Maldives

Hello Mish,

Kekekek..... Don't jus read the thread, jump into and talk to us lah....

True...really fall in love with that place. Hmmm....not sure leh, but if you're particular about pricing, then I think the Hilton beach villa is really value for money. if U ask me to choose over water villa, I would also put my money into probably 3N beach Villa, 3N DELUXE beach villa. See... 2N deluxe beach villa almost equals to 1N water villa price. Well I would rather spend additional nite there than to stay in the water villa. Value!

ACutally I got a problem with those resort near to the Male(airport). Read from some forum that it's pretty irritating hearing aircraft flying in and off, Club Med is near to those location.

Another thing is I wanna to take seaplane and enjoy the view, thus, Hilton or other further resort would be my next choice.

Have U seen the virtual tour of Hilton yet? Look at the deluxe beach villa and beach villa, see whether u'll like it. Then compare with the water villa, see whether it's worth the money.

Let us know if U got other queries...

Wu

hello Wu

arr....am writing this from home
really miss rotting at home doing nothing. wil be checking into office again tmr afternoon to do extra work la..so silly but so necessary. most collegues will be back too so will it will still be qt fun

whoa your company is fantastic le. i really wont mind coming out with the 10% every mth. they really take care of you guys envious man....

am nt entitled to buy any bank shares at staff rate nw (as yet) anyway itz gog to be really really expansive man.

thx wu and starstar for saying tt i look "tai-tai" thatz a first for me kekeke....
really dun hv the tai-tai-miah now la but am still ever so hopeful kekeke...

all of u guys hv a nice weekend ahaed and drop a note when free =)

hi starstar,
the LOTR tour is really expensive. but i've heard that its quite nice. but the most of NZ is quite lovely. i remember my cousin drove us up to this place up the hills and it was overlooking the ocean. it was like nothing i've ever seen before in my whole life. totally breathtaking...i can't remember the name of the place though..

hi mira,
mauritius is a lil more off the beaten track. there is almost no shopping (there are malls, but trust me, dun bother shopping there). but if u are into nature, and just pure relaxation i would recommend it. I really loved the catamaran cruise we took to an island...felt like a millionaire on the boat tanning...hahahah...but of cos water quality wise, can't beat maldives.

I just called up Chan bros on their maldives package...the staff is so !@$@# rude...Dynasty travel's staff is so much better..but too bad they dun have anything for Hilton...

looks like have to DIY the trip myself..

Hello Zhu zhu

Chan bros gave me a v v bad impression during the last NATAs fair. they are not really into places like Maldives cos their tours are more for aunties.

Try Holiday Tours - they are ok cos i booked my Angsana package from them. they are located at Cainhill Plaza. try giving them a call. they specialise in Maldives cos they sell pkg for alot of diff resorts there. cannot confirm if Hilton is one of them though. think their no is 6734 7091- got the no off yellow pages

cheers and good luck!!

yo bvbride
going to boycott chan bros from now on...

I think i ever asked holiday tours..but they told me b4 the may/jun rates not out yet...maybe i called them again..

u still in office ah?

hi haru
im not into shopping for honeymoon lar :p
so i guess, maldives is our 1st choice
but now dilemma over which hotel to choose!

hi wu, thanks for your e-mail!
all looks so ex and in USD somemore
haiz
will it worth going to NATAS nxt month?
i e-mailed club med to ask for full price list for July, still waiting for reply

how long before should we book hotel/air ticket/package?

hi starstar, u stayed at taj coral reef before rite? can i see some pics? the website's photogallery cant be clicked...
and cant see the rates for july yet...

Hey WU,

2N deluxe is the same price as the water villa?? I checked the webby-deluxe cost 550usd!!!! Hmm whats in the deluxe anyway. Hey, you know whether they have half board over at hilton?? What is there to do in maldives other than water sports? any sightseeing - eg: things to buy, local culture etc?

Hi Mish,

Kekekeke.... I mean beach villa is ard that 2X ratio. The water villa cost ard USD582 nett and beach villa ard USD234 nett during the May-July timeframe. While the deluxe beach villa will cost USD420 nett and deluxe water villa is USD972 nett.

See for urself, i.e the 3D view of Hilton's villa here at the virtual tour. Click on the virtual tour.
http://www.hiltonworldresorts.com/resorts/Maldives/experience.html

Note:- to view deluxe beach villa. in the virtual tour, go find the island view 02,the deluxe beach is there by another click away.

Brief description of deluxe beach villa:-
1)300Sqm living space
2)Personal dive pool
3)Full aircon,coffee maker,King size bed, day bed,open air shower
4)Gigantic bath pavilion.
etc....

See for urself!

Yes Hilton got half board but I it'll cost USD60 per pax. Really not worth loh, Me and my wifey can survive with about USD60 per day, going ala carte. Trick is go for their free tea break session at 5pm sharp!

Other than watersports, I would suggest taking up their open water diver course, although ex, but they're one of the most professional around. There're island hopping tour, visiting other island where local lives, kind of the culture tour. If you don't dive, can try their glass bottom boat trip.
If you stay there for longer time, do catch their live performance from their local, such as singing, dance etc...

I can sent you more info thru mail if you can provide me with ur email add., items such as price list, water sports list, excursion list, spa list etc......

if you got USD550 to spare, go for their Sport fishing tour! once in a lifetime experience where they'll hunt down Marlin, sail fish or giant tuna!

Wu!!

Sounds like great fun!!! I just seen the virtual tour. oh my goodness...... it so BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!! USD60 a day is enough for the food??? lunch and dinner?? for 2 person or 1? email me!! [email protected]!!

hi zhuzhu

do chk out w Holiday Tours. they sould be a good choice. the Huva package sounds really tempting but u will miss out on the first night cos u arrive around midnight when u go by SQ. u might hv to top up the extra nights cos 3N is definately not enough for most pple.
i left the office around 5pm on Sat - think will wk only alternate weeks la.
good luck with your search ok

Wu: your prof advice is in demand! good for u man.
itz so nice to have such a generous person dishing out good advice on this forum
two thumbs up

talk again on Mon

cheers!!!

bvbride,

Yes- Wu definately has great advise. Hilton is beautiful... just staying there for 6D5N in the deluxe beach villa is a killer!! I wanan go 2 places for honeymoon with a budget of 8-9k including spending... with spending in maldives for 6k... i have no where else to go.. sobz.. wanted to go japan....followed by maldives! wonder can cut cost in which area... hmmmm

is the huva thing worth it??? cheaper? just as pretty as hilton???

yo star star..
i like suffered from withdrawal symptoms..keep going to the other thread since last nite..keep seeing blank screen..

Oh i'm waiting for hilton reply..cos the price list they send me..n the one on the website differs leh..the price list on cheaper by USD10 for the deluxe beach resort..

hello hello
thanx zhuzhu for creating extra thread here le
u know it was so disheartening to find a blank screen whenever i click on Maldives...hmm...
maybe if u all hv WU's email can let him know too..
zhu zhu if i were u i will just stick to basic accomendation like the normal beach villa cos the $ saved can be used to spend an extra night there! hmmm..just my two cents worth

yo gals
yup..think the beach villa at hilton is really very nice n cosy..
u can spend the extra $$ on extra nite or even indulge in spa..

Yo Folks,

Kekekeke..... maybe we just wrote too many things under that thread until it just bust!!! :P

Anyway, don know whether it's me or not that cause the blank thingy, I was trying to reply fanfan and Mirror, then post, then it gave me some error msg then it just goes blank. :P

NOTE:- below are the post that I'd save. Mira was asking for starstar's album link for so many days, thus I also include the link. Hopefully fanfan and Mirror can find this new thread!
Anyway I've also sent a mail to the administrator to address the blank sceen issue. So far not reply yet.

Agree with bvbride, so Disheartening when seeing the blank screen, it's as if the end of the world!!!! Kekekkeek....:P

Yo Fanfan,

The house reef ard Hilton is in bad shape, however, there're trip to other island for snorkelling. I think it'll cost U USD35++ each.

Yo Mira,

I've attached starstar's photo link for u lah. I think she's enjoying her daily Gym sessions. :P
U must read all the archives mah..... all the links are there....Kekekkekeke

Sorry starstar, don't mind I kay-po hor. Kekekekek.....

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087&code=18301393&mode=invite&DCMP=isc-email-AlbumInvite

Hello, really lah, we already compare so many resorts liao.... HIlton beach villa the most valued accom on Maldives. Others, might be cheaper but only slightly. Just that U must know how to save and don't spend unnecessary cash over there....discipline abit will do liao.

Anyway, Me, starstar and bvbride might be arranging for a trip to Maldives next year. What u can do is drool(we are also drooling now, never stop) now, and wait for next year lah. Take this chance to save up and spent big next year. BTW we're also monitoring the new resort opening there in Maldives, i.e Shangrila and W hotel!

Ya see.... my post never hang the thread...hmmmm... not sure what happen loh! maybe the administrator can enlighten us.

Yo Folks,

Got a question for you all, more like a survey lah!

ANyway, since somehow we'd come into conclusion that Hilton beach villa is value for the money, i.e USD200++ per night. As we all know, inflation will soon sets in and price will increase over time, What is the acceptable price for the beach villa do you folks think it'll be still labeled as "the most Value villa" ???

Coming into this thread is like a norm for me liao..... 1 day never comes in hor, feel so uneasy.
Kekekekekke.......

Hmmmmmm.....

orrr Wu...so u the "culprit" that hang the maldives thread??

I keep trying to go into dat thread during office hrs..so sad i see blank screen..tot it was my system problem...

Yo Wu

hi hi thought all is lost man in our beloved Maldives thread - so lost during the last two days u know
think best value for me is like what u said the hilton beach villa that cost USD200+++
anything above USD 300+++ is qt exp already

alamak the newbies who recently joined us how arr
hopefully they will see this new thread and pop in soonest

btw WU i wanted to go see your photos again but the older thread is jammed la. can post your link here again pls? thank u!!!

Yo Zhuzhu,

Confirm not my fault lah.... I've posted the exact post but nothing happens. I think our thread had reach a certain limit...... too many links, too many ppl recommending just 1 resorts (i.e Hilton) or..... Kekekekeke...... the real answer must wait for the administrator to enlighten us. :P

Yo bvbride,

Kekeke..... ya, pretty lost. Thinking about creating a new thread but last 2 days really very busy with my work. Anyway still must thanks Zhuzhu for creating the new thread.

Actually I think USD300++ still consider a value ones, even comparing to Banyan Tree or even Huvafenfushi which still cost a ridiculous amount just for the beach villas.....

Aiya.....lets just hope the rates will stick at ard USD200++.

Okie... my links is as followed:-

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645&mode=guest

There's video loaded at the last 16 "images". It needs time to dwload, might be up to 30mins if u can wait.

Happy viewing!

Wu,
think i asked this que b4...are the beach villa in hilton very close to each other...cos they had like total 70++ beach villas leh..

I just send the web master an email, regarding the problems with our maldives thread. after sent only i realised there is a new 1 liao. haha half blind liao. yesterday i tried from in the morning till late nite, cant at all, really pek chek!! now here comes a new 1, heehee..... feel like coming back to home liao!

Stan
welcome home!!!
I think we got too many messages inside liao..if u look at it..think the maldives thread had one of the most highest posts leh..

Yo Zhuzhu,

You're right. Seems to be lots of beach villas, infact they're arrange in the terrace style.... not semi-D or Bungalow.
However the sound insulation is superb(Concrete walls mah no wooden), and also high walls, thus no one can peep thru unless they're army trained(SOC high wall clearance, you hubby should know.
.....). Then don't forget hor, the island is much bigger thus can accomodate so many villas.

Anyway, guarantee privacy lah.....kekekeke.... else how to bath at the open air shower and open air bath tub???
At first bathing at the open air shower is abit funny lah..... luckily there's no wind. The Sunset water villa open air shower hor then very cold....the sea "breeze" kept coming in and that's a challege!!

Yo Stan,

Wah.... U really busy hor? So long never heard from U. We all though your're in Maldives liao... :P

Welcome home!!!

FINALLY!!!!! Okie... i am a bit slow in discovering this new link. Hmm. I have been clicking on the old one!! I also emailed the admistator...Lucky i decided to search under wu... and can find this... wahhaaha.. wu... u see.. u been such a regular post-er that search under ur nick can find this link.

Anyway i wanted to ask wu.. regarding the email u sent me.. where is the stay 5n free 2n from? sounds like a good deal. btw..

hey guys... so whats the difference between the deluxe and the normal beach villa? the deluxe is new.. the normal one is older or not? Oh yes! impt question.... got TV not?? haha

Hi ryo...

may i know how many days starstar went for her maldives trip? and how much it cost her? also i notice she shifted from 1 type of room to the water bunglow...

May i know how much does it cost to got for a 6d4n trip? if i book the hotel and plane tix separately will it be cheaper? and does Hilton provide full board? or half board?

yo wu,

ya lo long time no see.... last weekend i was busy like hell!!! busy for wat?? heehee.... busy for wedding photo taking lo..... dont worry now on.... i will log in frequently, haha!!!

Yo Mish,

Kekekeke....smart har... you are the first "Newbies" to find us!

Anyway, the 5N free 2N still ex comparing to May~July period. Becos the base price already increases alot. It's USD160++ more ex than during May~July period, for the beach villa and USD180++ more ex for deluxe ones.

Both normal and deluxe ones are totally new, completed June 2005. Deluxe one got extra stuff like dive pool, bigger living area(150sqm bigger) at a whopping 300sqm(ard 3 new 5 rm flat), bigger bath pavilion.

Go to this link and look at the updated Hilton Virtual tour(360 deg resort tour) and you'll know the diff between normal and deluxe ones.

http://www.hiltonworldresorts.com/resorts/Maldives/index.html
Look for island view 01 and 02 to locate the beach villas.

Anyway, unless U stay in the water villa, there's no TV. ANd hey, U don't need a TV in Maldives, that's the point in going there to MaldiveS!!! Out goes the TV, out goes the DVD and out goes the internet,PC! Kekekek.... anyway, there's internet access at the Entertainment buildings lah!

Hi Dreamer,

Cannot remember how many days Starstar was there in Maldives leh.... If not wrong maybe 5 or 6 days? Eh.... wheres starstar har, still cannot find this thread har?

I presume ur 6D4N is talking about Hilton

ANyway, if U plan to stay at hilton for 4N, u'll also need additional nite stay at Male, cost SQ arrive ard 10pm and no seaplane flies at night.
It's cost not more than USD100 for the Male nite stay.

For the accom, u can book thru Hilton, and they'll arrange for the seaplane flight(extra), and then book ur own SQ flight seperate. AFter some comparison, DIY is cheaper than going thru agent such as GSA Travel. Yes, U can include Full board or half board but I think not worth it, too ex. (Full board cost USD90 per pax and half cost USD60 per pax).
Me and my Wifey can survive there 1st 3 days on maggi cup noodles. and the rest with just total of USD60~100 per day for the rest of 5days.

Trick to save on food is eat more during breakfast, preferably late breakfast(anyway Breakfast is free, buffet style). Then must go for the 5pm free tea break, lots of biscuit,pastry tea, coffee etc.... Thus dinner we can eat less liao.

Have I ever sent U any Hilton info? If not, u can give me ur email, and will sent to u.

Anyway, it'll cost U ard S$4000 for a 4N+1N stay in Maldives(4 nites hilton, 1 nite Male), plus seaplane tranfer return and SQ return).

Food and other stuff will be extra.

Yo stan,

Wha.....taking wedding photo ah.... tiring hor?
Then still got ur wedding dinner hor....kekekeke.....enjoy lah, although tiring, it's really fun to go thru that, especially with ur love one!

So when's and where's ur wedding dinner? Kekekeke......

hello Wu

thx for the link again
will continue to browswe your beautiful pix when i hv the time - videos- doubt got the time to lod then view...did u develop all your pix? your album must be as thick as two telephone directory hor...kekeke...

Stan: hello hello
wedding PS must be real fun im still remenecing
abt my PS which happened last june kekeke...was a very hot and sweaty experience hahaha...

Wu - just out of curiousity - u were with BV hor...u took your pix with who arr?

Yo Zhuzhu,

Ya hor....starstar is here mah...hmmmm.....cock eye lah me. :P

Anyway, can tell U, the beach villa privacy is good... we can walk around naked from the shower to the bath, cos the wall is very high!
ONly 1 thing, b4 bathing, remember to "down" all the blinds(electronic blinds), else ppl can look into, cos it's all full glass door mah!

kekekek..... No problem lah!.
If not, Sunset water villa sure very private one :P kekekeke..... only 2 villas out into the sea mah.

Fanfan,

Glad that U've found this thread again!

Yo bvbride!

No, I just develop a few of the selected ones. Expensive leh. Then I print some using my own printer, A3 size, then frame up around my house,kekekekke....with all my dogs photo also! :P

Oh...as for the wedding photos, we choose BV with Kim(studio Dfia) package. Then later at the BV fashion show, we won another pkg by Chris ling, then we shot together with our doggie.....kekekkee...very fun but it's all in Hard copy(CD need to top-up another $500 :P).

Will scan and put them up onto my album soon.

Hi Dreamer,

Eh..... ur email looks very familiar leh.....hmmmmmm... I did email U my photolink once right?? Kekekekke.....

Okie will sent U the info. Have fun!

If U want good rates, May~July. Much much cheaper!
If U want calmer water + guaranteed no rain, Jan ~ April. If U do diving, oh...it's only these few months U'll see Manta rays and other big fishes!
But the rates will be sky high!!! 2 to 3X higher!

yay! finally! *oops am i very SLOW?* :p
thanks Wu for sending starstar's photos
i havent browsed.. at office must surf secretly HEE not nice to open window big big
actually im planning to go about mid-July, and I checked Hilton website, beach villa is about USD 360++ for 15 July onwards ler.. where do u get USD 200++???
haiz.. my wedding is on 9 July'06 u see, but it's not in Sg, so i have to fly here and there aarrghh
still dunno whether to go straight (about 11 July earliest) or wait for the next weekend lor (15 Jul)
hmm yeah i checked baros and full-moon, i think hilton is still the best
and baros cheapest villa always fully-booked already (i think agency blocked-booked or something), the 2nd cheapest costs USD400++ :|

Yo Haru,

Kekeke......Glad that U can find the new thread!

Yo Mira,

No lah. It's USD200++ between May 6 ~ July 17. AFter or b4 it's ard USD360++. Just nice after ur wedding.
as if this offer is make for U leh.... or u purposely book ur wedding on July 9th? :P

Aiya....Fly straight there after ur wedding lah.... or wait until 1st sept onwards to enjoy the next lowest rate(buy 7 nites only pay 5).

Baros too ex even for normal villas and Full moon will be....urghhhhh.....cannot stand the room design. :P

hi people

Wu
haha..u very blur leh...zhuzhu's right lor..me the 1st pax to find my way to here..:p thanks for the help in posting up my pic's link...u are darn right..me go to gym lah for the past few days..:p reach home too busy doing chores.. no time to log in... :p

dreamer
I didn't change my accom... all along I stayed in the water villa.
The resort I stayed is Taj Coral Reef. Wu's right... I stayed there for 6 nites..spent in all S$6k for everything..food, spas, snorkelling trips, submarine ride..air tics..etc...
my trip was full board.

zhuzhu
think u dun have to worry too much abt privacy of the beach villa...
think it's rather well concealed from what I can observed in Wu's pics...

mira
think Baros n Full moon resorts are not as good as Hilton's.... in terms of rates. the beach villas is worth the $$ spent.

hmm ya hor.. USD 200++ before 17 jul... i think we'll go directly then, save a lot ler!!
no lar nvr purposely, at that time nvr think of honeymoon yet :p

cannot concentrate at work liao! keep drooling!!

Yo Mira,

Drooling at the same time must replenish water hor else...dehydration sets in....:P kekekekekek........

I think U can obtain cheaper rates from this website below, compare to hilton direct. The trick is not book from this web but let HIlton knows U can get cheaper rates, then they'll throw in USD50 dining voucher then book from Hilton straight!

http://www.hoteltravel.com/maldives/maldives/hilton_maldives_rangali.htm#special%20rates

For beach villas, hotel travel quoted USD234 nett. While HIlton quote USD200++ but when incl 10% tax plus USD8 per pax bed tax, then it's USD236.

But seaplane Hilton quoted USD270 while hotel travel quoted USD286.

CheerS!

star star... u stayed in taj coral?? how's the prices like? hmm 6k full board water villa sounds resonable. Compared to hilton... how?

Wu, The 7n pay 5n promotion is under hilton's website? or some tour agency? that sounds like a good deal. i found the beach villa link. Hmm much smaller but px difference also alot wor!!!! sigh. hard to decide. Btw the dive pool for the deluxe villa looks kinda small. Hmm. Is it small? For swimming or dipping or gt jacuzzi or what?? hmmm. Wu, you got photos ar?? can show or not? is it online??

Hey guys, natas this mth leh. you think will get better rates? or promotions???