Malacca

hi cute koala,

oh i must have been mistaken then.. the fort is central in the tourist area mah

hi cute koala,

ahhaha! no worries lah.. cos i did not think of the malacca town as in the town area (the entrance area). i was thinking the town as in the area near jonker street

Thanks for the info.
Was hoping that we wont be bored enuff to come out of the water world theme area's side... hehehe..

guazi

I had recently bought 3 tickets to Malacca (gunung raya coach) on 23 october 2006(monday), 8.30am. Due to unforseen circumstances, i have to cancel my trip. I'm willing to let go the 3 coach tickets at discounted price, price negotible. Pls let me know if you are interested. Thanks! [email protected]

iceqoo

Can anyone advise how to drive from Spore to Malacca? We'll be taking the causeway link. Anyone can give driving directions from JB to Malacca, best if can advise how to drive to Equatorial hotel as we'll be staying there?

Many thanks.

tortoise

Hi angelsaints,

It's pretty easy to go to malacca.

From causeway link, there will be signs for u to go up to the highway to get to Malacca.
Just exit at Bandsar Melaka

Once exit, u will see the toll... just follow the signs that state "Pasat Bandaraya" (which means CITY)....
And then, u just follow the signs that state "Bandar Hilur" (pardon my spelling... hehe..)... Or u can follow the signs that state "Carrefour" coz Hotel Equatorial is just next to the newly built Carrefour.

Watch out for the basement parking at the shopping mall next to Hotel Equatorial though. Our car was kenna 'robbed' when we parked our car there.

nikeme

anyone has been to malacca recently?
isit still safe to drive up malacca?
do u recommend for their Portuguese's food and where?

candycandy001

Lyn> Driving to Malaca is ok, I have been there last mth. but we didnt try portuguese food, we ate famous chicken rice, chendol and 'daobao' lot of pineapple tarts^^

hi lyn,

my bf and his friend couple we drive up just need 3hr as well to KL .. only 3hr ...

Nice food is noodles, osystal eggs but not the chicken rice ball .. tat taste horrible ...

is very nice getaway ..

Just book the hotel from asiaroom is cheap.. only 50 dollars ..

just stay may be 3 days 2nite if you are driving up ....

is very safe to go lor..
i even lost my passport and hp and bag in Jb ..when just go toilet to jusco only 5min in front the entreance the car is broke in ...
i also cme back without passport to sgp custom ...

so matter hw, still extreme safe

nikeme

happythomson - u mean in JB not malacca rite? am just concern cos we had similar incident in JB 2 months back. Our front passenger seat window was broken while we were just few meters away in a coffeeshop. That’s why am a bit worried cos our car will be parked near jonker's walk overnight

nikeme

anyone can share which/ where is the famous chendol/ chicken rice/ pineapple tarts/ satay/ nouya food etc?
thanks for sharing

jessica

Hi Lyn,

When are you going malacca?

I am making my first self drive trip over there next weekend. Will share my experience when I am back

jessica

I just came back from Malacca.

I would like to recommend Baba House Hotel in Malacca. Great value and location.Every cent worth

cathy20

Melakka is a really nice place. It has a quite a lot of old historical buildings, and is really a charming place. Its a mixure of China (old chinese houses), venice (some kanals), indian food stalls, portoguese colonial buildings, malay moslem architechture and food. Its quite touristy but well worth it.

Otherwise I would suggest going to Pulau Tioman. You can fly there from Singapore or get on a "fast boat". A beautiful island for swimming, snorkelling, diving....

yahyaawal

hi,i suggest u go to pulau redang better if u want to go pulau tioman,because pulau redang sea is clean n clear than pulau tioman

chole

I am planning a trip to the Afamosa Resort with my families, we have abt 11pax but not enough car cos only 1 driver. Any idea how to arrange tpt to the resort from Singapore? Any recommendation or lobang?

adelene

Do you have various coach departure timing? I am planning a trip to Malacca, but I need to leave the town before noon. Most of the coach departs Melaka at 1300 or 1430.
But we need to arrive in S'pore at 1530/1630 (latest time).
Any suggestion cos we are not driving up to Malacca?

PM me