Maldives

Yo Fanfan,

Yes... O&O is nice, esp the Reethi Rai version, rooms are more posh then the Kanu ones. Kekeke....Yeh...and it's not cheaper too.

I think S$4K is probably enough for 4/5N at so other 4-star resort water bungalow.
U can either choose those super big and crowded resort such as Full moon, paradise island or Bandos etc.... but I got a perception that they are rather crowded(saw hugh groups of ppl going to these resort at the Male airport). The other thing is their location. Very near to the airport!

5N Full moon Water Villa~ S$3500 (Full board, speed boat transfer)

Recently, I found one resort called the Filitheyo island. A instant quote on www.Mal-dives.com( quite reasonable priced ) is only S$3715 for 2 pax, incl seaplane return transfer for 2 and full board for 2(Excl other stuff like spa, excursion etc.. and excl SQ flight). It's interior are fiited with teak, thus cosy feelings, plus satallite TV, Jacuzzi, over water villa. Furthermore, the reviews from those who went are mostly positive.

Another good choice would be Veligandu. 5N Deluxe water villa, got plunge pool somemore, seaplane transfer, full board, just cost around S$3.5K.

5N Full moon Water Villa~ S$3500 (Full board, speed boat transfer)

5N Hilton beach villa ~ S$2838 (BB, seaplane transfer)

U can do some research on this resort.

Go to www.mal-dives.com to some research on Maldives resort. They got a clickable map, it'll show to all available Maldives resort. Take time to study them all, it's benefit u in booking ur dream tour!

Yo Mira,

I book the Male "Hotel" only when I arrive there. U suppose to "check-in" at the counter (Find Crown tours counter, they're Hilton's rep).
Ask them to help U book the Hotel, and give them ur budget. Normally should be ard USD60~ 75 per night. Breakfast for 2 will probably cost u another USD10. thus U can bring some bread or cookies as breakfast to save money.

They got hotel near to the Jetty but will likely cost ard USD20 more but I thinks it's Ok loh. If not, you still have to travel on taxi. You can also book thru Star Asia Travel website for those hotel b4 U go.

Okie below is my calculation for U.

1)SQ flight return for 2 ~ S$1400.
2)1N Male ~ USD75
3)Seaplane return transfer for 2~ USD540 nett
4)5N Hilton Beach ~ USD1180

Total ard ~ S$4361 (Breakfast only) Based on 1.65 exchange rates.
thus U got another S$1700 for other stuff like food, excursion, spa etc....
U'll have to plan nicely b4 you go on what U wanna spent and what's not. I think thats more than enough.
Please email hilton on the latest price list for excursion, spa etc... to be save lah.
For food, I don't think u'll spent more than USD100 lah, then probably still got enough to go for Spa plus some excursion.

If u adopt my way....kekekeke...eat some cup noodles, and eat their free teabreak at 5pm..then can save more money lah.
However, it'll be tough if U wanna those romantic dinner such as undersea rest, or private beach dinning etc....That'll cost U money. My cal is base on just ala-carte, normal, and simple meal. okie

Do remember also, it's a common practise to tip the house cleaner, i.e USD2 per day, putting on the bed for them. U can also like to tip the waiter/ess as well too or those bell boy.

Then for souvenir....really depends on you loh.

Oh.... last but not least the honeymoon special. I think they'll need U to provide them your cert.i.e probably scan and email to notify them during booking. Based on Hotel travel website, the freebies is as followed:-

Champagne
Fruit basket
Half day excursion and a framed souvenir photo of the couple during their stay

http://www.hoteltravel.com/maldives/maldives/hilton_maldives_rangali.htm

Wu
My plan is 2N beach villa, 2N deluxe beach villa & 1N water villa..but i want to see the quotes they give me 1st..Hilton quotes me US$193 for the airport hotel...

So the water villa not worth ah..cos we thinkin must at least stay 1N at the water villa mar..

I was telling my hubby..if we go huvafen..we really have to eat cup noodles + canned sardines all the way liao..cos huvafen site got their restaurant menu...not cheap leh..somemore i think huvafen dun really have nice beaches..so we sticked to hilton lar...my hubby even say he must go n bring a harpoon and we catch fishes to BBQ..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Kekeke.... Yah lah, can forget about the water villa lah. Actually I heard someone complain about the normal water villa there, and asked for refunds. Unless U consider the deluxe one loh!

My advise, wait for chance, maybe U can also upgrade to the sunset water villa leh? 1N? But must depends on ur luck lah!
When U're there, ask them to bring U to visit the sunset water villa, and if luck is on ur side...hehehe... Anyway, do contact Ali(one of the sunset water villa folks), it's him that help me neg the price for the Sunset water villa from USD1000 to USD750. However, the money you paid for the 1N beach villa/deluxe would note be refunded hor!

Kekekek.... cannot lah,everyday eat cup noodles. I army trained one hor, 3 days cup noodles already Bua Ta han liao! :P

I don't think spear fishing is allowed loh...kekeke...however, go for their night fishing. The fishes that you catch can be arrange for ur dinner, the next day, no charges.

Hey, why not putting all ur eggs in 1 basket, say, 7N at beach villa? Can stay more days mah! But hor, you must be a person like me lah....can really Nua and do nothing. For Fast pace ppl hor, think they'll be bored loh!

Yo Zhuzhu,

that's the American way of doing lah! Kekeke..... they really takes time to clean up ur mess you know!
U can don't but still advisable!

Airport hotel just mark-up their price, becos of their proximity to the airport mah, just take a free shuttle there after ur SQ flight loh.

For Male Hotel(a lot to choose from), U need to take a 10 mins boat trip to Male(their capital island), then either walk or take taxi to ur chosen hotel. Bear in mind hor, those hotel is more like a Motel, a 1 or 2 star kind of thingy, don't expect much. It's purpose to for U to sleep well b4 ur seaplane transfer.

Next morning check out, samething take a 10min boat ride back to Hulhulhe airport, look for the same counter, they'll shuttle U to the seaplane transfer lounge. Then at that time U'll feel the difference of chosing Hilton liao!!! Other lounge are open air ones. Only Hilton there is really a lounge, aircondition ones!!! Kekekekekeke...... feel like king and queens there! :P

Wu
Meaning to say if you paid US$200 for the beach villa then if they offered u upgrade at US$750..they don't deduct US$200 from US$750 ah..

Actually i find that deluxe beach villa quite nice leh..hey is the dive pool visible to ppl who walk past the villa?

So u saying I can booked Male hotel when i reached there lar..dun have to book in advance?

Yo zhuzhu,

Yes... That's called Upgrade mah! So lets say U stay in the deluxe one and then wanna upgrade, your US420 nett for deluxe one will be gone!

Yes off course...by all means, go for the deluxe one. U know what, night time we passed by those deluxe one hor....both me and wifey drool like mad!!! The villa is so huge and the lightings really make the whole place look so nice!!!!

Yes most pool are visible to those who walk pass...u mind? Kekeke.....
Anyway, the bath Pavilion are not visible. Got it?

Yes, initially we thinking of staying awake at the airport, then reach there really tired, so we ask the counter(crown tour) folks to help us book a cheap resting place. They're most willing to help loh! For U, to be save, book here also can. thru either StarAsiatravel or other online ones, i.e. www.mal-dives.com or hotel travel should be quite safe!

Are U getting more and more excited??? Kekeke...May is just round the corner!!!

CheerS!

Wu
Of cos getting more n more excited..can see my engine already roaring to book liao..

Erks..the pool is visible to others ah..aiyah..then cannot try anything funny there lar

Now just searching to see if I can get a better rates somewhere else..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Kekeke....yah...nothing funny!!! However, the gigantic bath tub is fun!!
But beware, it takes like 1hr to fill up the bath tub becos it's so big!!!

Good luck in ur search! Let us know if U find somewhere with cheaper rates!!!

Ciao!!!

Yo Zhuzhu,

If I'm not wrong, should be 9am for the 1st seaplane flight! however all depends on Hilton. But it's a good strategy though, ask for an early transfer, reach there early, try asking for early check-in!!! Kekekeke....got it???

Along the way.... do make friends with those staff...then ask them to bring U ard i.e. sunset water villa or other water villa visit lah... then probe for any upgrade discount lah or some late check-out kind of thingy.

We manage to secure a late checkout (4pm, norm is 12pm)and late seaplane flight during departure ard 4.30pm.....thus at least reach Male airport not so bored lah... have to wait for the late SQ flight, I think 8 or 9pm.. very sian then!

Hi Wu,

Me & ur wife are col! Hee Oh ya do I have the honor to view your link?

Hilton beach is very near to the sea? Very tempted wif water villa leh haha

Wu, Mirhi quoted me the following :

Water Villa - US$260
Half board - US$45 per person
Bed tax - $8 (usually is per person per room per nite?)

So wif 10% tax is $402.60?

hi Wu, i think, i'm really REALLY impressed with hilton from your album, dun wanna compare with others liao. they should pay you some commission!! hahaha
hmm SQ is 1548 nett for 2 to go lar not 1400. if 4 to go will be cheaper. AND, once we purchase, cannot change anything lor.
return from male is 11pm not 8-9pm...
hopefully got lotsa hongbao from wedding dinner
kao_babydust.gif
, then can spend slightly more than S$6k lor hee

Hi Wu,

I am from alex branch.

Your pix very tempting leh esp the sunset water villa!!! Actually we been to beach front and private pool villa when we were at Hua Hin that's why tot of trying water villa this time round

So meaning the bed tax is US12 per room x the no of nites rite?

Yo Mira,

Yah...Hilton is definitely a nice resort. that's why if I'm planning for another trip there to Maldives, Hilton will still be my 1st choice unless I can convince myself that another resort is of better value, and service is there. Really scare to choose another unknown one, paid for a high price then ganna bad service or a villa that I don't like. :P

Yo....SQ flights! Precisely! Go find ppl to go together!
yes my rough calculation is based on 4 to go. Oh is it that late, 11pm ah? I thot it's something like latest 10pm leh? Hmmmm...... ya loh, remember the day when we left....so tired and bored and still need to wait to the late flight back to singapore.

Yeh.... how I wish I can get some comms from them and return some back to u folks. My purpose here is just to help.
Anyway, they shld have done a better job in marketing, kept forgetting Singapore and other SEA countries folks, are also capable in peying for such trips.

Oh yes... the hong bao for dinner...hmmm really need some strategy to have extra also. So far, how's everything with ur planning? Everything going smoothly? You'll hv fun anyway!!

Yo Zenn,

Oh... then you 2 dont know each other liao, however might just met up during any conferences training, or oversea company trip right?

Yes..... my sunset water villa.... miss it so much!!!
Can lah....kekeke..... as for Hilton, if U think U wanna try other than the beach villa, go for the water villa, but it'll be more ex than those in Mirihi lah.

For Hilton, At least go for the dexlue water villa, the new spa villa or Sunset water villa, others water villa are older.

However, U can do some research on those that I'd suggested loh, and not forgetting ur Mirihi's one. Should be a good choice, just that mirihi island is darn to small lah.... Hopefully u'll not be bored.

Yo the bed tax should be total of USD16 per day( 2 person). Standard for all resort, 1 person per day is USD8.

So ur 5 nites should be USD16 X 5 loh.

Hi Wu,

Wow so late still online. Is your wife going to sydney convention?

I was going thro all the websites. See until blur meh. So many so nice one but very X!!

Btw any comments on Taj Coral Reef, Velavaru Island Resort and Velidu Island Resort? Surprisingly Taj Coral Reef is cheaper then Mirihi. Of all the water villa which is around my budget, Mirihi seems nicer and have quite good review...

Yo Zenn,

After posting my last one, I went to watch tv liao. :P Kekeke....

Yep, She's almost there, left a bit bit only
What abt U? Clear liao ah?

Yah, getting more n more resort in Maldives. Starting to boom after the Tsunami!

Ok, among the 4 resort U've mention, Velavaru is the only one with no Water villa, right? So between Mirihi,Taj and Velidu, Velidu water villa is the cheapest.

All need seaplane transfer except Taj. Velavaru is the furthest from Male n shd be one of the most remote ones ard. Just ard 2 resort there in the whole Atoll.

Hmmm...... it's a tough choice for U eh? Don't worried, juz go with ur heart....which would U think of first? Then choose that one lah!

Another 2 good resorts, Veligandu island(got plunge pool) and Filitheyo island(only 1 resort on the atoll) water villa are good choice also. Lots of very good review on them too. Shd all within ur budget.

My preference of resort is, I want to take a seaplane and for water villa, a wooden interior to have a cosy feel.
thus for U, U'll have to think about ur requirements and preference in choosing a resort.

Hi Wu,

Left with abit too. Hope to clear these 2 mths. Actually also dilenma, if going sydney in aug not sure still go ahead wif maldives in jul or not. So you joining your wife to sydney?

Wow you seems to know all the hotels in Maldives ya! Most of the websites dun ve clear pix of the villa. My preference will be water villa and cosy feel. Tho I am not going for high end but don't wanna those old old one hee

Yo Zenn,

Wish that you'll clear and go for the convention as well.

For me I can forgo the sydney trip..kekekeke :P... Maldives will be trip that I cannot missed. There's still a slight chance that I might jus go to Maldives again in Jul 06.

That's the problem, as I've did some reading on most resort, ultimately I choose Hilton, just don't know why, probably it's the brand name and since that time it's only USD150 for the beach villa and new opening, I just go for it. However, now U ask me to choose another resort, it's probably jus based on instinct....I might not just take my chance.....hmmmm most likely will go back Hilton, as they have proven that they're worth another visit. In short, I'm scare to choose other unknown(Off course it's limited to affordable resort lah. Got money hor, huvafen,Reethi Rai would be my choice!!! )

don't forget other folks recommendation as well, I.e Taj by starstar and Angsana by bvbride!!

U R right, not much photos online, not even the resort's own website. Thus, either U write to them to ask for more info or jus take ur chances!

Yo Fanfan,

Thanks! It's becos Maldives is nice, thus, reflect in the pictures.

Yes yes...go go go. It's really a refreshing trip for all working adults, really stress relieve trip!

So when U're planning for ur trip? kekekeke.....

me planning to go in Nov...2 weeks after my wedding..for my honeymoon

how much is the beach villa and delux beach villa @ hilton? whats the major difference between these 2?
do u mind telling me again how much u paid for the upgrade to sunset water villa? i remember u saying USD750..is that per night or total 2 nights?

Heehee.. Fan fan ask the same questions as me!!

Beach villa is 360 usd
Deluxe beach villa is 550usd

difference is mainly the area. Deluxe is like 2 times bigger and has a plunge pool. thats about the difference.

See http://www.hiltonworldresorts.com/resorts/Maldives/gallery.html

Wu sent the link the last time... take a look at the virtual tour island 2 and 3 for the deluxe and beach villa. If cant find... u ask again okie?

I also interested in the sunset villa but its for 2 couples... hmmm. anyway the usual price is 3000+ i think for the period of nov. hmmm Maybe Wu got a good catch that time!! Hehehe. Or is there the same promo now? I see his photos on the sunset villa till i drool and now am thinking of going for 2 nights of a water villa... maybe the deluxe one... but very pricey... dying

hey Wu, if you're going in Jul'06 then go with me!! buy SQ 4-to-go
hahaha
just had my photoshoot last friday, so tired
oh btw, wat can we buy for colleagues as souvenir??

hi people! i also agree with Wu, other than Wu's very nice album, i believe in brand name. AND it's new, and i prefer those not-so-asian room type (if very wooden, i find too asian)
i also considered Filitheyo island, afterall it's cheaper, but viewing the rooms, dun really like it.
as for water villa, i think it's really too ex, but might change our mind once we see the real villas

for now, the garden bathroom is more tempting hee

Yo Fanfan,

Kekekek....Mish has answer the question.

Yep, I upgrade to SWV at USD750++ per night. However still need to pay for the USD150++ for the beach villa still hor...kekke..

They later gave us another good news, 1 more night free at the SWV, total of 3 nights
Kekekek....

No lah, I suspect that time no one book the SWV, thus they gave us cheaper loh. Left empty also no use. :P

AIya, don't book any water villa first lah, go there, remember to stay at the beach villa then see whether got chance to upgrade loh. Really depends on some luck and availability also. Don't stay at the deluxe beach villa then upgrade hor...then bo hua liao. :P

Yo Mira,

Kekeke...... Don't know leh..... due to some unforeseen circumstances, I still cannot confirm my this year trip. OF course I wish lah, 4 to go save us S$100 each leh. :P

For souvenir, can get those wooden handy crafts made by the locals. Cost ard USD2 up per piece. I see if I can take some of the sovenir photo and put it up in my album.

Filitheyo water villa not too ex, but Hilton is ex. Anyway, it's a realistic world loh, nice rm will be ex loh....Haiz.... If Singapore got such nice beaches and water hor, we don have to travel so far liao. :P

Kekekek...photoshots is tired lah, but also fun isn't it?

oh people, yesterday i went to borders, browsed this book "asia's best resorts and hotels" and for maldives, it's angsana, banyan tree, hilton, huvasen fushi, soneva (both, cant remember the spelling), taj exotica
i think that's all
and, hilton rates are the cheapest
hmmm i've browsed banyan tree website before, also drooling man!
but no $$$$$ lar

thanks Wu, you really help a lot!!

Mira...

Me too! I am drooling over banyan as well but its sooooooo much more!! I think i will just stick to hilton. BEAUTIFUL..... drools. If only I get an upgrade....

yo wu,

now only left 2 resorts in my proposal. that is either Hilton or White Sands Resorts. Will use 1 more week for intensive study, kekeke....

Yo all!!!
was so bz (as usual) didnt even have time to pop in on SAT...

Hi Wu - managed to read some of your postings earlier last week. Haru and u bumped into each other? that is so conincidental! i dun think i can recognise u even if u walk pass me leh...im that bad + very very bad short sightedness aiyoh....

Congrats on your windfall!!!! toto is something that is very hard to "tio" u know....
Good for u - one step closer to Maldives!!! after counting here and there...think i will stick to 5N max @ Hilton beach villa. Max budget $6K for both of us - so now trying to be discipline and save...not an easy task for me!!! yikes!!
the extra bonus from Govt is really handy - but guess just use that to pay road tax and car ins then no more liao !!

will pop in later! meanwhile i guess u hv alot of newbies to keep u buzy....cheers!!!!

hi bvbride,
ya, such a coincident.actually i was eating at the food court and happen to see this couple who both seem so familiar!hahah...

so u also going to maldives this year???=D talk about trying to be discipline, i just blew about $250 just on shopping at La Senza yesterday plus about $250++ on other shopping on saturday when i went to town. felt like i have not been there for so long, just went koo-koo once i started to shop..=P

hi haru, anything new from la senza?? i got S$50 voucher :p

at least you people got the budget thingy, im not citizen (yet) ler, got nothing :|

bvbride!! same with me!! 5N beach villa, budget S$6k!! when r u going?

hi mish,

white sands consider quite cheap, especially those people who likes to stay on water villas one(USD$143 Per Person Per Night, CHEAP RIGHT)!! do u want me to send you the rate? I also found that the customer's feedback for this particular resorts are pretty good and inpressive.

feel free to visit:

http://www.maldiveswhitesands.com/

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g298324-d316964-Reviews-White_Sands_Resort_Spa-South_Ari_Atoll_Alifu_Atoll.html

For the traveller rating from tripadvisor, the scores of "couples and romantics" and "honeymonners" are higher than Hilton.

That's why now Im only left 2 alternatives, 1 is Hilton but no Water Bunglow, and the other is White Sands with water bunglow!

Think think think think think,,,,,,,,, (More white hairs been found during these few months)

hi m1rror,
well they have some new bras that r really comfy, it costs btwn $45-$55. e sports bra at going at $39, and its really comfy too. Sorry guys that we have to talk about girl's stuff here!!!=P

hey stan,
wow, sounds like a good deal leh.. but per pax that adds up to US$280? but then again, its water villa, so def worth it. worth considering!

hahahah. stan. I think I am going to be like u!!! growing white hair too. I saw the website of this white sand the other day buy could not find the rates for it so gave up. Great! Now i know the rates, i shall go look at it now!! Thx thx! and yes pls do send me the rates... hehe... so that i can choose either hilton or this...! mail me at [email protected]

yo people..wah u guys soooo active during the weekend..

Zenn
taj coral is the only resort I've been to in Maldives. So I can only comment on this resort... others haven got chance...
resort wise is cosy n not too old.
well.. like what wu had said, Taj is accessible by speed craft. So u dun have to stay a nite in Male once u touched down.

Wu n all
u guys have a great week.. only be logging in next tues.. cos me flying to Perth tonight liao..
see ya all then..

hi m1rror,
well they have some new bras that r really comfy, it costs btwn $45-$55. e sports bra at going at $39, and its really comfy too. Sorry guys that we have to talk about girl's stuff here!!!=P

hey stan,
wow, sounds like a good deal leh.. but per pax that adds up to US$280? but then again, its water villa, so def worth it. worth considering!

hi starstar,
have a good trip!!you will have a great time relaxing in perth. => i wish i was going on a holiday too!!!!
kao_drool.gif

hi starstar,
its not exactly very branded,average price is between $20 & above for bras. Its located at Suntec City right opposite Times bookstore (near Topshop). they have nice cheerful designs as well and simple designs for formal occasions. other than La Senza, i like to buy Bonds (from Tangs) too, price wise its pretty similar. Bonds is from Australia,i love their stuff too.

Yo bvbride,

So long never talk liao. U really bzzzz ah? Kekeke.... Must be alot of ppl taking loans right? Kekekek....:p

Ya, pretty lucky this year so far, Tio toto,saw haru, then Govt giving also. :P

So next year Okie? Hilton Maldives? kekeke...so far U me starstar tentatively confirm only. :P

Yah loh, the govt Hongbao just nice for my 1.3ltr car ins + road tax. Sianx.... Aiya better than nothing. Hopefully next year GST don't go up, everything after election sure got something "Big" happen. :P

Yo Stan,

Wha...finally U appear after so long, like bvbride like that. :P
Ya lah go with ur heart and ur own research, as diff ppl got diff expectation. Still in short, every where in Maldives looks fantastic, jus left with how "Men" add those extra touch to nature.

Aiya, that tripadvisor ratings hor, becos there's 2 stupid bugger gave hilton low score. One of them the reason is got bug lah, got baby shark lah, dangerous. Phui!!! The other one say watervilla to close lah these and that.

ANyway, shld expect such comment also lah. 1 type of rice feeds 100 types of ppl loh.

Anyway, does the USD143 per pax includes taxes?