Starstar already answer ur question. As for me, Hilton gave me late check out so, it's like chekc-out at 4pm, then seaplane ard 5pm. Reach Hulhulhe airport almost 6pm liao...so never even go back to Male. Jus stay in the only restaurant, eat something and wait till departure. Outside the airport got some sovenir shops,and lots more inside the departure hall area.
Actually shld bring slightly more cash lah, don't know u folks lah but bought close to USD150 worth of sovenir....cos nice stuff loh! Anyway, most can paid by Credit card lah, juz that exchange rates Bo-Hua! :P

Yo Mish,

Wah... total 10 nites ah! kekek.....GOOD! However, to be truthful hor, 7 nites jus nice for me lah...as the food there eat until sianx liao... Bo Bian... Ang Mo food mah! then we miss our doggies so much also.
So my feeling when leaving Maldives rather mix.

However be aware that upgrade in Hilton hor, ur beach villa rates still counts hor... so it's beach villa + upgraded "whatever Villa" rate + all taxes (10%). At first I thot they wld not charge my beach villa rates. :P

Yo bvbride!

Working today?..... Not only gals shld do the sun-tanning, all guys shld also... the Tan achieved over there is superb!! I never have such a nice tan, not even going to those sun-tanning salon which 1 did twice...kekek... for my wedding and photo shoots

Aiya....me still waiting to confirm with by boss whether can go. We already got 4 person so chances is very high loh! and also waiting for Mirihi's reply.

Quite scary leh....shld I spent another S$6.5K.... hmmmm..... every yr go also Buay-Ta-han! :P

Hey Wu
Got lots of souvenirs to buy?? What is good buy over there? Oh and the late checkout, did u asked when u do your reservation or only when you had checked in at Hilton?

Yo Zhuzhu,

Most of the stuff I bought are those made by locals, wooden stuff, those cute cute stuff loh, can place in the house. Then also go photo albums, frame made by Maldivian... also can place around the house loh. Diff stuff loh. Sentimental value lah, reminding ourselves we went there b4.

Actually we never ask for late check-out... probably stay at the Sunset water villa got privilege? Or it might becos no-one is checking into the Sunset water villa the next day.
I think no harm for u to request for early check in or late check out or both. Write to them lah, but suspect they can decide only when U check in.
At least ask for early seaplane! Say 9am!

WoW...1.5mths left eh! kekeke.... I know ur feelings! can't wait for that day to come earlier. :P

Hey wu
Okie will try to request for early seaplane...I wasn't that excited yet..but then I see you guys one by one start to plan and book...then i get super duper excited liao..

Now I learning yoga once a wk..and I tell myself..once my yoga lesson ends..that will be the wk I going to Maldives..good motivation huh..

Yo zhuzhu,Haru,Mira,moonlight and whoever is going to Maldives.

Opss.... one more thing. Last day if wanna go hulhulhe airport's 1 N only restaurant(those enclose ones lah). Don't order steak/chicken chop stuff. Those meat bloody hard like stone and Chow-Ta somemore. :P ....probably we're jus unlucky lah.
That time it's becos got rather heavy storm outside so went into the 1 N only rest. Try others outside, those open air ones.

Those restaurant, food stores charges in their countries currency. If can, change to Maldivian Rufiyaa(money) cos their coversion from USD is rediculous lousy.... i think they jus take advantage of tourist. Same goes for the taxi rides to the Male hotel, remember it's USD1 per pax per trip. Get more USD1 notes just in case, can pay for tips/taxi ride/dhoni ride. If U got no change, again those taxi drivers go according to their "own" rates and take your USD, and give u back Rufiyaa...... make u blur!

hope it helps!
must remember hor

Zhuzhu....wha....yoga ah! Then U can make full used of their newly renovated gym/multi-purpose rm to do Yoga there loh! Imaging viewing the sea if I'm not wrong! So shiok!!!

U have fun!!!

Wu
U saying to change their currency..we can do that when we reached Male rite? Anyway can we use credit card at those restaurants o not?

I was telling my ah lao..can go there n do yoga by the sea..cool man...

Yo Zhuzhu,

the indoor restaurant I think can....but that time we left with some USD so might as well us it loh, but their menu price is in Rufiyaa loh, then they go by their own exchange rates.
Acutally if Ur HP got autoroam, the first day u reach there, the Maldivian tourism board would sent u a sms on the USD converison rates to Rufiyaa. U can based on that as well...but doubt those ppl would follow lah!

Eh.....don't remember got any currency xchg counters leh... maybe it's available in HIlton or those Male hotel. My Rufiyaa I got it from the taxi drivers lah....gave them USD10 then get back do know wat! :P
Now...it's ur turn to find out for us! Kekekek......

Or when go out later see whether can change at those indian xchg counter?

Ask ur ah lao to some photo of u doing yoga by the sea and show us lah! find those noon time then can really see the sea-water blue colour, the effect will be very nice cos u, white sand and sea will have a very nice contrast! something like the one 1 took for the sunset water villa!

Anyway, now the memory card so cheap, buy more there! I recently bought 1 Mini-SD 1GB card at only S$56!!!

okie lor..I go there n racki for the rest of the gang..see got any good $$ changer there o not..

take pic of my doing yoga..dun wan lar..my yoga is super lousy..can't even reached down to touch my feet...

Hi there Wu

whoa u buy so much souvenirs arr..hmm i got only two magnets fr Angsana (made in china thatz why dun want to buy too much and they cost USD) plus one cute jewellery box from Banyan Tree. i know can get in singapore but the design is v lovely hence got it la. haha

actually i really like the look of Komandoo - water villa price also qt reasonable le but dare not consider unless someone like u can recommend
why did u choose Mihiri anyway? thought Komandoo looks better.. hmmm.....

Haru: i didnt get late check out - cos must pay half the day's rate (!!! so exp) - we checked out as per normal time and hang around the resort lor...thatz when we went to the spa for msg so that time is not wasted. we dumped our luggage at the recep for savekeeping

drop a note when free everyone
cheerss!!!

Yo bvbride,

China made one of course wouldn't buy lah... I did check, and it said made by local Maldivian then buy. Kekekeke......

Oh yes Komandoo water villa is much cheaper than Mirihi's ones. 7 nites full board+ seaplane only USD2500 while mirihi is USd900 more ex!
Anyway, still haven decide lah.
Somehow I find I like mirihi's water villa design suited my taste leh... and it got virtual tour on their web and that really help in to make judgement.
And advantage of Komandoo water villa, it's detached! rather far away from each other with partition as well. For mirihi, it's semi-detached 2 by 2 water villa, also with parition so not too bad if our friends live beside us.
Most likely these 2. Wrote to Veligandu, no reply leh...so Tao!
Anyway if Boss say I cannot go also bo bian. :P

hm..... maybe I'll need another 1mth to decide where to go. off course SQ must have promo also lah.

hopefully there's good news...... wait n see.

hello Wu

can tell u sitting by your PC surfing away - great that u are responding so fast

7N water villa + full board + seaplane USD 2500!!!! what are u waiting for? u are talking abt per pax right?

will chk out the website again - still thought the Komandoo is more impressive la

u can get Maldivian stuff cos u went to Male town mah...i only stuck at the resort plus not too impressed with the stuff at the airport le...kekeke...

Yo Folks,

juz check the SQ website..... SQ promo to Male still ON! Sales period from April fool day 06 till 31st March 2007.
However, 4 to go promo price up from SGD450 to SGD500!!!
That's 11% price increase!!! so add on the surcharge+tax(SGD224), per pax return is SGD724!

Sianx..... last year I only pay SGD566 nett. :P

Yo bvbride!

Sianx..... ya loh, surfing away! making full use of my maxonline 6500...every mth $70 must fully make use :P Kekeke.......

My dear!! USD2500 I'm talking about 2 pax, accom, full board,water villa,seaplane for 2 return, everything in!!! Cheap isn't it???? Kekekek....... wanna go?

No lah, I bought some stuff from Hilton and most other's from hulhulhe airport, more stuff there! most are cheaper than resort!

how how??? next year we decide between Komandoo or Hilton lah! Kekekekkee .....

hi Wu,
thanks for ur tips. so u reckon we shld exchange both US$ and Rufiyaa? nw can't remember so much stuff so wil prob hv to ask u again closer to my holiday.=P i'm a sucker for magnets when i travel. love to stick them all on my fridge. hehe..so prob wont be able to resist those souveniers.

hi bvbride,
ya, when i went to hilon mauritius also had to pay 1/2 day rate for late check out. but i think i wont wana pay if they give me a complimentary late check out. like u said, can always leave luggage at reception and hang around.

hey zhuzhu,
you MUST take a yoga pose at the sea!!! i think early morn when sun is rising wil be sooooo cool! then u can frame up in ur bedroom, look really calming and of coz remind u of ur trip!hahah...i did yoga classes before, but like you, i'm stiff like a cardboard. i'm better at kickbox and body pump (weights). but its been ages since then. coz i left the gym when i started work, not convenient for me...now i just go for power walking whenever i can (which is like once every 3 weeks!!!) hahha....

hey all,
just went to redhill to had brunch, the teochew porridge there is ultimate, cheap and sooooo yummy. ordered lotsa dishes, plus brot some fried you tiao for tea time, everything costs less than $10 for hubby and i!! then i suddenly tot, wow, $10 can prob only get me a bottle of sky juice at hilton....hahahahhahah....

hi Wu and bvbride,
woah!!! US2500 for 2 pax is super good deal!!!! must goo!!!!! as i am not sure if i wil ever go to maldives again after this trip, so i think i'd better go to a more luxurious hotel, so have decided with hilton.

hey Wu,
i stil dun really understand bout e upgrade at hilton..isnt it that they just charge the diff? (eg. upgrade from beach villa US200 to water villa lets say US700, so pay diff of extra US 500?)...was telling hubby hope we can also get a free upgrade to first class on the flight!hahahah...coz our friend was upgraded the last time, soooooo lucky!! but on a flight to australia lah.

Yo Haru,

no prob....anyway by the time, zhuzhu already come back and her memory is even more fresh than me! She'll definitely be a great help to u as well!

Actually don't hv to change to Rufiyaa lah....unless U're thinking of eating at hulhulhe airport, those restaurant or smaller shops. On other hand just bargain with them first on the USD xchg rates based on Maldivian Tourism board's recommended rates loh!

Oh yes.... sky juices, specifically evian will cost like USD5 ~ 6, and coke USD3. :P
If can bring more carton of water there! Hilton only provide complimentary one 1.25ltrs of drinking water per day!

their tap water although drinkable, it tasted salty, cos desalinated water mah. don't boil ur cup noodles with those tap water hor! it's taste very very weird!

Another tips for u folks going Hilton. To boil water for cup noodles, can use the coffee machine boiler or if best bring ur own mini kettle there(better choice cos coffee boiler needs several refills to cook for 2 person)!

Yo haru,

Kekekek..... actually got good and bad points going Maldives and stay at the best resort. Like me, stay at sunset water villa liao...then whenever my wife sees other villa in other resort, she shows me a no-no face. :P Off course it happens to me also lah!

Oh and for the upgrade....it's USD200++ plus that water villa price...USD700++ also!! Unless they give u a rate cheaper than listed, say USD300 for water villa, so it's USD200++ plus USD300++ = USD500++ (cheaper than the orginal water villa price of USD700++).

So for me..... that time beach villa USD150++ plus sunset water villa USD750++ thus = USD900++. Much cheaper than the original price of USD3000++!
U shld do that calculation also, unless U and hilton agrees on other terms.