Maldives

Adel,

Kekekee....... Ya lah... very "kia-si" one me.. I still need to take care of my parents ,sister, etc... leh...cannot take risk.

ZhuZhu,

Why so fancy water-villa, really make no difference loh. I can suggest you alternative, villa hopping to stretch your dollars. Say 2 nights beach villa, then last 2 nights water villa. Thats what I did to make full use of my money (for me 4 nights at beach villa and 3 nights at water villa)...kekeke..

For example, I've check for you, ie. 20th to 25th, you can stay at beach villa(USD360++), deluxe beach villa(USD550++), then water villa(USD645++). You can mix and match to your budget, and enjoy the best of both world?

I'll sent you the e-inviation ASAP. Take a look to see if you like them. Cheers!

zhuzhu,
Just normal suite. I upgrade when I was there. Attached a photo. Can you see the difference between the dark blue and the "cyan" color surrounding the island. The circumference is where we call "The drop"
Am I right, wu?
321137.jpg

Adel,

Absolutely.
Aiya,most divers would know that term lah. Kekekeke....

Er.... where is these 2 islands ha? Look like Angsana or Banyan leh?

adel n Wu
hey...I know what's Adel toking abt...keke..does that make me a diver too...hahaha..:p

Adel
thanks for the info... my hubby's been there a few times liao..just that during those times he went, I'm busy can't take leave... so in Jan when he's going again, I can finally go there take a look n who knows will never want to go back there again...hahaha... heard abt the horrendous traffic...;p

Wu
hey..u 'working' Hilton is it? keke... ;p knew u'll say such things abt Jakarta...haha..

WAA>...saw le WU photos....so nice tilll..... i stumfolded dunno how to describe...wished to flythere soooo much.....

lucky folks able to stay in sunset water villa....so nice!!!...if we only stay 3 nites, wonder is it possible to ask for an upgrade at very discounted price to that?...we thinking of going july-aug 2006 maybe non-peak period..can ask hor?? hee...

Wu
I saw ur pics....already drool like crazy...
think i might consider going there in March...think the rate cheaper...

Adel,
roughly get the idea of "drop" already...

Kalbarri, Zhu Zhu,

Mid of May ~ July is the cheapest, not only for Hilton but likely other resort as well.

Hai... going to repeat what I've said before.. :p Starstar gonna said I'm working for Hilton liao. :p Kekekekekke...

I upgraded to the sunset water villa at a heavily discounted rate when I was there. However Upgrading means you'll still have to paid for the current villas that you're going to stay initially. Thus, more like a top-up instead.

Initially we book for 7nts beach villa, and later part I paid USD750 per nt for the upgrade to sunset water villa(for the last 2 nts). At the same time we're still paying for the beach resort that we're staying USD150, thus adding up should be USD900++.

But this I would say is money well spent, at least for that 3 nites there(Hilton gave us another nite free staying in the sunset water villa), we're the Kings and Queens on the island, with the previlege that no others on the island can enjoy :p, Well,Hai... it's back to normal now... kekeke.. and bare in mind, we need some time to calm down and back to reality.

Starstar,

Yes... how I wish I can work in Hilton... Well anyway we got only 1 lifetime to spare, and even dying there in Maldives in old age, I wouldn't mind. Sometimes, really feel so tiring working in Singapore.... :p

Wu
haha...I feel whatever $$ spent in Maldives is worth it lor...really nua there...
just LOVE to sun tan n bask myself in the sea...:p

Agree wif ya on the life... it's like that one lor..everytime something good happen...then it's back to reality... just like wedding...keke.. after a day's affair, looking good etc...then once everything over, life goes back to normal...
that's why every now n then, i'll try to look for things to do or look forward to... like holidays...etc. ;p hee... my hubby told me over the weekend that we should go to Japan/Korea one of these days...keke... so many places to go..:p

now we just looking forward to our Perth trip n for me, got an extra - Jakarta trip...
whahaha...

zhuzhu,
No problem.

Starstar,
I wish that can make you a diver. But u need to learn some other techniques to become certified diver.

hmm.... I really doubt you are a Singaporean now, Wu.

Kekekeke......

I'm a 100% Singaporean lah. Just that sometime we really work so hard back here..then by the time we realised, we're near retirement age. Is this what we want in life?

I really think too much liao, anyway, as my grandma passed away 3 weeks back, I came across so many young ppl who also passed away at a young age.. really sad. Aiya...think back hor, Money is nothing lah.. we really wouldn't know when we would "go".. then everyday work so hard and getting miserable pay till old age, for what? Let's go Maldives again, preferably every year...kekekeke....

Really envy those working in Maldives, we've talk to lots of them and they are really happy with life.

I wanna be a Maldivian!!!! :p

Kekekeke... crazy liao!

Wu
hahaha..then u no need to serve reservist liao...hahaha...
ya man...sigh... life's like this... anyway just make FULL use of your life...dun waste it away....
We worked hard in singapore cos we want to have a good living conditions...
also to pay for the trips we want...
that's why must know how to enjoy yet plan well for retirement and old age.

kekeke...

Starstar... ya lah. I know what is reality lah. Well a dream remain a dream.
No matter how hard we work hor...we can only go Maldives 7 nites.. Then you see those Ang Mo, they always stay for at least 10 nights and above. Why har???? .....

Kekekekekeke... :p

Wu
cos their country is able to sustain on their own.... singapore u look ard...space so small...no agriculture etc... country's income depend on people..- service etc...can't afford to lose people lor... if company allow staffs to take many days leave, that's it liao..economy wise singapore will be bad... n country will suffer...
can't be help..no choice... singapore like Japan...but Japan at least got some land...sigh... least we know how to enjoy can liao... ;p go more frequent lor..

Wo... Wu,
Relax. U must have been really stressed up this few weeks. U need a break. Go for a short trip with your wife.

Look at the bright side of Singapore. Food and shopping centre nearby. Safe to stay out late at night. No worry about natural catastrophe. There are places like Kusu, St John Island for short escape as well.

Yo Adel, Starstar,
Hai.... Ya lah.. everytime one of my family old folks or my wife's old folks passed on, I'll be very depressed... and after a few days of sadness during the wake, need to go back to work and more stress.

HOwever, when I'm oversea, I missed Singapore, especially during my 2 years study in UK, really missed Singapore..ya lah.. the food :p. Ang Mo food how to eat???

Well, I can never leave Singapore lah.. so many fond memories, especially those of my loving grandparents etc....

Ya lah.. living in Singapore really "Sheng Bu You Ji". We're consider very fortunate liao. The next life I want to be born in Maldives or Tahiti..kekekeke...

Things will get better when I pick up my momentum in work.
Think back hor, I never been to Kusu and St John leh, not even Pulau Ubin... Manybe will try to make it, bring my telescope to see stars in Ubin

Cheers guys! no worry.. kekeke

Wu
haha..agree wif ya man...
when I was there for the fifth day, I sooooo missed the char kuay tiao etc...
been to Kusu when young..think Ubin is more fun. Go there occasionally for cycling... rather fun n interesting...
rather enjoyable...
oh ya..the sea food is superb!!!

Wu,
Think i finally decide to follow ur advice...mix and match my stay...i think i will go for 2 nites in the beach villa and 2 nites in the water villa. Is ur fullboard or only bed n breakfast? How is the pricing of the food there?

Wanna check, are there any bugs or insects at the outdoor shower in the beach villa? Recently I went to banyan tree in bintan..and got scared by a spider in the shower room...hope this won't happen again..

ZhuZhu,

Club Med just re-open their resort recently, after the Tsunami hit. It's pretty nice too, saw it on the asian diver magazines. You can also consider this newly open resort. I do not know the pricing though.
In fact, all lagoon should have it's own stairs to the lagoon(also call the sea lah), if not what's the use of staying there?
KEkekee...
Am I right, Starstar and Adel??

Anyway, if you're going to Hilton for the mix and match, bear in mind that beach villas and water villas are on 2 different island, seperated by a 500m bridge across. The beach villas island is much newer, everything! and it's much hip and happenning(but not to the extend of noisy). The water villa island is much more Quiet, much more greenary, more for the executives ppl and honeymooner, who likes to be alone.

All stays in Hilton is Bed and breakfast only. The half and full board upgrade price is too much per person, I think it's for around USD40 and USD85 respectively per person, per day( not worth lah). Just go for Ala -carte will do. 2 person eat hor, for me around USD60~80 for 2 person(2 meals lunch/dinner) will do liao. 1st trick is every evening(ard 5pm) we go for the free teabreak session to fill our stomach.. got biscuit,cakes, pastry, coffee tea etc.... we eat everyday. To save some more money, my first 3 days there we eat cup noodles.. then last 5 days, then go for ala carte food..Heheheh... :p

For my stay in the beach villas, no bugs in the room but some smalls one are found in the pavilion bath tub(off course lah, surrounded by greenary). Just wash them away using the retractable hose can liao.
Ai Ya... these type of open air resort sure got some bugs one lah... Don't care it's Banyan Tree or Downtown East or whatever.. Just ask your hubby to take care of them can liao :p

Have fun researching for your trip!!! Anything not sure, just post your question here, and all folks here will definitely help out!

ZhuZhu, FYI!

Clubmed SQ package:-
Everything in inclusive(full board), Singapore-male transfer, Male to Club Med transfer.

Lagoon villa(6D4N) 07Jan ~ 27Jan 06
S$2635 per pax

Lagoon villa(7D5N) 07Jan ~ 27Jan 06
S$3095 per pax

Lagoon villa(8D6N) 07Jan ~ 27Jan 06
S$3555 per pax

Wu,

Very informative. U can work as Maldive Information Consultants. May be can get free stay at new resorts too. U? ur next life as Maldivian ir Tahaitian. Hmm... So we call u Wu or Mohd?

Recently, been to Kusu Island for some reefwalk (something like Che Jawa at P. Ubin) early in the morning. It is fun! If u wanna camp on the island, must apply special permit. St john island is a good place to stay out. P. Ubin see stars. Possible. But U get to see giant mosquitoes too.

adel
hahaha... u very cute.. your descriptions..
yup..ubin u not only see giant mosquitoes, also see wild boars...

Wu
u really become a sales pax for Hilton liao...haha..

No lah... I also recommend others mah... like club med. Kekeke....

However, I still think value for money is still Hilton beach villa lah.

haiz...i think i am a question child...soo many que to ask..

Now, i am thinkin of going to maldives during the low season (which is much much cheaper)...anyone been there during the rainy season?

I went there during the low season. So not many people and the room rate is much cheaper. I went there in May. Only occasional shower, but water visiblity is not so good, only 200m to 300m (good enough for most of us).

ZhuZhu,

Nevermind lah... you got question we try to answer loh, and keeping this thread alive and understand more about travelling to the Maldives.

Yes, I was there from 30th Jun to 8th July (so called wetter season lah).

The 8 days there only the last day during departure that we encounter tropical storm, really big storm never seen in Singapore. Luckily b4 our seaplane take off the storm calm down a bit. The sea is still very rough, but the seaplane was able to handle it with no problem.

It's a wise choice to go during the low season but really depends on your luck. We too got ourself really tan during our stay over there, really like indians

Unless you do diving lah... else the season really doesn't matter except for the cloud/rain(see ur luck loh).

Ya lor...looking at hilton beach villa rate..it cost only US$200 per nite in may...which is SOOOOO much cheaper...hmmm i think i will plan to go in may...maybe can wait till next yr NATAS fair..see got offer o not..

ZhuZhu,

If you're planning for the Hilton Mix&Match, try to choose the newer Spa villa instead,if you can. It might cost more(I think) but it's only 3 months old. The other Water villa(on Rangali island) are the older batch(But I heard they are gonna renovate them soon).
Only the beach villas, deluxe beach villas and spa villa(Rangalifinolhu island) are 3 months old.

The most convenient villa to stay in is the beach Villa Room 201 and 202(when we're the first occupants :P), are the nearest to most of the facilities. Just something that you might want to know.

No lah... I just did a lot of research thru the internet b4 I go over to Maldives, which everyone can do as well. Probably I just spent more time only.

Hi SaraLEE,

Already sent my album link to you.
Enjoy!

I'll sent you some files, i.e excursion price list, water sports price etc for your reference.
What other information you would like to know? feel free to post it under this thread, or email me . OK

StarStar, Adel,

Looks like I really need to ask Hilton for referral fees liao....kekekeke.... :p

Hi Saralee

If u need hilton 2006 rates...i also have...can fwd to u..

Wu,
should tell hilton u be their part time advisor based in S'pore...

ZhuZhu,

Very Kind of you
IF can best, you go there and tell them( they know us lah, those 4 singaporean staying in the Sunset Villa at a very discount kia-su rate),
I already too "Pai-Say" to tell them myself... I'll be their referrals. Kekekeke...:p

I also sent some more Hilton info(similar to those I sent to the others) to your email. Kindly check out.

If you want to see video clip of the villas, I also have
kekeke...

HAve fun you guys!

CheerS!

Hi Wu, Zhuzhu,
Can both of u share with me the pics and the rates? Im planning to go Maldives in 2006 as well. But hubby abit worried abt the expenses so me goto to research for good bargains.

Can I check if the difference betw the std water villas, deluxe, superior villas are really worth the price difference? Basically my hubby & I are more focus on enjoying the activities and the accomodation is secondary. Of cos' if the price is right, i wldn't mind indulging ourselves abit cos' the sunset villas look so luxurious & romantic :D

Hello Iggy,

Hahaha..... my advice to u is forget about the water villas. You can rather save lots of money and spent it on other stuff like the water sports or excursion

You can visit Hilton website for the rates quote for different dates. DIY

example:- Jan price for beach villas can be as high as USD550. May, it'll cost only USD200.

Please provide your email address, will sent you the photos.

Wu

Hi Iggy
I haven been to maldives yet...just surfing around...the sunset villa is luxurious..but only Wu had the luxury of enjoying it at a GREAT discount...give u a rough idea..i remember the sunset villa cost US$3000+ per nite...so u know how luxurious it is lor..

Wu,
If i see any more of ur pics..i think my room is going to be flooded with my drool...

ZhuZhu,

I also drool like mad when someone sent me a powerpoint regarding the Sunset villas(I still keep it), and thats 2 years back where I'm still planning for a 7D6N trip to Redang(Whats Redang when compare to Maldives... :p). Then Miracles happenned, and don't worried, everyone will have their own miracles..... God is fare one lah.

Don't worried, once you're there, a trick is asked the staff(Ali or Mathai who take cares of the 2 Sunset Water Villas) there to let you visit the Sunset Water Villa. If it's not occupied during that period, Hehehhe... you got the chance liao. Just sound and looked interested, then when they asked you want to upgrade, be Kia-su abit, cut cut cut to a price you want, start from USD500.
It's likely they'll let you have it below USD1000. It's depends on your neg. skills liao.

Starstar,

Sure... a team is more efficient isn't it? Hey, after you come back from Perth, and later part Tahiti hor, we can start a small agency liao...kekekee.... At least we are specialise in Maldives and Tahiti.

Then I've been to Malaysia island such as Pulau Redang, tioman, Aur, Dayang, Permangil etc...
Last time I always plan trip for my company to these island, and also island hopping/fishing trip as well.
Our iternary should be pretty complete, at least for beach resort... :P

How?
Kekekee... Serious?? :p

hi zhuzhu,
my email is [email protected].

Wu,
I really agree with the rest that it's really a huge bargain to be able to stay in a variety of villas, esp the sunset villa. guess i really have to settle for less due to budget..abit sad

Hi Iggy
I had sent the file to u already..by the way, when r u planning to go...i decided to go during the low seasons...its way way cheaper than..maybe will also have a cheaper airfares..