Maldives

Yo bvbride,

U r right. If cannot start with bigs ones, I can start with smaller ones, i.e those resort in Redang, Tioman or even those smaller ones in Maldives. However I think big ones shld be no problem lah, need to convince them loh, anyway, they don't need to folk out anything mah....kekekek...

That's not pessimistic, it's shld be a question we shld ask ourselves and have an answer, then when they asked why? At least we got some valid and feasible answer for them.

I think for Hilton, they got not much biz from Singapore. When they see me, they thot I japanese. :P ... So no economy of scale for Singapore market also. At least I'm able to spread the words that Maldives got such a value and nice resort......kekeke.... probably they'll be more convince? ....see how.

hey Wu,
ya,i also wonder why hilton not so popular among the sporeans. i actually really like the hotels..although i must say the singapore hilton abit old...kekek...

Yo Haru,

Genearally, I think Maldives is not a popular destination for Singaporean. If the awareness is there, resort such as Hilton can then see more Singaporean.

However, we're seeing some form of adver liao, like the recent Club med adver, SriLankan airline promo...

In Short, it's Marketing's fault!

hello Wu

actually ive got this selfish thinking la
if we make a beautiful resort like angsana or hilton popular with singaporeans - itz a matter of time before it becomes sentosa/east coast!! yikes
the magic wil be gone!
think part of the reason why we had such a good time is bcos Maldives is such an "exclusive" destination.
must strike up a balance somewhat i guess.

Yo bvbride,

Selfish though,True loh, luckily Maldives is stillc consider no cheap as compare with other places, even places like Eupore or even US. Furthermore, there're Singaporean who thinks...ah Maldives so small, no where to go, nothing to buy...stuff like that.

Ya, places like Redang, the magic is gone! It used to be a very quite place, the first time I went. :p

Hey, I received a brochure from DBS that Holiday Tour offering 5D3N The One&Only Reethi Rah Beach Villa from S$2538 (twin sharing).

Price includes airfare, 3nites beach villa, return airport transfer by yacht and breakfast....

Yo Zenn,

So U intend to go?? kekekek...... the 1st nite inclusive also? When's the travel date period?

Anyway O&O not cheap loh, and 3 nites is definitely too short lah....:P

Yo Zenn,

Anyway, done my calculation. not much diff if U book from resort direct. Anyway, already check out DBS website, they tight up with Holiday tours. If book thru Holiday tours, used dbs credit card get go for lucky draw, entitle to win another 3 nite stay at O&O Reethi Rai.

Anyway Holiday tours price excl all SQ taxes+surcharge. :p
Travel period for S$2538 per pax, valid for mid may till mid july.

wa..here lot of maldives expert i see..heee... anyone got any info on Thulhaagiri resort? interested to go there, seem affordable water bunglow out there, actually saw the Komandoo really got delexue water villa but too bad all booked out.... Hilton lot of supporters, will i keep bump into Sporean during teh june holiday period if choose to go there ah>>> then very xian leh....

Yo Eura,

How many days you plan to go to Maldives? Kekeke.... aiya difficult to bump into any asian in fact. Most of them Ang Mo. :P

Off course support Hilton lah...cos so far it's best valued 5* resort mah...

U might meet more Singapore there in Thulhaagiri resort. Don't believe?kekek.. see the review for Thulhaagiri in http://www.mal-dives.com
Finally I see Singaporean reviewing a Maldives resort.

i think it's due to the fact that singaporeans:
1. prefer those winter country (any 4 seasons country)
2. are very scared to go to those tsunami affected areas
3. old generations do not like exotic places (my late-30s guy colleague just asked "where is maldives?" when i told him i'm going there for HM, and after that he said why dun u go nz/australia. i said im not interested for HM destination, maybe for normal holiday can lar)

Hahahaha..... yo Mira,

very good n funny analysis(No. 3).

However S'porean still go Phuket loh. Worst Tsunami hit area leh.....

I think main reason still probably price. When U tell them 8K for 7 nites, they puke.... :P My friends say they would rather go Eupore, and yah, Australia and NZ.

hmmm but my colleague and friends spent about S$6-7k also for australia & nz
not that much difference
anyway i think no.3 is quite true lar, those who dunno/nvr heard of maldives/mauritius, have nvr been to phuket and not interested to go either
when i told my that colleague that maldives is very nice, clear water etc, he looks BORED

so different from those UK ppl from tripadvisor.com hor! they always go back few times, and always go there 1-2 weeks one!!! envy their exchange rate!
kao_scared.gif

hi m1rror,
i totally agree with ur analogy. i went for a cruise once and i loved it coz it was soooo relaxing.but when leaving the cruise i heard pple saying how boring it was. i think its coz they are those that only like to shop, shop and shop..hahha....

Yo Mira,

Wha... where your collegues go..Aust need 6-7K ??
or incl NZ?

Kekeke...ur collegues sure only compare the travel cost only lah. They always compare travel cost apple to apple then say Maldives very ex.

The worst thing is U tell them S$8k on a small island , they puke even more. They would rather go somewhere that they can travel around on vehicles... stuff like that. That's where when ask to compare same day 8K in Maldives or NZ, they think Maldives is ex. That's their logic.

U know what...kekek... those "old" generation ones do not watch discovery channel or national geographic. :P Luckily, now youngest knew more about geography.

yes generally Singaporean quite week in Geography, esp those "old" generations???

Anyway, I'm almost coming to "older" generation liao leh....U talking about me??? kekekekekek

In short,I would say "older gen" Singaporean lacks those adverturous char, and being too realistic. Thus resulting in the Aust,NZ,Japan,Eupore kind of HM location. Not implying that it's wrong or the places are not nice but to me... I get bored in going those places.

For me, a 100% S'porean, I would preferred exotic places like ...Maldives,Bora bora, Antartica, dive cruise, Silk Road maybe in future?? Most important, I would like to revisit such places. Aust? NAh..........

Yo Haru,

Providing I stay in a balcony class, else I'll feel bored also...kekekkeke.... Yes I agree very relaxing when looking at the sea..... Everytime I go criuse, most of the time I spent in the rm.

oh btw, dun forget, i'm not a singaporean
kao_embarrassed.gif

however, i applied for citizenship in nov'05, yet to receive the result
kao_frustrated.gif

my friends went to gold coast, sidney and melbourne last month, spent total S$7.7k for 2
my colleague went to NZ last year, spent S$6-7k for 2
all honeymooners lor

i tot maldives still cheaper than those bora bora/hawaii/etc rite??

Yo Mira,

So what citizenship u're holding?
Wha... U still dare say Singaporean ah....kekekeke.... Kidding lah. :P

Ya lor, Aust and NZ not cheap also..... I guess they still got a perception that spending 8K on a small island is "Ex" loh. Aiya , they shld one day go to Maldives and see the diff.... cannot compare with East coast or Sentosa loh.

Yes, Bora bora is more ex. I'm not sure abt Hawaii though.... Anyway if they are same price, I would choose Bora Bora.

Nett nett, Maldives still my no.1 choice to revisit.

dun like that say people going to NZ for honeymoon leh...me maybe considering going there leh..heehee

yah..agree many singaporeans cannot stand being "trapped" in an island...

guess many singaporeans are too "speedy" and cant stand to sit back and relax..they find it boring to do..i heard many of my frens commenting that they cant imagine themselves facing their husband/wife in the hotel/resort and not doing anything..i was pretty surprised..

Singaporeans want to feel they see many things when they travel and likes to shop a lot..hahaha

guess, it's just the different perceptions of a holiday...

i'm a 100% singaporean myself

ya, i think most locals like to "get the most" out of a destination. if they were to visit places like Australia, etc, they get to do some sight seeing, shopping, eating,etc..while at maldives, perception is that you can't do anything or go anywhere.=P

haru, you're right. they want to make the trip worthwhile. I admit that initially when i started travelling, I've that conception too. But now, totally changed. Dun want to tire myself out during a holiday. A holiday is meant to recharge

anw many people say Perth is boring, but i beg to differ. My bf and I had a great time there

hi wu, i'm indonesian, that's why my wedding in JKT. on 10 jul itself, i'll fly jkt-sg then continue sg-male!! cant imagine so tiring (somemore 9 jul is my wedding dinner)

hi fanfan, nothing against NZ lar, but my that OLD colleague say like NZ is so much nicer than maldives. while i think it's as nice but different kinda destination mah.. AND still expensive

btw, my fiance found a promo for citibank card, i think have to be platinum, for the hoteltravel.com
but i lost the link and he's very bz now, ignoring my msn message
kao_angry.gif

i think 4% off, and next purchase will be 5-6% off
anyway, his is not platinum, so we'll stick to the direct booking from hilton

Yo Mira,

OIC.....Aiya...once u reach Maldives hor, u'll forget all the fatique liao.
U'll be again 100% charge up!!! :P

U can use clear card mah, don't have to use platinium isn't it
That's 1% less for clear card compare to platinium.

Hmmmmm.....not sure whether Hilton will give further discount for ppl who revisit them. Will try to write them a email and ask. If they can give 10%....wha very good liao

Hi Wu,

The package is from 1 mar to 30 sep. Reethi Rah is nice but still prefer water villa leh :p

Anyway ve not decided cos now bz clearing sydney convention.

Yo Zenn,

Reethi Rai got water villa also mah...kekekek... but really ex lah.

Anyway, if wanna to choose Reethi Rai, must at least go for the water villa. Beach villa might as well go for Hiltons one.

So how much more to go, in clearing Sydney?? When is the convention ah? my wife also not sure but I remember u say it's August.

Still got ard 3 more months to clear isnt it. Best of luck!!

Morning all..

aiyoh so much action here after i didnt log in for one day - love the fact that there are more and more Maldives supporters here!

shows that pple's mindset are changing

yes Wu ! totally agree - think we hv more or less the same taste exp the silk road thingy - im abit finicky abt gog to hard core cannot take shower places la...hahha...throw me in Bt timah reserve and i will literally die for u...kekkee...so "kua-zang"

yep - cannot agree more - sometimes dun see the point of chionging all the way during holiday and end up even more burnout and exhausted at the end of it...watz the point? then MC when u suppose to go back to work?? hmmmm.....
sometimes i just take one day leave to recharge at home or go shopping ...kekeke....

yesterday went to make a new pair of specky - tried on at home and started doing my weekly ironing - then suddenly one of the lens cracked!!! my gawd!!!! how dangerous!!!! so angry right now
will hv to go back and setttle things with them asap man...haizzzzzzzzzzzzz

talking abt older generation hor..i will be in the older generation officially v v soon!!! thinking of buying myself another bday present !!!! aiyoh so terrible!!! hahahaha

pop in later...cheers!!!!

aiyo how old r u?
dun mean to offend anyone hor, just state that almost-40-year old men are sometimes very uncle hahaha (my colleagues are good example)
while women are still more trendy/modern, i think

how old r u people??
i'm 24

lotsa ppl think i'm very young to be getting married

hey, where to stay for 1 night in male? The hilton quote for the airport hotel... 200usd! so ex.

I remember - i think Wu, was saying that stay somewhere slightly further will be cheaper? Which one?

Yo bvbride,

OIC... ur taste not those really "Siong" ones lah...
Probably ppl like starstar,me and stan can take it...kekeke.... last time field training can few days never bath.. *STINKS* :P

Eh...sometimes sun-tan do nothing for long time also can get sick MC one you know... :P

Wha...u make glass specs ah? plastic not easily crack right? Hmmmm......

ya loh..... our old gen definition is late 30s leh..... kekeke...U almost there? Kekeke... Anyway for me I'm almost there liao...SIANZZZZZ.

Yo Mira,

Yo....how can you say man at 40 very uncle...don't u know there's guys in this forum? Kekekeke........ :P
Wha....U only 24 ah...very very young leh.... Hmmmm.... That's me almost 10 yrs back. Kekeke.... so U know my age lah.

Anyway, age doesn't matters, most important is young at heart!!!

Yo Mish,

The airport hotel is on Hulhulhe airport island. To book a cheaper overnight stay, book those on Male, the capital island. But must take a boat from Airport island to Male.

Check out GSA travel for 2 of the Male hotel(KAM and Nassandhura Palace Hotel, their price rather reasonable.

http://www.gsa.com.sg/MAL/tp.php

Yo Mish and folks,

Opss.... Make a mistake. I think GSA charge by per pax, so not cheap at all. Can book from www.mal-dives.com or Hoteltravel or even starasiatravel.com. Those are cheaper. Per night stay at Male shld not exceed USD90.

u people are making me torn between Maldives and NZ...
very gian to go Maldvies when i see u guys one by one booking the resorts

Sianz....... why everyone so young!!! Kekekeke....:P

I always think Maldives will be a better option for HM couples. During My HM, got no choice becos really no money, have to go Aust for Holiday. Choose the cheapest tour to Perth.

Juz imagine, sunset cruise on their yacht, private BBQ dinner all alone on the isolated beach, or cruise to a isolated island with nobody ard(i.e Robinson Crusoe style) during ur HM in Maldives....wha....really romantic.

For NZ...really don't know how to have HM feelings leh....oh..got....hug each other on the tip of the mountain looking far far away...sounds romantic. Kekekekek ....

hiya everyone
me back..
yes..I've also got a tan...hahaha..

Wah..u guys talking abt so many things in such a short span of time..

Totally agree that Maldives is a PERFECT HM place...
aiya..Perth,NZ..etc are for those whowant to see see scenery lah.. not really for shopping... shops closes real early...so I guess these places are not suitable for people who love to shop...

Wu
wah.. u sound so sad to go perth like that...
dun like that lah...anyway I have to admit I simply love the place..not the city but places like Albany n Augusta. WOW...u should see the wind farm in Albany... totally awesome...
u tried the tree top walk? IF u did drive down to Wadpole, the tree top walk really can get quite scary...:p hahaha..

So who's going to Maldives next year? My hubby agreed that if shang or any new resorts have opening special, we'll head down to Maldives next year. IF not, we'll be heading to South Africa. *cross fingers that shang has opening special* :p

bvbride
gee...u changed your specs? your specs is it the glass kind?

Yo starstar,

U R BAck!!!
Seems like U have enjoyed! Kekekek...

Ya, I've been to the wind farm and tree top walk. Amazing but I'll only go once loh. Unlike Maldives(or some beach resort)... I can go back again and again and not getting bored.
On reason is because I dive lah...in fact every year I must dive and brush up my skills.

So U don't want HIlton ah? Shang I think wouldn't be cheaper than Hilton loh. See W-hotel as example, the price is really out of reach. U've seen the price I'd posted eariler?

So far bvbride, Fanfan, U and me are interested for next years trip.

Hello hello

Oi Wu - i also belong to the oldies here ok
hv dropped BIG clue abt my age so am leaving my 20s behind v soon !!!Yikes !!! now even more obvious.....kekekekeke...

Starstar - made glass type cos ive a pair of glass specky that has been serving me qt well - dropped many times not cracked!!! and itz the non- expansive type hmmm...
maybe bring to shop tmr for them to do up w plastic lens - so traumatic - imagine the lens actually cracking when u are wearing the specs!! yikes!!! so scary!!!

hello wu

yep still keen for next year's trip - still accumulating $. got car and parent and self (shopping) commitment so must think v hard
still budget of $6K 4N also can

to cut cost can sleep over one night at the airport?? hmmm...

hi bvbride,
omigosh! so scary..hubby and i also thinkin of changing specs.want to get one that is plastic but with broader frames (coz my eyes quite big, if frame too small i'm seeing out of e frame!wahahah) think i'll look around for some specaial offers that the shops normally do. saw a nice shop at marina sq the other weekend, not too expensive too.

hey Wu and starstar,
wah..hearing you all keep talking bout how romantic it is, makes me really gian to go this year. i was thinkin of surprising hubby with a nites stay at ritz carlton during the easter holiday but i was thinking one nite stay there would almost pay for one nite at maldives hilton!hahahaha...but now already march, so i think def out of qn to go in may liao...
see how lor, maybe can still make it to go in late may/early july coz after that hubby not free until oct. really fickle minded rite? gota say that if $$$ was not an issue, would have booked long time ago liaoz...

wah! all of u so romantic..
Wu, your wife must be very fortunate..u so romantic..heehee..

bvbride> your new specs ready liao?
anw, since we're talking abt specs, know anyone cheap and good? i plan to make those "sha gua" glasses with abit of colours...want to look intelligent...bimbo right...keke

Hi wu,
Left few k more to go. Hope to clear by this mth
Co has not announced when but usually they travel in Aug or early Sep. How abt ur wife?

Hi fanfan,
Do you go JB often? I just did mine at Holiday Plaza n can collect within 1 hr. If I did not remember wrongly its only S$7-80...

Hi wu,
Left few k more to go. Hope to clear by this mth
Co has not announced when but usually they travel in Aug or early Sep. How abt ur wife?

Hi fanfan,
Do you go JB often? I just did mine at Holiday Plaza n can collect within 1 hr. If I did not remember wrongly its only S$7-80...

Yo bvbride,

Aiyo....My 20s long long time left me liao loh...kekeke....Really miss my 20s'days, really carefree, don't have to worry about anything. :P

Haiz..... U and me same situation. Yet, car, parents are neccessary lah....your own spending do some budgeting loh!

Yo.. every mth don't go visit restaurant jus once or don't watch movie jus once can save up for the 1 nite Male stay liao...Kekekeke :P
Truthfully, that stay really will freshen up you the next day. Trust me.
Maybe let Zhuzhu and Mira tell us hows was their thinking when they're back

Anyway... I really must sleep at nite, else I would be gong gong for the rest of the days. :P

Yo Haru,

Know what u mean. If I got enough$$$ , I'll book straight as well. Anyway, the government "gift" in May will go straight into my Maldivian funds!!! .....How I wish I can use my CPF for such Fund!!! Hahahahaa.... :P

Yo Fanfan,

...... Pai say... Those stuff I described still haven happen on my wifey yet....kekekek... Well At least I brought her to Maldives, dine at the Undersea rest,stay in the Sunset water vila....Kekekek...
Actually the main reason is those stuff/excursion ain't cheap. Private dinner will cost USD150++ per pax (actually got book but last min cancel, as we don't think we can finish so much food), Robinson Crusoe will cost USD200++ per pax.... So...hmmm...maybe next time round.

Yo Zenn,

Good for U.... my wife still left ard 20k.. I think she got 1 big one still on hand, ard 10k, then I got another 0.5k for her, using my special acc.

Likely getting either india or acorns of asia. Anyway, my Acorns is giving me a returns of ard 12% return per annum... so...I quite confident it'll go up.
kekeke....that's my retirement Maldivian funds!!!

So hows ur planning for the Maldives trip?? Mirihi?

Wu
hahaha..now I know why u keep going back to Maldives...
cos u dive..me dun leh... I float on water...:p snorkelling... still haven buck up the courage to dive under water...

Perth area..well..I won't be going back there so soon...cos I still haven been to my other 5 most wanted to go places... keke...:p n my hubby also got his "wanted to go" places too... so it'll be a while before we venture back to perth..who knows next time wif the kids? ;p

Wu n bvbride
aiyo...age is just a number...
why bother wif it? it's just an excuse for us to receive gifts from our loved ones on our birthday...hahaha..
think on the bright side..it indicates the wealth of knowledge n wisdom n experience u have as we progress...;p

bvbride
keke..must agree wif Wu on the movie thingy... sooooo ex to watch a movie now... me now only choosse those really good ones n if time permits, watch during the weekdays. :p

Wu
I missed out your posts on the W hotel rates...well I really wanna go Shang leh... actually dun mind Hilton..it's my hubby lah...he asked me why I wanna go back to Maldives since we've been there last year... so I used Shang as an excuse.. :p told him it's a new resort.. wanna to try it out lah... that's why for next year, Shang better have some good promos if not, we'll not be heading for Maldives.
sigh...darn hard to convice my guy to go back to maldives. hahaha..:p

haru
ritz carlton? cool... I stayed once for xmas...the view was great...

bvbride
think there's a kind plastic high index kind of lens right? sorry..:p me out of touch wif glasses n contact lens for a long time... I used to wear glasses too.. somemore my degrees were quite bad..almost hitting 1000.. but I went for LASIK... keke..glad I went for it..now my eyesight has never been better...
why dun u consider going for it?

zenn> no leh..i seldom go JB..hardly go..the last time i went Malaysia was last year to Sepang to watch F1...heeheee..

yah..there's the plastic high index lens..more expensive...i oso nid that..sigh....

Wu> the excursions are so expensive!!!! dun think my FH and I will be willingly to part with our money for these...dun think he will be that romantic oso lah..haha