J&C Bridal Collections

Hi Doreen,
The assistance Annes actually let me tried A-line with the corset, but Cynthia told me straight it's not nice for me, and we choose back the original skirt, she even add a can can under it! ha....! i feel more like a ballerina, not like a bride at all, he....!

Hi Bebe,
I had fun trying many gowns, all old ones, and only 1 new ones. I did not see the pics, cos cynthia choose it for me, and i trust her taste. she's very frank with me, cos between the 3 gowns i choosed, she adviced me to choose the corsert one, saying it's something special.

Annes the assistance did put the tiara and veil for me, it does look ok, and again, it looks like ballerina, ha....!

I also very big size, nv dream tat i can wear can can; with the correct design, u still hv a chance to wear can can lah, like the draw-string top? it can draw the body very tight and u can hv can can skirt liao, he....!

i agree with u, must choose properly then to regret later, he...!

Hi Irene,
Thanks for assuring me i'm not the odd one who had this kind of feeling, although i'm not particular with my designs, i just want the correct feel. As i've mentioned, i still can get a nice bustier, which can easily be used as my WG, it's just the 2nd piece which i'm worried abt.

Or mayb i should tk it for PS first, then see from the photos if which gown suits me? Cos for my ROm, cynthia choose a halter neck CS for me, but i choosed a normal design one, it looked very nice in the studio, but when i took pictures during the ROM, i looked damm fat loh! he....! tat's why i really worried tat my choice is wrong again. Cynthia did not comment much for my choice, but i believe her's is a better one now.

Did u try to tk pictures of ur WG liao? mayb try to see it in camera view too...

Hi to all,
thanks for all the care, concern and encouragement, i'll ask my cousins to go down with me, so they can give me some comments, and i'll bring camera down to see the gowns in camera view, will update with u all abt my adventure, thanks! muacks!

Hi Doreen,
Hv u try the Bio-Essence? duno is me xin li zhou yong, me face like a bit bit slimmer leh..

Hi Questy,
From the experiences of my friend she told me not 2 bring too many ppl dwn, b'cos u will get confuse w 2 much opinion. Juz get 1 or 2 persons which their taste u trust and some1 tat knows u well 2. BTW, i thk they(J&C) dun allow taking of photo neh... mayb can toe toe pai lah hee...

All the best for choosing ur dream WG k..

Hi Questy,
Me again... forgot to tell u if ur hubby is the patience kind get him dwn 2! Cos i thk he knows u best, he oso will know wats suits you best! ;)

Hi meh

Tried that bio essence cream... still the same leh.. no effect...
Bring hubby along when choosing gowns? My hubby everything oso say nice...... make me more confuse mah......

hee hee, my hubby said cannot have bare-back gowns... in the end, kena "suan" by my mother & sis... so, he give in lor

in the end, decided on the boat-neck WG with lace & bareback bcos it is unique. the other 1 i was considering was a corset bustier WG. anyway, according to cynthia, 1 of her brides had "choped" my WG liao

i'm back
The newly renovated j&c is indeed more spacious and comfortable to try the gowns. Annie shared the Style Wedding show "hua xu" with us and we can tell that the show was very successful. They have placed their top 3 designs at the window liao and its really very different and refreshing from other WG. (Although it's not the typical gowns brides wear on AD) Took a peek at their new studio too..amazingly, a simple workarea can produce so many beautiful shots

sigh, grown a little fatter. The amended EG was a little too tight. WG is ok though. I tried on the kua and hubby tried his "ma gua", so funny...couldn't stop laughing
Questy, you can only take pictures after you confirm you gowns. My camera left with another friend, so didn't take any photos. Next time round take for u gals to comment, hopefully slimmer by then

also tried on one gown for PS. It's a plain bustier, condition looks ok. I asked cyn to add more designs on it becoz it looks very similar to my EG, which is also a bustier. Luckily my PS in june, so she agree to help me think of something more special

hi lenz! no need to envy us lah. Your photos turn out so nice, that's what matters most

hi wenn, long time no see liao! how's ur search going on? my flat juz complete reno, now starting to fill up with items. Yesterday drop by IKEA after gown fitting, buy 1 side cupboard and 1 mobile trolly.

hi mashi, u got go and see the Style Wedding? I heard it's a successful show overall. They really spent a lot of time and effort to prepare, glad to know their efforts paid off.

Hi meh,
yea yea, i not bring many pple down, sure will hv different views one. Too bad my hubby's very busy with work, so dun hv the heart to mk him go after a hard day's work, he...! my cousin has camera phone, mayb can ask her to tk secretly, ha....! yea, can tk pics of the gowns if i cmf them, see how lah, mayb going down 2m to look see again, he...!

Hi Doreen,
ha.....! then how, u still hv to decide for urself loh. my hubby got some taste on clothes, so i do hope tat he can go down to help me choose loh....

Hi wenn,
I think i tried ur orange EG, very unique neh, mayb using tat for PS, he...! yea, ur EG taken up my another bride liao. My hubby also dun like me to expose at the front, but can bare all the back if i want, ha....! But the EG i choosed was opened so low at the front, he...!

Hi Ienz,
Yea, the studio is much more spaciuos and very comfy feeling hoh. which kua did u choose, then beaded ones or the traditional ones? actually i like the traditional ones, which is lighter, but the beaded ones r more radient under light, but very heavy neh.... cynthia recommended me the beaded one. Do u knw how to wear the kua? i laughed so hard when i get the know we've to wear it with the straps over our shoulders, looded so commical, he....!

Ya, I went for the show... Ted Wu's gowns veri nice and J & C latest set of PS themes also beautiful... I liked the spring the best....

hi questy,
wah, u can remember my EG ah

it's unique lor. empire cut with corset tightening at the back.

hi irene,
ic ic... good for u...

Hi wenn,
He...! cos it looks very familiar to me at first, just cun remember who's EG was tat, so i told cynthia tat it looked familiar, and she gave me a few names, and i think it's u loh, he...! Yea, ur EG is special, and it hides my flaws well too, think will use it for PS, he...!

my EG is dark purple satin, i think i saw a bride wearing it for PS before, he...!

hi questy...beaded ones and traditional ones got difference ar? i thought all kuas are beaded and traditional.
hmm..i know so little abt kuas..

i realli dunno what is mine.. u got my PS/AD photo? there got the kua pic..

and ya! i have no idea how to wear the kua when i first tried it on! hehe..

I'm very interested in signing up wif J & C (after hearing all the gd comments), however, even though I made an appt with Cyn b4 gg down, she told her assistant to go through the packages wif me (even though there was no customer ard)... which I feel pretty disappointed.. not that I dun wanna talk to her assistant, juz tat it's always easier to clarify or negotiate wif the boss... feel uncomfortable signing up w/o even having the chance to speak to the designer.. is tat the same case wif u gals??

Also, what is the minimum deposit we can pay without seeming too unreasonable??

Hi Shyen,

i think the assistant is Annie... a quiet girl.. Even there was no customer, Cynthia may 'hide' inside the studio to sew/design gowns or arranging photos. No choice if she got tight deadline to meet ...If u really feel uncomfortable with Annie, call J&C again and insist that u want to be served by Cynthia in your next appt...
I signed up with Karen... another staff of J&C.. i find it easy to neg with her leh... Bargain with Cynthia harder... cos she so soft spoken ...then me is the loud speaker type

The min deposit should be $1k.. don't rush to sign if u r uncomfortable... go down a few more times.. it is important that u built a rapport with your bridal shop cos will save u headache later on...

Happy Bridal shopping!

T_T...
My dep was $1.4k...

Erm, I signed up with Karen too... she's those motherly type, i think... reminds me of mine...
Somemore same name, hmm...

I asked for the kwa too, coz i cantonese...
But i didnt take a look at their WGs, EGs, etc. Coz my AD gonna be at least 2 yrs later.
Kiasu hor? hehehe... My frens adv me to sign up for a pkg 1st, then can make use of the foc ROM pckg...

But i actually forgot to ask for transport for AD... the car... sigh... so forgetful... haiz... now got to wait till i got more time then can deal with these stuff...

Hi wenn,
he...! thanks, i think cynthia going to add something to mk it a little different, i like it, so should use it for PS.

Hi Ienz,
I nv get to see ur PS/AD leh, can PM to me? he...! thanks hah! She got 2 different type, so u must hv got teh beaded ones, i had a good laugh when i first tried the kua, Cynthia also laughed at me cos i was holding the skirt, complaining to her how com the skirt is so big for me, he.....!

Hi Shyen,
tell u the truth, i ws first served my annie cos cynthia was out, and her choice is pretty limited, thank god cynthia came back to serve me, and i got my gowns. Mayb u can try mk appointment with cynthia and chk when is she able to serve u. cynthia's busy with her reno and show previously, so she should hv more time for u liao, try calling her again k, dun gv up so soon. I paid $1.5 for deposite, i dun mind cos i'll hv less remainder to pay.

Thanks Doreen! Yup, agree tat rapport is v impt, at least J & C doesn't give me the "dao" feeling tat some other high end boutiques give. Although din have the chance to speak to Cyn, muz say tat her assistant is v friendly.. juz tat she prob isn't empowered to make certain decisions.. tat's y she needs to go to cyn for advice every now n then...

min deposit $1K?? surprised tat it's so high.. may have to negotiate for lower amt cos haven't decided on AD yet.. so dun wanna tie $$$ up so soon...tot less than $500 will do :P die lah... i really v inexperienced..

Angela,
Act me quite same case as u.. will be having ROM soon but AD not yet (prob 1 or 2 yrs later), so not sure if shld sign up package so tat can get FOC.. feel gotta make sure tat J & C is THE ONE then sign up, cos no pt if juz to get ROM free..

which package did u sign up? how's cyn's OTR gowns??

Thanks Questy, prob she's v busy wif the show, cos I went down, think 1 or 2 weeks before tat.. dun worry, I won't give up... juz tat I feel v pai seh if I have to keep gg down to the same bridal shop a few times w/o signing up... u get wat i mean?? tat's y i hope to talk to her on my 1st visit, then next trip is to sign up...

will Cyn be there always when u gals choose ur gowns??

All of u so clever!! Can make full use of ROM package.. I signed up only 6 mths b4 by AD... Only start to source for BS when I decide to hold my wedding...

Shyen, I think $500 is possible...i known a few who put in deposit of $500... but like what Questy said... the lesser u put... the more u have to pay later... money in my wallet always 'disappeared'
So i oso paid a higher deposit amt... Hee... hee...
Fyi, u have to pay half of the package amt when u confirm the gowns and in full on your PS day...

Wedding is about $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Doren, u mean $500 for J & C?? The reason is partly due to fear tat once bridal shops collect their $$, they will not deliver as promised... tat's wat happened to my frens, tat's y they advised me not to pump in too much deposit... but of cos if their svc is gd (seems like from all ur comments), i dun mind.. it's also abt time value of $$$

din know muz pay full on PS day, tot onli last day when collect all photos..

Hi Shyen,

I'm also v inexperienced too... Got to know abt J&C's great comments from the two pioneers
, Doreen n Wenn... hehehe.... My friends also said i ganna 'chopped' coz dep is so high... Although I get the cham-kind of feeling, I was a a bit reassured by the comments abt it...

Erm, i didnt see their gowns, only tried on one blue ROM gown... solid hor...
Coz the day i went down happened to be abt a wk b4 their reno started, so most of the gowns were covered... but i also dunno if they got put out all their gowns on display or not though... Pkg-wise, I took the 1 with the mtm EG only. WG is new OTR...

Hi Questy, yr ROM pckg was with them? How abt the photography? With their photographer too? Got any photos to share? heehee...
Coz i actually got 1 of their photographers for mine, but i have no idea how are their skills...

Hi Shyen

Yah lor..one of my friend paid $500 deposit for J&C. You have the bargaining power b4 u sign up so if everything is written black and white in the invoice with the agreed price, shd have no problem....So u must do your homework.. prepared a list of items u need to neg.. Things like Father and In law suits, car, tea dress, cheaper prices..extra mini album... etc.. ask for more freebies lah... Ha! ha! I think Cymthia will faint mah.. reading my post...

Me so far so good lor.. they do live up to my expectations...

Don't rush.. take your time and compare:-)

hi shyen,
with regards to deposit & payment, can discuss with them. i too feel that 1.5k is too much. maybe bcos cynthia now lets karen handle payment aspects?

anyway, i was told by winnie to pay up the remaining $$ of the package on the day of PS. but i gave the excuse that i was short of cash... can only pay them after i see the photos & cynthia agreed after winnie went to check with her. so, these types of negotiations are based on trust

hihi gals... wah.. i missed so many msgs for past few days..hehe.. no choice la..my fren got married on sat..1st May.. so extremely busy..hehe

and questy, i PM u liao.. ;)

hi shyen,

My turn to share my experience
i did not sign up directly with cynthia either. The person whom I sign up has already left j&c now, but it's the gowns, photos and services that we decided on them. Yeap, we fear that promises won't be delivered upon the sign up too. Furthermore, we sign up 1.5 years before our actual day! But we made use of their ROM package and we are happy with their services. Deposit was 1K.

Now, I am preparing for my big day in nov this year and have already selected my WG and EG. Both of us have a comfortable and happy time on our every visit. When choosing gowns, I had insisted cynthia to pre-select the gowns even if she is not free to go through my fitting process. From there I will choose what I like most.

Unfortunately, cynthia is usually very busy, either with oncoming shows or thinking up new designs for her gowns, hence she is not always around for the in-between process of preparations. However, I can sense each gown is her pride and joy, and if there's anything regarding the gown that is unsatisfactory, she will be there to discuss. That is the kind of responsibility that we felt secured in. I belive there are other bridals who can do the same or even better, but we are happy with our choice and hope all brides who do decide to sign up with them will have a happy process too

hahaa.. doreen, think Cyn will prob faint once she sees your postings... but all ur gd comments more than outweigh ur little tips

me afraid tat will go overboard when negotiating, tat's y want to know wat u gals asked for in the past... difficult to ask for car now, cos missed the Style wedding promo... gotta wait for another.. hopefully will come soon.

Is Cyn's OTR gowns gd enuf? or muz i sign up for New OTR??

Many thanks to all u gals for contributing... really appreciate...

Anyone attended their Style show? How were the pkgs like?

Coz Karen told me the promo dun include much things, and said to sign up at their side better...

Irene,
Thanx for sharing ur experience.. glad to know tat u r enjoying ur preps.. when is ur big day??

Angela,
Yup, me attended the show.. think they throw in car, mini album, tat's all i can remember :P but sign up at their side, dun think they usu include the car & album... correct me if i'm wrong..

my wedding day is on 20 nov 2004. My package is new OTR and don't include a car, but I managed to bargain for one in the end. Album is included usually, but only 18 photos.

Hi Ienz,
Thanks for sharing ur pics with me, very well taken! I like the one with water fall best, think will choose it as one of my PS place. But hubby intended to go sentosa for PS,so still got to think properly of the place for my PS. U looked very comfy in ur gown, for mine, i got to be tied very tightly in a corset then, he...!

Hi all! I've just signed up with JnC too... So excited to know so many couples with them too!

Bebe, can i look at your photos as well?

Hi Shyen,

Thks for sharing.
I'll check with karen... she 'cajole' me to sign up at their side instead of the wedding show...

Hi Irene, i think the album Shyen was mentioning abt was the mini one... erm.. 2R? Can't remember...

Hi wondering! Welcome to our discussion
Did you sign up new OTR or MTM package?

ah, I tot it's the big album...silly me...hee.. I also don't have the 2R album

hi hi...!!
I have signed up for the OTR new package. Actually wanna make a new wedding gown but then thought it's quite ex. Anyway, it is easier to upgrade then downgrade if I change my mind later. I took the 10R album though. No mini album or car.

how long in advance did you all start visiting them for try gown blah blah?

So excited.

By the way, my email is [email protected]
Any nice photos can email me lah!!

i started my actual day gowns search 3 months before photoshoot, after which is the choosing of gowns for photoshoot. When's ur big day?

Hello ladies,

Hmm.. Irene, yr AD is done with? If not, maybe u can ask them... I definitely need to spk to karen for the car... forgot abt it, sigh...

Ooohh... another J&C bride! Hi Ah Mei.

Welcome Ah Mei! (reminds me of the singer name Zhang Hui Mei...

Angela, since u need the car, do talk to cyn/karen early if you can. They can neg one, and ur request isn't unreasonable. Good luck!

Hi mashi! How's it going?

Hi & good morning
May i know who is taking OTR package? What must i take note when come to choosing the gowns? Would it be okie if i request modification to the OTR gowns? Will cyn be unhappy?

Yo angela,
I sign up afew days d4 the show and my package include car(Jaguar), cos is a pormo. I did ask cyn how much is the rebate if i dun wan. She said $100. So angela... why not u try 2 neg w her 1st... if really really can not, den u top up abit lor(must still neg abt the $)
... i think is still cheaper den outside rite? sum more include deco leh...
Good luck

Hi Wondering and Ah mei

Welcome!!! So happy that more brides r coming in to chat!

Hi Gers
Sorry.. me scared to be hit by the virus so never on my computer for few days... hee...

Halo to all!
I hvn talk to cynthia abt the gown, think after these days, i slowly learn to accept the gowns cynthia choosed for me, think wil go back next week to cmf the gowns again, he...!

Hi ah mei,
i also tking OTR, dun worry, cynthia may even want to alter and change the design of the OTR gown to suit u. Just remember to bring ur shoes there, cos i nv bring so must wear theirs when trying gowns.

Hi wenn,
he..! more brides sign up with J&C due to the comments of the service u received loh, he..!