Jaw Surgery - Orthognathic surgery

jinnous

Oh, bigman. The doc will insert a tube into your bladder to drain your urine. My doc only remembered to tell me at the operating theatre. Yours shd be the same bah. The sensation is not very nice. I was hooked up for 2 days I think. Then I insisted to be taken off. And its quite painful as its like u-wanna-pee-but-u-can't-pee feeling lor.

bigman

JInnous,

Doesn't sound good hearing abt the bladder urinating thing... i saw it before and I don't like it.

jinnous

I felt like an invalid that time...keke.... so I insisted taking it off. But I was weak and I had to use the bed pan. Dunno which was more humiliating.....Haha..... I remembered asking my hubby y I have so much pee when I dun really drink water....and the nurse said it was the drip. I had to pee like every hour.

jinnous

Tat time e prof told me cuz the op took bout 5 hours so they have to insert the tube in. so I guess its compulsory lor. Until after e op, they think you are capable to pee urself then they will take off.

So I guess u r going for e op rite? Have the doc explained e procedure to u? I'm not sure if it will be e same. I have 2 tubes connected to me (not including the urine tube). 1 tube down my throat viz my nose, the other tube connected to a hole below my jaw, near the neck. Purpose was to drain the blood.

The tube down my throat one was most gross. You can feel the liquid coming up from ur stomach. But after u cross this phase, everything was ok, like after 1 or 2 days.

bigman

I've visited a friend who did this op one day after and i didn't see any drip from the urinal...but I'm a guy leh.. wil I have it also?

bigman

Ok ok... scare me so much

So guy jus have a bottle to urine or can go toilet?

bigman

Hi Jinnous,

Did ur surgery costs subsidised?? cos now i reading another forum and the ppl wrote abt 3k onli leh in total..

bigman

I think it's the subsidisation.

NUH does not have subsidization?

Anyone who have done the op can give a break down of the total costs here? many many thanks!

hehehe

hi...i'm new here!! going for e ops after having braces fixed.. mine gt to move 2 jaw,upper n lower with asymmetrical problems as well..so quite complex... wonder how i will look like during e pre surgery treatment as in braces..

only know dat i will look horrible as they will push out my lower set of teeth n push bck my upper set so i will look very class 3.

anyway.. just to check i'm doing my braces at braces aesthesics by Dr Soh,he charge me ard 6k for self ligating braces,is it too ex?? den wonder hw much will my jaw surgery cost.. i choose Dr winston Tan. he so far quote me 10-12k bt wondering hw much shld i pay after deduct fr medisave.. n can i use my sister's medisave to pay off?? Pls Help. as i nd to get e info.. thanks

bigman

Hi Meiyan,

Ur braces are a bit expensive.. I got mine for abt 5k (including extractions etc..)

Dr Winston Tan is from Elizabeth hospital which is a private hospital.. they charge much more expensive compared to govt hospital like Alexandra hospital... U can check with Dr Tan abt the medisave deduction part.. they will know..

By the way, there is a thread abt jaw surgery and braces at http://www.flowerpod.com.sg/ Click on forums and look for orthodontics and braces thread

Did u just started on braces recently? How long do u need to wait til surgery?

hehehe

ya.. i think my braces r too ex..bt any differences between e smart clip braces n e normal oneS?check wif Dr Tan,he told me i can use my family members medisave to pay..anyway, i already had my braces put on..on 13th Dec i had to go 4 my pre molar removal. so far my braces doesnt hurt at all,except wire poking at e bck!hehehe... or m i suppose to feel e pain after i had remove my pre molars??i nd to b wif braces at leaast a yr b4 surgery

bigman

Hi Meiyan,

Mine was done at NTUC. Smart clip braces are those known as self-ligating braces which mean the whole wire is changed to a thicker one during each visit compared to jus tightening the same wire (normal braces).

The pain part is individual.. but at certain stages u may feel more pain which may last longer.. ur ortho will know.

clong

Hi Everyone

Has anyone go for the surgery?
I want to check how long it takes for the swelling to fully subsides after the operation.

I just had my operation on the 16 Dec 08

hehehe

ic...now my wire very thin,haha
u guys had braces after extraction of tooth or b4??does extraction hurts??n bigman wer u had ur jaw surgery done??u moved 1 jaw or both jaw???n hw long u had to b wif ur braces b4 surgery??

hehehe

hi clong,

wer u had ur surgery at??n what e cost of it???hw many percent can i use my medisave?? m i able to check wif CPF board?

bigman

HI Meiyan,

Extraction can be done before during braces.. depend on situation. i haven't do my jaw op. I have to put braces for abt 1 yr + before Op. I'm doing Op at Alexandra hospital. Cost i dunno. Medisave part u can check with the ur surgeon Dr winston Tan or his hospital.

clong

Hi Meiyan

I had my surgery at Changi hospital.
For me, i think i can use fully medisave. There is a cap for medisave every day. $450 every day.
I stayed at the CGH for 4 days so i can claim a max of $1800. But i think there is another item that can fully be claimed by medisave so i can claim around $2000 plus of medisave. I choose the cheapest ward (ward C) so i dont think i will exceed the maximum claim.

hehehe

thanks bigman n clong for ur info..

fr wat i know fr e receptionist fr my orthodonist
most case which refer to Dr Tan most likely staying at Mt alveria..n e largest amt paid by cash was like 8k

hopefully will b confirm 8k e most, as no $ liao..not wrking currently due to putting on braces n will b looking worse after extraction...so will affect e job i holding..
another thing i worried is i afraid my medisave had nt enuf of $$ as my job doesnt had CPF contribution n all along been nt contributing to it..

i think i had only contribute e most a yr???so guess wont b enuf...plus no insurance..

hehehe

Clong,

is e surgeon doing a good job over at changi hospital??e one operate 4 u is trainee or qualified doc? what is ur case??overbite or underbite??protuding lower jaw?

bigman

Hi Meiyan,

Based on ur financial situation, it's better if u can do at a govt hospital like Alexandra hospital cos they will charge about 4 times cheaper than Dr Winston Tan.... are u able to arrange for one there from Dr Soh?

P.S: I made a typo error in my earlier post ... it should be "Extraction can be done before OR during braces". Left out the word "OR"

hehehe

Thanks for ur advice Bigman,

i can arrange wif Dr Soh..bt then
i dun really trust SGH as e recept had shown me pics of patient whose one side of face is done by trainee

bigman

Hi Meiyan,

U can make an arrangement for a consultation with SGH first... then U can request to be done by only the surgeon.. I don't think they would just let a trainee do anyhow..

clong

Hi Meiyan

My surgeon is from NDC so they are not from CGH. For me, the hospital is not important to me as my surgeon allows me to choose to be done at SGH or CGH.
Ya is true they they wont allow trainee to do this surgery. My braces are also done at NDC.

My case is protuding lower jaw and asymetry

hehehe

hi Jinnous,

U had assymmetrical problem plus protuding lower jaw??hmm.. i had this problem as well.. for 4 ur case any improvement after u had e surgery??jinnous,dun mind can u send me ur b4 n after pics?? i kinda curious of e outcome results..

will b quite regretting if e final look wont turn out gd..e surgeon explained to me dat my figures will look more obvious crooked as people wif assymetry case cant solve this problem.. so meaning after jaw surgery, jaw is corrected bt eyes n nose looks more obviously crooked..

pls help me...i really dun know whether shld i opt 4 surgery since i haven gt my tooth extracted out,i think still can re align bck to my original teeth bah??

hopefully?

hehehe

Jinnous n clong

did u extracted out any tooth fr ur upper set of tooth??if u did, then during e time when ur upper set of teeth had been pushed bck n align properly do u look very different?? as fr wat i know they will create a space fr e upper n lower set of teeth in order to prepare for surgery..

so roughly how many cm's of space is created??
n will e looks changed after upper set of teeth been align n pushed bck.. coz orthodonist will makes e class 3 bite more worse during pre surgery time rite?

clong

Meiyan

My surgeon is Dr Goh Bee Tin. There is another doctor from NDC who works together with Dr Goh is Dr Seah Tian Ee.

Dr Goh is quite nice and she is very patient with me.

Jinnous,

After the operation, i realise now my face also look more oval at one side and squarish at the other side. So i will look like this forever?
I actually ask the doctor about my face. She said as my face is still swollen so have to wait till the swelling subsides.

Did you ask your doctor why the asymetry cannot be corrected?

hehehe

Oh dear..
so clong,ur asymetry cant b corrected?u move 2 jaw or just 1 jaw?? oh no.. i m afraid mine also cant b corrected..

jinnous

I didn't ask. Cuz I'm very happy that my jaw has become "normal". I mean if my asymetry could be corrected it would really make me happier, but normalizing my jaw is the most impt thing that had happened to me.

I moved 2 jaws; upper jaw moved out, lower jaw moved in.

There was no plans to move my upper jaw initially. But as time went along, the braces will alter the way you looked, which was worst than my pre-braces looks. And my lower jaw protruded way out....like when I close my mouth, my lips can't touch. And my facial features looked very flat.

So I told the doc my concerns as in if they are just going to move my lower jaw, won't my face looked even flatter lor.

1 of the docs suggested I put cheek implants to "puffed" up my cheekbones....keke

So clong, u have already done ur op? Are ur teeth still wired shut? Wait for bout 2 weeks bah....the swelling will go down by then.

For asymetry, the doc mentioned they would have to rotate ur lower jaw to achieve the symetrical look. Not sure how that will affect your nerves though. The cut already is a big risk to ur nerves. Till now, my lower left jaw still bit numb. It has a "weird" feeling. You can't expect things to go back to pre-op days.

bigman

Wow ...so many posts since i posted last time..

I also have the same problems... but i feel normalizing my jaw is the most impt thing...and hopefully they won't touch my lower jaw..

Oh ya, I met Dr Goh Bee Tin before... she's a nice lady and she's had experience for a while.. i was nearly under her for the Op but chose to do at NTUC in the end and Op at AH.

clong

hi Meiyan

Sorry miss your question with regards to the extraction of the teeth. I think i did extract a few teeth. Ya before the operation, actually you will look worst than how you orginally look but is not tat bad. Its still acceptable to me.

For my case, i moved two jaws. For the upper jaw, they move down and out. For the lower jaw, they just twist for the midline to be align.

As at now, i still can see a bit different in both sides of the faces. Hopefully, if the swelling fully subsides, the difference wont be so obvious.

Jinnous, i have done my operation on 16 Dec.
What do you mean wired shut? I can now open my mouth but only up to a certain extent.
By the way, when did you do your operation?

clong

For my case, the surgeon remove the bands after one week after operation. So i can take porridge after one week but there is a rubber band to let me practice my bite. At least i can still open my mouth. Actually, i also quite surprise that i am able to talk and take soft diet after one week after operation.

hehehe

Hi guys...
i had extracted out my 2 pre- molars liao
i think my face has been becoming more n more "why" crooked to one side...

hehehe

1.5cm is it very big??
i'm nt sure whether mine will b big or nt...rite nw still no gap.. as nd to wait till everything is nicely align which means.. 6 mths later fr nw??

joyous097

While reading on the above...can someone advise me at what age, for young children is the right age to start making braces?Anyone can recomend a good dentist that specialised in braces?

Only jaw surgery can use medisave not, braces right?thanks

Hey All..

Din noe there's actually a thread on this. I went thru the surgery too! When I was 19..cant say it's totally not painful but I feel that it's worth it!! Boosted my self-confidence quite a bit! Haha....