Maldives

hi Wu,
yeah, hubby can be quite fussy about food, so lucky there's a few restaurants to choose from!

actually really looking forward. tis trip wil be our most extravagent trip yet!(once we've booked it!)

im gg for 5D3N only n paying $2K+ per pax at Club Med. seems like Hilton is abt the same price range, maybe a few hundred $ more. wondering if i've made the wrong choice.

Yo LPH,

You're paying a almost similar price, just that yours is the Water Villa, and 2 nights less than Hilton. Really cannot say you made the wrong choice lah. I've already told you earlier hilton beach villas are better value, but not neccessary better though! If you were to choose Hilton Water Villa, you might need to pay much more than the S$2k+ per pax!

Really cannot Apple to apple compare. If you consider 3 nites stay,
1)Hilton you'll stay 1 more nite at Male, then check in next day 1pm(total 4 nites). Clubmed you check in the very same night(3 nites inclusive)!
2)Hilton is by Seaplane(birds-eye view), while Clubmed by speedboat, at night nothing much to see.
3)You got around S$800 to spare if you choose Hilton, for food, for water sports etc....
4)Clubmed water villa got TV, free Champagne, Hilton beach villa don't have.

5)CLubmed water villas should be around 87sqm, HIlton beach villas at 150sqm.

Just my analysis lah.

I think Clubmed Water Villa still good choice, I like the bath-tub view.
But with that kind of money, Hilton beach villa would be better value loh! Just that it got no water underneath your villa.

Don't worried lah, it's still a good resort. Just go and enjoy! Don't forget to share with us your photos when you're back! Have Fun!!!

Yo Haru,

There's only 3 "affordable" restaurants there lah, but varieties not bad, lots of lines item. While other restaurants are more to fine dining type, goes by course meal. I don't think worth spending the money.

You can try the private BBQ loh, maybe put it on the last night!

Hold on Chicklet,

It's not end of story yet!
How can you forget about Huvafenfushi as well?? Kekekekek......

I've been to Fushi, Banyan, One and Only (when they were still Kanahura). Gili is bliss for couples... Those on-the-water villas... shiok!

Haru

very tempted leh..we must compare our research..
..eh..hilton got no TV ah? died liao lar..i am a couch potato...no TV how to pass my nites?

Yo ZhuZhu,

TV not at the beach villas, only water villas and above got. Sunset water villas got 3 TV. 1 43" projection TV at living rm. 1 20" LCD in the bath rm. And 1 42" plasma in the 2nd bedroom

Tempting?? Kekekeke..... Aiya...nobody watch TV in Maldives lah.... go do some sea-sports or something!

Gd Morning all
TGIF !!! itz fri the 13th! yikes!

anyways, miss u guys man. work killing me slowly.

Wu: thx for your very insipirational story on your FIL - cool guy he is. alot of pple those generation can really save hor...all cashrich! haizzzzz....hope will be likehim la.

dun mind living in my present place forever - $ saved can go Maldives during my retirement and stay there for weeks like those angmohs =)
they really go there like no need $$ one hor
HAIZZZ

u were asking abt how we felt when we left Maldives right? i left the beautiful island of Ihuru around 10pm and took the speedboat to the airport. swear i shed a few quiet tears in the dark - husb didnt even know

on the other hand - when we first arrived we took the speedboat at night the feeling was just totally exhilarating man. we didnt know what to expect but when we saw the quality of water at the airport jetty we confirmed that we hv made the right choice!!! even in the dark, i can see that the seawater is very clean and clear ! the speedboat looked really luxurious and they even handled out cold towels - cool! ( i sua ku mah ) kekeke =)

i totally agree w u Wu - no need TV at night la. itz back to nature and healthy living all the way! (and this is coming from a hard core TV addict)
i think i led a very healthy lifestyle in Maldives . i came back feeling less fat and very very dark. u see itz all outdoor activity + we also ate alot of healthy food like fish!
fish everyday (plus the huge grouper we caught during fishing)

at night just enjoy the quiteness and before u know it u are asleep liao - COOL!!

catch u guys later....work arrr.....

Cheers!!!

Yo bvbride,

Agree with your thinking. No issue staying within the same house for life, and save up the rest for retirement...... then go to Maldives every year like the Angmo. Kekekekek

Just your few sentence really brings out what we feel too, on the Maldives trip. Actually I got such feelings whenever places I went, even Malaysia resort, just that that feelings was even stronger in Maldives.

Yes, I especially like the Tan that we have from Maldivian Sun! Really even and can never be achieved back here in Singapore... Where got time to Tan?

Ok lah. Work hard, save up for another Maldives trip lah!

Have a nice day ahead even though it's the friday the 13th!!!

I haven even been to Maldives already felt something liao...

Wu,
My ah lao say better find one with TV..or else died of boredom there..

Serious u guys think there would be any special package during NATAS, or its better to DIY?

Yo ZhuZhu,

Would be bored lah...kekekek... You can enjoy live music/unplugged at the lounge there, then if I remember correctly, b4 9pm got 1 for 1 drinks. Quite cheap actually. Very very relax one.

Me too is a person cannot do w/o TV at home. But when we go there, never ever thought about watching TV. Even when we stay at the sunset Villa, watch twice only, a DVD at night, then during check-out watch TV becos there's a thunder storm outside.

There's lots of place open for you folks to lie around, lounge, the reception, library, internet room, all with very comfortable day-bed, yes even in the library! We all just NUA there loh, even better than watching TV.

If feel boring, you can also walk to the middle of the 500m long bridge, and if lucky they said, you can see Giant Manta Ray swiming around the bridge. The water around the bridge is lighted up till midnite.

Then if it's a moonless night, just lie there on the beach and you'll see shooting stars, the milky way, really lots and lots of stars!

Aiya, I borrow you my Giant Binoculars lah, can even see planets like Jupiter, Moon craters, star clusters etc..... Absolutely beautiful!

Then the beach villa's intelligent lightings is design in a way that you really will enjoy even just seating around the day bed, your super King size bed, or even soaking in the Giant Bath tub at the Bath pavilion! (FYI, we every-night soak there in the bath tub! Kekekeke
Then if you can upgrade to the deluxe beach villa hor, you can also soak in the dive pool somemore!

You asked around lah, nobody die of boredom there lah! only Nua to death! Kekekeke.....

Aiya Forget about NATAS lah! if you going to europe,japan, australia,USA yes go NATAs, not Maldives!

Hi Kalbarri,

Not been to Velidhu b4. A quick search on the net tells me that it's at the north Ari Atoll, which means you need to travel by seaplane, a 20mins ride.

For the price, one of the website shows that it's USD282 for beach villas, double occupancy.

However, for that price, you can get better resort than that...for example Hilton! Kekekekkeek.... :p

You looking for a visit to Maldives anytime soon?
Kekekekek

waa...wu u very helpful ya~~~thankie so much,..
ayoh i must have mistaken, i thought the price is for water villas...:P

ya been long never come up here work busy, cos like the hilton maldives on ur photos one but i think only the most ex water villas have glass bottom rite?
i saw that velidhu all have glass bottom in water bunglows....:P seem great wa~~~

Yo Kalbarri,

long time never talk to you liao also!

Kekekekke.... Velidhu water villa got a small glass panel on the floor lah! Not really fantastic lah. USD282 leh... go for something else loh!

Do your research slowly...
I think it's a really fun process.!

Hi Kalbarri,

Just do another check on JohnKnells(Velidhu belongs to them)website, their water villa price can be as low as USD200! (Based on last year pricing!!! )

Probably a good deal!!!

Wa...Wu thnakie for ur enthusiasm in helping leh...so touching...heee...
ya will go and search again.....
i went to GSA travel here they specialise in Maldives, but they also no have june pricing yet. intend to go in june ya!!

Wu,
ok lor..i go back tell my ah lao...dun watch TV..
hmm if NATAS no special..then i think i better start searching around now...

Yo haru
u checked out Hilton price already? Maybe we can bargain together..

Yo Kalbarri,

It's my honour to help out also lah, and I also learn more things leh!

You can try arranging a trip with both ZhuZhu and Haru mah! Firstly, SQ flight would be cheaper for 4 to go. 2ndly, can neg a better pricing with the resort, for example Hilton. 3rdly, can share food(generally comes in bigger portion, i.e 6 person share 4 orders), really can save alot.

Just what I think lah. No harm trying. It'll benefit all, you can either have company, or if you wanna be alone with your hubby, just go quietly lah! That's what I did with my another couple friends!

ZhuZhu,

Kekekekke..... actually if wanna to watch TV also can. In Hilton, on another island where the water villas are, there's 1 home theater room. Can just borrow DVD from recept to watch, or simply watch TV. However, you need to walk abit to reach there lah! They got 1 cupboard full of DVDs!!!

Then hor, if you really go with Haru, see can upgrade together to the Sunset water villa lah! It's really worth it lah, be Kings+Queens just a lifetime, even for just 1 night! If not worse, Sunset Water villa should be as good as Soneva Gili and Huvafenfushi water villa standard!!!

hi hi WU,wa..u really can help us think a lot le~~ =)

ya from my research on Velidhu, it seem lesser accomdation, meaning more privacy?...heee... cos i think mostly i need is a private suntan area hahaha~~~;) and of cos best is got ladder can go down sea...but above all, still not too ex lor...
kekee.e....from wat i cauculate hor, if go Velidhu take water bunglow 2nites i spend USD 1000+ (include full board + seaplane) end up each person like $800+ (not include airfare + 1st nite accomodation in MALE), but bad point is we only plan for 5d3n lor...

Yo Kalbarri,

Actually, not neccessary more privacy lah, the island look small but got 80 beach + 20 water, villa consider rather "crowded" leh. Anyhow, in Maldives resort, it's unlikely you'll find it crowded lah, more couples, not like those in Malaysia, as most ppl goes there in big group/families. But if it's USD200 for the water villa, It's really tempting too!

Ya lah, I think for that price, it's really a bargain.
Please do check properly, the USD200 is valid for last year during low season(May till July). This year the price might have increase.

Just check on the SQ airfares, 2 to go per pax is S$450 + $226(tax), while 4 to go is S$550+ S$226(tax). If can find your Kaki to go with you all, save another S$200. Kekekeke..... can used the money to go spa leh!

Oh heee Wu typo error for the SQ one ma??...wow..the tax so hihg $226???? i saw got a malaysian airline promo at $350 only yea but too bad until march only,i plan to go in early june lor.....sign.... the fare u give is valid for june this yr ma??

Yo Kalbarri,

The price is is for May 06. You can also try fiddle around with the date at SQ website.

Last year I went already S$168 Tax per pax, but air ticket is S$398, all time low.

Even the promo rate for Malaysia airline, I think It's also quoted w/o tax.

that's why I think hor, for your case, your airticket for 2 is equal if not even higher than what you gonna pay for the accom. "Bo Hua" leh...just for 2 nights at the island. If you can, try to stay more days lah. Really, I think 2 nites is really not enough, then by the time you're ready to check out, very sian one.

Think carefully lah, becos this "cheapo" airticket is not open ones, if you wanna to extend your stay and change the return SQ date, either not allowed or you'll have to pay.

hello WU

bz doing Maldives consultation work liao hor

since u got married earlier
chk with u something abt giving ang bao hor.
heard from some married frens that they give their parents ang bao during CNY season. how compulsory is it? ive been giving her "extra" during this season cos i change notes for her mah...think enuff liao hor.... kekekeke =)

Yo bvbride,

Kekekek... i always talk so much on Maldives, really haven asked you folks whether my idea/calculation sounded valid or not. Aiya, just trying to help folks out there to save money lah, although only been there once.
If really we're rich hor, really don't have to bother about these "Gu-jin-Gu-rak" things loh.

Hong bao!!! Hehehehehh.....
depends on your "Xiao Xing" loh! Kekeke....Kidding lah!

I think really depends lah, if you're tight on budget and they also know, just give a little lah, or alternative, buy other things for them lah, like Bird nest(bottled:- Yu Yan Sang cost only S$35).

First 2 years working I gave S$1000 montly allowance to my parents, got GF liao give S$500 monthly. After marriage, I give S$400 montly. Bought for them medical insurance using Medisave, stuff like that lah, then they understand my difficulty loh, I also not superman, cannot really give them much.

This new year, my wife got a bigger bonus, we're trying to give them at least S$200 each as HongBao, both my parents and hers lah. Last 2 years, although we're married, we still received HongBao from them. Beginning of the year always no money, don't know why?

I think most parent wouldn't mind HongBao or not lah, just make sure you eat the new year eve dinner with them, they'll be happy liao lah!

hi bvbride,
i am def gona bao red packet for our parents. i think its just really nice for them esp since now that we are married.=> i think we can never give our parents too much, its alway nice to give them.=D

Hi Wu

thx for your hong bao advise
think i am abt the same as u la
i standby $200 new notes for mother already
so thatz the extra la. plus buy things like ba kua for them so i guess ok liao. think they will understand la (???!??!!!!)

btw siblings leh? nt v close to mine so may not give them..hmmm..maybe just stand by in case they come wish me happy new year w two oranges =)

hello haru !

feeling better? popped into TWP thread and saw your contribution.
do take care darling! rest well so that u can hv a great time gambling and makaning during CNY!!!

Yo bvbride, Haru,

Ya loh... spent time with them when they're still around.... I don't think they would want Hongbao more then wanting you to visit them frequently.

As for Siblings wise....Hmm.... Imagine in future, when our parents were no longer around, the only close "relatives" will be our siblings. Thus, I think we also need to improve our relationship, Not close now, trying to be close loh! Our parents would want us to be close when they're not around.

Me and my brother always argue lah, this and that, but he's still my closer person on earth loh. My sister used to be very havoc....used to scold her,wanting her to be good. Slowly, she became more understanding liao. I'll still have to support her in terms of money(parents not working),pocket money, buy her life/saving insurance, stuff like that. Still, she's my only younger sister after all.

Just my thoughts lah!

How many siblings you have, bvbride? Anyway, as chinese say, "Liang Li Er Wei" lah. If your Sibling is understand, same too, Hong Bao wouldn't be able to buy relationship, it's still have to be commuinicating more with them loh!

ZhuZhu,

You broke liao ah...then how to go Maldives this May? Kekekekkeke.... "Si Fang Qian" ah??? Kekekekke

I also very broke this year!
, after my previous trip.
Go Maldives with us next year lah???? ....trying to Psycho you liao..... :P

wu,
after i come back from my shanghai trip...realised i quite broke liao..

I dun wan to wait till next yr..cos the earlier I go maldives...the earlier i can start planning for a kid...
dat y i wan to go in May/june...then can try of a little piggy...

hi everyone..
me back from Jakarta...

Wah... seems like this thread is moving quite fast..

toking abt ang bao..keke.. this year my first time giving ang bao... keke.. yup..it's a 'xin yi'... :p planning to give more to my sis n brother in law... 'zi ji ren' mah...:p keke... that ever naughty younger sis of mine keep hinting for ang bao even before jan...

zhuzhu
u hoping for a piggy? next year is the piggy year? pai seh me abit lost wif chinese horoscope...:p

Wu
haha.. I survived the traffic in Jakarta... hey..come to think of it, the place seems like Bangkok... surprised to see nice shopping malls that sell really cheap stuffs... food also very cheap...
kinda of enjoy myself minus the horrid air there... so dusty n smoky...

the pedi n mani cost only S$4 bucks!!! some more got massage one... n the hair dressing services also darn cheap... rebonding only $10! and all these are in the upmarket mall not those 'lor kor' type...

Hellow Wu

agree w what u say - very sensible and "kuai" hor u. i hv an elder and a younger bro. so am the typical middle child + only girl some more. on the contrary - they rec the most attention from my parents. kekeke strange ...hmm...

think will give only my younger bro la since he is the youngest in the family

Hey hey starstar
welcome back !!! u made Jakarta sound like the cheap shopping heaven! maybe even better then BKK! hmmm.....how safe is it there?

hi bvbride,
i'm much better, thanks! =D

hey starstar,
welcome back!!woah! the pedi and mani is insanely cheap!!!!!i want to do too!hahahha....

hey everyone,
actually, just discussed with hubby that maybe we will go somewhere less expensive perhaps even thailand,etc for short trip since we are planning to try for jr. this year.nothing's really confirmed yet although maldives still on the cards!heheh...

Hi starstar
welcome back home!!
wah the pedi & mani soooo cheap ah...but is it safe har?
Ya lor..next yr is the oink oink yr...

Haru,
wats wrong with u?..so u also planning for a doggy or a piggy
my ah lao die die also wan to go maldives b4 jr. comes...so no choice lor...had to satisfy his demand..

Yo bvbride,

Haiz..... Sensible no used sometimes, it'll still depends whether your siblings are sensible. :P.
The most dominant of the siblings should be sensible and take care of the others.

aiya,eldest and youngest will get the most lah...Kekeke...no point complaining. I'm the middle child too :p

Yo Starstar,

I though u already back from Jakarta in your last post last week?
Glad to see you back in the forum!!
Kekekeke....

Yo Haru,

Aiyoo-yoo...... stop changing ur mind lah! Kekeke... go Maldives with ZhuZhu, SQ 4 to go plan lah!!! Confirm you get your Piggy Jr. lah!!!

And to All...... Guys like me really don't know how to appreciate pedi + mani +rebonding....kekekeke.
..just like ladies don't appreciate why guys wanna change to an expensive alloy wheels on their cars! Are all hubbies like that???? (juz some thoughts running thru my mind sometimes lah!

P.S. I know S$4 for pedi+mani is BLOODY cheap!!! :P kekekeke....

hhaha,i also duno why this year hubby and i super fickle minded!!!=P can't seem to make up our minds..

Wu,
Yes, all men are like dat....those who defers already extinct...my ah lao also like dat...dat y i prefer to go shoppping alone...