LASIK at SNEC

Hi poh,

My lasik will be tomorrow & I am very excited & scared too. What do I expect immediately after my op?

Hi Zea,

How's your vision now?

oh cat, gd luck to u. just relax and follow instructions. yr vision will be clear immediately & u will feel a bit of pain after 2 to 3 hrs. remember to apply eyedrops as and when nec. when u wake up the next morn, u will be able to see the clock on the wall. wonderful feeling!

Thanks poh,

Am a scaredy cat now..haha. Cross my finger everything goes smoothly, and pray hard that they dun under or over correct my eyes.

Hi Cat

No need to scared at all, its actually a super fast and simple procedure. You wun feel any pain during the operation process.

Dr said i am having perfect vision already, and yeah, its so exciting to be able to see your room and surrounding furniture so clearly, esp at night. Good luck and be brave ok?

zea, so fast to hv perfect vision? thought yr surgery was in dec? what was yr vision previously??? i only know mine during one month consultation.

Hi Zea & poh,

Just had my left eye done today by Dr Wee. Yup, no pain during the lasik. I was trying very hard to concentrate on the red light but somehow I move a little :z

Now, just woke up from my nap & I feel some stinging on my left eye & tearing on my right eye. Weird? Anyway, after applying the droplets, it helps a little. Ya, can see something now without specs but still a little bit blur

Zea, so fast u have perfect vision!! Very envious of u leh.

hi poh

Yeah, my operation was in dec. The nurse did a vision test on me one day after my operation and I could read everything. Doctor said my vision was perfect then.

But of cos, I have heard the vision may fluctuate and deteoriate after sometime, so i duno if it will stay with me after 1 mth. Anyway, I am already very pleased and can perform my daily activities without the need of specs. My myopia was -725 deg previously.

Cat, how are u?

Hi Zea,

I dun feel the pain today but my eye is quite dry.

Do you have any astig before op? Today I went back for the check up & only my myopia (-600) is corrected but not my astig (125). Dr said let it stablize for a while so I dun noe whether shall I feel happy or sad... *sigh...

Tomorrow will be going for my right side, and this time, I will die die stare at the red light.

yeah, zea, yr vision will fluctuate throughout the 1 mth period. but it's a gd start.
cat, astig is not easy to correct but stay hopeful. i don't hv astig b4 lasik but was left with 50 cos the shape of the cornea was changed.

Hi Cat, Dr Wee was telling me to relax cos i was so stiff that he couldnt move and control my head while doing the laser, haha. I have no astig before and now i duno, cos the doc din say leh.

Yeah Poh, my vision really fluctuate quite a bit these couple of days. It became blurer yday but today it gets better again. But so far, din really feel much side effects, except that it sometimes gets very glaring while driving at night.

Hmm.. ok, I try to stay hopeful cos at least I still have my right eye.

Hi Zea,
I was very stiff too. My jaws dropped when Dr fire the Laser & I could smell some smoke after that. He kept telling me to close my mouth & relax my chin repeatedly. But I was in total paranoid situation. :p

haha, 2 of u r very funny. really that nervous? my case was diff. i was too nervous to move. i kept myself so still that he thought i fell asleep. all the diff patterns of patients, interesting

Ya poh,

It was very nervous for me initially cos I have all kind of funny imagination going around my head..kekeke.. U so cool, din even move at all? *lol

Today not too bad lah cos I keep telling myself "look at the red light, look at the red light..."

Hi Zea,

I checked with the Dr about my astig, he said he can't tell me anything until a mth later for my flap to be totally seal up. I guess that's why u may experience vision fluctuation. Anyway hope for the best for both of us ah. At least can see soemthing without my specs now..heehee

cat & zea, i'm waiting to hear the gd news after the 1 mth consultation. in the mean time, just hope for the best.

I had lasik at snec on 3 & 6 Jan 2005. My eyes were ok while I was on mc. But when I return to office early this week, the area around my pupils get really red in the morning when I 1st wake up and if I don't constantly drip the natural tears. Does anyone face a similar problem? Tks.

Did u unintentionally rub your eyes when you were asleep? I did that twice in my sleep but was fast enough to retract my fingers from my eye. And pls use the natural tears often, it helps a lot.

Poh, i think my vision really going downhill already, now my vision seems to be getting lousier.

Me too, can see but still blur blur...haiz...Astig still not fully corrected yet.

Hi cookiepie,

I dun have this problem but I dun wear the goggles after the first 3 days of my op. It's quite painful & leave a deep mark after I woke up. Probably I have rubbed my eyes or cover with my pillow.. dun noe leh.

You monitor again whether it's still like that & if so, then better make a appointment to see the Dr quickly.

cookiepie, maybe u stare at the pc for a long time or the air could be dusty. my eyes turned red also when i returned to work. i guess these 2 reasons r quite likely. remember to use the eyedrops frequently. r u still using the tobradex?

supposed to finish using tobradex today and i have been using the goggles diligently. called snec hotline and they told me its probably symptoms of dry eyes and shd put eye drops more frequently. but i'm already putting at 1/2hrly interval which is considered very often leh....sianz. guess got to monitor for a few more days....cat & poh & zea,thanks for all your advices.

Hi cookiepie,

It's good to share our experience, I am oso curious how the rest doing, so no need to be so courtesy lah.

U finished tobradex today? I was told to use my Tobradex till this Fri by my Dr & my op falls similar days like yours on 4th & 6th. Maybe different Dr got different way of handling. Btw, who is your Dr?

1/2 hourly for the eye drops is considered very regular already, I only used abt 1 or 2 hrs & eye gel before I sleep. Did you try to use the gel too?

Hope your eyes get better for you later.

Cat,
confirmed the redness of my eyes is either due to office aircon or dusty office. I was on leave at home yesterday and my eyes are ok, not red at all. when i come back to office this morning, it's getting red again....... btw, i found 'refresh tears' worked better for me compared to 'naturale tears'. what is this 'gel' thingy? how come i wasn't prescribe any?

my doc is dr wk chan. he told me to stop using tobradex after 1wk, and emphasized tt if i finish the bottle b4 1wk is up, just stop using....guess different docs give slightly diff. instructions.

Yeah, Dr Wee also asked me to stop using tobradex strictly after 1 week.

The natural tears seem to work v fine on me. Now, I only use it when I wake up in the morning when my eyes are most dry, and occasionally like after joggings or before I sleep.

My eyes are seldom dry now already. But visions remain blur sometimes. May not get perfect vision, but life is much more convenient without specs.

cat, r u using the vindisic gel? how come the dr ask u to use?

cookiepie, what difference did u notice when u used refresh tears? i tried both but can't notice any difference.

melgal, u r here?

Hmm... my advise was quite different from you. Dr Wee told me to stop using Tobradex on this Fri for both eyes. Try to use tears naturale every hour or more depending on my eyes, and then the vindisic gel before I sleep. Couldn't be so blur of me leh, I asked him how about left eye since it was done on Tues. He said yes, both eyes. :z

cat, u mean yr eyes r that dry until the doc asked u to use the gel? my frd & i didn't use that.

zea, congratulations, u don't hv dry eyes. yr eyes r still adjusting so the vision fluactuates. all of us went thru that.

well, it's gd to share yr experience here so that we r all aware.

poh, when i use 'natural tears' given by snec, my ears still feel very dry despite constant dripping. but when i use 'refresh tears', i feel it lubricates my eyes better, dun have to drip so often.

my eyesight seems to deteoriate, was clearer the 1st few days after ops, but now a bit blur. hopefully, it will improve before the 1mth checkup, else like wasting money leh......

congrats to yr new vision. i'm into my 4th month after my lasik and my vision still flucates and can't really see at nite still. i'm still worried about my nite vision becos i will have to drive at times. will go bk for another review and c Dr Wee sometime in Mar/April and will let you galz know the outcome. overall the results are fantasic! HTH!

Hi poh,

I tot the gel was a standard package in that pouch bag. The instruction say we suppose to put the gel every 2 hrs for the 1st week. Dr Wee told me only need to apply before I sleep.

Now my eyes are not tat dry anymore, but I still apply a little gel before I sleep cos I onz the air-con everynite. :p

Hi cookiepie,

Glad you found what causes your redness but you still need to work so how do u handle that?

cat, i dun have the gel in the pouch given by snec too. how much did you pay for the medication? i paid $30.70 and got a tobradex, a naturale tears and a pair of goggles, that's all.
well, still have to work despite dry eyes. i have to apply eye drop and rest my eyes more often lor. hopefully, the symptoms will subside more quickly.

melgal, glad to c u here.

cat, all of us didn't get the eye gel? how can it be std package??? u didn't hv dry eyes also??? nvr mind, just follow doc's instructions.

cat, zea, cookiepie, all of u went for wavefront lasik???

No, i din go for wavefront lasik but the 'tissue-saving' one, which cost $100 more for each eye.

These few days, I woke up with my right eye feeling okay but left eye very dry. But one drip of the natural tear saves the day.

Cat, perhaps u r using a diff technology which require u to put the gel?

Huh, U all dun have the gel in the standard package? Maybe they like me so they give me more goodies in my bag? *kidding lah.. Anyway, I also paid $30.70 & now I am confused ... :x

My eyes are not that dry anymore but I still use teardrop like every 3 to 4 hrs. How often do u all use?

Mine is the conventional LASIK cos Dr said I dun need wavefront. Zea, wat is "tissue-saving"?

Hi Cat, "tissue-saving" is a technology used on ppl with relatively thinner cornea. It costs slightly more than conventional LASIK.

I use the teardrops like 2-3 times per day.

I wonder how do u apply gel on your eyes? Dun you have to touch your cornea? eerrrwww.....

cat, we r all v confused by the extra gel that u got. if doc also know, maybe they r doing some testing or what??? i find the gel very sticky, yr comments?

I see Zea, I always tot thin cornea cannot do Lasik, now they can with this technology.

Hmm..poh, I think I better ask him again next month why I have this gel not others. Zea, to apply the gel, I will lift my upper eye lid & apply a few mm of it onto my eyes. Then I will blink a few times to get it moisturise. I dun feel sticky, only some cooling effects but it will blur out my vision for a short moment.

yeah, i oso did not get the gel. i only had the antibiotic drops, natural tears and a pair of googles in a blue snec pouch. maybe cat, you can ask the doc how come you have the gel.
btw, i did the wavefront lasik as well.

Hi folks

The idea of doing Lasik has been on my mind for a couple of years, just that I never gathered the courage to do it. I'm blind as a bat.....myopia is ard 1000+ in EACH eye, astig is ard 200 in EACH eye....

I'm very encouraged by all the positive testimonies i've read here. So i'm playing with the idea to do it soon. However I've read in a website that breastfeeding moms are not suitable to do this op now. Anyone can confirm for me?

Wow sowie,

Your degree is so high! I understand how you feel to get your eyes corrected.

Sorry, my knowledge is quite limited. I only know that pregnant woman cannot opt for LASIK due to the changes of their cornea. But for breastfeeding .. maybe you would like to call up SNEC for some advise? They will be in a better postion to tell you.

Good luck~

yeah, cat, shd ask doc abt the gel. they must hv some reasons for giving u the gel. u find it cooling? u store it in the fridge?

Hi Cat

Haa...ya boy..horrendous right...now i'm worried i wont' be a suitable candidate for Lasik.

I'm thinking of SNEC or that private clinic next to Mt E....anyone got any comments? Cost wise, is the pte clinic alot more?

Hi poh,

I din store in the fridge, but it's quite cooling after I apply it. Did you try before?

Hi sowie,

Dun worry lah, I think they can corrrect myopia somewhere up to -1500. Oh yah, u may even claim medisave cos it's over 1000!

So far after they do a price adjustment last year, I think both pte & SNEC prices are quite competitive on their operation fees. You can check the website: www.lasik.com.sg

For SNEC, the LASIk fees for consultant is $1320 per eye & senior consultant is $1800 per eye. For wavefront LASIK, have to top up another couple hundreds.

If you are interested in pte, perhaps you should find out more about their charges on consultation fees & eye test. And is there any enhancement program if your eyes are not properly corrected.

Another point to take note is that the waiting Q at SNEC is super lonnnggg... !! I am lucky to get my LASIK done after a week later of my eye test cos someone got preg & there is a slot for me. If not, got to wait until March... (that was in Dec 04)

yap, cat, i'been using that 6 mths after the op. u mean the queue is that long at snec for all docs or only for dr wee?

Hi sowie

i have the same degrees as u and i done mine at SNEC too. yes..if your period is not regular, the dr doesnt recommend to do the lasik

Hi poh,

How is the effect when you use the gel? As for the super loonngg Q issue, dun noe it's applicable for only Dr Wee or the rest.

Hi miiko,

U mean irregular period will affect the effect of Lasik?

Hi folks

I've gotten back an email reply from Dr Ho of Clear Vision clinic. Yes, it's true that breastfeeding moms cannot do Lasik now becos of our hormonal changes and stuff, also the medication used during/after Op may not be suitable.

Hi Miiko

I certainly dind't know that irregular menses is not not recommended as well.

Hi sowie

what i meant was if you are breastfeeding, your period is irregular due to hormonal changes that are still happening then the dr will not approve lasik

Hi Miiko

No la..i've been bfeeding for 16 mths, so my menses is already regular from 4th mth onwards...wat the doc is more worried about is the medication during/after op that will be passed to my bb thru bmilk.

Hi Sowie

the medication i got was only some antibiotic eyedrops which you use only for 3 or 5 days.. after that it is the normal eye lubricating solution. maybe can pump but dun feed to bb. but to be on save side.. only do lasik after the bf period is over.