LASIK at SNEC

cat, i just feel that the gel is sticky. but it's better cos my eyes won't be that painful after sleeping. do yr eyes feel painful after sleeping?

Hi Miiko

The doc suggested I stop bfeeding completely before goign for 1st eye examination...guess when I'm still lactating..the readings may not be accurate due to hormones.....so pumping out and throwing away is not an option

Hi sowie & miiko,

I was wondering is there any constraint for the female not to get pregnant for certain period after Lasik done?

Hi poh,

I do experience some pain after my sleep especially when I sleep with the air-con. I guess my eyes are too dry. But after I apply the tear drop, it seems better.

hi, pple
have been reading this thread but not contributing so far cos will be getting my done at ttsh, not snec.

cat,
i checked with the doc. cannot get pregnant within 3 mths of doing lasik.

Hello all

I was also rejected of blood donation becos i have just done by lasik.

This morning went for my 1 month post op check up. Dr Wee was very pleased with the results and tests showed that I have perfect vision. But I am quite puzzled, as during the refractive test, there were quite a no. of words which I was unable to read. Still, they said i am already clear of myopia. Perhaps the test was more for testing of astig?

Hi amberlyn,

Really ah! Cannot get preg this 3 mths! I am thinking of making one out..

Hmm... so many questions to ask my Dr next week.

Hi Zea,

Very weird leh, how come they say you are clear of myopia & yet you can't see some wordings? Did they mention you have astig?

Yes, it was mentioned that i have a fair amount of astig which they believe will clear away as well.

Yeah, i was also puzzled on the myopia issue. Perhaps some of the tests are not meant for testing myopia but astig? Can anyone enlighten us in this area?

Zea, I am also wondering what's the defn of 6/6 vision. My hubby is declared having 6/6 vision after lasik but he still has about 50 deg left in each eye.....

Regarding the pregnancy issue, my doc went to the extreme to tell me tt i can do lasik in the morning and get pregnant in the afternoon....no problem as long as I'm not preggy at the pt in time when doc performs lasik on me....wonder if it's true....seems like diff doc say diff things....

zea, what has lasik got to do with blood donation???

zea, cookiepie, if u hv perfect vision, means u r clear of myopia. if u realise u can't differentiate certain letters when they r testing yr vision, could be astig. for my case, dr said i hv perfect vision for left eye. but optometrist said i hv 50 astig and no myopia. i also cannot differentiate certain letters so must be astig.

Yeah, I thought Lasik has nothing to do with blood donation, but it was only after abt an hr of waiting time, that I got to see the doc and he said I couldnt donate

Yeaps, I have called up SNEC to find out more abt the 1 month post op check up. That test which I mentioned I couldnt read the letterings clearly was for astig not myopia. Thanks anyway.

zea, how abt u? r u happy with yr new vision for the time being though it might improve further?

I am fine, how abt the rest? Tell you all something.... I din noe I was preg when I do my Lasik! Well, I was quite paranoid during that period until I met Dr Wee. He told me it's ok & it was just a hospital policy. Plus I only use the Tobradex for a week, so the steroid will not have adverse effect on my bb. :p

hey cat, congrats!!!

Hi poh, i m very happy with my visions now. No more side effects like dry eyes and halos.. vision is very good

cat, congratulations. i guess everyone must be happy with their new vision. i hv a bit of everything except perfect vision \clipart(kao_angry)

Hi i did mine in Dec... however my right eye still left 200 degrees of astig.. My doc says cannot do corrective surgery as my corneas are too thin aft the first surgery...

Need glasses to drive at nite.. plus suffering from dry and itchy eyes..

Hi bear, did the doc told u that after surgery u cannot go for enhancement due to thin cornea? or did u know after u did the surgery? they suppose to let u know leh.
do u all know that recently a lady wnet blind in one of her eye after lasik surgery in SNEC. very scary leh.

My cornea was much thicker than most to begin with but becos my degree was rather high (900+ per eye - myopia and 250 per eye for astig), he used most of it liao...

I went for 3 checkups aft the surgery before he told me it was too thin. he said he went to the max for me the first time...

oic...but the doc should knew it b4 surgery that after lasik ur cornea would be too thin for enhancement and warn u b4hand mah.
who is ur doc by the way?

Issit? my doc didn't say that to me leh. he did say that my degrees are high and might not get perfect eyesight. my left is perfect though.

My doc is Peter Tseng.

Peter Tseng is senior consultant leh. he should noe better. cos when i ask my doc how thin would my cornea be after surgery, he can estimated for me and tell me if i still can go for enhancement if unsuccessful the 1st time. he told me exactly like this "Ms. XXX, u don't worry, if in any case that a patient cannot go for enhancement, I will let them know beforehand and let them decide whether to do the lasik surgery or not". But I also know that most of the doc don't say much to patient unless they ask. I ask in details how thick is my cornea before surgery & how much would be trimmed off during lasik for my degree and can I still go for enhancement.....

I did ask how thick my cornea was before and if its enough to go for enhancement. My doc said yes, they are thicker than ave. But he did say he will go all the way to make it perfect the first time. Hopefully no need for enhancement lor.

I don't really blame him as these things are not 100%. whatever its is, its definitely better than wearing glasses right?

yep..better than need to wear glasses. no need perfect eyesight anyway. at least we r already safe from infection liao...thats the most important. me too dun have perfect eyesight.

i'm interested to do Lasik, but was worried abt the side effects.....can someone provie me with more info & feedbacks?

thxz

Hi Pleasance, I had halos and dry eyes for about one month after my lasik. Also had some difficulties reading intially, eg cant read the price tags properly. However, they went off pretty fast, and i am very pleased with my visions now.

Chern: where did u hear abt a lady becoming blind at SNEC? really scary eh

Hi, I have an appointment to do wavefront lasik this month. Now a bit scared cos of the case. Does anyone have anything info abt the lady at SNEC to share? Which doctor?

i will b going for lazik next tues. i have a very stupid qns to ask. will they tape my eye wi a gauze after the lazik like pirate? coz i intend not to "waste" my time @ home and visit the dentist the next day instead.. can i actually do that?? if they r going to tape up my eye i will look extremely ridiculous to walk into a dentist..

Hi Sharon,
No. No taping.
But I dun advise go dentist lor. cos u need to rest ur eye n i worry tat the dentist will accidently touch ur eye during the scaling process. n u need to open ur mouth bigger so no good lor.

hi Chern,
ok ok, but then can i go cut my hair?? coz these r the things i dun have time to do during normal working days! wanna fully utilize my leave..

Hi Sharon
You need to apply medicine and eye drops very often after the operation, and protect your eye from any possible physical injury, in case the cornea flap is shifted. So u have to judge yourself if its safe to engage in the activities u want.

Also, your vision may not be balanced since one eye is clear and the other blur

so sorry but i need some advice fm you regarding lasik..

i only took 1 day leave to go for my lasik and next day Im back to work.. is it advisable? my work involves staring at the pc whole day long.. will it affect my new found vision?

wat do you all usually do with ur remaining contact lens?

sorry im so blur..

could anyone pls advice me on the following:

When the doctor says that I am under power by 100degree on my left eye and still have a power of 50degree on my right eye, what does he means?

Does that means that I am 100degree long-sighted on my left eye and 50degree short-sighted on my right eye?

maymay,
i personally went thru the procedure and i think its best to take at least 2days leave -- 1day for the procedure & 1day to rest @ home. anyway, u still need to go back for consultation the next day after procedure...

Sharon u are right abt the 100 degree long sighted and 50 degrees short sighted.

I m left with 200 degrees astig on my right and 50 degrees astig on left.

But when i did my first power examination aft the op, i had 100 degrees of long sight on my left. it disappeared a mth later. think ur eyes needs some time to adjust.

hi Bear,
Thanks! its good to hear that there is a possiblity that my vision may recover to even better result! anyway i m very comfortable now liao..

just 1 more question, if i dun feel comfortable using the eye drop i can dun put rite? coz it make my vision "cloudy"! actually its been 1 wk since my op and all these while i dun feel any dry eyes.. i put the eye drop just bcoz i m following doc instruction..

I continued with my drops cos i got dry eyes. in fact i was upgraded to gel cos my eyes were just too dry.

U might wanna ask somebody who doesn't have dry eyes abt it.. but the drops shouldn't cloud ur eyes as u describe leh.

hi Bear,
aft putting the eyedrop i will be blur for at least 1hr! for this 1hr i m like 300degree power like that so i try not to put it during working hours..

I am thinking of going for lasik and am wondering who i should look for at SNEC.
My degree is around 350 for both sides and has been like this for the past 5 years but because i wear contact lens for a long time everyday,my eyes tend to be dry so wanted to do lasik.
Will there be any concern?

Hi touraco, you can call up SNEC and make a pre op consultation. They will do a thorough check on your eyes and the doc will determine if u r suitable for lasik, and if yes, which type of procedures. It cost around $200.

For me, I went back to SNEC 2 days ago for a final checkup, 5 mths after my surgery. I m glad I have been cleared of both astig and myopia... its a good investment

My dr is Dr Wee Tze Lin, nice chap.