Maldives

yeah...another holiday coming up...me going to Shanghai on thur...sooo excited..

Think there is another new hotel coming up in Maldives. Its called "W Hotel"..opening in May 06

wah...W hotel?!!! Hey Wu, u open one har? ;p cool...

yup yup.. alot hoilidays are coming our way...

My diver friends are planning a trip to Maldives this June and I'm recommending Hilton to them. I dun think I will join them.

Yo Starstar,

Ya ya... how i wish I can open one in Maldives...Kekekeke....

If got the money hor.... will open one that allows dogs to stay in. Kekeke.... My dogs love swimming, esp...if the water is so clear! :P

Yo Blue Ginger, Long time no see... What's up?

If hardcore diver hor, don't have to go Hilton lah, don't even have time to enjoy the facilities..kekekke.. And also the per dive price is one of the highest in the world, around USD65 per dive.

I've got a SQ pilot friend recommends me Bandos island. Only USD18++ per dive, same level of treatment...i.e.. don't have to setup the gear urself. ppl help u to put on the gear, jump into water, after dive, ppl will remove the gear for you. Hassle free! (same level as Hilton but no fruits lah)

further more June although resort cheap lah, but all the big fishes season over, no more Manta etc...

If wanna to dive and enjoy hor, maybe do a island hop loh, 1st few days dive+stay in Bandos, then proceed to Hilton to complete the journey.

Juz my 2 cents worth lah.

Unless your friends are willing to spent the money where Hilton is the all rounded.

Thanks, Wu.

That's interesting!!! US$18 per dive only. That's cheaper. The dive centre at the resort I stayed charged US$60 per dive. No different from Hilton. Service same.

Anyway, I went in May last time, still manage to see manta rays, sharks and turtle, but not in school. Most of them migrate to the west atolls of Maldives.

Thanks. Will ask them to consider Bando Island too.

Morning Wu

I also hope lor...but not much i guess unless u are super freq stayer at Sheraton kekek..btw do u return to their "Dining Room" restaurant for makan? love that place - peaceful and quite + nice view

GOod Day Haru -
still confused over hawaii/maldives? kekeke...
pple who have been to Hawaii told me that itz nothing fantastic - big waves and water is so so only, not very exclusive
however, the plus point abt gog Hawaii is that u can hop over to Japan for a few days

btw ive just subscrbed to the digital channels offered by SCV - love the shows on E entertainment and Discovery Home and Health! very female oriented progs they have there. really liked the one abt makeup - Beautification with Ruby and Millie -
very girlie - i like

Yo Blue Ginger!

Okie then, thanks for your info. I've visit Maldives again around May 07.... at least I got both cheaper accom rates and still able to see Mantas....
HIlton is at the south west, so I should see them isn't it?

Eh... you also check out with Bandos lah, make sure it's around that price, else your friends will kill me. It's my pilot friend who told me

Hello bvbride!

what a pity. Sheraton should grant us some form of membership kind of thingy... moreover, we also spent like S$30K on that wedding dinner alone(Although they might think it's the money from the guest lah).

Eh... Where's the dinning room ah? The one that can see the waterfall on the basement is it?

The only special thing I knew about Sheraton Singapore is the wall tiles.... Basically all wall tiles, granite comes from a single source(Mountain), and all of them are arrange in a way that it's in sequence, meaning cut 1 pc from the mountain, stick on the wall then cut another piece, stick beside the 1st one and so on. It's really amazing to look at it.
kao_drool.gif

Anyway, I'll probably write to them, although I've starwoodhotel membership, see whether they can credit any pts into my account, then kekekeke.....another 1 night free at W Hotel in Maldives

hi bvbride,
well, pretty much set on hawaii although not ruling out the possibility of maldives!hehehe...yeah, i am addicted to cable too. i like their programmes like baby story,etc...E! channel is nice to for some "brainless" entertainment gossip,hhehehehe...

wah.. all having cable now... gee..must 'jia you' liao... :p

yup..another hotel to add on to our list...
but the web site didn't show any rates...the Shangri La one also...hmmm... wonder if it's going to be ex... hopefully still affordable....
hey..if they turn out to be as ex as soneva gili how har? still go for it or stay in Hilton better?

hi starstar,
ya, honestly i can't do without it. and for hubby he loves it coz he football fan, so watches it all the time. i also a lil football fanatic..like to watch and scream like mad,hahahah...The World Cup will see me having plenty of sleepless nites...oh boy..

hey Wu,
i just briefly looked at the website, seems like sleek! hmm....wonder what kind of promo price they wil offer for their opening...hehehehe..

Yo Haru,Starstar,

Now everynight already sleepless liao...playing Pc games and internet. With cable hor worst....24hrs also not enough ah! Kekekekke...

For the W hotel hor, again, it's near to Male, just 2km plus away. Don't know leh, those area already so crowded....as for the pricing, it wouldn't be cheap if the island is too small... and low end beach villa is limited, they can't possible price it lower than Hilton... lose money leh..

I think the concept is somewhat those of Banyan Tree and Angsana ones, from the pics lah. So expect those rates as well....kekekeke..

Actually to choose between Shangri-la or W hotel, I would probably go for Shang.... it's far away from Male(far south near the new Gan int. Airport), thus less crowded, then can seat seaplane which is a must for everyone visiting Maldives.

Aiya, lets see how along the way lah....I think with a large group, we can neg. a much better pricing, at least give us tax free for accomodation lah!

hi Wu,
hahahha....i noe,i end up surfing the net, etc til late even though i'm really tired!

actually i'm clueless when it comes to the diff areas in maldives, like kani, etc...i'm so lost..is there like areas that are nicer that the others?

to be honest, i would REALLY like to surprise hubby with a trip to maldives, think he would flip! but then again, spending a few thousand bucks just for like 3 nites is quite a lot..

good day Wu and Haru

Wu - have you set up your cable TV? - they hv great fishing prog on digital channels too - nt sure if u are a fan though ;)
agree - The W is qt Angsana/Banyan Tree-ish
so near airport - think better choose resorts further away from the airport hor...

Haru - my husb is a soccer cum wrestling cum F1 fan - so that leaves me with nothing much to watch cos he practically hogs the TV the whole night - poor me! dun mind catching some world cup when it comes in June - should be damn exciting!

btw HDB just announced that my parent's place gog to enbloc! think they waited for like 10years liao - haha! their place is a very old 3rm block just beside Queenstown MRT station
no "extra" compensation but think HDB giving us 20% off for the new flats - but prob is the new blocks are qt far from the MRT station this time round
so sad!!!
my family has gotten so used to hvg the station just downstairs and we have somewhat learn to tune out the noise liao- haizzzzzz......

hi bvbride,
really!hahah..actually while my hubby hogs the tv, i usually end up doing the chores or surfin the net,hehehe...

what a coincidence, the house i am living at right now is also actually gona be embloc. thats why i bot the resale unit. even though it meant nt enjoying any discounts or benefits..so we will be moving to the new place in about 4 years or less..=>

Yo bvbride,

Not getting cable yet lah. Need to save some money. Now already without much sleep liao, if cable comes in ah, I'll watch till morning loh!

For cables, yes, I fan of all those science stuff, nature, fish lah animal lah, space lah disaster lah, police, caught on TV lah...etc those stuff lah. In fact almost anything, thus it's best not to get a cable TV first.
kao_dizzy.gif

Yes I agree with you, choose one resort that is far away from Male.... I like sitting in the seaplane

Yo Haru,

forget about resorts hor, all Maldives island are beautiful and nice lah.... even Male also nice.
Then when resort is in your consideration, it'll really depends on your needs. Different ppl got diff needs.

For me, 1)price, reasonable and value for money 2)accom setting, design 3)diving.

You'll have to think what you want first, then ppl can help you think mah...kekekekeke.... off course if can hor, Huvafenfushi will be ideal lah
If price/rates comes into your equation...hoho....then have to look at other resort liao.

yo haru gal

Sama sama la cos my bedroom tv has only the usual TCS stuff

you must hv paid a premium when u got your resale hor - the ex owner would hv tried to kotok u. generally spkg the enbloc scheme is very popular with pple - new flats in matured estates that are not too far fr town ! what can be better hor.
you wil soon hv your reno headache - yikes!
get scrumpee's husb to do up your place la ! kekeke =)
cheers!!!

bi bvbride,
yeah, paid a premium pice AND we forfeitted our deposit coz we actually bot another place that has yet to be built. but we think its worth it coz its so much closer to work and our parents. and its a nice prime area. hahha, ya man...i think about moving to new place quite sad, coz i already all comfortable in my current home even though its resale..hubby and i will have lotsa memories here in this home.=>

hi Wu,
actually,as long as the resort, is clean, comfortable and value for money, thats good enough for me. but me quite spoilt, if can afford, of coz go for a nicer ones (since no need to put money aside for shopping there!hahah!)...thats why when i first see, i tot Club med was good deal. but then like u mentioned, they are not like smack rite at the beach..guess really gota weigh the pros and cons...

Yo Haru,

Kekekekke....... so far Hilton beach villa BEST lah... oopsss.... wait till we review together on Shang and W Hotel then see whether it'llunseat Hilton from the throne or not. Kekekekeek

Off course if anyone can enlighten us on other value for money resort(at least Hilton Beach Villa standard lah)....do share loh.

Anyway, 2007 is near isn't it?

Kekekekek....

hey guy n gals..
u all heard abt Kanuhuraa, Vadoo n Filitheyo(think is a Club Med resort)?

Wu think coco palm also not bad leh... ;p think the price is abt or slightly more than Hilton?

hmmm come to think of it...my maldives trip will be this yr...
rather interested in the W hotel..since it open in May..if I go around may/june...wah..then i smell everything also fresh n new ah...

Ok I flying off to Shanghai tomolo....tok to u all again...

Yo Starstar,

Sounds familiar leh, those resort. No problem, lets do some research on those that you've mention. Kekekeke....

Aiya, coco palm sure more ex than hilton lah(compare the low end villas). High end ones, Hiltons ones will cost more.... anyhow, I like coco palm as well, especially the one with glass bottom jacuzzi thiny. The villa looks interesting but the all villa tends to be much smaller than those in Hilton.

They now have a new design website. Take a look here.

http://www.cocopalm.com.mv/dhunikolhu/index.html

RATES:-
http://www.cocopalm.com.mv/dhunikolhu/rates.htm

Hello Zhuzhu,

Wha... so shiok hor...your Maldives trip coming soon....
New doesn't mean fresh leh... still got those reno smell...Kekekeke...

I sour grape mah...so envy.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Tell us where you gonna stay leh!

hi Wu,
wah, u really maldives expert leh!! buay tahan...hahhah...

hey zhuzhu,
so how many nites u plan to stay for your trip? tell us more about ur planning ya? hehehe...

Yo Haru,

No lah... not expert lah. Everything is available on the internet mah, everyone can do it.

Just need some time only loh!

kekekeke...

hey Wu,
just took a peek at the cocopalm rates. gosh! its quite expensive eh?well, but it does look pretty nice..=P

Yo Haru,

Ye...coco palm is more ex during the low season. To add on to the cost, USD240 seaplane charges as well.

The villa area was around 87sqm only, even for the deluxe beach villas, thats only 1/3 of Hilton's deluxe villas size.

Yes, it looks nice as well, especially the high ends ones.

Well when can any villas unseat hilton's value? Kekekek....wait for shang and W hotel liao loh!

hi Wu,
was playing around with the booking online for Hilton last nite, found June to be the cheapest rate. about S$350 per nite per villa. I just had a brilliant idea of going to maldives and to japan, but skipping hawaii! hahaha...but duno if hubby wil be happy about the idea though...wil ask him and see what he thinks.=P

Yo Haru,

Yes the cheap rates should be starting from mid May till Mid July, which is around USD200++ > so..if exchange rates is USD1 to S$1.7, it should be ard S$400. Don't forget the Tax and 10% service charge.

However, if we do have a big group, we can neg with Hilton. At least must get rid of the 10% plus bed tax. And hopefully by next year, USD drop to 1.5plus, then pay less. And also keep our finger cross, USD200 rates stays till 2007.

Aiya, skip Hawaii lah....Kekekekek...
Keep showing your hubby Maldives pics. kekekekek...
kao_babydust.gif

hi Wu,
ya lor, i also think maybe skip hawaii coz the water at maldives so much clearer!!!heheheh...then we can have 2 trips instd of 1!greedy ne....

are the water sports at hilton free?
how much does it cost per pax, including food, air tix for a 3N stay at the water villa at hilton?

Hi LPH,

Seems like you're comparing with Clubmed isn't it? Kekekek...:p

You'll have to pay for water sports. Water villa in Hilton is not cheap at all, comparing other resort.

The price(accomodation) have to depends on season. Ranging from USD200++ to USD3000++ depends on villas(beach villas to Sunset water Villa).

Villas would include breakfast. Lunch + dinner extra. I paid around USD50~USD100 per day for 2 pax, and it's depends what you eat.

Seaplane is USD250 return Male-Hilton per pax.

You'll have to tell us more details i.e when to go, so that we can give you a more accurate sum.

Wu

heya Wu and Haru

can see that Wu is doing his usual 'psycho-ing" ...but i totally agree w Wu leh Haru darling
my husb went to Hawaii/Honolulu years back and he kept saying itz nothing great seriously
he said that u can get that sort of water at East Coast! hmmm....
moreover u are paying abt the same amt if u go Hawaii so why not get a better deal out of it?
Maldives def more exclusive and not to forget itz just like 4hrs flight away darling~
kekeke - looks like im in the "psycho haru camp" too kekekek =)

btw OCBC having some travel deals for Maldives there is a list of resorts under the promo but excl Hilton la
but i guess u must pay thru the credit line - check website for more details!

hi bvbride,
oh no...now i really moving towards the idea of japan and maldives..hehehhe... i'm just so tempted by all the pix of maldives resorts! i think if we were to go to hilton, i dun mind just the normal villa.

really! i am OCBC card holder leh! is the promo deal good??

Yo bvbride,

Hmmmmmm....kekekeke... I good in Psychoing isn't it? Kekekeke.....
That's my impression on Hawaii also loh, although never been there. From movies or documentation, Hawaii got "golden" beach, not white.

To be specific, it's Hilton Maldives psycho camp....KEkekekekek........ :p

I got OCBC credit line but never used b4. Will check on the deals for details! Thanks...

Yo Haru,

I wouldn't mind as well, just the beach villa that I'd stayed in b4.

hi Wu,
actually i just have the OCBC Robinsons credit card, so maybe not the same.=(

actually it seems like the normal villa is already quite lovely eh? well, would like to stay for at least 5 nites if we really do go.it think most of the expenses is on the makan rite?

Yo Haru,

It must be OCBC easi-credit. Payment is by credit cheques. Aiya, saw the deal, normal pricing loh, can also find in website like GSA travel as well. Excludes this exclude that...add up together hor maybe cheaper to book ourselves.

Did you see my photo album on Maldives? I think its fabulous when we first enter that villa lah...cost whenever I go beach resort in Malaysia, we stay in rooms only mah... then suddenly we got a villa of our own.... it's definitely lovely loh. If you've been to places with high end accom, then probably not so lovely...It'll really depends on ppl lah. Me, my wife, and 2 friends once step in the hilton seaplane transfer lounge already speechless liao. Then when reach Hilton, we stone for another half a day. Kekekeek really!

Hey...see for yourself in 2007 lah..kekekeke... no regret lah for sure!

It's really depends on what you like to do there. Yes, normally makan would have been the 2nd highest expense. If you wanna to dive everyday like me, then Diving is 2nd most ex, followed by makan. Then hor if you wanna spa everyday, spa will be 2nd. Anyway spa there not cheap but imagine lying there face down observing the glass bottom flooring and watching the fishes below swimming doing spa, then I think it's really worth it loh!

ya...i comparing between club med kani n hilton.
i'll be taking the water chalet at club med n will b doing most of the water sports too.
so, which one will be more worthwhile?
i'll b gg end Apr.

im just went to hawaii in oct. like the place as it got a mixture of beach n shopping (both r my fav activities).

hey all

managed to lift the following fr OCBC Website
FYI only.....thnk WU was super fast - he already digested the info liao

but the following gives a rough guide of the pricing for most resorts in Maldives
cool

Giravaru Island Resort fr S$1,128 (Breakfast)
Club Rannhalhi fr S$1,148 (Breakfast)
Fuhalhohi Island Resort fr S$1,198 (Full board)
Bandos Island Resort fr S$1,218 (Breakfast)
Vadoo Island Resort fr S$1,268 (Full board)
Laguna Beach Resort fr S$1,338 (Breakfast)
Full Moon Beach Resort fr S$1,398 (Breakfast)
Paradise Island Resort & Spa fr S$1,478 (Full board)
Taj Coral Reef Resort fr S$1,488 (Breakfast)
Kurumba fr S$1,528 (Breakfast included)
Dhonveli Beach & Spa fr S$1,738 (Breakfast)
Angsana Resort & Spa fr S$1,968 (Breakfast)
Cocoa Island fr S$2,518 (Breakfast included)
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa fr S$2,528 (Breakfast)
Banyan Tree (Stay 4N, Pay 3N) fr S$2,598 (Full board)

Travel Validity: 1 January 2006 - 31 March 2006

EasiCredit Special:
Save up to S$100 per couple for a 5D/3N Singapore Airlines ‘Free & Easy’ package

Package Includes:

Airfare on Singapore Airlines
Return Airport/Resort/Male Airport transfer
3 nights' accommodation
Meals as specified above

Package Excludes:

Airport Tax in Singapore & Maldives
Airport Fuel Surcharge
Security Tax
Late check-out

ya...i like the shopping there. can buy most of the brands like roxy, armani, Guess at cheaper price.
like the beach also where all the action (surfing), ppl watching and the soft sand are. of coz the waikiki sea water cant be compared to mauritius ( i went there in 2004), but its fun to ride the waves.

i wld say tat both r different kinda beach. i supposed maldives is quite similar to mauritius.

btw, the club med kani 5D3N, water chalet n flyin by SQ is abt $2300 - $2400 per pax. im thinking of other 4* resorts.

hi LPH,
i tot Mauritius is more for nature though, coz when i went last sep, it was really cold. could swim, but water is also not tat clear.=P

but i am sure hubby wil enjoy the shopping in hawaii!hahaha...

sigh, i guess its gona have to be a consensus between 2 of us on where to go!

Hi LPH,

If you're looking at water villas, then during that period of Apr, yes, Clubmed kani is much better value then Hilton Water villa(should be 2X the price of Clubmed water villa during Apr). Not only it provide fullboard meals, it comes with free watersports(But they never list the water sports).

According to Hilton water sports list, it should include catamaran, wind surfing,banana boat, jet ski, wakeboard/water-ski/knee and banana boat. You should also check with Clubmed. If they just give you canoe or paddle boat hor then not so nice lah!

Clubmed price end apr is S$1888 (I think w/o airport surcharge).
If you minus off air-ticket, it should comes up to around USD480 per night. Good value I should say. However Clubmed beach villas are not as good valued as it's water villas and also Hilton beach villas.

However, I still think 3nights is not enough lah. The airfare already so ex, might as well extend your stay there, just my 2 cents worth!

If you can wait till mid May, I would advise you to choose Hilton beach villa over Clubmed water villa. Yes, It's better value, at USD250 less per night(breakfast only, no water sports) with a much bigger living space.

Kekekek... as usual, you can view my photo album to decide for yourself.

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645&mode=guest

Anyhow, enjoy your trip and as what bvbride says, it'll take your breath away, hopefully not too much though!!

Wu

Hello LPH,

Something to add, if you travel by SQ, it'll reach Male at night, around 10pm++, transfer to clubmed by speedboat, and by the time you check in, it should be around 11.30pm, that'll consider 1 Night out of your 3 Nights. Really "Bo Hua".

Think about it.

i prefer direct flight rather than transit in colombo by sri lanka. need to wait at airport for 6 hrs somemore. im not sure abt the timing thou' care to enlighten?
had a bad experience when flying to hawaii in oct. baggage didnt arrive with me, transit in taipei. luckily got buy insurance, so got compensated.

hi Wu,
hey just to check with you, so u reckon its best to go to Hilton between may-jul? but e rates are nt inclusive of water sports?i tot Hilton normally provides all these for free. at least it was free e last time i went to mauritius Hilton.heheh...did u take SQ too the last time u went maldives? thats true though, that u hv to plan properly coz u mite only be able to check in a day later isnt it?