M Hotel Singapore

rene

Shirlynn,

so any idea where would u be getting ur shoes??

shirlynn

Rene,

I also not too sure.. but hear from a friend saying that City Plaza side have some..thinking of going there to see... what about you??

black_monster

any ideas whr to get white platform shoes? Now no longer "in" so v diff to find. N i need them desperately for my 1.56m height

rene

shirlynn, i saw one at VNC, the height is perfect for me cos only 1 and a half inch
as for the EG shoe, depends on the colour of my EG.

black monster, u can also check out at VNC (citylink). i've saw some white shoes (w very high heels) which might be suitable for u...if u do not have a budget, u can also check out paradox at int'l plaza. they specialise in wedding shoes.

shirlynn

Hi Rene,

Lucky you, one more thing down... Will got to VNC and check that out...

Good Luck Black Monster, hope you will be able to find yours soon

black_monster

Hi rene/shirlynn,

thanks for e info, will go check VNC out oso but i dun wan spend too much on e shoes. Cos i dun think i will ever wear a pair of real high white heels again aft my wedding. So e cheaper e better.

decbride

Hi black monster,

good to see you here.
Excited about the wedding right?

Can try to go to Lucky plaza to get your shoe. I managed to find my there at the last min last yr. :p

I also scanned in my studio photos and show it on the projector together with my ROM video clips. I mixed in different music so that the guest will not get too bored by it. It turned out very well, and most of the guest will start moving into the ballroom earlier. My actual day photographer also showed the digital shots he took of us during the day and the effect turned out very well.

Girls,

if you have any concern, remember to voice out to your coordinators. I did, when I had my wedding last year. The wedding went on very smoothly, even though we had some hiccups in between, it all work out nicely eventually.

I stressed the importance of the food and service to my coordinator many times. I had good comments on the service at the end of it. So, it is important to stress your expectation.

Most important, don't worry about it too much, and enjoy yourself on that day.

As for printing, I did mine at Acepro. The contact is 68484640, in case you are interested.
;)

black_monster

Hi decbride!
u r finally back! I miss u!!! Didnt recd ur email for quite awhile. How's married life so far? I not excited but tired. Really hope 2 get over my wedding asap. As 4 shoes did u buy at 4th or 5th level in LP? I know of a shop thr & i went thr last week but 5th flr is now a medical centre while 4th flr no shoe shop so i oso dun know whr they shift to...

How's e audio sys of M hotel? Is e svc really tat bad as highlighted by my fren? How's ur honeymm? U may drop me a mail if u find my questn too personal to post here okie!

shirlynn

Advise - Dun buy Gou Da Li Things from #01-97 Chinatown

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SingaporeBrides.com - Discussion Forum For The Singapore Wedding Couples: Anything Under The Sun: Advise - Dun buy Gou Da Li Things from #01-97 Chinatown

Gals, I happen to see this page.. take note hor

rene

Hi shirlynn/black monster, i've bought a pair of white shoes at bt panjang plaza for $13.50, real cheap, it's slip in kind of shoes.

shirlynn, thanks for the info, i'll go to that tread to check it out

shirlynn

Hi Rene,

You bought for $13.50?? So cheap?? How high is it?? Maybe I can go down and see if I can get a pair of it too...

decbride

Hi black monster,

I'm good.... miss talking to you too... You can email me anytime.

Aiyoh...... have been busy... work and house chores. :p

Try to relax and since the date is drawing near, try to see if you can cut down certain things, if it's not impt. That way, you will not be so worried about too many things at the same time.

eh.... I can't really remember which level I went to. I think it's the 3rd level. There are some shops there..... and some shops have whole lots of shoes, just got to be sharp and look out for it. Some shops are rather messy lor... like the one I went to . I managed to find it at the last shelves after being in that shop for 20 mins. :p

I don't know so much changes in LP????

The audio system in M hotel is actually very good and very high end system. the problem with the system is that they don't have good people who knows how to operate it. You have to be careful about the system and if it is possible, try to test it out few days before the wedding and a few hours before the banquet start.

The first time I went to test the system, there was some problem with the connector. So, we managed to find and solve the problem, and told the hotel to reserve that connector for our day. On the actual day, something else happen and luckily at the crucial time, it was resolved! Phew! Very impt to assign someone whom you trust to help you to oversee that, and please don't leave it to the hotel staff.

Honeymoon was great. I went to Aust at the beginning of the year. i took the time to "Nua" R&R most of the time.

Hi shirlynn, so sorry.... I blur blur... the no. is 68484638

And as for Guo Da Li stuffs. My advice is also not to go to chinatown.... There are alot of such shops around. Some even in town centre and there are a lot more choices. Learnt from my mistake.
The bedside lamps I got from chinatown had to spoil on my big day.
The bulb burst after being switched on for 5 mins. In the end, hubby had to do something creative ;)... which I will not elaborate more here lor.

Anyone staying near Jurong can try going to "Hong Kah" near Lakeside. I saw one rather nice shop there the other day when I pass by, but I don't have the actual address, sorrie!

Happy planning to all of you. ;)

rene

Hi shirlynn, ya, it's only $13.50 (original price $16.50 less 20%). me quite tall so i chose a 2-inch shoes ;p

shirlynn

Hi Rene,

Good for you, whereas I am the short short kind... thinking of at least 3" and above... SO not suitable for me.. have to continue my search

rene

hi shirlynn,

ya then probably then shop is not suitable for u but i can't remember whether there r higher heels in that shop. if it's near ur house, u could drop by n have a look.

shirlynn

Hi Rene / Black Monster,

Have not been seeing any posting for quite a few days... how have both of you been??

Done all your things yet especially Black Monster... your "big day" is getting nearer and nearer...

black_monster

Hi Shirlyn,

i managed to send my all my invitations card & rsvp 80% b4 i send. N also confm all helpers & inform them their role & schedule. Had oso cnfm actual day photographer & videographer. Now we r busy w our photos montage. Left w cakes order, luck cai, shoes etc. Will be collecting my album either tomorow or thur! So excited.

rene

Shirlynn, i've been very busy these few days so never pop in
have been busy with work n reno, no time for other things

black monster, so ur actual day photographer is alan dai rite, what abt videographer? what is luck cai??

black_monster

hi rene,

my videographer is Derrick. Dun thin he is being mentioned in e forum. Alan knew him too & my fren oso used in in her wedding, so i more assure. Price best in town.

Luck Cai - usually abt 2 weeks b4 wedding day for e guy family to send items tat e gal side requested. Cakes, Si dian jin, pork legs, wine, $$ etc. The female side will oso return certain item & my mum suppose to give me those toiliteries, bedsheet, bedroom slippers required.

shirlynn

Hi Black Monster,

Remember to keep us informed of how your wedding goes hor... Must give me and Rene some tips on what to look out for...

Any also don't forget your wedding photos... Hope to continue to hear from you after your wedding / honeymoon

rene

Hi Black Monster, i think i'm really getting all confused cos all along i thought those stuff that u mentioned above are done in Guo Da Li so can u highlighten me what is Guo Da Li :p

Hi Shirlynn, so how's life?? what r u busy with now?? i'm really very tied up with work n reno, no time for other things cos every night have to work until around 10p.m.

shirlynn

Hi Rene / Black Monster

Guo Da Li is done a month to two weeks before your wedding... basically is your hubby bring those stuffs to your place...thats what I think

Seems like I am the most free one... everything also have not do.. but one thing is that I have finished my renovation.

Let me know if you need help hor..

So take care till hear from you all again

black_monster

Hi rene,

sorry to confuse u. Guo Da Li & 6 Cai is e same.

i've collected my album last week & very busy since then. Gettg excited liao... Having my helpers' meeting next fri & start to submitted my leave application liao.

Now my onli worry is e SARS development. Todate, we r v confident of e attendance rate but really hope that thr isnt anymr bad news/outbreak...

rene

Hi shirlynn, black monster,

thanks for clarifying the Guo Da Li thingy, really confused with all these traditional stuff.

Shirlynn, so have u shifted into ur new house? mine reno shd end in beginning of May'03.

black monster, so can you share ur pics with us if so i'll give you my e-mail addy. dun worry too much abt the development of SARS cos there's really nothing that we can do. I'm sure ur friends and relatives will turn up on ur Big Day!!

rene

Hi black monster, thanks for ur willingness to share ur photos with me, i'll send u an e-mail after this

Hi shirlynn, what a coincidence, my new place is also punggol.
what is ur block?? if it's not convenient to mention in this tread, u can e-mail to me at [email protected]

My house is still under renovation but almost done already so will be shifting in slowly.

babyowl

I just attended my cousin's wedding in M-Hotel and I can say it is one of the worst wedding I attended. Not that the wedding was no good, but the food, audio and service was terrible for the amount paid per table.

Dun mean to add more stress to you guys, but you have to make sure you let the staff in M hotel know what you want for your wedding and be firm with them.

Firstly, the food was horrible. I tasted better food else where. The sharksfin was like eating cornstarch mixture...and as my aunt was commenting "what sharksfin? Only got one strand of it in my bowl". A sentiment shared by all of us. The portions are so small...that we decided to go out for supper later. There were 2 fishes for the fish dish...one was fresh and the other was bad...dissolved in our mouth and had a funny taste. Out of the nine dishes...only the chicken was good. And the service...we had to serve ourselves...and we were sitting at a table next to the red table.

Secondly, the system was also not up to standard. When playing the VCD, it kept on skipping, and they played the VCD with the mouse cursor right in the middle. Imagine watching the entire VCD with the mouse pointer in the middle of the screen. They only move the mouse away at the very end of the clip, when it ended. Damage was already done. When we played the VCD on the laptop, it was very smooth, no skipping etc.

The song march in...terrible. For the first march in, the song played for some time then they intro the couple. I thought my cousin had planned it that way, appearently not. Cos during the food march in, the song played halfway then the waiters came in and the lights were turned off. So the song ended before the waiters could finish serving all the tables, serving food in silence and in dark. The second march in was also terrible. The song again played for some time, and then they let the couple in and neither did they dim the lights as planned.

Last but not least, their after service was even worse. Another cousin dropped her handphone that night. When she called the hotel that same night, they told her they will take note. The next day she went down with my uncle, and requested to speak to the manager to see if any update. The manager just told his staff to tell my uncle to leave his name card. Did not even want to speak to my uncle on the phone and just brush them off like that.

I was actually contemplating on having my wedding there. But cos of this incident, I changed my mind. I rather spend my money elsewhere and get quality food and service.

black_monster

Hi babyowl,

ur comment really make me panic cos my wedding is jus 1 week away! Did ur cousin test their disc b4 their actual day? Cos my coordinator initiated a meeting this sat to discuss some final details & ask me to bring all my disc to test.

I will keep in mind ur message & highlight to my coordinator this Sat. I will not allow incidents like this to happen on my wedding. But food, v diff to say liao. Nowadays, seldom attend wedding w tasty food. I will b relieved as long as it doesnt taste awful. I guess e fish is a common complain. The fish during my foodtasting was no good at all.

My fren had a wedding thr, she said all ok except their service not v good.

Thanks for ur feedback!

justme

hi babyowl

i can't help but think that you are from other RIVAL hotels as you have your "FACTS & COMPLAINTS" wrong? do not mean to sound rude...but i can't help to point out these..

1st of all, RED Table that you mentioned in 3rd paragraph. i have checked with hotel before i signed up as my MIL tried to insist to have RED tablecloth for VIP tables, they do not have RED tablecloth at all! So where your RED table comes from?

2ndly, 2 fishes for fish dish??? unless the fish is really small otherwise the hotel seems very nice to have to let you have 2 fishes for fish dish? From their selection, garoupa, sea bass, soon hock, pomfret......all these are big fishes... unless your cousin choose to have ikan bilis?

3rd, since you are saying that mouse cursor in the middle of the screen, i will presume that you played the VCD from a laptop/computer? I will think you are saying the hotel provide your cousin with laptop/ computer to play her VCD, since you said that " When we played the VCD on the laptop, it was very smooth, no skipping etc." (this will be your cousin's own laptop..) Btw, just to let you know that the hotel cannot provide me with the usage of laptop as they do not have any. i do see a computer inside the AV room when i went down to test my video montage also, sad to say the computer has no CD rom....

4th, did your cousin managed to get a MC from the hotel??!! pls, let me know because no matter how i tried to get a MC from the hotel, they will tell me they have no MC. afterall, most hotels do not provide MC at all....So how come you have said that "The song march in...terrible. For the first march in, the song played for some time then they intro the couple." Your "THEY" in this part, I will think its the hotel's personnel.

Lastly, babyowl...this forum is for brides-to-be to discuss & exchange informations to help each other through the weddings, please do not SPOIL everyone's mood in preparations by having your gain out of it.

decbride

Hi babyowl,

I also think that some of your comments are not very justifiable.

If you said that the VCD keep skipping, it is due to the laptop that it is played on, and yes, the hotel don't provide laptop. We had to bring ours which is good as we can test the VCD to our heart content before we bring to the hotel and not depend on the hotel's computer.

Any about the mouse pointer, I think this is the fault of the person operating the laptop, which happens to be the helper. The hotel do not operate our laptop for us as they told us that any equipment that we need to bring in, we would also need to get our own people to mend it.

As for the march in, I'm rather surprised. Mine was very smooth.
In fact, I was rather happy with the service. My SIL in fact commented that their service was very good and first class.....
I'm not sure whether it was because of the fact that I kept on stressing to them that service is very important to me.

they were 2 banquet managers present on my actual day. One who cater to our needs and overall requirements and the other was overlooking at the service rate of the tables.

In fact, I felt very pampered that day. ;)

All brides to be: don't worry too much. Communicate to your coordinator and stress the importance of your expectation to them. It will also help to go through the details requirements during the briefing. Some of the details things, like what is going to happen and who is in charge of what.. cake cutting knife, how is it handed to you, who is going to show you how to pop the champagne... etc also need to be discussed.

After sales service was good as well. I accidentally left my potrait at the hotel and when I went back for it. They were very nice and polite and they kept my potrait properly when I went back.

Gals, don't worry!

phew....

Hi decbride

Thanks! That's very assuring! :eek:)
My wedding will be in november and my dealings with the hotel so far has been pleasant.

:eek:)

black_monster

Hi rene,
I am so busy tat i cant find time to log on till now. But i still can email u my pics cos it's save in my home PC & i m at work.
Done a lot of things over e wkend. Helpers meeting, hotel meeting, bot shoes, spring cleaning, finalise guest list etc. 2morow is my Guo Da Li. M jus 5days away fr my wedding!

However, smthg bad happen on sat nite. My toe was clam by e door & my toe turn black instantly. Initially still ok but e pain was unbearable tat i woke up at 5am & couldnt sleep till i went c doc. He say gotta extract my whole nail which I scream "NO! I BRIDE @ B TIS SAT!" So he decided to drill a hole thru my nail but his device brokedown halfway! So he gave me 3 jab of anaesthetic which is so painful & manually cut thru my nail to extract e blood. Blood shot everywhr...

So now my toe still bandage & i m limping. By Sat I shld be able to walk but i dun think i can wear my 5.5" heel cos all e pressure will be on e toe... Sob sob... I oso dun know how. Can only pray for speedy recovery now...

I m oso hapi w e meeting w M Hotel on Sat & looking 4ward to my wedding...

babyowl

first, let me clearify something, I am not from a rival restaurant. I just put in my feedback and suggestions. You like it, you heed it. Dun like, then ignore it. After all, I am not so free as to go and spoil people's mood. I am also in the midst of preparing my own wedding.

Red tables means the 2 tables for the parents and in-laws. Common name when talking about these tables. VIP tables can also mean tables for important guests, afterall, how many people can the red tables fill?

We did get 2 fishes in for the fish dish (up to you to believe). And one of them did taste terrible. For such a reputable hotel, I expect the food to be good, else what is the point of going for food tasting. There must be some standard in it. And we are talking about quality, not quantity of the food. The type of fish we had where those that people cook soup with (ours was steamed which made the bad taste even worse)

The VCD was not played on my cousin's laptop during the wedding. We tested the VCD on his laptop at home before bringing it to the restaurant. I believe it is a common practice to test VCD at home FIRST before bringing it to the actual venue?

Also, if the hotel is not playing the VCD on a computer, then why is the computer in the AV room and what is the mouse cursor on screen. Anyone can tell you that playing a VCD on computer has much better effect than on a laptop cos of computer resources, memory and processing speed etc which is also common knowledge.

My cousin did not get an MC from the hotel. He got Daniel who was in the Newpaper recently.

Last but not least, like you say, this forum is for brides-to-be to discuss & exchange informations to help each other through the weddings. Mine input is to advise others to be cautious and plan properly, which is EXCHANGING INFORMATION, rather than spoil everyone's mood as you put it. If this is not exchanging information, then I dunno what you call it. And also, if you expect to hear only good things, then what is the purpose of having this forum.

I also can't help but to wonder if are you one of the hotel staff trying to defend it?

babyowl

Hi black_monter,

I am sure you will have a wonderful night if you let people know what you want and plan properly. Prepare for minor hicups which cannot be avoided. Either laugh it off and make the best of it or cry over it. I would choose to laugh it off as it is these minor things that make the day more memorable. Imagine talking about it years later :p

Also, get just one person to cordinate the whole thing and help you out that. Let your cordinator know who to seek (not you or your hubby) on that night rather then pointing him to all the ushers. Too many cook spoils the broth.

Relax, enjoy and have fun. No point planning this for one whole year to make everyone but yourself happy.

Good luck on your night. :D

banquet

Just like to share my wedding dinner I have at M Hotel.

The computer in the AV room is outdated. They do not even have this powerpoint software.

We have to use our own laptop. So when babyowl mentioned that there is a cursor on the screen, it the helper who is so sotong.

n when u mentioned that the food is horrible, maybe u can suggest which hotel food is so yummy?

n on the point on the march in... by the way, its YOUR OWN fren who is suppose to co-ordinate with the banquet mgr... cos they will not know wat u want!!

To all the brides who are holding their dinner, pls remember to get one of your frens to co-ordinate with the banquet mgr.

By the way, just to let u all know that, my co-ordinator who is incharge of my banquet tendered her resignation before my banquet n she is not supposed to handle our banquet once she tendered her resignation. n we are left with this guy whom we have never met before! n he handle it very well.

just to share my expierience

babyowl

Hi banquet,

Good for you that yours turn out well.

My cousin's one...well, no one was standing at the door to open it for them during their march in and we saw the cordinator run across the room to open the door which is why the song ran for some time.

Even the photographer and the video guy who were standing beside us was looking around for someone to go open the doors.

Second march in also same thing, but this time is the waiters who rushed across the room.

So no matter whatever cordinations were done, if people dun follow instructions, also no use!!!!! Besides, isn't the hotel people suppose to open doors at march in etc? Or did YOUR friends open the doors for you?

And I stress myself again (getting sick of explaining) I am just sharing my experience and views. No need to get worked up!

chloe

if you are interested? Some hotels are very good.

Marriot, Mandarin, Oriental, etc do serve quality food, great service and nice atmosphere.

Value for money and have good packages.

rene

Hi black monster,

good to hear from u again
u must be very nervous now since it's only 3 days away from ur wedding. i really pity ur toe, it must be real painful right. from ur description of the "treatment", it really sounds very painful. Dun worry too much abt the shoe, no choice, i think ur toe it's more impt now, so just get another pair of shoe.

All the best on ur wedding day and hope that those unhappiness stuffs that were mentioned in this tread do not happen to u. o.k., send me ur pics when u can o.k.?

babydragon

Also would like to share my experience & feedback from a Wedding Dinner i had at M.

I was actually co-ordinating the dinner for my cousin. Just like wat Dec Bride & banquet pointed out(i totally agree with banquet on tis), the computer in the AV room is outdated. It doesn't even have a CD ROM drive for crying out loud! I had to bring my laptop for my cousin. So I tink the part on the cursor during the presentation is really the "sotongness" of your cousin's own co-ordinator. As for the skipping part, i guess it's has to be the laptop that your cousin brought ~ no offence pls.

The hotel actually lets you select your own menu for the dnr (coz i kaypo oso chip in during menu selection wif my cousin). They give you several choices for the different dishes and you pick & choose wat you like. So babyowl, if you say that the fish you had are those people use to cook soup with, then isn't it your cousin who picked her/his own dish?

Both me & my BF had a good impression of the hotel & service overall and we are actually oso considering M as our wdg venue. I especially like the jacuzzi in the bridal suite room

Black Monster:
I hope your toe gets well soon.

banquet

Hi babyowl,
Yes the hotel staff open the door for us. BUT only at the prompting of our friend.

We have specifically told our friend at which part of the song then we will march in.

My fren was at the AV room, told the staff who is at the entrance, thru hp n tell him "ok, can open door now."

REgardless of which hotel u go to, u need a co-ordinator (ie ur fren or siblings) to co-ordinate with the banquet mgr.

babyowl

Don't the hotel have the responsibility to provide FRESH fish or did you actually go with them to the supplier and pick out the fishes? Yes, my cousin did choose the dish, but he did not choose the fish. if you read carefully, I was refering to the freshness of the fish, not the dish or type of fish, no offense :p

Also, I believe I did mention that cordinator & waiters rushing across the room to open the door. So even with proper cordination, things can also go wrong.

I agree that the bridal suite and atmosphere of the hotel is good and come in highly recommended, but the experience with the banquet is a big put off.

I still think the hotel should bear some responsibility, such as food, service and AV system which we cannot control regardless of how well planned and cordinated they are.

Anyway, some are bound to have good experience with the hotel while other have bad experience. If you read previous messages posted in this thread, I am not the only one who has negative reviews about the hotel.

banquet

Hi babyowl,

ya, u r not the only one who has negative reviews abt this hotel.

N perhaps I am one of the blessed one

To those who have already book, dun worry too much. just leave it to ur frens to help u out!

decbride

I agree that anyone has the right to comment. Similarly, I'm just stating my experience and yes, maybe I was lucky or what.

Hi babyowl,
No offence, and I'm not instigating you are from another rival hotel.
M hotel did have a computer in their AV room, but they told us right from the start that if we need to play any slides, or presentation, we need to bring our own laptop. This is the reason why I thought it was rather weird that your cousin need to use theirs. As for speed, we thought that it is faster to use ours anyway.

When did your cousin hold her wedding? Was it sometime back already. Probably M hotel has already improved, that's why I didn't face all these problems.

And I'm a real bride. I'm just trying to be fair in sharing my experience. One thing thou., I think that no matter which hotel you book, once the coordination go "haywire" anything can happen. A more reputable hotel will probably minimise that risk, but I've also heard very bad things from other hotels. So, I guess there's some real risk involve lor.
So, I keep stressing the importance of communicating to your hotel coordinators. I talked to my coordinator many many times on any issue that I feel is of a concern.

On the actual day, my hubby also did a very good job by clarifying alot of small things, and that makes a lot of things clearer rather than we assume.

About the door thing, that is pretty bad!

I didn't have to ask. In fact the banquet manager waited for us outside the changing room and escorted us to the door. He was the one who open the door for us. he open a small gap for the door, and as he was able to hear the song from outside, he open the door just at the right moment.

Why I think that they do a good job for us? Also because of the fact that they managed to pre-empt alot of things.

Of course I have 2 very good friend who is doing alot of the coordination for us. Initially we also wanted to get Daniel. In the end, we opted for our friend cos he is able to carry out to coordination with another friend who is incharge of the rest and most impt, music and presentation. Maybe that's also one very important factor that ensure that our wedding went so smoothly.