Maldives

hi wu,
wah!sounds like the sea life there is really active!!!cool,i've snorkelled only in thailand and m'sia but nt much sea life..except for some small fishes, and a squid! hahah..i think i'll be pretty in awe if i do see all these huge sea creatures...am a lil freaked by sharks though..hahahah..

hi starstar,
actually i think most flight wil transit at japan before heading to hawaii thats why we tot of stoppin over in japan for a couple of days. was actully my hubby's idea which i think mite work out pretty well.

ya,anyone has any details on shangri-la yet??=D

Hi Starstar,

No lah... always last min training lah. All goes down to will power to complete a non-stop 2.4km. Other station no problem lah...ganna te-kan until fit fit last time. Imagine full battle-order with two M16 sling a my back doing pull-up? Initially cannot, after few months my record is 22 standard full up...no jerking hor!
ADA ADA, outside ppl though push button only... and they don't know it's that tough!

You're right! Not until you upgrade/further studies, promotion prospect is...nah....
Aiya..forget about it lah....your hubby will be better off in SIA! Thats for sure!!

Eh.... Shangari-LA not open yet lah...kekeke.so Kang chiong! :p Will look out for any news regarding the opening. You look out also loh...more eyes better! :P However I think it's not gonna be cheaper than Hilton(comparing lowest range)... Cross our fingers!!!

Hi Haru,

Actually I think the sealife in Malaysia not too bad also. If got chance to go Sipadan island(east Malaysia), the sealife there and diving is top 10 in the world as well!! Schools of Barracuda, Manta Rays etc...

West malaysi is getting worst though!
15 over years back when I'm in Tioman snorkelling, we were surrounded by a huge school of Napolean Fish, huge rectangular shape and they are as long as 1.5m! Not sure about that now lah!
Pulau Dayang island(near Tioman) when it's still vacant, there're use to be thousands and millions of Sea Urchin along it's coast line. We even ate them fresh(Sashimi)!! Now it's all gone! Really must "thanks" to Humans invasion.

Then Redang island still got lots of turtles and baby sharks lah... but some fishes population has been declining loh as what I'd observed.

Don't worried about sharks lah...the chances of being in other accidents is still higher than being attack by sharks. When we go diving, when sharks sees us, they just swam away into the deep sea.

Wha....everyone waiting for Shangari-la ah!! Next time whoever go there first must writeup a report card on that resort Okie!!! :P

hi wu,
the sad thing is hubby and i not dive certified yet...sob sob..wanted to do it before wedding but nvr found the time to do it. now that we are married a lil lazy to do it..hahaha...so we stick to snorkellin,kinda sad eh??=P

Hi Haru,

Eh...not too late to learn loh! Just sacrifice a couple of weekdays night time for local training, plus 2 days of certification test in Malaysia or local waters and that's it! You'll be holding a open water diver license

Last time when I'm snokerlling in Tioman, we've got some divers diving just right below us, then they kept looking at us snorkeler, as if like mocking us... you know what I mean? Then the next trip I promise myself I must also get myself certified! I want to be a diver and look at snorkeller... :P KEkekeke....
Kidding lah... no offense!

Anyway, seriously, the things you can see when diving is much much more! Unless you can hold your breath and do free Diving(w/o tank)!

Go for it! Don't be nua nua... just treat it as another holiday trip loh! kekekek

haru
hmmm..seems like your idea of stopping over is pretty good...
maybe we can do likewise...
anyway hubby says Japan is one of the place he'll like to visit also... haha..kill two birds wif a stone...

hee..me also a snorkeller... same as u..will freak out if I see sharks man...:p hubby's a diver though... BUT he never dive for LONG LONG time.

Wu
wah..u trainee that time super fit leh...;p me in the man pack system... so got to carry heavy stuffs... ard 30kg plus of load n walk walk walk...:P those were my training times...haha...
dun know how I survive also...:p

Starstar,

One thing I must said is I really admire those ladies in the Army. There 3 lady trainees in our group and they went thru the same stuff as us(not the Pull up lah). 1 of them did the 2.4km timing is 9mins plus. I'm only 2 steps ahead of her. Then when the ladies started digging fire-trench, they finish faster than the guys. Then some of them are like you, man pack(GPMG gunners), with all the "bullets" running all the way from inner tekong, at least 5km to the jetty, Non stop!!!
Really really impressive, their stamina and endurance, and mental strength from the ladies! Far more better than lots of the men I sees. This prove that actually female NS is possible you know!

Really must salute all ladies in the army!!! You are one of them!!!

Wu
keke thanks...u make me pai seh leh..:p think it's alot on mental strength... in terms of physical strength.. ladies may lack in speed...:p wah..9mins plus..so fast...my fastest only 10min... :p never hit 9mins before..
guess the times in SAF really make one mature alot.. u tend to look on the practical side of stuffs... more analytical... mentally more stronger... well, it works for me..

I understand your feeling...
btw do u feel pressured when the female trainees out perform the guys? cos during my training, I was infact running faster than some of them n they ever told me to "slow down cos I gave them pressure.." :p anyway, i heard from my cadets that I've become a 'legend' cos during my man pack ex.. I was in the last detachment to move out n my detachment came out to be the first detachment to reach our deployment site..:p u should see the shocked face my instructors that time gave me... they all tot I'll 'piang san' halfway..:p guess that was one of my best moment in cadet times... :p

*actually I rather pro female NS leh...keke.. but think all the ladies will kill me for that...:p*

Hi Starstar,

Yes, definitely Mental strength will overcome anything, including fatigue.

Off course very stress lah! Imagine a female counterpart, height only around 1.5m something running 9mins plus just steps away from me? Scary man!
I'm first follow by that fit fit lady, then the rest of the guys and remaining 2 ladies.
Other than running, off course other stuff guys will have more advantage lah, like pushing equip, Cocking the AA guns(you should have seen man!), etc... other stuffs like road march and digging trench guys and ladies are roughly on par. In terms of studies, exams..heh heh... I always top lah. kekeke....

WOW you really are a LEGEND!!! Solid lah!!!!

Anyway... do you still exercise after passout? Kekekeke.... Most IPPT golds will become silver or pass leh. :p

Wu
haha...got exercise but not as on as cadet times lor... now running still can hit gold timing easily..BUT my main problem is standing broad jump...can't jump....
cadet time also train very hard just to get my gold...
sigh..PTI says my technique is wrong... aiya..just dun kow why me can't jump...

hi wu,
hmm...okie..wil def consider. u PADI certified isit? there is another one rite? INTD? seems like PADI not very comprehensive in their course..any advice?? hubby now in a leg cast from a football game.wil have to wait til mayb next year though..

Hi starstar,

Wha not bad leh...still can hold on to your Gold status! Thumbs up! For me ah... 8mins plus during SISPEC becomes 12mins now. Kekekeke.... really Old already! Anyway that's 13 years ago, young mah that time!
Aiya, cannot jump never mind lah, still gold overall isn't it? Kekekeke...Unless got new standard now lah..Platinium!

Hi Haru,

yes I'm PADI certified. PADI more popular lah, the other one is NAUI.
PADI very good what, it'll really balls down who is your certifying instructor liao. Good ones actually scold ppl one, and really after all, practice makes perfect. You must at least dive once a year to brush up your skills.

Hi Haru,

I've going to Bintan Nirwana resort. Aiya..only 2D1N company trip. Not sure how's the beach over there. Anyway, cannot be better than Maldives lah...kekekee

No more trip till the next one, Maldives
Will save up more for Maldives again!

Hello Starstar,

Sent you a email, your yahoo mail.!

CheerS!

hi wu!
wah, shiok shiok!!trip better than no trip lah, mai hiam buay pai.i dun think anywea else in e world could compare eh? except mayb e french polynesia..hahha

Hi Haru,

Yes yes... oh Yes... Tahiti lah! Haiz.... To ex lah there! Air-tickets already worth a few days stay in MAldives liao. :p

Wu
yup..saw your email...;p gee.. me also quite lost.

haru
xmas trip? well if u call the SAF chalet in changi a short getaway then it is lor..;p never go away this xmas cos we r planning to save for our Perth trip in march. That'll be my anni n birthday present from my hubby..keke..;p

hi starstar,
hahaha..well..i gues its a mini getaway??anyway have fun at your chalet! wow, ur hubby very sweet!! get him to sponsor all your shopping too...hehheehe...

haru
keke..shopping no need lah...I also dun really shop one... most prob we'll go for farm visits... winery visits n of course food!! ;p anyway my $$ is his $$...so no difference..

heyhey

the maldives talk is starting again ! yey! hahah...so lost since Wed..all the IPPT talk and all..hahahha....dunno hw to contribute also. :D
anyways, just checked out the Club Med website. not too bad
WU_ think u can consider Club Med too cos itz full board - huge savings on food. Someone quoted the CM pricing for water villa some time back bt it is at least $2500 per pax. However itz for abt 6days' stay...tempting yeah?
if i were to go for that just need to pay for fishing trips hehehhe....

cant believe that im still peeling from sunburn from my Maldives trip - nice souvenir =)

hi starstar,
dun miss the cicerello's fish and chips! really yum...

hi bvbride,
really??thats cheap, but is that with airfare too??

hi starstar,
yup, at fremantle. nice to go there in the evening. sit outside(bring a sweater, can get chilly in the evening), have a beer and nice hot chips.ah....

hello haru

go check out the the thread before this. someone posted some rates there. i think so leh or else the rates wil be exorbitant!!

btw think Hilton has a stay two nights get one night free promo now...hehehhe....maybe u can make use of this for your year end romantic getaway =)

Wu- forgot to tell u abt Nirwana. Stayed at Banyu Biru (part of Nirwana) abt two years back. the beach is qt a long stretch so do explore around. the sand is great - infact finer then Maldives buttt the water is no fight ok...
Do get the staff there to bring you around to check out other resorts under Nirwana esp Indra Maya. ITz the poshest resort there. Huge villas for big groups w own private pool and jacuzzi
Apparently LKY has his own villa at Indra Maya!!!

Mua..hahahahha.... bvbride! so you're waiting at the sideline waiting to jump into the thread ah...kekek... next time jump in and stop us lah!

Really being carried away.... hey got relation also you know, if IPPT gold got S$400 dollars, can spend this money wisely in Maldives also.... starstar hor!...Kekekek :P

Yes, kekeke I quoted..no lah.. Clubemed website quoted 6D4N stay cost around S$2635 per pax, all inclusive. Actually for travel, we all must disregard the days, the nights make more sense though.
But for my stay in Hilton, 8D7N (3 nights sunset water villas), all inclusive,SQ return,seaplane ala-carte food, fishing, diving, undersea restaurant etc.... per pax comes up to S$4000. So I guess, S$2635 not very fantasitic anyway.
Infact, you go by per night basis, my stay cost S$571 per night while Clubmed cost S$658! KEkekeke... That's why I always think HIlton is value for money(accurate for my trip).

On the other hand, you're right if apple to apple compare i.e. water villas to water villas...Clubmed wins hands down!

If you compare Clubmed beach villas and it's water villas, yes the water villas is really value for money, comparing to both their beach villas and also to Hilton villas.

Yes, must agree it tempts me as well. However my baseline it the last price I paid for in Hilton though
. How to erase my baseline har?

I might try out clubmed also....however, I got 1 free night stay in HIlton Maldives to spent leh! and also waiting for Shangari-la!

Starstar,

Wha, your farm stay in Australia really must bring a small telescope or bino(more handy) there, really really speechless when I'm there during Dec 03'. Super duper clear skies, pitch dark, where the milky way was visible. We even saw a satellite travelling across the sky, probably the space station or what. Maldives sky also not so clear hor!
Off course... lots of "shooting stars" as well! Make some wishes... like having baby lah, ganna toto lah...etc... KEkekeke....

bvbride,

Sure or not? Bintan sand finer than Maldives ah? Hilton ones are like powder you know, when soak in water hor, it's so fine till it feels like mud leh. Wha... then must collect some samples from Bintan for studies liao...kekekek...

However I think when you say Maldives sand is no better than Bintan bcos, Maldives sand got dead corals as well, thus it'll feel rougher. Bintan water lousy, thus no corals, thus sand finer?

Ya, I saw on the website, nirwana also consist of other more posh, high end resort. But comparing Bintan and Maldives... Aiya cannot compare lah.....really, I would rather spent the money in Maldives rather than those "Posh" ones in Bintan or Sentosa.
You reckon? Hahahaha...
I started to sound like a MAldivian advocates liao.

Hmmmm....don't think LKY has stay in Hilton Sunset water villas b4..... Muuuuuuhahahahah...... :P

wu n haru
thanks for all your valuable iinfo on Perth...keke...;p looking forward to the trip...:p

Wu
yup... understand your meaning..;p think me also same.... the amt of $$ spent on good resort in Bintan... I'll spent in in Maldives... well..guess everyone got diff tots. ;p

Wah...Perth got so many shooting stars? hahaha..then I wish till I 'siao'... hmmm... must start to think what to wish for liao...draw up a list....hahaha..:p

bvbride
think the resort u mentioned...I know abt it... ;p SAF got 2 villa there for rental... think the rates are much lower than the rack rates or the rates u get from travel agencies... cos SAF got corporate membership there...

Hi Haru,

That's it man! Kekekeke...... the location, value and the niche.... even cheaper for some Maldivian resort. OFf course MAldive lah! Kekekek...

hi starstar and wu,
yeah, the sky there really clear and the amount of stars u will NEVER get to see in spore. i was driving back from the pinnacles at nite and i was seating at the back seat and just admiring all the stars...really lovely..

star star :
think pple working for the govt got special discount at INdra Maya. A friend's father wkg in HDB also got v special rates.

Wu arr: not the Hilton Maldives. I meant Indra Maya. The staff who showed me around said that LKY has a personal villa at Indra Maya for himself and his family.

The sand at Angsana Maldives is white but not super fine - still slightly pokey but ok
the Nirwana sand is almost like clay when itz under water. but thnk when u see the water at bintan u will secretly complain to yourself how come the water her like dat one arr?? kekkeke =P

Yep totally agree - if i end up spending like $1000 @Indra Maya -might as well save more to go Maldives hor.

Wu- the water villa at Club Med looks good from the website - not sure if itz that good in real life hor.
Is your Hilton Beach Villa located right at the edge of the island? ie the beach is just a few steps from your villa?

Hi Bvbride,

Kekekeke..... Not what i meant lah... I say, I've stayed in the Sunset water villa... better than LKY himself lah! Kekekkekeke....

Oh...the water so bad in Bintan ah... intially feels like diving there. Let me see how when I'm there.! Thanks!

Yes, you're right! from the net, the water villa looks good there in clubmed, especially that the bathtub is just beside the full glass! Shiok man when bathing!

No, Hilton beach villas(depends on which room no.) is some steps away from the beach/sea, firstly, you'll have to overcome a garden(your personal villa's backyard) b4 reaching the beach, aruond 10m away. You can check out my photos again though...
I think my pics should be quite clear right?

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645&mode=guest

Have a wonderful weekends ahead folks! Will not be accessing the web, cos no internet at home :p
Talk to you guys next week!

Hi starstar, Haru,

Wah... I though all missing liao. Kekekke....

Haru is half right, only the sunset water villa that I've stayed in Hilton got glass bottom in the living loh. Kekekeke....

Yes coco palm also have. I believe Huvafenfushi also have. Why? wanna go Coco palm is it?
Me also wanna go leh... so many places to visit but money don't allowed. :p Have to depend on the toto tonight liao Kekekeke... 2.8mil tonight

Ello all!

Toto !!! forgot all abt it - no time to buy leh..haizzz
Cocopalm ..hmmm hvnt checked this out on the web yet. itz not one of those ultra popular ones like Hilton i guess. If you all mention it here - i bet sure got standard one - haha =)

let me go look see....

i guess there is always NATAs fair in June06 -
they will sure hold exhibitions during school hol season

soneva gili has glass bottom in the living room too. at night can also see fishes through the glass panel as its lighted up

ello !!

checked out coco palm website liao - nt bad at all. half an hour by sea plane - abt as far as Hilton from the Male Intl (my Angsana is just 20 min by speedboat ;P)
One of the ex coco plam stayer left a link to his pix
here goes! just to share share

http://www.trosimon.de/index10.html

Wu
keke... so u got strike? oh ya btw..is it abit late if I book my air tics n accom for perth in Jan? cos hubby's schedule not firm leh... wanted to book liao but he says wait till jan then book...

haru, Wu n Bvbride
sigh.. I simply love the coco palm resort... wanted to go there initially for HM but not enough $$... want to stay in water villa mah... so hee.. no choice settle for Taj Coral. Lucky hubby promise he'll bring me back to Maldives n stay Coco Palm the next time we go...
He also like the glass bottom thingy...haha..

Hi Miso,

Yes Yes,
.....Soneva Gili got glass flooring also...cos I'm kept trying to recall the other resort I saw on the internet. It's really another wonderful breath-taking resort on Maldives as well.

Hi bvbride,

thks for sharing the photos, but the ex-stayer never shot the glass bottom thingy isn't it?

Starstar,

Haiz....as usual... never lah. if got hor, I'll be flying straight to MAldives tonight liao, then write you an email from there....:p kekekekeke......Er... no lah kidding..still got work to do here man.

I'm really not sure leh about airtickets to perth leh. Last time book last min thru agent, still got lah. However I do believe there'll be tickets lah, since there's a couple of budget airline flying there right?

Hey, how many resort you gonna stay there in Maldives har? Last time you say waiting for shangari-la, then hilton also look tempting, then Mihiri then now coco palm? Kekekeke...island hopping ah?

hi bvbride,
gosh, aft lookin at the pix really tempted to change travel plans next yr to go maldives instead..but hubby seems set on going japan/hawaii.i gues if there is a good deal next year, i'l try to convince hubby to go maldives instead.=P

hi starstar,
u are one lucky gal!!can tell ur hubby realy pamper you!!

Afternoon!

hey Wu - yeah hor i just realised he focused alot on the trees and not so much of the room hor..hahha.the pix may be abit dated cos they were taken in 2003. however they give pple like us an overall view of the resort thru the eyes of a visitor - super!

haru - it gets more tempting as long as u are hanging around this thread - haha =). mid year sure got good deals one cos lull period mah! HOHOHO.
nevermind u have qt a few mths to psycho your husb and change his mind

Wu
sigh..that's why I very frustrated...wanna to stay in these resorts... hmmm..island hopping isit more ex? say stay two nites at Coco Palm, another two at Shangri-La? If like that is it more ex?

hmmm...guess I'll book my tics n accom in early Jan...*cross fingers*

Haru
keke...he pamper me..I also pamper him mah... cos he hardly got time for me...always busy wif his work and sometimes almost every week 'gone' to other countries... He's just making up for it..*least he got 'liang xin'* hahaha..:p It's a 2 way pampering lah... whenever he's back home, I'll cook his fave dishes, turn my home into a DIY spa...keke.... :p I must admit I'm one lucky gal...

Wu n haru n bvbride
maybe we can go Maldives in a group...isit going to be cheaper this way?

Hi bvbride,

Yeh, old pics, probably at that time, no such glass bottom thingy yet, and in addition to that, the website does not show lots of pics, just drawings(plan view). Anyway, aiya only the top range villa(lagoon palace villa) got the glass bottom swimming pool.
Sian.... gonna cost a bomb as well. Easily the price of the Soneva Gili or Hilton water suites price range......

Must agree with you. this thread really tempts ppl.... every night go home hor, always bring out the calculator, calculating future saving that might allow me to visit Maldives again. Sian

Anyway, next year my trip will be again Malaysia...... Sian. Kekekeke....