Maldives

Yo Zenn,

A good way to learn about Maldives is research...Kekekeke....

Go to the below link, then click onto the "clickable maps of resorts"... wah-la the map will come out! You can see at least 50 resorts there. All info are there by just clicking to each resort. i.e.instant prices, visitor's comment, photos etc.....

Now u have S$5K budget, can go search for ur lovely resort liao!!

hi zenn,
yes yes, maldives is realy $$$...which i why i still hmming and hawing about whether to go. but that aside, also work and other stuff is not making it too easy to plan..lotsa stuff happening rite now to plan so much.=P however, if its for HM, i would say GO FOR IT! i think its the ultimate destination for honeymooners.

omigosh, this thread is moving really quick....gota catch up...wonder if we are all workin?????hahahahahah....=D

Yo Haru,

Hahahaha........ very "Qiao" hor!
I think I saw u b4 at the crunchy Carrot also right, with ur boss.... Kekekkee...... Don't know leh...at that moment I find u familiar! :P

Yep...really tired out with lots of unsolve issue at work. Being staying up late watching my US stocks, doing Maldives research lah stuff like that loh.....

Today TOTO 2.8mil!!!!!! Go Go Go Buy Buy Buy!!!

Yo Mish, Zenn,

S$5K is abit tight for 4N in Hilton beach villa but achievable. everything in excluding food , excursion, spa, etc... already S$4k liao. Must be disipline on makan and other stuff loh.. still can achieve lah!

My take is....save up and go with us next year for a longer period!!
kekekeke..... Truly lah, 4nites not enough for me. :P

zenn
yup..now u got the budget..it's time ot look for the resort liao.. see what u want..compare the prices..
have fun..

think whether to book at travel fair think the last time Wu said it's not very wise to book at travel fair..can't rem the reason...but it's a good place to source n check out the prices...

haru
wah..u can also go buy toto liao..so 'qiao' to see the guru..

hi Wu,
yes! we go to crunchy carrot pretty often..do you also work nearby?

haha starstar,
ya lor,saw the guru in person...and the guru saw the indecisive bummer too...!

yaaa really moving so fast!!
of course working :p but tomorrow i'm on leave coz it's my photoshoot day!!!

anyway, i'm more of less confirmed going to hilton beach villa, 11 Jul'06 for 5 nights (10 Jul from SG)
anybody else going at the exact same period? hee
Wu hilton 'guru' thanks a lot for so many infos!!!

oh btw my fiance said, mauritius is like normal beach (same as phuket, tioman, etc) while maldives is made up of atoll
which means coral that became 'land'
atoll definition from dictionary.com >> A ringlike coral island and reef that nearly or entirely encloses a lagoon.

5k not enuff meh??? oh my goodness, i calculate about there leh..... 4*360*1.65= 2376 for villa. Plus flight assume 1300. Hmm its 3,676 plus seaplane 260*2*1.65 = 858. hmmm 4534.

ya hor and i tot 5k can go for the 5n free 2n thing!!!... havent include food... die la.. i think my honeymoon cannot go 2 country liao.. only all to maldives!

btw who knows what is the tax for sq to fly there like? hmmm.

zenn
if u dun mind a 4 star resort..can try Taj Coral reef.. I stayed there for my HM.. :p cos the water villa is much more affordable for my budget..:p N we want to stay in a water villa so we didn't really mind the fact it's a 4 star resort..:p the transfer is by speed boat.. abt 45 min... transfer is free. It's full board too.

thx mirror...oh noooo... so expensive.... sigh..no money liao..... sobz. wonder other airlines got cheaper not.

zenn, u go to their homepage. eg: hilton homepage, clubmed homepage, etc.

Yo Starstar,zenn,

Kekeke..... ya lah....just check the price from the travel fair lah...cos my reasoning very simple, All resorts only offer 10% comms to the agent, thus the profit for agent very small liao. Unless the agent very big lah, then block book the resort, thus probably another sets of contract!

Yo Haru,

Kekekee..... ya, IMM one of our hangout place for lunch. We work in Singapore Science park, then normally our collegue drive us ard for lunch.

Yeh...... really indecisive eh....kekekeke.... anyway Maldives is a must go place lah but it's all depends on ur convenience loh!

Hey me not guru lah, just a Singaporean that wish to becomes Maldivian! Kekekekke....:P

Hi star,

I am fine wif 4star. Visited Taj Coral reef website and the water villa looks nice! Do you have more pix to share? Btw did you book direct wif the resort?

wu
thanks..so I see..:p just only rem u telling that the fair is not a good place to book..:p

haha...maldivian..so u got no reservist liao lor...;p

zenn
haha..the pics I have is what Wu posted out on this thread... :p didn't really took a lot of pics cos both of us got too engrossed in admiring the scenery...:p forget abt the camera...:p

booked direct wif Taj... Taj got two resorts..one is Taj Exortica n the other one is Coral Reef. Initially wanted Taj Exortica but the water villa too ex.. so went for Coral Reef instead.

Yo Zenn,

For $5K , I would recommend Filitheyo, located at the Faafu Atoll. Valid from mid May till Mid July as usual!

Will cost only ard S$4.8K for 2 pax for 7 nights stay(plus 1 night Male stay), full board,seaplane transfer + SQ return all in. Deluxe beach villa only. Quite decent 4 resorts. Seldom at this price you can even take seaplane!

Look for the resort below.
http://www.mal-dives.com

My recommendation only base on research done thru internetm,forums and some visitor feedback on the discussion database.

Yo Zenn,

No problem, just happy to help out all friends here!

Kekekke...... this is normal lah, all first time Maldives trip planning hor, all would like to go for water villa. Then the more U do research, things started to change. Initially Meeru resort honeymoon water villa is my ideal choice. Later then switch to HIlton due to coincidence.
FOr me now, strategy is using less money to stay in the best resort. Hopefully Shangrila Maldives or W hotel will be the next one!!

Yes.... go do ur home work. Have fun! Do take extra care in booking resort, especially during peak period. Some resort even when over-booked, they'll still accept booking, then later they'll inform U no more rooms or ask U to top up extra cash per night(when U're physically there), it's not just a few dollars but it's 1 or 2 times more!
Luckily most such cases only happens during peak period! I'm seeing a up-trend in such complains over the internet.

Another study material for U. The tripadvisor website, with lots of reviews from the travelers all around the world to Maldives!

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/

Oh my god...suddenly this thread moves so fast..i read until i blur liao..

Starstar
I am in the midst of my planning now..contemplating between Huvafen & Hilton...

Now my engine has started...doing intensive research now

Haru & Wu
So qiao that you 2 can meet ah..hmmm SNG not dat small to meet someone also leh..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Good Good....Go go Huvafen leh!!!
Then we also need the trip report from you once you're back!!

Kekekeke.....true loh, so Qiao met Haru there in IMM. But never say hi or anything lah. Kekekekek....

Yo Haru,

My wifey ask how come U can recognise her? The photo Album isit? Which Album then?? Kekeke..... she wants to know mah, then it looks like U recognise her first then me.

Anyway, think back hor, I also feel weird when u and ur boss kept looking at me(I never directly look at U folks lah), but I knew someone is watching me loh!. Then When I walk away, think back, I check my zip.......HAhahahaha..... I thought I'd forgotten to zip!!! Kekekekeke... :P

Then I did tell u just now so qiao, can go buy toto liao! Then I remember I still haven check my toto(share with a collegue), bought during 10 Feb.
U know what? We strike 5 numbers!!!! Aiyo, Shit! 1 number short. Anyway our system 7 just got us S$1350 each. Not too bad to start the year lah! Kekekekek......

hi Wu,
ya, i actually saw u first coz u standing up, tot u were so familiar...then i saw ur wife and i was like "eh..she also very familiar leh..." hahahah....can recognize from ur HM pix.=P

haahahahhaahhahahahha....i think the fly thing happens more to my hubby!hahahahah....

wow!!!lucky you!!!!

Yo Haru,

Kekekek....My wife said U should ask her mah..... she very out-going one.... Aiya, Job nature. :P

Kekekek..... Aiya....... if it's + another number, that'll be first prize then my promise to you folks still on. Then U don't have to think so much liao. Just book the SQ ticket and go!

Never mind better chance next time. kekekke....wait for my good news! :P

Wah Wu
strike toto leh..not bad..a good start to your maldvies fund..
eh i was reading the trip advisor on Huvafen..like got more complaints than hilton...

Yo Zhuzhu,

Kekeke.... little luck only lah. ANyway that's only the SQ air ticket. :P

Ya.... saw those "complained" also. I think in terms of service, the more well established hotel chain, i.e Hilton, Shang etc.. should have less problem, as they're there for so long liao!

However, must be objective also, there're also good compliments on them too isn't it??? Kekekeke.....

I got put comments under the Hilton ones in tripadvisor, can find??? kekekkekeke :P

Wu
Of cos can find lar..u and ur powerpoint story..i remember the pic of u shootin ur wife back...i like dat pic..very artistic..

But hor..if take SQ..reached there at nite..already waste 1 day liao..then still must pay for dat nite accomdation at Huvafen...like bo hua leh..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Kekekeke...... I like that pics very much too.

That's the trick in the cheaper rates loh, If I'm an agent, I would neg with Huvafen on this as well, That's almost 10~12hrs of Lugi leh!!! I suppose U'll check in ard 12.00am. Normal checking in is from 12pm ~ 2pm. If U book urself, thats' another USD60++ per day more than the local offer.

Aiya, the travel business is like that one lah, everywhere are the same, esp those tour, what 7D5N lah, 1st day and last day always on the plane! :P

hi Wu,
hhahah,..i was a lil shy lah.scared wrong person or your wife mite think i'm some weirdo!hahahaha...ya lor, if u kenah 1 more number we'll all be packing our bags liao...=P

Yo Mish!

Thanks, Just strike off W-Hotel from the list. :P

Yo Haru,

Kekekekek...... Ya lah, unless u're working in service industry, like my wife, a financial consultant, normally u would not just ask.

Sianz.................... ya loh, juz 1 more number. You, ur hubby, bvbride couple,starstar couple,zhuzhu couple, stan couple(yo where's Stan ah???Kekekekek....) the old gang can start packing bags.... Maybe still can include our new friends here

Okie better luck next time!!!

hiya people

WU
wah...so lucky!!! hey that's a darn good start to your maldives fund leh...
keke..
wow..the w hotel soooo ex!!! lucky me not counting on that... me more keen on shang..:p

mish
thanks for the info..it's too ex liao..unless I go buy toto next year CNY n strike BIG!!!

zhuzhu
if u go by SIA, reach there at nite..u can always look for a resort that dun require sea plane transfer. well, that time that is one of my consideration. Cos my hubby die die want to fly by SQ, n he doesn't want to stay at Male hotel for a nite... so no choice lor... end up at Taj Coral.
well, after seeing Wu's sea plane pics, he now dun mind staying at Male for a nite liao..wanna go on the plane... He even ask me if he can sit near the cockpit n observe?!!! so Wu, do the pilot allow that?

zenn
yup..must do your homework..factor in a few stuffs..then come up wif the best choice available.
eg like the nite time arrival, transfer, etc.

I just called up Holiday Tours to ask about the huvafen package..
If do 6D5N..incl. air tix..for 2 pax cost about $6544

Surprising they also do hilton..but the May's rate probably out in mid mar..

Wu,
after u so concidentally saw Haru..u strike 5 no..maybe the next time..u saw anyone of us..u can strike all the 6 no??

Wu
Maybe each one of us give u one of our special digits..then u can combine and buy 1 toto ticket lar since u had the luck..

hihi...i'm back again..sorry to be missing for so long..the Shang looks really nice man...

my budget is abt $4k for a 5 day trip to Maldives (exlcuding air tix)..is it enuff?

Yo Zhuzhu,

Can we " Jia Jia" meetup....kekekekke...yeh then strike 6 ah! :P ...or even 6+1!!!

Anyway, statistically, more 1st prize are from quick pick so own self pick no. less chances.
Unless U buy even week.

Yo Fanfan,

Wha,.... S$4K excl airtickets(SQ is it?)! Enough lah, at least for Hilton beach villa! 5days means only 4nights leh!

In fact most mid range resort/mid range accom will do, for S$4k!

Now U got ur budget, you'll have to list down ur requirements for your dream resort, or do research on Maldives resort liao!

Need any help do let us know!

I just email to some of the resorts for rates. Still waiting for reply.

As for Spore side, they dun ve rate for Jul yet.

Btw, what are the airlines that fly to Maldives and what are usually their timing?

Wu, I am in finanical service field too. Who noes col wif ur wife hee

Yo Zenn,

Kekekee..... My wife is in AIA.
U leh???
Ska-di U know each other....kekekee.....

Anyway, have U view my album? if have hor then U don't know her lah! :P

No flight from Asia reach there in daytime. Only those from Europe. Well there's one though...kekeke...the seaplane!!! Even better, as the view is much much more stunning, I presume, as it fly lower.

Mirihi is a pretty nice resort,rather small though. Rates is very reasonable for the water villa(especially May~July period ~ USD415 nett)), but as usual, living area is rather small, only 53sqm. However, I do like the rm's interal design, laquer wood, and everything was place nicely, tastefully, although small, it still gives a very cosy feeling. (Somewhat similar to Hilton's water villa design but at a fraction of the rates)

But the beach villa is not that good value compare to it's water villa.

Anyway, Mirihi is very near to Hilton, can see with naked eye...... I was there in Hilton using my bino looking at Mirihi!!

For Me, my preference, I still go with Hilton's beach villa or even the deluxe one. I just simply love the 150sqm(USD234 nett) and 300sqm(USD420 nett) living space of them respectively. I think that alone wins Hands-down!!

It's ur choice lah....kekeke....again I trying to psycho ppl go Hilton.
Well, Mirihi is a good choice as far as my "research" is concern!

Yo Zenn,

Anyway, I've attached a website below for your reference. It's currently the best rates reference for Maldives resort. treat it as a baseline, Its probably impossible to get anything cheaper than that! don't think local agent can even reach that pricing.

(Link found by our brother Stan....Yo....WRU har??)
http://www.hoteltravel.com/maldives/maldives/mirihi.htm

Hi Zenn
I am planning to go sometime in may..now doing intensive research..

I tot sri lankan airline reaches there daytime?

Wu
Think i more or less confirm Hilton liao..checked with you..did u stay 1 nite at the airport hotel? Oh and did u saw their water villa (not superior not deluxe, just water villa)...i can't seem to find the pic of their water villa on the website..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Er.... that's what I think also, but someone did check b4, think is starstar, that Sri Lankan reach at night. Neber mind I'll if got time but....kekeke... I will not take loh! Prefer SQ

Huh....... go huvafen leh.... we need trip report leh!!! :P Kekeke... Okie lah, it's ur choice, but really no regret hor!

The airport Hotel rates is more ex then Hilton beach villa, cut-throat man! I stay that night in Male, only cost me USD75 with breakfast. USD2 for dhoni transfer for 2 one way, USD2 taxi to the "hotel". Next day do the samething, go back to Hulhulhe airport via taxi, dhoni, for the seaplane transfer.

The Hilton Water Villa is one of the oldest around in Hilton, can just forget about it lah. They don't even bother to put the pics online. :P
The best valued one is the Deluxe water villa though, one of the newest and very nice interior! However, my advise is watch and see when U reach there. Their upgrading rates is far more better than U book now, say 3N beach villa, 3N Water villa. Of course providing they got vacancy lah! Remember my Sunset water villa upgrade is only USD750++

......hmmmm where is stan? I thot he wanted to go also??

Yo folks,

I think www.Mal-dives.com is also cheap, at least for some other resorts(Not for Hilton though).

A Website good for baseline....much better than those big agents like crown tours.

YO Folks!

Check out this website. Warning..... It can be very drooling and hair-standing website. Do prepared more tissue paper!!!! :P
Opss... remember to On ur Speaker!!!

Another contender of ultimate dream resort other than Huvafen!!!

Go straight to Maldives Reethi Rah, a 6 stars resort!!!

http://www.oneandonlyresorts.com

yah..One and Only is very very nice...was one of the few resorts i found while surfing on net..but the price is even nicer lor...heehee..

actually, iwas hoping to stay at a water villa/bunglow...so i'm afrain $4k not enuff leh

Wu, which hotel in male did you stay? and where/when did u book it?
i think more or less we'll purchase the SQ airticket by end of this month, and book hilton beach villa at the same time...
we plan to go for 5N at hilton, 1N male. S$6k all in enough?? we dun dive...
oh any honeymoon special for hilton?