Kuala Lumpur

• Thread starter Thread starter kl
  • Start date Start date
Hi all will be going up to KL for a 4 days trip to KL...any good recommendation on nice and reasonable price food there? Thanks

Please advise where is good to shop in KL? I heard have Midvalley and Isetan. I not into branded stuff.. so those small stall kind will be good for me ;)

Hi Karyinn,

You can go to KLCC. Isetan more into branded stuffs, & the prices not that cheap also (after converting back to SIN$)
or can go to Sungei Wang shopping centre or chinatown area. Lots of good bargain.

Anybody has any recommendation for cheap and good budget hotel in KL preferably in Golden triangle? Will be driving up next weekend. Thanks

hi venusian,

golden triangle = bukit bintang area.

THE GOLDEN TRIANGLE

The Golden Triangle refers to an area bordered by 3 major roads that form a triangle, namely Jalan Imbi, Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Raja Chulan (Jalan means “streetâ€). It attained its name primarily because multitudes of commercial buildings, business companies, shopping malls, and prestigious hotels are located here.

Bukit Bintang (which literally means Star Hill), is an extremely popular area within the Golden Triangle particularly for the avid shoppers and those who seek entertainment or recreation because it offers the most comprehensive, ultra-modern, one-stop shopping complexes and entertainment centres catering to all tastes and means.

PETRONAS TWIN TOWER (KLCC)

The Petronas Twin Tower stands majestically in bustling city centre of Kuala Lumpur.

It is one of the tallest twin building in the world by standing at 451.9m and consist of 88 stories each. Both towers are linked by the skybridge located on the 41st floor.

KLCC is the headquarter for Petronas, short for Petroliam Nasional Bhd, is Malaysia's national petroleum corporation. Within the 6-storey tower locates a 864-seat concert hall, Dewan Filharmonik Petronas that hosts Malaysian and international artists, orchestras, jazz performances and musical presentations.

Located in the first 6-floors of KLCC, this huge mall expects at least 653,000 visitors each week. Below ground zero, you can hop onto the light rail transit, Putra LRT to get to another shopping destination along its route.

Besides housing a large variety of shops, from fashion to home accessories, sports, restaurants, café, bookstore, etc, it even has its own art gallery, Petronas Gallery and a science centre, Petrosains. You can spend a full day shopping or just window shopping in this huge mall, and later catch the latest blockbusters at TGV cinema.

KUALA LUMPUR TOWER

The tower is currently the world 4th tallest telecommunications tower by standing at 421m and it consist of an observation platform which makes it a vantage point to see the city in all its glory.

SUNWAY PYRAMID

Strategically located at just a stone throw away from The One Academy, Sunway Pyramid consists of the Sunway Lagoon Resort Hotel and Sunway Lagoon Theme Park .

The Sunway Pyramid offers a unique shopping adventure through its exquisite Egyptian concept interior and houses various boutiques of international brands. It also has the 48-lane Pyramid Bowl, which is the official venue for the 1998 Commonwealth Games, apart from the Pyramid Ice – Malaysia’s first indoor ice-skating rink.

Give your taste buds a treat as Sunway Pyramid houses exquisite eating outlets of both local and international cuisines.

Midvalley Megamall

For the first time, three of Malaysia's successful anchors - Carrefour, Jusco and Metrojaya reside with us.

We open from 10am to 10pm daily, 365 days a year. Our Anchor tenant, Carrefour opens earlier at 9.30am daily and closes at 11pm on weekends (Fridays, Saturdays & Eve of Public Holidays). On occasions they may extend their hours until 12 midnight.

Mid Valley Megamall also houses Asia's largest Cineplex and Gym. Then there is a state-of-the-art Bowling Centre and a One-Stop IT Centre. And if that's not enough, how about filling-up your trolley in the Mega Supermarket? Or, browse to your heart's content in the Mega Bookstore.

To assist your shopping trip, do stop by at our Customer Service Counters located at the Centre Court, North Court and South Court, on the Ground Floor. Our Customer Service Officers will help you out in any way they can. We even have wheelchairs and power scooters for the elderly and physically-challenged. For mothers with young infants, we have well-appointed babyrooms to keep both mums and babies happy.

eh....I'm still looking out for accomodation???? Anyone?

professor, thanx for the write-up about the places of interest in KL.

hi aspiration,
for golden triangle, if like what professor said, then i'll be staying at Hotel Capitolnext week. Oh i forgot to mention, i'm gg to KL next week. Actually now for KL, most of their hotel accomodation prices has gone up. If you want cheaper, then suggest to book with tour agencies. Me book with GR Travel. Federal hotel is more ex than Capitol a bit. Usu more ex by RM$10.

I normally stay at Capitol cos its only walking dist to Sungei Wang. And from Sungei Wang, just cross the road then can go to Lot 10 already, VERY convenient, that's why most of the time I go there, hehehe.

How much is the room for Capitol that you booked from GR? I intend to book from Asiarooms.com. The rate for Capitol is SGD80 and Federal is SGD93. Which would be better?

Hi aspiration,

my rate was $85 incl bft. cos when i book, one nite falls under m'sia's peak season so it was RM$10 = RM$95. after that, it revert back to RM$75. So for 2 nites average is RM$85 for this period only bah..

For me i prefer Capitol cos it's a bit newer. Federal is quite old and i heard it's haunted, haha. Dunno whether true or not...

Venusian,
GR is so cheap, the rate in Asiarooms.com is SGD80 for one night only . Are you taking coach to KL or driving?

OH NO!!!1 it's 85 SING DOLLAR!

my goodness, im so sorry to give you the wrong amount. Asiaroom's rte got bft? if also incl, then u better book there lor...maybe next time i can try book online...

really pai seh!

yah, i confirm it's S$85 per room per nite, include bft for 2 person and include taxes.

Yours include taxes already?

Nope, me taking bus in Larkin Bus Station in JB. Cheaper....but with the recent hike in the oil prices, dunno if it'll be very ex or not also...

The rate in asiarooms.com from now till 9th Nov is $96 but as I'm going after 9th so the rate is at $80 inclusive of breakfast, tax and service charge for the Superior Room. I'll be charged in USD for my credit card.

Just found out that precisionrooms.com for Capitol is $76 for Superior Room but their Superior Rooms are all smoking rooms and the non-smoking Deluxe room is $86.

Yours would be the Superior or Deluxe Room ?

hmm, that means the online rate is still $1 more ex lor. I rem at GR travel,she oso got show me that till 9th nov is S$95 per room per nite. After that it's S$75.

Actually everytime i go Capitol i always stay at the cheapest rate and i dunno that Sup Rm are all smoking room leh. I HATE smoking room lor but i dun find the room smell of smoke or cigarettes leh...So it's still alrite for me. The only thing is Sup Rm are all on lower floors but not a concern for me cos i no need to appreciate the scenary when i'm going KL for shopping! Haha.

Hey, i heard that driving up to KL is also quite ex leh, unless you are going with many frens...

I dont' think i can book accom from GR for a 1 night stay leh so got to do it online. Only my HB and i are driving up in his car cos he is delivering something (inconvenient to take bus) and also will be meeting up with his clients. I'm just taging along for fun lor and also to keep him awake.. cos i don't know how to drive. I guess driving will be faster then taking bus so maybe can reach there earlier and i can go shopping. Never been there before though...

Haha, keeping him awake huh...then you dun fall alseep lor..

well, i think you can book one nite lah, who dun want the business. actually not just GR travel lor, you can go to other tour agencies like Five Stars, or those near your house. But for online booking, what i like is some website allow you to choose the kind of rooms you like but of course subject to availibility.

Hi, just to let you know, in KL most hotels' check in time is 3pm. unless it's real low season, if not they can ask you to check in later or give you any rooms that is avail at that moment. Just remember the golden rule, "Room is subject to availibility".

Hi aspiration,

Driving to KL is definitely much faster than bus man..it's just the traffic jam at KL that's more scary. Hey, i also heard that its their sale time in KL leh...prepare more RM$ okie...oh their exchange rte is about 220 now...hope can exhchange rte can be better near to date...

Hmm, i'm leaving for KL on the 9th... you leh? on the 12th huh?

Venusian,
I'l be going next weekend. Sale...yummy.. will definitely change more RM$. Thanks for the tips. Booking online should be quite reliable, I've tried booking online whenever we go Bangkok for shopping leh.I guess if no room then we can always drive back to S'pore lor...no shopping then.

Hmm, should have rooms lah. After 9nov is not peak already mah. But if you are driving, where can you park you car huh?

hi aspiration

here is few speed trap info...jz watch out...

*Tangkak junction.

*Under the bridge after Yong Peng

* at 97.3km.

*Ayer Hitam junction.

*Sedenak junction.

*On center divider at 251.8km and 253km after Senawang junction.

*Under the last bridge before Sg Besi toll at 309.2km.

*Under the bridge at 296.5km, Bangi junction.

*Under the newly constructed bridge at 289.0km, after Nilai North junction.

*Under the bridge at 286.5km, Nilai North junction.

*Under the bridge before Mint hotel, Sg Besi Toll. 80km/h only!

venusian,
I'll be staying at Equatorial. The hotel provides free parking for hotel guests.

professor,
thanx for the warning..i'll be printing out your list of interesting places and the speed traps to bring along my trip.

I booked Eq at about SGD85 so not that expensive after all.

Professor,
Any idea how long it would take to drive to KL and at what speed?

I booked Eq at about SGD85 so not that expensive after all.

Professor,
Any idea how long it would take to drive to KL and at what speed?

hi aspiration,

it depand on the speed u drive...
from toll to toll wil take abt 3.5hr and the speed is 110km/h for highway.
jz watch out for the speeding buses.

Hi aspiration!
Me back from my trip just this morning...
Very fun and tiring cos... Me and my fren has been shopping from morning till night! Leg so aching...
Though I spent abt S$250 in total, i think it's still considered lesser than those shoppaholic out there bah, haha. I bought a lot of things.

So how's your trip? Do share with us....

venusian,
Me just got back yesterday. I didn't buy anything. Maybe I bought too much already when I was in Bangkok in Sept and now in KL it seems that everything S'pore also have...so nothing to buy.

We took about 4 hours to reach there and we got a bit lost when we drove into KL to go to our hotel. luckily I brought a map. We took their trains to travel around for shopping. Their food is cheap. We were at Secret Recipe for a cup of coffee when we noticed that their cakes are so cheap that we decided to order a slice of cake each instead of sharing a slice (as we usually do)!

Next time we'll take a bus cos it'll less tiring for the driver and after paying all the tolls, it's cheaper to go by bus if there only 2 of us.

hi ..

Hope both of u enjoy the trip.
i also come back yesterday evening.

next time if u pre-plan yr trip ,u can buy yr ticket from Plusliner .This company is trustable n cheaper.i always travel by this bus.

I've read in the news that there's a bus that offers 'first class' service. The bus has seats at the upper deck and the lower deck has a drinks counter where you can gather around etc. Anyone knows of it?

hi aspiration,

i saw one company offering that kind of bus you are mentioning, its call "Konsortium". But I think Plusliner is avail in s'pore rite, professor?

I heard such ticket is not that cheap also... Somemore if you are buying a lot of things , quite difficult to carry to the 2nd deck leh.

yup,started some time a go liow from SG to KL .is costly too but the bus can go realy fast.saw a few running on the highway when i driving 130km/h but they stil overtake me easily.

Plusliner is more from JB,only come to SG one trip if i not mistaken.

Konsortium ,707,gunung raya also got double deck bus.

yah ... not safe hor... the buses always go very fast. Double deck means double not balance...cos of centre of gravity very high

1st timer planning 3D2N trip to Sunway Lagoon & KL. Any hotels/shopping ctr to recommend for KL?
Checked on line info but too many hotels, duno which is best located & budget abt S$90/nite incl breakfast for 2.

Any1 knw if Sunway can get coaches to KL & price?

For return coaches to S'pore, really better to book in malaysia? Hw much price difference?

Appreciate if can share lobangs . Thks!

hi miralyn,

u can book the 3D2N tour from SG agent ,they hv alot of choice.hotel and tranport wil be included.

Sunway lagoon hv a big shopping center itself.

Hi professor,

Thks for sharing but im planning 3D2N to Sunway den 3D2N to KL. agency normally is both plc=3D2N.

We're planning free & ez, do u knw KL which hotel location is ideal? Like hotel Nova/Allson, along jln bukit tintang? seems ez acessible to berjaya times square, klcc, chinatown.

Any other must go spots to recommend?

hi miralyn,

from yr msg : (1st timer planning 3D2N trip to Sunway Lagoon & KL) -is not same to- (but im planning 3D2N to Sunway den 3D2N to KL)

aiyo... then u jz tell the agency to make a 5D4N tour for u to sunway and kl lol....shld be not problem.

hi miralyn,

unless you are saying you going to sunway and KL on 2 diff dates with diff grps of people or wat, actually i see no point to stay in sunway for 3D2N cos you can use 1 day at the lagoon and probably 1/2day at the shopping ctr call something like, The Pyramid rite Professor?

Actually i went sunway 5 yrs back and find that the shopping was ok oni. We had fun at the lagoon though...

Miralyn, i think if you are going with the same grp of frens or with your family, might as well at one go stay like 4D3N for Sunway and KL. Those prmo pkg are just some eg bah. I'm sure you can book an extra nite on top of hat. Just head to Five Stars Tours or Gunung raya or GR travel blah blah to find out...

If you want Bt Bintang, i'm going to recommen my fav budget hotel = htel Capitol, haha. Cos it's about avg S$85 per room per nite for my last recent trip. And yes, it's withing walking distance to Berjaya Times Sq, Lot 10, Sungai Wang. For KLCC, better take cab and pls pls ask for the meter charge. If not the cab drivers can just quote for RM$10 when the fare is onli about RM$4-5. Even with heavy jam (i experience b4), it's also less than RM$10 lor. Just a word of caution.

Venusian ..u got the point too,sunway lagoon and pyramid itself only need one an a half day.

miralny ..hope u get some idea how to plan yr trip liow...by the way ..how old r u if u dont mind...cos u say 1st timer to kl...

Hi Venusian! You like Capitol too. ME TOO! I've also stayed at Concorde hotel and Century Hotel before. I dun like Sunway Lagoon but the shopping mall is so-so lah...

I prefer Midvalley plaza, is that the correct name??? Did you people go to Bangsa Baru which is 20min from KL, near to PJ? Ohhh, it's like double the size of our Holland V. I like the atmosphere there, better than Beach Club.

Thks all for feedback. Goin wth hb-2ppl oni.

Tot sunway might need 2 days as 1 day for theme park, 1 day for shopping, relaxin

Was interested in below package :
RM555++ per room per package for 2 adults includes the following:

3D2N accommodation in one Standard Room
American Buffet Breakfast for 2 adults at Atrium Cafe
1 day admission to Sunway Lagoon Theme Park for 2 adults
PLUS a choice of another 1 day admission to Theme Park for 2 adults OR a RM60 Food & Beverage rebate(when charged to room)
Privilege Shopping Card for great discounts at Sunway Pyramid Shopping Mall
Welcome drink upon arrival
Welcome fruit basket
Extension Night is inclusive of one night accommodation with 2 Adult breakfast

3rd day den move on to KL, stay another 3D2N...
My frien oso recom Capitol, will check w agency & compare prices.