Maldives

Yo bvbride,

Hey, why shy...kekeke... That little island is great!, you and your hubby looks great!your pics are great! No shaky photos, no blur photos loh... I really like the coral reefs there, and it looks really healthy you know. From the pics those dark colours thingy are coral reefs and only healthy ones looks dark, and they are everywhere!
kao_drool.gif
I can snorkel or do some free diving there for hours and hours loh! Hilton Maldives house reef are not as healthy as those in Angsana. Have to go all the way out into the open sea for diving then nice. Hmm.......
Did u folks use a digital SLR to take those photos? Or just plain compact digital camera?

Just that the rates for Angsana is at the high side also loh, however if got extra cash, it's really worth to visit there as well.

Thanks for sharing ur pics!
Maybe we should start up another website, specifically on Maldives, with ur pics, mine, starstar ones and all others who are willing to put on web. That'll be nice isn't it! Kekekekke

Hey Starstar,

Jus review ur photos again...eh...how come Taj also got seaplane har?? I though can reach there by speedboat isn't it?

Haiz..... now I missed Maldives even more after looking thru all ur pics, bvbride's ones...... There's an urge for me to use my small "retirement funds" for this year trip leh...... How to stop the urge! Argghhhhhhh......!!!!

Harlow Wu,
Your photos look terrific! Makes me really wanna go there. Sorry if I have to ask you again, cos this thread moves very fast...cannot catch up.
Which villa did you stay at Hilton? And how come you got such good rates at Hilton?? From the website??
I also kind of spoilt when it comes to choosing accomodation. I like the jacuzzi villa at Banyan Tree Bintan, and at Evason Phuket, I stayed at the pool villa. So I would also like something nice for Maldives

Hi littlemay,

Thanks. Just some normal shots with a Casio compact digital camera. It tends to bring out the Blue colour brilliantly. Kekekeke....not my skills though, just keep stable and press.

I've stayed in both the cheapest Hilton villa called the beach villa and the most expensive Hilton villa called the Sunset Water Villa. During Last year end of June, I'm there, and Hilton just open their renovated beach villas to public. Probably it's early bird rate loh, I got a special rate at USD150++ per night. I booked thru Hilton website.
Then just a simple request by us, the Hilton folks brought us to visit the Ultimate villa on Hilton Maldives, the Sunset Water Villa which is also called the presidential suite in some website. It's vacant then, and they tempted us with a special rates of just USD750++ per night. We took their offer straight! (Normal price at that time is ard USD3000++). We share the rates with our other couple friends, since there's 2 rooms. Each of us pay just USD375++ per night, on top of our beach villa price of USD150++ loh. But I think it's really a chance of a lifetime and money well spent though. And last but not least, they gave us another 1 nite free there in the Sunset water villa, thus 4 nites in the beach villa n 3 nites in the Sunset Water villa.

And yes we're really spoilt, especially during the last 3 nites there. Everything is being plan by our 2 butlers... we either travel on golf buggy or personal speedboat( and guess what, we're are the only ppl there using the speedboat), others have to walk or use the Dhoni. Really spoilt ah! Ops.....sorry to repeat my spoilt experience again folks.

However, most of the Hilton water villas doesn't comes cheap at all, there's other better valued ones out there. However, if u really willing to spent, For Hilton, go for the Sunset water villa or Spa water villa, as they're newer than it's other water vila. If u want superb value, go for the Hilton beach villa and the Deluxe beach villa, newly build Jun 05'.

If u got cash and willing to spent,U can also check out Soneva Gili, Huvafen fushi, One&only Reethi Rai. These are really posh resorts with price all above USD1000++ per nite. All are highly recommended resorts.

Have fun doing ur research!!!

Let us know if u have other queries.... Kekeke.. and btw, once u go to Maldives, no more phuket or bintan for u :P

Yo littlemay,

the USD200++ per nite is valid for Mid May onwards till Mid July. The so called low season.

Yo Stan,

Mostly of the resort will give u fruits basket lah, or wine loh. don't expect 1 free nite. Kekekeke..... :p

bvbride
keke..think Wu has help me to send the pics to ya..
thanks Wu..

Wu
ya man... after seeing bvbride's n yours... realy feel like fying there again SOON!!! but can't lah... hopefully next year my hubby's keen to go back there...

Stan
wow... the pics are a killer man...
VERY VERY nice!!!!

Yo Starstar,

Haiz.... ya loh, very tempting loh. Desire really kills man. ACtually this year I plan to go Redang to do some diving. After conversion, the rooms rate in redang, those 5 stars resort like Bejaya and laguna, ain't cheap either, it's around USD140++ per rm as well, but full-board lah. Well, there're similar price resort in Maldives as well or even cheaper though. Just that the extra is the airtickets........ hmmmm... idea hor...

My other alternatives is to go Taiwan. 7days tour only cost S$700+ per pax.

Hi Starstar
thx for sharing your pictures. u look like the super fit type Whoa!

Wu: thx for yr very nice comments huuh.. too much time taken to upload so just consol the more exciting looking pictures la. i borrowed my bro's Canon Ixus5 or something like that la the very common looking one - SLR or not - what arr? dunno la - total tech idiot here kekeke....

Zhuzhu- i booked my 3N trip at the NATAs fair paid approx $1800 per pax w breakfast and spdboat transfer. cannot afford a longer trip cos the one for 5/6Nights cost a bomb (cannot remember how much liao)
bulk of the extra expenditure came from fishing. snorkelling is free but if u want to join a guided snorkelling tour- itz qt affordable la. dun forget some $$ went into tipping the butler, waiter and msg therapist :P
the extra expenditure came up to around S$800 (for both of us)??!??!! hmmm...
any questions on Angsana can chk with me again

Hi there, the cheapest rates for Hilton are from May to July. That is supposed to be the monsoon period.
Wu, you were there during this period right? How was the weather and the waters like? Is it ok?
And how much did you spend there? On food and other misc? Gotta do a estimated costing now.

Yo bvbride,

So you got time, continue to dwload your nice photo okie. Cheers!

Yo littlemay,

Yes, they called it the low season lah, not entirely monsoon. Just that it might rain. And according to Maldivian, their so called rain is not those found in Singapore. It only "rain" for just 1 hr or so then stop.

For my 7 nites stay, 1st day it "rain" for a couple of mins. Then on the last day(July 8), came the horrible tropical storm(biggest one I ever seen), from 12pm till the time we depart, ard 4pm. Generally, it's really sunny thru-out. BTW, I look like Indian when I'm back from there:P

Water is calm near the beach(big waves are stop by all the coral reefs, around few hundreds metres away), and slightly rough out at sea during diving, but still manageble.

The total trip I spend ard $8K. 1st 3 days we suvive on cup noodles
. Then daily meals cost us ard USD35 to USD80 for 2(depends how much we eat). Trick to save money is, Breakfast is included, thus we tends to eat late, skip lunch, then proceed to eat free tea break(lots of pastry,biscuit, cakes etc) at ard 5pm. Then dinner we eat less loh, thus whole day can be just ard USD35.

U can provide me with your email, I can sent to all the hilton brochure + price list(excursion,spa etc).

hi wu,

i saw the under-water restaurant, Hilton; again walao.... cant tahan leh, so shiok!! hv u been that restaurant before?? expensive or not the food there???

Hi Stan,

Yes, been to the undersea restaurant. The experience is absolutely fabulous and stunning.
School of snapper swimming around the glass wall, stingray, as well as a giant resident barracuda having it's meal there around 7pm.

We've been psycho to eat there, a 6 course meal(I've taken pics in my album), cost USD220 nett per pax. The restaurant only allows 12 person max everynite, thus, must book early.
However sad to say, it's too exotic to our liking. Imagain curry powder on the yougurt ice-cream??
The actual Glass restaurant is build in Singapore, then Tug boat there takes a few weeks.

Visit the undersea ithaa restaurant but don't eat there. Rather spent the money in the private BBQ dinner!

yo people
how's the day so far? ;p heard the toto draw tomolo is 13 million?! isit?

Wu
wah so ex for redang? think taiwan better leh... got greenery n mountains n nature..
of course good food..:p

Yo Starstar,

Ya loh....Laguna and berjaya redang are getting more and more ex each year, but the rms is actually not bad lah, much better than other cheaper resort there...... Hmmmm....Maybe will consider Taiwan...yeah...Good food...yummy!!!
kao_drool.gif

Yo Stan,

Aiya..... actually the Sentosa underwater world is much nicer, although it's artificial.

The Hilton undersea restaurant is build on existing natural coral reefs, but much of it looks destroyed though, I suspect during the building cycle. Probably now, the corals are more vibrant! Anyway, it's truly the first real Undersea restaurant in the world loh!

Sure u can just walk in.... hey you're their guest leh...how to chase u out? Kekekekeke..... Anyway, upon request, they'll bring you in walk walk....but don't be tempted to eat there lah. Really too ex and I find it not worth the money loh. Anyway, it's those "new age" Maldivian food lah, all comes in lots of small small portion(like those feature in S'pores Humble house by Sam Leong). All 4 of us find it just below average loh, 2 stars out of 5. Actually I saw alot of Angmo never finish their food also. :P

Although 3 of us are Scuba Diver, another bad point is we do feel the "pressure" while eating... really very uneasy though. Worse than diving! So, I'll give it a missed if I were you.

U can visit take a look, then if you like it, go for it lah....it's ur take! Kekekek.....

YO Starstar,

Other than breakfast, we go ala carte. breakfast got a wide varieties of cusines, buffet... Japanese lah, even their curry chicken tasted local loh. Normal SIngaporean like 4 of us who went have no problem even on the 7th days, but most of their food are ard the same lah, but 1 day really cannot finish all of them.(Normally you would get bored after a few days in some malaysia resort).

The one I like most is do it urself fresh fruit juices which I'll definitely drink a few big cups every morning during breakfast. They got those Giant fruit juicer, as big as an oven..... kekekeke.... Do you have that in Taj?

There's actually a couple of restuarant we haven tried, one is the Spa restaurant where they serve those really "Healthy" food. Then there's the Koko Grill, serving BBQ lah.

Aiyo...lets go there next year and find out lah...kekeke... I still got 1 free nite stay :P.

Wu
WOW... seems GOOD!!!! think I'll not think so much liao..Hilton's the one...
Me got asia crusine I VERY VERY happy...
well unless shangrila got also the same perks..

Yo Starstar,

Ya loh...hope that Hilton never change the menu lah..kekeke... Anyway, don't worry lah. The breakfast buffet in Hilton hor, can choose between 2 large restaurant..So at least not so bored. I suspect most other resort only got 1 choice for breakfast buffet right?

ANyway, I also wish Shangrila got early bird rates.... I'll be tempted too, like USD150 per nites?? Kekekekek......:P

Then next year beginning I'll go Shang, followed by 2008, Hilton again
to spent my 1 free nites :p

Err....any news on the Shangrila project in Maldives??? I've check on Zhuzhu's Kang-tou, the W hotel no news yet. Hmmmm.....

Yo starstar,

But one big problem is....Shangrila resort will be 1hr seaplane flight from Male.
Anyone can guess the seaplane charges? kekekek....

clue:- Hilton 25mins flight is USD270 liao. If 1mins ard USD10, then 60mins will be.....Arggghhhhh...... :P

Yo Stan and all!

That's a good news!!! and good rates too!! Well after calculation, it's like USD200 NETT per night! They just cancel out the 10% svc and bed tax.
Anyway Crown tours used to have such deals but they mark-up their basic price though.

Anyway, this is a good deal!

Hi Wu, when you book directly with Hilton website, how about the 1st night when you arrive at Male? I understand that when you arrive in Male airport, its already late at night and the seaplanesdon't operate. So which hotel did you stay in and did you arrange it yourself or Hilton will arrange for you?

Hi littlemay,

Will sent u the info later.
Anyway, u can consider hoteltravel.com booking, better than direct book from Hilton website, unless Hilton can honour that and give u additional USD50 dining vouncher!

Yes seaplane don't fly at nite. U can ask your tour operator(either Hilton or Hoteltravel) to book the accom for you during 1st nite.

U can either stay in Hulhulhe airport Hotel or other Hotel on Male(10mins boat trip from airport). Beware, Airport hotel cost ard USD250 per night(Crazy!), while those "Motel" on Male start at as low as USD75 per nite.

U can do nothing until when u reach Male airport, then look for the Hilton counter(I think operated by crown tours)as u need to register to them and be allocated the seaplane schedule, ask them to book u a Hotel in Male, They're very helpful ppl, don't worried.

Male hotel is easily accessible(take dhoni from airport to reach Male jetty), either by walking or taking a taxi.

Please note that Taxi is USD1 per pax per trip. Please give them exact note, else they'll play punk with u(playing around with exchange rates and give you Rufiyya instead). Dhoni samething, it's USD1 per pax per trip.

Yo Wu

good day to u!
u are as efficient as ever. u watch the prices like u are watching the stock market like that
im impressed!!
if i am the one gog hor i will save the $ and sleep overnight at the airport. abit dodgey but if husb around shldnt be a problem la. arrive around midnight and seaplane flight shld be around 10am right? do-able mah...can save like SGD 100? not such a bad idea - but wil be hungry hor...hmmmmm........kekkee =)

wa little may,

wow tat Huvafen Fushi u recommended cant afford la, the cheapest 1 is USD700/nite. i can only stay 2 nites, the rest can only stay under a coconut tree liao.....

hey, no lah, its not so expensive if you take the package with Holiday Tours.
Its about $2478 (with airtix, breakfast and airport transfer) for 4 nights

Hi Stan, when do you intend to go to Maldives?
I intend to go sometime between April to July. Hopefully the weather is good....else waste my trip there.
But still Considering between Maldives and Greece....

hi littlemay;

my plan would be probably during may. ya lo, hopefully the god of rain will be on leave during the time we visit, heehee....

ya, the rates are much cheaper from may to july. I think if I go maldives, I'm quite set of staying at Hilton liao....I think its more value for $$. One of the cheapest there....(not the water villa of course!)
Prob stay only for about 4-5 nights....not honeymoon uh, hubby don't allow me to spend too much.

me also very tempted by Hilton (its all wu's fault, keke... just kidding ya wu). Im going for honeymoon, bcos my wife doesnt allow me to qing qing cai cai for honeymoon.... haha.....

Of cos, honeymoon cannot qing cai one!! So you shld stay at Hilton's Water Villa!

Me just went for honeymoon in Dec, now sourcing for my "2nd honeymoon" destination! Every half year must travel.

Yo folks!

Wha......the thread moving so fast hor...can't even catch up liao.. Hmmmmm.... should be talk on MSN or yahoo messenger leh?? Kekekek...

Yo bvbride,

Kekekek...... Yah loh... I got 2 PC mah, one for work then the other higher speed one for real time Maldivian info! :p

You can "Dong" overnight ah??? I cannot liao loh.. if I younger by another 5 yrs old maybe can. Now, I must sleep on bed, else next day would be wasted liao. :p Anyway, after the flight hor, so tired, need to sleep well also.
Unless they allow us to sleep on the floor at the airport in a sleeping bag, at least like that lah!

Today u funny leh..log-in so late, normally u log-in the earliest!

Wha, U seems like wanna to go this year ah?? Very tempting hor! Hmmm...... there might be a 50/50 chance I might go this year....Kekekekke..... :p

Yo Stan, littlemay,

Kekekkeke.....shouldn't blame me for recommending Hilton lah..... it's one of the best keep secret cheap resort(valid for Beach villa only) with 5 stars service isn't it???

Actually there seems to be some hidden cost on the huvafenfushi listed by holidaytours leh.. as they've yet to include the airline surcharge+ tax. The pricing also goes by per person.
I "Qing Cai Qing Cai" calculate hor, per night cheapest Huvafen still cost around USD607 at least.

Hmmmmm.......let me do somemore calculation.

Hiya all..
It's the weekend..

Wu
aiya..the shangrila still under construction...just checked... only say open mid 2007...
But I know the villas are all cool...
the resort got 3 concepts villas - Lost Horizons(water villas wif private access to private pool n lounge in the resort. Each villas got sun deck n jacuzzi n also a kitchenette), Whispering Palms( beach villas big enough to accomdate a family wif open shower concept n some villas wif private plunge pool) n the last concept is the coolest kind, Windance (villas built on silts n are all way above the tree lines. Each villa got a jacuzzi that looks out to the sea.)

The concept of the resort basically is divided into three kind... so they have 3 villages using the 3 concepts just mentioned. Also the restaurants they have..besides the basics...they have this restaurant called 3 in 1 Asian food outlets whereby it sells thai, jap n maldivian food. The guests have to sit on the beach...cos no flooring is done n basically , it's dining by the beach..right at the beach!!!

Frankly speaking, I really dun mind going for Shangrila... wanna try out the Windance villa..
seems cool..
In all, te resorts are going to have 65 Lost horizons villas, 73 whispering palms villas n only 42 Windance villas. After going thru all these details, think Hilton n Shangrila are my only two choices in Maldives... :p

Least no regrets in future.. wanna do it..just do it..
been there..done that before..keke..
just like me been in the SAF..

hello hello
now there are 2 very potential Maldives visitors! hurray!!!!

Wu - of cos want to go ASAP but where to find the $$$ leh...

v bz la can log in only when i finish my morning work activities. u know i always pop in when free one

Happy Weekend everyone =)

Yo bvbride,

You work in the Banking sector mah....Hmmmmmm....So near to all those Cash, money, gold bars hor! Kekekeke..... :p

You too have a wonderful weekends ahead, and same to all other folks here!