Maldives

Wah..this thread is real amazing...now it's curry..;p yup..me also love curry...hot n spicy ones..

btw I've just upload my Perth trip pics..interested? ;p

hi hi!!

woah...tis thread certainly moves fast!! hees...
thnx m1rr0r & wu for clarifying my doubts abt gng in May previously! hehe...

But hor...paiseh..can ask again? Is it more worth it to go Club Med @ Maldives or stay at Hilton? Coz though club med is more exp but at least all meals provided. Cost of eating at Maldive hotels is quite high rite?

Normally, a package to Maldive(stay at hilton) oredi cost ard $3K+ per pax. How much more do i hv to set aside for meals &amp; sea sports there? Esp i heard of this underwater restaurant!!! Sounds gd but v v v exp!!! >.<

hi moonlight00, i was also considering club med last time, coz it's all inclusive, but in the end i chose hilton becoz been drooling over Wu's pics

and becoz nobody in this forum has been to club med since it re-opened, i dun wanna risk paying so much then dun like the room...

Wu said USD 60 - 100 for 2 per day
must eat late bfast then eat free pastry at tea time
*Wu, see I learn fast haha will do that later on*
but of course this is 'normal' meals
undersea USD 220 nett per pax
zhuzhu sent me the list of menu with price
u wan?

Hi Moonlight,

Kekeke...are U currently comtemplating whether to go Maldives or Mauritius?

It's difficult to compare Clubmed and Hilton. For clubmed, it's better to go for water villa, while for Hilton, the beach villas are of better value.
Yes U r right. Food is ex in Maldives resorts, imagine replacing Sing dollars with USD lah.

Adv of Clubmed:- All inclusive(food+wine+seasport), thus worry free.
Disadv:- Smaller villas, near to Male, can U take so much food??

Adv of Hilton beach:- Huge beach villas, 5stars resorts,undersea rest, top notch ambience, can take seaplane(extra).
Disadv:- Extra for lunch/dinner, extra for watersports.

Hilton Example:- S$6K for 2 pax, you can stay 1nite at Male n 5 nites(total 6 nites) comfortably at Hilton beach villa(May to July) with USD200 daily expenses(for food,excursion or watersports).

Clubmed example:- S$6K for 2 pax, U can stay 3 nites comfortable at Clubmed water villa(lowest rates of S$2125+airport tax+club membership), with USD262 spending(excursion + extra) per nite.

It'll all depends on u. Kekeke... for the same money, I would go for the Hilton package instead.

Don't forget, U arrive Clubmed at nite(ard 11pm), thus the 1st nite consider burnt!! left only 2nites
Whereas for Hilton, U'll stay 1 nite in Male then fly to Hilton in the morning/noon. Long nite leh!!!

*** Book direct from Hilton!!

Yo Mira,

Kekekek.....Yes!!! That's the trick to survive in HIlton Maldives... and save money!!! :P

Yo, better write Hilton an email to check whether the free tea break session still available. I hope I've not spoil the market by visiting the free tea break for 7 days straight. The management might be already scare....wha...these Singaporeans horrific man...then cancel all teabreak session. :P

CheerS!

muahahaha....yalor!!! Can't decide btw Maldives or Mauritius!! Totally torn!!! Coz UOB got promo for maurituis which i tot was pretty cheap..onli $1,736 (including tax) for 6 nights at Le meridien...but then i heard this hotel is not dat fantastic. so i tot of changing hotel but the agent hvnt got back to mi yet..hmph

Then i went to enquire abt club med. The website quote mi 3 nights Overwater lagoon suite / 3 nights Deluxe beach villa @ S$3400. But still need to add $60 for membership &amp; ard $200 for tax yah...which i tot might end up cheaper than hilton.

Yo m1rr0r, wld appreciate loads if u can send mi the menu px list!! hehe...thnx thnx!!

Yo wu..y is nearer to male an disadv? Water &amp; beach not as nice? hees
oh..so u book air tix &amp; accommodation separately? which airline did u take?

Hi Haru

i know the tien tien place u were referring to. we sometimes tabao from there when feeling v v hungry. the portions are HUGEE but end up paying cafe prices - serious - qt exp cos they use plastic container for all the different dishes...
talking abt it makes me drool le...aiyoh...

Moonlight: my two cents worth - i will definately choose Hilton cos of the water quality - go review Wu's pix again la kekkeke

cheers!!!

hey guys..

thnx so much for all ur advise!!
I went hilton webson &amp; try to bk online but sobz!!! seems to b fully booked during 2nd &amp; 3rd week of May liaoz leh...sighz...left onli smoking rooms...

umm...will the smell realli b bad uh?

Yo moonlight,

Y is near to Male disadv? Kekeke...4 me, I dive, so my perception is those area are very crowded. 2nd, near to Male airport, imagine airplane landing day and night? (read from review by those living near to Male airport)

This one have to ask bvbride, yo bvbride, when u r at ANgsana, heard any airplane landing?

From pics, clubmed water and beach looks okie lah...but accom wise, clubmed beach villa is still cannot compare with Hilton's ones loh. Unless u stay in Clubmed water villa, looks more decent, but can only stay for 3nite.

I took SQ to Male.

Smoking rooms? no problem lah, usually ppl don't smoke in rooms. Don't think got smell either. If u want non-smoking rms, maybe still available, jus write email to Hilton straight.(That's how Zhuzhu secure the rooms.)

U can view my album and decide whether to choose Mauritius or Maldives. Hee......

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645&amp;mode=guest

eh...I suspected the free tea break no more leh..duno where did i read..tot the free tea break is for those stayin in the water villas only?

Anyway har..sure got to eat some cup noodles one lar..i already prepared to pack 1 luggage full of food when I go there..

hi moonlight00, sent you 2 e-mail (from gmail and yahoo), one is the excursion rates i got from hilton, the other is the menu pricing i got from zhuzhu

i was also considering mauritius and it seems much cheaper coz most hotel stay are with bfast and dinner and all sports free
but i think the beach is like normal beach (same as phuket etc) while maldives is different coz it's an atoll

Yo Zhuzhu,

Don't be mistaken...water villa got their own tea break session also... cos u wouldn't want ur guest to walk ard 1km to the other island(main island) for tea break right.

The main island where the Beach villa is located also include the spa water villa, thus free tea break session are for them too. Anyway, keep ur finger cross though....hopefully Hilton wouldn't do that to us lah. :P

Remember, do go eailier to book the "comfortable" seat, say ard 4.45pm.

Yo zhuzhu...one more thing hor...u eat maggi mee in ur villa hor, most staff would know hor...cos their system is computerised one and they'll know u did not have ur lunch/dinner... Kekekeke...it happens to us then, a bit pai say lah, but nothing wrong also.

WOAH!!! Wu...stunning pics!!!! *drool drool**
Make mi feel like flying there rite away manz!!
hahaha
And gosh!! the underwater restaurant!!! u went!!!! so cool! How much did u &amp; ur wife spend in all for ur trip? $10K for two?
The agent was telling mi even if i were to reserve seats at the restaurant b4hand, may not even get it coz the bookings v hot!!!

oh..btw..how come need to book "comfy" seats for tea break sessions? hehe..pardon moi this sua ku here

m1rr0r, thnx thnx..rec'd ur mails liaoz..v helpful indeed!!

hi zhuzhu...mind sharing wif mi how u did ur bookings for ur maldive trip? Hv pm u...hees

Wu n zhuzhu
sent..

yup...for me, I'll rather go Hilton if compare wif Club Med. Hey Wu, u mean the staffs at Hilton got 'track' u one har...wah... like that if I dun eat at their restaurants everyday..they'll know right?

Yo Moonlight,

Kekekee....drool leh....kekeke..I still drool whenever i review my album again.:P

Ya, I went to the undersea rest for dinner but the food not to our liking. Will not go next time. I think they have other session at the undersea rest, I heard got wine tasting or something. Or alternatively, jus ask any staff bring u there walk walk.

Yes, u have to book early for the undersea rest. Cos only 12 seats.
I spend ard S$8k for 2 pax, 7 nites + 1 nite male, cheaper cos last year rates is lower.

Did u see my pics, the one with day bed ones? that's the comfy seats I'm talking about. A lot of ppl would go "Chop" place quite early. I alway chop the day bed plus my friends chop a table with 4 chairs.

Yo Starstar,

Kekekek..... I jus speculate lah... anyway becos we always walk here and there then they recog us loh, then 1st 3 days we alway never eat anything at the Atoll market(rest) loh, and they always ask us wanna to have lunch? They also know we are with breakfast only somemore, then where we eat? Last but not least, we dispose the cup noodles cup into the villa, and every day they would clear the bin, off course scary lah, almost 8 cups per day leh(4 pax,lunch and dinner 1st 3 days). kekekekek...... :P

Wu
ok..I tot they actually tell ya that u haven been patronising their restaurant blah blah... quuite scary if like that...kekeke..:p I was thinking if I go next year, I wanna eat instant noodles most of the days..cos I'll get sick of the food there n also very ex... more practical this way..;p

hey..your pics har.. dun keep 'flashing' out to tempt me leh...:p

Starstar
Will view ur pics tonite..

Moonlight
I just wrote to Hilton and ask them if the dates I wan is available..then ask them to reserve for me while I booked my air tix..they quite good..they actually give me a confirmation no. then I immed go book my air tix..
Oh the reason I wrote to them becos the beach villa is not available online when I wan to book

Wu
Nevermind lar..anyway this might be the 1st n last time i go maldives..be thick skinned abit lor..last time i went to banyan tree bintan..also ate cup noodles for some meals..heck care.. I looked at their meal pricing..already wan to faint liao..

Yo Starstar,

Kekekke.... no lah. However must be careful also. Some of the staff are really sweet talking. That's the reason why I try the undersea rest, and upgrade to the sunset water villa, due to their Marketing power!!!

No lah.. really cannot eat cup noodles every day. We gave up on the 3rd nite...really Buay Ta Han liao....sick of the noodles.

Yo.....wha ur perth trip got some pics almost same as the one I took also leh...kekeke..like the 1 mile jetty lah, indian/southern oceans lah, wind mill lah etc... I just review my perth trip album with yours...sama sama! :P

Yo...still interest in "Our" Biz venture? I might have just found a way to do it. Have to discuss in detail loh....see so many ppl interested in Maldives liao...kekekek... :P

Wu
definitely...
hey can email me your new findings..me very very lost wif business. :p

haha..yup..agree totally wif ya... I saw your Perth pics too.. looks like carbon copy leh..:p

hi zhuzhu, e-mailed liao

hi moonlight00, tot u already saw the pics and still considering others hahaha
me also budget S$6k for 2, 5N hilton 1N male.
But im going 10 jul, just before the price increase
i booked directly from hilton.com and bought airticket directly from singaporeair.com

zhuzhu n mirror
hey u gals going there soon right? ;p bet u all goona enjoy n fall in luv wif the place... it's a paradise man...

oops..double post

btw..mirror, $6K for 2 enuff ah? if we bk direct wif hilton, does dat mean we need to settle the accommodation at Male &amp; transport to Hilton ourselves separately?

How come when i compute, Hilton acommodation (5N) + air tix incl tax will be ard $2.7K liaoz leh...v little allowance left for Male accommodation &amp; transfer..ummm?

hees...so paiseh..pls bear wif mi..not v gd at these online reservation thinggy haha

Yo Moonlight,

I free now...
I Kay-po do calculation for u oki? .....kekekeke......

HIlton beach May~July period per nite:-USD236 nett
Seaplane transfer:- USD540 nett return for 2
1 nite Male stay:- USD100
SQ return for 2:- Ard S$1600 nett

So 5 nites Hilton beach viila trip will cost u around:- S$4600(USD1 ~ S$1.65)

That means U still got S$1400 or USD848 for spending. That's USD170 per nite spending for 2. Shld be good enough!!

Hmmm..... seems like everybody oredi left the work place... Kekekek...

Sianz...feeling cold and hungry and now doing overtime today. Anyone free to chat???

Maldives anyone???

yo Wu...hey u email me on your plans abt the venture? ;p wah..overtime..kekeke...my hubby also coming home late..nite flying...

Yo Starstar,

Email liao.
Tell me what u think.

Will go find out more lah.

Oh......night flying.... aiya, exercise loh, cater for my unit is it? kekeke....to practice firing at helicopters!!! :P

Anyway, ur hubby flying what ah? UH1, super puma, chinook?

Thanks Mirror
Got it..

moonlight
No need to reply to you liao..Wu, the Maldives expert already ans to ur queries...

Anyway, I haven't book the Male hotel...anyway no hurry for dat..

hi moonlight, i bought sq 2-to-go promo, S$ 1548 nett for 2 (must purchase by 31 mar'06)
w/o promo i think S$ 300 nett more ex for 2.
well, S$ 6k is budget, if got more money later maybe can upgrade deluxe beach villa/one of the water villa :p plus fine dining hahahah

Soo desuka!!!
Thanks so much all!!

Wah...Wu, appreciate ur calculation so much!!
hehe....no wonder...the website didnt seem to show the rate of the beach villa leh..
When i try to bk, they juz let mi choose among the king villas which are at least USD480...dat's y no matter how i compute, the cost seem rocket high!!! muahahah

Now i noe!!! thnx thnx =D
tink will email them again...
they hv a promo rite now...5 day of bliss...at their water villa...so tempted to take dat but dat'll mean i gona start eating grass rite now liaoz!! haha

Hello all

WU : i really didnt notice any sound from planes
cannot rememeber if i saw any though hmmm...maybe i was just too immersed in the beauty of Maldives
dun hv to worry so much i think. btw thnk top notch soneva gilli also very near to airport

u OT yesterday arr...aiyoh too bad was on one day leave yesterday - went to the shaslik with husb plus our close fren - had wonderful steak sans sauce - but still great - dunno what seasoning they use la. we all ordered their signature beef shaslik - still good plus one more main (chkn) to share plus another soup to share - total <$120

still no time to chk DBS Vickers - will do so when free..if u working on sat u might see me here cos shld be working this sat - unless i too tired to come in la haha

hi moonlight, when i booked, all the available types of room was shown, coz mine is july so i think all still available.
i hope when u e-mail them can get

very excited!! still 3.5 months to go for me!

Yo bvbride,

Oic...then probably Clubmed shld be Okie too. Really hv to depends the landing path of the Airliner.

Ya, not only Gili, paradise, full-moon,bandos and kurumba are much nearer.
Surprising hor, fullmoon after renovation(Tsunami) hor looks more like it leh, esp their rooms. Too bad it's so near to Male. No fun liao.

Hmm..... ur dinner seems to be rather good value leh. $120 for how many pax?
A few weeks back I go Tony Romas with my wife already spend $80 buck liao.... anyway, it'll be another few yrs b4 I go back again, their menu never change.

Kekeke.....take ur time lah. I also wanna to sign up with vickers, it's been 1 yr plus liao, the appl form still on my desk. I wanna to do some US stock trading using local broker as well.

Yo moonlight,

A weird question for u. Do u have dogs at home? Kekeke... anyway, so far I only know dog's owner laugh like that! >> Muahahahahahahhahahah!!!

The word "King" means King size bed. "Twin" means twin bed. U must check it's beach or water villa.

Anyway, I don't think water villa is a good choice. becos, from feedback, the villa are old.... need reno liao. Go for the newer beach villas or if can, the new spa villa or deluxe water villa.

Kekekek.....anyway I'm eating grass now to save up for my next trip, which is 100% worth it!

Yo mira,

Tink tok tink tok....count down liao leh...kekeke... I know ur feelings....N I miss that feelings very much!!

Hey zhuzhu,

Can I get from you the hilton's menu as well? So that I can do my budgeting.

If anyone got the updated excursion rate, can send me as well? Wu sent me the rates are when he went the last time. I wonder if there is any changes in the price. Hee. Thanks!

Time to do some calculations

Thx thx!!

heyz wu..haha..got this kinda logic one meh? 1st time i'm hearing this!!! kekeke...
But then....gosh! I do really happen to hv a doggie manz!!!! MUAHAHahahaha ^.^

Sighz..still waiting anxiously for a reply from Hilton!! If realli no more rooms left, then mebe i'll head for club med instead liaoz >.<

mirror..so nice!!! **envious** U can start counting down to a great vacation liaoz!!! hees

Yes Moonlight,

GOt logic....kekek...and the owner normally own a small breed dog, specifically a Jack Russell! HAve I guess correctly? :P Muahahahahahh!!

Yo Mish,

Hv U decide when u are going? KEkeke.... Aiyo this year so many ppl going, next year donno got ppl go or not?

**FAINTZ** How on earth did u get this logic?
muahahaha....mine's a mini schnauzie

Urs??

Now dilemna...Club Med reverted to mi wif a quote. All-in 6N (3N lagoon suite 3N deluxe beach villa) $3.7K per pax...shld i go? shld i go? >.< Hvnt heard from Hilton yet! sobz... =Þ

Wu,

I will be going in Oct. Probably right after my wedding banquet. If not just one week later. Probably going to take the package that u told me - 7N for 5N. hee. Go there to nua! Sound good?

*burp* free lunch at marche suntec hee
treated some important customer

err i also laugh "mwahahaha" if using MSN.. but no dog, i'm terrified of dog *blush* even how small/tame...

hi mish, just sent you the excursion, i see the update was quite long ago, so what you have might be the same. but i got it directly from hilton earlier this month lor

hi Wu, u spent $8k for 2pax for 7N at hilton rite?
then moonlight, i suggest u go hilton instead lar :p
somemore Wu upgraded for the last 3N rite?

Yo moonlight,

Kekeke... No lah, just kidding, not logic at all. However dog's forum ppl always laugh like that.

I got 2 doggie, 1 Golden Ret, and 1 English Cocker.
So whos gonna take care of ur MS when U're there in Maldives? Kekekek.... :P

Does the S$3.7K per pax incl airport tax? likely not loh, then it'll be S$3.9K per pax.

Yo Mish,

Yes yes, the purpose to go Maldives is really to Nua. I can still remember the 1st 4 days, time really are crawling, so slow which is good lah.

Hey do remember the offer ends end OCT.

Yo Mira,

Okie....guess the doggie laugh already spread to other non-dogs owner. :P Kekekek....

ANyway mira, don't forget mine trip hor, the airtix only S$398+161 only per pax. Then beach villa only USD150++, seaplane only USD250 per pax and upgraded becos we backside itchy....kekekek...
Don't think it's that easy to have that price lah.
However, I think 8k still enough for 7N beach villa + 1 nite Male loh.

Anyway, I don't like those resort that is near Male, then 1st nite they include in the package also. Who would enjoy on the first nite, so late and tired liao.

ANd yes for 8K I would rather choose Hilton cos effectively it's 8 nites(7 nite hilton + 1 nite male). FOr Clubmed it would be 5 nite + half nite. :P