Maldives

starstar
Wah..aerospace ah...chim leh..got this type of course meh?? Me lagi worse lar..only a biz degree...really earn peanuts...

Funny thing..I used to study finance in sch (or should I say specialisation)..but think now all return to teachers liao..

hi zhuzhu,
actually me never a fan of pedi until i did it for my wedding photoshoot and wedding day. and the pedi lasts for about 1-3 mths.i normally only go for pedi coz hsework would ruin mani too quick plus i so chor lor, sure chip in no time. hahhahaha...i mostly wear birkies/flips flops so i get to "admire" the nice nails more!=P

hey Wu and zenn and fanfan,
gosh, the investment talk is getting more blur liao..hahah..i've nvr realy been good with figures and all. i think stocks is good for returns too, but normally they require large sums of $$ which i am nt prepared to fork out. am looking at smthing that i can contribute to monthly with a small sum. i guess thats why unit trusts first got my interest.

hi bvbride,
i also tried contact lens for awhile, but in the end i figured way too troublesome and i really dun like hving to take it out,a lil scary. so i'm too lazy/forgetful(mite forget to take out) and anyway my eyesight nt too bad, so mainly wear for watching tv and driving..i prefer wearing glasses,much more convenient. but if ur degree is quite deep, i agree that Lasik wil def make a lot of diff. =>

talkin of main field of work/study, i think given a choice again i would wanted to do something either related to marine biology or something, sounds realy cool and different..plus wil prob hv to go out to sea often!hahahha....

Haru
Wah..ur pedi can last 1-3 mths ah? mine i tink the max 2 wks..sure gone liao..Same as you..I never tried pedi b4 until i need it for my photoshoot..but i still dun like it..find it a waste of $$..i rather go buy those stickers and do it myself..

hmmm we should start returning this thread to maldives...

hi zhuzhu,
well, it depends on what nail polish they use. i've gone to hollywood secrets so far and they really really lasts. it also depends if u mind if ur nail starts to grow. so far, mine doesnt chip until more than a mth. its more like the nail starts to grow out. i'll be trying out SNAILS at wheelock tom. a lil more ex, but looks much more comfortable! i'm hopeless when i do it myself plus it NEVER lasts when i do it myself..=P

Yo Starstar,Fanfan,haru,Zhuzhu

Hmm...... Must make it clear. The terms peanuts in Singapore(after NKF case) is actually worth $600K hor! So if U say U earn peanuts, then U must be very rich!!! :P Kekekkee.....

Yo Haru,

Actually don't need a lot of money for stocks investment. However U need quite a large amount for Singapore Blue chip, but if U wanna to trade in US, U can also just buy 1 share(Not realistic lah), the sale charge can be high than the share itselfs.
I normally buy a couple hundreds of shares in an US stock, in several company to reduce my risk. Some of the company shares just cost USD3~5(i.e sun microsystem, Ciena network etc....)
I just sold off Taiwan semicon for USD9.69, which I bought 1 year ago at just USD7.40, just 354 share gave me a yield of 37% incl dividend, much better than the bank isn't it?

Aiyo....I'm not aerospace engineer lah.... I'm only a Hard disk Drive engineer, with seagate. :P

Okie....back Maldives topics lah....kekekek.

Yo Starstar....ya..W-hotel is that ex....so....for that price, if got money, might as well go to Reethi Rai, Huvafen or even Soneva Gili, or HIlton Spa villa!

Hi wu,

Any comments on Velidhu Island Resort and any idea whats your homepage? I tried searching under Yahoo but cant find...

hi zhuzhu,
my pedi at SNAILS today was great, i loved the relaxing atmosphere. am definitely going back!

hey everyone,
gosh,gues what? was walking around paragon today and my sis and i decided to check out the new andana spa. it was sooooo cool that i book a full-day spa for 2 pax (hubby and i) that we can go to one day. hubby was really happy when i showed him the voucher so we'll prob take leave one of days in the coming to go enjoy a full day at the spa. can't wait! i was like oh boy..should i?but i think bout hubby working so much lately, really wanted to spoil him a lil.think he really needs it..=P

Hey Haru
I walk past SNAILS b4..pretty X rite?

Wu
I should change the words..I am earning groundnuts!!! (abit bo liao here
355208.gif

hi zhuzhu,
its $35 for a pedi. most places charge $30 for pedi. but for extra $5, you get a more comfortable n pleasant experience. definitely worth it. the pple there are nice too..=>

hey zenn,
yup, its at the 6th flr at paragon. I paid $128 per pax (excl GST). the good thing is that food and beverage is incl in the full day spa...so u can just nua all day~!!!!!!

Thanks alot Chin Leng
355308.gif

Oh..I just got a list of Hilton dinning menu/price list and also their spa menu & price list...anybody wans it, let me know..

Their sunset candlelight dinner is very X
355309.gif

Hi Wu, zhuzhu, zenn and haru,
Am considering my HM in maldives. especially liked hilton's settings and decor. was wondering if you can point me the way to find a good pricing website for hilton. thanks in advance. btw, planning for early september HM. is it a good time to go then??

hi m1rror and zhuzhu, thanks for the prompt info. if u dun mind sharing, how much did u pay for the package. now doing the calculation and contemplating between clubmed and hilton. clubmed is offering all incl package for 4D3N at S$2,125(for a lagoon suite) per pax plus another S$60 per pax for clubmed membership. it's pretty new too, just opened in dec last yr. was hoping to get more info about hilton, as i remember many years ago looking at a photos of hilton's room and was mesmerized by it.

really appreciate all your help.

Hi greentea,

It's good to visit Maldives all year round, just that ard July till later part of the year, there's more rain fall.
Cheapest time to go Maldives is ard May till July. However seems like Club Med does not follow such rule. Their price is somewhat alternating.

So far, booking from Hilton website seems to be the cheapest.
It's difficult to compare Clubmed and Hilton. Ur rates quote by Clubmed is the water suite(aka Water villa). The rates quoted is All inclusive whereby all meals are provided, with free flow red/whie wine even in the afternoon.
As for Hilton, during that period, it's impossible to have that price for the water villa, unless U opt for the beach villa,whereby HIlton will have free nites offer during that period.

However do remember the rates quoted by clubmed does not include the airport tax which will likely amount to S$200+ per pax!
U'll be transfer to Clubemed by speedboat while HIlton is by speed plane!

Sorry for being blunt, but we always ask this question, how much would be ur budget? With that, we can roughly give u a more comprehensive calculation.

good morning everyone

I've got the rates of mihiri for the winter period..the water villa is less than USD450 per night? do u guys think it's a good deal?? I'm totally blur...heehee

Yo Fanfan,

The rates seems to be average, However for that kind of water villa, think it's consider rather good deal. Can consider Clubmed as well. If I'd done my calculation correctly, Clubmed water villa will be ard USD562 nett per nite but it's all inclusive. That's ard USD100 per nite. I think ur Mirihi quote is based on Breakfast only right? Don't forget seaplane is extra as well.

It's up to you!!

Good Afternoon all...

WU - still very puzzled abt how to go abt trading in US stock - maybe i shld try and do it from DBS. any idea how high is their very high sales charge? was exploring ameritrade and etrade that u recommended - very the lost la

Haru - full day spa arr..hmmm....what time to what time? but u are only entitled to X no of treatment right? whole day as in u can chill there for the rest of the day after the treatment la?? ie use their jacuzzi etc etc..

Good Afternoon all...

WU - still very puzzled abt how to go abt trading in US stock - maybe i shld try and do it from DBS. any idea how high is their very high sales charge? was exploring ameritrade and etrade that u recommended - very the lost la

Haru - full day spa arr..hmmm....what time to what time? but u are only entitled to X no of treatment right? whole day as in u can chill there for the rest of the day after the treatment la?? ie use their jacuzzi etc etc..

hi bvbride,
you are free to use the spa all day from 10am - 11pm. the only treatment inclusive is a 45 min massage. the hot and cold pool/steam room,internet access,F&B etc are all free for use all day..will let you all noe when i've gone how e experience is. =P

aiyoh why double posting ..
btw anyone here can recommend me a not too expansive place to eat steak dinner? (pref <$80 per head) but must be nice nice one ok

Yo bvbride,

Actually quite simple lah. I think for Etrade, U'll have to call US to open acc. Anyway, I would recommend U long term investment instead of speculation. So for long term wise, DBS's USD29 shld be superficial lah(whereas my etrade per trade is USD12.99).

Okie lah DBS shld be good enough for U, one advantage is that it's local loh so for transfering money it's easy, just go to any DBS.
bank. To open a Vickers trading acc with DBS, you can download their application online or best go to any DBS bank and ask for the appl forms. Complete it then post. That's all. For more details, do visit DBS website for info.

Below I've attached the DBS vickers trading charges link.
ANything not sure do let me know again. Okie.

http://www.dbsvonline.com/English/index.asp

Yo bvbride,

Cheapest place to have steak? Got! Jack's place loh! KEkekeke........ I usually cook steak myself at home. Much nicer than outside ones... Kekeke...Cos I can control how much source I want! :P

Hi Wu,
Thanks for the info, din know about airport tax. Will inlcude that in too. Really appreciate your help. with ur knowledge of maldives, u can consider prividing honeymoon travel consultancy over a website and get referral fees from resorts and hotels.

as for the budget (btw, it's not blunt, budget is always a good OB marker) we've set aside about S$6k to S$7k for a 5D4N trip for 2 persons. the attractive part of club med was the all inclusive portion also, as i din want to fuss over spending during our HM. went to the bintan clubmed a few years ago and enjoyed the all inclusive concept.

hi bvbride,
u can try Just Steak shd be about S$50 per head. If u want to pay a bit more Morton's of Chicago at Oriental hotel is very nice. but pricey. their porter house cut, which is very huge, 2 of u can share. price wise it's about S$120 per pax. but my all time favourite is Gordon's grill at goodwood park hotel. some credit cards might have promotion and if so, it's really worth it. if u can, u shd try their wagyu beef. the marbling of the beef is gorgeous and it literally melts in ur mouth. if u take the wagyu it'd be a bit pricey, about S$80+++ for a 100gm of beef alone. but the other cuts are much cheaper, shd be less than S$80 per head and pretty good too. Stuart andersen's black angus beef is not too bad also, about S$40 per head. try the outlet at esplanade, feels better.

Hi greentea,

U are an beef steak expert!!! Kekeke....

Ur S$6K ~ $7K is good for the Clubmed water villa, probably ard 4 nites. Or like Zhuzhu or Mirror, U can also try Hilton beach villa, for 5 nites.

I off course recommend HIlton lah...kekeke...cos I find the beach villa really value for money
and will go back again soon. However, Clubmed water villa is pretty good, so does the ALl-inclu thingy(actually full-board is good enough liao). Mirihi Water villa looks really nice too, worth considering.

You can wait for Zhuzhu to come back from her May's Hilton Maldives trip to have a second opinion, since ur trip would be during sept, still got time.
However, during sept, Hilton will be up liao, starting from USD360++ instead of USD200++, unless u stay 7nites pay only 5nites.

Chhers!

bvbride
u can try Hog's Breathe Cafe at Chjmes. Just opened. If u been to Aussie, guess u know it's a very good place to catch a good beef steak.

Wu
wah...u can open another counter for doing steak liao...
cool... a man who cook...;p

Yo starstar,

Kekekeke......no lah... I jus don't like outside those steak loh, no sauce leh. I know lah, ppl want to taste the original beef flavour. For me, I preferred those with lots of sauce, much nicer loh.

Off course must know how to cook lah, else my 2 years in UK study, died liao loh, eat those Angmo food, :P

hi Wu,
u are like my hubby, everything also must have plenty of sauce...hahah..

wow, all this talk bout steak making me drool....

Yo Starstar,

Yes indeed, useful 2yrs but really hard work. At times need to do part time, as a chinese take away cook to earn some living, else not enough money to survive. :P

Kekeke....no problem, to save money, will still cook on my own, much much cheaper! My sauce I can add until cover the whole steak...kekekek.. my Parents in law's family also like my steak. Cheap and nice.

Yo Haru,

Kekekeke....is ur hubby Hainanese? Most Hainanese would like plenty of sauce on their rice, like the Scissors curry rice lah....lots of sauce.

This thread is getting more n more amazing! Can talk from Maldives to investment to Steak....kekekeke.....

Hello all

whao indeed man all the food discussion le....
thx greentea for your recommendations - too bad buying a couple of people dinner now so sticking to shaslik at far east shopping centre for now - more economical - almost booked gordon grill! if itz just my ah lau and i then will go for it

thx starstar for your recommendation too - will keep that in mind

btw Wu -- u really wear many hats le...now something new :part time chef !!! whoa....
u hainanese issit? i think so le cos u eat lots of sauce and very "tern" your wifey

my ah lau is Teochew but eats alot sauce too leh...ketchep la, chinese brown sauce la. curry sauce lah....aiyoh

starstar: hvnt tried the famous "scissors" curry rice yet man...me a big big fan of curry rice! i freq one that is like 5mins drive fr my house but they open at 4am and close at 9plus am!!! very comforting food
but i try to skip the curry gravy cos itz not my fav - the pork chop and cabbage is good enough

hi bvbride,
i like curry rice too! coz i live in the west, i normally go to tian tian curry rice at henderson in a coffeeshop, been eating than since i was like 10 yrs old...

Bvbride
I was about to recommend shaslik to you also..I din know about this place until a couple of wks ago..my colleagues brought me there...cheap &amp; good