Maldives

hi haru
yup yup.. heard alot abt the antartica cruise n also Africa..
well.. africa's exortic...
me also want to go there one of these years... but that will be after the Maldives n Hawaii trips...

well if u wanna see dolphins up close.. should go to Bunbury in WA.
saw a family of bottlenose dolphins in the bay.
u can even get to swim next to these wild dolphins too..
for me, if I go South Africa, wanna go to Cape Town n see Great WHite... :p cos I saw on the documentaries that in South Africa, there are some trips out to the sea to watch Great Whites hunt for the sea lions.. it's some seasonal thing..

so u going to New Zealand isit? For me, after I'm back from my Perth Trip in March, we are thinking of going for a cruise or BKK or JaKarta in sep or aug. :p do take alot of pics if u going new zealand..

hi starstar,
we just went to NZ bout 2 years ago, so hubby prob nt too keen to go again...wow, can really see you and ur hubby addicted to travelling! u have nt even gone for perth trip and already planning for next one!hahah...

Yo folks,

seems pretty quiet today....wah.. all busy ah? Kekekek...
Me too, rather busy with work this few days.
Hey, don stop thinking about Maldives leh....keep it up! keep writing...kekekekk

Anyway just found a way to load up some very very short(few seconds but very big size ~ 17MB per clip), high quality video clips taken at Hilton on to my public album, from pics 401 onwards.

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645

Manage to load only 2 video clips for ur viewing, especially for Stan...yo WRU har??

My other videos are really too big, need to go source for a video editing software to do the job.

Okie......gotta go monitor my US stocks liao....Start working again... My Maldives trip depends on this also! :P

hi Wu,
yah, have been busy at work. and my cousin has just arrived for a 3 day visit in spore so am busy entertaining too. she is tempting me with a ski trip at queenstown, nz for only $500 incl ski passes,etc...=P

hi everyone, i'm new to this thread..thinking of going to Maldives for honeymoon...any recommendation on the accomondation?
i would prefer to stay in those water bunglows..
thanks in advance

Hi Haru,

OH I see......kekekeke....now you're focusing on NZ liao lah.... HAve U ski b4?
I've tried once in Scotland but only know how to stop but not turn....so difficult!

The others seems to be missing....hmmmmm....

Hi Fanfan,

It'll depends on your budget, as there's many different types of water bungalows in different resorts. Generally, water bungalow rates range from USD300++ onwards till a whopping USD10,000++ per night.

Then followed by the furnishing, some are really HDB like i.e tiles, white wall etc... others are more of wooden interior, very cosy looks! Some comes with Jacuzzi, open shower, dive pools and even water slides feature. Budget is still the questions loh!

Yo Zhuzhu,

Hey... hw is ur planning so far... looks like you've not plan anything yet.Kekekekke

AiYa... I think it's about time for u to book liao, since you're saying ur trip will be liely in May right? hmmm......
For me, I plan and book around Apr-May for my July trip last year.

So have u calculated how much you'll be receiving from the govt? AKA the Maldivian funds? Kekekekek....:P

hello hello

so quiet these few days hor..

Wu =: ii want to chk out your ever growing album but very tied down with work - really admire u for putting in the effort to take pictures of every single little detail. think u must really email Hilton and claim some credit lor. kekeke

good luck with the US stocks - no capital so cannot share your excitment there la haizzzzzz

Hello bvbride!

Ya loh....so quiet recently.... thus must inject some flame into the forum mah! :p

Kekekeke.... actually it's my friend who shot most of the close up details :P I also shot some lah....but most of the time I taking video.
However, most video are very shaky thus next trip there I'll need to get ot borrow 1 anti-vibration type video cam.

US stocks U don't need that much capital lah... mine are either employee stock purchase plan, or sometime buy thru market. Really all this are my mid long term investment. Monthly save up bit by bit, then buy some stocks, a few shares also can, then just wait....till 2 yrs or even 5 yrs later. Kekekekek....

So hows work recently? Still so busy ah?
Anyway what are your job scope in the bank? Investment linked or borrowing??

hi Wu,
well, the thing is that hubby and i have never seen snow. only seen it at the tip of mountain but not like snow covered mountains in winter, so that will be quite an experience for both of us..aiyah, it just makes things more confusing!!now hubby so busy with work so i hardly get the chance to discuss with him anyway.=<

Yo Haru,

Just ask ur huuby when he's free, note it down. That makes things more simple....U just go book whatever trip...example:- 5D4N Maldives then fly to NZ another 5D4N..... Kekekekeke.....:P

Oh.....snow is another magnificent creation by the mother nature. When I'm doing my degree back in UK, ever once travel thru Scotland mountain area, and when it snows, it's just really another heavne....really difficult to get it out of my mind!!! Must go must go... NZ would be a very good choice!!!

hi haru
haha..yup we love to travel just that my hubby gets to travel even more often...*envy* it's just some planning...
we told ourselves that we must go for a LONG trip to somewhere far away n good eg Mladives or Hawaii..etc.. once a year... short regional trips can be anytime...:p

Wu
haha..u n my hubby sama sama... he's also into investments... think he's more experienced cos before he get married..he's already investing liao..that's how his $$ grows... well we have taken out our joint savings n invest liao..hopefully we can see rewards soon..
btw do u buy bonds before? I still very blur abt bonds...:p

wah..your pics are amazing..really tempting me to go next year leh..

zhuzhu
ya man..u better start booking your trip leh...dun wait till last min...

Yo Starstar,

I think Haru is tempting to go NZ instead of Maldives. Hubby wants to go lah! kekekeke..... I also want to go but not so soon lah....maybe retirement. :P

Wha...... you hubby into investment ah....no wonder U stop working liao.... Kekekeke....What type of investment he's in? ANyway, for investment, there's no such thing as "soon". kekekek.... If it's soon, it should be called Speculation! :P

I don't buy bonds... think the returns are too little ~ 2 to 6%?. I'm into higher and more risky type, US stocks, equity and unit trust. My CPF funds all in AIA/AIG funds, so far so good with min annual 2% while most are 12% returns(compare to 2.5% and 4% in CPF).

My Company stock yields even better, my profit is around 100% average!
While my other US stocks yield around 30%.

Aiya.... next trip to Maldives, I'll invest in photographic equipment, i.e filters lah, wide angle lens to take better pics. :P Kekekeke.....

yo wu,

hi hi! im back! these few days my workloads are almost killed me! actually i did came here at least once a day. but for the pass few days the thread was running so slow.... so i just came in and gone.... dont worry i am still stick with maldives.... :D

ok ok..i am starting to plan liao..reason why i dun wan to booked too early cos i dun wan to wait too long to go for the trip..if i were to book now..i need to wait at least 2 mths leh..if i booked abit later..then dun have to wait until neck long long mar..

Yo Zhuzhu......

Kekekekek.....interesting neck long long concept/theory! Kekekekek....

Ya agree with you, the wait is excrutiating! For me I waited for 2mths, but still the wait is really worth the "Pain"!

1 way is to bury urself in work till the day arrives!!!!

Yo Stan,

Oh...still around eh! ...we though you've change ur plan also. :P Hey, booked ur trip first then bury urself in work lah...kekekekek....

Hey as per ur request earlier,I've already put some video in my album. I'll try to put more in the next few days.... hope this will push you more to book ur trip. Kekekekek......

hello WU

im the loan shark type not the investment type - hence not much info to exchange with u regarding investments lo. got limited funds so dare not any o how by stocks and all that - CPF?? just let it sit there in case i quit and cannot find new job?? (***touch wood***)
am quite interested in "buying a few shares" in the US stock market but need expert guidance - where can i get info?

hello WU

im the loan shark type not the investment type - hence not much info to exchange with u regarding investments lo. got limited funds so dare not any o how by stocks and all that - CPF?? just let it sit there in case i quit and cannot find new job?? (***touch wood***)
am quite interested in "buying a few shares" in the US stock market but need expert guidance - where can i get info?

Hi bvbride,

Yo Loanshark! Kekekek...no lah. Anyway, do u do reno loan? How many percent?

I also newbies in investment. Just go with my simple graph analysis for US stocks, then CPF investment I let my wife to handle. She AIA agent mah...kekekek.... Normally for expert, they will invest themselves rahter than buying thru agents due to extra charges. For me, after charges I still got 12% p.a return Okie liao. :p

U can join www.sgfunds.com forum to check out, they got lots of discussion in investment, different different types.

Anyway buying stock in US is better for me lah, need less funds mah, can even buy 1 share. Singapore cannot!

Wu
I like the idea of bookin a trip just like 2wks b4...then no need to wait for too long..
350100.gif

I was trying to find ur video clips..and guess wat..I saw ur wedding pics...dun find me too kaypoh huh..
350101.gif
..but i must say..ur wife very daring..choose black color as her evening gown..

Yo bvbride,

Wha.. I thought ur job is 8 to 5 leh? no meh? Got OT pay or not?

Har.... OCBC ah... anyway I got it from ur bank also. just that I see whether can I do re-financing. My current rate is 6.99%. Hmmm.....

Last time ABN Amro used to have the balance transfer kind of thingy, now don't have liao. Trying to see if there's any cheaper rates out there!.

It's okie loh.. thanks alot!

Yo ZhuZhu,

Wha...sure or not??? 2wks b4 cannot lah.... sure sold out want! Hey, something waiting can be fun u know...especially going to Maldives. Kekekeke.... :P

Yah.. about the video clip. Acutally quite troublesome for u folks to see. You need to click on it then wait for it to load into your memory, then it's play. 1 Minute video sometimes need 15 mins to dwload. Unless U can wait ....kekeekke... Ya, again it's waiting!

I'm doing editing to some of my video, probably will put in around 3 to 4 clips per day...

Oh... U found the way to my wedding pics ah! Kekekek..... Ya it's very daring and it's both our decision loh. Anyway I think black looks good on her. So far, no one complain...probably behind our back only. :P
Okie mah hor, I also worn black mah! :P
Actually red also nice, on her lah, if I wear red, it'll be like those 7mth singing stage liao.....choi choi choi!!!

hi chicklet,
my cousin actually lives there and she told me about this fantastic deal during the off peak season. anyway, do share ur tips with me!

Wu,
For men to wear black during their wedding is no big deal lar..my hubby also in black mar..but for a bride to be dressed in black...must be very daring..cos not alot of old folks like it mar...and yes..she does looks good in black

I tried to view the video clip last nite..like not workin leh..

Ok lar..i try to book the trip 1.5 mths in advance lar..

Yo Haru,

Can share with us ur Fantastic deal for NZ, here online? Thanks!
Ur cousin "Kang Tao" is from NZ itself or Singapore?

Yo Zhuzhu,

Cannot like that say...kekekek
... men = women = men. Must be able to convince them.... Ya, really we did take some time to convince them and luckily they're alright with that. Phew.....

After U click on the video clip, must wait for it to dwload into ur mem or temp Harddisk, it'll need ard 15mins or so... Don't know whether it's worth the wait....Kekekkekeke

Hahaha.... why not 1.75mths in advance? Kekeke... anyway pls do check frequetly online with the resort on the availability. I remember the last time I went, Hilton was all full during July. We booked ard Apr/May.

Morning Wu

me no OT pay la haizzzz today in again at 8.30am
think getting really haggard and old looking liao orr...

think u are referring to the EasiCredit Balance Transfer issit? our reno loan rates seldom got 6.99 unless itz some spec package with our HDB loan? hmm....
our EasiCredit Bal Tranf rate is quite competitive, but u must go open one if u dun hv one yet. rate hovers around 3 to 4%

dun hv time to chk your videos - your pix just see halfway only arr...
really want to c yr wedding clip man

will pop in later

cheers!!!

zhu zhu : what r u waiting for? book late how to secure the room of your choice? must go soon and report to us here ok

hi haru, that's great! I am lousy with deals and stuff (we drove and booked everything ourselves...) but can share what I enjoyed there and what to avoid.... MSN me, much easier. ta!

Yo bvbride,

How to look young and fresh when U work like that!, Must recharge man, and Maldives is a good place for u to recharge!!!! Kekekekeke....

Not those type of balance transfer lah... some use to do reno balance transfer and give us like 0.5% less but must have a min of say 10K or what. Anyway like what u say, true loh, cannot find anything less than 6.99% liao. I can pay off lah, but it's better for me to keep hard cash on hand for rainy days, and U know what, it really came. My dad need some cash and I'd be transferring him my "retirement funds" of 20K..... there goes my saving....

Ya hor, I never edit any of my wedding video leh...U wanna see ah?? I got one on hand is a MTV video of us for the march in. Quite cute one, a story film with our dogs....kekekeke..., film and directed by my wifey's BIL (he's a advertising Director). I'll check out the size of the video first

Zhuzhu....see....another person urging U to book quickly!!! Kekekkeke....

And Yes I would agree too....earlier U book, U'll get a better villa, i.e. closer to the beach lah or proximity to the makan place etc...

Er... which resort U wanna go har?? if it's Hilton hor, then our previous room no. 201 and 202 are very close to the makan place, reception, gym, pool, dive centre etc... Close but not noisy!

I was wondering if it is more economical to book maldives honeymoon thru agency or do a la carte. When I travel I often buy a package F and E and extend on it to get more value for our airticket. However Maldives seems to be a different ball game.

Can anyone advise which agency is recommendable for good and ecoomical maldives travels? thanks!!

We've check thru most agency, like GSA travel, specialise in Maldives + other exotic location, it seems like doing Ala carte thru the resort itself is cheaper.
TO save more, U can opt for other airline, i.e SriLankan or MAlaysia airline over SQ. However for SQ, 4 to Go promo still on and can save up till S$100 per pax.

You can try www.mal-dives.com and http://www.maldives-hotels-travel.com/index.htm

prices looked reasonable

hi Wu, i've been drooling over your Hilton photo!
and there's been so many posts i'm kinda lost
could you tell me how much did you spend for the total 7 nights for 2?
i'm planning for my honeymoon mid July 2006..
which month did you go?
is July weather OK?
i'm also looking at clubmed kani coz i think it's cheaper than hilton?
thanks...

my cousin is a half chinese, half kiwi, but she has been living in auckland ever since she was born. => i've been to nz twice already. but really dun mind to go again since they live there. will share the packages with you once she sends me the details ya?

hello hello

Wu - your consultation hours must extend liao hor..so many newbies in the thread
welcome welcome!!

dont worry abt your retirement funds la cos u are so young - still relatively new to the work force - can accumulate again - thatz what i told myself after spending so much $$ during wedding and then honeymoon. $20K - whoa! really admire your discipline in savings man. how i wish i got 20K to spare sob sob

u know whatz the irony? although i dun look or act rich - i get approached qt a few times (esp around Chinatown)by dodgey pple asking me for $!!! hmmm.............

Wu &amp; Bvride

"Huang di bu ji tai jian ji" huh..okie lar..i go n checked out lar..

Wu,
u can start an online consultancy service...

Hi Haru,

Wha... Chinese/Kiwi mix ah... must be very beautiful ppl. I can really imagine liao, those tone tone body colour, beautiful eyes, silky hair... Eh... guys or girl har...kekekek... should all be in my discription lah!

Okie thanks! Waiting for ur details. I'm really also keen to be there and imagine I'm one of the character in the Lord of the Rings!

Hello m1rr0r,

what an unique nick you have there. AKA Mirror is it?? Kekekeke....

Kekekek....not only u drool lah, I drool too. Yes, Maldives is such a wonderful place on earth, not only in Hilton.

July! Good! I went there 1st July ~ 8th July 2005!
nice weather, can tell from my tan! I looked like a Maldivian when I'm back! There's only 1 short shower + 1 tropical storm during my 7 nights there.

I spent ard S$8K for 2, but over my budget by S$2-3K cos I upgraded to their Sunset water villa suite and did some fine dining.

Overall Clubmed kani is cheaper but if U compare the accomodation, HIlton still value for that little diff.
(sorry folks have to share my experience again...kekekekke)
Currently Hilton beach villa 150sqm is price at only USD200++ per night which I think it's unbeatable value! Clubmed ones are only probably 45sqm, and pricing is around USD290++ per night(after converting from per pax in S$ to USD). Good thing is, Clubmed is full board lah.
For a 5D3N trip to Kani, your 1st night is practically wasted, cos SQ arrive at night. Unless U switch to Sri Lankan air which need transfer in Colombo( I think must stay 1 night there).
If for water villa, Clubmed kani is a good choice, cheaper than Hilton but in the range of still cost around USD575 per night per room.

U can provide me with ur email, I'll sent U some Hilton info sheets, 1 updated room rates(courtesy from ZhuZhu), then you can start your research!

Have fun!!!

Yo bvbride!,

Me actually not disipline. Mine is a force saving scheme called the ESPP(employee stock purchase plan), which I contribute 10% of my gross salary to buy my company stock at a 15% discount. Recently my company stock sky rocket, went up 100% thus my 20K else, it'll be still 10K.

Then just nice, my father needs the money, so there goes my "retirement or Maldivian" funds!

For disipline saving, u should consult Starstar, I remember she telling me here that she's almost debt free liao loh...kekeke... am I right Starstar???

Anyway, judging from your photo online, the reason why ppl asking u for $$$$$ is becos U looked abit like "Tai tai" aka rich women, that's my perception lah.....kekekeke....if not now but probably in future, your hard work might turns out to be a blessing! Becoming rich!
kekekeke...... That's why we needs to invest early and retired a millionaire at least! Kekekkeke....

Then hor then hor, can visit Maldives frequently mah....before it sinks into the abyss.....:P

Yo Zhuzhu,

Kekekeke....... all ur "servant" are urging U to hurry up....Kekekeke.... irony hor!! :P
We want to to enjoy what we've enjoyed b4, thus so enxious loh!

Aiya.... I just some "rough" man, how to do such service. Chat chat can lah....serious one cannot, unless I've been to all sorts of resorts, 1star, 6 stars etc..... I really wish loh!
It'll be a wonderful job...but need capital!!!

hi Wu,
yes yes, def gorgeous. she's got natural black hair (from her mum whose chinese), lovely eyes..you said it all. we've been close since young coz they used to come to spore almost every year to visit. actually hard to find a mix blood not pretty/handsome ...hahhaa.....

hi Wu
yeah aka mirror. my name is mira u see,so lotsa ppl tot it's mirror at first :p
my e-mail: [email protected]
hmm S$8k very ex lerrrr over budget...
actually at first we tot of going to mauritius, seems slightly cheaper
but now more or less fixed on maldives lar
we're thinking to go maybe at most 6N lor, not enough leave :'(
and we're thinking to upgrade to water villa thingy only last 2N lor...

Hi Mira,

Okie will sent u the info. around 7 files lah.

However I think S$8k really worth the trip loh. IF I got S$8k extra yearly, I'll go maldives every year

From Pics lah, and some feedback from other forum, Mauritius although nice, but the beaches and water not as beautiful compare to Maldives or Bora bora, tahiti, sipadan etc... If u are a beach goer, Maldives would be a fantastic choice!

I think Haru has went to Mauritius b4, can ask her opinion.

Jus for ur info, water villa ain't cheap, ard 2~3X price of a beach villa If U like to go Hilton, I would suggest upgrade to their Deluxe beach villa, floor area of 300sqm or ard 3 5-rm flats living space.

U can visit the following hilton link to see the virtual tour, try to look for the beach villa and deluxe beach villa... kekekke.... if cannot find, let me know.

http://www.hiltonworldresorts.com/resorts/Maldives/index.html

hiya people
weekend's here..

Wu
wah...must tell my hubby to buy your company's stock liao...hahaha..:p anyway for investments, it's my hubby who's in charge..me know nuts man... he's trying to teach me but I not interested leh... :p sianz.. so many figures...:p

savings har... keke..I got savings cos I dun spend alot lah... not into shopping.. u people can imagine how we spend our weekends... haha... we have no life...keke..:p that's one of the reasons why we prefer to travel out of singapore.. $$ goes into travelling. :p now we are trying to pay up our HDB loan..dun wish to drag too long..:p

bvbride
ya man..agree wif Wu
u do look like a 'taitai' leh..
or some rich woman...
ya lor..just press on..who know's u really become rich one of these days..

haru
hey your cousinstays in which part of NZ? my hubby's going NZ for an exercise in april. running into some accom problems cos the place they go so 'ulu' one... I also never hear before..:p Oamaru. if u really go, do take alot of pics k? I also wanna see the Lord of the Rings place...keke..me a fan of LOTR.

Hey guys,

I am also interested in going to maldives!!! Wu,You are really a Maldives fan + Hilton fan. been reading your archived threads. Hehe. I am also researching. The water Villa very pricey. I am thinking of spilting it up to 3n water villa and 3n beach villa. Or just put all 3 into beach villa? Or go for club med? Is water villa worth the $$????