Maldives

hi LPH,
oh gosh, thats a travellers worst nightmare. i wld cry if i were to lose my luggage coz its all my precious vacations clothes, shoes, etc!!hahahaha....thats why i normally get insurance too. =>

hey Wu,
looking at ur pix again makes me drooooool big time. but i gota say u were really lucky as the storm only came when u guys were leaving!

Hello LPH,

I'm not sure about Srilankan flight. The last time i know is you'll need to stay in colombo for 1 night. Then later I got friends who told me there's some transfer is done at night, thus similar to SQ, it'll reach Male at night.

Yes, if I'm you, I'll also choose SQ. If possible, try taking to Clubmed personel see whether you can arrive 1 day eariler. Then stay 1 night at the Male city hotel, price range is fr US75 per room. Next day, check in to ClubMed(you'll have to check what time is the checkin, normally range from 12pm to 3pm.). Using US75 dollars and enjoy 1 more night and day is more worth isn't it? At least you got 3 full night in Clubmed Kani. My perception lah!

Hope it helps!

very tempted to try club med becoz they give free tuition for the water sports.
want to learn surfing and catamaran sailing. will b doing snorkelling n wakeboarding too (if its free). so, i think it'll b more worthwhile if i take club med???

Yo Haru,

Yes I took SQ to Maldives last Jul 05. I didn't do the water sports except diving lah. The price range for water sports starts from USD10 to USD300, and depends on no. of hrs, and whether its a course or not. I.e. catamran basic course ~ USD300 for hrs.

Actually May ~ Jul is not the best time, as it'll have more rain. Depends on luck lah... My 7 nts there only last day got tropical storm...really big ones(never seen in Singapore) and it's very scary.

Best time I would reckon is Jan till april, especially for Divers like me lah. Can see more big fishes. Why we choose May-Jul is the room rates loh, imagine beach villa price drops from USD390 to USD200... Kekekeke... Half leh! If you stay there 7 nts it's like saving USD1400 which bluntly translate to another 7 nights leh. My thinking lah. Kekekekek.....

Yep Haru, kekeke.... me too drool everytime I review my photos....Haizzz....hope I'm there right now. Yes I think luck is with us even b4 we went there. like the lowest room rates, stay in Sunset villa, and most important of all, safely touch down in Changi.

Hi LPH,

You'll have to check out with clubmed what are the water sports loh. Then hor, this might be another marketing strategy. It'll also have to depends whether they have slots or not, i.e first come first serve kind of thingy.

In maldives, lots of thing have to book, those special ones like fine dining, glass bottom boat, spa, etc.... then if it's fully book, you might not have the chance to play at all. Well even worse if you're there just 3 nights, most AngMo go there like 2 weeks, so those tuition kind of thingy might be fully book when you reach there.
We encounter once mah, all sundeck ard the swimming pool was always "Booked" by AngMo, they're even better than us Singaporean, and they are also master of "Choping" empty spaces/seats/chairs using their books.
Kekekeke.... if you go to alot of resort even in malaysia, they'll chop the sun deck thru-out their stays isn't it? Kekekeke.....

For you if you think 3 nights is enough, and you would prefer water villas, plus you would like to go there end-april, yes, Clubemed water villa is worth it.

If you can wait till Mid May, you can consider HIlton beach/deluxe beach villas(should call them Bungalow) as well. They are considerable larger and pretty new(Jun 05 build), and room rates is cheaper than Clubmed water villa. However, food plus seasports is extra lah! And... you also got chance to travel on a seaplane in the morning, and have a birdeyes view of the beautiful Atolls.

It's your decision lah...actually everywhere in Maldives also nicey....

hi LPH,
is there surfing in maldives? e water looks to calm and serene to surf! =p but then again,i've never been there so i have no clue,hahahah..

hey Wu,
ya, actually the pix u took when u guys left looked really dark already. can imagine when its stormy..gosh, can be quite freaky! but like u said, the price at other times is like double!! how about april when its at the border of the monsoon? also ex rite?? sigh...want cheap and nice weather, hard to please!

Yo Haru,

Yes, must be from Mid May onwards then price drop by half. You can play with Hilton website lah..kekeke...
kao_babydust.gif

Anyway, when we flew off on the seaplane, it's still stormy as well, like those in Singapore, we also doubt whether the seaplane can take off, if cannot..kekekeke... we got another nite stay mah...don't know free or not lah.

Don't worried lah, if you plan to stay at least 5 nights hor, "Sway sway" also ganna 1 day rain only lah, cannot be all 5 nights right?

I reckon May till june should be ok lah.

Well you can surf in Maldives, but must paddle out further away from the beach. I took a few photos mah, the wave is very big right out there. It never came near the beach becos most energy has been absorb by the reefs out there. I can even hear the wave from far, rather scary.

however, think back, if the reef are the ones to absorb the energy, it's not safe to surf there isn't it? You'll crash into the reefs and cuts by reefs is very paining and deep wounds would result.

However, I still see a lot of AngMo with surf board in the Hulhulhe airport, don't know where they surf though.

hi Wu,
yeah, def a no-no to surf out there with all the reef.if kenah pulled by undercurrent, thats not gona be pretty. no joke to crash into reefs. maybe they went to somewhere else, nt maldives to surf? hmm... but angmohs all no fear one, got waves only surf. i REALLY like to learn surfing but to be honest, if there are lotsa sharks, i'll give it a miss. too darn scared of those jaws..hehehe...if like in Bali, maybe ok. in Australia, no way! =P

i booked club med, kani. seems that most water sports r free except diving n fishing (which i dont do).
moreover, they are newly renovated after the tsunami, cannot be tat bad ba. i'll b gg end apr to early may.
hopefully, there wldnt b cases of over booked facilities when im there.

hi everyone...
hope the weekend's good for all..
keke..another holiday coming up...;p

LPH
think the facilties u no need to worry too much cos april n may is the low season...
should not be too many people...

wu n all
gee.. really hoping next year we all can go Maldives together... so many resorts to choose from...spoilt for choice...

well.. I won't be popping in so often this coming week... won't be ard cos following my hubby to jakarta... be his excess baggage...:p haha... see ya all next weekend...

hmmm..wonder how zhuzhu doing in shanghai...
? should be enjoying herself..

Hi LPH,

I think clubmed is rather good deal lah. It's one of the newest resort there in Maldives. Full board, free water sports.

The only thing I don't like is the 1st night there where they also charge you, imagine USD400++ per rm per night even when you arrive at 10.30pm.
At least you try to secure late check out(normal should be 12pm) if you can, else go airport too early hor nothing to do, as your flight will be at night

Last but not least...kekekek enjoy urself and I think u would.
Do leave us a mail when you're back... and also show us some photos ya.

Yo starstar,

thot you missing liao. Yes I do hope all of us, plus more ppl can go together. Then we can save money on airfares(4 to go kind of thingy) and also on the accomodation as well.

That's the power of a group! kekekekke

You have fun in Jakarta, okie!

hi LPH,
great! so all u need to do noe is count down to ur trip!

Hey everyone,
i've proposed to hubby on going maldives this year and if time and other factors allow, we'll make a separate trip to japan! yipee!! am hoping to make a trip to maldives in early/mid may at hilton. gota start to save up $$ for the trip, hopefully hubby wil be able to take leave...=P

Yo Haru,

I thought we going together next year 2007? Can't wait ah! Kekekekkee.....

This year go Japan, Next year go Maldives lah!.......Haizz..... ya lah, if I was you, I also can't wait.

So you decide on Hilton and not others lah!

how long is the flight to maldives?
im gg by SQ. is there anything to buy in MALE?
is it like port louis in mauritius?
believe USD will be widely accepted there?

hey all

so many updates arrr??

LPH confirmed chopped gog ClubMed

Haru - congrats on your excellent choice of choosing Maldives instead of Hawaii!

aiyoh Wu - hw to wait leh? u hv been tempting all of us with your photos...kekkek
sure kan chong want to go ASAP one
one thing abt the waves hor...i didnt spot any strong strong waves (even from afar) at Angsana leh...but the water there in general is slightly choppy
Dun surt la - not safe at all...the cuts from corals there is no joke one very very painful esp when u are in sea water all the time. can just imagine...poor hubby got cut before so i know

cheers!!!

Yo LPH,

Around 4hrs to Maldives, Male Hulhulhe airport.
Don't think you got time to buy things though. When u reach Hulhulhe airport, at night around 10.30pm, you'll be arrange to transfer to Clubmed.

On the day of departure then got time, however, you need to take a ferry(Dhoni) to Male city on another island. Around 15mins ride, USD1 per pax per trip. Never bought anything there but travel around Male, seems nothing much and nothing interesting also.

You can shop at the airport loh, a couple of souvenir shop.

Don't have to carry so much USD lah, nothing much to buy. Pay by credit card also can.
In Airport,beware when buying things or makan, their conversion from Rufiyaa(Maldives notes) to USD can be unfair, please ask them the exchange rates first. Anyway, when you first reach, your Phone with autoroam, will show you greetings from Maldives tourism Board, telling you the exchange rates(guildline only).

Yo bvbride,

Wha... You so long then come online... maybe one day you come online, we all all come back from Maldives liao loh! Kekekeke......

Ya loh, now I recommend ppl go, then ppl go earlier, I very tempted also, and also envy leh, how. This year just started only leh!

hi bvbride and Wu,
hahah, well nothing's been booked yet so nothings confirmed now. but wil def update u guys once we have got it all done! and yeah, wil likely go for Hilton as it is quite a good value for the size of the villa and the whole place.

Yo Haru,

SQ 4 to go cheaper fares you know......Haizzz....still trying to physho you go next year!

Kekekke..... anyway wise choice lah. Hopefully it's up to your standard, else ganna scold by you when your're back.

Hello !!

Wu arr..i just made some contributions just last fri wat ...
kekeke
aiyoh dun confuse our fren Haru liao la...so diffcult to psycho her to go Maldives leh...

Haru arr- think shld be up to your standard la...just look at Wu's pix!!!

kekeke =)

do u need smart casual attire in the resort?
i remembered that Mauritius resort has dress code for their dinner.

Yo bvbride, haru

Kekekkekeke..... hey, cannot look at the sunset water villa as a guideline hor....:p

No lah, I'm pretty confident Haru would enjoy the trip to Hilton Maldives, starting from check in to the Airplane transfer lounge.....

No regrets lah....... you see, till now, no resort around Asia area I look up too..kekekeke.....still thinking of my Beach Villas in Hilton. :P

"Jia Luck"..... this year donno want to go to which Malaysia resort leh......scare I see the rm I got rejection. :P

Okoke.... seriously, does my pictures interest you folks? ALthough it's taken just using normal digital camera lah. Next time round there, I'll bring a Digital SLR to take better pics.

Yo LPH,

Not sure about Clubmed, but at Hilton, we only wear beach wear, and most of the time we walk bare feet, cos most of the restaurant, shop's floor are purposely layered with ankle deep powdery sand.

Even when we dine at the "higher class" restaurant,the undersea restaurant, I worn jeans.

you can check with Clubmed websites, click on restaurant and check for their dress code.

Hmmmmmm..... seems pretty quiet. Haizz......

Nevermind, just like to put some info here. US dollars getting weaker...and that's good news for Haru Gal! Hopefully US dollars stays around the 1USD vs S$1.6 till your trip

When I'm there the exchange rate is 1USD vs S$1.71 ......
kao_frustrated.gif

If my rate is 1.6, I'll save ard S$500!!!

Haiz.... really depends on luck when you travel!

Hello frends

I am back from Shanghai...it was freezing there...I keep thinkin..how i wish i am in Maldives then..with the hot sun..

Haru,
I stayed at Central Hotel..location not bad..was there for 5D4N...but dun really like there lar..ppl there are rude n digusting..keep spitting everywhere...dun think i am going back there anytime soon..

Now I can start planning my Maldives trip already...
I had checked with W hotel...no rates are available yet...

Hi Wu,
ya,mayb can change some $$ first,hahahah!! keep me posted ya on the xchange rates ya?hehehe....

hi zhuzhu,
welcome back!! i used to work in china for 3 mths too, was so home sick then.couldnt wait to come back to civilised world.=P so

so when u planning to go maldives??=D

Haru,
thinkin of going either in May / June...but i think i will wait till the NATAS travel fair..c they got any good offer o not..

If I were to be asked to work in China..think i rather killed myself..
U are rite...I also can't wait to come back to civilisation even though i am only there for 5D4N

Bvbride
Any idea how does the OCBC easicredit thingy works har? I always cannot figure it out..

hi zhuzhu,
so u gona try to book a package?i'm now thinkin should book the flight or hotel first. u also gona be going to hilton? i hate squeezing with the crowds, so am a lil lazy to go the NATAS..=P

zhuzhu
welcome back...
didn't know shanghai so jiat lat one... spitting all over the place?!....yucks...

hey gals... tot we planning the trip next year? wah...all fast forward liao... keke... me defintely can't make it this year... hey Wu..show your 'psycho' skills leh... more poeple more fun n cheaper...:p

see ya all on sundy... now at airport... flying off soon...
hopefully I can survive the maddening traffic in Jakarta... :p

hello morning all

zhuzhu: easi credit is technically an unsecured credit line - somthing like a personal Overdraft. u can get up to two times your mthly income in terms of the credit limit. bank charges you interst upon the amt used ie pro-rated. dun use no interest charged but there wil be annual fee payable

btw think the offer Easicredit had for Maldives not that fantastic - offers sounded like those u get when u walk into the tour agency - not that much diff

Haru dear - i booked my pkg from NATAs leh - the crowd nearly killed us but itz our first time there so was quite facinated la. we saved just a little bit and got some freebies like duffle bag and additional 3000+/- UNI dollars cos charged to UOB card
think the squeeze and entrance fee is worth it overall
hope u find your dream package soon
cheers!!!

hey starstar,
enjoy ur time with ur hubby!!=D

hi bvbride,
my hubby hates squeezing with the crowd, esp if the savings is not that much. i guess we will just look out for normal promos..hehehe..

Hello all good day!

Want to save money? Don't have to go NATAS lah, just wait till next year 2007, we neg. with Hilton or whatever resort for huge discount loh, isn't it better? KEkekekekekke....

Hey Haru,

It's about time for you to book the resort liao lah. Although last year I went Hilton during the low season, by the 2nd or 3rd day of our stay, all villas are fully booked. Do it fast man! You can also try calling Hilton and asked for discount straight. You want an upgrade? I even saw ppl complaining to the reception in Hilton, angrily, for whatever reason, and get a free upgrade.
Kekekekeke.......

Hey bvbride,

You work in bank is it? Wha, you are very familiar with the banking terms leh. Yeh, agree with you, OCBC offers cannot consider to be an offer. I remember last year DBS black card got 50% discount on the rms rates for Soneva Gili/fushi, and thats something!

Yo Starstar,

Hows ur Jakarta trip? Glad to be back isn't it? Aiyo..... I really scare going to Indonesia, even Bintan. Don't really feel safe in those area.

hi Wu,
really? oh dear, u mean the bookings are normally full quickly despite it being the "monsoon" or non-peak season? gosh, looks like i gota settle the dates soon. u reckon the mid-May period will be good? Am just really praying that we won't kenah the tropical storms u were mentioning! well, i wont complain unless i have to, but a discount would be good!maybe i should try to call them direct and see if they can give me a better rate than doing it online.heheh...

wil i have trouble bookin a flight after bookin the hotel? just thinking coz if its night flight then we gota arrange to stay a night at Male...

Hi Haru,

Better early than to disappoint later

For europeans, it might be low season, but for Asian maybe it's good season? Kekekkee...Not very sure lah, just to be safe. Last july should be low season but I was told by the staff there, it's fully book. However, I booked it only 2 months b4 hand.

The tricks is you book both Hotel and SQ flights on the same day. Check online together both the avalibilty(opening 2 window explorer lah). That's what i did, interval between both bookings is in terms of minutes only. As for Seaplane flight(hilton arranged), defintely available when you're able to book the accom.

As for 1 night Hotel stay, either you request Hilton to help or book thru Asiatravel online or reach there Hulhulhe then book from the ppl there, as they normally have "Kang-tao".
You can forget about Hulhulhe airport hotel lah, to ex liao, cost ard USD250 at least per night. Normal Motel on Male cost only ard USD75++ with breakfast.

Hope it helps

hi Wu,
great idea there! i'll do that.=> hey,does that mean that my flight (if by SQ) wil actually have to be arriving a day before our check in date?

thanks so much for all ur helpful details! wil be doing some more research and hopefully i can do the booking soon! gona have to melt some plastic(credit card)!!hahahah....but its good also lah, can pay it off before we leave for the trip.=P

Yo Haru,

Yes, you're right. Flight is 1 day before check in date.

DOn't have to do research lah.....Kekekeke... fix a confirm date with your hubby, log on and book! Don't think too much. Simple. That's what I did, discussed with my the 2 other friends, confirmed date then book straight within 1 week.

Maldives tourist should be improving liao...I guess lah, as last year is near Tsunami period mah. this year, there should be more ppl visiting Maldives, must chop chop hor!

Yo Haru,

At least 5 nights lah. Actually for us 7 nights + 1 night in Male, is slightly long. Misses our doggie loh! Kekekekeke......

If you got nothing to miss, can go longer, just that the food will become boring(especially the breakfast, luckily got a wide varieties, better than lots of Hotel).

If you're sure going, do let us know, probably need your help to help me buy 1 Maldivian songs Album back. Cheers!

Wu

hi Wu,
hahah, so cute. but 7 nights is really long! although its the norm for the angmohs, they seem to have endless leave and of coz the exchange rates are good for them. when i was in mauritius,i met an english couple who was there for like 3 weeks!and they actually stayed in the same hotel!!

oh, is there anything to see in male city?where do go to get the maldivian albmu? but i guess u need to take the seaplane to get to the city eh? just a silly qn, is Hilton like on an island with nothing but the hotel? if so, GREAT!=D

i suppose there is no charges for the seaplane ya? i mean when transferring from male and back..

hello !!

yes Wu - am a very lowly clerk in the bank (no offence to other clerks of cos. just me la)

so exciting to see Haru planning her trip with your guidance
here hmmm

cheers!!!

Hi Haru
So u intending to go maldives this may also? Sometimes NATAS might have special offer or like wat bvbride said..got goodies..If ur husband not keen to squeeze..then u ask him to wait outside lor...sometimes its quite fun to squeeze and get the best deals..
So u going to book hilton also?

Wu,
is 5 nites abit too long? considering that i not into water sport.....

This morning i heard on radio 933..think they giving out package for maldives by sri lanka airlines...wanna SMS in..but too bad i duno the ans to their que....

Yo Haru,

Ang Mo seldom go for a few days lah, they go there at least 2 weeks.
. Sometimes I wonder where did they got those money from eh? I guess most Ang mo go Holiday a few times every year?

It's the typical Ang mo that you saw in Mauritius. :P

Kekekke.... No lah. Once you reach Maldives Hulhulhe airport, if your transfer(i.e Hilton) is in the Morning, either you stay awake at the 24 hrs restaurant wait, or book 1 rm at the airport Hotel(super Ex), or take a ferry to Male city(which is on another island) to look for cheap hotel, just 10-15mins ride.

The Maldivian Album will be place in every villa, Maldivian lauguage, although we don't understand, it suited the atmosphere/ambience and the location. very nice songs, even better when played live, which they did at one of the lounge.

Oh, you'll have to make a transfer to Hilton(consist of 2 islands) from Hulhulhe airport, by seaplane and it's not free, USD250 per pax return. Sound ex but tell you it's worth it lah! Very exciting ride indeed!

Don't worried lah, it'll be money well spent!!!

Yo Yo bvbride,

Cannot say that... my FIL, an office boy at one of the oversea bank. He work there as a office boy since 18yrs old, total 45yrs leh. His pay used to be S$4K plus b4 retired. Imagine if you work 45yrs in the banking sector, and by the time you retire, WOW!!!! Every year go Maldive ah!

Anyway, my FIL by working as a office boy till he retires, earn a decent pay, own a old 5rm flat, bought a 2nd-car for her 2 daughters, pay another 30% DP for my MIL's car as well, an 6figures saving in bank + CPF, you might do even better isn't it??

Anyway, I also feel excited when giving my 2cents worth loh! At least it reminds me of the happy time even I'm stress up with work! My 5 computer(2 at my workplace, 2 at home, my wife's notebook) all with my Maldives pics as Wallpaper....... See how much me and my wife misses Maldives???
kao_drool.gif

Hey, you planning for a Maldives trip next year too???

Yo ZhuZhu,

5 nites ok lah..... it really depends on what you like to do in a beach resort as well. Basically most of the time, we just relax, sit down enjoy the view, talk within ourselves, go for free afternoon tea party, sun-tan, walk around the 2 islands, night time jus lie on the beach look at the stars(can even see the milky way!)..... we did that almost everyday, BUT please visualise and remember you're in Maldives leh, not East Coast park! Your feelings, mindset will be very different loh! Oh.... not forgetting the sun-rise and sunset, it's true that it's even nicer then watching in S'pore! Kekekekke...:p

Time stands still for the first 4 days, really enjoy the time then,the calm-ness and as for the last few days, time really flys leh.....really miss that place very much. On our flight back on the seaplane, really almost cry!
kao_sad2.gif

Don't know lah, that's my feelings loh, maybe others who had been to Maldives can share their feelings? bvbride? Starstar? and Haru in future? kekekeke......

hi Wu,
wow, to be honest, i hear about the US$250 per pax for sea plane, almost choke on my drink. thats almost like $1K for both of us! i roughly calculated just for flight and hotel its prob bout $3.5K... so with the seaplane its gona be $4.5K?...i hope the seaplane fee is return flight right?hahahah....but i understand ur sentiments about being the seaplane.must have been so exciting during the trip there and sentimental on the way back...

Yo Haru,

Yes it is return flight. But can tell you it's very worth it, better than the USD220 per pax dining I paid for at the full glass undersea restaurant(not recommended, as food is to exotic) at Hilton.

So your S$4.5K 2 to go, is based on 5 nights/return seaplane right, plus 1 nite Male, if I've calculated correctly?
Should be around S$4.3K lah to be more precise(if exchange rates is 1.65)

Try to allocate additional money for meals and other expenses(i.e. spa, excursion etc).
If you're not a big eater hor, USD50 per day for the meal is good enough liao. Somemore afternoon got free tea break (pastry, biscuit, and assorted tea/coffee)

Are you ready to go???

hi LPH,
yup, coz only breakfast provided. and of coz at Hiton, u wil have to spend quite a lot on F&B, even a cocktail at the poolside will cost quite alot.

Hey Wu,
hahah, really! so it seems like the meal at that restaurant not worth it eh?=P is the aftn tea free for all guests? gosh, i'm just thinkin about all the swiping of the credit card!hahaha...but hubby super excited after seeing you photos taken at maldives and even ask me if the water is really that BLUE!hahah... so i gues its hotel meals for 6 days straight eh? coz its not like we can eat anywhere else...hahah....

Yo Haru,

The food are Ok lah, hotel style food + price loh, just in USD lah.

To save money, do bring some can food + instant cup noodles lah.
Well there's at least 4 to 5 different restaurant you can go to, in fact a wide varieties loh.

If you join the fishing trip, they cooked for you the catch for free! Then on that day, you can order less food lah.

If got extra cash, can go for the private BBQ, located anywhere on the island of your choice, best beside the sunset water villa where you can see the sun down with Fire Torches around you folks, like survivor like that. Quite fun and romantic, but it'll cost you like ard USD100+ per pax!