Maldives

Yo starstar,bvbride,haru,zhuzhu,stan,Adel aka blue Ginger, and everyone on this forum,

Juz in case never log-in these few days, like to wish you folks an early Happy Chinese New year, and may all dreams comes true this year for all of you.

Really appreciate talking to all for these couple of months....and do hope this friendship would continue to a group trip to Maldives!
kekekekeke......

Have a wonderful year ahead! Bless you all!

Cheers!!

Wu

Stan: Haha, I stayed in Banyan Tree, Soneva Gili and Fushi... But I worked for it hor.... I wrote a feature for a newspaper (would u like me to email you the article?) But really for couples, the Gili is good. The dive service at Fushi was good. We saw like 10 mantas on one dive! I've also visited Kanahura (now called One and Only) a few years back.

Haru: Sharks are usually terrified of humans - they are miles away before you are near them. But if you ever encounter great whites, tiger or bull sharks, do keep a healthy distance haha.

GONG XI FA CAI!!!! May we all strike 4D, toto, big sweep this coming weekend and all our Maldives dreams come true!!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR and GONG XI FA CAI to one and all

Wu- special wishes to u - may your Million dollar TOTO dream come true so that u can fulfil your island hopping dream ok!
kao_babydust2.gif

Haru dear- all the best wishes to u ! really hope u can visit the beautiful maldives soon ok!!!
kao_babydust2.gif

Catch u wonderful people after the PH ok cos poor me starting work on wed ! arrrghh!!

back at work...=P i miss the merry making and all the mahjong!hahah..anyway, hope everyone has a great week ahead, its just another 3 days to the weekend!

hi zhuzhu,
if i can try to work out my budget, yup wil def go. at the moment, just looking at the costs for 5 nites at hilton by SQ flight is gona cost bout $6K.Ouch! thats why i was considering Club Med, but if we take the villa, it works out to be about the same price. unless if we take the normal room which really cannot be compared to hilton, but the advantage is the package is all-inclusive....how bout you? hows ur planning coming along?

hi zhuzhu,
u should be making ur bookings already if you are confirmed to travel there this year!
like what Wu said, better to book early to secure ur hotel..so u planning to stay at hilton?

Hi Haru
I think most likely Hilton lor..since it is strongly recommended by Wu...

Ok lor..i go start my planning this wkend...

hi gals... so how's the CNY? gee.. first time giving hong bao...felt so stressed... cos scare didn't prepare enough...
but kinda of fun giving out the hong baos...haha..

zhuzhu
ya man..u better start preparing for the trip... try to book early to avoid disappointment...
great choice wif Hilton..
me booking for my Perth trip now...

me now at home now... keke.. ROD liao..got my pink IC. Now a civilian...
but still get to keep my military IC... keke.. told my hubby I happy happy can be a military personnel...haha..

well..valentine's day round the corner.. do u all celebrate it? my hubby n me think it's just a novelty.. :p we just going for a dinner(eat out)... what abt u people? ;)

hi zhuzhu,
happy planning!do let us know ur progress ya? have u decided the dates that you wana go?=D

hey starstar,
i agree, its actually a really nice feeling giving out the red packets esp to my nieces and nephews.=>

so where you staying at in perth, if possible go for a hotel/apt near scarborough beach.really nice esp when u wake up early in the morning and u can go for walk by the beach..ah...

wow starstar,so u no longer working? i think u can take a nice long break to relax and do the stuff u've been wanting to do.good for you!

hahah, i didnt even really think about V-day.its seems to be more for young dating couples. besides, everyday is V-day lah!hahahahhaa....
kao_kiss2.gif

Hi starstar & haru
I just can't get my engine started...

Starstar
So envy you...so wat is ur plan now?

Actually i think its too expensive to go for Vday meals...and some plcs super cramp...no romantic feeling...

hi zhuzhu,
ya, i think its so weird to have so many couples that are eating together in the same restaurant. rather do it in our own home,hehehe...although it is a lil nice to 'pak-tor' together on v-day! can dress up a lil and have a nice meal together. if not can always book a room in a nice hotel, have a nice dinner then can chill out and enjoy the hotel! =D

I'm thinking of going to Maldives Mirihi Island, and stay at the water villa.
I have some questions:
1. Is April a good time to go to Maldives?
2. As we need to take a seaplane to go to Mirihi, we have to spend one night at Male. Hence sort of wasted 1 night. Is 1 night at Male and 3 nights at the water villa enough? I'm a non-swimmer by the way.

Hope to get some advice. Thanks!

Hi littlemay
U planning to go this apr? Have you checked if the water villa is still available?

I think the last time i checked (can't remember if its this resort), the water villas are fully booked

Can't advise you much also cos I have not been there..

By the way, where is Wu har? He MIA so long

Haru
I rather go eat at Mac then spent $$ to go restaurant to eat..

hi zhuzhu,
actually i also wouldnt mind a good tze char!=P typical chinese...hahaha...but at least i noe its good food!

Hi Haru
I missed those partok days whereby me and my hubby would sit at those benches at suntec, eating our burgers...
345707.gif

Yo Zhuzhu,

I'm here...kekeke... Haiz..... Holiday over isn't it, I've been on leave since last friday, till now. Getting very nua liao....don't how my engine gonna start next monday? :p

I think Starstar is familiar with Mihiri resort, as she thinks of going there once, and maybe she already did some research on them liao.
Yo... starstar where are u??? I think she's at the perth thread....
Anyway, Mihiri resort is at the south Ari Atoll,same as Hilton. I flew passed mihiri b4 reaching Hilton. I think quite a decent resort as well.
Maybe can island hop there? Kekeke....

Hello littlemay,

Oohlahlah!!! It's a wise choice choosing Maldives..Well I think Mihiri is a nice resort... But why not wait till mid of May when the accomodation rates start to drop sharply? Can save more money hor!
You can talk to ZhuZhu and Haru also, as they are planning for a trip there to Maldives this year.... a well plan group tour can save u folks some money

April is a good time to go, less rain but more ex. 3nights really a bit short loh..... I've been there 7 nights and just find it barely adequate... then your airtickets+ seaplane cost much more then the accom alone.... doesn't make sense loh... Try to stay more nites there lah!

hey zhuzhu,
u are so cute!! ya, still remember those days, hubby and i wil go to supermart to buy fruits and a bbq chicken to eat at fort canning..hahahaha...those were the days.. guess we are more nolstagic eh?=P

hi Wu,
wah, finally hear from you! must be so shiok to be on leave for sooooo long...=D really? mihiri quite nice too? i'm still keen to go just that i need to try to work something more budget (and the escalating taxes for the flight is nt helping!)..mayb i'll check out mihiri rates too..

yoz people
me back...keke..:p yup..me now in the Perth thread...

Wu
great to have ya back...
Mihiri? gosh..it's a lovely place.. the water villas seem good...
actually didn't really research the resort cos there's simply so many to choose from...spoilt for choice...

littlemay
great... another maldives fan...
april seems pretty ok.. like what Wu had said, 3 nights is TOOOO short!!! Girl, if u wanna go, go for more!!! I went there for 6 nites n DUN FEEL LIKE COMING BACK... haha..

haru
thanks for your advices.. sure..I'll definitely go to the beach but we'll not be staying at a hotel near a beach. cos autumn mah..cold leh..Booked Criterion hotel, one that is within 5 mins walk from Hay street... ;p yeah..finally booked my hotels n air tics... left the car rental n one accom which need to be booked thru phone.

zhuzhu
keke..plan for me is to relax abit... taking up tuitions maybe after my trip? keke.. hubby also tell me to take it easy.. no rush. Do whatever I'm happy...:p so as long the house is clean n food is served at the table...hahaha..
=> 'huang lian poh' ;p

Now I remember...the resort which I asked b4 was called Meeru..was interested in their honeymoon villa..but now after much "promotion" by Wu, think I might change to Hilton instead..

Wu,
U r back.. Tot u went for a holidays..

Haru
Those were the days...now after married..its stay at home n nua only..

Starstar
True, don't have to rush..anyway we still got plenty of years to work...

hi starstar,
the trip wil def b a relaxing one as you dun have to think bout getting back to work even when you cming back!!heheh...=D

so u think mihiri is a place worth checking out? if its alot cheaper than hilton then i seriously wont mind to consider...=P

Yo Zhuzhu,Haru,Starstar,

My long Holiday is O.V.E.R.....
Sianz......

.... Should be Mirihi not Mihiri....kekeke...I make a mistake since donno when...:P

No rates on their website..and their booking chart also looks faulty...i.e no available date for the rest of the year???

Check the pricing on Starasia travel, not cheap as well.. till april is ard USD400 for both beach and water villa.

Haru, as mirihi is near Hilton, thus seaplane is needed for transfer, well u can't save on that liao. The pricing ard April also comparable with Apr Hilton pricing for beach villa, thus...consider on par with Hilton. Last but not least... Both Villa(land n water) is only 53sqm, that's 1/3 Hilton beach villa price for the same price??? Clear answer for u liao... Kekeke....:P

But what I like is that small little island, with only around 36 villa altogether... and also nice beaches too, pretty "exclusive" eh?

Check out their website here!!

http://www.mirihi.com/welcome.html

I just did some basic calculation..
5 nites in Hilton Beach Villa + 1 nite a Male + Air Tix = will set me back by almost 4.7K..that haven't include other meals n activites..
345903.gif

Haiz...where to find the $$$
345904.gif
..maybe should consider club med instead hor..

Yo Zhuzhu,

No leh....I'm getting quoted USD264 from that website you listed, for 8 nights stay, vs USD200 quoted by Hilton for the beach villas.

Do u mean other more valued resorts?? Do share with us

Yo Zhuzhu,

should be ard USD4337 in exact if the exchange rates is USD1 to S$1.65.
Kekekek......

Hi Wu
I think I choose Hilton for that website leh..i did remember it was SLIGHTLY cheaper than if booked thru' Hilton..maybe I see wrongly leh..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Kekekeke.....confirm more ex lah.. Anyway, if they're cheaper, Hilton will also honour that lower price plus give u another USD50 food vouncher, anyway, U are the winner!

Hey, if u don't mind paying the accom upfront, Hilton beach villa would be USD10 less per day, i.e USD190 instead of USD200.

So for ur 5 nites stay, another USD50 saving. Better than nothing loh!

long holidays were over.... but im still in holiday mood oh.....

Hi Haru,

Seems like you are quite keen on Club Med is it? Mind to share when r u planning to been there?

Yo yo
looks like all are back to work today hor..
i already started last wed - sob!

Wu - welcome back! took such long leave! envious man.

generally i just spent the whole CNY in singapore - not that much visiting to do cos i told my mother that since im married she wil hv to visit the rest of the relatives with my unmarried bros! - wonder if that is the correct practice?? hmmm....my family side is not close at all so itz really awkward to see them just once a year and play catch up - can the experts out there advise if i must still follow my parents around for visitation?

Zhuzhu - good luck with all the planning ok must share your story when u are back !

Stan - welcome back ! thought u changed your mind abt Maldives cos u dissappeared for some time

Haru - thnk the WP gathering went quite well hor.
btw were u one of those keen to buy VS toiletries from the Garden range? got a couple of extra stuff to sell..if keen just drop a line here

will pop in later chiao for now...

Yo bvbride,

Yah lor..... such a long break makes me so Nua until morning cannot wake up. Now still trying to restart my "Engine". :P

Aiya, now U married liao, according to the traditional chinese practice, u "belong" to your hubby side liao mah..kekekek/....that's the old practice lah.... to visit or not just depends on U loh! For me, I just follow her to their relatives loh, then she also follow me to mine too as well. Don't really hv to follow parents liao lah!

Hey stan, Zhuzhu and Haru,

Aiyo....do plan ur trips early leh... we all here so eager to know your decision.... ("Huang Di Bu Ji, Tai Jian Ji" Leh!!!)
KEkekeke.......

Yo Stan,

How are you lately, really longtime never talk to u liao

Ok, heres mine take on Clubmed vs Hilton :P... cos last time I calculate, Clubmed water villa cost is actually ard USD568 nett per nite(cheapest), but inclusive full board lah. Airport taxes not inclusive.
Wherea Clubmed beach villa is ard USD484 nett per nite(cheapest). Again airport tax not inclusive.

So if u compare with Hilton, Hilton actullay cost much less during Mid May. Unless Clubmed again slash it's price for Mid May till July.
If u think this way, Hilton Beach villa is USD235 nett,+USD50 (seaplane per day), it's only USD285. Compare with Clubmed, beach villa USD484, U got effectively USD200 per day(per pax) to spend, makan lah, spa lah this lah that lah...Kekekek.. I still think Hilton is better value loh! Even if you go for the Hilton deluxe beach villa (300sqm big leh), it's USD445 nett, + USD50(seaplane), It's still ard USD500, and compare with Clubmed beach or water villa, Hilton's value is still there? And don't forget, Clubmed effectively U lugi 1 nite, becos u check in so late.. whereas, Hilton U check in around noon time.

That's my 2 cents worth lah...Kekeke... anyway, I'm not affliated with Hilton in whatever ways hor....Just trying to help all to save money and go for a better value resort.

Hi bvbride,

dont worry, i wont chnage my mind 1. die die must go to maldives once in my life. start to planning now liao.... hopefully the result could be finalised asap.

Yo all,

Kekeke....jus wanna to share... do u folks come across Soneva Gili most ex villa pricing? It's USD10,000 per nite. And That FXXXXXX gigantic villa is a whopping 1400sqm living space(10 times as large as 10 executive HDB flats!) , a building in the middle of the sea. WoW!!!!!
It's called the Soneva Gili Private reserve

http://www.sixsenses.com/soneva-gili/accommodation.php#sgrprivatereserve

It got water slides lah, library, own wine cellar lah etc.... It's really luxury man. Ok lah.. will hv to see on friday, who's the lucky one to go there first lah! Kekekeke...... Good luck for all who bought the Toto! Cheers!!!

yo wu,

now i also started to change my mind liao.... hopefully final conclusion could be out asap. thks so much yo...

yo wu,

I'm praying for this coming friday's Toto $10 Million Hongbao Draw la..... If i kena, i sponsor a trip there ok....

yo wu,

which of the local travel agency u r liaising with?? i wish to know the latest rate for the year 2006.

another thing is i just couldn't get as much as info that i want in Hilton Maldives Official Web Site, eg. how the Beach Villa or Water Villa look like. Any idea where can I gather more info?

once again, thks!

Yo Stan,

Sure???

Likewise here, if I kanna toto, me, you, starstar, bvbride,haru, zhuzhu, the usual gang lah... I sponsor 5nites Hilton beach villa (BB).
How about that??? Kekekek....
......but kanna means 1st prize hor not the 3+1 or 4 or 5+1 hor, not enought leh. Then even if ganna, share by 30 person also cannot hor, after sponsoring hor, left not much liao...Kekekek...at least 1 mil lah!

Anyway all the best. And do calculate/weight both Hilton vs clubmed lah, I might mis-calculated leh?

Cheers!!

Yo Stan,

I never liase with any agency lah, book online thru Hilton website!.

Anyway, forget about Hilton water villas, not as good value as the beach villa, too ex. Might as well take Clubmed Water villas.

What other info u need for the hilton beach villas can ask me lah. My photo actually shows alot liao, whereas for the deluxe one hor, it 2 times bigger than the normal beach villa loh, at a whopping 300sqm. The interior like the normal beach villa as well, juz with a bigger living space, bigger garden, plus a personal dive pool, and from outside look in hor, very very nice, especially at nite.
For my next trip, I might just wanna to stay at the deluxe one just for 2 or 3 nites plus the rest of the day in the normal beach villa as well. Kekekeke....

What other info u want, let me know, I'll try to find! okie? Cheers!

Wu & Stan
Must honour wat u guys said..must keep that in record...

Wu,
I remember last time u got fwd me a link to some site..showing how hilton beach villa n delux villa looks like..

otherwise stan, you would have to search the archive..probably somewhere in Nov 05 archive..

bvbride..
I haven't even book the air tix or anything yet..not so fast..

Yo ZhuZhu,

Kekekekek......but u never know whether me or stan strike toto mah...we might juz keep quiet? :p
Kidding lah... If I ganna and never honour that hor, I lose the 1 mil straight!
Okie!

I also fwd the info to Stan liao. The crown tours package lah, showing the diff between beach and deluxe ones.
Ya... I think there's another one webpage with the floor plan thingy. Thanks ZhuZhu, will try to dig out that info.

Yo Folks,

Hilton Maldives has juz updated their 360deg Virtual tour... so excited. This will be the updated view, and the exact one that I went to.

http://www.hiltonworldresorts.com/resorts/Maldives/index.html

click on the 360deg tour to launch!

However, cannot find the view on the beach villas... Hmmmmm maybe it's too under-price, a best kept secret at a low low price and don't want too many ppl to go there.Kekekekek.......

Have Fun!!

Wu