Maldives

Hey bvbride,

Me too, I multitask, got 2 computers at work and a single switchable monitor.
1 computer is for testing purposes, the other one for admin and off course monitoring this thread loh! Kekekekek

Although Hilton consist of 2 large islands, there's no signs of crowd at all! It's really weird when I get to know that when we're there, it's almost fully book but no crowding effect leh! Even during dinner, although restaurant are rather full, all folks tends to be quiet eating food or talking. Like those high class restaurant in singapore loh! Defintely not like those resort in Malaysia lah....ppl talk so loud, so kia-su in the buffet queue etc. etc...

Anyway, till now, all options(RESORT) are open! so long as it's the best value one

hi wu,
i noe what u mean, coz when i was in mauritius, the restaurant was filled but everything was so orderly and everyone was eating civilizedly,hahahah....hilton finally sent me my honours card today..hubby say good sales tactic.now we travel wil think of staying hilton first,hahaha....

hi pple!!

Wu
ok.. so u now noting down the opinions isit? Anyway me anything one.. so as long got choice of water villa n SPA!!! hee... :p

haha.. where got 'tua' u? ;p it's delegating n letting u have the honour leh...:p keke...

bvbride
kekeke..u can moonlight to be a forum moderator liao... :p

ok all pro beach goers... any suggestions to Maldives in 2007??? Wu's tour group...

Good morning everyone!

What a wonderful day today! Nice weather isn't it?

Haru,

They sent you your HHounors card liao ah... I've not received leh..., however, AMEX did sent me application for HiltonAmex card platinium, no waiver at all, wanting me S$300. Crazy! Anyway I think the HHounors no. will do isn't it. Off course lah..... just like me, got points to stay 1 night free in Maldives Hilton, thus it'll be my first choice lah...until another comparable resort comes into picture...Hehehe..then see how.

Starstar!

Kekekkeke.....no problem lah, I'm willing to ka-po and help mah! Kekekeke :P
Then hor your choice of water villas ah... most of them quite ex as compare to Hilton beach villas leh! Even the normal Hilton villas rates is too ex. Probably can consider Clubmed, rather reasonable! or probably Mihiri also.

What about Hilton Deluxe beach villas vs other water villas? A 300sqm beach villas living space vs a normal water villas at only avg 90sqm? Which would you preferred? I think the price between these 2 are comparable though!

Kekekek... then Spa shouldn'y be a problem in Hilton. It's called the over-water spa. Massage at the same time, you'll will be facing the glass bottom flooring watching fishes swimming underneath!

And also please folks, got chance hor, go learn diving if you can lah, next year 06' in Malaysia, then can really enjoy the undersea world of Maldives 07'!! Kekekeke.... Juz a suggesting another activities in Maldives!

Wu
WAH!!!! hilton's spa sounds really good!!!! hmm... *dreamy* the beach villa at Hilton like not bad leh...:p

scuba diving? har... aiyo.. u guys can go ahead to dive I'll just float on surface n watch can liao...:p snorkelling....keke...:P

ya man..today's nice weather to go blading... finally I see sun shine!!!

hi wu,
i havent accumulated any points yet though..hahaha..no time and $$ to go for so many hilton stays!

hi starstar,
yeah, have seen the pix of the spa, really cool.....u go blading often? u are one fit gal boy! i have not been exercising for the longest time..gosh..

Yo Starstar, Haru!

YEs, I think Hilton Spa is really good, too bad when we're there, we decided to spent on the undersea restaurant rather than spa. It's a USD440 mistake per couple! Sian.....

We didn't even have time to go and visit the spa Village. The spa village consist of the new spa water villas and the over-water spa thingy, my friends actually took some pics around the spa villas, and it's inside my photo Album. you can go take a look also. Just added in the pics recently.... oh by the way, the spa restaurant is also over-water ones. Very nice ambience indeed.

Yes, I would suggest the deluxe beach villa this time round(300sqm leh!), or mix and match with the normal beach viilas or if not too troublesome, a mixture of 3, beach villas then to deluxe ones then to water villas
kekekekeke.....

Aiya..still so early to say.....2007 leh.... Have to save up money quick!! :p

wu
whahaha..sounds like a good idea your mixture of 3...;p woah!!! spa village!!! cool!!! I can't wait to go there man!!! :p 2007...*target log on n zero in*

haru
yup..still blading quite often..that's our past time for weekends...keke..:p

hi starstar,
thats really nice! do u go to east coast for blading? i've nvr really tried blading...=P although i used to ice skate alot when i was younger..hehehhe

haru
yup east coast n at times changi when east coast is really crowded...
well..guess u'll be able to pick it up easier...cos my hubby used to ice skate also.. he pick up blading faster than me... end up becoming my coach...haha..

hi starstar!
realy?!ahahhahaha..i just hate the falling part..hahah..started picked up tennis, on the Xbox, i mean!

Good morning folks!

Clubmed Maldives is currently having a promotion on VISA card payment. S$50 of per day per couple. Not bad really.

Any honeymooners might want to consider this offer, and if I'm not wrong till Mar 06'.

Notes:- Clubmed reopens on Dec 05'

Maybe Haru you wanna consider??

I am interested in going Maldives next yr (looking at Hilton).
Would appreciate if someone can advise me on the total expenses required.Eg. Air tickets / accommodation and others.

Hi Alicia,

I've copied the below info from my earlier post, on the details. Check it out.

We stayed in Hilton for 7nights, breakdown as below:-

7nights beach villa:- US150++ per night (early bird rate), now should be around US400.
Upgrade last 3nights Sunset water Villa:- USD750++ per night(1 night free)

breakfast only
Bed tax:- USD8 per night
Service:- +10%

SQ(return):- S$398+ tax S$161 per pax
seaplane(return):- USD250 per pax

Food(lunch/Dinner):- ard USD20 per pax per meal.
Excursion:- ard USD35 onwards
Special dinner:- USD150 onwards per pax.

Total spendings amount to ard S$8k for 2 person, 7 nights.

I can sent you more Hilton info, i.e price list if you can put down your e-mail add.

Wu

hi wu,
have checked out the website. i mite just plan for a surprise trip for hubby's b'day..not sure if we wil have time. wil have a think about it. its about $4,000 for 2 pax for 4 nites, all inclusive.i think quite a good deal..will have to think about it. very tempting though, i must say!!

Hi starstar, Haru, Alicia,

Yes it's S$50, sing dollars, per day(I think should be per night lah). SO for Haru,
if it's superior, it's S$1715(The cheaper rates) per pax. I think it's all inclusive but with airport surcharge. So with the S$25 per pax per day off, it's gonna be $1615 per pax for 4 nights.
However, if you're choosing beach villas, the price is S$2259 per pax, then I think Hilton beach villa is better value for money.

Alicia, you can visit clubmed website for more details:-
http://www.clubmed.com.sg/package_rate/02.php

Clubmed pricing is abit more confusing, the price is very alternate, unlike other resort in Maldives where pricing are tight up with seasons, as what Starstar said.

For Hilton, as I've said, only the beach villa pricing is tempting and value for money, and the statement is only valid for the low season, i.e Mid May~ Mid July

Alicia, I'll sent the itenary and price list for Hilton. For Hilton accomodation rates, you'll have to check out Hilton website. A rough guide for example is:-
Beach Villas(Hilton):- May~July US$200++
July~Nov US$360++
Dec~Jan US$550++
Feb~Apr US$360++

http://www.hilton.com/en/hi/hotels/index.jhtml?ctyhocn=MLEHITW

hi wu,
thanks for the info. i think if i were to book club med for next year(perhaps feb/mar), i wld just go for the normal rooms. do u think i can get a better deal at hilton? i suppose its peak season, so prob a better deal to go to club med during that period eh?..

Hi Haru,

Nah....don't think so. Hilton will be ex (US$360++) as compare to Clubmed superior rooms. However, you can tell it's a big diff between the superior and Villa lah. Superior is like 2 storey build, with rooms side by side. Hilton Beach villa will be near the edge of the beach with the entire villa belongs to you, thus more privacy. Thus, depends on you loh, if can wait till mid May, then yes Hilton beach villa rates will be attractive.

Remember Hilton beach villas is US$200++ during the low season.

US$200++ for 4 nights ~ US$800++
Seaplance:- USD500 net
1 night stay in Male ~ USD100
SQ return ~ S$700 per pax

4 nights for 2 pax is around S$4000 for hilton beach villa (breakfast only)

Aiya for food USD60 (S$100)per day for 2 person is enough!
If clubmed price includes a S$200 airport tax surcharge per pax, It's coming to around S$3700 for 2 (it's superior only, not even villa)compare to Hilton beach villa around S$4400 for 2. For this price, Clubmed beach villa is ex (S$4518 w/ Visa discount)in contrast! And not forgetting the unforgettable seaplane ride! It's simply stunting!

I did the calculation for you, and decision is on you!

Kekekeke....S$700 more to enjoy a villa, exclusive to yourself, and enjoy the 5-star resort service!

Have fun anyway!

Hey Alicia,

No problem at all, anytime.

Whooo....temptation.. aiya...shouldn't have problem tempting guys lah. Most of my friends, guy or ladies all started drooling when they see the Maldives pictures. Yes indeed, Maldives is the real "temptation islands"! I'm still drooling til now, and it's been 4months since i left Maldives. Kekekekek......

Good luck on your trip!

Wu

heya Haru

itz always like that la. too many good things to choose from in Maldives! hehehe.

think i agree with Wu. hve stayed in our own villa at Angsana and the experience was GREAAT!
the privacy, your own little suntan corner +deckchairs when u stepped out of your villa, your own private terrace to drink coffee in the morning....hmmmm...
think u will def find that more romantic. u can see the blue blue sea when u step out of yr villa!

Hello Wu...
so bz these few days arr...
for pple gog to resorts that r further away ie Hilton, Club Med etc ..they wil hv to take the sea plane and i understand they only fly in the day right? that means u hv to stay at that "airport hotel" for one night. is that v v near the Male airport? must take spdboat there? howz that hotel?
btw how did u arrange for the seaplane to Hilton? was that arranged by Hilton?

for me hor...4nights is good enough or me cos of the cost!
imagine the cost of makan+activities per day is around SGD 200 for two person already...hmmm....

Helo Wu

itz me again.
was reading abt the best room combination

im the practical singaporean type la
since i will be out most of the time learning to snorkel + fishing + walking around the island etc
i dun mind 3nights at deluxe villa/normal beach villa plus one night at the water villa. u see i wil get to enjoy the rooom only after dinner anyway.
no sunset villa for me la - too expansive ! but will grab a chance to go visit them and take pictures if i can

Hope u had a good weekend with your two doggies
i know u wont log in over the weekend one..HOHOHO

hi wu,
i agree, having a private villa will be fab, esp for private tanning!!hehehe...so u reckon hilton wil be the best deal (off peak)? how about angsana where bvbride stayed?

lots like most pple that went to maldives have to stay at male for one nite when they first arrived eh?how is the airport hotel?

hi morning everyone!!!

wah... seems like alot of you are planning to go Maldives next year...
can't join u pple... most prob only in 2007...;p agree wif haru...we are looking for a water villa/beach villa which allows private tanning... meaning the villa got privacy one.. the one I stayed in Taj..quite open..keke..:p

Wu
which web site can u access the Shangri La Maldives? I wanna go take a look also n same time can 'monitor' the progress..kekeke...:P

haha..over the weekend, both my hubby n me drew out our iternary for our Perth trip... guess what... we are planning to take the 0115 hrs flight out to Perth n reach there at 0615hrs...super early flight... :p hopefully I can survive the 1st day there without falling asleep...:p

haru
haha..u Xbox tennis...me PS2 golf...hahaha..

can't help ya on the Male town hotel...we didn't stayed over nite there..cos resort was accessible by speedboats...

haru
haha..I was reading thru my past emails..n found out u were one of the potential buyers for my bathroom doors...;p rem?

Hello bvbride,

So....you interested in Hilton now ah? kekekeke...

Basically, SQ reaches Maldives ard 10:30pm. Then go straight to Hilton booth(operated by crown tours, I think). We register there, and just take note of the seaplane timing(already arrange by Hilton). At the same time we ask them to book us a hotel in Male city(cos airport hotel, Hulhulhe hotel is too ex! almost USD300 per night).

Then they recommend us a teenager(don't know from where) to help us book an hotel, and also bring us there to MAle city, by Dhoni(around 10 mins boat trip). Male City is on another island.
we then took a taxi to the hotel. A very decent, but basic one, cost around USD85 per rm per night, plus breakfast. Going back the Airport island, samething. Call a taxi, then just board the dhoni.
Simple.
Just remember, taxi and Dhoni ride is USD1 per pax per way.
Don't let them cheat u. They would if they can.

OH... yes thanks, we really have fun with our 2 precious doggies

Hey... once you visit the Sunset Villa, they sure tempt you with discount one. :P Anyway, after the discount, it's almost the same rates as the normal water villa. So why not wait for them to make an offer! Kekekek...

Hello Haru,

DOn't be confuse lah....kekekek...
Yes, I still believe Hilton beach villa is the best in values one around. Please, if anyone can come out with USD200++ per night(low season) for a villa, do let us know also.

Angsana is a fabulous place as well. From pics, it's heavenly! small island with healthy coral reefs surrounding the island. Really good for snorkeller and divers too!
The villa also looks very nice, very warm design too.
However, for me the rates is a bit steep, but it's also one of the best resort around. To choose between Banyan tree and Angsana, it's tough but I'll choose Angsana.

Don't choose Airport hotel... although it's convenient, but it's really ex. We save at least USD200 just to find another hotel in Male city. Initially we actually want to stay ard the airport till morning but started to feel sleepy the very next moment. Kekekek :P

CheerS!

Yo starstar,

Kekekkee.... you really so eager on Shang ah? Kekekekeke..... AIya lets go Hilton 2007 lah, unless Shang can offer the same price in villas as well!

Anyway, here is the link. Hey. do let me know you you see something hor! We wouldn't want to miss the cheap rates as well!

Good luck in your perth trip also! aiya....you Army one, sure can survive the sleep worms want lah! Kekekkeke :P

http://www.shangri-la.com/maldives/shangri-la/en/index.aspx

HAve Fun!

hi starstar,
yeah,was lookin around for bathroom door then, but hubby has since fixed it!hehehe..

hi wu,
thanks for the info and tips..i am hoping that we can go to maldives next year too, wil have to see how our time schedule goes.if not, perhaps we mite just go in 2007 with the whole bunch here!hahahah... so i reckon angsana is most ex than hilton eh?...but i think ever since we stayed a hilton mauritius, we are now pretty much hilton converts..hahah...

Hello Haru,

Kekeke... really depends on you loh, and your Family planning stuff
Going with the whole bunch really can save more money. i.e. share food lah, ask for discount lah etc....

Angsana beach villas are more ex than Hiltons ones., However, floor area of Hilton ones are unbeatable, at 150sqm for normal beach and 300sqm for deluxe ones. However, no comparison for Water villas, cos Angsana don't have Water villa. Am i right? If got money hor, really don't mind staying at both, really different ambience loh!

Kekekeke.... me will convert to whatever is value for money. If Shangri-la comes out better than Hilton in terms of villas and price..Kekekek :P I'l become a Shangri-lan! Kekekekke

Wu
thanks for the web site..
keke..store the website in my faves...so can monitor the progress easily..;p

no lah... just keeping a lookout..if like what u said, shangri la is more valuable in price n villa...I'll then take Shangri la..if not, still Hilton...

hi Wu,
was just admiring ur pix again, gosh e place is really a beauty eh? i can imagine ur sheer bliss and happiness while u were there with ur wife...ahh......

haru
keke..dun think so much lah...go maldives then...;p

Wu
ya man...your pics very tempting hor... cannot see too often....

Hello Starstar, Haru,

Let's hope Shangri-la will beat Hilton in all aspect. Kekekek..... so all of us will benefit!

Yeah, till now, everyday I must take a look of my photos, still drooling also. We really enjoy to the fullest over there in Maldives....especially the last few days in the sunset water villa.

My desktop pic is the sunset water villas. Must make my S$8K worth while mah! Kekekekek...

hello Wu

hmmm what u mention abt Angsana is qt true also cos the area incl of the outdoor bath + jacuzzi is only abt 95 sqm if i didnt remember wrongly.

Hilton has got more space - from what i analysed from your pix hor - guess Hilton has got larger outdoor bathroom area - the bedroom area is abt the same as Angsana's

But hor i think my beach area is nearer leh
my lounge chair just a few steps away on the sandy beach - ready for u to use for sun tanning
already - no moving required

if u stil hv the layout of the island could u fwd me pls? thank u hor...then we can really compare. yep yep got $ i will do the real island hopping liao

hi bvbride,
yeah,was thinkin angsana not too bad a choice too. but hilton seems to have more land area..also considering the adjoining island?

Morning Haru

yep Hilton is definately bigger in terms of the whole island area + villa area.
I was qt surprised that i can walk around the circumfrence of the Angsana island in like about 45 mins

Nonetheless Angsana is really a honeymooner's paradise cos itz so small and exclusive.
there are <100 villas all in all.

One thing to note
Bugs: cannot help it cos the villa/restaurants are all partially open air. so i just embrace nature and left them alone and they will leave u alone. no worries nothing sinister like centipedes.

On the other hand since Hilton is much bigger u have more places and things to explore

Hello bvbride,

Yep, you're right about hilton as well Kekekeke..... Ai... if we've got $$$$, more choices will be open to us.
Actually for Hilton beach villas, the reason why its around 10m away from the beach, is because they include a small garden for every villa. It's really also depends on the room location also. Some rooms are actually having shorter garden, thus nearer to the beach.:P
I also see alot of AngMo, pull all their lounge chair all the way from their villa terrace to the beach.....kekeke..thus, extending their living places, and therefore it becomes beachfront villa...kekekeke

I really like Angsana as well initially. It's really the price that put me down. I don't think we can ever get less than USD400 for a villa in Angsana. That bring us back to another equation, with that USD400, we can stay in Hilton Deluxe beach villa, living area is 2X of beach ones, at 300sqm. Then I think Hilton wins hands down in this categories. But frankly speaking, if got $$$, I would choose to island hop, cost different resort got different layout and design. I would also want to live in Angsana's room to enjoy the proximity of the beach/sea, and the cosy feeling in the Angsana villa as well
and you're right, Angsana with a smaller land area, looks really exclusive.

From pics hor, looks like you can walk ard Angsana in 10mins leh..... For you really need 45mins? You walk 10 steps forward then walk 9 steps backward is it? Kekekkeeke
Kidding lah!

hi there everyone!!!

wah!! if got more $$, I'll do island hop too...
go stay in Angsana, then Hilton then Shangri La...
gee..all look so good n tempting... but if given a choice due to budget constraints, think Hilton is a better bet... more worth the $$...

BUT just to check wif WU... any chinese restaurant or asia cruisine restaurant in Hilton? cos I really MISS chinese food when I was there the whole week... everyday eat pasta, western food... sigh...

Yo starstar,

No Chinese food there in Maldives lah! Kekekeke :p
Chinese food simple, maggi cup noodles loh, bring your own chinese can food. Kekekek...

True enough, I'll missed chinese food when I'm there. If I can hor, I'll bring my own chinese cooking sauce there, take their ingredient then cook the food myself

Simple cooking, like braised duck lah, black sauce chicken lah, fried noodles, beehoon, steam fish, I all can do... Kekekekek ...

So next trip any wanna follow me? Kekekek...:p

Hello Blue Ginger,

You're Adel is it? Change name liao ah?

Long time never hear from you also!

Hows life?

Yap! Yap! YaP!

Too many 'Adel' in the forum. Don't want to follow the crowd mah!
Ya! Long time be the onlooker in this thread. Not much I can help around here.

Well, while starstar still hesitating to go Perth. I already went to Tasmania. Have a great time self-driving there and to brush up my driving skill as well. It should be a great place to dive, though the water is icy cool even if it is late spring when I'm there. I went with a non-diver friend, hence don't have the chance to dive.

I had checked with my bf. Sound like he have no intention to go back to Maldives with the current accomodation and flight rates offer. *SAD*

Hello Blue Ginger,

Kekekeke.... join in the thread lah, don't just look.

Good that you've enjoy your Tasmania trip. Show us pictures leh!
Can dive in Tasmania meh? probably you'll need a dry suit instead isn't it?

Ya lah... the rates in Maldive, + fuel surcharge are the killers...
Anyway noboby here is planning for trips in near future. We're all waiting for 2007
Lot's of them are doing family planning during the Maldives trip also! Kekekek...