Maldives

Hi ppl
I am back in this thread...almost cannot go maldives next yr...tot i strike jackpot...but then false alarm...but the funny thing is..i did a test and it really show +ve leh...hmmm must go n sue the test kit co.

Now I can start planning my maldives trip again...

hi wu,
hope u having a good time in bintan! eh, back to the GR topic,hubby and i have been discussing about it and we are really quite keen about getting a GR (of coz we wil have to "chao geng" and get some friend's add), juz a silly qn - how does e registratn go about? once we decided on the pup, do we register him straightaway with an add (which is our friends'?)..sorry ah, a lil ditzy about how tis goes. been ages since i last have a doggie, e last time i had one i was only 7 yrs old.. we did lotsa research and we still think that GR is the best breed for our lifestyle, doesnt require that much space, and we can still bring him/her for the exercise that it needs. and most of all they are good with kids, really impt since we do intend to have a kid in a year or two...

hi everyone!!

can anyone recommend a resort that has water villas? currently i'm looking at the new club med cos the price is pretty reasonable... would love to hear what everyone has to say, so difficult to do research when there are SOOOO many resorts to choose from!

haru,
sorry to be kaypoh but are you talking about golden retrievers?

iso
hi there.. water villas? hmmm..Maldives got alot resorts got water villas leh... u got any budget..think it's easier to work on the budget n then source for the resorts...

If Wu(our guru).. is ard, he'll defintely say Hilton is a good choice...
well..agree wif him..;p

Hello starstar,Haru,bvbride,

Ya....the only guy is back from Bintan...

Advice is:- if you've not been to any beach resort b4, put Maldives as the last one and always the one to go. :P

Cannot stand the food,accom, beach, sea...etc...
I basically slept most of the time. Don't feel relax at all. Then wife ganna sting by something on the toe, now her whole feet swollen.

Anyway...it'll be my last trip, ever, to Bintan. I would rather spent Riggits in Malaysia resort then Singapore dollars in Bintan.

Hi Haru,

Heh..heh...
you're sure you're ready for a GR?
You must ask yourself this question first. Not to spoil your eagerness to own one lah...but just in case loh! Question you might ask yourself:-

a)Fur, drool (everyday)
b)Ticks, fleas (seasonal)
c)Poo & pee (at least 5 times a day)
d)Bath + blow dry (2hrs at least)
e)food, supplements (everyday)
f)annual vet, medical (once or as and when)
g)exercise + attention (everyday)
h)toys (everyday)
i)training (everyday)
j)Old age + illness + death

These are the things you need to consider, asked yourself how to go about it,or handle it and would you mind doing it and whether you've got the time to do it?

Hi Wu!!!! glad to have ya back..keke...last weekend was charlie's angels leh...hahaha...

wah...your wife ok or not? seen a doc? Which resort u guys stayed? Tot the mayang sari was quite ok..went there a few years back...now so jiat lat?

hahaha..agree wif ya on the $$... ringgit cheaper n also makes it more worth it...
things are rather ex in Bintan...
standard of living like in singapore... my hubby told me bef.. if I ever wanted to go Bintan again, he'll rather go for Rasa Sentosa/Beaufort stay...kekeke..:p

haru
u feeling better? your MIL very cute leh...subtle hinting...

hi wu,
heheh, yup..now we are taking some time to decide about it.dats why need some advice from a GR owner..=P wil have to talk to hubby seriously coz he just think about all the pros, but i think he doesnt realize the cons...sigh...

oh dear,hope ur wifey's toe not too serious..

Yo Starstar, Haru, bvbride!

Looks like this week "Charlie is back"!!! Kekekekke.... and "Charlie will be going for reservist tomorrow onwards for 3 wks. Sian......:P

Thanks folks, my wife jus went to see doctor, cannot stand the itchyness liao. Doctor said either bitten by red ants or sand fly, likely the latter.... So these bad experience hor... I would not go back Bintan anymore...not even banyan Tree.

Company trip off course stay the cheapest loh..Kekekek... Nirwana resort. Mayang sari suppose to be the better ones, but the beach hor...forget about it lah. Yes, I would rather stay in Sentosa or even east coast.

Haru,

Kekekek....ya lah, really must think about the cons first. But really, the pros are much more, I would say. It brings life into my marriage life

The reason I want you to think about it is that, a lot of ppl just though about the cons, then just gave up their dog just like that, and never think about the happiness the doggie has brought to them. It's a life time partner you know

Talk to your hubby, and let him know loh, and you folks must come into concensus, like who will bath the GR lah, who will blow dry lah, who clear the shit lah, who mop floor lah, who clean the drool lah.....etc....

And if you've decided on one, try your best to get it direct from Australia, not from any petshop in Singapore.

Hello Iso,

Clubmed is a wise choice. Pricing for the water villa is reasonable also.
Well as what starstar said and she's absolutely right, it's a budget kind of thingy. If you're willing to spare say above USD1000 a night, oh... Kekekke
then hor soneva gili or Hilton spa water villa would also a great choice.
There're some mid high ends ones like coco palm, cocoa island etc you can choose from.

If you want the ulitimate ones... Huvafenfushi!

price can be up to USD4000++ per night
That's our dream destination.

Ello folks - the dreaded monday is here again
sigh....
but at least u guys are keeping me company!

Haru _ think i cant agree more with Wu. i really cannot bear to see pet owners neglecting their pets and not giving them the care that they deserve. but can tell u wll be a great dog owner
i know im damn lazy so dare not keep any. whenver i see a cute bunny at the great world pet shop i will freeze and stare at it for v looonnngg...hahahha

Wu - welcome back. so u stayed at the Nirwana Resort as in the multistorey hotel one la?
the bugs there are terrible hor.
the other time when i stayed in company resort @ Banyu Biru both hubby and i ganna attacked by bugs/sandflies too. both our backs looked really gross cos there were many HUGE mosquito bite looking sores all over! yikes!! took super long to recover and thatz when we knew its not mosquito bites! qt a sad way to remind ourselves of the trip there :P
just get wifey to apply whatever ointment doc has given regularly + dun scratch and she will be fine

did u visit the other resorts when u were there?
think the rest of the resorts are abt the same as
Nirwana except Indra Maya. but at least the sand was quite fine right?
hope u came back with a tan - at least

cheers!!

Wu
haha..."yo charlie"... all the best for your training...
get a GOLD or SILVER...
take care dude..

eeekss... sand flies!!! I HATE them.... the bites are horrid..worse than mosquitoes...
good thing Maldives never see them...

Yo bvbride,

Aiya....it's a forgetable trip lah... can't wait to be back, this is how me and my wife feel. :p

Wah....you also ganna those stuff back there in Bintan ah? Oh...yes yes.. I also ganna those super itchy mosquito bite.

You're right, she kept on scratching until her legs grew bigger like pig's leg.

Never walk far lah..so sian adi. WE walk till those bungalow chalet area, then she ganna bite liao.
The sand ok lah, just like Sentosa ones loh..Ai...really cannot compare with my beloved Maldives. Kekekekk

No sun at all. Night time storm some more....then the aircon also super cold, lousy bed and pillow makes my sleep so tiring. Their so called Kalong seafood restaurant is the worst restaurant I'd ever been to. I can cook much better than them. Yes, it's that bad.

That's why ppl say "Yi fen qian Yi fen Huo". Well Bintan, it's a BYE from me. Here I come..Maldives.

Yo Starstar(Angel!)

Kekekek....thanks. It's be a silver or pass lah. Gold Ya right, 13 years back lah. :p

Hopefully, my max-online will be setup at home soon. If not, will see you folks 3 weeks later!

have fun and keep each other company for the time being. Charlie got to serve the country! Kekekekekk....

hi wu and bvbride,
thanks for all your advice! yeah, wil have to give it a long hard thought with hubby. dun want it to be a rash decision too. if we really get a pet, wana give it our 100% to love the little angel..

all the best for ur reservist! u can definitely do it!

hey everyone,
i just watched a docu on channel 12 last week called A HandRaised Panda. The panda was hand raised in japan by its zookeeper and my goodness, it is really the CUTEST lil furry animal i've ever seen!!!!!!! its soo sweet and i really feel for the zookeeper coz he brot it up from when it was born, really touching show, highly recommend to those who have cable.

haru
really 'pei fu' u... though no matter how much I love those small furry animals...I'll never agree to have them in my house... can't stand the furs shredding, etc... also I cannot 'multi task'... cannot divide my love n attention to so many... next time got kids liao..I really dun know how much time I've left for the dog if I have one... also I like to travel... parents already not a fan of dogs at home... so nowhere to leave the dog if we wanna go travel... kids still can... dogs/cats... a big NO NO...

All these factors + the amt of $$ n time spent = No pets for us....

So I can only play wif other peoples' pet outside...no choice...

Wu(charlie)
u enjoy your stint...

Hello haru

u caught Peace the Hand raised polar bear too arr?? me too!!! i missed the earlier show so actually slept first and woke up for the later show hahaha!
love Peace when she is in her "toddler" stage when she walks around with the red collar w the keeper - super Kawaii~
Husb and i kept coo-ing over how cute baby animals are. HOHOHO

Starstar - ive the same mentallity as u + laziness hence no animals in my house. (except the occassional "dust bunnies" when we didnt vacuum for >1wk)

i too cannot multi-task - can only focus on husb for now la. kids??? no way for now la hehehehe

hi wu, starstar

thanks! yeah i guess it all depends on the budget
i'll discuss w FH first and then come and ask more questions later ok?

haru,

actually the rest read my mind already.. i only came to this thread yesterday but hope you don't mind me giving my 2 cents.. i have a 14.5 year old rottweiler who is the cutest in the world (ok i think GRs are probably more friendly) but for the last few years we've lived in a walk up apartment and the poor girl now has arthritis (which is common). i really wish for her that she could have a garden to roam about, i think it's really important for large dogs, and i think if my parents had the money to, they would move back to a house straight away! my FH wants to have rotties next time, but i told him only if we live in a house, otherwise i feel so sim-tia for them ;)

Iso
sure...it's always good to work out the budget first then look ard for resorts..easier lah... cos Maldives sooooo many to choose from..spoilt for choice...:p we'll be here if u need us to answer your queries..

hi Iso,
noe what u mean,i gues all owners wana have the best for their pooch.initially i also tell hubby that i wil only keep a pet if i live in a hse..but looking at how much he really wants really makes me go soft...but stil have to be firm in that he doesnt make a rash decision..

hi bvbride,
so kawaii ne!!!!!!!! even when much bigger, stil so adorable..

ok everyone!!

i haven't really decided on a budget, but my next question is, how easy is it to get around from one resort to another? my FH suggested maybe we can stay in a super high class place for 1-2 nights and a more reasonable place for the rest of the stay. anyone can share their thoughts??

Iso
it's a good idea!! But must be careful here cos dun choose one resort at one end(Nothern atoll) n the other at southern atoll... like that wow u'll definitely need sea plane... n it doesn't comes cheap... think u check out the past posts..Wu got mentioned bef on the charges of a seaplane...
or maybe the other two angels can help...
to go from one resort to another if it's near is by boats...

aiya.. how abt staying one nite at the hilton's sunset water villa then shift to the beach villas?...kekeke... no need to shift so much...:p

starstar, i was thinking of that! hee.. looks like i will definitely go Club Med though, just wondering whether i can go to another resort after that.. if it's not too expensive!

All,
I just saw that club med had some promo....
5D3N Superior - $1,198* per adult (Usual price $1,298)

5D3N Beach Villa - $1,688* per adult (Usual price $1,788)

5D3N Lagoon Suite - $1,888* per adult (Usual price $1,988)

zhuzhu
think it's rather worth it..full board...
very tempting...:p it's promo wif MASTERCARD.
need to pay by master card... btw do take note it's by Sri Lankan airlines.... dun think they fly direct to Male... stopover at Colombo... need to check wif the airline to find out..

hi starstar,
think u are rite..but i tink the airline arrives during e day instead of nite? heard it on Class 95 ad...hehehe..

Hi haru & starstar
Very tempted leh...but must find out more details lar...
Now i kinda lazy to look around..maybe got promo package then take lor...

Hey guys,

I am also looking at Maldives or Bora Bora!

Bora bora is simply BEAUTIFUL!!! I think thats the ultimate place for honeymoon BUT the ultimate place for "hole in the pocket" as well. Sigh. Thats why still cant decide.

Is that anywhere to stop over before going to Maldives? I wanna go sight see a little b4 going to a beach-ie place. I know for Bora Bora can stop by oz,nz or states. *praying to win toto*

hi Mish,
yup yup, Bora Bora is simply gorgeous and the ultimate for hole in the pccket. u got it rite! i think its good to just go to maldives for the same clear blue waters... (even though i havent been there myself! am sure its def lovely)

hi mish,

if you go by sri lankan air you definitely have to stop by colombo. apparently colombo itself isn't much to look at, but the country side is supposed to be really scenic. i'd definitely like to go there but my FH not so keen on these areas (including India).

Iso
keke..your Fh n my hubby same 'freqency'...
my hubby also dun wanna stopover there...

So u decided on taking up the club med promo or wanna look ard for more?

mish
haha...agree wif haru...
the rates of villas at Bora Bora is same as the Maldives' one... the huge difference lies in the $$$$ paid for air tics.... it's gonna cost ALOT... the amt spent on air tics can give u at least 2 more nite stay in Maldives...

Bora Bora is lovely...keke...I'll only go if we have ALOT of extra $$$...

zhuzhu
so have u decided to take up the offer? saw the advert in Straits Times again today...
Tempting...:p

Hi Starstar

I think most likely will take up the offer lar..but must check whether the dates i wan is available o not...

Hello Iso and Star Star

think the mastercard promo is worth considering
if u arrive in the day u can see the beautiful atolls and blue blue waters when u are almost reaching the airport.

i took SQ - so arrived at night - see nothing and the same when i left - see nothing also cos it already night time.

Haru darling ! another offer to tempt u right? what r u waiting for?

but one more thing - dunno hw much club med will charge for extensions hor...

bvbride
yup..precisely..I dun mind stopping over..it's the man lah...:p up to him lah.. so as long I get on the Maldives I happi liao..

haru
yup..i find it's rather worth it..but think it exclude taxes and what compulsory club med membership charges...??? can someone enlighten me on this charge on club med??? *confused*

zhuzhu
yup..think u gonna check..I just checked wif the airline - Sri Lankan Airline... think they only depart on certain days..tues n some other days... can check the link below...

http://www.airfares.com.sg/airfares/ul/7_at_ul_maldives.htm

http://www.srilankan.lk/

i think extensions are a no no. it wil def cost way much more. if u wana stay more nites, then its actualy prob gona be less if u were to do the booking directly rather than extention on the package. thats what i've found out.=>

starstar,
club med's membership is compulsory which is about $60 or so the last i recall..

hi bvbride,
really tempted, but gota resist the temptation and plan for hawaii leh...=(

Hi Haru
So u saying its not worthwhile to extend more nites in club med lar?

Hi Bvbride
My hubby still prefers those water villas with direct access to the water..haiz...he so hard to satisfy...

Yo folks,

Finally got my maxonline hook up at home, and has been surfing the web non-stop!
looks like it's a clubmed Kani fever recently yeah! Ad is all over the web+ newspaper.

Not sure whether the price includes taxes or not? i.e the USD8 per night, 10% SVC and airport/fuel surcharge.

however, I think the lagoon villa price is tempting as well. Hmmmmm.....

What I like most is the diving rates. Much much cheaper than Hilton loh!

Haiz.....feel like going....but no money leh! :P

Hey Starstar,

If you hubby next time join SIA hor...got chance to fly there liao. Kekekek.... One of my reservist mate, a pilot with SIA, already flew to maldives for 3 times so far. Stay with bandos island for free, around 3 nights. He said so shiok, and diving(cost only USD18 per dive, whereas I paid USD65 at Hilton) around early of the year he saw Whale Sharks, Giant Manta Rays etc.... Big Game fishing he caught Marlin/Sailfish! WoW!!!
When you become "tai Tai" hor, can selectively follow him their as well! Kekekekek.....

hi wu,
congrats!!!! can begin to tell you how much i cant do without my cable and maxonline!!!warm welcome to the club!=D

my hubby was tempted for a while with the promo on clubmed/mastercard...hehehe,then he decided to stick with hawaii...well well...

Yo Haru,

Kekekeke.....ya.. really stuck to the screen for the whole day.

Is Hawaii that tempting? What's so nice about hawaii? kekekek.....those hawaii girls har! Kekekek...

Okie. Go Hawaii first then follow by Maldives 2007 loh!