M Hotel Singapore

black_monster

i jus had my wedding last Sat @ M Hotel. Overall i m a v satisfied & hapi bride cos thr was no hiccups at all. Though e guests did complain that e fish wasnt nice. Thr were lots compliment on e thai sauce chicken & crispy noodle. Service complain was they cleared e dish b4 my guest could finish & will top up e red wine which we brot voluntarily but not e other drinks tat were on e hotel. All e complains r somethg which i had anticiapted & had highlighted. Thou i m rather disappointed tat it stil happen, but my main concern was more on whether e wedding went on smoothly. I m v glad tat all e staff made it & were v accomodating to all my other requests. Eg Arrangemt for tempreture taking but w our own manpower. Gave us another complimentary champange & extended e J bar openg hrs for us when they saw tat my helpers were still enjoyg themselves aft e dinner.

The music, our presentation & march in oso went on v smoothly & done nicely.

I think u really need to get v realiable & good helpers on ur dig day. Of course Daniel was oso thr to assist us & help us made our wedding a romantic & fun one.

shirlynn

Hi Black Monster,

So glad that you enjoyed your big day, at least it is considered a success.

I also had asked Daniel to help me during my wedding... so any special tips which I need to highlight the hotel staff on and what can I look out for??

Lastly... when can we see your photos???

black_monster

Hi Shirlynn,

thr is only 1 import tips, get v realiable & initiative helpers. Try e music & presentation b4 ur acutal day & in e aftnn of ur actual day. Dun worry, w Daniel & staff of M Hotel, i m sure everythg will turn out fine as long as u communicate w them.

My photos will be ready only in abt 1-2 weeks time. I will 4ward to u when they r ready.

rene

Hi black monster, congrats on ur wedding, must be very tiring but enjoyable right?
BTW, who is Daniel? i've seen ur pics, they r very nice, i've actually sent an e-mail to u just a day b4 ur wedding, did u rec? for the fish, did u choose garoupa? how is the portion, is it sufficient? how many cases of red wine did ur guests consume? r u going for honeymoon?

shirlynn, so have u sought out ur bridal boutique stuff, will u be switching?

black_monster

the negative comment on e fish had been mentioned on this forum many times & i oso stress to my coordinator ample times but still dun help. 90% of my guest complain tat it's hard & not fresh. Guess changg their chef is their only way out.

Another comment fr my guest is several of their waitress r chinese nation who r not v gd in english so their request r usually not met. Eg My bro fren's requested for brandy which we brot 4 bottles thr, e waitress say dun have. Another guest of mine ask for brandy, she serve her red wine. When my fren tells her, she said that's brandy.

To highlight again, e thai sauce chicken & crispy noodles is really yummy.

Hi rene,
i chose garoupa & we brot 24 bot of red wine. Left w 3 bot for 26 tab. I going for honeymn only at yr-end & see how this SARS thingy progress. Daniel - pls chk under "anythg under e sun/free emcee" v diff to explain here.

rene

Hi black monster, i think M hotel shd probably change their chef cos there r really a lot of complains on their fish (i've heard the same comments from my aunty that have jus attended a wedding 3 weeks ago).

wow, the waitresses really sound bad, i think M hotel shd not cut their costs by compromising on their svc, dun know how to bring this across to them when i meet with them again...sigh..really start regretting choosing M hotel

21 bot of red wine r on the low side cos i've ever enquire a wine dealer on the qty of the wine to have for 125 guests who r drinkers n he told me 7 cases which is 84 bot. phew...can save some costs already
any plans for ur honeymoon yet?

black_monster

Hi Rene,
their service quality is not on my priority list as long as thr no hiccup & like wat babyowl mentioned. To me it's e hotel reputation at stake if they compromises on their service & food. Once my wedding over, i cant do much but thr r still many who r planning marriage among my guests.

Jus tell them straight but i feel tat no doubt our coordinator will highlight ur concern but that's nothing much she can do. Probaly they can make sure tat e waitress know wat's brandy & wat's red wine fr now. Infact b4 i signed they tol me e waiter to table ratio will be 2:3 though not stated in ctt but at later date, it becum 1:2. I didnt harp on it cos my coordinator assure me tat service quality will not b affected by e ratio which is not true. Wat disppoint me is they didnt top up e soft drinks voluntiarily but alot of initaive taken when it cums to e red wine. I can understd their stand but i think soft drinks r so cheap that they shld not save on tat.

Frankly, i c no point in telling them or ask for discount like wat my relative mentioned cos since my wedding is over, it's not e $$$ tat matters anymr. We had enjoyed ouselves w e companion of all my close frens who had so much fun oso.

Obviously e wine dealer is trying to close more deals. I guess jus bring watever ur budget is, once it's finish, jus tell ur guest. They wont quarrel or scold any1 for tat rite. Infact i know alot of our frens drank alot. 1 table to finish 1 bottle is no probm but most of both our relatives dun drink so really helps alot oso. We had abt 15tab of our personal frens who consume most of e red wine.

My honeymn will be at yrend but no concrete plan yet. We mentioned Japan or skiing in Korea.

To b fair, i m gald w my weddg & will not discourage others fr taking M Hotel. I certainly didnt experince wat bodyowl mentioned. Their AV sys really fantastic & food only e fish is no good & certain banquet service which i mentioned not satisfactory. I m v hapi w their svc during our stay in e hotel & other arrangmt they made like thermometers & extendg e J Bar openg hrs. I guess wat those negative points i had mentioned will happen in other hotel oso.

So to all to be bride, jus relax & get realiable helpers. I m sure all will turn out well...

rene

Hi black monster, thanks for such detailed information & advices, it's probably me who is very uptight abt everything. i shall learn to relax and leave everything in the good hands of God.

Japan n Korea r very nice places. i've been to korea, i dun enjoyed the food but other things were fine. As for Japan, i've heard a lot of good comments n contemplating to go there for my honeymoon too

black_monster

Hi Rene,
both my hubby & myself had been to Japan & we luv tat place so much that we'll like to visit again. U shld really go if u hasnt been thr. Our ideal trip to Jpn now is check into their hot spring hotel, enjoy hot spring bath & fresh sashimi & refreshing green tea everyday. No need local tours. Then hang ard tokyo & visit those famous rest for Unagi, Ramen etc... yum yum.I hear tat's a rest in Jpn tat's near e harbour. U gotta catch ur own fish & this rest charge S$20 just to cut ur fish into sashimi & good grade green tea.

I m hesitatg abt Korea cos i dun wan go on shoppg tour. I wan to relax. I hasnt tried skiing b4 so m considerg Korea cos Switzerland is immposible, too exp liao.

rene

Hi black monster, wow those food that u've mentioned really made me hungry. both myself n my hubby really love jap food. will definitely give it a serious thought
actually, since young, Switzerland is the country i dreamt of going for my honeymoon but as what u've said, it's too exp. hey, i love hot spring too, i missed it during my trip in korea cos too shy to go to the public pool then but will definitely try if i ever go to jap. jap will be in autumn in 1st week of sep right?

yukisan

Other than thai sauce chicken & crispy noodles, what are the dishes you will recommend? I'm thinking of having a food sample session at the hotel first before I confirmed the menu.

lida

hi all i am having my food tasting with M hotel this month.. I am regrets to chose M hotel after hearing your feedbacks.... What should i tell to the sales manager when I meet her??? the sales manager that quit ist Diana??

yukisan

Oh No!
The sales manager who co-ordinates with me is also Diana. If this is the case, I thought the hotel management will at least inform us.

panick

I am going to have my wedding in M Hotel end of this year. A friend of mine just attended a wedding in M hotel as well and revert to me some feedback. The bottomline I get from her is that they need to change their chef!! I panicked hearing that! Apparently, the food is very blend, the fish is definitely not fresh, the chicken for her table was still quite bloody, the crispy noodle was soggy, and she carried on..... I am like oh no!! What should we do? I am going to highlight to my sales manager but what can we do to make sure this won't happen during our weddings!!!

lida

maybe all of us can hightlight to the hotel about the food and i think i am going to mention that a lot of their guest think that their food is not nice.. do you all think it is too straight forward??? coz i think it is pointless to ask for discount at the end of the function coz the food is not nice and etc....

milliefoo

my coordinator melvin resigned and i have been assigned anna instead. anyone have her as coordinator?

hi lida

i juz received an email with dates for food tasting. when is yours? i heard usually food tasting taste better than actual day so not a real indication of how food will be like on the actual day.

do you all think it is poosible to ommit the fish dish and replace it with something else? fish not being fresh seems to be a contant problem for them. if not i may have to choose deep fried fish cos will mask the staleness of the fish.

anyone feel that we shouldn't just take this sitting down? shouldn't they try to improve on this? jus becouse we paid deposit doesn't mean we must tahan their poor quality of food. not like their prices very cheap

lida

hi millefoo

i agreed with what you say!! We must tell them what we heard from others and they must improve... I have just check with my friend (her sis held her wedding there last dec) she say the food is very difference from the food tasting and actually day!!! she also mention that the staff is not professional!!! my food tasting is on 3 jul ...when is yours?? i have not decide on the menu but i think i will meet up with the hotel co ordinator before the food tasting to clarify my doubts!!!

milliefoo

hi lida

i was given offered 3 jul for food tasting too. if my family can make it, i could be having my food tasting together on that day too! btw, what time is the food tasting? maybe we can join forces and get the msg thru to them!

yukisan

Hi lida, panick & miliefoo,
My food tasting is still a long way ( I think around Sept ). If the food really taste like what Panick had mentioned, definitely must highlight to the manager and the chef personally. As for the feedback on the fish, if it is really not fresh, maybe can think of trying deep fry instead.

panick

Just for your info the fish that my girlfriend had was deep fried with some thai sauce. And it tasted cold even the sauce as if it was cook few hours before hand. Anyway will be talking to my sales manager regarding this and highlighting a few issues. If this hotel do not quality control their food they should not have venture in F&B line. Oh no that sounds quite horrid but I am quite worried! In weddings where a huge portion of the time our guests would be eating the food would be an important factor. Sigh!

black_monster

as a bride who had my wedding on May03 and oso went for food tasting b4 tat, i think tat they food r really not tat bad except for e fish as per my previous posting. It's been a mth aft my wedding & i had talked to most of my guests. Feeback on e food were really not bad thou not superb. The Thai sauce chicken & crispy noodle were really yummy. But e crispy noodle is not like "san mee"/deepfried noodle it's like hong kong mee, so pls dun b surprised if u see tat it's not crispy.

Prawns, vegetables & abalone were good oso. Jus tat i had a few complain on e service.(Can refer to my previous posting.

Diana is still w M Hotel as she jus called me this week to pick up somthg which i left in e hotel till now.

Sincerely hope tat i can clam u gals down as i find tat all shld b a happy & beautiful bride & not a panic bride.

october

Just attended a dinner at M too. Personally, I didn't quite enjoy the food either. The fish is confirmed not fresh (BTW, I am sitting at VIP table). The service was extremely slow, 60% of the time our glasses were emptied. You asked for tea refill, it takes quite a while too. Food was not tasty either. The funniest thing was the waiter served a chicken head on one of the plates and was given to my brother also at the VIP table. Funny right?

However, the waiters were generally quite courteous and the ballroom was nice.

lida

thanks black monster for your advice.. my husband and i have decided to see diana and tell her our concern before the food tasting.. as mention i dun wan to make noise after the whole function ......

rene

Hi milliefoo, my co-ordinator is also anna, she's apparently very helpful. i'm also going to have my food tasting soon.

hi black monster, good to hear from u again
i've already selected my menu for food tasting. did u choose whole baby abalone and which prawn and veg dish did u choose?

black_monster

Hi rene,

we took e slice abalone w sea cucumber, poached prawns w wine & herds, seasonal veg w black mushroom.

There wasnt any complain fr e guest on these 3 items. But my personal feeback is e prawns were smaller then wat we had during food tasting.

rene

hi black monster, i chose live prawns w wine & herbs too and my only worry it's also they won't give u tiger prawns on the actual day n it might not be fresh. what is ur view?

milliefoo

hi rene

my previous co-ordinator melvin highly recommended live prawns cos its their house specialty. he said that it is what their hotel restaurant "the buffet" is famous for. i won't be too worried about that. fish, however, is another story altogether.

black_monster

hi rene,

like wat millefoo mentioned, e prawns were really yummy (during tasting & feeback fr guests) but it was smaller than wat i had during food tasting & made me wonder if it was "tiger prawn". I was too busy to notice till e next day when we went down to e cafe & order "Laska w Tiger Prawn", e chef tol me tat they run out of tiger prawn then i went back to my room to check out what they packed for us last 9 (we got no chance to eat cos our frens refused to leave us alone till we r totally knocked out) & realised tat e prawns looked more like "cat prawns" rather than "tiger prawns". Not too small, those medium size but i wont call them tiger. I dun think they used up e prawn for our wedding but rather tiger prawns were not in e season?

I tot that was a fair ground to ask for discount but didnt cos i was still too hapi & since it was over, no point liao.

Fish, really not nice at all. U might wan to consider chosing fried instead of steam. I tot but didnt cos tot steam fish more "classy" & tot they might improve since so much feedback in forum & I oso highlighted many times

rene

hi milleifoo, thanks for the info, i'll definitely give the tiger prawns a try
so have u chosen ur menu for food tasting?

ho blackmonster, wow ur family so nice, even packed food for both of u
so u chose to eat at the cafe instead of having american breakfast in your room izzit? i'll crossed my fingers to pray for bigger prawns on my actual day but i guess it's very difficult to say right? i dun think i'll choose fried cos i still think that steam fish gives people the impression it's more exp so just let it be lor. moreover if the fish is really not fresh, no matter how u cook the fish will also taste mushy....

black_monster

Hi rene,
it was e hotel who packed e food nicely & sent up to the room b4 we did. We order e america bfast for room service. It looked v tasty but we had no chance to eat cos we had a terrible hangover till we cant eat anythg (only enjoyed e juice)till 3pm e next day. So dinner from last 9 & bfast were all cold oledi.

All our frens fault. Aft dinner, we were dragged to J Bar & back to our room for many rounds of "sabo". The whole bunch of us had 1 bottle of brandy, 2 bottles of champange & 3 bottles of red wine aft e dinner where most were push to me & my hubby. During dinner we oledi had alot w so many frens & to make things worst, we didnt have time for lunch or dinner tat day...

But we including our frens had a great nite. Still bring hapi tears & smile when i watch e VCD taken by my fren hidden camera (nobody knows she had e camera on cos all too high & v noisy).

rene

Hi black monster, u really have a very memorable wedding day hor
so what time did u check out the next day? wow u can really drink

black_monster

Hi rene,
Indeed i had a fun & memorable wedding...They extended our check out till 4pm for us. So we check out at 4pm. Aft tat we didnt go home... we went for 5pm movie w all e cash fr e ang bao last 9...N while in e cinema, handphone ring non-stop cos many frens called & tell us we appear on Channel U news & Newspaper for taking tempreature of our guests b4 e dinner...

I cant drink well... Vomited e whole nite & had a terrible hangover e next day. If ur frens r those sabo queens & kings... u better buck up ur skill now

rene

hi black monster, i think i'll ask for late check out also, can enjoy their jacuzzi..hehe..oh, really i think i miss the news on the temperature part. i cannot drink, cos i'll get red after half a glass of wine, so it'll spoil my look on the day so i will definitely not be drinking...

i just had my food tasting on Tues, the food is generally alright. the poached tiger prawns is really very yummy, i love it
the fish is also o.k. lah, not as bad as i thought but who knows what will happen on that day right? the crispy noodles really tasted like hong kong mee but when i checked with my co-ordinator, she said they probably serve the wrong noodles to us cos there are 2 more tables having their food tasting also.

milliefoo

hi rene

i will also have my food tasting on 3 jul. maybe can see you there. i also checked with anna if we could change fish for something else. she will check for me and let me know on tues. she also assured me that their fish is delivered to their hotel "live"???

anyway, will decide on tues. :D

rene

hi milliefoo,

did u read my posting on 26.6.03, i've gone for my food tasting on tues. i've tried the fish (steam garoupa), it's not as bad as i thought but of course i've tasted better ones. do let me know if anna allows u to change to something else o.k.?

rene

hi ordos, no the chef will not be around during the food tasting but the banquet manager did come to talk to us.

ordos

i remembered melvin mentioned in the initial stage that the chef will be around during food tasting so that we can feedback to him on the food.
i remembered clearly on this becoz i was impressed that they have this type of arrangement during food tasting
now that anna took over, she advised that there is no chef present
for those who were previously under melvin, did u hear the same thing from him too?

milliefoo

hi ordos

you are right! melvin also said the same thing to me. he even said that if we prefer something in particular, we can ask the chef if he could do it. i am dissapointed to know that that will not be the case.

rene, sorry i addressed the wrong person. msg is actually for lida. paiseh...

ordos

hi milliefoo,

at last i found another person who heard the same thing.
i am going to press anna to have that arranged becoz that was what melvin represented to us before we placed the 3k deposit.

if she insist there is no such arrangement, i will make sure she give a damn good reason.

milliefoo

hi ordos

u go girl!! will double check with anna as well. my food tasting is on 3 jul. when is ours?

kilo

I'm considering M hotel for my banquet venue. Can anyone tell me which is better...banquet suite or function room? Is banquet suite the ballroom? Got pillars on the 2 types of rooms? Please advise. Thank you.

jamci

hi kilo,

Yes, banquet suite is the ballroom and i felt that banquet suite would be better even although there is two pillars at the back.
I also book for banquet suite.

kilo

hi jamci
Do they have spacious reception area? I'm still considering carlton and m hotel...

jamci

Hi Kilo,

M hotel reception area is quite small unlike at the function room.
So i intend to open the ballroom early to allow guest in.

kilo

hi jamci
I see...but the entire level is the ballroom right? The one at level 10?
So have you had your food tasting yet? How do you rate them?

panic

Dear Kilo,

From personal experience if you have to choose M Hotel book the level 10 ballroom. Apparently, they have better chef to QC the food then the level 2. But do look into other hotels before you book. Just a warning cause I am panic as hell with their quality of food.

kilo

Hi Panic
I'll be going to take a look at crown prince and carlton hotel too. But what i know that M hotel's bridal suite got jacuzzi lor...hehee...
But the food and service are my first priority.
So have you booked with M hotel yet?

Hi jamci
Most likely i'll take the ballroom if i have decided to take M hotel. But like what panic said, look into other hotels before confirm anything. In case i regret lor...