Maldives

ryo

Hi rahrah,

Diverting additional resources/cash to other things are more worth it.
If u only take 2 meals aday, then it make more sense to just go with half-board... then hor, even if u opt for special dinner, they wouldn't return u the buffet dinner in monetary terms, it's actually a waste....talk to your MIL... I think she will be shock to hear plain drinkable water in the restaurant will cost u USD10++. Just assure her that these titbits that u are bringing are for supplementary eating only, will not replace a proper meals.

I think it's ok lah. Just a heads up for you regarding what happened to Filitheyo. I think it's also politically motivated move. Just hope that this will not affect staff morale... and in turns affect the service level. Filitheyo is a beautiful island with no nearby resort. This definitely will not change!

DOn't worry too much.
IF you still stick with Filitheyo, just make sure that you'll monitor the outcome by the Maldivian Ministry of finance. I think the most will be the change of ownership.

missyyee

Hi Wu, definitely not lengthy but very informative.
I've briefly discuss with my partner on Maldives. To my dismay, he decided to postpone our wedding as we need to save up more for our flat which will be arriving next year too.

BUT, I'm so determined to go Maldives. After spending a night going through the resorts, there's almost no way I can go back to other alternatives (Bali, Phuket etc). Haha!

So looking for cheaper alternatives.
I've came across this Mirihi Resort. It looks pretty good and prices are relatively cheap. Any good reviews on it?

ryo

Hi MissyYee,

Hahah.. thanks... glad that u find it informative.

Yeah.. it happened to all couples nowadays. Housing prices is getting really ridiculous, like a runaway train. Hate it.

Alternative to Maldives is almost non, becos it's so unique. Bali, phuket, krabi probably don't even come close in terms of the island cast away feelings. But in terms of accommodation wise, they are very good quality ones in Bali and phuket as well.

ah... Mirihi.... That's my favorite 4 stars resort in Maldives. I've been there in 2006, July. Simply loves the beauty!!! No frills resort yet classy.

It's not exactly cheaper as compare to those I've listed earlier. Beach villa cost USD370++ and Water villa cost USD400++ per nite. You'll still have to add on seaplane transfer of about USD400 per pax. For a 4 nites stay, it'll cost you about S$3.3k. I think they do have free upgrade from bed breakfast > half board option.

I'll always recommend this little resort due to the following reason:-
1)only 36 rooms.... literally no crowd.
2)Super fine white sand along some of the sand bank
3)superb house reefs just feets away from the shore, fill with all sorts of fishes
4)Relatively cheap food, spa and excursion rates as compare with other resorts
5)Some water villa able to view sunrise n sunset right at the balcony.

Check out some of the pics that I'd took during my trip.

http://ryonpepper.multiply.com/photos/album/8/Maldives_2006_Mirihi_Resort

Check out Mirihi's own website. THere's a virtual tour option, click it and take alook of the entire resort.

http://www.mirihi.com/photos.html

Join my facebook page called:- Fly-me-to-Maldives
It's another alternative page to see some travelers photo and ask for opinion.

Have fun!!

missyyee

Thanks Wu for recommending me to your FB page! Browsed through and made me yearn for Maldives more! ;P And your photos are wonderful.

I may need your comments on this resort - Kurumba Maldives. I'm looking into few of their packages

1.) Island Romance
(~ S$2.2K for 4N with boat transfers, daily breakfast, Sunset/Dolphin Cruise, Sounds Of The Sea dining experience and USD50 spa voucher which I doubt I'll be using. ;P)

2.) Honeymoon Package
(~ S$2.0K for 4N with boat transfer, daily breakfast, One romantic candle light dinner, One champagne breakfast, 60 minute Spa treatment, Sunset Cocktail session from 1700 hrs - 1900 hrs)

3.) Kuramba Adventure
(~ S$2.3K for 4N with boat transfer, daily breakfast and dinner, Free usage of snorkel fins and masks, One Sunset/Dolphin cruise , Windsurfing lessons, Catamaran ride, Night snorkeling adventure)

Frankly, I very much prefer Kuramba Adventure cos more activities. ;P

And I guess SQ tix should be under SGD2K for both. So everything summed up to be under 5K. Perhaps we need another 1 to 1.5K if we wanna pamper ourselves on expensive dinners and excursions.

What do you guys think? any advices/suggestions?

ryo

Hi MissyYee,

Pictures only tells a 2Dimensional point of view... but while u are there... its 3D!!

Hmmm.... Kurumba. My opinion on Kurumba is as followed. It's one of the 1st resort opened in the year 1972, and just stone throw away from the Male international airport. I would consider this as a Mass market resort and in such a small island, it contains about 180 rooms. Though the rooms are pretty new(probably after rounds of upgrading), I'm still concern about the crowd. No doubt it is as beautiful as many island resort. I hate the proximity of the island to the international airport as many had complained about the noise level whereby jumbo jets(all nite long) landing and taking off, not forgetting the seaplanes, and other speedboat, ship passing by. Personally I've not been there but these are some of the comments from tourist. Another thing I hate is the breakwater that surround the island... and as a pretty experience snorkeler, I cannot venture out far into the house reefs.

To me... MAldives experience should be kind of castaway experience, don't want to see too many islands, boat, planes around but those resort near to the airport, it's not possible.
That's my personal opinion and I'm sure those who went might disagree with me. There are people that are not bother by these thingy and Kurumba is still a highly rated resort... Different ppl have different requirements. For me, I just need some place quiet, basically do nothing.

Checkout the link below and you'll see how far is Kurumba away from the airport.
http://www.mal-dives.com/maldives/holidays/resorts/maldives_resort_location_map.php

However, if you're really keen on Kurumba, the package does looks tempting with all the so call freebies thrown in. You'll still will not go wrong in choosing Kurumba.

You can also check out Clubmed kani Maldives, Sheraton fullmoon Maldives which is further away from airport. All inclusive plan for clubmed and they too have alot of water sports and whole range of activities. These are the alternative to Kurumba.

rahrah

Hi Wu,

Haha. That is why she asked us to sign up for the all inclusive meal plan! She said food and drinks expensive, and she does not want us to bring food over!

Thanks for the assurance Wu!
Just talked to HTB regarding the news... He doesnt feel safe about it... we are thinking of changing to vilureef, but then impex had already confirmed my booking by the time I checked. Just emailed them to see if can change, but don't know if need to pay any additional charges and if they considered that as cancellation. I dont want to spend money like that!
feel sad now.

ryo

Hi rahrah...
Hahaha... Maybe ur MIL find my argument a bit contradicting. U'll not get starved by going just half board or even bed breakfast. But it's most likely a waste of money to go all inclusive if u don't go for the free flow liqour and eat alot of food. Anyway while u are there.. You'll be able to judge for yourself. ;) what I did is to calculate and show u how u can save money and divert this money to perhaps another nite stay in Maldives which I think make more sense.. ;) but still alot of ppl are still happy with all inclusive... It's basically worry free. ;)

I'm not sure what are the charges involve regarding change of resort. But u can address this issue to them regarding filitheyo issue. It's unlikely that the Maldivian govt will allow make the resort close. Transitioning between owners are usually not affecting the operating. Perhaps minor things... Unless the new owner wants to do a refurbishment or Reno on the resort.

rahrah

Hi Wu,

Haha. I personally will prefer the half board too. Really can save quite abit of money lor. Haha. But well... I need to try harder. Hee.

Okie. Thanks Wu!
Do you let me know if you hear any news about Filitheyo. Will try and keep myself updated too. I think my HTB and myself are just worried about the money that we are going to pay, and if anything happens to the resort, we will lose the money plus the accommodation. Plus many unhappy people. Money is an issue for us, so very worrying.. plus all the preparations is just stressing up alittle.
Hopefully the resort will turn out to be okie! But really appreciate your help alot, Wu!

ryo

Hi rahrah,

Don't worry... everything will be fine. Even if something unexpected happened to the resort, Impex should honor you a switch in the resort. Do drop them a mail to inquire such scenario.. (just like overbooking issue).
Alternatively, also do drop Filitheyo resort direct to ask about the issue. Have them assure you in writing that if anything does happened, will there be a refund or transfer to any other sister resort. They need to give u a option.

Don't be stress, you'll be fine. If u need any help, just let me know. I can write to impex manager.

missyyee

Hi Wu,

Thanks for the advice and experiences!
I agree with you with regards to location. Looks like more homework for me! It's really tough to work around a tight budget. My friends told me to simply go somewhere nearer like Bali where I can afford to spend more. But I die die also have to go Maldives (even if I have to eat instant noodles there everyday).

And you were right - playing around my budget really does give me an advantage. I too feel that since I'm already there, may as well get the experience of riding on a seaplane. :p And I realized I need a place with a good reef for snorkeling and kayaking (partner loves to canoe).

So based on ur suggestions, I did some work on Mirihi and Vilu Reef...

Mirihi - 2N Beach Villa + 2N Water Villa + Return seaplane transfer = ~S$3K.

Vilu Reef - 2N Garden Villa + 2N Honeymoon Water Villa + Return seaplane transfer = ~S$2.5K

Any stuff I should look out for?

ryo

Hi MissyYee,

You're doing great liao... for my very 1st trip I just Chiong, never think much. Luckily I choose a right choice and during that time, year 2005, the rate is simply so low, even cheaper than Malaysia resort, and SQ flight only cost S$498 nett (4 to go rate).

Nah... I agree fully with u.... hahaha.... I'll eat cup noodles I also rather choose MAldives. Bali can wait. :p
My 1st trip there infact for the 1st 3 days we survive on noodles and other food we brought there. After 3 days, we already feel sick of eating it. Thus, control your spending there, especially on food will also do the trick. 70-80% full is really good liao. Like what I told u before, a pizza that cost USD20-30 is good enuff for 2 pax. 70% full. Not really that expensive. Most food are like those in local hotel one... only thing is it is in USD.

YEs indeed. For seaplane ride, it's quite exciting for 1st timer. I've took it 3times now and still feel excited about it. Best time to take a seaplane is about noon time, so take u can see the beauty of the MAldives atoll(due to the lightning condition when the sun is up). Early morning flight would not be that nice. It'll all depends on the lightning condition.

Mirihi has one of the best house reef in Maldives. You can see from their virtual tour in the Mirihi website. Especially around the dive jetty area, and surrounding the water villas. Just walk down your water villa and there it is... house reef and fishes.

BEst of all is, Mirihi non motorized seasports like the canoe are FOC. U can canoe all day long. Windsurfing and catamarans are also free... but not sure whether they'll need u folks to have license.

Mirihi's water villa and beach villa are off the same size and design. The things I don't like about the beach villa is the facing... it's facing the water villa and the sand bank there is covered with shell and dead corals. I would advise to stay in the water villa throughout. It's only USD30 more. I always tell myself.. start saving now... for the difference in rates.

For Mirihi, don't expect much on luxury stuff like bath tub, TV, swimming pool, exotic food.... there's nothing fancy about it. But it's the beauty of the resort, quietness that will make people go back again n again. If your budget allows... I suggest extending your stay. I was there for 8 nites and wish I can stay longer... maybe becos I'm a person who can absolutely do nothing and just sit by the balcony for hours.
There are ppl who went there for weeks...2-3weeks.

For the 2 resorts that you've chosen here, it's always on my list to visit. At first is Vilu reef.. it used to be cost around USD100 per nite during 2005. I choose Conrad instead becos of huge discount but return to Mirihi the next year.

Other stuff u need to consider... I've to repeat it again becos not many 1st timer will consider that.
Seaplane transfer resort you'll need to know that seaplane don't fly at night. Thus if you take the SQ morning flight, u will be transfer to resort immediately. However, by the time u reach the Resort it might be already 2-3pm. More than half day gone. If u choose a SQ nite flight, you need to stay overnite either at the airport hotel(super ex - USD200-300), or stay at a Male hotel(cheaper but need dhoni boat transfer.....pretty convenient and straight forward though). Seaplane can fly as early as 7am. I ever check out from MAle overnite hotel at 5am, took a dhoni back to airport, and fly out at about 7am+. reach resort at about 8am+. More time at the resort.

For the last day, you'll have to be careful also. SQ return noon flight, you might need to check out so early that some resort actually pack breakfast for you to eat. If you can choose a SQ return nite flight(even if u request for late check out), cons is a lot of waiting and you'll only reach SGP the next day at 7am.

Maldives is a pretty straight forward place... went there once and the following will be easy.

Digest these little info here.... later on I'll go through with you some other tricks about bringing your own food, and also when u reach Male airport, what should u look out for, ie. U cannot find anyone picking u up at the airport,especially at nite flight.

missyyee

Hi Wu,

Really grateful to you for all the above.

Not sure if my partner minds the hassle of taking a dhoni and staying at Males cos like I mentioned before, he's a straightforward kinda person. So I intend to get the SQ morning flight and SQ night return flight. Hoping the resort will allow late check out then. We don't mind the waiting at the airport (as long there's food), cos we almost do that in every holiday. Maybe still honeymoon period.

I don't mind not having atas stuff like a pool villa or whatsoever. As long it's clean and tidy. Of course, with happy staff.
Anyway, since we are there, why cope up in the room? We should be out in the waters, under the scorching sun!

Not sure if I want to look around more cos there's simply too many resorts in Maldives. *sigh* it's difficult for us to spend more days due to budget. Not helping with the completion of flat next year. *boo*

ryo

HI MissyYee,

No worries... glad to help... I wish I can go back soon also.
Then I think you have found a good travel schedule liao. Morning flight there plus nite flight back. Very neutral choice.

errrr..... staff wise(especially those waiter) some might show grumpy face. You need to show your interest in MAldives and talk to them and most of them will brighten up.

Other than that, who cares..... it's the Sun,Sea and sand that you're there for...

Still have time to look around lah... but I almost can give u assurance. It's unlikely that you'll find such a resort, a Gem in fact... with only 36 rooms and superb house reef, classy unique resort, Water villa that can see both sunrise n sunset.... oh man I does sounds like the resort owner or staff.... Hahaha...

Ya.. totally understand..not easy to folk out the budget. For me worse.. HM I can only go Australia perth. Maldives is out of my budget that time. Take ur time settle ur house.. you can visit MAldives 2nd time, 3rd time in the near future.

ryo

Not been to Vilu reef but I think it's a pretty good resort. Much further away by seaplane ride, thus seaplane might cost a little more. Go straight for the water villa too if u want. IT too got really nice sand bank but not sure about the house reef. Based on photos, they got some house reef on one side of the water villa and near the other tip of the island.

Resort got about 100 rooms, still not too bad. There's a small swimming pool, probably more facilities, seasports including glassbottom boat ride etc..
There's TV and bathtub/jaccuzi in the HM water villa rooms too.

I dun like the beach villa dated interior .. tiles on the floor... hey, it's Maldives, should be wooden floor! Ha.
I don't like the reception area as well.... looks messy and dated and don't have those classy feelings.

Other than that, I don't have much comment on it. Rates is definitely more favorable, and I don't think you'll not go wrong with this resort as well.. I almost wanna to go there, and I'm sure this is still on my list.

rahrah

Hi Wu,

Yep yep.
and we can change our resort! Discussed with my HTB, and he feels that it is better to change. Feels more assured this way. Okie. Will let you know. Maldives should employ you as their spokesperson! Hee.
Thanks for your advise and assurance!

missyyee

Rahrah, that is good news! In this case, ur hubby and u can totally relax and enjoy the trip! When will you be traveling?

Wu, looks like my partner and I are sold to Mirihi! I've actually mass e-mailed a few resorts for quotes and so far, Mirihi is the ONLY resort which replied promptly, sending me the lists of pricings etc. We have more or less decided on taking the Water Villa for 4N so as to enjoy a free upgrade from BB to HB.

But I haven't make any reservations yet cos still a long way to next June. When will be the best time to get the air tickets so I can confirm my booking with Mirihi? I hope I'm not being kiasu here. =P

ryo

Hi rahrah,

Good for u both.
Spending so much money.. all we want is a relaxing, stress free holiday!
No problem, glad to help out... always.

Hi MissyYee,

Hahha... I'm pretty successful in selling Mirihi to people, becos I wanna them to enjoy a truly unique resort that I'd went.
Yes, The reservation team in Mirihi is one of the best I'd ever encounter in Maldives. Very prompt, especially the Manager there name Anthony. I also knew a receptionist there, and still had contact with him thru facebook.

June is a long way to go.... for SQ flight they always have discount around the whole year, likely quarterly. For traveling during June, likely they'll have promo during around March time frame.

Perhaps u can book the resort first and wait for the promo from SQ. So far the best promo from Mirihi is only meals upgrade, never saw any free nite's offer.

Still got time lah...

bewygirl

i will be going to maldives Kani island with club med in sep. anybody knows if they provide drinking water or if the water from tap is drinkable?

i read on the web saying water is not provided and we need to buy them. thanks.

ryo

Hi May,

As far as I know, Clubmed Kani Maldives should be a all inclusive resort. That means all meals + all drinks and liquor.
Normally they'll have at least 2 bottles of water in the room, replenish daily, or even twice a day.

Have lots of fun there!

shanney

hi, haven gotten a chance to read the whole thread yet.

but offhand can anyone tell me which resort has a pool in the villa itself?

thinking of going for honeymoon there.

ryo

Hi Shanney,

Currently in the Maldives, it's getting quite common to have a pool(plunge pool) in higher end rooms in a resort. I would say more than 1/2 of the resorts in Maldives do have villas that comes with pool. However, its' getting common for newer resorts to includes pool across all rooms category.

To name a few 5 stars resort:- Shangri-la Villingili , Huvafenfushi, Anantara Kihavah, Angsana Velavaru in ocean villa, W Retreat & Spa, Conrad, Coco palm bodu hithi, Constance
halaveli, four season kudaa Huraa & Landaa Giraavaru, Island hideaway Dhonakulhi,Park Hyatt, Zitali Kuda funafaru & Dholhiyadhoo and The Regent Maldives.

Check out these resorts, high quality and even with pool in their low end villas.

ryo

Hi Shanney,

Perhaps you can roughly let me know your budget and the intended length of stay... Will see which resort would fit in. MOst important of all, is when are you intending to go, as rates will doubled during year end for certain resorts.

shanney

Hi Wu, my budget is prolly about $7k for 2 of us including airtix?

i want a water villa with pool, for 13 Nov - 19 Nov.. wonder if its do-able..

ryo

Hi Shanney,

November is consider shoulder or peak period. did a rough calculation for you, excluding SQ airtix S$2048 for 2 return during intended date of departure. (Did a check on SQ rates, there are certain departure date around your date, 1 day earlier/later, rates is S$1498, a S$600 off). Do check out SQ website.
Minus of the Airtix, you are left with about S$5K or US$4K. That's not enough for a 6 nites stay in a water villa with pool. The best option for you is either you reduce the number of nites stay, or do a split room stay(non pool plus pool) or simple choose a standard water villa or even a beach villa.

If this is your 1st trip there to Maldives, I would suggest you to choose a room without pool(to save cost), and just simply enjoy the beauty of Maldives which many of us here did too.
Some might even argue that it's not necessary to have a pool in room as you've got the entire sea as a pool. Indeed, the sea there is as clear as a swimming pool.

The nearest one I could find for u is Vilureef water villa with pool, 5 nites stay, halfboard, seaplane transfer with a nett price of US$3886(S$. If u dept from SGP on 13th Nov and back on the 18th Nov, the SQ rates is S$1498. Thus effectively you'll still have about S$600 for your spending(from the S$7k budget).

The other one worth taking a look is Coco Palm Bodu Hithi Water villa(pool) at US$3985(abt S$5K) for 4 nites, bed and breakfast only with speedboat transfer. However SQ rates more ex.

Coco Palm Bodu hithi is a pretty good resort(been there just 2 mths ago), and if you were to choose say 5 nites Island villa with pool(pretty big pool that u can swim) stay from 15Nov~ 20Nov, SQ rate is S$1498, 5 nites room rates is US$4.2k(S$5.25k) for bed breakfast, speedboat transfer for 2, you're still under S$7k budget. However bear in mind you'll still need to spent on things like food, excursion or spa.

shanney

Hi Wu,

thanks for all the information! been looking thru all the various resorts the past week. still cant decide though lol.

was thinking of going from 15 nov - 20 nov now, coz the airtix is abt $1650.

and i want a ocean villa with pool. so now looking at sheraton full moon.

are there any resorts you would recommend with speed boat transfer instead of seaplane?

ryo

Hi Shanney,

It's always the case for 1st time traveler as there are so many nice resort around.

Sheraton Fullmoon Ocean villa is actually a beach villa. The only water villa with pool in Sheraton fullmoon is the water suite that will cost a bomb, probably not worth that kind of money.

Sheraton full moon used to be a mass market resort, but it's getting better ever since it's was took over by starwood group(i.e price went up and perhaps the kind of tourist quality also improve). There's certain similarity between Sheraton fullmoon and W-resort(it's sister resort), in terms of quality and image. The only concern I have is the proximity of the resort to airport, only about 8km away, and might have some "noise" issue from those planes landing/departing. Another concern is it's size with over 150 rooms.

The other resorts near Male, with water villa that comes with pool are probably out of your comfort zone, such as Taj exotica, Four Seasons Kuda Huraa, Huvafenfushi, O&O Reethi Rah. These I rather go during low season for the cheaper rates.

The closes one you can take a look is Coco Palm Bodu Hithi water villa with pool,40mins speed boat transfer. It'll cost about USD4800 nett for 5 nites, BB plus transfer. It's a quality resort with pretty good size Room, with plunge pool.

There are more resort away from airport,needed seaplane transfer, that comes with water villa with pool.

you can check out the proximity of a resort to airport using this map below:-

http://www.mal-dives.com/maldives/holidays/resorts/maldives_resort_location_map.php

Regards.

shanney

hi Wu, the sheraton room i was looking at is the ocean villa at US$750 a night..

coco palms seems more ex.. maybe have to take vilureef liao..

the 2 in my KIV list are Sheraton fullmoon (ocean villa) and vilureef (water villa with pool)

ryo

Hi Shanney,

Yaa.. just to make sure you know the Sheraton Ocean villa is by the beach and not over the water. I wonder why they call it the Ocean villa.

The Sheraton Ocean villa indeed has very good size and spacious. IT's consider a good quality room. Don't forget to to add USD8 per pax per day(Bed tax) plus 3.5% TGST and 10% service charge for the room. These taxes are really a pain...as the TGST will increase to 6% in 2012 and 8% in 2013.

Now you are left with 2 choices.... choose wisely. In my opinion both got pros and cons.
Vilu reef u can enjoy water villa stay, enjoy seaplane ride, and half board and even pay less... but Sheraton fullmoon Ocean villas offer much better room at a slightly higher price. Do check out whether they offer breakfast included in the rates. Else, that's another spending.

shanney

OH GOSH! i didnt realise the ocean villa is on the beach. it looks damn good though!

now i have to rethink my choice again........

ryo

Hi Shanney,

Don't remember anyone here had been to Olhuveli. You can check reviews out in the tripadvisor.
Olhuveli used to be the sister resort of Vilureef. I'm not sure whether they still are. Situated at the Southern side of South Male Atoll.. it's consider a rather big resort with all kinds of facilities.
However, from pics, they do have very nice beachfront and sand banks, not so much of house reef though. No doubt... these is another beautiful island!
You've already booked thru agodo isn't it?
Not sure about the rate, but so far, I know Agoda's rate is relatively higher as compare to some other MAldivian agent(except for Hilton Irufushi).

shanney

Hi Wu, so far no bad reviews on Olhuveli.

was deciding btw Vilureef and Olhuveli, htb prefer closer to airport coz easier to evacuate??? in case of emergencies (LOL).

agoda is still cheaper than bookin from the site direct (which i wanted to do). what other maldivian agents are there?

ryo

Hi Shanney,

Yes... so far reviews are ok.

Faint... evacuation... haaa.. your hubby thinks like me. I always don't want to take chances too. i.e. Stick with SQ than other airline. Remember to get a good insurance plan as well, for protection.
Don't worry, just make sure u 2 stick together all the time. Remember to lock your door in the nite.
You'll be fine lah, just take extra care in whatever u do over there.

Agodo's rate only includes breakfast, and beware their additional charges like taxes, are not included in their main page rates. Check out Impex travel, www.mal-dives.com
I used them for my past 3 trips to Maldives. A quick check, their rates even slightly cheaper than Agoda, and it came with half board. Meaning dinner buffet is inclusive. That shld work out to be at least USD100++ saving per nite.

Just that their booking system is not so advance like Agoda. You need to email your details, such as Passport, credit card for booking.

lostsoul

Hi Wu

Did not log in for a while, and i see that the thread has moved relatively fast...

Many thanks for all the info posted previously.... I've finally booked and confirmed my reservation with Zitahli in Nov... cant wait to fly there now....

hopefully everything will turn out fine... Nw jus need to arrange for our air tics, cos i'm not flying into Male frm SG...

Btw, any nice and affordable hotels in Male to recommend? Our flight to Male is expected to land ard 12-2pm, so we are thinking of staying 1 night at Male and hang around the capital first, before flying into zitahli the next day.... What's your take??

ryo

Wow!! Congrats!!

Which Zitahli resort are u going? Should be Kuda-Funafaru right?

Yes indeed. That's is my advice for everyone who travel by seaplne....overnite stay in MAle to maximised your stay in the resort. It's Best since your international flight will reach only in the afternoon. Thus if u are to fly straight to Zitahli, by the time you reach there, it should be already 6pm.(inclusive of the time zone, likely Zitahli is +1hour of Male's time).

Ok. The only nice hotel I can think off is the new traders hotel which will cost a bomb, around USD200++ per nite. Agoda is selling at S$338++. Too ex lah...PRobably not worth it. I might as well stay 1 nite in the nearest cheapest resort for a nite.

I've stayed 3 times at Hotel Relax inn, just 3mins walk from the Male Boat Jetty. It's convenient and a no frills hotel. nothing to shout about and cheapest room cost only USD88++ (Room only) a nite.

Other alternative are Kam and Mookai hotel, probably the same rates, and just stone throw away from Relax inn.

If you want slightly better one, it'll be Nasandhuru Palace hotel... this is just 1 min walk from the Male Jetty.

My advise is try to choose these hotel near to the jetty. DOn't choose those in the city centre or far away. Taking taxi is a hussle... have bad experience. Some taxi driver only accept US Dollars and always tell u they don't have change. Fed up. It's possible to walk the entire capital island if you want, since it's so small, but dragging luggage will be difficult. Stick close to each other while u are in Male, as it's not 100% safe over there.... best if u can request for a guide from Hotel, or from your tour agent.

Hey lostsoul... do share with us your photos when u are back. I almost wanted to go Zitahli during my previous trip. Try to find my group in FB again will u.
>>> Fly-me-to-Maldives. So far we have about 7-8 resorts photo sharing by our group members. Quite fun to have more resort photos as time goes by. Cheers!

lostsoul

thanks thanks....

yah should be Kuda-Funafaru..

I have the same thinking as well... rather than waste 1 day by flying directly to the resort..

Hmm.. no need so atas lar... some budget one will do.... actually, i was also looking at Relax Inn... many good reviews on it, and i guess we jus need a room to put our stuff and to sleep before the seaplane flight the next day..

Male is not 100% safe?? hmm... i always thought Maldives being such a nice place to holiday at, the capital shd be nice with friendly pple as well... thanks for the advice.. will try to request for guide from the hotel when im there since i book almost everything myself directly... anyway good website to book relax inn?? keke

for the FB grp, i will try search for it again.... cheers..

ryo

Hi Lostsoul,

Hahaha... then Relax inn, Mookai or Kam hotel will do. If I can remember, only relax inn got their own website booking. I always book from their website, as i remember it's cheaper. Else u can check out Agoda.

Relax inn is really ok only. Good review perhaps these ppl are too tired after a nite flight. Haa.
Yes, it's basically a place for u to sleep, bath and put all ur stuff. Nothing fancy.
Below is their webby.

http://www.hotelrelaxinn.com/index.htm

Maldives people are generally friendly but there are underlying issue. Drugs is pretty common among young folks, and months back a riot. A few years back a small roadside bomb exploded... just stay vigilant. Maldives resort are much safer than Male, that's for sure. But do take extra care as well.... as recently a couple of resorts are being robbed by some Maldivian. They sneak onto the island resort by boat at nite and rob the reception.
Not to scare u further...... just be extra careful will do.

oh another thing... if u can, request for the earliest seaplane flight to the resort. Thus more time spent over there.. but prepare to wake up very early and move off to the seaplane lounge by 5am. however also do take note, seaplane timing will only be make known to you 1 day b4 your arrival date, likely when u reach Maldives.

dreayh

hi wu! its me again!! So, HTB and I will 99% be changing our AD to either July or August (yay!), but I read from a travel book that August is the peak period for Maldives travel, so every resort will be crowded and higher rates. Is that true?

ryo

Hi Andrea,

Welcome back.
August as far as i know should be just start of shoulder period. Low period is from Mid May ~ Mid July(based on the rates... cheapest). However things might have also change becos of the fast growing market, i.e. China. They contributes the largest percentage tourism growth this 2 years.

August shld be the second cheapest period to go, but still, it can cost up to 1.5X the rates of low period. However, I've been observing that some resort keep low season rates till end Oct, at least for this year though....

Wow... so you have a long time to plan for both your AD and trip. !! Finalizing on any resort yet? kekeke.... :p

dreayh

HI Wu,

11 months!! Gah! Anyways, I think we'll go for Veligandu, FB for 6 nights, heh. When would be a good time to start booking?

ryo

Hi Andrea,

hmmm... quite a long period away...

To be frank, think u can book anytime(so long as when their rates is out and open for booking) if the rates u think its favorable. i.e USD low. But we don't know how USD will go... Some speculate that it'll go below 1.2.
Another thing is some resort actually will have free nites or rates cut last min towards your travel date. IT all depends on the occupancy rate as well. My last trip to Coco palm, they have a last min rates reduction(1mth b4 my trip), and our SIL bought the same package as us, for USD600 less for a 7 nites stay.

Sometimes, Luck plays apart.

lostsoul

Hi Wu,

Din managed to log in here for a few days... damn bz... anyway, we are still looking at 1 night accommodation in Male itself... Relax Inn really looks like a simple and ok hotel... think the plus point is the location... Anyway, checked out its website rates, and also agoda rates... correct me if im wrong, but agoda rates seems to be higher leh... with no bf as well...

any comments on boutique inn?? price on par with relax inn in agoda leh...

Also need to seek ur advice on this... have u been on any moonlight cruise? this activity seems to be the most ex... is it worth it to go?? keke

ryo

Hi Lostsoul,

Yes indeed. The best part is it's proximity to the jetty. U can even see the relax inn neon light when u transfer from Airport island to Male island. I think just book straight from the relax inn website. I've done that twice and it's cheaper. However, just do remember to sent an email to them asking for confirmation booking, and bring this email in prints while u are there. You shld also do the same thing for the resort booking.

boutique inn only have about 10 over rooms and it's at the city centre. I'm sure u don't wanna to walk or take a cab at nite to that hotel. Not convenient at all.

Wow.... moonlight cruise.how much it cost? I guess it'll be in the middle of the night and you'll literally see nothing. Might as well go for nite fishing. Their rates should be quite close or even cheaper. Catch a fish and ask the restaurant to cook for u. It shld be FOC for the cooking... but off cos u need to order other things.
For cruises, reckon that sunset cruise is still the best.... hopefully there's a sunset without cloud. See if they have a sunset cruise on yatch. It'll be a good experience. Dhoni is a bit weird but some resort uses a dhono. Climb to the second deck(roof) if u can. More fun!

crusoe

Hi Wu,

I've been doing some browsing on & off on this thread. Defn picked up some useful tips. Me & my fiance are planning to pick Maldives for our HM as well. Very exciting!

Due to work commitments and other factors, we are planning to travel early May next yr. Is this considered part of the low season? I see from yr post that low season starts from mid May. I guess prices before that should start coming down. We are only considering 5nites in the resort so for better weather, considering early May.

Budgeting ard 7K for the trip. Any suggestions of resort? My other half prefers a quiet, resort feel & water villa. Sea plane ride is a bonus. Not sure if we are asking for too much with our budget...hehe

Will it be too early if we start booking flight & resort now? Does SIA have any promotion for that route....hmm, decision,decisions!

ryo

Hi Lost,

Excited for you folks too... traveling to Maldives is always exciting, especially HM.

Hmmm.... as far as I know Most resort will drop their rates from mid MAy(15th) onwards. Before and after that, the rates can be 1.5x the low season rates. Thus if u can try to go after May, as you can save few hundreds to even thousands of dollars for the same thing.

Maldives weather is rather unpredictable. ppl always say June/July period is but whenever I go, I'll sure have a nice Tan. Passing shower is pretty normal. Some ppl was even caught in a rain, storm during dry season for days. The trick is to lengthen your stay and at the same time not to blow your budget.

Generally speaking most resorts are quiet during low season... other tends to be abit rowdy, especially during meals time. You'll see more ppl during meals time for sure.

You can do your budgeting in this way. Just factor in the fix cost(such as SQ flights, seaplane/speedboat.... a rough one even though it fluctuated) and you'll get the amount left to select a resort/room. SQ flights just take the higher end of S$1k per pax return. Seaplane take the higher end as well, of USD400 per pax return. Thus you're left with about S$4,000 for the resort stay, inclusive of meals, rooms and excursion/spa. That translate to about S$800(USD615) per nite, for 5 nites(Based on the USD FX rates of 1.3)

It's a rather healthy budget for low season.

If u want a resort that is quiet, and to see the real Maldives(not too commercialized) and reasonable water villa, I'll always recommend Mirihi Resort. A small 36 rooms resort. Really lay back, quiet, kampong kind of feeling resort. It got one of the nicest house reef, sand bank and well maintain resort. Fine white sand spreading across the reception, bar and restaurant floor. Water villa are design and situated for privacy, not to mention there are a stretch of water villa that was able to see both Sunset/sunrise. House reefs and fishes are just stone throw away from the balcony. Rates is also very reasonable and probably one of the lowest, be it room rates, meals, Spa and excursion. Free non-motorised sea sports are available too.

The other resort u can also take a look are Zitahli kuda funafaru. It got a more upmarket feel, but with only 50 rooms, it should fit into your needs. There're also water villas that comes with plunge pools. For this resort, rates will be slightly higher but you can opt for a split rooms stay to lower your cost, as in staying in both beach and water villa to enjoy the best of both worlds.

I reckon you still got time to book, or you can start enquire for their rates. Resort direct rates will not change much but agents do have last min discount. SQ flight so far do have frequent discount along the way, especially during low season. IT can goes as low as S$600 per pax. The highest I see for economy class is about S$1.3-1.4k.
Hopefully the USD dollars will not rise any further, as recently it has rebounce from the low of 1.2 to today, 1.28. A 6% increment over 2weeks.

Do join my FB group,>> Fly-me-to-Maldives. We got a bunch of Maldives lover there, and you can seek for more opinions and view a range of resort that those guys had been to.

Don't worry too much... as we goes alone, I'll try my best to help you choose a dream resort stay.
Any other question u can just shoot!

crusoe

Hi Wu,

Thanks for the reply, really appreciate it.

Looks like weather can go either way, so as you say, the longer we spend our time there, the higher our probability of enjoying sun, sand & sea. Will try to plan for after mid May to stretch the budget.

I've heard of Mirihi from your previous posts. Both me & my fiance love the no-frills getaway feel that it offers. hmm...Zitahli...will do some research on it.

Would you recommend getting the rates directly from the resort or working through an agent...like Impex.