Maldives

yo Wu
hey..least u are getting away from country... where u heading to? Which part of malaysia...btw Krabi is in thailand right? saw in newspaper today...seems rather lovely... nice white beaches...

Starstar,

Kekekeke.... already told you liao.. yes I think if we go in group(bigger numbers) and book earlier, I think we can secure a much better pricing. At least waive off the 10% service and bed tax lah.Then plus all the freebies...i.e. spa session for 2, full board, free snorkelling trip etc.... KEekekekeke

Oh yes, more to travel, SQ fares cheaper. Those 2 to go, 4 to go thing lah!

Then island hop hor you must know where lah...kekeke must be around the same Atoll. I think Shang and coco palm one is far north, the other is far south.... then hor must take seaplane... USD250~ USD280 leh..

How? group travel 2007?
Yeah!!!!

Hi Starstar,

YEs Krabi in Thailand. I think it got white powdery beach as well. Aiya, Redang group of islands also have white powdery beach also loh...kekeke...because I might be going there

So diff from Maldives......

I might be going to those island around redang, i.e perhentian, lang tengah. Not confirm yet. Or another choice is save up for big big one in 2007...kekekek MaldiveS!!!!!

Wu
great idea!!! wah... both the resort I wanna to go so far apart... gee.. think it's not wise man... so any idea which are the resorts that's near Shang? How abt Coco?

:p sorry dude..me rather forgetful one... sigh :p

hi bvbride,
yeah, i wil also get to make my mind too whether to go maldives or hawaii in the meantime!hahaha...

Hi Starstar,

Juz check out from the web.

Coco palm is at the north, 30mins seaplane flight from Male, in the BAA Atoll.

Shangri-la is at the extreme south, at the Addu Atoll, 1 hour seaplane flight from Male.

So flying from either atoll to the other is 1.5hrs. Kekekeke.... :p USD500 per pax loh!

Info from the shangri-la website on Maldives resort. There'll be a new Gan international airport located at the island beside Shangri-la. Unless SQ or other S'pore bound flight lands there, we have to travel from Male instead. Guess that the seaplane rates might be higher, say around USD280 to USD300. :P

2nd bad point is, if an island resort is too near to a int airport, you'll have noise pollution, furthermore you'll have air pollution(a new term called Global Dimming, affecting Maldives now) from the aircraft trail. Bad choice for such a resort builded near airport though! These are the 2 major problems Maldives is facing, especially those affecting those resort near Male.

Perhaps, Mihiri + Hilton Island hopping. They're side by side islands though, can sees each other with naked eyes. OR what bvbride said, Banyan Tree + Angsana.

Yo Yo Wu

thanks for the research - so clever! =)
yep yep Angsana and Banyan are like 10 mins by speedboat. free some more! speedboat avail once every two hours.

Wu - u stil get to go Krabi and nt to forget Bintan hor...so very very "xing-fu" already.
Saving till dunno when for my next Maldivian experience
Think im v easily contented
4nights just nice for me

u knw whatz the funniest thing? i still got the swaying sea sick feeling (minus the puking - thank god me stronger than that ha!)when i landed in Spore and it lasted for 3-4days! HAHAHA!!
think too much speedboat + dhoni rides

Starstar : however these two places has no glass floor hor. Some Banyan Villas got great terraces extending all the way to the beach. they c/w two v cool looking "triangle-shaped daybeds" v v romantic !!

Yo bvbride,

Me not going to Krabi lah....Kekekek... I think Starstar is asking the location.

I'll be going to Bintan, 2D1N trip only, sponsor by company(company day).

Maybe mid next year go diving in Malaysia(sometimes I type too fast hor, instead of Malaysia, the Maldives word came out! :P)
likely it's be around those island around Redang, Perhentian, Lang Tengah lah.....etc...

Yo.."seasick" quite normal loh. Those light footed, ground moving type of feelings right? Kekekek....normal lah, unless you're a Maldivian :P

According to my calculation... I'll have to wait till 2011 then my financial is good enough to travel to Maldives yearly with a S$10K budget to spend.....Haiz.... after paying off my car loan, reno loan and hopefully by 2013 my housing loan.
So, I not better off also.
However, if I sell my car now....kekekeke...then can go Maldives every year lah!

Difficult to decide hor...CAR or Maldives?
Which would you choose? Anyone? A very difficult question hor! Kekekeke..

hi bvbride,
oh dear..think u really had to much boat rides..

hi wu,
i would say both,but to choose, i gues car since u can to "enjoy" it on a daily basis. and the time u get to save from commuting is priceless. thats why even though i dun need a car for work, i still have one.=P i get to sleep in later (which means more late nite tv) and reach home really early everyday (which means i can prepare dinner if i'm in the mood). but then again,its up to ur own choice..=> i think once u own a car, its tough to get to used to not hving one.

Wu
thanks for the info..
so des neh... Krabi seems lovely too...
wah..so good company trip to Bintan... gee.. why dun SAF have that too...instead of going to Brunei..
hahaha..

hmm.. think it's rather hard too... car or maldives... gee.. u dun worry lah..2011 is nearing..;p *look on the bright side* I'm thankful that I've only got my housing loan to furnish... but u are not too bad dude.. it's coming soon...

haru
agree wif ya... once u got car..no car feel very 'weird'..keke... I also like u liao... now trying to detach myself away from being too 'dependent' on car...:p cos when I'm not working next year, I'll need to take public transport to gym/tuition places liao..can't possibly ask hubby to fetch me everyday right? he's already so 'xin ku' at work liao...hee..:p

frankly speaking after much thinking, just my personal view... if it's car n maldives.. I'll choose maldives IF I DUN NEED a car to go ard for work... I'll sell my car off.. cos at the end of the day, it's an experience...

Hello Folks,

Car can be a very good tools at times, and it can be a nuisance sometimes, esp when trap in Jam lah, having an accident lah, finding car park lot lah, quarrel with ppl on the road lah, meeting inconsiderate ppl(both motorist and pedestrian) on the road lah...etc... actually a whole list. Really during the bus taking period, I tends to be less stress. When I off driving, I'm a cheerful person. HOwever, once in the car, I start to curse and swear... like old grama.

Actually for my own sake, selling my car would do me more good then harm.
1)extra cash on hand (around S$18k)saving a year.
2)More healthy. Less chance to be angry.
3)enhance relationship with my wife, "couple seating" in the bus or MRT.

4)Walk more and be a fitter person.
5)Can Go Maldives every year or even twice a year.

however, reality is still reality..... both my wife and my 2 pet dogs need the car. Wife used it for work, then 2 dogs needs to go Sentosa for swimming, East coast for walking, and west coast dog run for Dog run session......Haiz.....

Conclusion:- Difficult to find a balance owning and not owning a car. KEkekekeke......

Anyway, I die die also want to visit Maldives again in 2007. That's for sure!!!!

hi wu,
what dogs do u have? hubby has been bugging for a dog, but we both work and our place is not very big, so am trying to explain to hubby that it is a big committment..and i think owning a dog also gona mean extra expenses...

hey everyone,
hubby was asking when we wana get preggie, in hawaii or maldives, and he said i'll def be upset if we dun get to go to maldives by the time i get preggie..hahah, which is quite true..i think the best would be to go to hawaii and maldives both next year!!muahahahhhaha...

Hi Haru,

We have a Golden Retreiver(2.5 yrs old) and a English Cocker Spaniel(7 yrs old).
Yes, both of you have to come in terms, to own a doggie is a huge committment.

See them here in Dogster.

http://www.dogster.com/?36656 > Ryo
http://www.dogster.com/?36658 > Pepper

For example:- If you have your own kids, would you still spare time for your dog? Would you abandon the dog just because you have a kid? If the answer is no, another question surface. Would you bow under pressure from your in-laws or parents to abandon you dog, just because they say it's not good for you kid? If the answer is no, more question to come. Can you afford the extra expenses? including unforeseeable type, i.e my Golden broke his leg when he is 7mths old, I spend ard S$2000 on the whole operation.
It's really sad to see many doggies having put to sleep/death and for adoption on the net.Really Heart breaking!
I personally helps 1 ShihTsu to be adopted, and currently helping another one now, the very moment we talk here.

Ask these question to you hubby loh!

For me and my wife, having both my doggies by my side, is one of the happiest moment in our life. After a long day work, seeing them really calms us down, and be more relax! Really! We even have them together, photograph in our wedding Album, and also our wedding MTV!

Opssss..... out of topic liao....Kekeke.....

Back to your MAdlives question. Simple, go Maldives next year lah! Kekekeke...

Morning !

Wu - >>
2011 is approaching la - yearly $10K trip to Maldives after that?? shiok man. really "you-qian-ren" by then.

the swaying feeling was rather jia lat during the transitional period. i was crossing the overhead bridge at Far East Plaza and felt the whole thing sway like crazy and started to panick and asked husb if he felt the earth move too ???!????!! duhh.... hahahha :D

If i have the choice i will choose Maldives over car cos there is always this thing call cab lor. if u take cab only occasionally it works out to be qt a good deal. and also your fren here is a totally hopeless driver!
but in reality husb needs car for work so no choice lor.

Eh u at least got company sponsored trip leh. i hvnt even been on a company sponsored trip before. there is simply no such thing lor.

Must go and check out those M'sian island okie got ala Maldives type of beach must tell us hor

Aiyoh Wu..

just saw yr doggie pix - so cuuuutttee lor
but i mentioned earlier - im too lazy to keep big pets so will never have a dog la. dun like dog drool too. am abit of a Monica (fr Friends)
i also know it is not cheap to keep a dog. $2K!! thatz so exp lor... dun think can afford.

so Mr Wu still intend to have babies on top of your two doggies yeah? whoa. big time commitmentsss....but can tell u r one serious dog lover so no prob

hi wu,
oh gosh, my hubby would flip coz we were thinkin either a Corgi or GR...i personally love the GR, love their friendly nature!hubby works long hours which means its mostly me that will be able to take care of the doggies, but am just thinkin its so sad to leave them home alone during the day. how about ya?u have someone to walk them for you while u at work? but i am sure hubby will be so happy to have a doggie, he wil love it to bits.. and i think its nice for our kids next time, they get to learn to respect and love animals from young. i really hate seeing parents outside at hawker ctrs teaching their kids to shoo and kick the strays away..

Yo bvbride,

My 2011 Hypothesis/estimation is base on my current situation, no kids, got a stable job, just as it is now. Till then got kids lah, lost job or what lah, not sure whether got money to go or not.

However, I believe a person's life is really pre-determined liao, by the "supreme beings" up there. For me, no big money, although there's up and down in my job, there's always someone there to lift me up, helping me. I'm contented enough liao loh! Don't have to be "you-qian-ren" lah!

Wha.... your "seasick" thingy quite serious leh.. I think this is the first few island resort you've been to is it?

Imagine almost 15 years back, when I go to Pulau Aur(near Tioman group of island), we took a slow(bloody slow) and small boat there in 6 hrs!!! By the time we woke up, there's lots of Flying fish lie dead on the whole boat, and some on our body!

One Company I use to work with have company trip to Las Vegassss somemore! But that's b4 I join loh. Kekekeke...

Sure, there's alot of island in Malaysia having such beaches. i.e. Layang Layang, island ard Sipadan, island ard Redang/Perhentian. However, as what I said b4, island like Layang Layang is not cheap, might as well go to Maldives. Lastly, the closer ones like Redang and Perhentian's beach are somewhat close to Maldives, and it's relatively cheap. You can check it out in the web also. I always book from Pink Anchorage travel(Malaysi), see their website below.

http://www.pinganchorage.com.my/redang_island.htm

Next year, I might want to visit Bejaya Redang. The beach there looks ok loh. See their web below:-

http://www.berjayaresorts.com.my/redang-beach/info.html

Have fun surfing!

Yo Haru & Bvbride,

Yeh.... both you've got a dog lovers characteristic!
KEkekeke...
Thanks bvbride, both my doggies are very cute as they still maintain some part of their puppy character. Kekekeeke...when I think of them... I always very happy, and everyday very eagar to go home early to see them!

Yes, a GR is a very good companion, extremely playful but really good with kids.
Cons, lots of shedding, furs furs everywhere in my house(sometimes the fur roll into a ball and move from places to places). Lots of saliva also, on the floor, on the wall. Well for us, we just do more cleaning loh! Wouldn't die one mah! Kekekeke.... :P

S$2K is the surgical operation. Monthly maintanence on both my doggies is just around $100+.

Haru,

Corgi is a lovely dog too, but it's character is somewhat self-centre. If you want a dog that always like to keep u company, the English Cocker would be a good choice too! very affectionate breed.

Yes, I agree with you. Kids that grew up with pets do tends to be some characteristic that the other kids don't have. Respect for animals!!!

And yes, I keep my doggies around always and have our own babies to keep my doggies company as well! Kekekekekeke

How I wish I can bring my doggies to Maldives, and oh yes... they're crazy about swimming and playing on the white powdery beaches!!!

heloo pple!!

wah..u all into dogs now?... :p gee.. I like small animals...dogs, cats, hamsters...etc BUT I DUN allow them into my house... keke.. call me a clean freak.. just dun like the furs dropping all over... other than that, they are pretty fine.
Since young, I never had pets at home(except for a hamster I had when in sec sch).. my mum also like me..think I take after my mum's 'clean freak' character...:p hubby also says he dun want pets at home too. He felt flat is too small for the dogs to run ard...

yup..buying a dog is a COMMITMENT. Both of my hubby n me know abt this... cos his parents got a german shepherd in JB's house. Wah..the amt he eats...scary. Also the grooming time etc... wah.. must really spend time wif him... play wif him... when he's sick..the medical fees is really ex... all these means extra $$ is needed n of course extra time is needed. Think when our kids come into picture, we'll be too busy to put in so much attention n time on the dog if we had one. So best for us.. DUN PLAN TO HAVE ONE.

btw the german shepherd is called mickey...keke.. see him grow up from a pup..now only 1year plus only.. n he's already BIG!! when he was still a pup, rem playing catching wif him, wah..can really run... now I dun dare to play wif him...too fast for me...barely two steps think he'll pounced on me liao..

Wu
well..2007 confirmed going Maldives? which mth? If u really going, I'll suggest to my hubby to follow suit..keke..like what u said..cheaper air tics..;p your dogs are really cute..

*envy* wah..the company u worked in really happening leh..keke..;p

haru
haha..think the best pax to ask is your hubby... aiay..dun get so stress up on trying to have a bb... relax... too tensed up not good leh... just go wherever u guys wanna go n RELAX gal.

Wu
just wondering... when u go travel...where do u leave your dogs? cos this is one of the reason why we didn't plan to get any pets cos I can't possible leave my dogs wif my parents..my mum will freak out... kids different lah.. at least kids are welcome at my parents place... u leave them wif dog hotel? heard it's quite ex... isit?

For my hubby n me.. having dogs = kena tie down..no more travelling...

Yo Starstar,

Kekekeke..... ya lor, these thread is getting more and more excited, From Maldives to Army to Doggies.....KEkekekeke...

Doggies and kids are the same, need attention and lots of patience and commitment!

Yes, I'm planning for the 2007 trip. hopefully everything goes smoothly also loh, i.e. still got job prospect lah, wife not preggie lah... etc.
Same loh, likely around May-July period. Cheapest mah! So, go on with your perth trip first lah!

So any other interested party? 2007 Group trip to Maldives?

Then when we go for trips, I'll ask my sister to my house to take care of them. Alternatively, we can also put them with my wife's sister(Dog lovers too, who also have a jack rusell), and the last alternative is boarding at the kennel or find a pet-sitter.

I always go for either my sis or my wife sis option, so my doggies wouldn't be so moody.

Kekekeke.....

Wu
jack rusell?! gee.. must be darn cute..;p my sis had one too but she never brought it home (dun dare to bring home lah - mum not happy). She left it wif her then bf's place...her ex's family love dogs... play n seen it before a few times..very friendly...
my sis now sad cos she miss her 'xiao bai' but dun know how to go back to her ex's place to get the dog back. so now, the dog's still at her ex's place... sigh...that sister of mine...also dun know how to help her..

Hi Starstar,

YEs... Jack Russell also cute...aiya, all dogs are cute loh!

Wha..so complicated ah. Cannot help you loh!

I think better stop talking about dogs... :P kekekee...later other Maldives goer wanna be don't know how to come into the topics...Hahahaha..

So set lah. 2007 Maldives trip again! Start saving loh!!!

hi starstar and wu,
my boss has a JR too, really cute. i think she is one rare JR, funny character and a lil more lazy than most JR, which makes she her cute.i love dogs lots but i'm quite particular bout them leaving traces of their fur,etc around the hse. i told hubby if we had a bigger place, i wouldnt mind, but he said how big can an apt in spore be?? hey wu, are u stayin in HDB? i tot GR not allowed in HDB, how did u manage to get away w it? hmm..i dun really have a particular likin for cocker spaniel leh..we did think about collie too..but i stil like GR..

Yo Haru,

Um.......... you question is rather difficult to answer leh.... i would say it's a gray area in having big dogs at home.
As what ppl in Army say:- want to "Chao Geng" no problem, don't get caught.

One thing for sure, most GR does not like barking, thus good for apt or HDB, no barking means less 1 reason to complaint! My GR and Spaniel are very famous among the kids living around my area, at time, they came to my house to play with them! Kekekeke... thus another complaint gone. I'm in fact taking care of their kids for the parents!

You've got friends living in condo or landed property? Hehehehe... the answer is there! I don't have to say much isn't it? :P

(Border) Collie is another good choice, extremely smart dogs. However they belong to herding breed, thus not 100% safe with kids.
But GR still has the best temperment with Kids. My friends kid had once poke my GR in the eyes, and pull his eyelids, but my GR never get agressive nor angry. He either stay stationary or just walk away.

Lastly GR is a breed that will follow his owner to wherever, small apt? no problem also. Just when free, bring them for a swim, a walk or dogrun, they'll be very happy!
And all these are the quality of GR, and top choice for most American family as well!

Good choice!!

hi wu,
heheh, i noe what u mean..=P

there is a few GRs around my estate too, and i love to play with them whenever i see them.they are real darlings..

what?!i'll kill my friend's kid if he poked my doggy's eyes!!!(just kiddin,but i would nt be very happy for sure and the kid wil prob get a 15 "lecture" from mua)..hahah..

that's what i tot too. the ang mohs stay in apts but still manage to keep the pets happy. and i saw there is this super cool food dispensing maching with a webcam on Japan Hour,really cool. my parents who stay just across the street can also help to walk my dog during the day, my dad is retired so he has plenty of time..but of coz dun want it to end up being my parents' pet..

u noe of anyone breeding GR??? btw, i think ryo is sooooo cute!!!!

Hi Haru,

I see... you know something about GR living in estate also lah. MuaHahahahhahah!!!

Please please, don't find those breeder in Singapore lah. Firstly, I don't think they got the knowledge in Breeding. Secondly, don't think they ever consider scoring their Sire and Dam (Doggies parents), in order to achieve healthy pups that are free of Hip dysplacia(HD), eye dieases etc..
3rd, most Singapore breeder breed for money, and not hobby.
Last, improper breeding leads to abandon animals, and that's why we're seeing so many abandon pets, mix breed here and there due to improper and non humane breeding.

You know, if you buy a pup from unknown source, there's a high chance that your pup might have inherent problem such as HD. The only cure is Hip replacement, and might cost you at least S$4K per hip, then plus plus the medicine and vet visit. You bills will snowball to S$10K. I've seen so many GR having HD in Singapore liao. Alternatively, many of them just abandon their dogs because of that. So sad!

Try to find a reputable breeder from Australia, if you search on the web. They must be acting in accordance to Victorian Canine Association (VCA) that all Sire and DAM must go thru checks b4 breeding their dogs. And also the breeder are some association's member. The pups from there will be "Likely" problem free.

Yes, My Ryo is cute and problem free. I'm jus being lucky to buy him healthy and problem free( I bought him locally) However, according to my own research, although Ryo comes with a pedigree cert, I can't seems to find his breeder location. Ryo might have came from puppy mill or a so called backyard breeder.

I'm just pure lucky! think about it!

Astrogirl,

Oh I see... No, the Tsunami just destroy some resort at the eastern area. Those resort in the north and south are well protected. You see, actually Maldives suffer the least damage as compare with Indonesia, Sri Lanka etc, as it is save by the Coral reef surrounding Maldives.
In fact, when I dive there in Maldives, south western area, the reef was stunning as other part of the world

Yes, Maldive is as beautiful as ever, and most of the destroyed resort are already full refurbished or even fully re-builded.

No Worried, it's really worth going there again and again.
Well my pics do give you a hint liao, no damage at all!

Hi Astrogirl,

I went there, and all pics taken this year 2005, July.

I booked thru Hilton Website direct, for accomodation, and SQ flight thru SIA website. It's all DIY type of tour.

So, you're intending to go there lah? You've have to watch out for the peak/super peak and low season kind of thing. The price of the accomodation can be up till 4X difference.

Traditionally, for most resort in Maldives, May~July period is the low season, thus cheapest, more rain fall. Dec~Jan is super peak and the most crowded and ex timing. Other dates are so call peak season.

Astrogirl
hi welcome to the Maldivian club..haha... hey...why dun u join us in 2007?

Wu
u neber ask her to join in the 2007 'tour group'? hahaha..

Yo Starstar!

Hehehehhe.... Maybe Astrogirl going very soon leh! KEkekeke :P

If I'm new here hor, then see all the Maldives pics hor....I'll drool to death liao loh, cannot wait till 2007 lah! Kekekeke :P

Yes YEs 2007 More ppl can ask for cheaper rates, if possible! KEkekekek...

Hey Haru,

Eh.... Last time your nick here is called Lindy Koh is it? There use to be a "Lindy Koh" in this thread leh!

Yo Starstar,

you think too highly of me liao lah..kekekek..:P

If go Hilton Maldives, I can be lah! If it's Taj, then you'll be one loh! KEkekkee...

Anyway, the resort island so small, don't need tour guide also...Kekekek... :p

hello wu

looks like u hv to go thru your Maldives tour history again hehehe :D

Astrogirl - FYI Wu is the unofficial Maldives advisor here kekekke...

Haru dear - still spinning from Wu's expert advise on GR breeding?
Hope u find your dream dog soon !!!

Yo bvbride,

Kekekekek.... are you all the time outside of this thread, waiting to jump in once it's switch back to info regarding to Maldives? KEkekeke..

Ya loh, Maybe I'll need to setup a website on my own liao loh...kekeke.. Put all my Maldives(Hilton only hor), doggies stuff inside the web. Kekekeke...

Don't said that lah...we're all in this thread to learn more about Maldives...er army and doggies also. So whats next? :P

Yo Yo Starstar,

Wha... you "Tua" me ah! Kekekekeke :P No problem lah, I like to ka-po ka-po tour things also loh! Book this book that. Most tour during my school days, poly days, army days and so on are all done by me...Kekekeke.... so far so good. No complain yet!

Whoa Wu
thanks in advance for org the 2007 Maldives tour arrr...
me also wanna sign on. hhehehe...
off peak period pls - cheaper HOHOHO

Yo bvbride!

Tentatively 2007 May~July lah,off peak Oki? And your budget pls :P. Defintely those resort with super ex pricing is out lah hor, ie. huvanfenfushi,Soneva Gili etc....

Until I find one as good as Hilton beach villa, then I'll consider switching to that resort. Maybe Shangri-la? too early to say. Probably ClubMed will be in the list as well....

Er.... any other interested parties and intended resorts in Maldives?

Aiya... polls again! Please vote for the resort you would wanna to stay for 2007 session, 2008 session..and so for....KEkekekkeke :P

Yo Astrogirl,

You can plan for the trip in 2007 loh! Kekekek...

Then save up for the trip as well as your wedding lah!

We're all in the thread to find ways to save money mah! and also to dig out the most value for money resort.

Heya Wu

yep - am those who monitor the forum and work at the same time haha so will just pop in at the right time - scary siahhh hehehe

cos not Huva la - unless i tio TOTO

Hilton wil be a good choice. Does it have the "crowded" feel? Angsana is very exclusive and feels "uncrowded" - ya know what i mean