Maldives

Wu and Starstar: agree with u wise pple, personal spending can reel in somewhat if i discipline myself

Fanfan: thx for the concern - gog tonight only cos didnt bring specs to work yesterday gog str after work today.

shld end up with plastic lens now cos collegues commented that my specky is very heavy - yikes! how come make so many wrong choices aiyoh................

Star star: just some weeks ago there were plenty of good oscar nominated movies like Transamerica, north country etc
but no time to watch. want to watch something this sat but therez nothing good now ...just some horror flick and thatz it !
Lasik is expansive - wat till itz cheaper la haha..
good luck with your Shang adventure
i also want to know the pricing soon

cheers!!

Hi wu,
0.5k or 5k SA? Ya can consider India. Personally also feel got potential
If you investing do it soon since price is low n we cant ve family production in the mth of May. Ask ur wife to run for it ya hee

I didnt really source for hotels liao. Now is btw Mirihi and White sand.

Star star,

Perth is a nice place- of course not the city la. I go back at least once a year for the last 3 years. Hee. Of course that's becoz i miss the place. Same as you - I like the south but not the city. City is kinda boring.

Wu, I also wont go to tree top walk again. Really once is enough but I go back for the beaches, winery, farms. of course the beaches not as nice as your Maldives!!! hehehe. (But its a cheaper holiday!!)

Hey
Its fri...and I got no mood to work now...

Bvbride
Me the same as you...leaving my 20s very soon..

Haru
So how..u still cannot decide whether to go maldives this yr?

Hi hi!!
Wondering if anione hv been to Maldives in mid-May? Will it be rainy? Been getting conflicting findings from various agents >.<

thnx thnx

hi Wu and zenn,
are you talking bout investments? i am also thinkin a lil bout doing some small investments. hubby and i not much savings at all, but i tot prob a good time to start doin sm investment for future returns. just went to HSBC the other day to find out about their unit trusts. whats ur opinions about unit trusts?

hi zhuzhu,
ya lor...i think i dun really wana think too much about it for now. no funds leh...
kao_cry.gif

sigh, i can feel my mood abit low today...duno why leh..maybe coz i know we have no holiday plans yet...=P so spoilt rite?

hi m1rr0r,
ya..i was a lil hesitant at first.duno if i shld even think bout investments now.esp if i put aside sm $$ for investment, not much left at all for lesiure stuff like holidays and treats. but i guess for the long term its beneficial...

Yo moonlight00,

Normally Maldives shld not rain consecutively for days. However in some review, ppl did mention several day rain.Some locals there did also mention there's only shower in Maldives. Personally I encounter 1 huge tropical storm durin July period. It'll really depends on luck loh. Rule of thumb, :- go for more days.

Anyway, nowsaday the weather ard the world is unpredictable loh....

Yo Haru,

ppl who bought unit trust are those who wants to invest for mid-long term. In fact, unit trust are consist of huge amount of money from many ppl, pool together to buy several company shares/stocks.

It'll really depends on u loh...either invest urself or buy from banks or Ins giants such as AIA, prudential etc...

For me, my highest return in investment came from stocks(up to 100%), second is my AIA funds(up to 15%).

I never studied much on HSBC funds but generally most of these ppl who sell U these funds don't even have a clear idea of what they're selling. You can simply ask them for a specific funds, who is the major equity holdings, most of them will say don't know and the rest say they will check for u. :P

Actually I would suggest U to study more about investment b4 putting in ur hard earn money. For me, My cash will go into US stocks, while CPF funds will go into either stocks or my AIA funds, bought thru my wifey

It's also a good choice to buy investment link policy, that U pay regularly(ie. monthly). Not only it gives u protection, it'll buy funds for u monthly(which is good in the sense that it'll average out ur investment,esp for long term, say 10-20yrs, a strategy used by all investor around the world). The bad point is their sale charges is high. :P

Hope it helps.....

hihohiho
everyone talking abt investment and stuff ... me know nuts also. but i still feel that u need to hold unit trust for a long period of time (ie >5years) to see any significant "results". not too keen on those myself...

dun even knw how to buy sell shares using the internet. maybe can park alittle bit of $$ w relatives who got the know how and let them buy sell on your behalf...hmmm......

cheers!!

Hi haru and wu,

Wu, looks like you explained everything haha

Haru, Wu and I were talking of CPF investment. If you are looking at cash, its good to first work out your expense. You should look into investment only if you have extra. Next you might wanna look into your risk profile and preference. For high risk invester and prefer to invest on your own, they will prefer stocks and share. But most of the ppl don't have the knowledge and time hence they will look into unit trust/investment link.

Unless you have extra lump sum of cash, if not like what Wu has mentioned, you should consider regular investment link policy.

Just my cents of thoughts...

Yo bvbride,

Kekeke..... U free liao is it... :p

Actually not really lah.... but rule of thumb is to prepare to hold long term.

My AIA funds only bought for around 4 yrs using special acc. My return is 12% per annum
that's ard S$2600+ for S$5000 dollars invested. If not for their high sales charges, I can get even more.

Not a good idea to park with relatives or friends lah. Everyone can learn from scatch. I actually know nuts, just some simple rules and guideline, and can read a bit of chart. That's all.

U can open an acc with DBS or Citibank, they can facilities to trade US stocks. DBS uses vickers as broker while Citibank uses Smith barney.

http://www.dbsvonline.com/English/index.asp
http://www.citibank.com.sg/ (go to brokerage services)

However, their sales charges is very high.

Alternative, U can open trading acc with direct US brokerage such as etrade(I'm using), Ameritrade, sharebuilder etc....

http://www.sharebuilder.com/sharebuilder/Index.asp
http://www.ameritrade.com/index1.html
https://us.etrade.com/e/t/home

However, the most important thing is how to pick a company, i.e which company to buy? Beware! US stocks are generally more volatile as compare to SIngapore Stocks. Example like my company stocks, Seagate, 1 day it can swing down by 80 cents.

hi wu,
hmm..ya, thats wat i tot too. thats why lookin for alternative choices. the AIA funds sounds interesting. is that completely diff from insurance/savings plans? i already have one which i am putting in quite a bit everymth.now looking at something else which can yield returns of at least 10%...anyone care to shed some light on investment link policy?

Yo Zenn,

Kekekeke...... with a wife doing financial sales, I do need to know about all sorts of insurance as well... KEKekkke...
ANyway, all investment link stuff are also closely related with Stocks, bonds, cash etc...

Well if can hor, I would rather park all my CPF in stocks, US stocks..... Kekekek...I like risk. High Risk = High returns!!!

However, my perception are, even for unit trust or investment link stuff, it's best to have some knowledge on where does our money go, where is it investmented, in what sector. However, most funds are doing good due to the global equities re-bounced, and most of their performance also closely tight up with Global issue such as oil prices, US/Japan economy as well.

Anyway in short, we must invest lah.... with inflation at 2-3%, our money in bank are in fact losing steam.... Kekekkeke....

hi Wu,
fully agree..my boss been investing in some US and Europe investment plans for less than 2 years, already seeing really good returns. the downside is that it require min of US$500 per month, thats way too much for me....bummer.

Yo Haru,

For Unit trust or funds >>>
Generally there are 2 types of funds. 1 is purely on equities(stocks), higher risk. THen 2 is balance fund(stocks plus bonds).
If U are looking at more than 10%, that'll be equities funds. However, 1 of my AIA balance fund yielding ard 12% p.a.
This is 1 time upfront payment,at least 5K

For investment link policy >>>
u'll not see the immediate effect....nomrally hv to wait for more than 10 yrs, as most of ur money would go into protection instead of investment. Investment policy comprises of 2 component, 1 is protection and the other would going to buy funds.
These can go monthly or yearly. Cash only! For me, S$100 monthly for an AIA plan and S$100 for another prudential plan.

oppss....

Kekeke..... Okie okie we are in Maldives thread Ok!!! Kekekeke... :P

Yo Mira,

Anyway, investment is also closely related with Maldives. With no investment and no money, can forget Maldives liao....kekekekkeke :P

I'll decide whether to go Maldives, Hilton this year in the next 2 months. DOn't ask me why but kekeke...... Just need to settle something loh. :P

Anyway, if go will likely go in July....kekeke...Might see U there as well. :P

Cheers!!

Hahaha,

Wu, you can 'help' your wife to sell liao :p

Hey I remember some of you here were keen in Whitesand. Any conclusion?

Yo Zenn,

Kekekeke...... ya...in fact, most of my friends, collegue got plans from her.

Seems like now only left with Stan Lim interested in White sand. But he already MIA for so so long.

So with him not ard...it's only left with U liao.... Kekekek....

Hi wu,

How long have your wife been in the biz?

Ya looks like most of them are been 'influenced' by you to go Hilton hehehe

Whitesand is much cheaper than Mirihi but not sure nice or not. My client went to mirihi and highly recommended...

Yo Zenn,

I think coming to 8 yrs liao loh.
wht abt U?

Kekeke....don't like that say..kekek.. Actually I look ard for so long hor...Hilton beach villa is really worth the money loh. Anyway, don't think the rates will stay that low for long also. While for other 4* resort, most of their rates are still low..... that's why I would choose Hilton again. I can go to other resort some other time though.

Yes...and it's a bit risky if no one has ever visited the resort here, i.e. white sand. Cos review is jus review, Ang Mo taste bud very much diff from Local heres... so... If I'm u, would consider Mihiri as well. Another water villa worth considering is the Club med ones. Price probably the same though.

Wu, your wife in AIA?

agree that unit trust must hold mid-long term..the charges so high and the stocks dun shoot up sky rocket overnight..so nid to hold some time to at least recover back the charges then profit..

dun pool everything into 1 basket..US stocks now doing quite well..i've my company's shares as investment in the US market..haha..so far so good. *crossing fingers*

can try ILP or endowment for those with low risk and dun want to understand abt investments at all..of cos, these returns are generally lower, not more than 5%..

if you've the risk appetite, can try buying Thai and Korea funds

Wu, I joined in the year 1999. So your wife should be 1 yr my senior hehe

Ya I understand thats why hoping to hear from someone who been to Whitesand :p

hmm toking bout unit trust thing..i also had some unit trust thing with AIA..and I dun even know how to read those statements and books that they always send to me...its like throwing $$ into duno where..

Hello Wu
waiting for right time to sell issit hence the 2mths wait and see period issit?? kekeke..
went to the etrade thingy and i began to see stars le...whao piang...dunno singaporean can open or not...too confusing la....
i cannot find the Mihiri website le...anyone got the info? Wu u seen it?
dun mind exploring around altho my heart tells me to go for Hilton

today slightly more free..dunno abt next week kekeke.....

Fanfan - u sounded like the expert in investment too. u agent with AIA too?

Hi zhuzhu,

Alot of people have problem reading the statement. Actually on the statement, it did state the funds you invested in, no of units you have and the bid price on the date of statement. The statement will also show the value at that point of time.

Alternative, you can multiple the no of units you have with the current bid price which you can see at www.aia.com.sg to know you current value

Haru
I never really enjoy doing pedi &amp; medi..not used to it...

Hi Zenn
Actually what i really wan to know is..how much returns I can get...

Hi zhuzhu,

The figure under Total Surrender Value will be the est amount you will get back if you sell off your investment. Actual amount will base on the day bid price when co do the trading.

Yo bvbride,

Kekeke...... No lah. Some other reason, but can consider investment also lah.Kekekeke:P

Etrade? S'porean sure can open. However as for the charges, I think Ameritrade or sharebuilders are cheaper.
Buying and selling stocks is easy, chosing 1 is difficult!

Hahaha......Looks like U are another person brainwash successfully by me.Kekeke...... Anyway, at least U have view Hilton pics that I've took...so that's why U're preference mah.
We don't have much pics on Mirihi or whitesand or other resort.

Yo Zhuzhu,Zenn,

Kekeke.... another quick way is to view ur investment online lah, AIA ecare website.

U must remember when U start the investment, how much money invested. Once U log-in, just look at ur funds current value. Minus off ur initial investment then divide by no. of yrs U'll get a approximate ROI p.a.

One thing I don't like about Insurance related funds is I cannot do real time selling, unlike stocks, I can even put up a limit price for selling or buying :P

yo people..it's friday!!!!

Wu
wah.. u can open up another stall for investment consultation besides the Maldives one...:p kekeke...

hey...can u re post the rates for W hotel? didn't catch it that time..:p

bvbride
aiyo..LASIK not ex now lah..last time is..now i think it's worth the $$ cos think in the long run..u'll save $$ on lens solutions.. new contact lens n specs... u'll save more in long run... I agree it's heart pain to part abt $2k on LASIK but the hassle n $$ saved in future is worth the minute pain...:p well this is how I think before deciding on the LASIK.

Yo Starstar,

No lah....the things I know are just surface only. The real Gurus in Investment can be found on this website. If interested can go ask them a few question:-
www.sgfunds.com

Oki here are the W-Hotel price! Don't puke Okie!

While W-Hotel price is:-

1)Marvellous Beach Retreat:- USD1300++ (BB)
181.77sqm

2)Marvellous Aqua Retreat:- USD2100++ (BB)
156.45sqm

3)Twin Beach Retreat:- USD2600++ (BB)
369.24sqm

4)WOW Retreat:- USD3200++ (BB)
315sqm

5)Extreme Retreat:- USD5100++ (BB)
491.50sqm

wu
er...the rates is per nite is it or what? what's BB? breakfast? hmm.. what's the difference bet each retreat? abit the blur..:p

Yo starstar,

Kekeke.... Yes! It's per nite! Killer right?

BB is bed n breakfast. Sub retreat with Villa loh.... they wanna use diff names from other resort mah! Trying to be diff. :P

Aqua shld be water villa lah. The Twin beach villa should be like those in Reethi Rai...with 2 identical beach villa join together.

WOW and Extreme likely are all water villas.

However for such rates, I would definitely go for Reethi Rai or even Huvafenfushi.

Overall:- I think overprice resort! :P

bvbride> me not agent in AIA lah..i'm acctg grad.. and my bf is finance grad..so numbers are our lives..hahahaa..sad life right?

actually, it's good to start investing early..not only for the returns..but if something really go wrong, u still have some time to recover...imagine getting your "lessons" when you're in your 40s..that's when u need $$ most..

yeah! unit trust got to "queue" to sell..that's y i dun really like unit trusts :P (personal preference lah)

like Wu, I like stocks..cos it's real time..and comes with higher returns

Wu
WHAT!!!??? soooooooo ex... crazy leh..is this their opening special? wah lau... if it is, I can imagine the usual rates.... with this kind of rates..I'll rather go to other resorts n even better... since got the $$$..might as well go Tahiti... super duper ex...

thanks for the 'shock'..kekeke..

Yo Fanfan,

Good choice in selecting acct and finance as your "Road".
How I wish I able turn back time and go for finance degree instead of my Engineering degree.....

Kekeke...... another stock person
So u trade Singapore or US stocks? Kekekke..higher returns means can go Maldives often!!!

Yo Starstar,

Kekekeke......Yes, it's their opening shock also!! U very slow reaction leh....Kekekek... we always put down per nite rates one mah!
Simple calculation, even for the cheapest beach villa it's USD1300++ and it's not much bigger than Hilton's beach villa. For that USD1300++ I can stay Hilton beach for 6 nites still got change for spa ah!!!

Ya loh! Crazy hotel rates! :P

Wu
kekeke..cos usu..when I see USD$1000 n above..I always tot it's a package thingy..hahaha...:p never expect a nite so ex...wow..:p

hahahaa..actually so far, i think only the One and Only worth that kinda price..when surf the net really feel exclusive man..

Wu> good choice meh? u dun look at the "glamarous" bankers who earn like at least 6 digit per annum ...normal people like me, earn peanuts...but lucky got company purchase plan scheme...heehee..mostly, i buy Singapore stocks. US stocks, I keep to my company, whose stock price is increasing steadily so far..

fanfan
u n my hubby same saem... he aslo buy singapore stocks... :p

Wu n fan
hey..u two in a high earning profession leh... engineer n accountant...me wif a psychology degree. Dun think can earn alot in singapore unless I shift to overseas. :p

Yo Wu
envy u leh.. me always wanted to do aerospace/mechanical eng...but physics not good enough to enter the course...

star,
heehee..my bf oso like to buy singapore stocks...but he's more of investor, and I'm more speculative...he can hold stocks for like years to wait for it to appreciate one lor..
anw, me oso not high earning profession lah..cos I'm not doing accounting now..but still doing finance related field lor..