LASIK at SNEC

I am going for Lasik assessment at SNEC next week. My consultant is Dr Chan Tat Keong. Has anyone been operated by him before. Any comments?

I'm having 1200 to 1300++ degree for both of my eyes plus 200 to 300 astig. I'm considering Lasik at SNEC. Anyone out there with extreme myopia and astig and had done Lasik at SNEC??? Care to share your experience??

I dunno bout SNEC, but dun go to TTSH or NUH. I had mine done at TTSH. My power is not much-300+. The pre-op tests were hurriedly done, I waited 4 hrs tro see doc for 5 min. Shd have known better than to proceed. Really regret.

Now, my vision is hazy, esp indoors. Also, the doc overcorrect me on purpose without discussing with me 1st. His friendliness turned to sarcasm after the op. The post op optometris-U know how he check my vision? "Which is better,? No difference, right, ok". And he moves on. And I dunno why I dun know how to protest.

Now I just pray hard my eyes recover themselves. I also talked to 2 friends who did their op there; 1 of them had unsatisfactory result & the other has friends who had trouble too.

And to think that b4 the op, he say my power is excellent for getting excellent results. They say 1 thing, but make U sign a form that says otherwise. I feel so cheated.

hi shunee,

i think what you have described is quite typical anywhere... i just did mine at SNEC, and everytime i only get to see my doctor for less than 2 minutes. it's over very fast. but for me, i'm quite ok with that as long as i have the assurance from my doctor that my eyes are recovering well.

i also have hazy vision until now, especially indoors. my doctor says that it's due to dryness and so i was told to apply for eye drops. i also heard from my colleague who has gone through the op that her doctor also overcorrected hers because over time, it may regressed abit and so in a longer period of time to come, normal eyesight will be attained.

i was told that the eyesight will probably stabilise after 3 months... so still got hope. Take heart!

Thanks mail lum for the reassurance
My vision also hazy indoors, esp right eye, which's the overcorrected one. I heard SNEC dun overcorrect. Heard this' individual dr's preference. My left eye's fine, only my right eye. But both eyes together vision is poorer than with specs : (

Still think all this hype they are creating for Lasik is very misleading.

hi lasikgirl,

i agree with you..... the vision is poorer than with specs..... but it's far better than last time when i wasn't wearing specs or contact lens.

for me, it's been 2 weeks after my op. i'm still hoping for the best. as for pple who are thinking of going for the op, i think my advice would be, if you are quite comfortable with wearing specs and contact lenses, then maybe not worth the while going for the op because in any surgery, there is risk involved and no one guarantees perfect eyesight in this case...

I just done my lasik at SNEC two weeks ago. I can see further now as compare to my specs/contact lens. But dun know why one of my eye feel very strain and tired/ Anyone with similar experience? I suspect it is becos I got lazy eye as one eye got higher power than another.

hi chijmes,

Did you use your medisave for the lasik op? you are able to use your medisave since your degrees are 300 difference between both eyes. You can actually use $800 from your medisave (not sure for each eye or for both eyes though)

Hi mail lum
may i know yr friend did her op where? is yours also overcorrected?is this common practice?i got a friend whose fatherin law is Lasikdoc,he say otherwise so i really confusenow...

hi Lasikgirl,

my friend did hers at SNEC too. i think it really depends on the doctor's experience and judgement. For my friend, her doctor felt that because of her very high power, it will tend to regress, so the doctor over-corrected for her. what did your friend's FIL say?

for me, i'm not sure if mine is over or under corrected yet as my eyesight is still stabilising... doc said that we will only know after 1 month. so meanwhile, i just continue to pray and hope for the best ;)

Hi Sarieta Yasmin
i've actually visited Dr Tony's website and enquired about their charges as well. Think his clinic can actually do both eyes @ a time, whereas for other govt hosp, only 1 eye can be done @ diff intervals.
The staff also quoted me $2100/eye for wavefront. Dr Tony should be good since he's the director of the Lasik Centre.
Anyone has any experience with him before?
I'm really afraid of those docs who over/under correct our eyes.
How come some ppl wd not experience haziness at nite whereas others do?

hi chijmes,

I am quite sure cos I have heard this many times and the following is taken from www.asiamedic.com.sg faq website:

Can I pay for my laser treatment through Medisave?

No, because LASIK is considered a cosmetic surgery. But if you do it for medical reasons, eg., if the power difference between your two eyes is greater than 3.00 dioptres or you have medical problems relating to spectacle or contact lenses usage, you may be able to claim from Medisave.

I just went for my pre lasik consulation @ SNEC and saw Dr Wee Tze Lin, as he is highly recommended by my friend who works as a pharmacist in SNEC. Dr Wee is really a nice chap and makes me feel assured. He explains to me in every little detail, and based on his vast experience in lasik ops, he advised me to go for a wavefront lasik due to my measurements of the cornea and astig. My op is due next tue and thursday. i paid $195 for consultation and his surgery fees are $1520/eye.

anyone did any lasik op with Dr Wee before?

Wow! Seems like Lasik is so much cheaper nowadays! I had mine done back in 2001 at SNEC, but Dr Lim-Li, paid $2.5k each eye. Was playing a lot of sports then, and I was always paranoid abt what'd happen if I'd sustained an eye injury and would have to go to the hospital, and they have a hard time removing. Anyway, it did happen to me and cos my eye closed up due to the swelling, and it was a nightmare forcing it open to get to the contact.

Anyway, my myopia was abt 700* with 300* astig, a nightmare case, properly just borderline to qualify. My eyes were rather dry too. The first one done by Dr Lim was smooth, barring the usual post op scratchiness and tearing, but almost immediately, I could see rather clearly oredi. But the next morning, I was ok. The second op wasn't so good, done by another doctor whose name I shan't mention cos it's not fair to him (might be an anamoly). It was painful, plus they left an eyelash in under the flap!

It's been quite a number of years now since I had it done, and unfortunately, my astig has returned and my myopia is now up to 100*. Frankly, I dunno whether it was because they under corrected it, but I do need to wear glasses in darker areas and driving at night. Do I regret it? Depends. If you're talking abt going from 700* down to 100*, then I'm grateful that I'm not totally dependent on my glasses. My disappointment stems from my unmoderated sense of optimism, meaning that I'd expected too much from it. But overall, I'm still glad I went for it, although it wasn't perfect.

Hi Hwang Shunee,

Can i check the following:

1) when did u do ur lasik at TTSH?
2) What is the name of the doctor that was seeing u?
3) Did u do the conventional lasik or wavefront?
4) how much did u pay altother?

Thanks for your help.

Hi alan,
i was actually given the option of going for an enhancement (up to 1 year) and it's free, if u still find that your myopia is not perfect after correction.
anyway, i'm due for an op later in the afternoon. Just pray that everything will go smoothly.

melgal: Oh wow! Aren't you lucky? Sigh! I haven't that option and it was a "it's jus too bad" response from SNEC.
Anyway, good luck for your op! Hoping you'll be luckier this time! Keep us posted!

Hi all! I have done my lasik abt a yr+ ago at TTSH eye clinic. It cost abt 5K but nw they are cutting the cost by 20% so it cost ard 4k nw. My doc is Dr Heng Wee Jin and he is reallie gd. Wavefront is da customised lasik which yur surgeon will decide if u shd go fer it (after accessment such as cornea topography). I tink it will be da best to do it in spore coz dey change the blade (used to cut yur cornea) after everi op but in msia n thailand dey dun. Eyes are damn precious so it better to have the best fo them. I almost lost my eyesight due to cornea infection before (caused by inproper use of contact lenses). For those who have gone for the op b4, u will noe wat i mean...

Hi Smurfy,

I just done my checkup. I ask the nurse, she said I cannot claim the Medisave unless the doctor mentioned that I need lasik due to certain conditions. For my case it is consider cosmetic so cannot claim leh...

I am abit worried now as the optician says I got postive degree abt 100 in each eye now. She say it is normal as the eyes are not stable yet. But this means that I am over-corrected woh... According to doctor, it is better to be over-corrected and he mentioned that is ok as I can see 6/6. Is it true ?

Chijmes: Actually, I'd rather over correct than under correct, cos in my case, it was perfect then deteriorated to -100 degrees. Dun worry, shld be ok.

hi chjimes,

Maybe you can check with CPF instead. Cos I am almost certain it is claimable. Even when I attend the talk conducted by TTSH, they also said that 300 difference can claim.

I am not sure if overcorrecting is better cos I can't do lasik. But if I could do it, I wouldn't mind a +/- 100 degrees. Currently, I am like a blind bat without my glasses. How I wish I could do lasik.

Hi Smurfy,

Ya..I will check that out. Oh why you cannot do ? Because of thin cornea? Sorry I might have missed out some of the posts above.

I really dun think that CPF can claim, as it has been said, it's cosmetic. And judging from the govt hard stand of CPF and Medisave (that it's insufficient for major illnesses), I dount if it'll change anytime soon.

hi Shower: Just saw ur posting on ur lasik done at TTSH. I am due for a preliminary checkup at TTSH to see if i am suitable. I have a few question to ask u. Can i contact u via email? tried to send u a private message but ur nick does not accept PM.

Pls email me at [email protected]

I totally agree with smurfy that we can use our medisave if the power difference between your 2 eyes is more than 300 cos it's no longer a cosmetic surgery. I was told this when I enquire about it unless there's a change recently.

i've had my left eye operated yesterday and i can safely say that my eye is responding very well. No tearing or pain. Thank God!
well, although i'm still experiencing abit of blury vision, that's pretty norm i guess as my rite eye hasn't been operated yet. Anyway, Dr Wee is a really experienced surgeon. He makes me feel comfortable throughout the whole process. Thumbs up for Dr Wee!

Unless the doctor is able to verify that the surgery is not an elective surgery, you won't be able to claim from CPF, and will be considered cosmetic. That was what I was told.

The only thing the doc need to show is there is a power difference of 300. This can be easily done as he will have to find out the power of each eye during the checkup anyway.

I did lasik at SNEC last year with Dr Wee. He's quite obliging. So far I still have 50 astig in both eyes. no need glasses or contact lens. But both eyes are rather dry, have to use eye drop frequently. No cure!

Hi poh,
how high is your degree? and what kind of lasik did you do? well, i just had my rite eye op tis afternoon. so far so good. vision is ok. hopefully i don't need any enhancements!

Hi Melgal,

I just had my lasik done this morning on my left eye. Just like u, lucky me, no tearing or pain. However, I feel that they have undercorrected, my vision not as clear as with my glasses or contact lenses. Now i'm keeping my fingers crossed. Hope the op on my 2nd op on my right eye balance my overall vision.

wawa,
i suppose it takes about 1-3 months for full stability of the eyesight, so dun worry about blurry visions. also, you only had yr one eye op, which explains why yr vision is also not clear. when u're done with your other eye, i strongly believe that u'll be so happy with the results as you can see so clear!

HI Wawa

How much degre is your degreeand do u ahve astig?
What u mean by undercorrectand u mean right eye have 2 operation?

btw u did the normal lasik or wavefront adn who is your doctor?
I also thinking of ahving lasik but becos degree veri high n got lasik thats y have been delaying

Thanks,if its not convenient maybe u can email ur response to [email protected]

Thanks again

Alan...

u mentioned yours was previously 700deg with 300astig. were u referring to both eyes??? cos mine now is 720deg for left n 650deg wif 150astig for rite.... yah, u all dont gasp leh... i noe im as blind as bat....

melgal, so happy to hear that u not having any prob with the op. so far, how's yr other eye???

me thot of doin early nex year cos can use bonus and who noes, the govt may decide that we may utilise our medisave... i noe fat hope, but i wish only mah....hehehehe

Hi AhJo77,

I'm having extreme myopia for my case. right: 1200 dip and 200++ astig. left: 1300 dip and 200-- astig. I'm considered lucky cos my cornea is thick enuff to go ahead wif operation. Actually my visit to SNEC was to get a 2nd opinion as I was rejected by Optimax wif my pre-op consultation. I was quite half hearted upon rejection but I'm determine to get my vision corrected. This afternoon I'm having the op on my right eye. Supposedly one op for each eye unless I need enhancement op to further reduce my vision due to extreme myopia. Hopes my vision stablizes after 1 to 3 months. My doc is Dr Chan Wing Kwong. Quite a friendly and nice chap but wif no discount (irregardless of the on-going price war). Can pay by instalments using credit card from major banks. Frankly speaking, even though I felt like my vision has been undercorrected, I'm still happy for the fact that I dun even need to grupe for my glasses upon opening my eyes every morning...

Hi Melgal,

I'm seriously keeping my fingers crossed that i dun need an enhancement cos I'm not sure if I still have any excess cornea for my both eyes left aft my 1st op. So how's ur vision now. Getting better??

Hi AhJo77,

Oh btw, mine is the normal lasik. If u want to get rid of ur dependancy on ur contact leneses and ur glasses, I think u should go for it. Who knows? Maybe another year down the road, ur degree of myopia gets worse and ur thickness of ur cornea may hinder u from doing LASIK. I tot of doing LASIK 2 years ago when it was being first introduced. However, I was still schooling then so dun have much cash. Come to think of it, the earlier u do it, the longer u will be enjoying the benefits before presbyopia creeps in. However on the other hand, not to forget to mention the possiblities of the permanent sides effects.....halos, poor vision at nites, glares etc...

Hi Wawa

All the best to your operation 2day and rest well for recuperation ..=)

Well Dr Chan is the head of deparment or senior consultant rite cos seems to have heard about him ?
Hmm mi orendi in the mid twenties liao so hor not veri sure if wanna g ahead cos scare of the side effects ..but whenever think of poor vision i have its quite saddening ah ...
but then currently think i shall prepare for my upcoming ROM events n maybe do it after that or after my AD whihc might take place in 2006 n hopefully my degree dun worsen or i m not blind yet kekeke..

Btw how sur rite eye now ,can dun wear glassses to surf net n y u feel it hav ebeen uncorrected ?Maybe its becos ur rite eye have not been operated ba so stay calm first ah =)

Jo

Hi Wawa,
i'm still experiencing abit of halos, starbursts at nite, and both my eyes are quite dry as well. i suppose this is normal as i just had my op last week? i'm going for another post op checkup on 1 oct, hopefully by that time, the doc shd be able to advise me of any leftovers astig and i wdn't need to go for any enhancements. keeping my fingers crossed for now.

my left eye is close to 400 and right eye is slightly over 500. Both eyes have myopia and no astig. melgal, why did you friend recommend dr wee? just curious

poh,
my friend did her lasik before me and i spoke to the PR person of SNEC as well. She told me Dr Wee did alot of lasik ops and is very accommodating to his patients. anyway, you have to be comfortable when talking to the doctors, which I personally feel tht Dr Wee is very approachable and very happy to answers all your queries.

melgal, why did your friend recommend dr wee? How do you find him? As for me, I have myopia in both eyes, close to 400 for left eye and slightly over 500 for right eye.

melgal, yeah, he is quite accommodating, he acceded to my requests most of the time. So you will be going for the 1 month post op visit in Oct? Good luck to you. My vision was only stablised after 6 months due to the dryness of the cornea.

Yeah, my 1 month post op visit in due on 1 oct. however, i'm having dry eyes as well and the vision isn't that clear when comes to nite time. is this normal? i dun think i will dare to drive becos' of glares and halos. is that got to do with astig as I know that lasik cannot cure astig.

Hi Melgal,

Yeah, my 2nd op went on fine... and I went for my post op consultation today. Everything is ok so far... plus not much side effects.....no glares, starburst or halos etc.... yup I've got dry eyes symptoms too... my 1 month consultation would be on 5th Oct...hope that my vision would be stabilize by then...Hope ur side effects would be gone too aft ur post op check..Do update us on the results then!!!

Hi Ah Jo77,

Yup u r rite, I'm surfing net w/o glasses. Come to think of it... my current condition is much better than my previous though still it is still in recovery stage. For the first few days, I still experienced slight headache cos due to the unbalance vision (only my left eye is being operated on). Aft 2nd op, everything seems to be better. But still early to tell the final results yet.

HI Wawa
COngrgulations to your operation..and hope everything goes on fine for you..haha how much u pay for the operation ?/ mi still ocnsidering to do or not to do cos really scare of the side effects ahhha n not sure if my cornea thick enuff for the OP ah nt ah cos of the extrem myphoia and astig.btw care tos hare how much u spend for the OP