Kuan Yin Temple at Waterloo Street.

blueprincess

Ok i will b more specific: does tis divination lot mean tat i will NEVER find a hubby n there r dangers n bad times for me (ie, singlehood for life).

OR

Does it mean tat for tis particular period of my life i will not meet d right guy yet n there will b danger n bad times in tis particular period?

blueprincess

How many times do i need to ask b4 any1 can answer me? I dunno why everyone is ignoring my qns when d other topics r being answered. I dunno why other pple had their queries on d lots answered n my latest lot is nt answered.

I m in despair now n is fast losing faith...

CAN SOME ONE HELP ME PLS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

crying now..

lady,

u're asking on a friday evening, and u say noone is answering u... even guanyin will have her own things to do, let alone us humans...

the reason why u're not meeting anyone has evrything to do with u sulking at home, and travelling out just to keep asking guanyin questions...

honestly, even if u get answers, it won't help u becos u are not even living your own life. if u're gonna dedicate all your time to seeking divine answers from guanyin, then dun u think it's better that u give your body to someone else to live? surely there are disabled pple who would make more of their life than simply seeking divine advice for everything....

u defeat yourself with your age, i have no idea why u think 33 is old, i can't imagine u at 40... u must be checking yourself into an old folks home liao...

i didn't even bother to find a companion, i just went ahead to live life, meet pple and go out.... guanyin let me meet my wife becos i took the First step of going out to meet pple. u scared this scared that, keep thinking u're old... how she let u meet someone unless she make someone knock on your door and present himself as your husband?

shy this shy that. u dun open your mouth, dun meet pple, how pple even get a chance to like u, or u get a chance to know others?

the scary part is not meeting pple... the scary part is that u meet so little pple that even when u meet the wrong guy - u Dun Know and won't know.

u will never know and never learn becos guanyin is living your life for u. which part of your life have u actually taken the courage and responsibility to live?

blueprincess

Hi Guy. Thanks. It gives me hope tt i can change my destiny. It was inspiring reading abt Liao Fan. I also read d links in tt wiki page as well.

Hi Powder. Stepping out needs courage. I will do tt. I hopw tt w my efforts my life will turn for d better....

Perhaps it's just me but before believing in something I have to be convinced that it makes sense. Logical even. Think about this - you go pick a lot with its pithy saying and expect it to give you direction. Someone else goes with the same purpose but hope to get answer to another problem. He gets the same lot... then what? If a lot can be an answer to thousands of problems and questions... Then it is not saying anything at all. assuming gy or whatever supernatural entity is real why would it be constraint by such a primitive way of communication? Ask about your boss it's tiger and mountain. Ask for protection it's tiger and mountain. Ask for a child it's tiger and mountains. Ask if a divorce is the right thing to do it's tiger and mountain. A magic 8 ball makes more sense if you really need such a crutch to go through life.

Dont be shy to think things through. You're given the capacity you might as well make use of it. Say if someone tried to convince me to burn paper money for my beloved departed. I'll be wondering how currency markets would work in the hades... How a constant infusion of new money would destabilize the hades economy. Inflation would be hell... Hehe. Only Chinese taoists would be rich! Or perhaps other folks use a different form of currency. If so how do you determine the exchange rate? Is there a central bank of sort? Will there be scarcity? And on and on...

blueprincess

Took d morning to think thru things. Afew days ago i was thinking if i shld go n ask Guan Yin for a lot. I did not wan to live my life being 'ruled' by divine lots but at d same time i was anxious to knw if life wld ever get better for me. So i went to d temple yest. N fear juz overcame me when i got two bad lots in d same day (although they r related to different topics they still touch on love). I felt like a 'death sentence' had juz been served on me even before i cld try to do anything. It made me only more disheartened n wary of d future. Its like everyone has a bright future except me. Colleagues n frens around me were getting into couplehood, getting married n having kids n living happily ever while i was d 'odd one out'. D fact tat i lacked social skills juz made me feel even more frustrated. My whole future seem so bleak. Everyday when i see my mum do feel abit resentful too. I wld ask myself....why did she prevent me frm having frens when i was young? Why did she keep telling me not to trust frens which led me to hav trust issues w my frens when i was i school? Why did she prevent me frm socialising w my classmates when i was in pri n sec sch? She insisted on taking me home in a taxi which made my classmatea see me as different n they kept away frm me. My mum prevented me frm going on many excursions n outings w classmatez when i was in school, which made me nt being able to b close w anyone. All these problems affected me so much tt when i was in university, i suffered frm low confidence, low self-esteem n i juz did nt hav d ability to socialise - all d way till today.

Now, i feel i hav alot of catching up to do. I knw i can only use d lots as a reference or guide bt not a crutch. I hav to use logic n nt juz believe everything like tat. I knw Guan Yin can only guide bt i hav to take d responsibility to lead my own life.

I want things to get better....

yes, it is difficult to rise above disadvantaged upbringings and backgrounds. you do have a horrible mum and expectation would be for you to have self-pity, resentment and even hatred. that's how the abused become similarly abusive to their own children.

or you can be the exception to the rule and rise above your lot. there is no secret formula or instruction manual for life - live it, try it, make mistakes, learn from mistakes. if you think you need more friends, you have to make the effort to go out and meet people. participate in activities. you can't related to people better by being a loner. tell yourself to stop feeling resentful. how? i don't know how but try different things. if something doesn't work try something else. if it works, continue with it... practice makes perfect.

your success would be much sweeter and your progeny would thank you.

stepping out needs courage...? harlow... the whole world has stepped out.

i have told u that your life will likely be fcuked in the other thread, and i strongly believe it will be so if. stick to seeking guayin and living within the confines of your mum n past.

who do u want to blame here? who do u want to see as the root cause of your life thus far?

since your life is as fcuked up as it is, what have u got to lose, by just changing the way u live?

i'm not asking u to go out andbe a loose girl, but how abt realising that life is soooooooo short, that it's really great to have a bunch of frens u can catch up with over weekly coffee, and just share on work, life and all things relevant? just to have a few bosom buddies or hangout kakis... pple who can see u and Help u grow out of your shell?

u are a good 10yrs late and u better thank guanyin for the internet and meeting pple like me over the net.

oops, my son here... later...

u r still desperately clinging on supertision. Its not that no one answered you. 1st, its the weekend. Since when was the forum very active on weekends?!?

Furthermore, you are expecting the same grp of people that responded to you to SUDDENLY become fortune tellers to explain to you what the lot means. This is extremely dumb. Duno why suddenly you are so desperate about it. If I come to you with a lot and ask you to explain. Can you do it as well? If you can, then why ask about your own lot as you can already interpret for yourself? If no, then u have the answer too. Like yourself, WE ARE NOT FORTUNE TELLERS! Don't come in a forum to ask people to interpret lots for you.

Sorry, if I'm harsh, not sure why you suddenly become of desperately needing to have this lot. Maybe you could share more about your problem. I'm sure there would be alot more opinions about your problem then about interpreting your lot.

blueprincess

Hi Milo i knw my behaviour may seem extreme to u bt as explained in my earlier posts i was hit hars by having two negative lots regarding my love life. As some one who yearns for love i was thus feeling down when i got d second lot - it is like Guan Yin telling me tt i wld nt get married n which means i wld never achieve my dream of having my own family. When i saw tat lot i felt like my world had come tumbling down, all my hopes all gone. Tis was wat i felt yesterday. Of cuz looking back i agree tiz was abit irrational....

Milo, my family has been superstitious since young. There is tis guan yin temple at Race Course road which has a medium. N my mom wld go n ask her things which turned out v accurate. So i grew up putting alot of emphasize on supernatural stuff juz like my mom n granny.

Powder, my life wun b fcuked. I knw u n Milo mean well....I m gg to provento myself tt i can lead a better life..

blueprincess

Hi Tomasulu i will treat my kids well. I dun wan any resentment or emotional baggage to b ever carried over to them n my future hubby. It shld all end w me

I told Guan Yin i can devote my life to her. I m currently trying to find out d hanyu pinyin version of d Heart Sutra so tt i can start to understand it n recite it. Hopefully she can take away all these bad emotions tt i feel. I dun like carrying all these negative emotions w me bt i do get overwhelmed sometimes. Thankfully these negative feelings do go away bt they come back some time later.

blueprincess

Toma, i wan to b d exception to d rule n rise above my lot.....while i will put i effort i will pray to Kuan Yin for strength. I need tat too.

not to be rude or anything, but do u think your mum led a rather successful, happy and fulfilling life? filled with a variety of ups and downs and is gonna die with aboslutely not regrets having lived life to the fullest?

i seriously doubt so, in fact i do think it's sad, wasted, unhappy and regrettable.

i dun really wanna know where this guanyin temple comes in, but i believe in the power of the human mind, the power of the subconscious and many other proven science and theories. they basically can explain the accuracy of whatever comes, particularly if they tell u What to do. does that mean gunayin wants your mum's life to be this depressing? if so, do u really wanna devote your life to her?

seriously u can say all u want, but your life is as good as wasted if u persist in leaving everything to divine advice.

i was born into poverty and my life is expected to be tough. i didn't seek God's help for what to do... i seeked God to simply give me strength to carry on. all other applications are just me and my reading and networking.... the only divine help i looked for, is for the Human spirit to never leave me.

fortune teller said many things, from guanyin temple, tiger temple, tpk temple etc etc... i didn't like what i hear and i refused to accept my 'fate'. i set out to change them....

maybe the heavens are touched by my sincerity and efforts? i dun know, but if i know my life is gonna be fcuked, i might as well say 'fcuk u' to the fortune tellers and ask the heavens why the fcuk they put me here to be some cockroach. i DECIDED i'm gonna be a tiger, my own man, and continue to respect God.

as for u, since u believe n wanna believe. then u get so many bad lots... why do u even bother changing? u're fcuked anyway...

so u decide and u TAKE ACTION. talk is cheap... constantly saying u wanna change your life BUT doing the same fcuk thing everyday, asking the same fcuk thing everyday, hoping the same fcuk thing everyday.... is exactly why your life won't change.

powder, few can honestly say they have lived life to the fullest and have no regrets. and i am not sure that's what she wants to aims for. or should aim for. whatever unhappy situation she is in, she is trying to figure a way out. baby steps as they may be, it is ok as long as they are in the right direction. i think you should go easy on her.

it is obvious her mum is a terrible human being but it is a bad argument to say therefore her belief is what's causing her misery. there are very "successful" people who believe as she does. as an example, i have many successful and relatively happy friends who buy into all that fengshui nonsense. stupid illogical belief as they may be, it hasn't stopped them from attaining some measure of worldly success.

bp, ask yourself, what is the rush??

Relationships and marriage don't happen overnight. Its as the saying, 8 character doesn't even have the 1st stroke. You are panicking and jumping up and down over a lot. COME ON! Don't expect instant results and answers. All of us take life experiences to learn and develop. Date more and ask less to the supernatural for direction. You need to discover yourself and not be lead by the nose by some unknowns. You will forever be unsure with yourself if you continue to insist to rely on such things.

You tell me how accurate it is, so how has it help your mum frankly? Then now, ask yourself, how will it help you as well? This is very simple logical thinking. Surely you can figure it out. So damn accurate but yet your mum's marriage and life is still so problematic. So, what's the point... it is as good as having someone predicting correctly, you will die on a date and you spending the rest of the days doing nothing but waiting for the day to die.

sorry for being blunt but you really need a wake up call. You are insisting on sticking to your methods that has so far failed to help you really. Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again expecting a different result.

Ask all your friends in happy marriages, did they automatically be good partners? How did they end up having a good marriage. Its not about finding the ONE. We become the one for our partners through all the experiences. It is a walk. You must walk the walk. There is no other way. No temple, no god or any being can magically give you a good marriage.

how many punters went on to whack all they have after getting 2 good lots from their temple only to lose everything they have? Probably, they also went to the same temple as well.

WAKE UP woman, these lots can be interpreted in a big variety of ways so that anyone with the intent to bring relevance to their context could easily find them, hence its ACCURATE. let me give u a damn accurate prediction, we all will die one day. Wah... swee right? DAMN accurate, cos it cover every damn living thing on earth.

"I did not wan to live my life being 'ruled' by divine lots but at d same time i was anxious to knw if life wld ever get better for me." Do you not realize how contradicting is that statement? You life will only get better when you start striving to make it better. Not by being anxious. For a change take out a bible and read. Maybe you will get a better inspiration...

Matthew 6:27 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?
Luke 12:25 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

I'm not even a Christian but I can identify well with many verses that has brought sense and values to my life. No one needs to be a Christian before such logical verses can be relevant to us. Stop being anxious. If you truly believe in a God, you would trust the God will care for you. And if there isn't God, why you pray for anyway. Either way, your worries doesn't NOTHING.

Don't take anything wholesale. The reason why I'm not a Christian is because I don't agree nor believe in what is being told. Use your mind more. Religion and beliefs can help give inspirations and meaning but we should not blindly rely on what is being told to us.

i meant : "Either way, your worries does NOTHING."

So, you are doing meaningless things that trigger more meaningless anxiety. If you continue doing that, you lead a meaningless life having to worry all the time over interpreting and finding relevance to the lot you asked for all the time.

If its really accurate, you should always get the same lot regardless, 10 times, 100 times and even 1000 times. Else, you are just bullshitting to believe in things you want to believe in.

To be frank, my family is going through yet another rough patch. My uncle just suffered his 2nd heart attack last weekend. He fell into coma from the lack of oxygen. My mum is so worried and scared to face yet another tragedy in her life. None of us are depending on the lot to tell us anything. We are not anxiously going to the temple for some magical lot to save him Especially my uncle himself. He has always been a fighter and I know he will fight to recover from this.

blueprincess

@ Powder: i m nt leaving everything to Kuan Yin or divine advice. Wat i meant by devoting my life to Kuan Yin is to b better buddhist by reciting d sutra n gg to d Kuan Yin temple to pray regularly. N i m nt gg to ask for lots. I m gg to pray to ask Kuan Yi for blessings, to keep me safe, healthy n to give me d strength to live each day happy n make d right decision. That is wat i meant Powder. Like wat i said in my earlier post today:" I knw Guan Yin can only guide bt i hav to take d responsibility to lead my own life. "

I m nt taking God/Buddha/Kuan Yin whole sale. Being a devout Buddhist does not mean i listen n cling onto Kuan Yin. I wan to lead my own happy life by stepping out into society, make frens, join activities, but i plan to pray at d temple n recite d sutra too. I dun mean other thing else. Sorry if i had nt been clear.

@Milo: d life i want is not d one my mum is leading, nor is it d one about asking Kuan Yin or any God for answers. I know life is a journey n r/s take time. Yes i m panicking n i need assurances. Right now i m telling myself tmr when i wake up i wan to start being happy n live for myself. I knw i will hav to self assure along d way tat everything is alright. I knw wat u mean. I m stepping away frm my mum n gg to b rational n step out. I wun abandon her bt i hav to move on frm her from now on. I knw d days ahead will b filled w happy possibilities n there will b tough times. Bt i m willing to give life a fight so tat i can rise n b a better person. Nt planning to hide behind any God or divine lot. Certainly not.

Yes i knw being anxious is not d way n i hav to strive to make my life better

@Toma: thanks. U r v assuring n seem to understand me. I think i need a wake up call n both powder n milo did it well...

blueprincess

Hi Milo, i do admire ur strength despite going through so much in life. Sorry to hear abt tis...I wish ur uncle speedy recovery n I hope he wakes up soon frm his coma.

Thanks for ur advice. I wun let myself lead such a meaningless life.

luncheon_meat

@ blueprincess: Take pride and be proud of whoever you are and whatever you have. There are many out there who are worse off than you. Count your blessings and be happy with oneself.

We cant choose our parents so guess we aint got a choice as far as thats concerned. No matter how bad they are, they are still the ones who gave birth to us. Without them, we are non-existent. Filial piety is one of our chinese virtues.

Buddhism is never a religion. Its a philosophy that teaches us and guides us on how to live our lives. Use it only as a guidance and what to make out of our lives is still very dependant on us.

Have faith and believe in yourself. Like what Bruce Lee once said - As you think, so you shall become!

"I wan to lead my own happy life by stepping out into society, make frens, join activities"

dun just say... i have seen pple say the same things for a decade and still stay where they are...

toma,

of cos when u honestly say that u have lived life to the fullest and have no regrets... u should say it with an understanding of Life, where shit happens from time to time and some things may be beyond u at different stages of wisdom.

well i dun mean to be harsh, the urgency is there for a quick realisation. baby steps are fine but i do think she's a whole decade behind n her steps are likely to take another 5yrs, so i'll just adopt the CSM role in here, as unlikeable as it may sound.

her mum is nowhere close to living as far as my dictionary goes, but of cos in the other thread, i did share the differences and exposure that would have caused this rather great divide. same way i dun fault my mum for holding on to some irrelevant thinking in today's context, but i must recognise the fact that they no longer hold relevance and might blurr reality.

oh i do believe in fengshui to a certain extent, but there's a difference when u're Striving in the right Jobs and adjusting the water fountains at home... and buying a water fountain, staring at it daily and expecting a 12mths bonus from your boss working as a backroom staff. there's a difference when u date and hope to meet the right guy, occasionally asking for divine help... as opposed to asking the heavens to let u meet someone whilst u stay home surfing net and reading books. of cos if u're in chatrooms, maybe u Do get to meet a soulmate.

i'm not exactly mocking anyone here, my life experience has been rather rich where the divine is concerned, and i have had experiences with both God, and Tua Pek Gong... so i know they're real alright. but never once have they told me what to do, but rather drop words to make me think and decide my own destiny.

Action is needed for all advice.

blueprincess

Hi Powder i m definetely taking in all advice n is taking action. Today is a new day n i m taking a new approach to life

Hi Luncheon meat , yes i will hav faith! Thank u for ur guidance too!

BP, I'm not strong, I'm just human. Just several months back, I was in such a bad patch. I had moment of wanting to end it all by ramming my car onto the trailer.

Death is an important lesson we have to face. Normally people at ours and our parents ages will have to face this. We suddenly realize we cannot take life and people for granted. As much as we pursue our dreams, we need to appreciate and live life today. Not wait for things to happen in future. Time is lost before we know it.

blueprincess

Hi Milo,

Hope things are better for you know. U have a wife (not sure if you have kids) so pls think of her before u do anything silly ok. Luckily you did not do that. Cos what if you ended up injured instead? Then wouldn't you feel even worse? You'll rack up high bills and the pressure on your wife and loved ones will be even greater.

Yup, we'll we need to appreciate and live life today. Start living now!

Have a good week ahead. Today's only Mon. ganbatte! =)

company sergeant major... u know those fierce fierce disciplinary type of pple in the army? the type that scold scold scold and make u feel like strangling them - that type...

ok lah, got good ones also... but generally due to the nature of their 'job', they tend to be very fierce n strict.

bp,

You can be a good person or a good buddhist or whatever.. And if you are true to your heart - it is all up in your heart .. Nevermind if you pray or not. It is what we do and the action we take that determine our lives.. not what we pray or not pray.

I am not against people asking for directions in life by praying and getting a lot. But don't over-do it. If it is bad, look at it and try to change our lives through positive thinking and action. If it is good, build the momentum.

If you really need friends I can be one - just the platonic kind. But I am very busy and I cant promise that I will be free all the time.

jn1234

blueprincess
Don't be overly worried to get attached or married. Why rush into a relationship or marriage just for the sake of friends are all attached? Many people married for the sake of pressures to get married, but how many of these marriages really last? These marriages might last in the olden days due to different circumstances then, eg due to instilled negative value against divorce, or the women are more tolerant, or financially dependent on the men, so can't divorce. But circumstances in today's world are vastly different from the olden days. So do you want to rush into such a marriage then find yourself going to temple to ask whether to divorce.

一个人也å¯ä»¥å¾ˆç²¾å½©ï¼Œä¸Žå…¶å«é”™ï¼Œä¸å¦‚ä¸å«ã€‚

But if you are bang on getting hitched, go out and socialise more instead of going to temples to ask for help.

bunny98

Hi blue princess
I try to pm u but u can't accept pm.
U can pm me and I can share my experience with u,
Stay positive !

rhinojh

Hihi...
New user here. Since there is a thread on guan yin qian, thought i share my humble opinions.

I would not rely on the english translation, whether in the books or in the pink paper. Cos the chinese words carry more meaning than the english translation.

Some bad qian are not really that bad. If you look at the chinese interpretation, they will indicate which areas are suitable and which are not.

I refer to the earlier qian 75.
æ­¤å¦æŠ±è™Žè¿‡å±±ä¹‹è±¡ï¼Œå‡¡äº‹é™©å‡¶æƒŠæ也。此签家宅祈ä¿ï¼Œè‡ªèº«æ防,求财谨慎,交易滞,婚姻难顺,六甲有惊,行人阻,田蚕五分,六畜æŸï¼Œå¯»äººæ³ï¼Œè®¼äºï¼Œå¤±ç‰©éš¾ï¼Œç—…祭虎,移徙守,åŸå‡¶

The question is specific to meeting future spouse. Hence refer to 婚姻难顺(marriage not smooth sailing) and å¯»äººæ³ (delay in finding person). This would mean at this point of time the person would not appear. Also look at the story how the qian was derived.(in gist its about escaping from capture and person had his hair turned white overnight from excessive worrying. In the end he made the escape)

Qian is not a "forever" solution. It is only at that point of time u are asking and what would be current situation. Also inside the qian there is always an encouragement. If u read the chinese, the person actually managed to escape which is an encouragement in a "bad" qian.

If u are troubled and really have no solution, then you would probably need to consult the qian in the morning as your mind is fresher.

my $0.02 thots

rhinojh

qian 47
诗曰 
锦上添花色愈鲜 è¿æ¥ç¦„马喜åŒå…¨ã€€
时人莫æ¨åŠŸå晚 一举登科四海传 

签语 
æ­¤å¦é”¦ä¸Šæ·»èŠ±ä¹‹è±¡ã€€å‡¡äº‹å¤§å‰å¤§åˆ©ä¹Ÿ

凡事大å‰å¤§åˆ© - generally what u hope will be successful

å®¶å®…â†’ç¥ˆä¿ è‡ªèº«â†’å®‰ 求财→利 交易→阻
å©šå§»â†’åˆ å…­ç”²â†’ç”Ÿç”· 行人→迟 田蚕→八分
六畜→平 寻人→至 公讼→宜和 移徙→å‰
失物→西北 ç–¾ç—…â†’ä½œç¦ å±±åŸâ†’利

Just take note if u are asking if u can do business/trading (交易), there will be obstruction and if u are expecting a traveller (行人), the person will be late.

So good qian is not all that necessarily great and not all bad qian are that terrible.

In essence qian is to give u an encouragement.

Similiarily Iching also give the same principle. If u look at english iching interpretation it is an absolute answer (good/bad) but in chinese there is always hope

eigna13

Hi Julian, i agree with u, i heard that too. The English wording actually may not mean what u ask. I went to pray today but the guy who usually help to interpet my lot was not ard. Can u or any kind soul help me to interept lot 71, i am asking if i should change job.

You want canned binary responses to guide you through life?! Life is much much more complex than that. We've all been through horrible jobs where we hated every minute of it. But looking back we can perhaps see how toughing it out builds character and our careers. Otoh some cushy jobs hinders our progress more so than we realized. And looking back we may wish we have taken on a different route. Not saying there arent cut and dry decisions or outcomes in life. But quite often the best destinations in life come via an off beaten winding path. We may not even know what it's that we wanted. How do you expect a yes/no outcome be of use to your decision making process?