Maldives

Hi Iggy,

It really depends on your budget. Yes I agree. Don't be sad... me too blew the budget by at least S$3K. However, it might just be this once that I'll ever visit Maldives, and stay there in the Sunset Water Villa. I'd drained my bank, and left with virtually S$0 in bank :P Really. I'm starting to save up, from the starting line again. However, as what StarStar has mentioned, it's really worth it... and just be a "rich man", "celebrity", "superstar" once....kekekeke...:P
Must have abit of "Ah-Q" spirit.

Most important of all, this trip has brought my relationship with my wife to the next level....really really worth it, and the only pity is that, no baby is being made in Maldives, in the sunset water villa
.... Neber mind lah...try again next time. kekekekeke......

Don't worried....if you got chance to be there..asked them to bring you to the sunset villa and hopefully you'll have a surprise too

Goodluck!

hi wu, me and my hubby was tinking of gng maldives for our honeymoon nex yr too...but we hv yet to do our research however, we did see pics of those beautiful and romantic resort...in fact, i was very much in love wif the one where it was bulid on top of the sea and there is see thru glass flooring where u can see the water underneath...hee hee..but we dun noe which resort is tat and how much it is gng to cost us...btw, how much was ur package for ur stay in the Sunset Water Villa? thks

Wu
haha..ya man... u r right...
the $$ is worth spent in Maldives.... it's paradise on Earth....

btw u been to mauritius? parents been therre n say it's better than Maldives... but I feel it's becos there's not much space to roam ard in maldives cos u sort of "stuck' on an island... keke... think that's what is putting my parents off...:p well..I still LOVE Maldives...
but can't go back there yet cos my hubby wants to see see some more...:p

So how's the plan for the small agency?;p

Hi Diana,

Kekekeke....
that's the Hilton Maldives Sunset Water Villa you're referring to. It's the one that I've stay for 3nights. The photos of the villas is being well circulated around the internet, and it's also been put into the powerpoint format as well.
That villa will cost you USD2600++ at low season and USD3500++ at high season, per night, Bed and breakfast only.
The only way to asked for a cheaper price is call them direct(hilton Maldives) to ask for it, or be there in Hilton Maldives, and asked for a upgrade. I suspect in both cases, Hilton has anticipate that no one would be booking the rooms, and thus willing to give huge discount off the price.
I paid only USD750++ per night for the sunset water villa, upgraded from the beach villa. We're lucky that no one is staying there during that 3 nights.

I can sent you my photos link, if you wanna take a look at the villas, incl the beach villas as well.

Cheers and happy researching!

Wu

Starstar,

Neber been to Mauritius leh.. but your parents neber been to Maldives what, how to compare? Ya lah.... our old folks wants to walk more and see more places, if you ask them to be stuck on and island har... they would rather go Sentosa. Kekekekek :P

My preference is still Maldives, smaller islands, white powdery sand........

Aiya... nowsaday, you can "see" more on the discovery channel, animal planets, lonely planets etc.... Kekeke... As what my dad say, the old chinese saying "walking a distance of thousand miles is better than reading a thousand books", is no longer valid during the digital age.

I always ask my wife, where she wanna to go next....answer is simple. Maldives! Kekekekee...

Oh yes the agency thingy... need to come up with a business plan first. Lets brainstorm first before we share our thinking? Will write you an email once I come out with something. Hey.. you very free now lah... go think of something also leh...kekekeke :P

Wu

Wu
keke... wish my hubby can bring me back to Maldives soon man... but everytime I mention Maldives...he always say next time lah...go to other places first...
neber mind lah..least I can get to travel I happi liao keke... :p very 'gein' taking planes...:p haha...

ok..i'll think of some plan... yeah...two more mths to clearing leave..:p

Wu,
after reading ur comments..i think i better start saving more $$$ b4 going to maldives...
I also want to go maldives to "make people"
kao_embarrassed.gif

Starstar,

Kekekeke....... neber mind lah... at least your hubby paid right? Aiya...wherever he goes you just follow loh... :P Free mah! kekeke....

ZhuZhu,

Yes... I agree... Maldives best place to make ppl...

Imagine in the Sunset water Villa rotating bed make ppl...... *Shy* :P ...kekekeke...
Unfortuately during our stay there, the rotating mechanism was spoilt. No Fun liao. And probably thats why we got huge discount :P

Hi Diana,

If you want to stay in those water villas with glass flooring, that can see fishes swimming, there's other choices as well,ie. Huvafenfushi(glass floor living rm flooring) and Coco Palm(glass floor splash pool).
However, these 2 resorts are also one of the most super ex in Maldives.
However, I still recommend the normal Hilton beach villas, the most value for money(valid for low season from mid May to Mid July only)I ever stay in. You can do some research first lah, don't have to take my words for it.

Have fun!!!

Wu,
I want to ask..u ever saw hilton deluxe beach villa o not? i kinda like the idea with our own pool inside leh..

ZhuZhu,

Yes but also no lah. Never step inside one b4. It's beside my normal beach villa mah, I look from outside only. Aiya.... too big to see with 2 eyes lah. Look inside hor... can see the pool loh. Remember in my pics, I got one picture taking the outside terrace(just outside my bed, my wife holding a little water scoop? beach villas only got terrace then followed by sand pathway leading to the sea.

As for Deluxe one, it terrace followed by the dive pool, then a sandy walkway towards a small gate, then to the sea.
Deluxe villa at night looks much more majestic compare to our smaller beach villa, off course lah, the area is 300sqm leh. But very very posh...Like a huge bungalow sitting there...and If I'm not wrong dive pool got lights at night some more.

I did sent you one brochure by Crown tours showing the pool isn't it? I tell you if the picture look nice hor, then you go there, it's 100X nicer!!! Thats our feelings lah, we saw the brochure and like it, then once there.....really WOW out loud!!!!

Actually the nice part of the beach villas are, the room's concave ceiling is very very high(should be ard 5m high) , with full glass gigantic sliding doors and fully remote automatic blinds(which can go up/down individually or together by the press of one button). BAre in mind, at times we find it hard to move the doors, cos it's huge and heavy!!

At night, the ambience/lightings in the beach villas are actually much nicer than those in the Sunset villa, really really smoothing and can control individually by the bedside remote, even those lights out at the bath-tub pavilion(you raise one of the blind can see liao).
I'm starting to drool while discribing the villas to you.... right now...

You'll never regret staying there..... and with that kind of mood(esp night time) hor, and with that super king size bed, every baby would like to be "conceive" at that very same time!!!! kekekekeke........

PS. you must give me "hong Bao" if you got kids after staying there!
ANyway it's hard to get such huge living spaces, 300sqm, for just USD390++, Banyan Tree cost more for less though!
Only one complain... the outdoor bathtub needs almost 45min to fill it to soaking depth. Yes...it's that big!

Hi Wu
Ya i remember that pic whereby u wife was holding a scoop..

eh...can see u really really had fond memories on hilton maldives...I write a single line...u came back with paragraphs!! (just kidding)

hmmm to make people hor..must see "tian shi di li ren he" leh...

Ang bao ah...NO PROB!!!! provided its successful lar...

ZhuZhu,

Kekekekeke.... so sorry...to carry away liao. Anyway, words still cannot discribe the feelings when we're there.
just now, I'm reviewing some of my movies taken over there.....still it doesn't looks as good as when we're there, 2D instead of 3D mah....and yes it still brought back lots of memories.

Ya lah, you're right, the best is a couple stayed there for a month, then everything should be OK. Baby baby on the way! kekekeke..... For our case, got "tian shi" got "Di li" but no "ren he"... :P

Kidding lah, my well wishing to you and your hubby!

hi wu,
juz saw ur pix and i stil in awe of how gorgeous the place. its our dream to go to maldives. but hubby plans to visit hawaii and japan next year. so looks like maldives mite really be our destination for "making babies" the year after. i stayed at hilton mauritius and i am pretty satisfied. was really keen on huvafenfushi too aft visitin their ultra cool website, but looks like hilton is lovely too.

any tips for planning a trip to maldives? wana avoid e monsoon season at e same time not squeeze around with the peak season crowd..i suppose we need to have a budget of at least 6K for a decent trip eh? ... would b great if u cld enlighten me?thanks!!!

haru
think your budget also depends on how nites u wanna spend there... if u wanna stay at Hilton for 5 nites or more...think 6k is barely enough... is it correct Wu? Cos I think Hilton's rates also quite steep right? 6k was the amt I spent at Taj Coral(4 star) resort for 6 nites...

If haru were to choose Hilton beach villa during the low season, which cost USD200 per nite...think 6k still can lar...

hi starstar,
did u book a package frm an agent or did u book e hotel n flight directly? looks like its a big budget trip if we were to go to maldives!

haru
yup... zhu zhu said is right. If u go during the low season... by the way the USD200 per nite is it full board? If not full board, then u'll need to add in a bit more for makan... unless u buy maggi mee there to sustain...;p mine was full board so 6k is inclusive of meals n snorkelling trips n spas. ;p

I booked my flight direct from SIA online and hotel also direct from Taj resorts web site... all direct no agents.

Hi Starstar..
USD200 is only bed & breakfast....definitely need some maggi mee there for a few meals lar..

Just back from the long "holiday", missed all your post/reply.

Haru,

Wha....you pretty good life leh, 1 year can visit 2 places, then follow by Maldives... "Thumbs up!!"

For me hor, one Maldives trip already drain me dry liao... still bleeding right now.. Kekeke..

Unless you're super rich, I think Hilton still good enough lah...Huvafenfushi is too ex lah... don't thinks worth that much loh, somemore price only Bedbreakfast. Hilton(beach Villas) on the other hand is really value for money though, as compare to Huvafenfushi. But must be low season lah.. from Mid May to July.

Let's calculate whether S$6K is enough for 5 nights for you.

5nights(Hilton):-
SQ:- around S$1400 for 2
Male 1 nt:- around USD100 (BB)
Accom:- USD200++ per night(BB) >>> USD1180
Seaplane:- USD250 per pax >>> USD500

All these already comes to around S$4500. The rest you'll have to add up yourself.... if you're into fine dining, Diving, excursion, sports fishing and upgrade to water villas...then not enough lah... But the rest of the S$1500 should be enough for me lah(if I don't dive, just eat and go for excursion).
Furthermore we can also advise you which things is worth to do over there in Hilton, so as to save some money

I can sent you the iternary list+pricing if you can provide me with your e-mail add.

Take a look at the iternary first then decides.

Haru,

Yes.....like what Starstar and ZhuZhu say, Maggi mee is a must
. I survive there the first 3 days on maggi mee, can sausages, tuna etc..
Then come the fourth day, must eat proper meals liao....really cannot stand the maggi mee anymore.

hi wu,
thanksb for ur comprehensive help!!!! really appreciate. well, the thing is that we love to travel,heheh..but we dun have big budget thats for sure!(at least for now~hahah...)..i think hilton is pretty decent. does that mean tt i have to stay one night at male? is it coz we arrive at night? i suppose the best and cheapest time to go is during the monnsoon, just dun wana end up gg then with days of rain and storms.

hubby and i have not done diving course yet, so diving is out for us. and i have no guts to do diving in places where there are sharks,hahhaha...my biggest fear in the sea..=P

hey wu,
was hinting to my hubby about maldives..so looks like we are torn between 1.Japan/Hawaii and 2. Maldives... both just as expensive..oh gosh...

Hi Haru,

ACtually both choices are pretty good loh.. you guys have to compromise.
Nice food in Japan, scenery so-so only. Hawaii never been there b4, probably Maldives would have nicer beaches. So why don't you guys go for Japan/Hawaii this year then Maldives the next?

Yes, for Hilton Maldives, you'll have to stay 1 nite in Male,SQ reach there ard 10.30pm. Unless you take SriLankan flight(which you'll have to stay 1 nite in Colombo), that more or less come out to be the same.

I went there during beginning of July, no rain, very sunny till the last day(tropical storm, really big ones). But it's the cheapest period. Either you pay USD570 during the super peak season(ard Dec period), USD360(March period) during peak or you want just USD200 during Mid May to Mid July? Kekeke... off course go for the USD200 ones lah.

Just beware, the biggest killer is the daily ++ thingy, the meals, excursion etc... You'll have to plan well, if not, you'll be spending more than what you pay for you accom+airticket.

Don't worried about sharks, they're actually more afraid of us Humans....(exludes great White, tiger,black tip, Bull sharks lah.. cos all these would attack humans).
Anyway statistically, more ppl drown as compare to sharks attack fatalities.

hi wu,
thanks for yr advice. we are very keen on maldives but searching for mid-range accomodations instead of hilton. unless kenna a big fat bonus end of this year lah. I think someone recommended Taj coral something like dat? I went to the website but tot it looked a bit old. Do u hv any idea are there any new resorts around?

as for flights, there is no way to arrive male in the daytime except staying over in the main island izzit? wanna catch the scenery during daytime lor.

can u send me some pricing for the diving packages? me got licence but hubby more keen on fishing

Hi Iggy,

For what I know, reasonable resort there in Maldives should cost around USD200. Hey, that's the price for the beach villas in Hilton, during low season. I think it's pretty reasonable. Other resort might just cost the same, around that pricing. You can go to the following website to compare the pricing(just a guide as some quoted is way too high, direct booking will be cheaper with some resort):-

http://www.asiatravel.com/maldives/maldives.html
http://www.crowntoursmaldives.com/index.php?option=rates

However, the killer is the seaplane trip which will shave you off USD500 for 2 pax, but thats a really fantastic experience travelling on a seaplane you know, and you'll be flying over many atolls during daytime, absolutely beautiful and stunning!

One thing for sure, new resort doesn't comes cheap as well. I recall the new club-med beach villas( I think it's been hit by tsunami b4 their current reno) cost around the same as hilton beach villas. Diff is ClubMed got full board, but the villas is much smaller.

example:-

http://www.clubmed.com.sg/package_rate/02.php

Clubmed 5 nights beach villa(Full-board) all inclusive cost around S$5500(min) ~ S$7710(max) for 2 person.(between Dec to end Apr)

Hilton 5 nights beach villa(breakfast) all inclusive cost around S$4500(min) ~ S$5700(max) for 2 person (between Feb to Mid July)

You see the diff? Unless you want to stay in some lesser resort, which will be definitely older.That's why I always said Hilton beach villas is value to money. I don't think the USD200 per night will last long, as last year I went there, cheapest is USD150.

Anyway, you'll still have to do more research on the pricing.

I'll sent you the diving package as well! Hey, there's sports fishing there in maldives! Big Big fishes, like marlin, sail-fish etc... but it'll cost USD550 ~ USD1000 per boat for half day and full day fishing

yoz Wu...
haha.. seeing that u are at 'work'...;p

Iggy
yup...what Wu says is right... the new resorts dun come cheap... hee..it was me who suggested Taj Coral.. I know it looks old but then got to compromise abit lah... we wanna stay there for a week mah.. if stay at those new resorts... keke.. too ex liao... the resort though looks old, least the facilities are decent enough for us.
at least my hubby n me went for full spa treatment on three days....keke... went spa massage till nua man... :p

Starstar,

Kekekeke.... not at "work" lah... but working :p
you're right! really have to compromise, and know what you want and what you don't. B4 1 went over there, my planning is very diff from what I had done over there in Maldives, as in the additional activities.

Hey..I don't think water villa that you stay in is old.It's really a decent place to live in too.
I used to live in longhouse in some island "resort" in malaysia, permanggil island, no aircon, no hot shower. We practically shower in those "bath-tub" that looks like pig-style.
As to compromise,for example, for my trip, I never go to the spa, instead we spent the money on diving and upgrading to the water villa. And we forgo other excursion such as snorkelling tour, island hopping, sunset cruise, sunrise cruise etc.... If I wanna join in every excursion, then my 7 nights there also not enough, and I'll have to spent more money.

Off course if I have budget around S$12K, yes a weeks there would be really really enough...practically I can go for every single excursion, including sports fishing!!!

hi wu,
hubby and i quite "picky" about the hotel, so i gues hilton wil be our top choice. at least can be reassured that we are getting quality accomodation and facilities. yeah i guess low season would be the most practical time to go,also no need to squeeze in with the tourist crowd..hhahah...

i noe wat u mean about the +++, we were at hilton mauritius and we had to order drinks everynite at dinner, that was easily more than S$20 for just a coke and coffee.so can imagine..

is the US200 the beach villa that is on the beach front near the sea? dun mind to just stay there. dun realy necesarily hv to stay at the villas out at sea if the rates are crazy..hehehe..

hi zhuzhu,
thanks for the link!

Hi Haru,

OIC.... picky ah, then the USD200 hilton beach villa should be up to your standard at a fraction of the super ex villas price lah.

ANyway in Hilton, you'll never find it crowded, not like those in Malaysis.
During my stay there, I would say the resort is 80% full, but you hardly find any place full of ppl. i.e. swimming pool, restaurant, gym, library, spa, etc...... except the internet kiosk.

Hey, there're free teabreak session in Hilton from 5pm to 6pm. We half full by the time we drank the coffee/tea, biscuits/pastry.... then dinner just share 1 course would be enough for us

Then night time got happy hour 1 for 1 at the bar... save somemore money liao

Yes, all beach villa is at the beach front...steps away from the sea only.

wu
haha..
I know...Taj was fine for ya...
anyway just hope to have enough $$ to go back to Maldives again in near future...:p now planing for my perth trip...
gee.. the tax itself is more than the air tics...

hi wu,
thanks for ur details!gosh, was discussing with hubby and he suggest goin to maldives perhaps early 2007 when we wana try for baby..hahahha, but am still tryin to work out timing of trip (gota be low season) as well as "family planning"(coz we wana try to conceive by early 2007 too)...hmm.... i should be receiving my Hhonors card soon too, dun have any points yet, but is there any special rates for card holders??hehehe..

hubby still keen on japan/hawaii trip, but we are thinkin only about 3-5 days in japan and more time in hawaii..anyone has ever been to japan or hawaii??=P

Starstar,

Ya lah....If I can go back to Maldives har, anywhere is Ok for me, even Male city. Kekekeke.... Taj would then be a luxury liao loh!
Anyway, I quite like Taj Water villa, the one you stay in. Decent and clean is good enough for me liao.

"Thanks" to the current fuel price lah...and that has become our liabilities...the tax. MY Tax to Maldives is S$161 in July 05. I wondering how much is the tax and surcharge now to Maldives?

Hi Haru,

Hahaha... actually me and my wife is planning for another trip to Maldives in the Mid of 2007 as well.
If got enough cash, will go for either Hilton AGAIN or Shangari-la(new resort opening in 2007).... reason there also family planning...kekekeke

DOn't think there's any special rates with Hilton HHonors card. The points can redeem for free nights in all Hiltons hotel worldwide, but as for Hilton Maldives, you need 40000 pts (~ USD4000 spending) for a nite free. Alternatively, you can also purchase Hilton points if you do not have enough points.

The only good things about Japan is the food only. Other things so-so only. ANyway I've been to Osaka,and some other u-lu u-lu town only, really nothing great about that place. For scenary, I would rather go China, new zealand etc...

Wu
I can't rem the tax I paid in March but defintely not as much as going to Aussie... ###@@@**!! the tax to perth in all add up ard $250 per pax... alot leh...

yup..agree new zealand got nice scenery... haven been there but heard alot abt it... keke u planning for mid 2007 to Maldives??? hope I can go also...but I dun think can go cos my hubby wants to go Hawaii first...

Starstar,

Wha....S$250 per pax for the tax ah? Siao man! That's almost 20% of the total amount per pax, I paid for during my 7Days tour package to Perth leh!

Ai ya...2005 you going perth isn't it?, then you ask your hubby to go Hawaii with you next year 2006 lah, then 2007 Maldives again...2008 Tahiti, 2009 Maldives loh....kekekeke..... :P

Hmmmmmm... goes back to another question...I'll need to find "Kaki" to go Maldives 2007 as you know lah, the 4 to go thing by SQ, cheap alot leh....

Probably by 2007, I can already form a small platoon of Kaki...Kekeke..

I've viewed the pictures of the hilton in maldives...Its magnificient!!! So beautiful...But do they cater halal food over there? what's the weather like during the Dec and jan like?

I like the one at the sea ...it is so beatiful

Hi Haru
Me Me Me!! i went to Japan for my HM this Apr...

eh....so we will be seeing alots of parents to be in 2007 lar...
kao_babydust2.gif

Wu
ya man..the f***ing tax cost so much...
hmmm..seems like your suggestion not bad leh... but I'm going Perth in 2006...so maybe I'll persuade him to go Maldives together in 2007...then Hawaii in 2008...Tahiti 2009?? hahaha... ;p

must rem to put me in your platoon hor..

Nel,

I think they should have Halal food lah, as Maldives is a Muslim country. There's lots of restricted items that we cannot bring into Maldives.

Not sure what's the weather like, should be sunny most of the time, and one thing for sure, most crowded and expensive months to stay there! (most resort would require tourist to stay at least 14 days during Dec).

ZhuZhu,

yes...2007 is the year of Pig right? traditional Chinese would like to have baby either Dragon lah, and pig also symbolise wealth and "Fu Qi"

You also planning that year?? Kekeke...

Hey Starstar,

...... Your hubby will kill me with such suggestion, would he? :P

AiYa..... you'll be the PC in the platoon lah, since you OCS trained mah. kekekekee

Anyway, I've just been promoted to 2SG(NS),don't know good news or bad news, so I'll be the platoon SG lah. kekekeke....... Who wants to be the man har???? :P

wat's the rate like if I wanna go on dec 2006 or end of jan 2007? Which tour agency should I go for best rates if i wanna go to hilton? By the way, you go through agency to settle the acoomodation and other stuff or on your own? I tot of spending at least a week there.How much must i spend?besides hilton, any other resort you can recommend?

Wu
haha..congras man!!! ;p keke..well that makes u my PS(platoon sgt) liao... ;p it'll be lovely if more pple going..cheaper n more fun!!

Nel
think Mladives it's better to go direct to hotels rather tour agency... save $$... how much u'll need if u stay in Hilton during that period think it's gonna be quite a big sum as it's the PEAK season... where everything in Maldives is at its most ex....

Wu,
I planning to have a small pig if I can strike during my maldives trip lar..

Nel,
Dec & Jan is the super X period leh...

Hi wu

wat's the rate like if I wanna go on dec 2006 or end of jan 2007? Which tour agency should I go for best rates if i wanna go to hilton? By the way, you go through agency to settle the acoomodation and other stuff or on your own? I tot of spending at least a week there.How much must i spend?besides hilton, any other resort you can recommend?

Nel,

Starstar and Zhuzhu are right. Jan/Dec period super X lah... The price is easily 2.5X that of May~July. It's around that factor for most resort in Maldives. Then most resort would require you to stay there at least 14 days!

For example:- Hilton Beach Villa cost you USD550++ during Dec/Jan per night per room, then Mid May drop to US200++. So 14 days during Dec is 14 X USD550 ++ equals to around USD8700...... WoW!!! excluding seaplane(USD250 per pax), lunch/dinner(at least USD35 per pax per day), SQ return flights(at least S$600 per pax) and others.

For Hilton, called them straight or their internet website would be cheaper. We all book thru internet, hilton website. Seaplane Xfer will arrange by them. Book SQ flight thru internet as well. 4 person to go is cheaper by at least S$100 per pax. 1 night stay in Male, we book at the spot when we're there in Male airport. Just ask the hilton counter ppl for help. Juz in case you don't know, for hilton, you'll need to go there by seaplane and it only operates in the morning while SQ flights flew in nite time.

Other choices of resort would be, depends on your budget( what I feel lah by looking at their website and thru discussion with other folks in the net):-

High end:- Huvafenfushi, Soneva Gili, Hilton,Four season, Dhoni Mighili.

mid/high end:- Banyan Tree, Angsana, Hilton, Coco palm, Cocoa island, one&only,Taj Exotic,

Mid/low end:- Mihiri, meeru,Taj Coral, Hilton, Vilu reef, Velavaru

OTHERS:-
New resort opening from 2005:-
1)Olhuveli
2)Clubmed
New resort opening early 2007:-
1)Shangari-la